Karen Best, former BUT President and current Deputy Chief Education Officer

Minister Jones, visibly shaken and angry, termed the no-show a “gross insult” and the low point of industrial relations practice in the trade union history of Barbados. Mrs Karen Best, president of the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT), reportedly said she had never seen anything like it in industrial relations. Her [Best] comments clearly indicate her union will not support the BSTU. For the first time that I can remember, there is a split among five unions – the BSTU and Barbados Workers Union (BWU) on one side, the BUT, BAPPSS and NUPW on the other

Nation Newspaper

It seems to be finally hitting home to Barbadians – especially the political partisans – that the Alexandra School dispute (AX) is not so easy to resolve after all. The Frederick Waterman headed commission of inquiry was suppose to wash away the problem which all have to admit predates this government coming to office.

One view of the AX matter which BU has not put under full scrutiny is the incestuous nature of the relationships of key decision makers and participants in the AX plot. Barbados we know is a small country  and there is an inevitability about how personal relationships can shape public perception about how decisions are taken.

Key players in the AX Mess are Principal Jeff Broomes, Minister Ronald Jones, and Deputy Chief Education Officer Karen Best who are ALL products of the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT). To complete the BUT connection we should declare that current President of the Barbados Union of Teachers is Pedro Shepherd who recently challenged for the Democratic Labour Party’s (DLP) nomination in St. Michael South East.

Of special interest to BU is the recent appointment of Karen Best who has responsibility for schools.

‘Ingredients’ for a cabal you think? It gets better.

Chairman of the Alexandra School governing body is Keith Simmons who is Deputy Chairman of the Public Service Commission. Keith Simmons admits to being closed friends with Jeff Broomes although – according to his testimony at the COI – the relationship soured during his tenure as Chairman of the AX Board. Keith Simmons is also a former minister in a DLP government.

Jeff Broomes is represented in the current industrial relations impasse by the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW), one of two unions. The president and general secretary Walter Maloney and Dennis Clarke respectively are known to be ‘liming buddies’ and some say ‘fraternity brothers’ with Minister Jones.

Finally another key player is Hal Gollop the legal counsel for the Barbados Secondary Teachers Union (BSTU). Interesting because he admits to being a close friend of the Prime Minister. How has Gollop been able to balance his role as BSTU counsel and obvious confidant of Prime Minister Stuart some have begun to question.

It is general knowledge in Barbados that Broomes, Best, Jones, Griffith-Watson et al all exchange visits at a personal level and have eaten from the same pot some may go further to say. A big reason for the current state of play is the inbred relationships which have featured to appoint several players to positions in education which many argue challenge their level of competence.

It is T2 to Monday and the pupils continue to play a minor roles in the AX Saga. What is playing out at Alexandra exposes a crisis of leadership in Barbados. Examples can be seen in the judiciary, parliament, private sector and general society.

1. so MIA mottley suggestions “Put it on HOLD” and then what if memory serves me correct under the BLP the AX saga was put on HOLD for ten years . is she suggesting that because of differences and legalities this debacle remain in limbo for god kinows how long with Broomes as the principal of AX. with all the difficulties encountered one of the most obvious dealt with is the separation of Broomes .”put what on hold” let this issue be dealt with as is right Now . no more backtracking .

2. @BAFBFP “My preference is shaved … thank you very much … Uhum”

Why do so many [adult] men prefer their sexual partners to look like pre-pubescent girls?

Are such men perverts?

3. @BAFBFP “The legacy of those who shed blood and sweat to survive in those most difficult of times deserves a hell of a lot better than an asinine side bar from [someone who should know better]

Agreed.

4. @Hal Gollop

Thank you for your clarification statement. We will not argue the point i.e. whether you happen to be in Canada at the same time PM Stuart was visiting. Our point is made without it and you confirmed it. You are a good friend of the Prime Minister.

5. If it an’t one thing, it’s another: Violet Beckles, Al Barrack, VECO, the Alexandra School, etc.

6. Simon
    I was actually referring to the skull, but now that you mention it, (I have no idea why you would want to work the subject of pubes into a this conversation) I frankly think that in the past most women were ashamed of the way their privates looked and felt secure with the little natural covering that nature provided. “Naked” means NO covering, manufactured or natural. Simon If you ketch me wid a beard, res assured it would only be ’cause I tryin’ tah hide from somebody …!

7. Well Well | January 6, 2013 at 9:11 AM |

Waiting to hear when another foreign entity will acquire Barbados Water cAuthority, National Insurance, Barbados Credit Union, CBC (definitely) National Housing, Ministry of Education, Internal Revenue (definitely, since everyone uses it as their personal piggy bank to steal millions) and other government ministries, as well as BLP, DLP …………………………………..all in an effort to save the people from themselves. Oh yeah, and I forgot the courts, DPP, lawyers and some magistrates and judges, with their words of royal, privy council and all other sick obsessions.

8. @ AMAZED
    “If it an’t one thing, it’s another: Violet Beckles, Al Barrack, VECO, the Alexandra School, etc.”
    There has always been a close correlation between Brass Bowls and trouble. A fool has the uncanny ability to take a simple issue and wrestle it into a major catastrophe.

These issues all clearly show us that our Emperors are all naked. Worse yet, the discussions also show that most of the subjects are also stark naked.
    …..no wonder our goose is cooked.

Anyone for the BBE train…..? 😉

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | January 6, 2013 at 9:14 AM |

We were all hoping and wishing that shallow Hal would have gotten his QC status and possibly OBE before the bell rings.

Seems he will be missing out this time around unless he does a Hammie-La and returns to the other camp after the coming political carnage.

10. Like QC and OBE status will do anyone any good if they lose their GOOD HEALTH.

11. We know we don’t want Stuart in the saddle but really we don’t want Owen Arthur either. The BLP shipwrecked Barbados. The DLP thought they could salvage it, they couldn’t but tried.The BLP will possibly come back but can’t and won’t salvage their shipwreck mess.

Amazed there is so much spilled milk here. Like it or not, activists for Violet Beckles are making noise to getting attention. They’re doing it too, getting people attention because they’re exposing Barbados people of prominence and their dirty laundry – Sir Richard L. Cheltenham, Charles O. Williams, Ralph Torn, Mia Mottley and more. That person PLANTATION DEEDS 1922 to 2012 is attacking them, people of prominence everywhere they are or think they are, BLP, DLP also the United States Embassy in Bridgetown. Sir Richard L. Cheltenham is apparently a CORE ELEMENT in that Violet Beckles mess and was among those listed at the United States Embassy in Bridgetown to assist United States citizens in purchasing property or legal disputes here. Not much can or will miss eyes of the United States. We could talk to Bin Laden about that, but he’s dead. President Obama ordered capture of Bin Laden dead or alive. Mission accomplished.

Everyone in Barbados know that Jamaican woman was police raped, but she has activated a lawsuit against Barbados. They are now paying her legal bills or will. The court ordered Barbados to pay that woman’s legal bills. Like it or not, Barbados will not survive that lawsuit. Barbados police did rape her; this is fact not fiction. Everyone in Barbados surely know Al Barack, his contributions in the community and fact that Barbados somhow must pay him milliions. This also is fact not fiction.

12. The present PM as slow as molasses as he is to act and as laid back and poetic as he presents himself, can only have so much patience with the ones hell bent and determined to show the world how incapable they are to resolve an issue which adversely affects our children who some are forgetting are our future leaders and will NOT forget how we failed them. The PM reads enough literature to understand the knock-on effect and eventual fall-out of the ignorance currently being displayed.

13. Barbados at moment is chaotic, just a total mess. The S&P and Moody’s said so. There are lots of theft there [Barbados], the United Nations said so.

Violet Beckles and Sherene Mongroo embarrases Barbados. The Police Commission, Darwin Dottin embarasses Barbados. Likewise, The Colin Peter and Terry Schwartzfeld murders. The Alexandra School mess embarrases Stuart. The Myrie rape case embarrases both Stuart and Barbados.

Bajans could do better than Stuart but without Owen Arthur. He, Arthur is a public drunk, inept and corrupt, has trainwrecked Barbados.

14. AMAZED

I sense that we are on the same side. But really man, if you want in on this party you gotta rethink some ah dem things you post there as facts …

15. Look

Drinking at Arthur’s age should not be of concerne to anyone. You see what you are implying is that if he were not prone to partake of the substance from time to time he would be an acceptable candidate. My contention is that Owen Arthur, with or without his public habits is the last person to be allowed as the head of Cabinet. There is NO doubt that he is the smartest of the entire bunch in the House, by far, but he is by extension the most devious, and his interests, make no mistake have NOTHING to do with the ordinary people of Barbados (or Jamaica, back in the day)

16. Simon
    Ask Bushman wah he preference is … HA HA HA

17. Bajans could do better than Stuart but without Owen Arthur. He, Arthur is a public drunk, inept and corrupt, has trainwrecked Barbados. Bajans are shit up a creek without a paddle, either way votes go, BLP or DLP.

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@LOOK | January 6, 2013 at 10:20 AM |

Imagine if OSA were a teetotaler, competent and honest he would then be a god in the eyes of 100 % of the polled electorate instead of 29% (approx.).

Now where would that leave Stuart and the rest? Stuart certainly would have been scratched from the start of the one-horse race, don’t you think so, Lookie ye here!

19. Seems to me that the campaign that the BLP and Jevan Juckagear from RED ADVERTISING has created has fallen flat on its face, how dear a Red Indian who had to leave Trinidad because of his politics be here trying to inflict his hatred of an honest hard working
    Black Barbadian Prime Minister if he as an Indian in a 96% Black population wants to hate our Prime Minister let him return from whence he came to his homeland with an Indian Prime Minister but do not bring his hatred of our Black Prime Minister.

Race has never been and issue in this island young man so you don’t start trying to make it one, if the Prime Minister is too Black for you my advice is for you to leave and we will keep our Black Prime Minister.

20. LOOK –How can you be so blind ?
    You ungrateful bitch
    Owen Arthur took this country from the depths of despair in 1994 and brought it to the pinnacle in the intervening years.
    When Owen left Office having been stupidly voted out , this country’s economy was sound.
    You are an ungrateful son of a bith with a short memory or convenient memory and a penchant for lies
    People like you should be drawn and quartered
    Owen is a crook and you is a sCunt
    Who Owen thief something from , you ?
    Blasted liar you—-
    Careless talk does cause life
    I am tired of this shite talk by the likes of you !

21. The BLP aint want no campaign –ad or otherwise to beat Freundel Stuart and that crowd–Bunch of Jackasses – who dont know what the phuck they are doing . The Alexandra issue aint going away –that is enough campaign and publ;icity to show the electorate who will decide THE FOLLOWING :

BLP = 29 SEATS
    DLP = 0 SEATS
    INDEPENDENT = 1 SEAT

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Juckagear | January 6, 2013 at 10:29 AM |
    “Race has never been and issue in this island young man so you don’t start trying to make it one, ”

That is the biggest lie ever told in this once apartheid Barbados.
    Who owns and runs preconco, and jada? Al Barrack?
    You better ‘juck’ your amnesiac brain in gear before opening your ‘blackened’ mouth.

23. TO AMAZED:
    YOU ARE AN UNGRATEFUL LIAR
    The DLP shipwrecked Barbados–not the BLP
    The BLP has always saved Barbados from DLP folly –check and see–O blind one !
    YOU ARE GUILTY OF CARELESS STUPID TALK and being a stinking Liar

24. NOW, NOW GIRLS!!! STOP GETTING SO EMOTIONAL, ITS JUST POLITICS!! YOU ARE NOT SUPPOSED TO BENEFIT.

25. @Caswell

hairy fairy? nonsense? fees? precedents? services? cost? Wow.

“When you know a man you don’t have to hold up a candle to see his face.”

This is a definite first for you here on BU but none of us can be right all of the time. Bushie’s dream requires those that can admit when they are and be willing to learn from others. That’s what makes it so wonderful.

In any case, Walk good my brother.

@Hal
    Good to see ya! Hope Carl Moore recognises that ANYONE can set the record straight in this public forum if they believe they have been wronged. We look forward to your comment on Alexandra two years from now after the dust has settled. Hope you’re watching and taking specific note David. wink wink

@miller
    the responses from RJ adn FS are indeed instructive. As check it out and I have mused, this current battle is the one that lays the foundation for the war! Have you noticed MAM’s take on the issue?

Just Observing

26. Observing

Wait … Caswell now buse you and you le’ he go wid brotherley talk ’bout “Walkin’ good”. Man Chris’mas done. Man tear up he ass nah … HA HA HA

27. Well Well | January 6, 2013 at 9:11 AM |

Waiting to hear when another foreign entity will acquire Barbados Water Authority, National Insurance, Barbados Credit Union, CBC (definitely) National Housing, Ministry of Education, Internal Revenue (definitely, since everyone uses it as their personal piggy bank to steal millions) and other government ministries, as well as BLP, DLP …………………………………..all in an effort to save the people from themselves.

28. Owen Arthur and the BLP started the Violet Beckles fire still burning. Arthur and the BLP also started the Al Barack fire now out-of-control, 77 million I think. Al Barrack has in his posession a court ordered judgement. Bajans must pay.

29. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Observing

Even though I think that you are wrong on this issue does not mean that I do not respect your views generally. You are usually sound but I think that I hold my views until such time that I see a more convincing argument. Nonetheless, I will continue to read and learn from you. Mind you, I have never learnt worthwhile from BAFBFP and his ilk.

30. Just Asking

He’s never parked his car in my garage, Owen Arthur, wouldn’t have that. You???

31. Barbados at moment is chaotic, just a total mess. The S&P and Moody’s said so. Relies on too few things to survive, mainly tourism. That , tourism is breathing on life support machine. Should consider another cash crop, makes more sense than Owen Arthur’s Nigerian Water Heater project, a 2.4 million dollar loss. Barbados, additinally has too many wild burning fires: Violet Beckles, Al Barack, the Myrie Rape Case and Police Commissioner, Darwin Dottin.

32. @Pat
    it means that any teacher who was appointed on or before the act came into being cannot be transferred, among other things, without their consent. If there is a teacher who has not have a susequen appointment since the act, that person should not be teaching, as it would have meant that that person would not have had a promotion in about 31 years.

The persons Ms. Redman is speaking of, have subsequently been promoted thus their terms and conditions would not be that of the old act, plain and simple, but ms. redman, migh be one of the few teachers for which the old act apply. I think she needs to stop the foolishness and let peace reign. Mr. Frothe who they claim to b an expert on ir should know that, but then when u r blinded with hatred for a person, commonsnse will not prevail.

33. But Cas

I is a bulla, yah faget …? You could use some advise on affective rearguard strategies that inflict surgically targeted discomfort … Uh..? You just got to let some sun shine in … HA HA HA … HA HA HA … Uhum …!

34. Min Jones fuh real. present situation he sat full time as minister of Education and now sending veiled insults or not so veiled, to Ms Redman. You tell teachers to go teach. What should we parents be telling you? To go do what
    You are a great disappointment just like your leader

35. @Observing

I am with u on this one against Caswell. Caswell does not concdes when he is wrong, but then again, thats his way of doing things. I right Caswell?

36. I just hope the upcoming election is not 1991 all over again.

37. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@To The Point | January 5, 2013 at 7:21 PM |
    “I dont know who is advising ms. redman, and i think she does not even understand the terms of mou. I am told that the two teachers would have had promotions since the mou and they can be transferred. ms. redman is advising those persons wrong and would cause them to lose their jobs”

THAT’S THEIR FOOLISH BUSINESS. mr Broomes was hired under the same terms but i bet that come Jan 7, he will be at Parkinson Memorial unlike those pathetic fools. i am quite sure the Mrs. Greaves, is on pre-retirement. pray tell me, what is trying to prove? she will never be teaching again, what does it matter if during her pre-retirement period her records shoe that she es attached to AX or Harrison College? she will not enter the schools again as a teacher since her retirement will follow ater..

all this just goes to show she has some kind menopausal axe to grind. what a foolish, pathetic female…i am really embarrassed for her and the other 2 idiots who obviously do not understand the law, i just hope that they do ignore their transfers and turn up at AX…they will then put themselves in a position to be fired forthwith…what a bunch of poppets and listening to Mr. Jones’ interview last night, he seemed to be hinting at that

38. @Baffy
    me dear old mommy taught me many moons ago as a wee little lad not to kick a feller ef ever I was to see him down on yonder ground.

This is unfamiliar territory for Caswell (being proven wrong). I prefer to turn the other cheek and let peace reign. It’s you and your “ilk” that should cuss he! lol.

@Caswell
    You think. I know.
    We live. We learn.
    No hard feelings.

@TTP
    we have the makings of major legal battle. Will be interesting to see how the Orders, the MOU, the Ed. Act and the PS Act are reconciled. From an IR standpoint will be interesting to see how Redman and Co. instructs their members. From a political standpoint will be interesting to see if the Ministry, Jones or the PM flinches.

Going to the shop for some more popcorn.

Just Observing

39. @Observing. You are, of course, completely right. Casewell is wrong.

40. Transfers will now form part of the modus operandi of Principals working in tandem with MOE in an effort to mute dissident teachers in their schools. It is either comply or be moved.

And we talk about Freedom of Speech and Democracy. Could as well be Communism and intolerance. Then we ask why when an average black boy/girl in Barbados is asked a question, he/she holds down his/her head and struggles for words to come out while their American counterparts fluently expresses themselves.

DLP = Rule by FEAR

DLP CANNOT GET MY VOTE!!!!

41. Amused just mek mah laff … HA HA HA … I tell yah, this year gun be sweet.

But Obs, how you mean me and my ilk…?! Who else out hey wid me …?

42. @TTP

Thanks for explaining that piece of policy. It must have been drafted by a teacher and reviewed by teachers. I am surprised a Minister signed off and passed it on to cabinet for approval.He must have been a teacher too. “A teacher cant be transferred from his school without his/her consent and written approval”.

I kinda glad the PSC told me they had no use for me when I re-applied to the service. I did quite well where I was and still am.

43. @E2

you got to musing, u sure dont understand the issues, r u a fith grader?

44. @Carl Moore

You must like that full page feature the Nation did about ‘Strictly Babbzy’ today…lol?

45. In the book Eyewitness to order and disorder(Harold Hoyte 2012) at p 324,is a full paged photograph of a union march led by Leroy Trotman and featuring prominently with arms interlocked with that gent, is none other than the Mary Redman of BSTU infamy.Equally featured prominently up front and in the same line is Harry Husbands,all marching against the DLP government of the day led by Erskine Sandiford.Is it not ironic that in this current impasse ,the only union offering critical support to the BSTU is the BWU led by Trotman.
    Of more significance,how is it that all these years since the 90’s and before, Mary Redman continues to draw a salary from the public purse as a teacher when it is patently clear that the woman is a full time union activist.The BSTU should therefore be paying her salary.Students are being short changed by this union activist aided and abetted by another fully paid union activist teacher Froth,they both having common blood stock poor backra ish.No poor backra will pull down this government.Stuart and Jones are on the ball this time around.All you BSTU members had better shut up at this time and have respect for the elected government of buhbaydus,mia’s rant and gibberish not withstanding. In my opinion if the PM stands his ground and do not give an inch,the DLP will be re elected.The man is showing spunk at last!!

46. @observing

mary redman aint got a leg to stand on legally. Having looked at the MOU she is talking boo. The one I am now interested in is that of Broomes. You wouldrecall from day 1 i said brromes cant be transferred without consent and i am now convinced more than ever his is the only difficult case, the others r pickings. She will lose the pr and the legal battles.

she betta go and teach the people children and stop drawing a salary under false pretence.

47. @Observing

the psa act prevails where there is a conflict, but from my research the ps act does not nullify the mou, but as i have pointed out, subsequent appointments of teachers to higher positions moots the mou reference the Education act 1981.

@Amused
    why u dont leave caswell, he will think that u, myself and observing ganing up on him, He will be proven wrong .

48. @The Point

BSTU seems to be arguing that the transfers are punitive. One still has to question the MoE transferring Jordan from Princess Margaret and the teacher who is pregnant. Guess with the best will in the world mistakes occur. Agree that the BSTU should allow the term to process and go to court if she must. More money for Hal :-).

49. @Enuff

u can spur on ms. redman and hope the ellections come ur way. She and u fighting a losing battle.

50. BSTU can ague all it likes, what punative what. She wanted a tranfer of mr. Broomes, in ir relations u try to reach a win win for all parties. Let her go court and prove that the transfers were punative. David she hasnt got a let to stand on.