A copy of a dismissal letter received by a government worker dated 30 May 2013.

It seems our own Caswell Franklyn who heads Unity Workers Union has released the cat amongst the pigeons. Was there a plan to send home a large number of temporary government workers which was foiled when Caswell went public recently? Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler has been forced to deny there was such a plan. Maloney and Clarke from the NUPW have also denied that they were privy to any plan. Caswell has rebutted that after the initial plan was exposed the contingency plan seems to be the orderly release of temporary workers when their contracts expire.

During the just concluded general election campaign a key message from the Democratic Labour Party platform was that government jobs will be protected.

Who is lying? You be the judge.

124 responses to “Temporary Government Workers Being Sent Home”

1. @Well Well

Most of the non bank companies in Barbados are foreign owned anyway so what is the point.

2. David……………The point is i am sure there are some people who believe and have the authority within the credit union to make sure that these people’s money is protected, i may be naive, but i don’t think everyone is a thief…….even though the banks are foreign owned, there has to be protection under banking laws for the depositors. We cannot just sit by and let them steal and cause this money to disappear. At least we are aware, the CLICO policy holders, as well as, the Mutual Life policy holders had no such notice or warnings. I was reading about that Mutual Life case in Canada earlier this week, where Bajan policy holders are still waiting to be paid out by the Canadian company. The hardest thing is to know, nothing has happened yet, we are still talking, but measures can be taken to prevent thievery as long as you know.

3. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

It is unbelievable that the electorate voted these people into power .
    Barbadian society is in decline
    What should be discussed is how are we going to save this society.
    Errol W Barrow always chided DLP party members on their indifferent ways, describing them at one time as given to tribalism and as cannibalistic.

4. @ Negroman
    Haha you are talking pure shiiiite!!!
    The BLP padded the service prior to the 2008 election yet the number of government employees increased between 2008 (including officers at Rural Development Commission) and now. Pray tell who hired these folks, the BLP in opposition? Who hired the individual that is the subject of the letter?

5. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

DAVID, CAS , WELL, @”Rural”
    jokes/FRAUD , now such word, All the Fraud names for pay off buy out pay back votes is all of one things. Many headings on BU that leading back to PLANTATION DEEDS.
    Chop up the RATS so small, you dont know what you are eating.
    Now the FRAUD is More clear each day. It WILL lead you all back to Beatrice Henry and Violet Beckles of Barbados the 2 Queens of the Island History.
    Now the Fraud accounts, and run down by the IRS and other BANKS AND GOVERNMENTS LIKE GUYANA will be given to November to comply is money laundering laws or rules.
    Barbados is now being AUDIT,, BY THE WORLD.
    Fake work to buy votes and can not be paid for by fraud ,
    Chris Crook Sink , will Sink in his Math,
    As of when BU post the information about DEEDS , all you have to do is read BACK and see things will come full circle. To Plantation DEEDS
    RURAL IS ANOTHER WORD FOR PLANTATION LANDS ,,, NOW WHERE THE DEEDS CHRIS , PM , AG, GG QC, SIRS , ESQ?
    DAM CROOK. ‘
    HELLO PM , WHEN YOU GET THE BALLS , YOU KNOW WHERE TO REACH ME. BRING ALL 22 LAWYERS YOU HAVE IN THE HOUSE DOING NOTHING , THE HYPE IS GONE , NOW TIME TO DO SOME WORK,,,IMF NOR THE WORLD BANK can bail you all out , for your papers are bad , Only DEEDS Can , We can wait you out or out of office..SHAMGAR,

6. You have to believe Avatar
    You have to believe

Negroman | May 31, 2013 at 4:01 PM |

Every word you say is true negrocrat. Give em hell.

“Temporary & permanent government employees lost their jobs under the last Barbados Labour Party administration.
    It is unfortunate that the officer contract was not renewed.The could be a myriad of reasons why the contract was not renewed.
    The last Barbados Labour Party adminitration prior to the 2008 general election padded the public service with the creation of a high volume of temporary posts.Many of these posts were not needed but were created to provide employment for the supporters of the Barbados Labour Party in the hope that they support could have caused that despicable party to retain power.
    David of BU is an incredible individual.He is at the forefront in his calls for this government to reduce government expenditure.
    If unneccessary temporary posts that were created by the immoral,corrupt and despicable Barbados Labour Party previous administration headed by the despot Owen Arthur have to be unfortunately abolished.so as to reduce government expenditure, then it will be done.
    These are some of the hard decision this administration is prepare to take.
    David of BU,Caswell Franklyn and the other BLP lackeys on this blog,The Democratic Labour Party is the government of Barbados and all of you will have to continue to gripe,criticize and complain for the next five (5) years.
    We in the great Democratic Labour Party will continue to do what is best for this country.”

7. You have to believe Avatar
    You have to believe

‘negroman’ not negrocrat. My apologies to you negroman for sullying your good name with Owen Arthur’s disparging label for Harold Hoyte.

8. If they were TEMPORARY what’s all the fuss about.

9. The actors in this tragicomedy are sad. Again I ask when did the person in the attached letter begin their “five years of temporary service”?

10. If you count backward, it would be the beginning of the five years of the DLPs reign in office, they just needed the temporary workers to help vote them back in, they are back in, your services are no longer needed, mission accomplished.

11. From the horse’s mouth:

Shake-up coming to RDC workings, says Sinckler
    Published on: 1/12/09.
    THE RURAL DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION (RDC) will experience a shake-up so as to prepare for the next financial year. According to Minister of Social Care and Rural and Urban Development Commissions Chris Sinckler, “we have introduced an ambitious programme for the next financial year. It would mean that we have to upgrade the level of staffing and technical operations here at the RDC”. He was speaking at a media briefing before touring the RDC’s Speightstown, St Peter, office for the first time Thursday.

Senator Derek Alleyne takes reins at UDC
    8/1/2009
    IT is official – from today, August 1, 2009, Senator Derek Alleyne will be the new Director of the Urban Development Commission (UDC) and he will be overlooking the re-structuring of that body. Changes are said to include the need for at least two new persons in the organisation, there will be four project co-ordinators, the creation of a clients services department and the appointment of two deputy directors. Minister of Social Care, Constituency Empowerment and Rural and Urban Development, Christopher Sinckler revealed all of this yesterday when he led a press conference at the UDC’s Roebuck Street Headquarters. Sinckler said that the re-structuring would work towards developing the urban corridor in a more efficient manner, making way for “places of interest and commercial activity” without “unduly uprooting the people who have dwelled in the City since the time we were a nation”.

12. Does anyone know how many were sent home? I hate to see persons pong home.

13. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

It is a mystery to me and many other bajans how the electorate could have voted this vacuous,ill prepared for service to country,empty,mindless bunch of pretenders, to govern this country,a country which boasts 98% literacy.The only explanation one can proffer is that the majority of the electorate is into welfarism in a big way,probably encouraged by the same DLP candidates.The next round in this battle of layoffs might be those workers employed by Lowes Laundry Works and Drainage,who were not paid last month and threatened to march to Freundel’s office to air their grievance.
    Btw,does the date 3rd April 2008 mean anything on that letter from Rural?

14. @ Gabriel
    I was also wondering about the April 3rd, 2008 date. Could it be the date the individual was hired? It is a FACT that a Field Officer was hired at RDC post January 2008.

15. LIKE IT OR LUMP IT Avatar
    LIKE IT OR LUMP IT

We got five years in power so wunna cud like it or lump it. We win the election, get over wunna Post Election Syndrome (PES). We aint wanna hear nothing from no BLP person. We doing things we way. And come 2018, another victory with Payne gone, Owen gone, Ronald Toppin gone and Mia in her homosexuality agenda.

Victory is ours. Wunna in the BLP want to bring bout homosexual marriage bout here. Not my PM Freundel. We got the advertisement planned for wunna at next election. It 100 times worst than the old pensioner lady on the bus.

TEK DAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

16. LIKE IT OR LUMP IT Avatar
    LIKE IT OR LUMP IT

Santia Bradshaw will also lose her seat. Not one shite for the people of the Pine unless dem on the Dems side. Football nor entertainment cant win the PIne in 2018.

Poor people want government jobs and they shall get them when the time is right.

17. Sincklair was masterful on telly tonight. He referred to Caswell as a street character and an attorney-at-large. I nearly dead wif laugh. This childish bickering mut stop and big people B and D must get on with the job of working together to push our beloved country forward.

18. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

i heard the jackass on the tv tonight. all i keep thinking is this is the guy who is charge to run this country? god help us all.

19. So juvenile and to think that is what taxpayers are paying for on a monthly basis.

20. Dems,
    You all are pitiful! It is so sad! You care for no one other than yourselves who are still feasting on the starving calf. “Tek daa”……..your days of gloating will soon be over…..the days of calamity will be here soon and I hope all you Dems will take it.

Just imagine a thug like Stinkliar can think he can insult people, he needs to look in a mirror!

21. LIKE IT OR LUMP IT Avatar
    LIKE IT OR LUMP IT

Mia want to legalise gay marriage and she pushing Peter Wickham.

22. Tackle | May 31, 2013 at 9:45 PM |
    It is a mystery to me and many other bajans how the electorate could have voted this vacuous,ill prepared for service to country,empty,mindless bunch of pretenders, to govern this country
    ===EXPLANATION–Ignorant people voted for Dems in the last BUY-ELECTIONS.
    On February 23, 2013, there was a BUY ELECTIONS in Barbados and the DEMS bought themselves 5 more years of free food, free drinks and Per Diems –and bull frog appearance.. STIKING STINKLIAR looked like a Bull DFrog on my tv tonight

Boy you dont know the number of JACKASSES that there are out there in Barbados. Only JACK ASSES would have voted this sorry ass bunch into power. There are some black-berry illiterates out there who dont know nothing about current events , political history nothing. Dotish as ever, they walked around in a fantasy world and have a kind of logic that is mind boggling. Only asinine logic would say that Owen Arthur and the BLP was not the better team for these times. Only Jackasses would have voted for somebody like Freundel Stuart to be Prime Minister of Barbados and Chris Stinking SickLiar StinkLiar Sicnkler to be Minister of Finance in these times. Wunna people that vote Dems are –what’s the word ?—-JACKASSES—-KUNTS–IMBECILES and all other sick minded descriptions out there.

OFF Topic–Why does the NCF feel that putting a number of noisy people jumping around on a stage and keeping meaningless noise entertainment ?? Why do they that that is entertainment. I travle all the way to the NCF tonight to be dissappointed . Where are the veterans who built Crop Over and established calypso /Soca in Barbados. Why some of these artistes could not be on a stage singing their sweet melodies from over the years instead of having Blood and Mikey ona stage -NOISING ?

JUST ASKING

23. The above comment is from JUST ASKING
    Somehow I managed to type o-do in the name space because the cursor went right down in that space and I did not realise

24. a contract is what it is, and it has an end date. if there is noo need for extension or renewal of a contract, why renew it?

25. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

o do @ As you looking to this Fraud more you will see that the BLP got this bull running and then it went to the DLP to fix,
    They saw so much ways to make more fraud cash they re fueled and stepped on the gas . Now both parties ran out of roads build by COW.
    BLP and DLP , it dont take 20 years to see fraud crooks . Just do an Audit and we done , No long talk needed.

26. @ Gabriel
    “It is a mystery to me and many other bajans how the electorate could have voted this vacuous,ill prepared for service to country,empty,mindless bunch of pretenders, to govern this country,a country which boasts 98% literacy.The only explanation one can proffer is that the majority of the electorate is into welfarism in a big way,probably encouraged by the same DLP candidates…..”
    With 98% literacy, it may be more reasonable to conclude that the reason why the electorate could have voted for this bunch of mindless pretenders is that it was a marginally better choice than the alternative set of thieving mindless pretenders.
    …perhaps if they had bothered to explain where the missing billion dollars in cost overruns had gone, things would have been different..

27. ha ha, i can see that many of ya’ll on this blog gonna give yourselves, headaches, heartaches, backaches and many other aches. LOL the election is OVER. I mean seriously tho, how long are the blp supporters going to nit pick and gripe? How long are the DLP supporters going to defend (some of) the unnecessary actions taken, or lack thereof, of the present GOVT. Its sad to see that some of the intellectuals on this blog can do nothing but spout their political rhetoric and agenda. You same people are the ones standing in the way of meaningful progress in this country. The young people in this country, many of whom have been castigated, and maligned will not stand for the inferior management of our country by so called politicians. We demand a change, and not from D to B, and vice versa. If we don’t get what we want we will take it. We, unlike the older generations, cannot be cajoled into supporting a party just because our father or mother does, we dont want corned beef and biscuits, if you give us ipods and ipads, and think that is our measure, you are wrong. If you give us Grantleys, we will spend it, dont vote for the giver, and then laugh behind your backs. One day is coming, they say Bajans are docile, we will see.

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PRODIGAL SON

You doing “de dogg” at this Barbados Underground sponsored Democratic Labour Party hate festival.

29. Carson…………….i thought you had abandoned me, what happened?

30. 11million tostimulate the tourism industry………….9million to restruct the agriculutural industry…………millions of dollars being refunding in Vat….. money that when funneled into the economy would help to stimulate growth and reduce unemployment and wunna yardfowls keep complaining…………steupseee.

31. @Caswell

We have 400 temporary clerical officers and several casual workers which were contracted in the lead up to the last general election especially at Drainage. Given government’s policy of not renewing contracts these temps will be working with great uncertainty and fear. Of course many on BU have been suggesting for months that government is not in a position to maintain the employee level. The chickens have come home to roost.

32. Now we have a suspect by the name of Caswelll running around “armed and dangerous” with one letter in his continual feeble attempt to cast “Uncertainty and fear in the hearts of temporary workers and all public servants in his effort to discredit the DLP govt.

33. Caswell……….defend yourself.

34. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

If I were CASWELL FRANKLYN my main purpose in life would be to recruit more members for my one person Trade union.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Standing firm | May 31, 2013 at 12:02 AM |
    “What I cant understand is the triumphal esctacy by the blog owner and BLP yardfowls like onion, miller etc for people to be sent home. Arent these folks hard working citizens who deserve to work.”

It really saddens one to know that one is intellectually saddled with the responsibility of having to respond to people like you who stand proudly firm in a quagmire of idiocy and ignorance.
    Do you really in your right mind believe that people like the blog owner or anyone else commenting critically on this blog are “happy” to see people being sent home from the public sector?

What we are starting to witness is the inevitable result of the meltdown of this country’s economy as a result of irrevocable changes in capitalist-based North Atlantic economies and exceedingly poor responses and management approaches by an administration which finds itself steering the ship of state at this time of the country’s development.
    But the crux of the matter is that this same DLP administration is fooling people like you and possibly even themselves if they continue to operate in ‘make believe’ land.

Where do you think, mighty bright “Standing firm”, the Treasury gets money from to pay public sector workers? From the printing press of
    Thomas de la Rue?
    My friend, FYI, the money comes mainly in the form of taxes and levies on the commercial and economic activities of the PRIVATE SECTOR.
    So reason with us, if you can. The Private Sector is under tremendous strain and economic activity is underperforming and private sector workers have been sent home and are daily being sent home. What then do you think will be the outcome?
    If you work for a business and that business loses customers or a large contract what do you think will be the inevitable outcome other than workers being laid off?

Do you really believe that the private sector could take such heavy blows and the public sector which relies on its revenue or income by way of taxes from the private sector can remain unscathed and totally insulated from the contagion?
    Stupid man, put on you thinking cap and stop being so politically infested with the partisan plague.

The infection has spread to the public sector and no cordon sanitaire is available unless the private sector (the country’s engines of growth and economic activity) experiences a significant turnaround in its financial and economic fortunes.
    Get with the programme and stand firm in the circle of common sense. We either swim together and share the burden or sink together with one side, thinking, like you, they can exist without the other. No man is an island no and stands alone, even if on terra firma!

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This is all a storm in a teacup.

Temporary officers in the service get letters every month advising they services are no longer required just as several new ones get letters telling them to start work from next week.

37. I understand that Temporary staff were sent packing yesterday too
    I over- heard two people in Six Roads yesterday evening.
    exchanging greetings and talking quite openly about it . One tell the other that somebody from PAD says that this is a fact

38. Carson………….i don’t know why you are acting like we don’t talk, why let go temporary workers, just to hire other temporary workers the next week, is that for different departments?

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

You continue to disappoint me.

You are allowing nincompoops to mislead you every time.

40. Carson………….you should see by know, no one can mislead me, everyone takes a hit, it is really about the island now and not about us individually. Apparently, you were not reading the blogs this week where i said i am willing to give the present PM the benefit of the doubt as it relates to the money on the credit union belonging to the majority poor on the island. That does not mean that questions should not be asked and answered. I know how challenging the times are and it is very easy to make mistakes, look at scrutiny as a blessing and not as a malicious act.

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well Well

I will take you at your word.

42. Carson………believe me, i mean no malice to either party, but even you have to admit that neither party has been the best they could be or offered the best leadership that is needed for the island to remain stable and prosperous, this is not the time to turn a blind eye to stupidity or mismanagement, it is the best time to question leadership.

43. The DLP MADE A MESS OF THIS SITUATION
    It is generally accepted that there must be adjustments
    Couldnt ignorant -ass Freundelitis and Stinky StinkLiar handle the situation better ? .
    By the way where is the Prime Minister of Barbados ?
    Where is Barbados going?

JUST ASKING

44. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar

400 temporary clerical officer@ thats a lot of votes in an election .If you vote for me , WE both keep you working,,

45. Observing(...) Avatar
    Observing(…)

Greetings to all, it’s been a while.

Chickens always come home to roost.

Bushie is right. Anyone who believed what was said during the elections deserves the label he/she gets. Couple the implications of this story with the ongoing legal challenge by the Fire Officers and we have a pending perfect Public Sector and political firestorm.

The current actors have proven to be out of their depth. The alternative ones have not shown much either. After all has been said (lies) and done (pretense) where are we?

Will the real leaders please stand up?

I’ll continue to observe and read….quietly.

Just Observing….from a far distance.

p.s.
    @Caswell
    Advise the gentleman to find alternative employment. Even if you could fight and prove a case for reinstatement, this is the imminent modus operandi. Can’t have people “like you” showing it up or derailing it. Despite that though, keep up the good fight my brother.

46. Since Caswell broke the bad news on Brasstacks two weeks ago, many temporary workers in the public sector are nervous. For sure, some of the temporary teachers in the primary and secondary schools will be waiting to see if they will be reassigned. They are gearing up for the worst. At a particular secondary, they have 32 temporary teachers and 43 permanent teachers. Up to Friday May 31, the school’s secretary was still collecting information on individuals, in addition to the list that was requested and sent down to the Ministry of Education one week ago. This will be an interesting summer. Some have opted not to travel this summer at all.

47. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Observing

I have no intention of giving up the fight: if I do, there would be no one left that is even attempting to represent workers.

48. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Can’t Wait

I know many temporary public workers are nervous but if I didn’t break the news, they would be unemployed by now. I was told that the letters for the workers at NHC were already in envelopes to be delivered on pay day. My revelation caused Government to change tactics. They are now planning not to issue any more authorities when the the three month periods run out.

Minister Sinckler inadvertently revealed that they would have been 6,000 workers going home. I feel quite proud of myself for having saved 6,000 jobs, at least for a while.

49. now you have an army of 6000 to start a union……what u waiting for……maybe you can start your own political party and foget BUP.

50. @Caswell

So Caswell, what about temporary teachers in the island’s public schools. Their contract will expire on August 31 2013. At the moment temporary teachers reports are being prepared to send down to the Ministry of Education. Should these teachers look towards re-assignment in September? It is le.ft to be seen

What is the latest with this FSC/Credit Union saga? Will Sinkliar get his hands on poor people money in COB and smaller credit unions? He can get Public Workers credit union money because that is a DLP credit union and they are all compromised.