The late Margaret Thatcher

Whether one is on the left or right of the political centre the legacy of Margaret Thatcher will be narrated differently. For many Barbadians she will be remembered as the British prime minister – in partnership with US president Ronald Reagan – who had the ‘balls’ to attack communism and hasten its dismantlement. For others she rightly earned the nick name Iron Lady because of her economic policies which had embedded the dismemberment of the labour movement not to forget her successful strike against Argentina to win back the Falkland islands.

The extreme views which Thatcher often provoked from the public during her tenure remain a talking point and will definitely characterize her legacy. BU’s acid test of her effectiveness as a political persona maybe defined by her 11 consecutive years of rule; the longest consecutive tenure by any UK prime minister since 1832.   It must be stated that infighting by the Labour Party during her tenure and the opportunity which the so called Falklands war presented obviously contributed to her success at the polls. Ironically it took a stab in the back by her political party to cause her demise.

What cannot be refuted is that Thatcher’s foreign policy made  her a major player on the world stage. Equally her domestic policies for a myriad of reasons resonated with world citizens. Surely there is no politician who is loved by everyone however part of Thatcher’s legacy was built on a political philosophy where she was prepared to defend her positions to the death. Agree with her views or not her willingness to fearlessly defend the courage of her convictions provoked admiration in the  BU household during her period of rule –  there is the  regret that many local politicians do not show a willingness to demonstrate a similar quality.

Thatcher’s position on how the UK should integrate in the EU should be flagged on her bio. It was a position which is analogous to what Barbados is currently confronted with Caricom. Pursue economic cooperation by all means but do not surrender our birthright in the process by selling of our indigenous institutions which are an embodiment of who and what we are as a people.

When the dust is settled on Thatcher’s legacy the cold reality must be factored. When Thatcher assumed the reins of government in 1979 the economy was  marking time. Some may recall that the International Monetary Fund was in Whitehall. On yesterday’s talk show Tony Hoyos and Tony Best were critical of the fact that the labour movement has not recovered from its battle with Thatcher to this day. What they neglected to mention is that when Thatcher assumed office the UK economy was under the heavy influence of a strong union movement. The record shows that before Thatcher was elected UK had to suffer innumerable strikes which affected its economic performance. Thatcher obviously assessed the situation and history shows she concluded that her economic policies would have been defeated if she did not address the union issue. Whether you agreed she showed leadership by her decisive decision making.

Even in death her request not to stage a state funeral on her behalf because she feared it would provoke a divisive debate in parliament tells a story. The UK government it has been reported will settle for a  ceremonial funeral on April 17, 2013.

May she rest in peace.

186 responses to “Eulogising Baroness Margaret Thatcher”

1. Or may she NOT … This piece is so BIASED, as evidenced by the simple things like word selection, that I really do NOT know where to start. But that is David for yah … stir up the pot.

Let me just say this in response to the comment “Thatcher’s legacy was built on a political philosophy where she was prepared to defend her positions to the death”. It will be an absolute lie. There is NO politician in the Western world that could truthfully claim such a tribute, certainly none that were around in my life time. Their lives were/are too well protected by agencies like MI5 and MI6 and Homeland Security and they could send and have sent others out to be in the line of fire to defend the decisions that they make. But there are leaders who have held fast to this principle, and have lost their lives as their countries were overrun by outside interests. But they are all vilified by the press and the membership of the BU extended household … what a crock …!

2. Brilliant and decisive woman. She did some important things, as you say, one major one was shaking the ‘sit on yuh tail’ union movement to get productivity in the UK somewhat back to reality.

However, as with all good intentions, things went a bit to the excess, especially influenced by such as the ultra right Norman Tebbit (of send them back infamy), and the ridiculous spending of money to maintain a hold on a few small islands with a few sheep farmers located on them, when that money would have been better spent relocating the farmers in the UK with ample farms and handing the islands to the Argentinians, as those islands are on their coast anyway.

A case of ‘who has bigger balls’ spending the hard earned taxpayers money on nonsense. Misplaced energy.

So, her legacy as a decisive leader was well earned, she did some serious good to the British economy, but in the end, the balancing forces of nature ensured that the Labour government subsequently won to brings things a bit back into balance.

3. ” her legacy as a decisive leader was well earned”. Stalin and Hitler were far more decisive people and hell will freeze before you attach the word brilliant to their descriptions. Hmmm

4. Haha. Oh, they may have indeed been brilliant in their way, clever to get where they did, to manipulate the situations and they were surely decisive, albeit brutal.

Pity the sociopathic tendencies were so strong, to go with it.

5. @David. That is an excellent report. I have a few things to add and the odd disagreement.

When Margaret Thatcher came to power, it was not possible for UK tourists to remove more than £50 (and I am prepared to accept correction on the amount) from the UK when travelling abroad. There was currency control that even enabled searches of passengers exiting the UK. She did away with this, much to our advantage in Barbados. The UK, unlike Barbados, has vast natural resources and so this was a wise move. Barbados too has a controlled currency which, given our lack of natural resources, is prudent. Foreign exchange for us is vital for our economy, whereas for the UK the removal of foreign exchange led to a period of great prosperity in the UK. There was, of course, a down-side to this, in that it was abused by the UK financial institutions leading to the crisis in 2007 that continues.

At the time that Margaret Thatcher took power, the unions had run amuck. While I agreed with her that the power of the unions and their gangs of thugs needed to be curtailed, I do believe that there was a happy medium to be hit and I believe that she went too far. Unions, after all, first came into being in the time of Queen Victoria to fight the rights of badly abused workers and the constant use of child labour. Their origins were honourable and right. However, their evolution into gangs that openly indulged in assault and other illegalities had become, for the UK, a national disgrace. Something had to be done. It was a difficult balancing act and one which, in my opinion, she did not get right.

In Roman times, the right of protection for Roman citizens under Roman law was tantamount and the declaration was “civis romanus sum”. Saint Paul himself used this declaration. It was later echoed in the UK House of Parliament by its then MP, Lord Palmerston, in the Don Pacifico affair when, defending his action to send the British fleet to protect the rights of a Jewish Gibraltarean of UK citizenship. No doubt Margaret Thatcher agreed and rightly so in the case of the Falklands. But in this case, she was protecting British territory as well. Argentina was hoping that the USA would invoke the Monroe Doctrine and come to its aid. But the USA officially remained neutral and unofficially sided with and assisted the UK. I believe that this was right.

On the EU, Margaret Thatcher’s views were well known. Generally, she thought that this was a cartel of France and Germany designed to do economically what Hitler and Vichy France had failed to achieve militarily in WWII. She placed the UK outside the single currency and insisted on conditions that have avoided for the UK vast payments today from the Euro to countries like Greece, Portugal, Spain and Italy.

On the downside, she failed to curb the civil servant escalation and she failed to properly regulate the UK financial institutions while giving them almost total autonomy.

There is no doubt that the demise of communism was greatly assisted by Thatcher and Reagan.

Like almost everyone elected to public office repeatedly, Margaret Thatcher, as time went on, became egomaniacal and convinced of her own infallibility. We need look no further than our own Owen Arthur to see the dangers of not changing government after two terms of office. They start well and then forget that we the people are their employers. So, towards the end of her term of office, Margaret Thatcher became very much like a strict school maam, convinced of her own infallibility. And it was time for her to go. It had also started to really get up the noses of everyone that she referred to herself using the royal “we”. Most notably in announcing that she had become a grandmother with, “We are a grandmother.”

And this is where I differ with you. Michael Heseltine led the Tory revolt. He did not hide to do it or stab Mrs Thatcher in the back, he faced her head on. There were serious and fatal (to her leadership) divisions in the Tory party well in advance of Sir Geoffrey Howe administering the coup de grace from the floor of the House. Yet, she still had the last say and it was not Heseltine who replaced her, but her own choice, John Major. In this, she also showed her weakness as, if the charismatic Heseltine had replaced her, it would have been far more difficult for Tony Blair to come to power. But she wanted to no competition from her successor. Shades of Owen Arthur who tried his best to ensure that he was replaced by Kerrie Simmons or Dale Marshall, but never Mia Mottley. Fortunately, the BLP were not as weak as the Tories and elected Mia to lead them.

When the USA was invited by Barbados (Tom Adams) and Dominica (Eugenia Charles) to assist them in the invasion of Grenada to expel Cuban forces and influence, Margaret Thatcher was not consulted (nor apparently informed by the Americans, based, no doubt, on the Munroe Doctrine that they had waived in the case of the Falklands). It is reliably rumoured that Mrs T complained strenuously to Her Majesty during the weekly audience that, “We were not informed.” To which HM replied, “Oh, I knew and I acted in Right of Barbados.” End of discussion.

On the subject of a state funeral, the suggestion is inappropriate in the extreme. Mrs Thatcher is being accorded an official funeral. It is, to my way of thinking, unacceptable that she be given what was not given to Sir Winston Churchill, the PM that led the UK through a war that, if lost, would have engulfed the world and seen global racial profiling and discrimination that would have made a nonsense of the abolition of slavery and completely killed off justice with summary executions and the like – Sir Winston was given an official funeral. Then there was the Queen Mother who Hitler described as “the most dangerous woman in Europe” who, with many acts of gentle kindness and sound common sense, was, with her husband George VI, the figurehead of resistance of the then British Empire, which included Barbados and in the armed forces of which our greatest son, the Right Excellent Errol Barrow, fought as a member of the RAF. Churchill, the Queen Mum and Errol Barrow were great unifiers who each lifted their countries to seek and achieve the best. Thatcher was divisive, but important in cutting out the rot, until power itself made her a part of that rot.

I got the BBC yesterday on the Internet and watched with great interest an interview with Diane Abbott MP, a black MP who was one of Thatcher’s most ardent opponents. Asked about the celebrations over her death, Miss Abbott said that she thought they were highly inappropriate. This was someone’s mother and that death was not something to be celebrated with street parties. I agree with Miss Abbott.

The lady had balls, unlike the successive governments of Barbados. May she rest in peace.

6. @Amused, aside from disagreeing with you on the Falklands, each to his own, excellent analysis and explanation.

7. @Amused
    Believe it was €200.

Of course there is the view that Thatcher just got tired of the incessant carping from within her own party so that in the latter period of her rule she just did what she had to do, the hubris of it all:-)

You also make typical mistake by conferring ‘greatness’ on Churchill et al by virtue of their role in overseeing a war. Thatcher did the equivalent on the economic front and when you add how she and Reagan held Gorbbie’s hand to lead the break up of the Soviet Union, well, historians will be having some fun!

8. @Baffy

Let us join and give to the Iron Lady the things that belong to the Iron Lady.

9. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David/Amused,

At one stage it was only GBPounds25. I still have it stamped in an old passport.

10. And Amused of course she did what convention required when she knew the party was against her.

11. Thatcher was racist and condoned apartheid
    (only white people can say that in UK on BBC)
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-22087702

12. @David. I did not detract from the courage and greatness, necessity and courage of some of the things that she did. I merely point out where in my, in this case, very humble opinion, she was lacking. I believe that an official funeral with military honours is approriate and merited and, in the UK, a state funeral is reserved for the head of state, in other words, the monarch. I agree with your point that she faced peacetime problems almost comparable to those faced in war time by Churchill. I respected her and her achievements and I regretted the areas in which I think (and it is just my opinion) she could have done better. I challenge anyone to show where, as a wartime PM, Churchill could have done better. My only hope is that next Wednesday she will be shown respect, as Churchill was, and not have her funeral disrupted by a lot of inapproriate behaviour.

13. Perhaps this is an unfair question BUT was it her obvious abrasive style which got people fired up, the fact she was a woman, that she was a kind of a hilly billy? The cheek of kicking a moribund civil service in the rear end and the list is long.

14. If you like Thatcher you are a racist

15. @Thatcher was racist and condoned apartheid.

You share the opinion of many. nuff said.

16. Then there’s the view of Billy Bragg
    BTW is there any truth that Miller is in Blighty and will be attending the funeral?

17. Why is Mark Thatcher in and out of Barbados? Look up his track record.

18. The discourse is how Thatcher changed Britain but not a mention of how she hard and fast she stood against sanctions for South Africa and helped to prolong the life of the racists regime.

No wonder DeKlerk was effusive in his praise for the “Iron Lady”

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The falklands, the belgrano, pinochett in chile, poll tax, Hillsborough, miners strike , supporting apartheid, 10 hunger strikers dead, the h blocks, anti trade union laws, support of the class system to keep the majority down and poor, inercity riots , mass unemployment, decimation of the heavy industries, selling off national industries and assests to rich friends.
    That’s what thatcher should be remembered for, she also called Nelson Mandela a Terrorist!!

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“Margaret Thatcher was an unrelenting opponent of the working class. As Prime Minister, she took as her major task the crushing of the unions. She was a very nasty piece of work.”-John Weeks, Professor Emeritus University of London

21. she was the co-author of “trickeld down economiics” with Regean being the author she beieved that private enterprise was the only way forward for an economy to grow leading to the poor getting a fair share of the economic pie. Unfortunately her policy has been proven wrong since with the world wide recession many of the employed under private enterprise in Brtian was given the shitty end of the stick.losing their jobs and having to look to govt for assistance.

22. CCC
    You are indeed waxing warm this morning. A racist Thacher was, but it is easy to blame the person rather than the society, which still exists today, that created her persona. I noticed that few have concertrated on how the Iron Lady ended her days as a flacid wimp, not remember much but totally consumed by her removal as head of Britain.

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Her funeral should be Privatised, sell tickets to cover the funeral cost. The state should not be burdened with her funeral cost.

She was all for PRIVATISATION. Give her a good PRIVATISED SEND OFF. Or better still give her remains to the MINERS THEY WOULD KNOW WHAT TO DO WITHH IT and it wont cost anyone a single cent!

24. Where did we get this nonsense about speak “ill” of the dead. It befuddles me at times. Living ass is still an ass when dead.

25. David
    Do you remember the slogan Margaret Thacher ” the milk snatcher”. I saw the glorious day live when the miner allowed the Thacher troops to assemble to beat them one more day, and then as if by cue, the miners flowed from the higher ground and lambasted the Thacher security forces that day. It was indeed a wonderful moment.

26. I was away from the UK for all the years that Thatcher was PM, and what has always struck me when I return is how abrasive, rude and selfish many in Britain are compared with when I lived there. It is certainly not the Britain that I left or the society that I grew up in. For this I believe that I can fairly blame the Thatcher years. Russell Brand, a person for whom I previously had very little regard, has written an excellent article in today’s Guardian. Following is an excerpt.

“The blunt, pathetic reality today is that a little old lady has died, who in the winter of her life had to water roses alone under police supervision. If you behave like there’s no such thing as society, in the end there isn’t. Her death must be sad for the handful of people she was nice to and the rich people who got richer under her stewardship. It isn’t sad for anyone else. There are pangs of nostalgia, yes, because for me she’s all tied up with Hi-De-Hi and Speak and Spell and Blockbusters and “follow the bear”. What is more troubling is my inability to ascertain where my own selfishness ends and her neo-liberal inculcation begins. All of us that grew up under Thatcher were taught that it is good to be selfish, that other people’s pain is not your problem, that pain is in fact a weakness and suffering is deserved and shameful. Perhaps there is resentment because the clemency and respect that are being mawkishly displayed now by some and haughtily demanded of the rest of us at the impending, solemn ceremonial funeral, are values that her government and policies sought to annihilate”.

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Thatcher was ‘racist’, says Aussie foreign Minister

AUSTRALIAN FOREIGN minister Bob Carr has spoken out about the late Margaret Thatcher being “racist”.

Baroness Thatcher, 87, died last Monday after suffering a stroke.

Talking about a conversation he had had with her “in her retirement”, Carr said Thatcher displayed anti-immigration sentiment, specifically in regard to Asian people moving to Australia.

The government minister told Australian ABC’s Lateline programme that ex-Tory leader said: “If we allowed too much of it we’d see the natives of the land, the European settlers, overtaken by migrants”.

http://www.voice-online.co.uk/article/thatcher-was-%E2%80%98racist%E2%80%99-says-aussie-foreign-minister

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

peltdownman

“If you behave like there’s no such thing as society, in the end there isn’t. Her death must be sad for the handful of people she was nice to and the rich people who got richer under her stewardship”

This is what happens when you see a country only as an economy. This is the same strategy which the Barbados Labour Party wants to pursue here in Barbados.

29. All this hypocritical (British) whinging about Thatcher and “her” policies! As an outsider I can only note that the British people voted for Thatcher three times and kept the Conservative party in power for 18 years. Neither of the Labour Governments, led first by Blair (remember “New” Labour?) and then Brown, have reversed many of the major Thatcher policies. The Conservatives are now back in power and every Prime Minister after Thatcher has validated their suitability for the post by referencing their support for the broad thrust of her policies, their promise to stay the course.

So it seems to me that from 1979 to the present day, the philosophy of Thatcher with occasional moderation represent the prevailing concepts in the UK about the role of the State in economic matters, the extent of state provision of a social safety net, the characteristics of “British” society and culture, alignment with the US in foreign policy and the UK’s relationship with the rest of world.

Thatcher is dead but her ideas, supported by the majority of Britons, live on.

30. Margaret Thatcher was no more than an f**king racist bitch and may she forever burn in the Christian hell, if there is one. She supported the South African Apartheid state until its dying days, Her expansionist war with Argentina and elsewhere were a mere representation of one side of the brutish, thuggish, but dying Anglo-American Empire. The enormous pressures she subjected the UK’s working class to represented the other. As though no lessons were learnt from the collapse of the British Empire. The lesson that you can’t have a democracy at home and empire abroad. So in essence this bitch, the mate to the other dead dog Ronald Reagan, prepared the West for the now being imposed fascist state paradigm. In Barbados, that sophisticated lackeys like Hilary Beckles and Leroy Trotman could continue to accept knighthoods and seek to prop up a failure white international architecture will consign all Barbadian to a perpetual cultural dead end. Thatcher lived 87 years too long!

31. The woman that talked of Britain being swamped by immigrants. The atmosphere in those days was very different. Racist groups regularly marching around and attacking people, being racially abused in public was a common thing. A significant number of police officers used to stop and sometimes arrest people for no reason.

Heavy industry and manufacturing was decimated in parts of the north, Midlands and Wales. Some of the towns never recovered and many of those people have not forgiven her to this day. The clashes between the striking miners etc. and the police was terrible. There was a lot of violence.

She allowed people to buy their council (rental – Government) homes at knockdown prices – so many love her for that. However the policy was that no more would be built – so because later governments followed this there is now a housing shortage (and of course ‘immigrants’ are being blamed.)

She started the mass privatisation of companies – the public were happy to buy shares at the time – but we are now left with sky high prices for gas, electricity etc.

She is loved by many and hated by many in the U.K.

One thing about her though – you knew where you stood and she did what she said she would, unlike many politicians nowadays.

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Ping Pong

Don’t fool yourself, England is in a Royal mess as we speak. The trees which Thatcher planted are now bearing fruits.

They are very bitter I might add.

33. A lot of folks were real happy to see her die in their life

34. Ping Pong – Britain has a coalition Government now – lead by the Conservatives. Even their own supporters are fed up with them. I don’t know anyone who is happy with any of the political parties right now.

35. @CCC

the British voted for her policies and continue to do so. It is their problem not mine.

I thought it ironic that the Australian Foreign Minister would comment about Thatcher’s racism particularly in the context of Asian immigration to Australia. Australia’s treatment of Asian refugees (the boat people) has not been extolled as good non-racial policy!

When will our Government start the process of removing the Queen of England has the Head of State of Barbados?

36. @Carson C. Cadogan | April 10, 2013 at 8:22 AM |

Under Thatcher the poor became poorer……………………………..

Just like like here under the DLP!

37. Margaret Thatcher haunted this earth quite long enough thank you very much and Mark Thatcher should be in jail, he was deported from the US, only Barbados would allow him such freedom.

38. The late Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher was a puppet in the hands of the conservative Right in the United States. A true Conservative Icon bent of marginalizing labor, as she sought to aggrandize the property class in England .

39. Margaret Thatcher may have been viewed as women of strong political convictions by some people. But, strong political convictions does not
    necessarily equates to the right political convictions, especially when those convictions are detrimental to the poor and working classes.

40. Margaret Thatcher may have been viewed as women of strong political convictions by some people. But strong political convictions does not necessarily equates to the right political convictions, especially when those Convictions are detrimental to the working classes.

41. It is amazing that a real terrorist leader, Margaret Thatcher, will be lionized with a state funeral, public mourning and allowed to die in bed instead of from the end of a rope

42. I have a problem with those of you who still believes that Margaret Thatcher is this iconic political figure that has altered the political landscape of England for the better .Knowing quite well that is was Mrs. Thatcher’s intended purpose to soften the backbone of the labor unions throughout England. And as someone who have been a member of a labor union for many years now . I’m not quite convinced the Mrs. Thatcher had the best interest of the poor and working people at heart on this issue. Because if she had done that, she wouldn’t have focused her agenda on dismantling the labor unions, which is the bread and butter of the poor and working class people in England.

43. @Lexicon

Do you recall why the Iron Lady had to attack the labour movement? Do you recall the industrial climate under James Callaghan?

44. Remember now people, Margaret Thatcher came from a business oriented family. And most likely her values coincided with those of the property class.

45. @Lexicon

Thatcher came from a lower middleclass family and if memory serves her father was a pastor.

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Prodigal Son

While the BLP got richer with their offshore Bank accounts. I am waiting for a reply from the ICIJ to find out how many names of BLP politicians are on their list.

I will let you know when they reply.

47. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Prodigal Son

Your boy Seethru attending the funeral?

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Bajans who will not miss Thatcher’s Funeral:-

DAVID
    PRODIGAL SON
    OLD ONION BAGS
    MILLER
    SEETHRU
    FRANCIS CHANDLER
    Crusoe
    AMUSED
    ( I will add more names as time goes by)

49. @David

Thatcher was a Grocer’s daughter