Submitted by the Mahogany Coconut Think Tank/Watchdog Group
Sir Leroy Trotman (l), Minister of Labour Byer-Sukoo (r)
Sir Leroy Trotman (l), Minister of Labour Byer-Sukoo (r) – Credit: Barbados Today

For some time, we have warned that the trade union movement in Barbados was being marginalized. The coziness with employers brought about by the so-called Social Partnership, has long been a cause of concern to the Mahogany Coconut Group. The frequent love fests of the employers’ representatives and the union bosses were brilliant public relations stunts designed to fool those who don’t understand the treachery inherent in such exercises.

We have reached a state of utter delusion, if we believe that the playing field is level and the actions of LIME clearly demonstrate that the Social Partnership is exactly that-nothing more than high level social gatherings and smiles for the cameras.

Recession or no recession, we cannot surrender the rights of workers and their representatives to be respected. The truth is that LIME decided to dismiss workers while promising to continue the collective bargaining process. No self respecting union can take such an insult lightly.

LIME claims the workers were fired because of poor service. This is more an indictment of management than it is of the workers. Daily on call in programs, consumers are complaining about LIME and the Voice of Barbados (VOB) is often the only hope of these poorly serviced customers getting their voices heard.

We submit that the management of LIME should resign immediately because they have been most inadequate in getting their product up to the standards required in the world of technology. Blaming the workers is a dastardly act and the Barbados Workers Union is on good grounds for dismissing such garbage. What we have here is a very bold attempt to break the back of the trade union movement.

We therefore support the call for a national strike or any action the Barbados Workers Union deems necessary to stop the anti worker sentiment, now being expressed by those who have climbed the proverbial ladder and now want to kick it down. Without a strong and vibrant trade union movement the economic development of our island state will be left to those who believe that the workers only deserve a few crumbs from the table.

1. The trade union movement’s biggest problem is its leadership. The employers, including Government, know only too well that they can offer inducements to movement’s leaders and their problems would somehow disappear. As a result, employers have no respect for a majority of the leading trade unionists in this country who, ever so often, try to flex their atrophied muscle. In most cases, I am sure employers are wondering why these trade unionists don’t stay bought.

2. Everything in Barbados is failing. We are in deep shit. Something is patently wrong in Barbados. When we cant even get cricket right , you know that we are in trouble. Cricket distinguished Barbados giving us a sense of superiority and worth. It is painful to see what is happening in our cricket. This is reflected in all spheres of activities: politics; THE EDUCATION SYSTEM’; CIVIL SERVICE AND SOCIALLY –minibus/ZR chaos and a failed sugar harvest , one that until recently produced 260 tons of sugar—and this figure was considered too low—now it is down to 18

3. Is there any truth to LIME’s statement that when it presented its ‘new’ business model (which featureed the loss of the 97 jobs) the BWU approved in the presence of the Social Partners?

Is there any truth that Sir Roy’s blackberry was a git from Alex? Don’t use that phone to plan against LIME Sir, he might be listening!

4. Just Asking

Can you name something that is failing that was not first tainted by politics. Politicians have weaselled their way into every sphere of activity which has resulted in a diminution of standards with the attendant poor performance that we have now become accustomed.

Just to mention a few to demonstrate the point that political interference has infected everything: police force, Barbados Cricket Association, Barbados Football Association, Alexandra Affair, NUPW, BUT, Public Service Commission, Judiciary and the list goes on.

5. Sir roy trotman a tireless warrior fighting for the rights of all people .Govt’s come and Govt”s go. but the Rights of all people should not be left opened to be trampled upon cause in due time chip by chip bit by bit they too would disappear..

6. Surely something has failed when at this time of serious economic challenges our ‘leaders’ would allow a national strike to take place?

7. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Everyone looking to make money before money is made, Inside and out side deals , More Fraud on the Nation, Crooks

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I support the BWU 100%.

9. Where is Owen Arthur?

10. our people are our natural resources not to be treated like disposable paper cups as many corporate giants indeed do.as this country tries to deal with high unemployment lime decides that disposing of 97 of its workers is the best of all plans feasible under the disguise of “poor customer service” is the way to go. however forgetting or couldn’t clear less about the negotiations and agreements made between the two parties,

11. @ Bruddah B
    That is the third or fourth time you have asked. Just tell us.

12. @ac

According to the BWU the issue is about respecting the bargaining agreement. The 97 workers going home is not the issue given that the BWU seems to be on record agreeing to the retrenchment.

The social partnership is failing at a time when it was designed to step up. Trade Unions have become irrelevant in their current form.

13. Dont get your panties in a twist Enuff ousted BLP leader Mia Mottley told Barbados the AX horror should remain as is no transfers of Broomes or the warring teachers. Is that the BLP’s official position? Arthur toppled Mia as leader in a coup. Is it unreasonable for voters to want to hear from the so called alternative leader on this burning national issue. Where is BLP ‘leader’ Owen Arthur?

14. brudda bim don’t worry OSA got his “foot soldiers miller! enuff! and prodigal speaking on the BLP behalf. As for MIA she did say something which add up to “a lot of nothing”

15. Everyone seems not to realise that Government is the enabler in all the unfair practices that are being perpetrated against the workers of this country.

Government passed the Employment Rights Act that was supposed to bring some measure of protection for workers against unscrupulous employers. That act was passed and brought into force on May 24, 2012 by a notice in the Official Gazette. A number of employers complained that the act would be onerous and that it should not be enforce against them.

Out of fear that the employers would not help to fund their campaign, this deceitful Government published a subsequent notice on April 18th in the Gazette which effectively took the Employment Rights Act off the books. As a result, employers are moving with all deliberate speed to rid themselves of workers in circumstances that would be unfair when the act is in place. This is how this two-faced Government is seeking to protect workers.

Just recently, I was doing business at the National Insurance Department and a messenger from a major employer came to collect the green Termination Certificates. The clerk gave him about 40 forms and he said that they were not enough, and was then given a large handful. It is not my place to break that bad news to those workers, so I will not reveal the name of their employer.

By the way, did you hear any trade union, other than Unity, object to Governments behaviour. When they should have spoken up, these bought and paid for, Government-controlled unions remained quiet. How is anybody supposed to take unions or the Government seriously?

16. David

Unions are not failing in their current form: they are failing because of their current leaders who first seek to feather their own nests.

Again you got it wrong, the Social Partnership is working as it was originally intended. It was put in place to control the workers ably assisted by the unions. Can you name an instance when workers prevailed as a result of referring the matter to this so called Social Partnership?

17. @ Caswell Franklyn….your post of 12.05 am is right on point.If only others knew of the back room deals that are so much a part of today’s society,and that extends to right here in New York.I actually recorded a union delegate making statements that substantiated these claims.That tape was inadvertently scrubbed by my wife(or so she said) and that man has gone on to become a part of upper management at one of New York’s better known trucking companies.Let me temper all that I have just offered by making it very clear that I believe that it smacks of insincerity when either side takes any action deemed provocative in the middle of negotiations.BWU still needs to thread lightly,for any island wide strike action at this time will be disastrous not only for Barbados,but for the union as well.

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The BLP is boxed into a corner.

Their support is with LIME. But they cant let that be known right now with an elections around the corner.

If they let that be know now even the few seats that they have in parliament they will loose and they realise that.

So the BLP’s silence is out of fear.

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

LIME bank rolls the Barbados Labour Party.

Sir Roy is on the right path.

20. @ Bruddah B…Do not expect to hear from that party on this matter.Their egerness to regain the opportunity to again rape the treasury forced them to foolishly weigh in on the debate about privatization.From that there are still smarting.

21. Caswell
    Look at the Constitucancy council and see who are theso call trade union leaders on these commitees Cedric Murrell,Merlene Jones,Walter Maloney -all from NUPW now you will also see Cedric Murrell on St.George secondary school board and merlene on the UDC Board .
    check your research and you will also find that cedric is RONALD JONES friend before the birth of CTUSAB ,look at the road cedric has been playing ,as usual a deceitful one -now CEDRIC wife was transfer from teaching to the ministry of Education and CEDRIC got a job for this son teaching at St.George secondary school teaching -now do you expect Murrell to go against this government ,he has always found was to support the DLP over the years ,
    Maloney has gotten his promotion at NHC from this government a jod he has no QUALIFICATIONS for –his only qualification is slapping michael lady friend on the BOTTOM ,and the KING David beg not to fire him ,do you see how he rushes to defend this government -but Stuart knows that he cannot be trusted ,he was cussing stuart for the imfamous eleven .

CAS
    What has become of the COASTAL ZONE FRAUD CASE —i know that the wife was promoted ,she too union leader -so now we see how union has been undermind -she belongs to NUPW ,CTUSAB AND CCL .
    THINK ON THESE THINGS

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

All right thinking Bajans especially those of the Black variey support the BWU on this issue.

All the BWU has to do, is to call a two day general strike on Monday and Tuesday next week. If Lime does not get the message, “beacause all circuits are busy now”, then from Wed. on, call off all workers at the Airport and Seaport until LIME’S circuits are no longer busy.

What we are dealing with here is not some struggling company, LIME makes insane net profits, and the more profits it makes the more BLACK BAJANS they lay off.

A strong message has to be sent to this VAMPIRE company.

23. It is instructive to examine the hierarchy of the BWU – Gabby Scott, Levere Richards, Mayers – all from the cane field bargaining era.

24. Bdos Underground Talkshop Avatar
    Bdos Underground Talkshop

25. @Caswell

Is was reported that the last grievance between LIME and the BWU which has led to calls of a national shut down took 6 months instead of the 6 weeks supported in the protocol.

What has caused the matter to become protracted and when does CTUSAB get involve when Protocol conventions are contravened?

26. @caswell
    Our problem(s) in Barbados go deeper and further back than politics. They’re rooted in entrenched beliefs and mindsets along with historical, cultural and psychological “slavery.” Politics is just the top soil layer.

The diminishing relevance of the unions started a while ago (so too did that of religion, politics and education). Unions have ALWAYS by their very nature been seen as political creatures. The type of leadership that can balance political needs with members’ rights while promoting and pushing for a true vision and understanding of 21st century employment, HR and industrial relations does not exist….yet.

The Social Partnership was more of a Social Alliance. Pretty on paper, poisonous in practice, potent in purpose. It has served us well as an international model, but the internal realities are now coming to bite us.

The fate of men can either live where power resides, or instead within the convictions and strength of their own hearts.

Just observing.

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | January 12, 2013 at 9:34 AM |

We DARE BWU and the Broken Royal Duke to pull any date out of his back pocket and call a general strike. It will not happen in the coming weeks.

Sir Roy is just being a pompous old fool since he knows full well that the local LIME management is just carrying out orders from the London Head office. Alex McD would be the sacrificial lamb at the end of the day.

All that is open to Sir Roy as a way to save his face from shame is that he can secretly ask for an additional 5-10% top up of the termination packages but nothing else.

If he is so pigheaded and arrogantly calls a strike he would be playing right in the hands of C&W who has great plans of restructuring the regional operations and Barbados does not figure significantly in them.

It would become just another profit centre for a restructured regional C&W presence or for a buyer who would have no “long-standing emotional” attachment to Bim and the government can’t do a thing about it.

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

millertheanunnaki | January 12, 2013 at 10:10 AM

Spoken like a true Barbados Labour Party supporter.

Go ahead VAMPIRE LIME, The Barbados Labour Party is behind you!

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Bajans are no fools as the Barbados Labour Party believes. When your next door neighbor’s house is on fire a wise person will do all in his power to help him put it out.

Failing to do so will put his own house at risk because the fire could easily spread to his own house and consume it as well.

Mouth open, story jump out. The chamber of commerce has warned that they will be laying off workers this year. VAMPIRE LIME is allowed to go ahead and layoff as many workers as possible to see what will be the reaction of the workers and the unions.

If VAMPIRE LIME is allowed to get away with this travesty, other employers will be close behind ably supported by the Barbados Labour Party who has promised to lay off 10,000 public servants.

The BWU must not back down. Too much is at stake.

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I am so glad that it is all taking place during an election year.

31. Rate This

Caswell Franklyn | January 12, 2013 at 12:48 AM |

Just Asking

Can you name something that is failing that was not first tainted by politics.

NO –I cannot

Question : Which Party is more guilty or is it that both parties are similarly guilty. I notice that there is someone posting as

just Asking.

That is not me–JUST ASKING
    That is somebody who should be sanctioned for attempting –Identity Theft.

JUST ASKING

32. @ Miller…we dare you.You and who exactly make we?CCC,AC,HH and Miller.Dear loving persons in beautiful Barbados.

33. Do you guys honestly believe that things are going to change in Barbados? Barbados is a small country and the work force is very small, so there is no need for so many unions in bim. When you have union presidents and the union executive still working then you are asking for problems. For example Karen Best refused to back the BSTU and then was promoted to Deputy CEO what then do you expect. If the union executive is not being paid and have to depend on their employer for their livelihood then things are going to remain the same. Laws or agreements need to be made where every worker must join the union that is representing them. Union dues should be collected by the government on behalf of the union and the union executive should be paid from the union dues. That means that you would not have Mary Redman or any other union taking away time from their teaching assignments. If the relationships does not change what do you expect.

34. @Erskine

An interesting comment which follows the BU blog about the incestuous dimension to the Alexandra affair. Only yesterday a couple callers to the talk show agonized about the fact Mary Redman’s performance as a teacher at Lodge School has been raised with the Principal of Lodge and the Ministry of Education without success.

35. @Miller
    I am reliably informed that Lime is downsizing its headcount to make the sale to the proposed buyer sufficiently attractive.If as I understand it Lime is outsourcing its Finance Dept.then you understand the BWU will have lost its proverbial whipping boy.The would be player south of the border down the way will probably take over and bring a new culture to our way of doing things.At the end of the day its politicians and hardheaded businessmen who have ruined the Barbados we knew.Trinis have brought a shut down culture starting with BWIA.Bwee began operations into buhbaydus in 1940 and pulled out in 2006/07.For reasons unknown and despite the known camaraderie between PM Stuart and PM P- Bissessar,no effort has been made to send a high powered delegation to Trinidad to get Caribbean Airlines to restore services to London,Toronto,New York,Miami etc.Meanwhile Guyana,Grenada and St Lucia have gone to Trinidad and are again reaping the benefit of restored services.Mark another minus for Hutson and Sealy ,and by extension PM Stuart.

36. We whole-heartedly support the calls by the Mahogany Coconut Think Tank. Some of these calls may however be slightly rhetorical for on the board of LIME – BET are people like Hilary Beckles – a man who has criminally accepted a khighthood. Within the BWU itself, an institution which has long sold out its workers, the Neopoleonic figure of Leroy Trotman has also criminally accepted the social rewards of the enemies of the people. What are the people or workers of Barbados to expect when those who present themselves of our representatives are playing for the other team. During the French Revolution, circa 1780, there was a saying ‘off with they heads’. Maybe this will find resonance in times when the people of Barbados are to have neither bread nor cake.

37. CcCadogan wrote “The chamber of commerce has warned that they will be laying off workers this year.”

I hope they realise that in a miniscule country like Barbados, the workers you employ are the consumers of your products and supporters of your business.

They should examine their own business models before taking the easy way out.

38. Time to change our National Anthem.

“These fields and hills beyond recall are NOT our very own.”

39. I am surprised that CCC thinks that a strike at this time is right. Why am I surprised?

Maybe the Dems think that the strike will be the reason they need to delay the elections and give them the 90 days they so desperately crave to continue feasting on the poor rakey “fatted” calf.

My guess is that the Duke of York will back down, forget all the grand standing. I know of one organisation where the BWU represents most of the workers and the general feeling is that they are not going out on strike, they feel the duke has no case and they want their jobs.

The public is not on the BWU side as these LIME workers do not give good service and now blaming management. How can management be responsible for their nasty grumpy attitudes to the public? Can you blame management for their screw up faces? You go into a centre and have to wait hours and they dont care, they obviously like to see the place full.

From what I have heard from LIME, the Duke agreed to the severance of the workers in private and has now back down. If some of the workers have back jobs with the new owners, is he therefore fighting for the rest or all? For certainly, those who have been rehired would not yet have union representation and would not be able to go on strike for themselves.

This is all so confusing. The Duke has certainly screwed up. My feeling is that the Duke will huff and puff and just like in the Sandy Lane and Royal Shop cases, he will go away silently and like when LIME moved the call centre to St Lucia!

Poor Duke of York, you should behave like the Knight of Harmony Hall that you are supposed to be, not a thug calling employers racist names!

40. When you mek a man a Knight (ie he is smiled upon by the elites, headed by the Queen herself) the most you could expect of him to do is to bark. He WILL NOT don anything to profoundly disrupt the status quo.

But what of McDonald and my friend Donald … My my, the educational system is wukkin’ man, but not for the average Barbadian worker/consumer …

41. The unions in Barbados is very powerful and they are depending on their livelihood. Can you imagine if they were independent, hoe much powerful they would be? The unions should be working for their members. Not their members and employers also. Isn’t that a conflict of interest and unethical also? But as usual isn’t there unethical and conflict of interest going on in everything that is going on in Barbados. No one see anything wrong with it. There needs to be young leaders coming up that see these issues as conflicts and unethical. Is Barbados big enough for a third party since the B’s and D’s are cut from the same cloth. As the saying goes none of them can tell the other come back.

42. Were the employers not holding strain and going along with the Government to keep people employed? The PM and the MOF have praised the employers for holding strain.

What has changed is that the employers did not know that this government would have been so incompetent and have caused the recession to go on so long.

One could never believe that any other government could be worse than Sandi’s. The DLP takes the Oscar for the two worse governments of this country. Wuhloss!!!!!!!!!!!

43. when a patient goes to a hospital with a terminal disease and is told they have to amputate a small portion of his body to save their life it seems like the prudent thing to do. Why is business so different. A business may keep people on the payroll and slowly go bankrupt throwing everybody out of work. Rather than make some tough unpopular discisions that can keep a company afloat till the economy stabilizes and those people can be hired back. In the construction industry in Canada there is constant layoffs and rehires during boom a bust cycles just part of keeping the companies viable.

44. Prodical this is no laughing matter. This Administration could be guilty of gifting the Government back to an Undeserving Set of Jack Asses

45. lawson
    PLease understand the difference between a business seeking to stay alive, particularly in times of hardship as opposed to a business seeking to maintain or exceed its promised Return on Investment

46. I have been hearing in my circles that Fumble is looking at February 8th. Who would call an election on a Friday?

I await CCC to call me a liar, as usual! Poor fellow!

47. @Prodigal Son

There is the other side which says that the bad customer service from LIME is as a result of dysfunctional systems in the company.

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son | January 12, 2013 at 1:25 PM |

That means he will have to prorogue Parliament on Tuesday coming and announces that date as GE day which will automatically bring about a dissolution of Parliament. If not, Parliament will have to “Dissolve” him on 12th February if Estimates are to be debated and passed before March 31.

49. BAFBAP I clearly understand what you are saying but you must understand behind every business are investors, not all rich typhoons but real people, ma and pa investors I am sure you know some that depend on the dividends from these companies as their only income..What may appear as greed is what is keeping a lot of people from being on the welfare system It is the job of management to protect these people, if they do not who would invest in anything