Karen Best, former BUT President and current Deputy Chief Education Officer

Minister Jones, visibly shaken and angry, termed the no-show a “gross insult” and the low point of industrial relations practice in the trade union history of Barbados. Mrs Karen Best, president of the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT), reportedly said she had never seen anything like it in industrial relations. Her [Best] comments clearly indicate her union will not support the BSTU. For the first time that I can remember, there is a split among five unions – the BSTU and Barbados Workers Union (BWU) on one side, the BUT, BAPPSS and NUPW on the other

Nation Newspaper

It seems to be finally hitting home to Barbadians – especially the political partisans – that the Alexandra School dispute (AX) is not so easy to resolve after all. The Frederick Waterman headed commission of inquiry was suppose to wash away the problem which all have to admit predates this government coming to office.

One view of the AX matter which BU has not put under full scrutiny is the incestuous nature of the relationships of key decision makers and participants in the AX plot. Barbados we know is a small country  and there is an inevitability about how personal relationships can shape public perception about how decisions are taken.

Key players in the AX Mess are Principal Jeff Broomes, Minister Ronald Jones, and Deputy Chief Education Officer Karen Best who are ALL products of the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT). To complete the BUT connection we should declare that current President of the Barbados Union of Teachers is Pedro Shepherd who recently challenged for the Democratic Labour Party’s (DLP) nomination in St. Michael South East.

Of special interest to BU is the recent appointment of Karen Best who has responsibility for schools.

‘Ingredients’ for a cabal you think? It gets better.

Chairman of the Alexandra School governing body is Keith Simmons who is Deputy Chairman of the Public Service Commission. Keith Simmons admits to being closed friends with Jeff Broomes although – according to his testimony at the COI – the relationship soured during his tenure as Chairman of the AX Board. Keith Simmons is also a former minister in a DLP government.

Jeff Broomes is represented in the current industrial relations impasse by the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW), one of two unions. The president and general secretary Walter Maloney and Dennis Clarke respectively are known to be ‘liming buddies’ and some say ‘fraternity brothers’ with Minister Jones.

Finally another key player is Hal Gollop the legal counsel for the Barbados Secondary Teachers Union (BSTU). Interesting because he admits to being a close friend of the Prime Minister. How has Gollop been able to balance his role as BSTU counsel and obvious confidant of Prime Minister Stuart some have begun to question.

It is general knowledge in Barbados that Broomes, Best, Jones, Griffith-Watson et al all exchange visits at a personal level and have eaten from the same pot some may go further to say. A big reason for the current state of play is the inbred relationships which have featured to appoint several players to positions in education which many argue challenge their level of competence.

It is T2 to Monday and the pupils continue to play a minor roles in the AX Saga. What is playing out at Alexandra exposes a crisis of leadership in Barbados. Examples can be seen in the judiciary, parliament, private sector and general society.

1. David

When has anything been done in this entire affair, from Broomes’ appointment to date, for the sake. Of the children?

His appointment as Principal was as a result of Arthur’s so called “politics of inclusion” that was for the sake of the party not the children. When all the problems were going on and it appeared that the Ministry was doing nothing, I got news for you, they attempted but politics reigned supreme and the civil servants were not allowed to touch the politicians’ man. Again that was not for the sake of the children.

When there was a change in Government, Broomes “unincluded” himself and went back to the loving arms of the DEMS and found protection there, you guessed it, for the sake of the children.

From the Prime Minister down everyone is only paying lip service to the welfare of the children. To many have already been harmed but they were not the children of any important or influential person in this country, so who cares.

2. Additional Services

Looka.. Lef Pinky hear. Teachers are too be the highest respected of ALL Civil Servants. Lef out dis cow swipin’ of this most treasured clan. Focus on the policicos as Cas would put it.

3. @ac
    If broomes was fired, he would have had an excellent legal case. More money out of our pockets for nonsense.

Mistakes in the selection of the transferees doesn’t mean that it was illegal. Notice the BSTU is only fighting for 4 persons on legal grounds. That should tell you a lot.

This affair was indeed a mess. Politics should be left out of schools but it’s not. One can only wonder how many generations we are losing as a result.

Observing

4. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Observing

Re: Your point about leaving politics out of schools. Would it have killed you to say that Caswell was right? Come on let’s hear it: we know it is hard.

5. Observinig(..)

I accept your opinion as separate from Caswell’s … You are right of course, and Caswell still wrong …!

6. The BSTU cannot now go on strike: the issue was “Separation” of the Head from Alexandra, that has now been cleverly done.

They have been out-manoeuvred they are not at school today – the excuse of a meeting – but can they be having a meeting tomorrow, next week or the whole of this month. The Authorities just need to sit tight for awhile. . . game set and match.

When they do if ever return to “a School” they could have dismissed themselves by failing to report to their designated place of work without “reasonable ” excuse. They cannot be “sick they were at meetings.

Only the Courts can then help them, they have been out-foxed.. . . . so sad.

Mr Broomes is on safer ground he can have a sick note and most “reasonable” people would understand that. He has not conspired with anyone to disobey a lawful directive.

7. Yardbroom

Is there not something better for you to do like sweeping your own backyard …?

8. This just keeps getting better and better!!!

9. @baffy
    Man Caswell still coming to grips with the fact that there’s somebody alive that can actually flat out prove him wrong one day and then solidly provide reasonable grounds to doubt or dispute his interpretation of law another day.

Now he wants me to tell him “he’s right” about something every blogger knows we both fundamentally agree on from the time we started blogging. And den on top of that, charge me for services not rendered. Well well well

Lord come fa ya world!

Observing

10. When is general elwctions? i want to nominnate Mary Redman as PRIME MINISTER of Barbados, she seems to have bigger balls than Stuart or Jones.. Turth is ALL the teachers can be transaferred if the MOU is read properly. The only one who can only be removed by his consent, is the principal since his appointment was to the AX. Mrs was also apopointed but since she was later promoted, that makes it possible for her to be transferred.

11. @bafbfp

Leave BU’s non-political voice of reason alone. Just as long as he is not sweeping your bumsy. he, he he.

12. @bajan boy
    “Turth is ALL the teachers can be transaferred if the MOU is read properly.”

Observing said some of us were reading the MOU subjectively. Fact is, some of us only saw one para, then TTP added a second para that said they can only be transferred with their consent. Now, if your wife was in that group, got promoted and both you and her know that she can be transferred, why are Mary Redman, TTP and Observing still saying 3 cant be moved. Who are these 3 that the Ministry back tracked on, and for what reasons?

13. Hi BAFBFP, January 7, 2013 @4:42pm
    The “Yardbroom” sweeps and exposes the truth. Sometimes hard to take but a big-up business man like you know about dat.
    —————
    Hi Pat,
    I hope you have had a delightful Christmas, the rumour is that those who sat at that Christmas table of yours, overburdened with good things of “your own making” went away well satisfied.
    Happy New Year

14. Observing ignorance of the law is no excuse especially in a matter such as this. As this debacle unfold one would see “gross negligence on the part of the PSC in administrting the tranfers and i suspect there would be more errors as this shitty tale unwinds.

15. Yardbroom

Big up businessmen with truths to hide ain’ gun run from nah yardbroom. If it is truth that yah lookin’ fah in dem circles brotherman, yah gotta come with in the very least, a power washer …. Ha ha ha

16. I will make a prediction of the one major topic that will dominate discussion on the call in program in the coming days. It is based on a profound assessment of the cultural identity of a people that is unswerving in its championing of the important issues that affect the every day lives of those that inhabit this Caribbean space. It is, uhum, the far reaching comment of the beloved Prime Minister that refers to those certificated people that are vested with problem solving responsibilities, returning to the sugar cane fields …. Uhum …!

17. Obs

There is a phrase about the egos of short ass men … can put my finger on it right now … Hmmm !

18. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@”Additional Services | January 7, 2013 at 2:22 PM |
    “This is a very simple nut to crack, even though Broomes thinks he is a gorillaphant. Broomes wants to behave like a gorrilliphant then he should be fed peanuts and treated like an animal in a zoo”

u people are too stupid for words. from the time it was known that 22 teachers had been transferred, they kicked up a fuss, mr. broomes NEVER opened his mouth. they did not show up for work today, mr broomes is on sick leave, and u simple jackass that u are would dare to write such stupidity,

what about the way mary redman is carry on, what do u call her, what about the ones who did not show up for school but went to the meeting? what do u call them? u people are so pathetic, for u whatever the wicked teachers do is quite fine but not mr broomes, no he is not allowed to be ill….POPPET

19. Observing (and musing) Avatar
    Observing (and musing)

what gross negligence what? If it was there would be a complete strike all now!

@baffy
    Man everything Freundel say nowadays takes up plenty minutes on the blogs/call ins. The man is a boss! lol.

Wait, Caswell short? I never see he in person. 🙂

Observing

20. mr.broomes not got to open he mouth cause it is big mouth that started all these problems. mary on the other has a duty to represent BSTU and the teachers of which the twenty two teachers are members and it is within her right to represent them to the fullest extent.

21. My heart goes out to those students preparing for eams, it will be intersting to see the results of the bajans in the CXC/CAPE exams. Any parent who thinks their child was disadvantaged, shouls bring a civil case against the Barbados government. This government seems to be slipping from one blunder right into another, even without solving any.

22. @Yardbrom at 4:36 pm “Mr Broomes is on safer ground he can have a sick note and most “reasonable” people would understand that”

Am I the only person on this blog who believes that Jeff Broomes is NOT sick.

My tax money [not] wukking fa me

23. If I believe that Jeff Broomes is NOT SICK, does that make me an unreasonable person?

Am I supposed to believe everything other people tell me?

Even if he has a doctors’s note am I supposed to believe that doctor’s never write sick notes when that should not?

Am I supposed to believe that doctors are always right?

I may only be a Simple Simon, but I am smart enough to question EVERYTHING that I am told.

And I don’t believe that Jeff is sick.

24. @ac
    additional the ace in the hole is when the integrity bill is implementd before the bell rings and OAS has to declared his assets. hearing the PM talking about OSA nothing surprises me with that man……………

ac, you dont ease up at all. Stick to the discussion at hand where for once you are making an iota of sense and where others have so noted.

Before you talk, the DLP fooled the people again, proposed to pass the Integrity bill but do you know it aint law yet? So get the giant who now get up to get the bill up to the GG before you call OSA’s name. What he got for you?

Are you going to ask the likes of Kenny Worst, Michael Lashley, Donville Inniss, Dennis Lowe, Chris Sinkliar and the rest of the wild boys to reveal their assets?

I can only dream, hell would freeze over before you’d do such a thing!!!

25. I ain’t summuch wanta know ‘bot de boys assets. I want to know abut their liabilities. I wanta know who they owe, and how much and for what.

I can then figure out the rest myself.

26. Freundel Stuart does really make you laugh in truth .
    Imagine this : Stuart say that dem will win the next electuion

He meet the next election after 2038 not the election due in 2013
    2038 would mean 5 terms for the BLP .
    it could happen–CALL THE ELECTIONS !
    AND…………………………

This will happen whenever the joker calls election.

BLP = 29 SEATS
    DLP = 0 SEATS
    INDEPENDENT = 1 SEAT

Eager 11 !
    Where are you all ?
    Save the City
    Are you all going to wait for Stuart to carry down all of you all
    Come on Eager 11, do sain nuh !

27. David

This one is too good not to share with BU. I was just told that the transfers have resulted with the wife and ex-wife of the same man being in the same staff room at the Lodge School. Cat piss and jalapeños.

28. Broomes is under stress and duress and cannot function in a working environment such as the mess created by the menopausal spiteful women at Alexandra School . Their pussies too dry that is why they behaving so. So Broomes must take sick leave

29. that is what yuh call wife swapping
    two wives in the same staff room
    Man is a boss

30. @AC 7.53p
    You have consistently defended Mary Redman and the BSTU from word go.I seem to recall that Broomes questioned the action taken by some teachers who on their Professional Day took it as an off day to go shopping and he recommended that their pay be docked.I think that was the genesis of the real problems that followed.And further, what about the issue with the CXC and the late submission of Cape transcripts by a school,I think it was Foundation, and which Redman was seeking to bully the CXC into rewriting the rules to suit the BSTU and that teacher who was tardy in his duties to those students.Should those parents have sued Redman and the BSTU?
    Anything you write has to be taken with a pinch of salt;you come across as a biased individual.Too blinkered in your views on this issue.

31. Typical of the Dems. Remember during the 8% debacle and the sending home of 3000 public workers, they sent home in many cases husband and wife. No wonder Bobby Morris said in the House…….these cuts are murderous, these cuts will never heal!

History repeating itself all over again!

32. @Caswell

They are professionals, tell them to teach!

33. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Have you ever gotten a horn?

34. Taking bets on the final outcome of the AX affair. Will the teachers call out the full BUT and strike? Will the teachers get their pay docked and be dismissed from the Public Service? This outcome like cricket-a game of glorious uncertainties!

35. BUT correction = BSTU

36. Simple Simon | January 7, 2013 at 9:07 PM |
    Writing sick notes is an art and a science. lol
    Once the “patient” has attended your office and consulted with you, who is to say that at the time you saw the patient, that your opinion was incorrect? Of course the dr could be wrong. But the sick leave form used in Bim particularly has a clause that states “in my opinion”

If the doctor determines that a female has “A GYNAECOLOGICAL PROBLEM ” [as females often do] can the employer pull her bonnet and look under her hood? I think not.

If the patient gives as his complaint that his boss is “a pain in the tail”, one might be tempted to write “proctalgia fugax”.

37. @GP

You are correct of course BUT we all know the medical profession is part of the problem we have in Barbados fighting absenteeism.

38. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I would not be so quick to second guess a doctor’s opinion. How many young people have you known who appeared to be in the pink of health only to die suddenly? Many people are going to work ill every day.

39. GP
    But the sick leave form used in Bim particularly has a clause that states “in my opinion”

There is a lot of flu going around here is one “Doctor’s” opinion/report. “I have examined the patient and he seems to be in a great deal of distress, quite agitated and prone to bouts of anger whenever the word “Alexandra” is mentioned. I have only seen a few examples of this in my extensive practice and the last time I saw it the local medics called it “Relocation Flu”. I have recommended that further examination be performed by a specialist and until this appointment is confirmed the patient should take a few snaps of AY Ward’s special elixir whenever the aforementioned feelings arise”.

40. Hi Simple Simon January 7, 2013 @ 9:01PM
    You wrote quoting:@ Yardbroom at 4:36 pm ” Mr. Broomes is on safer ground he can have a sick note and most “reasonable” people would understand that.”

Then stated:”Am I the only person on this blog who believes that Jeff Broomes is NOT sick”
    “My tax money [NOT] wukking fa me.”
    – – – – – – – – – – – –
    Simple Simon, you like some others might believe Mr. Broomes is not sick, but that does not matter. I think along the lines of what would or would not stand up in a court of Law, if it comes to an interpretation of the evidence. Personal emotional feelings will NOT play a part.

I am often proved RIGHT – as in this case – which can be annoying even to myself.

There is a lot of talk here of knowing the Law but there is a difference between knowing the LAW and interpreting it to the advantage of your client. I will say no more on that.

You are a Simon – the good one – but certainly NOT simple.

41. Typical of the Dems. Remember during the 8% debacle and the sending home of 3000 public workers, they sent home in many cases husband and wife. No wonder Bobby Morris said in the House…….these cuts are murderous, these cuts will never heal!

prodigal i am not nitpicking but if my memory serves me correctly. mr morris said he was philosophically opposed to the cuts but did not vote against the cuts.

42. Observing;
    The sick leave gambit suggests to me that the game is almost over. Whatever happened with the heritage of the spirit, obstinancy and resolve of the heroes of past champions of situations like this? Does Broomes not realise that he has let down that team? We thought that Broomes was made of sterner stuff physically and mentally. But he did say in his interview with Carol Roberts that one of his mentors had instilled in him the ability to recognize when all the chips were in and to walk away to fight another day.

Meanwhile Mary Redman labours on in reaction to the unkindess cut of all in this matter. She too will succumb to reason soon. But it must really hurt when no less than a PM can give assurances that he will assist your cause and comes out in public praising you and your quest and then abandons you to the philistines in your hour of need. She and her management team might be excused for thinking that the PM can not be trusted.

There’s another dimension of this fight that I will touch on later. Who is likely to win the fight between Broomes and Mary Redman? Who is, even now, scoring more points in the game started after the “bring it on” glove was thrown into the jousting ring? Does Broomes credibility, contrary to popular current opinion but on sober reflection, reveal a character that was much maligned by the AX Old scholars group? and does the denouement suggest that there is a distinct possibility that Broomes was more sinned against than sinning?

So Observing, I am very close to the point of conceding that you were right all along, but I will wait to formally do so when the Last Act; Broomes turning up at Parkinson, as principal, is reported.

43. if those tranferres go to their new jobs they would have all but given up their right to challenge the system. if they are fired it means upheaval, and chaos with another set of teachers needed to be tranfered to replace them ,More chaos and disquiet , maybe more legal challenges. i think the best interest is that the officials bite their tongue and meet with the BSTU as a way of moving the issue forward.

44. the PSC did make a mistake in issuing so many transfers legal or otherwise. today would have beeen another day if only one person had been transfered (Jeff Broomes) school would be set for reopened all teachers would have been in place. just imagine no talk of law and acts , just only talk of Jeff BRoomes not showing up for work ,but instead the talk is surrounding twenty two teachers and counting not teaching and a school system in anarchy and limbo.is that what we call resolution.As i stated the school system has more to lose in this standoff with the lofficials refusal to meet than the BSTU.. i hope common sense prevail on their part and meet with the BSTU to answer their questions and concerns if not only for the children sake. the longer this problem persist the more explosive it becomes.

45. Taking more bets. That Esther Byer-Suckoo will NOT get the LIME/BWU matter solved. She is one of the more incompetent people in the DLP.

But even if Freundel comes in, he has a track record of saying the AX affair was too easy for him to solve in his phased approach. After a COI, seems it still hasn’t been solved.

46. @Georgie Porgie at 11:46 pm. “If the doctor determines that a female has “A GYNAECOLOGICAL PROBLEM ” [as females often do] can the employer pull her bonnet and look under her hood? I think not”

Even thought the employer cannot pull her bonnet…the employee should pull the bonnet of her conscience.

I can’t believe that you Georgie Porgie is making an excuse for questionable behaviour.

47. @Caswell at 12:18 am. “How many young people have you known who appeared to be in the pink of health only to die suddenly?”

NONE.

And I have been around far, far longer than you.

48. check-it-out it seems that broomes lawyers are doimg what mary is doing representing their client, albeit nobody pointing fingers at those lawyers and the unions which represent broomes

observing i believe that if these tranfers are challenge in court the govt case might look good on the surface for reason and cause but might not be sufficient to satisfy the court with good reason and cause. therefoe it is imperative that the MOU meet with the BSTU before the bottom falls out and the MOU does not start looking like a chicken with its head cut off spinning in every direction and getting no where..stating or advise through media outlets is not enough. a more professional approach is needed after all the teachers are adults and the BSTU is a professional organisation and not children.

49. Thank God for GPs or else the mental hospital would surely have to expand Especially dealing with bosses. Check and see how many hypertension and heart patients we have on the island due to stress. Either the mental or the funeral directors would be busier. Messers GP thank you for saving our lives.

50. @ Yvette
    You are absolutely correct. In over twenty years of practice in Bim before I left to teach, that is exactly what I found.

Many persons are walking around life a boiling pot ………some times they need some one to remove the pot cover for them to relieve the tension.

We have employers in Barbados who have taken the time to follow around employees on sick leave to see what they are doing. Employees will call the doctor to check on your certificates. In such a case I would say “I never saw you in any of my lectures in Med school or at any of the oral exams.”

@ Simple Simon
    Georgie Porgie is NOT making an excuse for questionable behaviour
    Georgie Porgie is EXPLAINING how easy it is to write a sick leave note that can not be questioned. LOL

And it is indeed true that there are MANY young people TODAY who appear to be in the pink of health only to die suddenly?” Do you realize that nearly all of the sexy looking young girls in Barbados since 1980 are anaemic, and are overworking their hearts to adequately perfuse their tissues.
    re the medical profession is part of the problem we have in Barbados fighting absenteeism.
    Maybe………but if you listened to the histories of the patients …….what would you do?
    I once had a patient who had a chronic headache because she could not find some where to buy to live in our dear homeland.That was in the 90’s in BLP TIME, when property prices started to escalate.
    Sir David…….a lot of poor simple honest scrunting people in Bim out there like a boiling pot! On the verge of snapping!