Submitted by the Mahogany Coconut Think Tank/Watchdog Group
Sir Leroy Trotman (l), Minister of Labour Byer-Sukoo (r)
Sir Leroy Trotman (l), Minister of Labour Byer-Sukoo (r) – Credit: Barbados Today

For some time, we have warned that the trade union movement in Barbados was being marginalized. The coziness with employers brought about by the so-called Social Partnership, has long been a cause of concern to the Mahogany Coconut Group. The frequent love fests of the employers’ representatives and the union bosses were brilliant public relations stunts designed to fool those who don’t understand the treachery inherent in such exercises.

We have reached a state of utter delusion, if we believe that the playing field is level and the actions of LIME clearly demonstrate that the Social Partnership is exactly that-nothing more than high level social gatherings and smiles for the cameras.

Recession or no recession, we cannot surrender the rights of workers and their representatives to be respected. The truth is that LIME decided to dismiss workers while promising to continue the collective bargaining process. No self respecting union can take such an insult lightly.

LIME claims the workers were fired because of poor service. This is more an indictment of management than it is of the workers. Daily on call in programs, consumers are complaining about LIME and the Voice of Barbados (VOB) is often the only hope of these poorly serviced customers getting their voices heard.

We submit that the management of LIME should resign immediately because they have been most inadequate in getting their product up to the standards required in the world of technology. Blaming the workers is a dastardly act and the Barbados Workers Union is on good grounds for dismissing such garbage. What we have here is a very bold attempt to break the back of the trade union movement.

We therefore support the call for a national strike or any action the Barbados Workers Union deems necessary to stop the anti worker sentiment, now being expressed by those who have climbed the proverbial ladder and now want to kick it down. Without a strong and vibrant trade union movement the economic development of our island state will be left to those who believe that the workers only deserve a few crumbs from the table.

1. Barbados has been known as a ‘model democracy’, observers from around the world have visited to witness our electoral system. Prominent Barbadians have been invited to to observe elections all over the world. The idea that we are toeing the legal line in Barbados regarding when parliament will have to dissolve and the related issues is a position that we needed to avoid. In fact some may say it is asinine.

2. David | January 12, 2013 at 1:57 PM |
    “Barbados has been known as a ‘model democracy’, observers from around the world have visited to witness our electoral system.”

Those closest to mind were the representatives from South Africa, hosted by a delegation that included Gary Sobers (Knighted by the Queen herself … right Pacha …). Had there NOT been the likes of Barbados, Mandella would very well still be in jail …. My God, come fah yah world …

lawson

Sorry friend, no sympathy from me. Give me the well being of workers and consumers in Barbados well ahead of the interests of old people from over and away …

3. Agreed Baf.
    David, democracy is essentially an economic system not a political system. When you trumpet the mouthings of idiots in high places about political stability as a replecement for real democracy you are giving credence to a popular incoherrence. As an economic system Barbados cannot claim to represent notions of equality or equity as resouces are being consolidated into the hands of few and fewer people. Dont buy into the hype.

4. @Pacha and Baffy

Far from…

5. David don’t forget that the white South African government viewed Barbados as the perfect acceptable voluntary apartheid system.

No civil war.No “freedom fighters”. Just a docile black majority enriching the white minority and now Foreigners especially Trinidadians.

6. BAFBFP You say over and away, but it wasnt that long ago I read Mr Trotman vowing labour unrest over 7 workers layed off at Diamonds int. The boss a man who has made his life in Barbados calling him a Jew to muddy the waters rather than a Bajan who decided to become a citizen of this country who we have a labour issue with. So it wouldnt matter if you lived in Barbados or are over and away if you try and make for Gods sake a solid business by making some hard and tough discisions your screwed
    I would like to understand what you mean about consumers. If I had to keep these people on the payroll to give the” return” the investors expected would I not have to raise prices to meet that goal? Hurting the consumers
    If you had to choose between keeping 130 people working and seven people going would you prefer that the business shut its doors and everyone is unemployed?
    This is kind of like Solomons baby exept you want that baby cut in half

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

prodigal son

“I await CCC to call me a liar, as usual! Poor fellow!”

If you continue to call every date on the calendar between now and when the PM rings the bell, one would have to be correct. then you would beat your chest and declare, “see I told you that it would so and so date,” but that of course would not make you a very smart guy. You appear to want people to believe that you more important than you really are.

8. The Election date is February 15th…no wait….February 21st……no….it is April 1st…..no wait….lemme check again an get back to yuh.

9. Perhaps when Sir Trottie’s legacy is written he will be remembers as one who voted against the Sandiford administration in the infamous ‘No Confidence Motion” AND again the one who called a strike, or threatened a strike, to add to an unstable IR climate NOT in the interest of the government with an election looming.

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

FEAR is what the Barbados Labour Party is spreading in Barbados.

F-ALSE
    E-VIDENCE
    A-PPEARING
    R-EAL

There is nothing to FEAR but fear it self.

11. I don’t get it. There is a problem with LIME.

Why shut down the whole country?

12. Pure sweetness. Listen to the Bass lines.

13. @Hants

It is a tactic by unions to drive fear in the other party. In this case it will not work. If by chance he succeeds it will be his darkest action. The word is that he will not get people to walk off their job at this time. This is a hard guava season to borrow a term from fragile80.

14. We all should remember that country MUST come before party when it comes to a National strike.

Barbados cannot afford a National strike at this time.

15. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

I fully support the trade union member’s right to withdraw labour, but really hope they have all thought through the big picture here. We are now in one of the most critical winter tourism seasons in recent history. Last weekend was one of the biggest holiday booking periods in the UK, still our largest market with the longest average stays and spending. Already the subject of a national strike is being carried on the world’s most visited travel website (TripAdvisor) as a individual subject posted on the Barbados Forum. If you had saved fifty weeks to take your main annual holiday, would you risk going to a destination that is threatened by a possible shut down and
    delays in immigration, customs, air traffic control etc
    Think about it!

16. I hope that this country is never again held to ransom by one arrogant man as regards to the calling of a general election. It seems as if the PM and his attack men/ac on BU thinks that it is some kind of game. I have never heard so many people calling for a general election as now.

Mr PM, keep on playing your silly childish games. One thing is for certain, you HAVE to call the election or it will call itself!

17. @Adrian

The AX dispute should have taught you something, we have a population who seem happy to take sides (yo see it here on BU), the idea of conciliation is beyond comprehension to some, especially the political hacks. The implication of a strike does not even feature in the thinking of many of our educated population.

18. the idea of conciliation is beyond comprehension to some, especially the political hacks

The average Bajan does not care about when elections will be called.as long as the politicians are walking around handing out the corned beef, biscuits,stoves fridges and TVs.

Nobody seems capable of dealing with the bigger issue.

What would motivate a Union to shut down a country because 70 employees got laid off?

Food for thought.

“The union representing Ontario’s public high school teachers has told Premier Dalton McGuinty its members won’t hold a one-day walkout next week as originally planned.
    The move to back off next week’s walkout comes after a labour board ruled a similar walkout planned by elementary teachers for Friday would be illegal.

19. @B B

dont waste time with Enuff, owen is out with the co-leader Mascoll plotting for Mia.

20. @David

i really detest that term politcal hack, just llike i hate the term politcial yard fowl, but then again thats what democracy is about, isnt it?

21. @aDRIAN
    i am with u

22. @Caswell

r u not a leader of a trade union and how can u say that the biggest problem is leadership, does that apply to u?

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son | January 12, 2013 at 4:51 PM |

It is being said in inner DLP circles that the PM is being advised by Rev. Durant not to announce the date of elections before the obeah event takes place in the gymnasium next Sunday the 20th.
    Rev Durant is the bogus apostle who made it abundantly clear that because he has a direct line to god David Thompson could never die on his watch.
    He now has a plan to import another imposter who is able to heal the sick, heal the nation through prayer (not forex) and even raise the dead. Can you imagine in 2013 Rev. Durant can entertain and foist upon the educated but stupid and gullible people of Barbados a con man laying claim to performing magic of raising the dead all in the name of Jesus?

It is felt that the two charlatans plan to go to the graveyard and like real lodge men summon DT from his rotting grave to seek advice on how to win the upcoming elections.
    They are hoping too that DT would accede to the request of his remaining followers in the DT/DLP faction of making a few apparitional appearances at one or two night meetings during the upcoming campaign.

24. Sometimes it is necessary to fight “fire ” with “fire” these corporate giants live off greed and exploitation of its workers.When does one take a stand and say enough is enough today 97 tommorow ALL.

25. @Miller

I think u and ur ilk should have been tired by now pontificating on when elections are going to be called. U have tried everyting as to the rationale for not calling the elections at a particular time. Greedy hot will cool. What will u and ur ilk think of next. The elections have to be called by a specified time.

26. @Miller
    I will not be going to any meetings of the DLP in case the DT duppy turn up and give people heart attacks.Like it going to be ruction if Durant work his sibbydibby pun all yuh.Charlatans all!

27. Barbados has survived five years of “global recession” and i am certain that a week of putting LIME in its place .would not shut the country down . i know the Davids of this work would not understand the rights of workers not to exploitated by giants like LIMEbut would prefer to pretend in the qausa intellectual mind that these workers are the problem and less deserving of a job and management has every right to kick them out under false disguise.

28. @AC

r u saying that talking about a national stike is justified, or bwu should be talking about a company strike? Why would u threanthen a national strike as adrian has said, do u know the international repercussions for our tourism industry. Such statement will be carried internationally. just think about what u r saying.

29. To the Point wrote
    “@David
    i really detest that term political hack”

A political hack is a negative term ascribed to a person who is part of the political party apparatus, but whose intentions are more aligned with victory than personal conviction.

30. By the above definition I am not a political hack but yardfowl (cock) would apply to me.

BTW I hope you guys listen to good music while blogging. I have Reggae and Soca in session. Will pull out the axe later for some jazz covering.

31. A threat is only as good if it is carried out.You guys need to relax and let the process takes it course .Lime has just as much to lose if a strike is carried out so i don.t see any such happening to paralysis the economy.however a strong word followed by some kind of action should be carried out if lime does not comply with currant agreements.

32. miller,
    “It is being said in inner DLP circles that the PM is being advised by Rev. Durant not to announce the date of elections before the obeah event takes place in the gymnasium next Sunday the 20th”…………………….

I heard the fraud tonight. One of my children said…wait look the fraud who said David Thompson would not die under his watch. So they believe Jones then. He said during the St John by-election that he talks to DT from the grave!
    My god, so they are going to raise DT from his grave. My advice to the fraud is to leave DT where he is, DT might not want to come back to face the music!

33. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Hants

“Barbados cannot afford a National strike at this time”

Then tell LIME to reinstate the displaced workers.

LIME, a powerful company making money hand over fist, strangely enough the greater the net profit LIME makes the more BLACK BAJANS they get rid of.

Am I the only one who see something wrong with this picture?

All the General Secretary has to do is to call the General strike on Monday and Tuesday and if that does not bring Old Macdonald to Christain feelings then call off all workers at the Airport and Seaport and that will do the trick.

34. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Old Macdonald believes that he has a farm and he thinks that he can get rid of the livestock as he pleases.

35. @Carson

have u really thought through what u have just said, u seem not to understand ir. You never start with a national strike. If u dont get support for a national strike u have failed, because it means that the workers do not think that it is sufficeint cause for such a strike.

Why would u think that the airport and the seaport should be closed to pressure lime. I am amazed at u, but then again should I be.

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

All of you seem to believe that this foolishness started on 1st. Jan. 2013.

37. @cARSON

for heaven sake, u r becoming stale with ur rantings. Writing often does not mean that u r making sense. Think first and then write, and not the other way around. Lord take a rest or write something that make sense.

38. This really proves that the likes of CCC do not care about this country.

All and sundry agree that a strike at this point when our economy is floundering, our country’s credit rating is now at junk status, thousands of people are unemployed, people are scrunting and we have some IRRESPONSIBLE people calling for and gunning for a strike.

The DLP must feel that a strike at this time will benefit them somehow for CCC to be willing the Duke to close down Barbados when we need every cent we can to help the economy.

Are the Dems willing a strike to say that the country is unstable so that they can go into the 90 day period?

I would bet CCC is not a LIME customer! As usual, hate and vitriol is being spewed from his mouth!

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

prodigal son

Take a hike.

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Someone has to be in the corner of thew workers of this country.

41. @Carson C. Cadogan,

So what is the Union going to do when other companies send home workers?

A National strike will be a National disaster.

42. “Someone has to be in the corner of the workers of this country.”

We all know that but you have to have a functioning country for the workers.

Time to open up the Telecommunications business and let new players enter the market to squeeze LIME.

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

hants

“A National strike will be a National disaster”

Accordding to you.

44. lawson
    You see me … I ain arguing wid a fella dis year hear … cause all it would prove is one of two things … either I would be right and he wrong or … he would be wrong and I right …! (Bush Tea how yah like mah … HA HA HA ..)

@all
    People ga long and let Carson rile wunna up. Ef wunna don’ see Carson jus’ chillin’, wunna deserve what wunna get …

45. From the mouth of……………..Carson C. Cadogan | January 12, 2013 at 9:03 PM |

hants

“A National strike will be a National disaster”

Accordding to you……………………

Peoples, you see what I have been saying that there is a reason why the Dems are egging on this strike. Read what CCC has said……hants and all right thinking people think that the strike would be a national disaster, not so the DLP.

I tell you there are ulterior motives behind this strike action!

46. Carson C. Cadogan | January 12, 2013 at 8:48 PM |

prodigal son

Take a hike………………..

I wish the same for you. Even TTP is fed up with you and asked you to take a rest!

47. @Prod

i dont want u to use me to get at carson, u deal with him and let me deal with him in the way i want to, in the end he and i will make up as we support the same party, but i will objectively let him know when i dont agree with him.

48. No problem!

49. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

prodigal son

“I tell you there are ulterior motives behind this strike action

What ulterior motives?

Because you and the Barbados Labour Party members and supporters want to hang the workers out to dry and I disagree with you then there must be “ulterior motives”?

50. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David, I have to admit I am still trying to understand the AX issue. All those departments, ministries, labour organisations, a spend of at least $600,000 and what has been achieved, apart from disrupting hundreds of children.
    It makes an absolute nonsense of having a supposed frame of governance.