Austin
Austin

Today Barbados finds itself in a historically sad leadership position. We have the worst PM, minister of finance, minister of tourism and minister of labour “ever” all at the same fringing time, with four long years to go. The PM right after the election returned to seclusion and has been missing in action on key issues facing our nation, the minister of finance is playing with the economy like it’s a game of monopoly, the dimpled chin minister of tourism who looks the part is totally lost as compared the other regional tourism ministers who are running circles around him, and the minister of labour who lost her seat has taken her incompetence and lack of sympathy for struggling Bajans to new levels.

Our minister of tourism, a key sector to Barbados, like a jealous child recently made negative comments about the progress that St.Lucia is making in tourism, saying that our tourism product was 30 years ahead of St.Lucia’s, he simply cannot see that his poor efforts and lack of ideas in challenging times, is rapidly eroding a product it took over 30 years to build. However it is “WE” the Bajan people who choose these leaders in the last election, so no complaining should be heard from DLP supporters.  DLP supporters simply placed party first instead of what was best for Barbados…. they fell for the DLP party hype, drank the “don’t worry be happy” coolaid, and fell for the vilification of Owen Arthur . As many can observe the street talk on how poor this DLP government is doing grows daily, as the effects of the DLP election hype and coolaid starts to wear off.

We should be beyond no confidence in the newly re-elected government but Bajans never fail to amaze me.  Is it our house slave mindset as a nation that keeps us passive in the face of adversity like sheep grazing in a field?

When the DLP said they were not just built an economy but a society, what they did not tell you is that it will be a society of poor people.

God Help Us !!

208 responses to “The Worst Barbados Government Ever with over 4 More Years To Go! Not Sure We Will Survive This Government”

1. @Pacha

And your last comment sums it up; Hobson’s choice. During the last general election the BLP – government in waiting – did not put anything on the table to inspire that the gravamen of the issue has been grasped by them.

2. Do Sirs COW, Kyffin et al generate forex?

3. @Miller
    Previously I mentioned Sir Kyffin
    Today, watch COW and RDC, why did the King of East visited COW at Apes Hill
    The whites will prosper, prosper during the crisis

4. Observing(...) Avatar

@david
    Is the social partnership really partnering?
    Seems like the last few “partnership” opportunities have been FYI’s from the GoB’s end.

Just observing

5. @David :12:23pm
    These guys have the contacts with the foreign investors

6. @Observing

The recent mixup when the government selected/recommended the GS of CTUSAB to represent labour at the ILO conference can be used as a barometer as to the ethos which prevails within the Social Partnership.

7. Bad – Worse – Worst….is the bottom of the barrel ac,.it don’t get any worse than that.Time to rise like a phoenix and show Barbados what you all can do or have you all decided on the IMF already?.

8. Observing(...) Avatar
    Observing(…)

@david
    Hence why when the GoCB says the social partnership is working on a plan I have to take that with a huge grain of salt. Labour has held strain as asked (no increase no fuss). Private sector has held strain (maintain employment levels, trim costs, accept less profits).

What has the GoB held strain on or sacrificed over the last 2-3 years? What forward movement (new FDI, increased revenues, expenditure consolidation etc) have they effected?

Has anyone heard the MoF since his shortened BCCI lunchtime address? Did he speak at the consultation? Has he responded to the governor’s report? Has he commented on the needed cuts? Does he still believe there is only “one path?”

Again, this mess is as much the BLP’s fault as the DLP’s, but, the DLP’s now in charge. Let’s just get on with it. We can choose to forgive them or fire them afterwards.

P.S. Was it just me or did it sound like the GoCB is calling all the fiscal policy shots around here now?

Observing

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ old onion bags | July 11, 2013 at 11:53 AM |

Did you hear Sir Frank say that there are rich people in Barbados who don’t pay a cent in income taxes or NIS contributions?

What a stark revelation from a so-called honest law abiding upright well connected citizen? We hope you Onions are not one of the rich scroungers who benefit from the public services but don’t contribute their fair share LOL!!!

My question to Sir Frank, who we hope is indeed speaking frankly about what he definitely knows, is whether as an advisor to the government on economic and financial matters he has compiled a list of those tax evaders and avoiders to be passed on to the Ministry of Finance, copied to the Inland Revenue and the Auditor General.

He is the one who says that the establishment of the Central Revenue Authority (CRA) will bring greater efficiencies, economies and effectiveness in the government’s revenue collection functions.
    What better way to start the ball rolling other than to send this list to the authorities along with a blind copy to BU instead of cussing the Nation Newspaper for just being the mouth piece of the people including the BLP.
    Why criticize the messenger instead of dealing with message like the information you have hidden from the authorities and the general public who are being asked to carry massive financial sacrifices in this economic maelstrom while others who are well off and well heeled get off scot-free?

It’s your moral obligation Sir Frank, not the miller’s!

PS: Sir Frank, when you are preparing your list of known tax evaders make sure that Leroy Parris’s name appears near the top of that list. He has not paid one red cent in income tax on the bonus payments adding up to $10 million much of which was laundered via Thompson & Associates law firm. And you know that since some of it ended up in funding the DLP electoral machine to ensure they are returned to power thereby protecting Greenverbs from the long arm of the law and its circumscribing statute of limitations for tax and revenue criminal activity.

10. Bloggers, do not panic, no fear, those are the words of the great Frank Alleyne on brasstacks today. On the other hand, Ryan Straughan is telling us, an economic hurricane is on the horizon. I tend to believe Ryan. He has been consistent for the last 5-6 years.

11. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Miller, some very good points. IF either party believed in transparency and accountability ALL political donations would be a matter of public record.
    And I wonder just how many of the people Sir Frank is referring to would appear on any list.
    As to paying taxes, as a small business person, I am personally taxed on the ‘benefit’ of living on my working premises 24 hours a day, 7 days a week,
    somewhere around $34,000 a year.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Observing(…) | July 11, 2013 at 1:15 PM |
    “P.S. Was it just me or did it sound like the GoCB is calling all the fiscal policy shots around here now?”

Didn’t you read the miller’s description of the MoF trading places with the GoCB; with the MoF being the puppet of a creature to the Governor?

The Guv is now in charge since Sinckler is totally lost at sea but it seems like more in space in his case.
    Poor shallow Sinckler, he refuses to listen to his advisors in the Ministry especially his Director of Finance Grantley Smith whom he accused of being a creature of OSA.

13. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Adrian
    I am still waiting for your “solutions” to the tourism problem. Until you answer my challenge I will treat all of your mouthings not even with a pinch of salt for they are and will remain tasteless and useless.

14. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Audit Audit Audit , Will tell and show all , freedom of information , , never with the crooks in the house .

I cant wait till you all study the land, its the land, the dam LAND
    The deeds will show you all who did what and when, and for how much , FOLLOW THE MONEY TRAIL TO THE BANKS AND THE LAUNDERING .TO OFFSHORE ACCOUNTS , THEN ADD THE NAMES
    BLP /DLP , NOW THE NATION BROKE ,
    Then you will see the banks and some Unions investing in Fraud ,
    Madoff and Standford school of hard knocks at the Oval and high court. With Clico will pop up in this again , Yes People CLICO
    THE LAND THE LAND THE LAND AND NOTHING BUT THE LAND.

FOCUS FOCUS FOCUS PEOPLE , ASK THEM ABOUT THE LAND UNDER YOUR FEET , YES YOUR FEET ALSO ,

15. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Alvin, clearly you have not kept up-to-date with my practical suggestions and many successful implementations over the last 25 years. I wonder if selective reading is similar to selective hearing?
    Just splash out a Dollar each Monday for a Barbados Business Authority. If there are any words you don’t understand, I would be happy to explain them for you.

16. “We need to know what that $1.2 billion is made up of.”

Most importantly, how much of it belongs to the private sector (such as foreign currency accounts held by exporters or overseas assets purchased by Barbados residents with Central Bank approval) and cannot therefore be accessed by the government?

17. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

tourism problem.@ lack of law enforcement . tourist get rob on the street and in the office of the lawyers and ministers,
    bad news move fast and fraud move faster,
    This system must fall all the way down before most of you get the picture, Focus on the big picture and not tourist ,
    Remove the distraction of other peoples money and look at your country and the people who run it into the ground ,
    Tourist is a bonus not the foundation of Barbados , we need a meal before we worry about gravy .

18. Alleyne is probably talking about the lawyers. Oh, and Greenverbs of course.

19. Yes and doctors, dentists, realtors and many of the professionals.

20. “the Blp soooob smart they still stupidly advocating massive layoffs and Privitisation …one thing fuh sure i give wunna credit wunna sure know how to shoot wunna selves in the foot. Yeah but all the answers”

i seriously think you are speaking about the DLP not the BLP. as we can now see it, the above quote is what the Democratic Labour Party is already covertly suggesting and their sympathizers are overtly suggesting…

21. old onion bags Avatar

millertheanunnaki | July 11, 2013 at 1:23 PM |

@ old onion bags | July 11, 2013 at 11:53 AM |

Did you hear Sir Frank say that there are rich people in Barbados who don’t pay a cent in income taxes or NIS contributions?

What a stark revelation from a so-called honest law abiding upright well connected citizen? We hope you Onions are not one of the rich scroungers who benefit from the public services but don’t contribute their fair share LOL!!!

peltdownman | July 11, 2013 at 2:04 PM |

Alleyne is probably talking about the lawyers. Oh, and Greenverbs of course.

Man MILLER……Like you cant read yuh (peltdownman) think u mean Ross….leh dem try taxing dolphin heads and pot fish…..dat by now down in the latrine pit fermenting…..if deh dat hardup….WDF!

22. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar

David | July 11, 2013 at 2:15 PM |

Yes and doctors, dentists, realtors and many of the professionals@
    are the ones renting from the crooks , real estate companies are no better for they allow for the crooks to hide behind them , The rentals are not recorded at inland rev to pay their fair amount of taxes ,
    free land , free houses , free from taxes for they all know its fraud . and no deed to see who and what is in the mix ,
    Just land tax numbers if even that.

23. old onion bags Avatar

@ Miller
    Tekk care a certain dentist …tekk off …and start she practice in T’dad…LOl

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | July 11, 2013 at 1:49 PM |
    “@Adrian; I am still waiting for your “solutions” to the tourism problem. Until you answer my challenge I will treat all of your mouthings not even with a pinch of salt for they are and will remain tasteless and useless.”

We, the others, are also quite keen to hear your proposals leading to the “solutions to our expenditure problem.
    How can you help out regarding the P M’s need to cut $400 Million from the 2013/14 Estimates of Expenditure to save his administration from triggering a devaluation of the Barbados dollar as warned by the Governor of the Central Bank?

Alvin please note that this situation is not one concocted by Adrian Loveridge or the miller but clearly stated by the PM and his Mutley sidekick the Guv of the Central Bank now also acting as the Minister of Finance.

25. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

Gawwblimmuh,COW digging down Bubaydus and we gine soon be all at sea level,even sin thomas and sin george gine have sea at the rate COW gine.Kyffin costing we moah forin exchange wid all dese high price vehicle imports.Frank Allen was at his shouting bes’ today.Doddering old fool.No match for Ryan.We want industries to enable exports of fine sugars,sea island cotton,agri products,cottage industries etc.We want a more efficient seaport,minus all the union constraints so we don’t have a situation like how BWU put manning hardware and lumberyards out of business by union full nelsons.This DLP is a government of SPENDERS.Any fool can spend.It’s a wiseman who puts aside something for a rainy day.

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BTW

Any of you BLP people saw the former COP in the newspaper with his battery of Barbados Labour Party lawyers?

He wants his job back! Oh please!

One of you all BLP people need to tell him that it is does not look good. He wants the World to know that he thinks that he should be COP for ever.

He is a real BLP person fuh tru, tru as the old Bajans would say. The BLP and its supporters here on BU including DAVID are in turmoil over the fact that the wise Bajan voting public voted the Barbados Labour Party back onto the Opposition benches once again. They believe that they should have their greedy paws of our Treasury for ever as well.

Hear the BLP people once again:

JUST ASKING

“…………….IGNORANT RASSHOLE BAJANS VOTED THEM IN 14 YEARS AFTER-CUNTERY THAT IS WHAT DEM IGNORANT PEOPLE WHO VOTED DLP DID–PURE CUNTERY!!”

!

27. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar

There were going to be layoffs no matter who won the election , We seen it coming for a while and people kept their work just so they keep votes. Both sides were holding back what little true they speak until after the elections , If the BLP had won they would say they have to layoff because of the mess the DLP leave for them.
    No matter what is here now , no matter who won , the same mess remains .
    the two parties based on Massive lie and Fraud.
    We must remove them both to know the truth ,
    A 3rd Parties can tell the people the truth for the 3rd party had nothing to do with the fraud cover up.
    They we can see what is wrong and then go forward with the fix based on the Audit numbers,
    Will pull back all funds that went in to pockets in the wrong way
    Ministers , UDC, NHC and other land laundering pockets made up to loot the country.

28. Frank Alleyne was quite obnoxious today!

29. There needs to be a cabinet re-shuffle and allow Freundel Stuart to be Minister responsible for Secret Services, Religious Activities or Classical Literature. This man has not the foggiest idea of what he is doing. He couldnt even complete a legal case when he was a practicing lawyer.

This man is not just a piece of ass, he is a whole ass with shit in the hole

30. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar

lol10@ your are funny, you cant tell a pig to take a shower , as soon as you turn your back ,the pig back in the mud and mud spell backward is dum.

31. Agreed David, We have the worst fringing PM, big neck minister of finance, minister of tourism and minister of labour “ever” all at the same fringing time, hopefully not for 4 long years to go.

32. David
    Sent you a flash action message

33. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

How on earth can an ordinary policeman who has political aspirations and who was not at one with his Commissioner,suddenly sit in the judgement seat and determined, assisted by his deputy and the High Priest of the Cathedral Church of St Michael and All Angels(who it is alleged having reached the age of 65 is drawing a pension from the Diocese and insist that he is not retiring as the High Priest of said Cathedral Church because he is not three score and ten as yet, and refuses to repay the pension he draws as a retired High Priest as did two of his fellow Canons)that the rightful office holder of the High Command of Her Brittanic Majesty’s Royal Barbados Police Force,is no longer in the favour of the People of Barbados and is removed from office forthwith with a same day’s notice.All ye Servants of the Crown beware this foolish Democratic Labour Party Government.All you Permanent Secretaries and Chiefs of Labour,Education,Health,Welfare,Army,Navy,Prisons,watch out.You are next!

34. My concerns are the lies and half truths the Governor of the central Bank told in yesterday’s press conference. He bopped and weave all around the questions.

Frank Alleyne disgraced his “Sir” today on Brasstacks. I think he has a lot of anger built up in him, his advice to the idiot we have for a Finance minister is what has us in this position today and he fears his legacy is up in smoke.

Meanwhile, the governor after telling us in previous press conferences about what projects should come on stream to propel the economy…………he now tells journalist to speak to the politician. Hey governor, that’s what they were doing, you have not realised that your are a politician!

35. @Pacha

Flash message actioned.

36. I so agree with you Gabriel.

As an Anglican myself, I am appalled at the Dean’s political posturing. Must be something to do with that Cathedral, the other one in the Senate is another doting idiot.

A few years ago, this Dean Marshall help lead a charge to change the canons rules and the constitution of the church to change the rules to the retirement age for every priest to seventy. What this meant is that the young priests are now stuck in positions and cannot move up as people like this cannot preach Dean are holding on to positions up to age 70, thus stiffing the growth of the younger clergy.

Now this man has the unmitigated gall to join with PARTISAN hacks like Guyson Mayers to force a 63 year old man to retire in the interest of Barbados. What hypocrisy? I know for sure most of his dwindling congregation at St Michael’s Cathedral would like him to go home, they are sick of him and his ways. They would sure like him to go…he is useless…just look at the condition of the place of worship! It is not all his fault but also the drooling Crichlow in the Senate!

37. @Prodigsl

Let us hear hear the reason for dottining Dottin.

38. Waiting like you too BU to hear the arguments put forward by the State and the PSC against Mr. Dottin.. Do not high hopes any how because of who is representing the State.

39. Can anybody ever expect the investors to have confidence in a country’s government seeing all this foolishness and out of control madness coming from all echelons including its highest financial offices, Central Bank? If you thinks so you ALSO have something in common with the sleeping giant…..delirium.

40. @ Silly thee. Only the yardfowls have confidence in the government. Certainly not sensible investors with a bafoon Stinkliar as Minister of Finance. Don’t even talk about the professor of classics, Fumble.

41. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

i will say this, after all the back and fore, what are we doing as a country to get out this mess? we can’t keep on this party line. This is a total madness now.

After listening to Sir Frank on the radio today i see cause for ALOT of concern. The man sounds like a blasted fool mix with a f-ing idiot that on the hard stuff.

it really scare the shit out of me to know he have/had his hands on the trigger.

42. Anyone hearing that Dottin won the case??

43. we cannot ignore some of the things that Sir Frank said though such as proper accountability, proper auditing of those areas spending the gov money and jackasses in positions because of political connections.

44. old onion bags Avatar

Cin Cin
    Tarry a while and do not fall for that ravioli…..read the current Auditor General’s report for further insights to how things of convenience work bout here…and for whose betterment…Then.ask why wid all the accounting firms and graduates bout hay who can’t find work….why post in many of these institut. remained unfilled…for reasons just like today’s crafty remarks and lofty sounding offs….

45. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PRODIGAL SON

“As an Anglican myself, I am appalled at the Dean’s political posturing”

I CANT BE READING RIGHT?

A member of the Barbados Labour Party saying that he is “appalled at the Dean’s political posturing”?

Prodigal you really think that Bajans are stupid. when Harold Critchlow was preaching political sermons every Sunday, your Barbados Labour Party consider him the best thing since sliced bread.

All Bajan don’t forget so easily.

46. Dick Long brother of Eddie Long Avatar
    Dick Long brother of Eddie Long

Dottin won the case. More Jackasses around than donkeys-LOL
    The picture on the front page of today’s nation > Have you seen it ??

Frank Alleyne is a real real DEM—NFG (No Fusking Good)

Donville Inniss does not agree with Central Bank Gov.
    wHO Who is right -Dleisle or Donville

Sinckler looks like a Sumo wrestler

47. @ Dick Long brother of Eddie Long
    Well what I can say about the front page is there is the phrase a picture is worth a thousand words.
    I based my question from those very same photographs.
    What I’m seeing is a very pensive, battered, disillusioned and concerned Mayers and Gollop in comparison to a very confident, a bit of arrogance and comfortable Mottley and Dottin.
    Dottin coming or going is here nor there as far as I am concerned.
    Im concerned about the way it was done and saying that can happen to my brother, my sister, my wife.
    Then on the other hand if he wins he will be receiving some sort of money and I don’t mean his salary because he is on full pay for doing nothing.
    Im not political but in these days common sense must prevail.
    The Gov was trying to remove Dottin from 2008 and to this date without any success. They should give up and move on stop wasting our money on personal and political agendas.
    Come up with solutions to help us out this crisis.
    Just saying…..

48. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

Cin Cin | July 11, 2013 at 9:08 PM |

you comments mean you are a die hard BLP supporter and you will be curse by the likes of CCC and ac. damn you for talking common sense or even thinking it.

49. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

Sleepy,the ever garrulous legal beagle in the Saturday Sun boldly told the PM and the AG to keep out of the Dottin issue.Now as every bajan knows,a matter before the courts is ‘sub judice’,so why would Sleepy offer this advice.Well,my enquiries led me to the story going the rounds that one of the legal beagles in the line up submitted an opinion that did not surprise right thinking people and a decision was taken to seek an adjournment and await his honour the Caesar and his head honcho legal informer as to the way forward to resolution,since ‘tings ‘en lookin’ gud.Hence the reason why Mr Sleepy sought to distance the 2 heavyweights.Looks like the story is accurate.We await the verdict.

50. truthfully im not a BLP supporter, neither am I a DLP supporter….. I walk in the middle of the road and in doing so I get a more objective picture.
    However, in these trying times only a fool/clown would be blindly supporting the DLP
    I really would support the third party which might be soon in the making after the dismal performance of both parties