It is no secret the BU family maintains a healthy interest in the upcoming election of officers to the executive of the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW), to be held on April 03, 2013. Some may suggest that it should not be the concern of non-NUPW membership, we beg to differ. The government provides a subvention to the NUPW.

On BU we have read comments posted by people who are very close to the NUPW which raise several concerns.

Related Link: Danny Gill Challenges Walter Maloney for the Presidency of the NUPW

• General Secretary Dennis Clarke is alleged to be publicly canvassing for Walter Maloney which contravenes stated rules given his role as Chief Electoral Officer
  • Walter Maloneyโ€™s mobile bill of $6,500 is a violation of union rules
  • WS Humphrey & Co resignation as the external auditor raises obvious queries
  • Is it true Maloney won only 5 boxes out of 17 last election but was declared the winner? And is it true there was the unusual occurrence of no spoilt or blank votes?
  • Is the age of retirement 65 for NUPW staff which means Clarke should have retired?
  • Is it true that a decision was made to establish a company to act as agent for ICBL to handle NUPWโ€™s Medicare scheme without the prior knowledge of NUPW National Council, the highest decision making body? Can the Medicare scheme be delivered in a more cost effective way?
  • Is the government subvention to be used for training being used for wages and salaries, travel, entertainment allowances and rent? Is there enough grounds for the Auditor General to visit NUPW Dalkeith Headquarters to investigate this matter?
  • Why did the management of the Grantley Adams International Airport (GAIA) i.e. Joe Johnson allow Walter Maloney and team to canvass the GAIA BUT refused Danny Gill and his team?
  • What is the status of the mooted Buyers Club and financial arrangement for the BIDC building?

What BU has unearthed through the years is that many of our organizations need to be transparent in how they pursue their affairs.

1. David

You did not ask if it is true that the Minister granted the NUPW a waiver of duty on a car contrary to the law. NUPW is allowed duty free concessions on educational material in accordance with part 2 of the Customs Tariff. I never heard of an educational car. If the Minister waives duty outside of tariff, he must cause a notice to be published in the Official Gazette. That was never done.

Interestingly enough, the General Secretary must pay income tax on the value of the car. Can anyone say if he ever paid one red cent? My information is that he is protected from paying by his friends at Inland Revenue and those who are happy that the union did not agitate for the officers whose travelling was illegally taxed, like the Court Marshals.

2. @Caswell

Would this be the current minister? Doesn’t the MoF has discretionary powers?

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | March 30, 2013 at 5:31 PM |

Yes, the MOF has discretionary powers but which can only be exercised within the Administrative Justice Act.

If the MoF did indeed grant a duty and tax waiver on any NUPW vehicle then the other registered Unions (including Caswell’s) would be entitled to such โ€œdiscretionaryโ€ treatment.

The same way the officers in the Inland Revenue treat the car benefit for The General Secretary of NUPW the same way they are treating the gratuity received from Leroy Parris. Just turn a blind eye because of the political connections and pressures from people in high places who are friends of these โ€œuntouchableโ€ lepers but who in a very short time would have to answer to higher powers that only those of the likes of Bushie have an inkling of an understanding and fear of.

4. @Miller
    This question is not a political gotcha but I am curious about the tax implications for severance pay in Bโ€™dos, sometime ago a friend of mine left a high paying job and received a substantial settlement. When I inquired about the tax implications he scoffed and said that they dare not take any tax out of his money. I didnโ€™t pursue it as it wasnโ€™t any of my business but I got the impression that these type of payments were tax exempt.

Whatโ€™s the deal? This is the kind of situation that riles the IMF.

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Yes the Minister has discretionary power, but his discretion must not be exercise in secret. The waiver must be published in the Official Gazette in accordance with the Customs Act or the Minister can waive the duty in accordance with the Duties, Taxes and other Payments (Exemption) Act, but such an order is subject to negative resolution which means it must be laid in the House of Assembly. None of these procedures were done.

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant | March 30, 2013 at 6:55 PM |

Any Capital payment for loss of office of employment is tax free up to the Statutory limit.
    Any amounts above that can (not necessarily does in practice) attract personal income tax unless rolled over with the approval of the IR into some other personal capital (deferred income) asset like a personal pension plan.

7. @Caswell

u know that inland revenue has informed the gs of his tax liability for the benefit of the car. the last time it was mentioned, he owed over 30 000 dollars, U know dash will ensures that he pays that.

CASWELL U NEED TO EXPLAIN TO BLOGGERS WHATIS A NEGATIVE RESOLUTION..

8. @dAVID

U DID NOT ASK IF IT IS TRUE THAT MORE 1/2 MILLION DOLLARS WERE SPEND OUT OF MEDICARE FUNDS FOR THE STUPID PROJECT OF A HEALTH CENTRE.

9. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

To the Point

When a statutory instrument is subject to negative resolution, it is laid in both Houses of Parliament as soon as it is made. It becomes law unless it is annulled by either House. However, anything that was done before the SI was annulled remains valid. On the other hand, when a SI is subject to affirmative resolution, it must be passed before it is valid.

10. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

To the Point

Maybe, you should ask who authorised the payment of the $500,000 since it was not done under the authority of the National Council. It is time that somebody is imprisoned for NUPW funds.

11. To The Point
    Technically, Cedric and Dennis Clarke shall argue that it was none of the council’s business. The 500,000 came from Medicare funds. Those funds have never been the subject of any financial scrutiny as far as I am aware. I understand that with this new company that scrutiny shall be impossible.

12. caswell -see todays sunday sun special i did not know that WALTER side kick brother worked for ICBL –wondering if the movement of the Medicare was ifluence in any way

13. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Lemuel

Don’t be a clown. That nonsense is what the crooks at NUPW want the members to believe. There was no separate entity called Medicare. It is merely a fringe benefit of the union. Similarly, there is no entity called Optical and Dental benefits.

They manoeuvre persons of lesser intellect on the National Council and then pass anything over their heads. That is why a member of staff was signatory on a Medicare account without the knowledge of the then Treasurer, Ken Dash.

Medicare funds are NUPW funds. They were in the habit of stealing some of those funds from the union over the years, now, with this Bigfoot move; they are stealing all those funds from the NUPW.

14. Caswell
    You are confusing me even more. If Medicare is not separate and distinct, why is there an added fee to members who engage in it. If what you are saying is true then ALL NUPW members are members of medicare, and that is not the case. Furthermore, in the unaudited budget statement 2012-2013, there is no reference to expenditure as it relates to medicare benefits. Therefore something is missing. As I understand Cedric, Dennis Clarke and Grace can sign checks, which means the medicare has its own account.

15. Caswell is correct, the insurance company is charged with administering the claims. There is also no need for a broker to sit between the union and the insurance company. The HOUR Unit at the union can be beefed up if necessary.

16. The latest frail effort by the DLP to keep Ma Money in place is in the person of Derrick Alleyne who is stoutly in the corner of Ma Money. This is the same Derrick Alleyne who Danny Gill had to save his job when Dennis and Ma Money went to get rid of him by denying Derrick the two years leave to continue working a Director of the Urban Commission. Derrick your slimy nastiness is out.

17. So is this a case where the government prefers to keep the current NUPW membership in place?

18. David:
    The answer is yes, yes, yes. Danny Gill took the principled stand that Derrick was not being treated fairly at that time and countered the Ma Money Clarke plan. But , I believe someone got the right rum to Derrick and he is charged up to do the DLP bidding.

19. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You are coming around to reality. The Dems cannot afford to lose control of NUPW so they have let loose their toothless pit-bull, Derek Alleyne, Director of the UDC in the vain hope that Derek can pull a win off for them.

Derek Alleyne’s time would be better spent if he were trying to get audited financials for the UDC that are in arrears since 2008, according to the Auditor General.

20. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Lemuel

You must remember that this is the same Derek Alleyne that was one of the main speakers on the DLP platform in the last election. Imagine this from a head of of a statutory board: what else do you expect?

21. To Derrick Alleyne
    I know that the rum would have you, but do you remember when in the rum shop you were cussing Freundel Stuart and saying that Chris was your man and you would not be doing one single house for Freundel? Do you remember one of the drinkers called and Stuart heard everything live. Did you remember that it was Winston “kiah” Parris from Brandons who begged Stuart for you. Do you remember crying like a child in front of Stuart to retain your job. Derrick, Derrick Derrick behave yourself!

22. Hear what the incumbent president Maloney has to say:

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=156114234550893

23. David
    What Ma Money is saying in this video is if public servants dare to put the item of the salary freeze or increase on the table the DLP shall send home scores of public servants. We know that Ma Money was never too bright, but who would encourage him to threaten public servants and then expect them to support him.

24. According to Ma Money his RECORD is out there. Ma Money do you mean the union’s credit card which bought food and gas for you; do mean the phone bill of 6500 which was never repaid; do you mean the cosy way you snuggle up in the DLP bed and feather your nest; do you mean the money $500,000 spent from medicare; do you mean you encouragement to allow people to draw down on their gratuity only to belly ache when they retire later when they really need those funds; do you the eight years you have spent sponging off the union and its resources. I must admit your bass voice does sound good though even if the utterances are of empty value. Finally, do you mean the temerity you have to THREATEN public servants jobs for the whole of the internet world to see.

25. @lemuel

The strategy of courting the civil servants worked for the DLP, why do you believe it will not work for Maloney?

26. David
    From the reports I have gotten through the candidates not only the Danny Gill team is that Civil Servants want this discussion about wage increase to be placed on the table. The people that were employed for the election are not in the union. This is what the members are asking their new President to put on the table; obviously, Ma Money is not on the ground. Oh, I remember no one wants to see him at their place of work. All he has been doing is putting up posters and running. He went to the maids at the QEH and repeated the same thing. The maids have rejected his non sense out right!

I shall continue my role of watchman for the NUPW elections.

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Lemuel | March 31, 2013 at 11:13 AM |

Ma Money Maloney is using the same scare and fear tactics the DLP used in the last elections. The same way the old lady in the Transport Bus ad and other privatization scaremongering had telling electoral effect the same way public officers would vote in droves for Maloney and his team hoping he would be their Moses for the proverbially inevitable 40 years in the wilderness to follow.

It is after the elections by say September 2013 that we would see if public sector workers would be kept on as promised.
    Public sector workers would really be a bunch of idiots to expect the private sector (which pay their wages and upkeep ) to be decimated by the day and they the public sector remain insulated from the national economic mayhem taking place right before our very eyes.

28. Miller
    No one is falling for that trick this time. Sinker is getting very fat; all the rest of them including Todd are getting big bellys, but the poor public servants are struggling to live off their salary and send school their children. What i am saying does not have any political color; people are hurting and it is clear government must say what is the least that can be done to ease the economic strain. The Danny Gill team has no political axe to grind; however, I am very very sure Ma Money and his team have. by the way what have the ministers who seem only to fly fly and fly done to cut back assistance to their “friends” or their travel to ease the economic strain.

29. I think waltter maloney means endangering the union

30. This business about the NUPW hiving off the Medicare scheme and transforming it into a limited liability company is becoming curiouser and curiouser with every detail that is revealed. My understanding is that Cedric Murrell is the chairman of the company. If NUPW were complying with the law that would mean that the Prime Minister would have been privy to the union’s business before the National Council. If Cedric is indeed the Chairman, the PM would have been required to approve his appointment.

General Order 3.9 states:
    “Officers are not allowed to accept the auditorships or directorships of business organizations or companies without the approval of thePrime Minister, such approval being sought through the Head of the Civil Service”.

Also why would NUPW set up a brokerage as a company when unions are not required to conform to the Insurance Act if they were providing insurance services to its members? Section 3 (5) of the Insurance Act states:
    “This Act does not apply to any organization which is registered under the enactments relating to friendly societies or to trade unions.

I suspect that this move has more to do with hiding the performance of the medicare scheme from the National Council than with any efficiencies that may result.

31. Update on campaign, there is still some difficulty for others, except Ma Money and his team, to get to see the NUPW members at the Arawak Cement Plant. The human resources officer said that even the office staff were not to be interrupted from doing their work. Danny Gill and team may have to resort to meeting and greeting in the car park.

32. @Caswell

i am told last time around, the gs wanted to having a roving box for Arawak, What do u think was the reason for that, even though it was shot down. Are u aware that persons in the polling station tell people who to vote for, it happened at the psychaitric hospital, sanitation, the weymouth boxes, among others, Do u think the same thing will happen again?

33. TO THE POINT –You are correct during the last election ,Jacqueline Mason -Pile was at the Weymouth box telling people who to vote for(Walter and his gang) yet she was working as an election officer for the union .
    Dont for get Denis sold out the workers at Arawak -so management will try to protectDenis and his crooks —Denis built his house with FREE cement from Arawak

34. Caswell –what has happen at the airport and Arawak were there any viola tion of the Rules
    Who is theCivil servant that has put the Union in court and what is the up todate status of those cases

35. Fractured BLP Avatar

On Wednesday 3rd April 2013 Mr. Walter Maloney will be resoundingly returned to the Presidency of the NUPW

Danny FISH would then return to the high seas to use his GILL.

36. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Erice

The former Treasurer, Ken Dash, has taken the NUPW and Maloney, in his individual capacity, to court. As I understand it, Dash was defamed when the union illegally suspended him from the office of Treasurer and the matter was splashed all over the newspapers. Further, as a senior officer in the Inland Revenue Department, the Commissioner had reason to be concern that one of her officers, who is a treasurer, would be suspended and called him in. Additionally, he teaches at UWI. The suspension therefore sent the wrong signal to the society at large that a man in a position that deals with money was suspended presumably for financial wrong doing.

They suspended Dash and then instructed the acting Treasurer to sign a number of cheques that Dash refused to sign because he felt that they constituted attempts to defraud the union. The included cheques for Maloney, Clarke and Clarke’s son. As I understand it, some of the money was suppose to come from the Government subvention which is suppose to to be used for training purposes only. So far the Auditor General has not queried these transactions.

In Maloney’s case, he is being sued because he stated at a council meeting the Dash had given confidential to on Caswell Franklyn to embarrass the union. When he was called upon to withdraw the remarks and apologise, he refused,

37. Fractured
    You are the most out of step blogger on this blog. Thanks for endorsing Danny Gill and his team; it was like straining in the bathroom to do wasn’t it. Oh I forgot, you would not have those straining problems due to your nocturnal activities on Coleridge Street.

38. Dennis Clarke has been warned. As I understand it, Dennis has not even call a meeting with the candidates to discuss election day. My thoughts to Den Den is that the NUPW is guided by written rules which can be interpreted by a court of law. To those who want to try the old steel in deh way, modern cameras do have time and dates when videos or pictures are taken. Is this election worth your employment?

39. Members of the NUPW this election is crucial not only because the next executive shall oversee the installation of the next general secretary of the union, but because every where members are crying out for a union which is seeking to represent workers not cosying up in the political bed of the DLP.

Come out on Wednesday and VOTE. Remember it is your mandate that the candidates are seeking; do you want the union to go this way or continue down its path of political incest, with Ma Money Maloney and Dennis Clarke leading the charge.

40. @fractured

it is unfortunate that u r seeing the unio’s elections in political terms, but they need to be seem from an operational and organsational perspective. The union appears to be a sordid mess with Maloney’s testicles reahing all eras of the organisation, from finance to administration.

I dont beleive that the president understands his role, neither the gs or the national council which is very poweful, but I have been told that incest breeds incestuous outcomes.

41. To the point
    You are to the point.

42. Wuhlosss wunna back at this poop!! I smelling this NUPW elections is being fought down the line of the National Elections, Bs vs Ds. What sad days for my Union!!
    But what do we expect from ourselves? we choose to do battle in the eyes of the general public, who, regardless of your aguments about government subvention, have no interest in the matter. Government subventions are given to a full range of private institutions. Do we think we have the same rights to pry on what private schools do with their subventions? but alas we know our places when it comes to those issues.

Face it the Unions are losing their ” relevance”!! Think it was caswell that reflected thet the national council at the NUPw was not too smart. so true!! Seriuosly, how can you have a President that abuses a credit card, abuses a cell-phone to the tune of $6500, openly endorses policies of a political party( DLP), abuses bar credits et al, and receives no discipline. Not even a censure.
    A General Secretary that either throws a tantrum or cries at meetings for more money for himself or his son, goes past his retirement age without permission, surrenders his authority for the sake of expediency , hold the Union ransom to his folly by not indicating when he plans to retire. According to RPB, NOT ONE ASKS!!!!

I cant foresee the day when competent ppl come back to the union, to sit on council and executive. Unfortunately the Executive has become a cushy little place of additional income in the form of an allowance. Mind you, its a better allowance than most Boards in Barbados. Mind you again it comes at the expense of having some of your personal business exposed on the BU. Small price to pay since theBU is so underread. hehehe

the countdown is on to real change or will it be any change? i backing the winners.

we need a Chavez-like saviour. Viva la Revolucion!!!

43. @Joseph Coat

It has nothing to do with BU being under read but more a membership which is illiterate and numb to getting involved with matters which should concern them. It leaves the door open for political yardfowls like you to manipulate an organisation and compromise it stated goals.

The union bosses of old must be turning.

44. @Coat

Here is a parting shot. Do a Google and type the following names individually:

Walter Maloney
    Dennis Clarke
    Derek Alleyne
    NUPW

This will be your legacy win lose or draw.

45. Joseph Coat
    Your post reads like an old confused old goat. The year is 2013; the time is for the NUPW members to vote out Ma Money. Where is this b’s and d’s thing of which you speak. I only know of an incompetent president and his side kick Den Den. Of which year you speak when this union was pure and holy when the likes of your yard fowl friends were manipulating it.

46. @Joseph

the govt does not give subventions to schools,it my memory serves me correctly, i might be wrong, but correct me if I am wrong. Tell me what the socalled subventions are for.

47. Fractured BLP Avatar

Mr. Walter Maloney extends a hearty “thank you” to those hundreds of public officers who attended his beach party at Batts Rock this Easter Monday.

Mr. Maloney further informs that come this Wednesday 3rd of April, 2013 when you resoundingly return him to the NUPW presidency he will continue to work steadfastly on your behalf.

Let’s sing the chant of 2013…..
    Maloney NOW……Maloney AGAIN !

48. Fractured
    You kept a beach party for Ma Money and did not invite anyone from BU. WE could still enjoy the beach party and blog ; laptops can still work at the beach.

49. @Fractured

maloney does not have a brain that why the union is in chaos and behingdwith its financiils. He relies on the allowancane from the union as his wife cant risk him in managing the finaces as the mortgage woulnt be paid..

50. Nobody couldnt throw Mamoney in the sea though ?