Austin
Austin

Today Barbados finds itself in a historically sad leadership position. We have the worst PM, minister of finance, minister of tourism and minister of labour “ever” all at the same fringing time, with four long years to go. The PM right after the election returned to seclusion and has been missing in action on key issues facing our nation, the minister of finance is playing with the economy like it’s a game of monopoly, the dimpled chin minister of tourism who looks the part is totally lost as compared the other regional tourism ministers who are running circles around him, and the minister of labour who lost her seat has taken her incompetence and lack of sympathy for struggling Bajans to new levels.

Our minister of tourism, a key sector to Barbados, like a jealous child recently made negative comments about the progress that St.Lucia is making in tourism, saying that our tourism product was 30 years ahead of St.Lucia’s, he simply cannot see that his poor efforts and lack of ideas in challenging times, is rapidly eroding a product it took over 30 years to build. However it is “WE” the Bajan people who choose these leaders in the last election, so no complaining should be heard from DLP supporters.  DLP supporters simply placed party first instead of what was best for Barbados…. they fell for the DLP party hype, drank the “don’t worry be happy” coolaid, and fell for the vilification of Owen Arthur . As many can observe the street talk on how poor this DLP government is doing grows daily, as the effects of the DLP election hype and coolaid starts to wear off.

We should be beyond no confidence in the newly re-elected government but Bajans never fail to amaze me.  Is it our house slave mindset as a nation that keeps us passive in the face of adversity like sheep grazing in a field?

When the DLP said they were not just built an economy but a society, what they did not tell you is that it will be a society of poor people.

God Help Us !!

208 responses to “The Worst Barbados Government Ever with over 4 More Years To Go! Not Sure We Will Survive This Government”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | July 11, 2013 at 8:19 AM |
    “I am still awaiting the arrival of ADRIAN LOVERIDGE.”

For what purpose? For you to spew your racist hate-filled myopically partisan venom at him?
    Why don’t you advise your administration that instead of vilifying and trying to demonize Adrian why not try to engage his critical thinking skills in moving this beleaguered tourism product forward?
    But first you must apologize for the nasty insults and racial slurs you and your ilk have been throwing at him just because he dares to question things and offer alternatives to the ways you guys are conducting the tourism business.

While you are waiting on Adrian why not use the time to compile that list making up the $64 million cut in personal emoluments as “demanded” by our de facto Minister of Finance the Governor of the CBB?
    They say that ‘the child is the father of the man’ but in this paradoxical situation of trading places, the Minister of Finance seems to be the puppet of the Governor.

You said that OWEN & the BLP would have practiced PARO Economics now we shall soon see whose financial house will be broken into by this DLP administration to meet its need for the uncontrollable forex fix to keep the spoiled brats called Bajans hooked on their conspicuous consumption highs.

Those who are predial thieves and live in glass houses should not plant mango trees on the lawn encircled by stones and watched over by a dumb garden gnome!

2. Mia Mottley on the BBC professing to be an agent of change. TALK TALK TALK TALK TALK TALK TALK TALK TALK TALK TALK TALK TALK TALK TALK … must have an Obama gene.

3. old onion bags Avatar

Pinkie | July 11, 2013 at 9:12 AM |

Yes, Barbados is a society of poor people and the rich in Barbados are living off of them
    True-est thing Pinkie ever said……in the mist of the coming debacle …the poor and hard working shall again be the wretched causalities….Is like these people in Cabinet and in Church Village living in a vacuum….Are they aware how HARD TIMES are already?Mr. Worrell Sinckler some people’s daily intake is a tin of sardine (known fact)…these people will perish when prices rise again ….or will take to crime to exist….Yet people speaking so casual….as if poor people have money to cut…..What is wrong with looking at the TOP of the LADDER…the Fiffins, the Hows the Borgs and the Dolphins…for a change ….for there is absolutely no room at the bottom of today’s surf pit..Talk about crime escalating…this is the sure way to encourage it…..please think of these things in your nxt budget proposals….

4. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Mia Mottley on the BBC professing to be an agent of change@
    Audit each Minister of both parties , Who ever refuse Vote them out.
    Lets start with Mia, Owen, Chris , COW and sir Ham. Sir Ford

5. According to the BLP yardfowls this is the worst govt” Yet ! Yet! the Blp soooob smart they still stupidly advocating massive layoffs and Privitisation the same stick that cut wunna ass causing wunna to lose de election ……. so tell ac smart asses how wunna going run the economy when wunna can.t even get the message right. one thing fuh sure i give wunna credit wunna sure know how to shoot wunna selves in the foot. Yeah but all the answers………….LOL

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | July 11, 2013 at 9:11 AM |

Much of that Bds $1.2 billion the Guv said Barbados has in foreign reserves might just be the final result of book-keeping gymnastics and creative accounting.
    Is this a case similar to a business that reports a net profit but the cash flow statement consistently shows a seriously negative cash position.

Can you imagine what the foreign reserves would look like if not for the timely forced, if not fire, sale of assets in the form of the BNB shares?

We need to know what that $1.2 billion is made up of.
    How much is represented by net receivables/payables.
    How much is tied up in US Treasury paper.
    How much is in short-term fixed deposits in overseas banks.
    How much is cash holdings in US $, UK £, Euros and Canadian $.
    How much is represented by SDR’s.
    How much is held in gold bullion.

Do the foreign reserves include or reflect a positive or negative net overseas non-current assets position?

Maybe our in-house BU statistician and book-keeper “Anthony” can enlighten us.

But we can’t understand why the Governor should be so quick to jump to defend and to dispel rumours about threats to the local currency.
    It is he and the P M who raised the alarm of the “D” bogeyman in the public domain.
    He is the one who used the P M as the messenger to shout ‘fire’ in the theatre unless we cut $400 million. Why is he so defensive of an imaginary event?

Until he can explain to us how come Barbados can gain an 8% in new registrants in the International Business sector but losses14% of the established businesses we will have every justification to suspect all figures reported under his authority.

7. Carson C. Cadogan | July 11, 2013 at 7:30 AM |
    “As a result you and AUSTIN and the rest of BLP jokers now have a great hatred for the Bajan people.”

the only Bajan people that there is a ‘hatred’ for would be those idiots who voted for and those who sold their votes to the DLP

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 11, 2013 at 9:55 AM |

Is Ryan Straughn a BLP yardfowl now?
    Has he not been consistent in his message?
    Are you going to rain down hell fire and DLP brimstone on the poor fellow who was educated by the tax payers of Barbados?
    Go and listen to the young man on the VOB Brasstacks talking sense and reality instead of apologetic shit for this stupid administration.

9. i would have thought for sure the allegations of buying votes would be looked in to by the police force .yet nothing was done and nothing is being done.
    amazing! you see how in Egypt the people rally together in the tens of thousands to get change,well that could also be done in barbados.
    but barbados and bajans frighten to loose the tourist from seeing such a sight.
    who will step up???????????
    and change barbados to what barbados used to be.??????
    i am afraid it already is too late and something that can not be changed.!
    the powers that be like it how it is.
    it is only bajans in the street calling for change that would ever get anything done.!
    but how would that look to the tourist??????????
    and to the world bank?????????????
    i believe barbados government just keeping quiet because if anything like a
    coup was to happen the dollar would get devalued.
    so as usual let us just keep pretending that a bag of potato chips is worth $20 dollars.or a car is worth$ 85 thousand that you can overseas for $15thousand.
    and so on and so forth.a bottle of water is worth $5 dollars when abroad it is worth 50 cents.

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

If there was vote buying then it was by the BLP. Maybe that is why there was no investigation.

Recent events relating to the Police Force should make everyone think.

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Pinkie

So you admit that your BLP has great hatred for Bajan people.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ old onion bags | July 11, 2013 at 9:38 AM |
    “Talk about crime escalating…this is the sure way to encourage it…..please think of these things in your nxt budget proposals….”

Onions has that mock man for a MoF given any indication of when the budget will be presented? We know it will be after Crop-over but by delaying administering the medicine will only allow things to get worse and economic gangrene to step with greater social septicemia to ensue.

Why not during the first sitting of the HoA after the Crop-over festival. Last mass indeed, it seems!

13. Mr. David Ellis,
    Why did you invite Frank Alleyne to the programme? Ryan Straughn and David Simpson were the better options.

14. The DLP didn,t steal the elections. the FOOLS(BLP) lost the election .given the massive advantage and political backing via media and private sector only a FOOl or fools in this case would have kickedthemselves in the arsss siding with self interest over people.s interest. the BLP deserved to LOSE And to think the haven,t learn…….

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Can’t wait | July 11, 2013 at 10:37 AM |

That “Alleyne” man is about to blow his top! Let him stay and self implode intellectually trying to defend the indefensible.

Ryan needs to stand his ground and don’t be frightened by that arrogant old fool quickly losing his mind.

16. old onion bags Avatar

Hope you all listening to VOB929……I just hear Dr.Frank tell Econ. Ryan….in his now most dogmatic manner…..Don’t interrupt me !…followed by a cut off…..MURDA…..Go listen..um is bare laughs

17. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

What an arrogant bombastic man. This seems to be following the current trend, shout them down and criticise them, call them lazy, BUT don’t deal with the crisis. Do they really feel they do their party ANY favours all at? Imagine when Jepter Ince shortly joins the fray.

18. I frighten when Jepter “physical deficit” Ince joins the programme.

19. @Can’t Wait

It is all about maintaining confidence in the economy. It is why the GOCB has used the word so frequently.

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Finally ADRIAN LOVERIDGE is here to give moral support to his BLP Team mates.

Whatever happen to the case involving the little child who drown in a pool at Peach and Quiet?

21. DLP (formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV

Really and truly, on Brass Tacks, Frank trying an active defense of himself talking (barking) HARD and want to frighten Ryan but HE(Frank) as a supposed economic advisor to the Gov’t MUST ANSWER for the economic turmoil this country is going through!!!!! Sir Frank along with the MOF must really be dragged through the coals!!!!Listening to all the barking Sir Frank doing now though, I really wondering if he is advising this Gov’t at his full capacity or really trying HARD to save his reputation because he sounding like he want to disassociate himself from from this crisis!!!!. It is TOO LATE!!!!! I also want to hear other economists calling in because their silence is DEAFENING!!!!! The figures are out, we need to know the views of the Barbados Economic Society!!!!!

22. BU, one thing I have not heard since this crisis is Capital Flight. Are you aware if this has/is taken place?

23. Who better than Sir Frank to defend the Economic Council’s advise/policies given to government?

24. Frustrated businessman Avatar
    Frustrated businessman

So where do we go from here? The no confidence motion and following election like in ’92 will be too late for any of us. When VAT goes up in a couple weeks/months maybe a couple members will cross the floor.

25. unbelievable
    right back where you started
    –square 2
    DLP = messed up big time
    charges -anyone?
    Dottin gone-
    one day’s notice
    –will DLP ‘s PM be given 1 month’s notice to vacate Ilaro Court

26. Poor Person Starving Avatar
    Poor Person Starving

@ ALL

Obviously, what the mules here on BU do not seem to realize is while they are braying about party allegiances and “who stole the most money,” people in the street are starving. Not all Bajans are spoilt and consumer-driven. Some of them are working hard & want to enjoy the fruits of their labour, but it’s being stolen from them by the government, the private sector & petty theives who just want what they want. The funny thing is…they get away with it!

When people like CCC start braying about what this party did and that party did, I have to wonder if he has a brain, or if it’s just filled with the paper that he gets from his party for regurgitating.

The time for party blaming is past. Let’s get back a sense of morality, unity, intelligence,and determination. When the going gets tough, the tough get going. Are bajans tough? Only time will tell.

27. @Can’t Wait

What we have seen is companies hedging by being bearish in the take up of government securities. This is usually a precursor to capital flight. We are at a critical juncture in our history. This is no time for the political yard fowls to bray. This is a time for BARBADIANS and FRIENDS to constructively engage on the issues.

28. Carson. How many people (Children) died in swimming pools? Stop diverting from the real issues that affecting Barbadians. Do you feel that Constituency Councils are a burden on taxpayers? Sorry….this is a difficult for you to answer.

29. DLP attacks everybody
    “too much slackness in public service”
    Frank Alleyne

30. old onion bags Avatar

@ Frustrated Businessman

Man you like you seeing Sandi days all ova again…..whaloss….If wanna think Stuartie gine sit by and allow a Eager12 again…think again…..Fa real doa interesting days indeed….good VOB program today..v.good..

31. I,m not sure Sir Frank can last until the end of brasstacks, at the rate he is going. He is a very desperate man and one should advise him, that at his age and if he really want to assist the governemt out of this crisis, he should withdraw from the programme and check his health. He seems to be heading for a stroke or heart attack.

32. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

David@ As you can see the long talk and more talk will get Barbados no where.

AUDIT AUDIT AUDIT ..
    SEEM TO BE THE WORSE WORD FOR ALL THE CROOKS,
    WE MUST SEE AND KNOW THE NUMBERS.
    THEN PUT THE NAMES TO THE NUMBERS.
    ALL WILL LEAD UP BACK TO LAND FRAUD

33. If on the other hand, he is quite O.K, then he is very arrogant and seems to be joining Jones and suggesting that no-one should speak against the government or they should get their heads cracked or shot. We have reached a serious situation in this country and I await this quick-fix, harse budget and see how bajans react to it. Remember, the constituency councils will decide who to help and that council is mainly if not wholly DLP yardfowls.

34. old onion bags Avatar

Wait till Mr. Physical deficit arrives…….Brass tack gine B Cat piss n Pepper…Denis J…..a word of caution

35. send home Frank Alleyne
    typical
    defending
    foolishness

36. Agree with you old onion bags. So far Mr. Johnson is holding his own. Ryan is very respectful. However, he must be careful that he don’t get a lash ’round his head from insane Frank Alleyne.

37. Frustrated businessman Avatar
    Frustrated businessman

At OOB, our economy is in a worse condition now than in 1991/2. Back then we had a much lower gov’t salaries bill and a sugar industry that was a huge employer and profitable. Tourists were coming because BDS was a great place to visit at a reasonable price. None of these conditions currently exist.

38. In 1991 the country could not defend the currency.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Can’t wait | July 11, 2013 at 11:07 AM |
    “BU, one thing I have not heard since this crisis is Capital Flight. Are you aware if this has/is taken place?”

Capital flight has been taking place since Barbados was tagged with its junk bond status.
    International companies both in the IBC sector and in other commercial activities like banking, utilities, tourism, insurance and distribution became very ‘bearish’ about Bim and its economic management team.

The refusal to invest in significant capital formation, sudden remittances of management fees and retained profit and slow reaction to repatriate income from overseas activities over accumulation are all signs of capital flight from a country where business confidence is at an all time low since 1991/92.

40. There is a lack of confidence by private sector to invest. Let us see how the social partnership can turn this around.

41. @AC

The GOCB sited “ineffective government bureaucracy” as the number one reason we are so screwed up …. after 5 years AC what government is he talking about? I gin tell you the DLP government.

Respectfully … It is bajans like you that feel you are doing Barbados a service by defending the current incompetence of the DLP administration and towing the party line come hell or high water. But dem days over ….

… when you are old and gray as you sound, you will forget that you (AC) played a role in destroying our fair nation by misleading the people on our current state of affairs, how can you come on this blog after this week’s announcement and still defense incompetence is beyond my understanding , unless you have something to gain from ignoring what is obvious to most including the now enlightened GOCB as numbers don’t change overnight, the GOCB knew the mess we was in before the election and spin the truth which will go down as his greatest failure.

Instead of spending time on BU on a work day as the civil servant you sound like, you need to go back to doing the people’s work, and let us willing bajans figure this thing out.

On the issue of maintaining confidence … yes Davis I agree.

But when we have a PM who should be the lead confidence builder hidden away in his government paid house … while yard folks like AC continue to defense his absence and lack of attention to pressing national matters, what can you saw.

Well what you can say is “enuff is enuff’ and pursue a no confident vote starting from the Bloggisphere and beyond.

I put Barbados first before party … the days of party line politics are over as now its a simply matter of survival.

42. old onion bags Avatar

Sir Frank says he like Sir Kiffin, Sir Cow and Andrew Bynoe…..movers not just shakers…..Frustrated Businessman, I agree, is 1991 all ova again….when ya start wrong..is be hard to turn right……Des people say dey din want nah body input……even now dem aint going be taking anybody advice….just watch August….taxes n mo taxes…Vat gine 20 %…..this was known since January (search for the thread)….they aint want to hear a soul….but cussing the private sector…

43. Thanks Miller……… on information on capital flight. This is serious stuff. We in real SHIT……………E. Is this a Guyana and Jamaica situation here in the making? Of Lord I hope not.

44. @CCC

It is fellows like you that we need to run out of Barbados … instead of addressing the issues you want to pump the politics of fear and intimidation, like your comment to Adrian L., I guess mine is next ….

Well guess what ….. it will not work we coming at you stronger and stronger “every day” till we get rid of this broken government … We must put Barbados first.

45. old onion bags Avatar

The problem with Barbados econ…..IS NOT A REVENUE PROBLEM….how many times more must that be told again….(no need to raise mo taxes den)….IS an EXPENDITURE Problem ask Ryan….She spending too much on expenditure…layman terms …what good will increasing Vat (hence prices do? Just watch come August…

46. @ Austin
    Barbados can only be put first when the BLP is in office. Any other time putting Barbados first is impossible. What nonsense! The neo-liberal policies of the last BLP government are largely credited for the current state. Mind you the DLP has done very little to make things better. We suggest making both the DLP and BLP proscribed organisations.

47. Caswell, where are you ? You need to be listening to brasstacks? need to hear from you.

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Austin | July 11, 2013 at 12:02 PM

“We must put Barbados first”

I think that you made a mistake.

I am sure that you meant, “We must put my corrupt Barbados Labour Party first”!

49. Miller wuh de helll i care by overzealous so-called economist like de guy on VOB. with yooyoo mentality being driven by political oportunistic goals influenced by” self interest”trying to give input on how to solve economic problems thay were in decay for more than twenty or so years pontificating on how best to solve such problems overnight