The late Margaret Thatcher

Whether one is on the left or right of the political centre the legacy of Margaret Thatcher will be narrated differently. For many Barbadians she will be remembered as the British prime minister – in partnership with US president Ronald Reagan – who had the ‘balls’ to attack communism and hasten its dismantlement. For others she rightly earned the nick name Iron Lady because of her economic policies which had embedded the dismemberment of the labour movement not to forget her successful strike against Argentina to win back the Falkland islands.

The extreme views which Thatcher often provoked from the public during her tenure remain a talking point and will definitely characterize her legacy. BU’s acid test of her effectiveness as a political persona maybe defined by her 11 consecutive years of rule; the longest consecutive tenure by any UK prime minister since 1832.   It must be stated that infighting by the Labour Party during her tenure and the opportunity which the so called Falklands war presented obviously contributed to her success at the polls. Ironically it took a stab in the back by her political party to cause her demise.

What cannot be refuted is that Thatcher’s foreign policy made  her a major player on the world stage. Equally her domestic policies for a myriad of reasons resonated with world citizens. Surely there is no politician who is loved by everyone however part of Thatcher’s legacy was built on a political philosophy where she was prepared to defend her positions to the death. Agree with her views or not her willingness to fearlessly defend the courage of her convictions provoked admiration in the  BU household during her period of rule –  there is the  regret that many local politicians do not show a willingness to demonstrate a similar quality.

Thatcher’s position on how the UK should integrate in the EU should be flagged on her bio. It was a position which is analogous to what Barbados is currently confronted with Caricom. Pursue economic cooperation by all means but do not surrender our birthright in the process by selling of our indigenous institutions which are an embodiment of who and what we are as a people.

When the dust is settled on Thatcher’s legacy the cold reality must be factored. When Thatcher assumed the reins of government in 1979 the economy was  marking time. Some may recall that the International Monetary Fund was in Whitehall. On yesterday’s talk show Tony Hoyos and Tony Best were critical of the fact that the labour movement has not recovered from its battle with Thatcher to this day. What they neglected to mention is that when Thatcher assumed office the UK economy was under the heavy influence of a strong union movement. The record shows that before Thatcher was elected UK had to suffer innumerable strikes which affected its economic performance. Thatcher obviously assessed the situation and history shows she concluded that her economic policies would have been defeated if she did not address the union issue. Whether you agreed she showed leadership by her decisive decision making.

Even in death her request not to stage a state funeral on her behalf because she feared it would provoke a divisive debate in parliament tells a story. The UK government it has been reported will settle for a  ceremonial funeral on April 17, 2013.

May she rest in peace.

186 responses to “Eulogising Baroness Margaret Thatcher”

1. I was not a fan of Thatcher but I take the long view on Britain’s actions against Argentina during the Falklands War. Belgrano or no Belgrano she did the Argentines a favour as the defeat of Argentina hastened the removal of the military dictatorship that was in charge n Argentina.

The Falklands war claimed less than 1000 lives on both sides but Argentina’s “Dirty War” led by the military claimed about 20,000 lives. Many people who were considered to be socialists or left wing “disappeared” never to be seen again and one of the reasons that people “disappeared” was that they were taken from prisons and tossed into Atlantic via helicopter or military jet with lead attached to their torsos to ensure they would sink. Argentina is still grappling with the aftermath of these murders and some of the children of people who “disappeared” were adopted by military families who brought up the children as their own without telling them of their true parentage.

The dark cloud of the Belgrano’s sinking indirectly led to the silver lining that was the removal of the military dictatorship.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Commission_on_the_Disappearance_of_Persons

2. Lemuel will you stop being a BULLYER! STOP trying to force your beliefs onto others and stop trying to be judge and jury. Because you do not approve of a person’s lifestyle that doesn’t mean that you can force them to accept your beliefs. That is what is wrong with people like you, pretending to be holier than thou. Man has been bulling from day one and we better face that we can’t change it not even your GOD can!

3. Interesting piece Sarge…..there were more villains out there when Thatcher was in power and yet we not hearing about them.

Your adopted country Canada helped write the apartheid constitution for SA and yet no one has condemned Canada.

4. @ Lemuel

Excuse me! We are not defending any one man, woman, boy or girl. We are defending a principle. The question you should ask and answer is why do we always have to find some group to demonize? As based on ethnicity, skin colour, origin, language, religion, personal preference or habits etc. We have previously been publicly and severely critical of the LGBT folks around the question of the category of ailments sometimes called AIDS. Then we argued that when their ‘brotherin’ were dying they had a lot of time and energy to Act Up’ but now that black girls between the ages of 18 and 25 is the group most impacted we don’t hear a word from them. And we have indicted them in public places, in front their very faces. So our thinking on these matters is more sophisticated that the narrow confines of the ‘logic’ of the dispensationalists like Fallwell, Williams, Swaggert, the black man from the Potter’s House and other American bigots who go throughout Africa and the Caribbean encouraging black people to hate other black people for certain or perceived leanings. In fact, we have previously called for Mr. Wickham to be charged for espionage. Such a charge, especially in wartime, carries the death penalty. Our real interest is to galvanize the people around wider issues and not the religiously inspired dogma of the very enemy who himself support my position – for political reasons.

5. @IG246
    Your adopted country Canada helped write the apartheid constitution for SA and yet no one has condemned Canada
    Interesting bit of information this is news to me, and I am eager to learn more could you point me in the right direction?

6. @BAFBFP | April 11, 2013 at 5:32 PM | Right on!!!!!

@Carson C. Cadogan | April 11, 2013 at 2:24 PM | Better take a few pills. War had been declared – therefore the 200 mile limit was not applicable. The enemy could be engaged wherever it was found. We are talking about war, not fishing and exploration rights. Remember that Barbados was a colony in WWII – how would you have felt about some damned 200 mile limit if there was a German fleet on the way to annex Barbados? You would have preached about a 200 mile limit, or expected the Royal Navy and Air Force (with Errol Barrow) to sink their asses? Please enlighten us.

@Islandgal. Lemule is now taking legal advice from Casewell – that that speaks for itself.

7. Newbie Lemuel is a bitch,
    He must have Thatchers Spirit

8. I wonder where the guy got his “facts”. What you would have to question is his assertion that Canada helped to write the Apartheid constitution.

Was Canada instrumental in forming the Dutch Reform Church on which Apartheid was based?
    Were the Boer’s grasp of English so poor that they needed help to translate from Afrikaans or worse that they couldn’t write?

File that story with the one where one night a couple driving along in Christ Church met their deaths when their car hit a JCB parked on their side of the road without lights — “The people said they were arguing” she said, me – “Who said?”, she “I don’t know but the people said they were arguing”, me – “So on a dark night with a car travelling, you are telling me that people had the ability to see and hear what the 2 people were doing” – typical of the kind of dead from the neck up utterances you too often hear.

If you are old enough you’ll remember the rumours that it was snowing at the Bell Plantation when it got slightly chilly and caused people in cars to flock there from all parts of Barbados.

9. Pacamama
    Stop the old approach of painting the LG as these pathetic people who need to be protected. That group is one of the most intolerant groups in the world. remember their campaign of “outing” people who are of their behavior but DARED to oppose them. Did any of think what that did to their families, to their children, to THEM. No the LG agenda was the only thing that was important. Now people have the BALLS to say to you that what you are doing is not right, you bring the old thing about they came that body no one said anything when shall they come for every one. Or attempting to link yourselves with the black struggle. Even here in Bim most of the people who live in your “environment” live in fear of being “outed” and the entire society crying shame on them. So do not come with that non sense around me. If you and Peter Bullham get your way, the human race would be extinct in a hurry.

Peter Bullham is the main spokes man for this “nasty” thing that you are trying to make “normal”, and I shall always oppose the agenda.

Island and Kiki
    Do not get me started. This is not a band wagon for you.

10. Island and Kiki
    This is the old Le Mule do not get caught up. You gave me the name and you know what my characteristics are.

11. mysterious ways

12. Paacmama
    I have to leave this with you before I go. You have some over weight “men/woman” in Barbados stuffing themselves in women’s clothing attempting to give a very pathetic appearance of being normal. we in Bim have tolerated that for a long time. Yet our AIDS epidemic is driven by men who have sex with men. Our ratio for incidence and prevalence support that. The LG agenda of outing these people have made it very difficult to get to them in any sort of meaningful way. Do you really understand how it looks when these greasy men stuffed in women’s clothes are in public outing these people or on face book. And you dare to speak to me about tolerance; yet you and your crowd practice hatred and social terrorism but gleefully point to any one who dares speaks to the requirements of God’s word as in tolerance. Because of your behavior there are a number of wives and mother and sisters and other women who are one sexual act away from infection because of the frightened bisexual man who you and your crowd may “out”. Therefore, the epidemic continues unabated.

There is no thing about lesbianism and bulling that is “normal”. I do not care how sweet you and Peter Bullham think that it is. If VOB gives him the right to launch his attacks, then I reserve my right to respond on BU. Your kind of thinking would never see the principle of my stance all you see is who he or she think they are. Yes, Bullham I listen to you and Baffy; I now have serious doubts about Baffy, using the word ass a lot these days .Baffy I like my ass that is why you can not come near it.

You know what is laughable, I like Peter as a moderator. I would rank him in the top three at VOB. But he can not expect to use that forum as missile testing range and not have ordinance returning to test the vulnerability of his positions.

Pacamama, I have things to do see you later for another taste of my verbal tongue.

13. Look at the leader of the opposition do think she looks like a “normal” woman. Yet, she forgets or does not know running a country is like running a family unit. Hence she would never have a clue. Sorry, Miller I know I promised not to chastise your Mam, but just this once for 2013.

14. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

First my apologies in this has already been covered in this blog.
    It was a little sad to hear an esteemed career diplomat on Down to Brass Tacks yesterday state that the then Margaret Thatcher call Nelson Mandela a ‘terrorist’.
    I believe the facts show that she stated that the ANC was a ‘typical terrorist organisation’. At that time and in fact, up until 1990, ANC was universally recognised as a terrorist organisation with even a military wing, the MK.

In hindsight, we can all change our views, but let us not try and change history.

15. Lemuel,
    Your comments are being sent to the Fixated Threat Assessment Unit (Babylon) for consideration of hate law breaches and further action

16. @Sid Boyce
    It was not a “guy” who asserted that Canada helped write the Apartheid laws, like a great many statements on this blog her declaration can be filed in the Apocryphal folder.

17. @Adrian Loveridge

Semantics/logic/,semantics/logic,semantics/logic! If the ANC is called a terrorist organisation and Nelson Mandela is seen as the leader of that group isn’t he being called a terrorist? Terrorist is in the eye of the beholder what the Brits called terrorist the Africans called “Freedom fighters”.

I think the Brits also applied the terrorism label to the IRA yet Gerry Adams the IRA “political” leader was able to travel to the USA on fund raising expeditions and the Brits never raised a word of protest…… who de cat likes etc.….

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Adrian

“I believe the facts show that she stated that the ANC was a ‘typical terrorist organisation’”

I guess that you are willing to remember it in a way that would make that witch seem human.

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Amused

“Better take a few pills. War had been declared ”

This is where you are wrong, War HAD NOT been declared.

“The Belgrano was neither ‘approaching’ the task force and was it a ‘threat’? That statement was put out while the British task force was still travelling South, as a warning that any approaching aircraft etc might be shot. Once the Task Force had arrived, it then announced on 28 April the Total Exclusion Zone – and, that would have superceded an earlier statement. War was not declared, that is why these definitions were important.”

http://belgranoinquiry.com/

20. @Adrian

You are correct. Even Mandella agreed that the ANC was labelled at the time a terrorist organisation. Remember Mugabe et al emerged from terrorist organisations as well. The point Peter Wickham made yesterday is on point, the period must given context. It is like Christian tossing the Bible because slavery was a way of life. Context!

21. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Carson,

I think that I personally suffered a great deal more than most under Margaret Thatcher’s rule, being a victim of the National Union of Seaman’s thug tactics. But, history will determine her overall contribution and I am not going to try and change it.

22. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Totally agree! People’s positions at the time.

23. @ Adrain Loveridge

We think that history will show and indeed is showing right now that the real terrorist are people like Margaret Thatcher, Ronald Reagan they predecessors and successors, including Obama. Let us cite what these terrorist states are doing right now in Syria – supporting their Saudi/Qatari led Al-Qaeda to wreck a country to achieve political goal by threats and violence. We are convinced that whites have no capacity to fully understand the graviment of the destruction they have wrought on Pachamama. Absent such a realization the Loveridges of this world will continue to mount all types of excuses, obfuscations, denials of fact in order to maintain global control.

What is regrettable for those of us who were deeply involved in the anti-Apartheid struggle, including carrying messages in and out of the apartheid regime, that the same people like Loveridge and Cow Williams, devotees of the Thatcherite racism, had cause to praise Mandela after supporting Apartheid, even if with their silence. This tells us that we wasted our efforts in trying to get this useless bastard, Nelson Mandela, out of jail. For conditions in SA, for most black people, are worse today than under apartheid. We fought a 100 year war against whitey and won, but they still control our stolen land. For it is Mandela who agreed to white economic domination in SA for years to come. In this respect SA has been Barbadianized. Thatcher and her admirers like Loveridge should burn in hell, forever! This is justice, whitey style.

24. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Pachamara,

Have I got time to make a cup of tea first?

25. Break the spell and bust the chains
    (in context)

26. We don’t care whether you have a cup of English tea or you use heroine to destroy the Chinese population, steal their land and gain geo-strategic leverage in that region.

27. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Pachamama, As a descendent of an indentured servant, I am having going to look this one up – ‘geo-strategic leverage’. But it sounds really impressive!

28. @ Loveridge

You sound just like fucking Cow William and the other white people who are experts in pleading poverty and the absence of guilt. But yet it is these same ‘red legs” for which laws were passed in the parliament of barbados to empower. Never for descendants of slaves. So in one generation Cow and Kiffin could rite large over the local economy. You should know by now that we are not David who panders to your backward mouthings

29. Pacamama
    I am with you on this one.

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Amused

She got away with MURDER.

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Sargeant | April 11, 2013 at 9:32 PM |

So she did the people of Argentina a favour by murdering 321 Navy Cadets on the Belgrano?

I wonder how the American Government felt as they were supporting the Argentine Junta 100% at the time?

The American President was her friend Cowboy Reagan?

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Adrian Loveridge

Negril hotelier found stabbed to death at Hanover home

SENIOR detectives are currently probing the murder of a Negril hotelier whose mutilated body was discovered at his Hanover home last evening.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/negril-hotelier-found-stabbed-to-death-at-hanover-home-#ixzz2QDI4AJiI

Friend of yours?

I thought this sort of thing only happens in Barbados?

33. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Trinidadian exporters accused of violating trade rules in Jamaica

TRINIDADIAN exporters to Jamaica have been accused of violating trade rules by misrepresenting products as being of Caricom origin, allowing them to benefit from lower customs duties and price advantages in the local market.

It’s the latest complaint in a long-running trade dispute between the two Caribbean countries, which have had uneasy commercial relations in recent years.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/business/Trinidadian-exporters-accused-of-violating-trade-rules-in-Jamaica_14043742#ixzz2QDKBFMT6

The Jamaicans are a little slow on the uptake. The Trinidadians have been doing this for years.

During the Owen Arthur Administration this matter was reported but no action was ever taken.

34. Gabriel Tackle Avatar

And in reference to Jamaica what was the result if any, of the issue Pine Hill Dairy had with Jamaica.And I am told PHD had an issue with Trinidad and getting its milk products into that filthy East Indian state led by dizhonest,theifing East Indian Coolies.Syrians,Lebanese and Indians destroy Trinidad and if we are not careful they will do the same in Barbados.Coke criminals.

35. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Gabriel Tackle

“if we are not careful they will do the same in Barbados.”

You would have to thank the Barbados Labour Party for that.

36. @Gabriel Tackle | April 12, 2013 at 4:21 PM | ‘

What a racist rant, absolutely useless and nonsense.

Then Carson pipes in with his ‘it musta been the BLP’ rubbish.

Sad thing is, you actually think you are right and actually understand the political ‘leadership’ of Barbados.

Wow, wonder what will happen when the xhit really hits the fan here, wunna going be asking for the US to lend us money.

And yes, the grass is not the only thing brown here, I was coming home last night just before 8 o clock and passed……3..yes THREE cars over a three mile drive.

You onnerstand EXACTLY how things are bout here now?

Two years ago, at 8 pm I would have been in traffic.

Things here are BROWN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And all wunna can talk about is white COW this and Coolie that and dis an dat and dis and de Indian dis and de red leg dis and …on and on and on…

Morons.

37. Problem is wunna so caught up in your racist minds that you spend all de time thinking about regleg and Indian and de white Amurcan, that you don’t spend time actually thinking and implementing action to benefit Barbados, only spend time griping…..

As Bob Marley said, ’emancipate yuhself form MENTAL SLAVERY’.

38. @Carson, bet yuh wish you could have had an hour or two wid Thatcher to ‘discuss tings wid her’…

Yuh wuidda like dat!!!! hahahahaaa

39. Gabriel Tackle

I is a man that don’ believe in nah king ah censorship, but in your case, my Gad, you want deleting …!

40. RIP Don Blackman (September 1, 1953 – April 11, 2013)

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Crusoe

You are hilarious!

That woman was a piece of work.

I have a bottle of wine that I will open when Blair kicks the bucket.

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“But then I saw last night that she no longer lived in her London home but had moved to a hotel room nearby as she was very much alone in her latter days. Somehow it seems a fitting epitaph for the woman who tried to destroy the whole concept of ‘society’ and who certainly damaged it in large swathes of the UK and even in far-flung countries. At the end of the day the lowly-paid people who will never be part of Cameron’s ‘Big Society’ were the ones she was entrusted to……………”

http://scotslawthoughts.wordpress.com/2013/04/09/ecojons-thoughts-on-the-passing-of-baroness-thatcher/#comments

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Just imagine that. The people she despised the most, the working class, were the ones who ended up taking care of her in the end.

There is a lesson in there. We are more than an economy, we are a society.

44. FOR THE LUCIAN WHO LIVES IN A SIX BY FOUR GALVANIZED Avatar
    FOR THE LUCIAN WHO LIVES IN A SIX BY FOUR GALVANIZED

cant the government here in bim link up with the st Lucian government??to acquire that mans identification documents that is saved in the st Lucian registrar?? it is very possible seeing that saint Lucia and bim are close so that should be a call away? and first of all also a caring and patient spirit to put up with this mans trying situation this is a topic I saw in todays paper 04-12-2013 all his identity certificates has been burnt up the man cant even get his cheques that rightfully his changed appealing to someone to help this man which I know there’s someone please help!

45. Perhaps, you’re willing to turn a deaf ear and blind eye to who controls the economic resources in Barbados. But this is one hard truth, that the average Barbadian can’t afford to turn a deaf ear and blind eye to. To overlook race as a factor in the personal and public affairs in Barbados ,would be a grave miscalculation.

46. It’s shameful that this man, a citizen of Bim, worked so hard in Bim for so long and cannot cash his checks due to a fire and not one of those lowlife politicians will step in to help….why??…………he is a nobody in their eyes..he is not a criminal like Mark Thatcher so he deserves to suffer………….Barbadians will continue to bring shame and disgrace on themselves. Immigration has copies of all his documents, but everyone is pretending they don’t know what to do.

The lowly working class in England paid for that evil demonic soul that was Margaret Thatcher to spend her last days at the Ritz Carlton……….poetic justice.

47. Political-power comes with its own influences; however, it cannot be compared to economic -power which in some cases, buys political -power .

48. @ Well Well
    Chances are that this now unfortunate man had no problems casting his vote a few weeks ago,at the general election.

49. Buggy, I am sure, but when it comes to helping one of their own skin color, somehow they never know what to do.

50. To the Thatcher Bashers . To quote her at the end of the Falklands War
    “Be Magnanimous in victory”
    ………………………………………………………….
    The strife is o’er ,the battle done
    The victory of death is won
    The song of triumph has began