Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

Sometimes so many statistics and figures are bandied about in the tourism industry, it is easy to be distracted from any cause and effect that these may have. Take the recently announced long stay visitor arrival figures for January and February 2013 for instance. A 9 per cent fall for each month. While that may not appear devastating in numbers alone, you have to look past the percentage decline. These are two of our critical four peak winter months. Add the fall in arrivals during December 2012 and already the heady predictions of a strong winter are completely out the window. In January 2012 , we welcomed 52,619 stay-over visitors and in February 2012, some 54,162.

Many hoteliers rely on the winter for not only a high room occupancy level, but also the premium rates charged over this period. December 2012 welcomed 52,174 persons, which naturally includes what is probably the busiest time of the year, Christmas and New Year, for most properties. Compare arrivals with summer months and you can get a feel of the importance of winter volume and revenue. As examples, August 2012, which could have the benefit of Crop Over and visiting friends and relatives, 43,191 and June 2012, 36,656.

From an economic point of view, if you use one of our West Coast 4 star hotels of about 100 rooms to measure the losses, who charges US$709 per room per night in the winter. Then average a typical stay of 7 nights which produces US$4,963 for that room over that period. The same room charge in the summer, falls to US$282 or US$1,974 for the week. A massive 60 per cent less income, and that’s before you factor in specials like offering 7 nights, but paying for six. Of course, its not quite that simple, as Barbados is a largely tour operator dependent destination, which would negatively influence net room rates. But I would guess that while the figures may vary, the proportions do not.

Some industry observers have been quick to blame the ongoing Almond Beach Village closure to our current dismal performance, but the facts do not substantiate this is any meaningful way. Even if the hotel was open, based on the same average stay, two persons each room and operating to a 80 per cent occupancy, the very most this could have effected the numbers were 2,798 guests for January and 2,528 for February. The actual arrival falls were 4,735 in January and 4,874 in February. And this is based on what must be a clearly fallible theory, that travel professionals, operators or agents, were not able to switch sell the original hotel of choice to their clients.

So the obvious question is, if potential clients were not accommodated at ABV, where did they stay?

Or was another holiday destination chosen?

The losses don’t just end at the hotel. Less car rentals, restaurant dining, shopping, excursions and activities, reduced staff hours worked etc, and this all has a dramatic influence of reducing the taxes Government collect.

1. Interesting initiative the MoT is trying: BDS$11 million to hopefully attract 15,000 additional long stay visits or a cost per person of BDS$733.33 plus a discount voucher Sleeping half-moon emoticon of up to BDS$600 per person dependent of stay (7 nights).
    It is estimated that these ‘extra’ 15,000 could spend an average of BDS$2,000 (less $733.33) which nets an average daily spend of just US$90 per person on a average 7 day stay.
    ROI (Return on Investment) 1:2.72 before subsidy – 1:1.73 after

What are we missing folks?

2. barbados is just an over priced over rated destination.

3. It was a poor winter, what next? It is a silly question but I will answer. A poor spring!

4. It is clear once again that where there is no vision some of the people will perish.

The cost of use of money theory states that any commercial business sectors in Barbados that engage in the productive use of money, that have the lowest possible cost of use of income, payments, transfers in their multi-dimensional operational guises, and that are best able to pass on the cost of use of money to other domestic or external sectors without jeopardising their savings altogether in relationship to the other commercial business sectors doing similarly – will be the sectors that will be greater placed, in theory, and on the whole, than the other commercial business sectors to – in the long term – make efficient use of money and to lead the way in the country’s doing so as a whole (making efficient use of money – which is partly explained by the ability of the enterprise to cushion the effects of an increasing cost of use of money rate at the national level ), when contrasted with corresponding periods before.

As it has invariably been from day one when tourism was seen by national strategic planners many years ago in the 1960s as a sector that had the capacity to lead the way in the diversification of the hitherto agro-based political economy of Barbados; and as it has long stood from then until now, the tourism industry has hardly been making productive and efficient use of money; and by virtue of its being a tertiary services industry it has been in the long term finding it extremely difficult to successfully pass on such costs of use of money to its clients without seriously compromising its financial savings.

It is in the context of such thinking and more that the initiative to subsdize part of the remuneration costs of some tourists to travel here soon must be seen as outlandish foolishness. What a serious progressive people centered government ought to be doing now is starting to engage the the process of drastically reducing the cost of use of money in Barbados by the removing of interest rates, by the abolishing of the practice of people and entities providing financial institutions with non-remuneration money under the pretext of so-called loan agreements, etc. the abolition of TAXATION, among other things critical to making the country and the productive and commercial sectors far batter off than now.

5. The governor of the central bank was relying on a good winter to pull us out of this situation, I laughed because I already heard that the season will looking very grim. In fact, I.ve been told thar the few tourists who are coming to this part of the region, many are by-passing Barbados and going to destinations with similar conditions but better prices than Barbados. The cash- for- gold rise in crime in Barbados is also contribution to tourists staying away.

6. Not a silly question, it is asking whereto from here economically. To cut a long story short, and in bajan parlance, we are up xxxx creek without a paddle.

Time Government plan for the soup kitchens, at least one large one in each parish, to provide one meal per day to those who arrive.

If we can feed the criminals, we can surely feed those whose families have hit hard times, no matter who they are.

Think not necessary? Think again.

7. @ David
    I would come and eat fish in Oistins every night with the vouchers and keep my FOREX in muh pocket.

8. What was the criteria used to determine the voucher amount and the participating merchants?

9. The Barbados pin head society has struck again robbing three canadian tourists.Another nail in the coffin.Somebody knows who is committing these crimes and killing your tourism.Some idiot with no job driving a new car or buying a flat screen tv or wearing the latest bling .The good people have to stand up and out these guys.Talks cheap, push the crime stoppers program, pay for information, give out harsh punishment or tourism will go from grim to non-existant.

10. @lawson

Why would you suggest such a thing? The preferred approach is to accuse those who want to see some more energy in crime fighting as unpatriotic and or compare Barbados to Jamaica.

11. do you mean unpatriotic?

12. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David, A very good question.
    I understand the programme doesn’t start until 29th April, but why on earth have a press conference without disclosing ALL the details and then not either have a Media Release and at least put in on the BTA website and FaceBook pages.
    I also question WHY you would want to spend 11 per cent of the entire annual budget to HOPEFULLY attract 15,000 ‘additional’ long stay visitors which represents less than 2.75 per cent of the total 2012 long stay visitor arrival numbers. And especially to attract people that are only expected to spend an average of US$90 per day (15,000 – $30 million less $11 million)
    and that’s before they use any vouchers.

13. @lawson

Thanks!

14. @adrian

It is clear the government is trying to spread the money around and at the same time fill the rooms. The last relief measure to the hotel sector failed this time it has decided to use an indirect strategy so that the 15 millions acts as a stimulus of sorts. You may disagree but they have to try things. BU’s beef is the lack of transparency.

15. The government must understand that when you spend more than you are make it is the path to bankruptcy! What kind of economics are they practising? We are onto the path of no return unless we make a U turn.

We are hearing nothing that makes any sense from those who are in charge on how they are going to address the present situation.

It is clear that the government is sitting and waiting for manna to fall from the sky. That will never happen, they are so afraid to do and say anything that they have put the Central Bank Governor to do all the bullshitting to the population.

People like Ryan Straughn, Mr Layne and others are the only ones talking and what the government must do to stem the flow. All we are hearing is allota shite talk bout dem gine be building dis and building dat. Where are they going to raise the capital for these projects. A little bird told me that they have been rejected by two lending agencies. How de rass you could get a loan when you can’t show how you are going to pay it back with all the other creditors you owe???

With this poor winter season that was expected by many except for the Governor of the Central Bank wasn’t there any other plan in place?? Yes we hearing nuff shite about “we are immune from what is happening in the rest of the world” and we have put things in place”. Whatever “things” that are in place ain’t wukking. Now this harebrained plan by the MOT. Stupse

16. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David, I certainly agree about the lack of transparency and add abysmal communication. ‘spread the money around’ – Interesting, so are the vouchers available to ALL hotels (whether BHTA members or not) and what about the villa, condominium and apartment sector. It makes sense to include this sector, as often they are booked at full rack rate and flights are also booked directly, rather than having revenue diluted through tour operators.

17. Adrian wrote, “It was a poor winter, what next?”

If tourist continue to get robbed next winter will be even worse.

All the incentives will do nothing if people feel unsafe.

18. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Hants, I totally agree.

19. old onion bags Avatar

Gimme a break Hants & Co…..as if people don’t get robbed all ova this globe…problem is we have over priced our product….cut it however you like..

20. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

A poor winter ?
    How so ?
    What else in Barbados is poor ?
    Whatever became of the Government and its leader ?

The repeated idea that Barbados is not as bad as others seem to suggest that Barbados wants to get as bad as the others. This has always been the case so
    why use this as a crutch to lean on ? Stoopid very stoopid !

I will have none of it !

21. Typical myopic Bajan mindset: spend money they do not have, to attract visitors who will not come, and those who do come will expect something free in the future. Barbados is not a buy one get one free, an all you can eat, a come hungry leave happy destination. It is expensive due to gov’t taxes, waste, and corruption…period. To roll the 11 million dollar dice to attract “big spenders” who spend $ 90.00 a day shows the desperation if not outright fear of these inept officials that the end is near.

22. I have mixed views on the proposal as I have previously said that maybe the BTA needed to offer some sort of incentive to counteract the APD.

How 15000 visitors who now have $600, $300 vouchers in hand will spend to generate 30 million dollars is beyond my comprehension. What if we only get 2000 visitors? Has that been factored in?

To me the plan does not seem to be well thought out. The Minister is hoping against hope something will work in response t the public cry of…do something. But I am prepared to give it a try and see what happens. Just like the DLP’s plan for Barbados ever since they got in in 2008………….wait and see!

23. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Prodigal,

I am not sure that anyone could guarantee 15,000 will response. But what if the regulars that come every year to Barbados take up the offer, will that not dilute earned revenue?

24. Breakfast in Barbados seems to be good advertizing for the island in canada.But all that good press will be overshadowed by the numbskulls robbing canadians in hastings.Barbados is the size of a small city you would think the puffed up politicians lawyers and administrators would be able to get a handle on these idiots.I am sending my family down for cropover, and they are staying in hastings between the robbery on the boardwalk,shootings on nelson road and this latest nonsense I am not feeling to good about it.

25. @Adrian

Surely your concern can be addressed by structuring the offer to weight in favour of new visitors and or those who have not visited in the last 24 months?

26. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David, how on earth do you police that? My thought is that this offer will be largely driven by tour operators and travel agents. They are certainly not going to allow all sorts of restrictions to be placed on eligibility of booking conditions. This (at least for me) is another concern that such a large chunk of the BTA budget, is being spent on driving heavily discounted programme. Better to get less people, who are paying more and the money is at least coming to the island.

27. Those vouchers should be put towards the cleaning and beautifying of this island. That will help stimulate some small businesses.

28. Agree totally with you islandgal. Clean up Barbados has been my swan song, I get so angry when I see how people litter. I just cannot understand how we keep claiming that Barbados is so beautiful when it is so nasty. We have people who litter indiscriminately and dont seem to care at all. On my way from my area, I see someone dumped some old galvanise sheets and an old mattress by the side of a busy road.

I go to Canada and I am always so impressed with the environment, so clean. I notice that in the area of schools, there is a speed limit and I noticed that my relatives observed the speed limit even during the summer holidays! Think we could do that about here? Never!

Some Bajans are nasty people!

29. @islandgal

The problem with your suggestion is that it does nothing to trying to attract tourists.

30. @ Adrain – But what if the regulars that come every year to Barbados take up the offer, will that not dilute earned revenue?

Indeed; so the regulars go to Oistins for their Friday night fish; and instead of spending their hard earned cash, they use their coupon. The vendor (eating house) needs cash to pay for their supplies, staff and rent.

If Adrian and other businesses like Peach & Quiet have to wait 2 to 3 years to receive their VAT refunds, how long will it take for the “eating houses” which redeem the coupons to receive the cash for the coupons they redeem. Days, weeks, months, years? They need the money now

And which “eating houses” will be approved vendors. Dems in and Bs out?

How many vendors are there at Oistins. 20, 30, 40? Will they all be on the approved list? What of those who are not approved?
    April 29 coming soon; so many questions

31. So David a dirty island attracts them????

32. @islandgal

We need to do them both read walk and chew gum.

33. @ Islandgirl and David

A cleanup of the island may not attract them to come for the first time; but it would help to encourage them to come back

34. Old Onion bags wrote “Gimme a break Hants & Co…..as if people don’t get robbed all ova this globe…

I know you know better Onions.

35. Who wants to come to Barbados when the capital City is the PISSIEST in the whole world? At every intersection, every alley, some uncouth person outs his penis and pisses away to his hearts content. The city STINKS of urine.

I was in the Cheapside bus stand waiting for the City Circle. There are washrooms in this area and they are clean – the tourists from the cruise ships often stop in. The ZR stand is across from the TB, and i saw this big black man, leave the ZR stand, walk to the wall fronting the temporary market and piss in full sight of several hundred people.
    GROSS!!

36. Barbados relies to too few things to survive mainly tourism. Barbados does not and is not marketing something more than those others. It, Barbados at moment has nothing to entice visitors, nothing more than all the others.

Most people like vacations, look forward to them – away from home. Considering the environment of today’s economy, they certainly want and demand quality for their money. Detroit in Michigan is often called “the motor city” as it is home of the auto industry and the annual North American Auto Show. The Madi Gras and Essence Music festival is celebrated annually in New Orleans, Louisiana. Alike, Detroit in Michigan and New Orleans in Louisiana, Barbados maybe should or could launch a major event to attract visitors there. Montreal in Quebec, Canada every year host a big deal jazz festival and have put into it big name individuals linked to the music industry, several living legends of jazz, blues, R&B too: Stevie Wonder, Aretha Franklin, Lionel Richie, B.B. King, etc. Barbados maybe could or should do the same, make effort to compete with New Orleans and Montreal, if it can.

37. He is correct people get robbed everywhere, but not every place is solely dependant on tourism. Jamaica has worse crime but they have bauxite rare eath etc, trinidad to but they have oil, canada is not any better but we have trees ,minerals, grain etc we can survive if no one visits . can you??? If you believe as I do that you cant without a drastic cut in lifestyle take your future in your hands demostrate, march, protest till something is done about these thugs that will eventually kill the only real forex earner you have.

38. Never stepped down on Barbados soil and not interested considering the crime rate against visiting tourist.

39. There is a ‘relationship’ which Barbados has enjoyed with Canada and the UK through the years. Because of the state of the UK economy and APD it has affected us badly. Canada has been a good market historically with a strong Canadian offshore sector the plank. With the virtual monopoly which Barbados has enjoyed with Canada and double taxing treatises it has all become unravelled.

40. Adrian Loveridge | April 22, 2013 at 7:11 AM |

David, A very good question.
    I understand the programme doesn’t start until 29th April, but why on earth have a press conference without disclosing ALL the details and then not either have a Media Release and at least put in on the BTA website and FaceBook pages.
    “””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””

Simple, Adrian.
    After boasting that “we win”, they are running scared and have abandoned Parliament for six weeks. And so, not appear that they are doing nothing when all Barbadians are saying that something needs to be done in the light of the Central Bank Governor’s bleak report, out rushes an unprepared Minister of Tourism announcing a plan not fully thought out!

A five year old child can read a Dem like the Lady Bird books youngsters read!

41. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Why if Canada is such a good market, have we experienced a DOUBLE digit declines in two of the traditionally busiest and critical winter months from this market so far this year (January and February) ?
    You may not think I am always the most positive person in tourism, but we have to start answering these questions and finding solutions.
    The ‘right people in the right places’.

42. @Adrian

Maybe it is a statistical wobble!

Seriously, we have gotten fat or should it be fatter.

43. Who is the marketing expert that devised such a stupid “Come eat and keep yuh money in yuh pocket”? That $11 million should have gone into a stimulus that would reduce the cost of living and revitalised our tourist product especially in the St. Lawrence area where businesses are closing down at a rapid rate. BTW, How many restaurants will be partnering with the Tourism Ministry and will transparency be an asset? It is highly impossible to achieve $30 million from this ill-gotten marketing plan. I can go to Jus Grillin and that $600 BDS can buy 6 dinners for me and wifey When the MOT gives a positive outlook, we always end up with a negative in-look. We are presently struggling with less tourists for the first three months of the year which usually dictates the financial position of the country. Would the MOF get up from his slumber and tell us where are we going to get all the monies for this $600 million stimulus from? These are the new buildings:- 3 new schools, New School Meal centre; New BWA Headquarters; New Police Station in Hastings; New Hospital: New High rise rental units: New ambulances, new refuse trucks, new everything and a new set of NEW VIRGIN BRAINS THAT AIN’T USED YET. Lo

44. @El Maestro:
    How near is near?
    @Adrian Just saw an advertisement from Sandals…$400.oo being offered toward the price of a ticket (air line).Your thoughts. By the way, and at the same time, Your suggestions (concrete and succinct) to improve the tourist product. Last thing I heard from you in this regard was the “Caribbean” discount card.

45. @ David
    I think blaming the APD and ‘recession’ is a cop out. Aren’t others growing their British numbers?

46. @Alvin

What more do you want from Adrian? Whether a BLP or DLP administration has been in office the man has been indefatigable in his feedback. The problem is that the guys in suits don’t like feedback when it goes against what they are doing.

47. Yes enuff but a variable we need to understand is whether the fact we are an expensive destination has weight. Yes we know, INSIGHTS!

48. @Pat,

Which is why people only go to B’town if they have to for buses and purchases. People with cars, unless they work there, avoid it.

This is why Sheraton Centre has become so successful.

Bridgetown is on the way down, it is not very nice, I fully agree.

49. @Crusoe

Is this Bridgetown the heritage site you are referring to?

50. Sugar once upon a time was the main source of income for the Barbados island. Tourism later dominated the sugar industry as sugar from Barbados was less demanded. Tourism in Barbados now fighting for life. The writing is on the wall – REALLY. It is now time for Barbados to replace Tourism as a main source of income, consider something else to survive. Invent something and register a patent. LOL