Karen Best, former BUT President and current Deputy Chief Education Officer

Minister Jones, visibly shaken and angry, termed the no-show a โ€œgross insultโ€ and the low point of industrial relations practice in the trade union history of Barbados. Mrs Karen Best, president of the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT), reportedly said she had never seen anything like it in industrial relations. Her [Best] comments clearly indicate her union will not support the BSTU. For the first time that I can remember, there is a split among five unions โ€“ the BSTU and Barbados Workers Union (BWU) on one side, the BUT, BAPPSS and NUPW on the other

Nation Newspaper

It seems to be finally hitting home to Barbadians โ€“ especially the political partisans – that the Alexandra School dispute (AX) is not so easy to resolve after all. The Frederick Waterman headed commission of inquiry was suppose to wash away the problem which all have to admit predates this government coming to office.

One view of the AX matter which BU has not put under full scrutiny is the incestuous nature of the relationships of key decision makers and participants in the AX plot. Barbados we know is a small countryย  and there is an inevitability about how personal relationships can shape public perception about how decisions are taken.

Key players in the AX Mess are Principal Jeff Broomes, Minister Ronald Jones, and Deputy Chief Education Officer Karen Best who are ALL products of the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT). To complete the BUT connection we should declare that current President of the Barbados Union of Teachers is Pedro Shepherd who recently challenged for the Democratic Labour Partyโ€™s (DLP) nomination in St. Michael South East.

Of special interest to BU is the recent appointment of Karen Best who has responsibility for schools.

โ€˜Ingredientsโ€™ for a cabal you think? It gets better.

Chairman of the Alexandra School governing body is Keith Simmons who is Deputy Chairman of the Public Service Commission. Keith Simmons admits to being closed friends with Jeff Broomes although โ€“ according to his testimony at the COI โ€“ the relationship soured during his tenure as Chairman of the AX Board. Keith Simmons is also a former minister in a DLP government.

Jeff Broomes is represented in the current industrial relations impasse by the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW), one of two unions. The president and general secretary Walter Maloney and Dennis Clarke respectively are known to be โ€˜liming buddiesโ€™ and some say โ€˜fraternity brothersโ€™ with Minister Jones.

Finally another key player is Hal Gollop the legal counsel for the Barbados Secondary Teachers Union (BSTU). Interesting because he admits to being a close friend of the Prime Minister. How has Gollop been able to balance his role as BSTU counsel and obvious confidant of Prime Minister Stuart some have begun to question.

It is general knowledge in Barbados that Broomes, Best, Jones, Griffith-Watson et al all exchange visits at a personal level and have eaten from the same pot some may go further to say. A big reason for the current state of play is the inbred relationships which have featured to appoint several players to positions in education which many argue challenge their level of competence.

It is T2 to Monday and the pupils continue to play a minor roles in the AX Saga. What is playing out at Alexandra exposes a crisis of leadership in Barbados. Examples can be seen in the judiciary, parliament, private sector and general society.

1. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

I want Mary Redman to call me
    Get a message to Mary for me somebody
    I am in love

2. It is time this matter be resolved. I believe that a mistake was made as regrads me jordan and there are only two schools that teach autotronics(hope thats the correct spelling);st leonard and princess margaret so i believe that that situation will be corrected.

I am sure generaaly, the psc will stick to its guns and if they refuse a legitimate order, them they should be disciplined undee the codes of of conduct and discipline.

3. Dr,

go to bstu hadquarters and meet the woman, She does not go to work at the Lodge school and if she does she spends her time in the staff room and not teaching so she will always be available to see u or talk to u, best of luck.

4. mary according to TTP does not have a leg to stand on but people must not forget that her actions is what got the PM to have a COI when pubiic sentiment was against her .this woman should not be underestimated.

5. as regards the pregnat teache, thats a mistake. no worker on sick leave should not be transferred. do u believe the ministry was aware of that before the recommendations were forwarded to the cpo, That too would have to be corrected,

Miss Redman has been all over the place, similary when she called the strike. No wonder she would always lose the pr battle. That union is a dinasaur and i would really like to know really how many members there are. That union is the remnant of the plantation system where there was this elitism among the older seconday schools.

David. i invite to to ascertain how many teachers in bstu that were appointed up to the point the 1981 came into being.

6. @ac

underestimated my foot, she cant even play politics now, a decision has been reached, I was very diappointed in MIA but then again, it was her who started to destroy the morlae in the moe, with her feminsation of the ministry, byp passing competent officers. How did wendy griffith jumped to the top the ladder wihtout the requisite comptencies and experience.

7. You know the funny thing is that with the right leadership, this whole thing could easily have been settled “over a bowl of Won Ton Soup” …! .. Uhum

8. @ To Point formerly TTP
    Instead of focusing on the BSTU head and me, your energies would be better spent trying to encourage your candidates who, according to your own internal polls, are trailing so badly they considered withdrawing.

9. TTP so far she has managed to get Broomes separated pending a letter of appointment. don’t underestimate the color red ,

10. TTP;
    I think that there are a few points that are being glossed over by most BU commentators.

Practically every teacher or former teacher who has commented on this issue, of whichever political stripe, appears to be agreed on one aspect of this matter of the transfers. That is that they were several problems in the manner in which they were carried out especially in relation to the likely deleterious effects they would have on the Students. It is obvious that the PM is not happy about the implementation of the transfers since he has tried to distance himself totally from them. So too was R Jones who, if he were satisfied, would not have given all the glory (and the implicit blame also) to the PSC for the transfers. Ralph Jemmott, in one of the papers today joined the litany of persons who are normally seen as sympathizers of the Current Government who blasted the effect if not the intent of the transfers.

So I think it is generally accepted that the implementation of the transfers left a lot to be desired.

Given the poor implementation of the transfers it would be interesting to see if BU bloggers consider that the PM can reasonably be given a free pass in his attempt to disassociate himself from any responsibility for how they were conducted and if that responsibility might haunt him in his performance in the coming polls, be they next month or 4 months from now. In other words, did the PMs performance in this matter enhance his chances of retaining the government; will have no discernible effect; or will have a deleterious effect on his chances so to do.

When Mary Redman reveals some more of her strategy and we have some evidence of how its early stages are working (hopefully within the next few days) I will have some similar questions to ask about the possible effects of her strategies on the outcomes of the Election Campaign.

Another question that needs to be discussed is the wisdom of Mia Mottley inserting her views on the transfers at this time and the likely effects of that insertion on the campaign. Given that the current Government is unlikely to take up her suggestions and that a future BLP Government might shoot itself in the foot if it ran on the imlicit promises there.

11. one can reasonably say that had not for mary many of the issues that handicapped the educational system would not have been brought to light,needles to say the robust debates about the laws and Acts which most barbadians never gave a thought to have been seen a different light generating interesting debate and shedding new light in the ways our education system is or should be govern resulting in necessary change. i say mary carry on cause it is not the number of supporters needed but that in the end what you fought for would have made a difference in the way our system is managed .all in all it would have well worth the fight.

12. @Checkit-Out

Has Stuart distanced himself – in Pontias Pilate manner – or is he doing what other politicians before him have neglected to do i.e. allow the PSC to do its job without interference. We are aware that the legality of the transfer letters have the weight of the PSC/GG

13. Baje in Brooklyn Avatar
    Baje in Brooklyn

Here in Brooklyn what I’m hearing from Ronald Jones and the Prime Minister is pleasing and reassuring. They must be firm and resolute with Redman and the BSTU.

That applies to Broomes as well if he acts up.

Decisions were made based on the COI they must be followed. If persons affected dont like the decisions they have the courts for recourse but hey have to report for the work their employers send them to or face the consequences.

The teachers are lucky they still have jobs in the USA 15 million dont have jobs. The AX mess could not be allowed to persist after more than 10 years its corrosive effect on the education system is manifesting itself.

Stand your ground GOB we who dont have an axe to grind are with you.

14. David;
    The First alternative is my first choice. I have worked in the Public Service and I know that practically all Politicians show a totally different face to the electorate than the one they expose to the public workers who they interact with. It would be totally unlike the modus operandi of any politician that I’ve encountered, for a PM to have been totally dissociated at any phase from a matter as important as the AX transfers, especially at a time such as this when impressions of sound leadership should count heavily and where he had inserted himself into the solution of the AX problem.

Now, he need’nt have overtly tried to influence the direction either the PSC or the MOE would take in implementing the COI’s recommendations. But by ensuring a particular balance of the PSC which would highly correlate with that body carrying out the perceived wishes of the one who appointed them, the outcome would be likely to be that desired by the PM. Most PM’s would have ensured that the PSC members would be aware that botching the job, in a situation as urgent as this one was, would not be tolerated.

The AX matter is his child. He took it from Ronald Jones and the CPO at this time last year. Would it not have been sensible to maintain a watching brief on the implementation of the final brief to ensure its quality?

Re. the MOE; Certain situations have been ventilated in the press that occurred in late 2011 and early 2012 that suggests that a typical aware and awake PM would at least check the implementation of their work related to the transfers to ensure its quality and fit with his views on how the solution should be handled. Evidently the PM has indicated that he did no such thing. Was that a strength or a weakness in his management style?

But having said all this. perhaps you are right and that this PM is indeed unique. His excuse of not even being aware of what was going on re. the transfers might have been totally accurate. But it is totally likely that if he had taken some interest in the outcomes the current melee would not now be occurring.

Perhaps there is a real tangible and definitive difference between the former PMs and FS. They accepted that the buck stopped with them in every aspect of the governance of the country. Freundel definitely doesn’t. His Ministers are free to do what they want. He merely coordinates.

Is this the laid back style that Barbados urgently requires at this time?

15. @Checkit-Out

The recent CADRES Poll on the leaders suggests that Stuart’s leadership has not gathered any traction, certainly when compared with Arthur, MAM and Sinckler.

16. David; So if that is sonow, would’nt it have been sensible for him to modify his style, especially for the AX project which has resonated with general public, and ensure that he has all systems firing in concert while he wrestled the problem to the ground with full dispatch and with the strenth of all the sinews in his body?

17. Mia Mottley is saying exactly what they did when the problem started โ€œLet the Status quo remainโ€
    Mary Redman was adamant that Jeff Broomes must be separated. She called a strike and the pressure was placed on the Prime Minister to get involved. He did and found that separating Jeff Broomes was not easy. He called a COI which exposed Jeff Broomes and the teachers further. This allowed for the GG and the PSC to act.
    Now actions have been taken all the persons who blame the Government for everything wrong in the country now sitting on the fence saying the actions are foolishness and have hurt the government chances of winning the elections. Well they will lose for doing the right thing.
    If the status quo remained Mary Redman was calling them out again this term
    More blame for the Government
    The GG and PSC give these transfers more transparency.

If they done go then some of them will sure lose their years in the public service

18. @David 8.23p
    Both PM Stuart and ME Jones have clearly and properly left the door open to addressing any kinks which might arise from the transfers.They are not fools.As you have correctly stated these transfers have the stamp of authority of the GG acting upon the advice of the PSC.All these teachers so instructed must go to their appointed schools whether they have a legitimate grouse or not.Failing to do so they have been given a fair warning from ME Jones that they might suffer the consequences of their action.As far as I am concerned its a fait accompli.Who en like it,get to hell outta here…. to quote Eric Williams.Power where it properly resides has spoken.Let all mortal flesh keep silence. No union will bring down this government of buhbaydus this time around.Not for Mary Redman nor her band of rebel teachers…

19. @Checkit-Out

If you listen to Stuart and his foot soldiers they all respond to your position by saying Stuart has his style and it is Bajans who will have to come around to it. The rambunctious and calamitous style of Arthur and Tom Adams – as examples – does not align with what is required of a Barbados now. We shall see if Stuart is able to win over what remains the prevailing public perception of what the style of the local PM must be.

20. @Gabriel Tackle

A win win was ever achievable for Stuart and the government. We have MAM et al suggesting the status quo is the more desirable option given exam/SBA considerations, on the other side of the issue there is the toxic environment we know to exist which precipitated the COI in the first place. Perhaps what has added confused the issue for some is the hint of political expediency with the general election on the horizon; the PM would not have wanted to call an election with the AX matter post-COI outstanding. Whether you agree or not Stuart has an opportunity to spin this matter in his favour i.e. I did what the Arthur administration neglected to do a la CLICO and Barrack etc. It gives him and the DLP a platform position. Do they have time to spin it and will this week blowup the issue some more? We shall see!

21. i give Stuart A+ for having the tenacity to tackle the AX issue .he could have easily sat back and did absolutely nothing like previous govt. the outcome leaves much to be desired because of the legal wranglings that have engulfed the resolve , however those issues are completely out of Stuarts hands and like he has stated need to be taken up with the proper authorities .hopefully stuart would not completly distance himself from the issue but would avail himself to those who might need his knowledge in certain areas of concern as this matter unfolds. as a voice of reasoning is most needed at this time.

22. @ac

Stuarts hands and like he has stated need to be taken up with the proper authorities .hopefully stuart would not completly distance himself from the issue but would avail himself to those who might need his knowledge in certain areas of concern as this matter unfolds. as a voice of reasoning is most needed at this time.

Agreed and this is where Stuart has failed in his communication strategy through his tenure. How difficult is it for him to use the opportunity to communicate what he has done to date and what he hopes to achieve even IF he has no direct control in a way that keeps him close to the issue in the minds of the public? It is interesting when he stated on the weekend he has no control of the agencies responsible for transferring the teachers BUT he has control for transferring PSs. Enough said!

23. the AX issue is too big for MIA hence her “Don’t know response” it would have done her well to keep her mouth shut like her leader the RGHT HON whose response has been deafening for obvious reasons. Speaking of leadership!

24. I did not realise its the GG acting on the advise of the PSC who made the tranfer decisions I dont believe many Barbadians know this. Most of us thought it was MOE acting on the PM’s instructions. It therefore behoves the government to dissemenate this information to the people through a national education awareness campaign. The GG brings a critical apolitical component to the proceedings. Biased and mischeivous criticism of the GG by the Opposition is at their own peril. The GG and his office should be accorded the high respect and esteem they are due.

25. i am not going to intrepret his statement or maybe partial statement. what i would say that with so many arguments and counterarguments stuart might have been unprepared for the outcome hence his lucklustre response .however i will dare say that since he has been a major player in bringint the AX to conclusion that he would not complely wash his hands as others have suggested but would maintain vigalance and be in constant update as this yet to be resolved issue continues, his manner and stlye might not be appreciated ,however he takes such issues seriously as he has demonstrated by his previous interventions.

26. All that matters is Stuart convincing the electorate he has wrestled the AX beast to the ground, period.

27. @Enuff

Then u should be happy they are trailing , shouldnt u?

28. David;
    Partially true imho. I would say instead that:
    All that matters is Stuart convincing the electorate he has wrestled the AX beast to the ground (and that the collateral damage was necessary and unavoidable) not period.

29. watching
    the gg is a man like anybody else
    question
    does the gg look like a gg though ?

JUST ASKING

30. @david
    The true beast is the lady in red. We all await her next move. As I said before, checkmate is around the corner.

@check It out
    Stuart neither gains nor loses. For him that’s a victory. The pieces have been shifted, the strategy executed and the chance of anything or anyone external upsetting the board nigh impossible. For there to be fallout the opponent(s) will have to jump up and turn the whole table upside down in disgust and start a brawl.

@waiting
    Yup. From the PSC under authority of the GG. As a public servant when you get a letter like that there’re only three thing to do. Follow the instructions (and then protest/challenge in court), retire or resign. Can’t say you didn’t have options.

The only loose end here is Jeff, but I understand he has an extra chess piece or two in his back pocket regardless. At least he thinks ahead…unlike Miss Redman and co. who I will maintain as I did 12 months ago did a disservice to their entire membership. At least we get to discuss and debate the education system. Changing it is another matter.

Just observing

31. JUST ASKING | January 6, 2013 at 10:56 PM |

Thats reply to be expected from a jackass like you.
    The dust hasnt settled yet but the AX mother of all battles just maybe Waterloo for Owen Napolean.

32. @Check

why would the pm need to insert himself in the matter off transfer of teachers. He commissioned the enquiry and as far as I am concerned, the public got a better understanding of of the ir climate at ax. His job was finished when the report was finished. It was unfortunate that the transfers could not have taken place in september. Nevertheless, better late than never. You cant please all the people all the time. No timing would be corrrect for action. Managers must be prepared to account for their action, and that is why i am backing the moe on this. I would have liked a greater transition, but then again, who do u get this when you have a remants of the plantation system in froth and mary, believing that they must have what they want at all cost, or else they would turn the matter in to a potical football like how the Mia who was a destrucive force in or education system having the solution to a problem created under her administration. let her do what she ahs to do, and the PSC will do what it has to do.

It is amazing that the redman grroup is concerned about the education of the children. I lol, because i know that those teachers were direspecful, look at what they did at the recent speech day.. They had no intention of letting peace reign. If Mary is so much interested in teaching the people children ask her how much time she spends teaching at lodge, no wonder why the prinicpal has written the moe complaining about her absence from duty so often. The bom of lodge needs to act and ensure that the codrinton trust fullly realized. I would like Barbadians to go do some research on the formation of the lodge school.

33. @David

he derives such power from the constitution, his desire to transfer must be effected through the psc to the gg, until then nothing can happen. Thats enshrined in our constitution. That was so since the 1974(i think) chnages to the constitution.

34. mary would be remembered as a trail blazer one who opened doors that had been locked and one who was instrumental in helping to bring change in the education system and who knows change in the overall scheme of things. trail blazers are always remembered and respected after the fact .

35. @All

previously, i had concerns with my pm style of managment, but within the pass three months i have to realized i was comapring him with previous leaders and that was wrong. I think in the next two months, we are going to better understand the man.

Sometimes i wonder what barbadians want, they want a solution or not. they want the staus quo to remain or not. they want a win win situation or not. they want to accuse the govt of inactivty on this matter or not.

One thing i can say, that it caused me to rush to the printery to get copies of ;the public service regulations, the constituion, the psa act and the gneral orders and now they are a part of my library,

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ To The Point | January 6, 2013 at 11:26 PM |
    “he derives such power from the constitution”

TPP, that same source of power also gives him the right to retire Broomes from the public service.
    Why is Broomes (according to his detractors and the CoI report) – an incompetent and socially difficult principal with poor interpersonal skills- being sent to PMS instead of home?
    Why off load trouble on a school with its own teaching and learning challenges?
    Because the students who attend PMS are primarily from socially and economically deprived backgrounds and whose parents canโ€™t do a thing about it? Why?

37. @WATCHING

use ur energy to debate the issues dont raise ur bllod pressure. Those people wanted the chaos to continue. Look at Mia’s response, what do u expect

let us discuss and learn from others, forget the vexation to the spirit, give them some jabs like ho i do to enuff. Ha ha,lol.

38. @observing

what u and amazed did to my favourite person on this site, caswell. U still want free legal advice from he.

39. I took some much needed time off to rest and now that I have logged on again, I have noticed that this issue has mushroomed into a lot of political crap. Here is my take, and as usual you are free to kill the messenger.

I don’t know why Mia Mottley does not shut her trap. She has little credibility generally, but on this issue, she has absolutely none. The Alexandra debacle was spawned by the political interference of Mia and Owen Arthur. It is really their baby that has now turned into a Dodds boy. (You now see what an ugly creature that was produced as a result of a cross between Mia and Owen)

Stuart adopted the unruly child and somehow thought that he had the skills to train a deviant. He has proven inadequate for this task as with all others, but rather than let the proper authorities deal with this miscreant child, he intervened and prevented the proper authorities from doing their job, just like the original parents. Now that stepfather Stuart has failed, he is doing a Pontius Pilate.

Stuart made some silly comment about going back into the canefields, and somehow, I can’t get the image of Stuart in a canefield cutting loose his foot with a collins.

40. @AC

she is next if she does not go and teach the people children and no reference to ILO convention can save she ass. She can wear as much red she wants and i will wear blue to show her my love for her is true.

I think she, frothy the red nose,enuff, mia et al can plan their legal strategy. I gone bosie. I am furhter researching the issue with Broomes to see if he still has a leg to stand on. I heard that the nupw was preparing to assist him in filing an injunction. Can u imagine, a man with so much money dont want to spend any on himself, but want a poor union to assist. Tell me if u hear anything about that yah hear, as he is ur favourite man of the year. Somebody tell me u like tall men with glasses.

41. ttp you can continue all you want to downplay the significant role mary has played in AX take her out of the equation and the teachers would still be ruled by a bully and the powers”that be” to control broomes would still have a standoff and negligent attitude .most important the children would have continued to be taught in and hostile environment. so i say mary took a stand was ridicule and in the end it paid off.

42. To the Point

We crossed. They can’t get rid of me like that.

I find that a lot of the comments on this issue are not honestly held but are coloured by political persuasion. I will attempt to distill the correct procedure from the political sewage that is floating around.

The power to appoint and exercise disciplinary control over public officers is vested, by the Constitution, in the Governor-General, acting on the advice of the Public Service Commission. The Constitutional Amendments of 1974 gave the Prime Minister the right to consult with the PSC on the appointment of permanent secretaries, head of departments and their deputies, and no others. However, successive PSCs have interpreted consultation to mean that they should rubber stamp the PM’s choice.

Except for that limited interaction, the PSC is required to be independent of anyone when making their decisions. That anyone includes the Waterman Commission. If the PSC feels that a matter should be investigated, it has the power to set up an investigative committee, consisting of a lawyer and two other persons, to inquire and report back. Thereafter the PSC would have a basis for making recommendations to the GG. The PSC cannot legally substitute Waterman’s report for the one that it is required to obtain from the investigative committee that is required under the Public Service Act. That is why Broomes will take the PSC to court and have it for breakfast.

The intervention of politicians in the appointment of Broomes as Principal, and all other political interventions to wrestle this matter to the ground are quite improper and unconstitutional. Freundel Stuart was not doing the right thing when he intervened to settle this matter, actually, he was acting illegally, and it troubles me that a section of the population of this country could praise the Prime Minister for breaking the law.

If the BSTU had a grievance with the PSC and needed outside assistance, they could have written to the Governor-General under the Trade Disputes (Arbitration and Enquiries) Act, NOT THE PRIME MINISTER, to seek binding arbitration.

Observing
    That Act is cap. 360, no charge.

43. The Frederick Waterman headed commission of inquiry was suppose to wash away the problem which all have to admit predates this government coming to office

This view would not impress non-partisan voters. the last government was kicked out some four years ago with the expectation that the present government would solve problems which the last governmentwere unable to solve. government is supposed to make things better not cry over spilt milk. i do not see the sense with harping on the BLP’s sins of omission.

44. @Miller the fault

The PM has no authority to fire anyone. Why dont u go read the constitution like Casweel and I. The GG appoints, discipline, promotes and by extension fire. There a procedure to be followed in firing a person for the service.

@Caswell

Didnt u support the intervention of the PM. Do u thing the PSC acted on COI recommendations and how would u prove it in a court of law. Cswell have u heard anyone involved in the transfer calim to have used the coi recommendations. If it had, there would not have been so many transfers. I rest my case on this.

@AC
    mary got more than she bargained for, the root cause of the cancer at Ax school is no more.

45. Caswell @ 12.33 am, 7th Jan;
    Excellent! imho, those are the points that I think can force a checkmate in this matter. Alas, possibly too late to influence the politics of the upcoming political season, but having the capacity to eventually right some wrongs done to some of the teachers.

46. Important matters first.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/out-again/

Now, less important: Caswell (almost 24 hrs later)
    For everyone’s benefit and knowledge that “no charge” comment just now has ZERO relation to our earlier joust where Caswell was proven wrong and has yet to admit or at least just dust off and climb out of the hole he dug over the weekend.

Secondly, cap 360 (trade union dispute etc. And NOT chemistry teachers teaching other subjects) does indeed state at section 3 that the matter can be referred to the GG…BUT it also says that

“Where there are existing…any arrangements for
    settlements by conciliaation or arbitration of disputes…the GG SHALL NOT unless with the consent of both parties and unless there has been a failure to obtain a settlement, refer the matter…in accordance with the foregoing provisions.”

ALSO, section 8 gives rise to a “board of enquiry”

In essence as long as there is an established and agreed to procedure for arbitration, the GG cannot intervene without both parties’ consent

But where do we find this established procedure? Yes! In the 4th schedule of the PS Act which speaks to grievance handling! Whereby the issue starts at the level of supervisor and climbs the ladder until it reaches the Head of the Public Service. if necessary.

So, what we have here, is a grievance by some teachers (not all) with respect to their transfer and as such that is the only legal and legitimate way that the BSTU can proceed…follow the law. Problem is, few if any of the teachers have legitimate grounds (in law) for the transfers to be overturned and the BSTU has obliterated any good will it ever had in all corridors of decision making hence such grievances have practically zero chance of success.

@caswell
    A plumber can’t charge a man for fixing his pipe if water is still running on the floor.

Unlike you, I gave my garbage collection services for free in the name of sharing knowledge and stimulating discussion.
    Walk good, travel light.

Just Observing

47. TTP but most important the elephant in the room Jeff Broomes was removed the neucleus of what she wanted. the other legalities may be or can be challenged. win or lose . mary made her presence know in a most effective way and many would be for that.

48. “Mary Redman continues to draw a salary from the public purse as a teacher when it is patently clear that the woman is a full time union activist.The BSTU should therefore be paying her salary.Students are being short changed by this union activist aided and abetted by another fully paid union activist teacher Froth”

THERE IS INDEED PRECEDENT FOR THE FOREGOING WHICH WAS ESTABLISHED BY NONE OTHER THAN UNDINE WHITTAKER FORMER B.U.T PRESIDENT AND DISCARDED D.L.P GENUINE ACTIVIST AND CANDIDATE.I AM SURE THAT MS KAREN BEST WOULD FALL INTO THIS GROUP AS WELL.

49. @balance

The problem with you is that you try to be balanced but you are not. Simple comprehension explains the point made that it has been a thorny one which predates this government and perhaps it is to their credit they are trying to wrestle the beast to the ground. You always nitpick.

50. @ac

Here we go at personalities again when the COI – which played like a soap opera – revealed that there was a catastrophic failure in the management system ie. MOE, CPO and PSC.