Karen Best, former BUT President and current Deputy Chief Education Officer

Minister Jones, visibly shaken and angry, termed the no-show a “gross insult” and the low point of industrial relations practice in the trade union history of Barbados. Mrs Karen Best, president of the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT), reportedly said she had never seen anything like it in industrial relations. Her [Best] comments clearly indicate her union will not support the BSTU. For the first time that I can remember, there is a split among five unions – the BSTU and Barbados Workers Union (BWU) on one side, the BUT, BAPPSS and NUPW on the other

Nation Newspaper

It seems to be finally hitting home to Barbadians – especially the political partisans – that the Alexandra School dispute (AX) is not so easy to resolve after all. The Frederick Waterman headed commission of inquiry was suppose to wash away the problem which all have to admit predates this government coming to office.

One view of the AX matter which BU has not put under full scrutiny is the incestuous nature of the relationships of key decision makers and participants in the AX plot. Barbados we know is a small country  and there is an inevitability about how personal relationships can shape public perception about how decisions are taken.

Key players in the AX Mess are Principal Jeff Broomes, Minister Ronald Jones, and Deputy Chief Education Officer Karen Best who are ALL products of the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT). To complete the BUT connection we should declare that current President of the Barbados Union of Teachers is Pedro Shepherd who recently challenged for the Democratic Labour Party’s (DLP) nomination in St. Michael South East.

Of special interest to BU is the recent appointment of Karen Best who has responsibility for schools.

‘Ingredients’ for a cabal you think? It gets better.

Chairman of the Alexandra School governing body is Keith Simmons who is Deputy Chairman of the Public Service Commission. Keith Simmons admits to being closed friends with Jeff Broomes although – according to his testimony at the COI – the relationship soured during his tenure as Chairman of the AX Board. Keith Simmons is also a former minister in a DLP government.

Jeff Broomes is represented in the current industrial relations impasse by the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW), one of two unions. The president and general secretary Walter Maloney and Dennis Clarke respectively are known to be ‘liming buddies’ and some say ‘fraternity brothers’ with Minister Jones.

Finally another key player is Hal Gollop the legal counsel for the Barbados Secondary Teachers Union (BSTU). Interesting because he admits to being a close friend of the Prime Minister. How has Gollop been able to balance his role as BSTU counsel and obvious confidant of Prime Minister Stuart some have begun to question.

It is general knowledge in Barbados that Broomes, Best, Jones, Griffith-Watson et al all exchange visits at a personal level and have eaten from the same pot some may go further to say. A big reason for the current state of play is the inbred relationships which have featured to appoint several players to positions in education which many argue challenge their level of competence.

It is T2 to Monday and the pupils continue to play a minor roles in the AX Saga. What is playing out at Alexandra exposes a crisis of leadership in Barbados. Examples can be seen in the judiciary, parliament, private sector and general society.

1. Let’s hope those useless former AX teachers who plan to turn up for school under Mary Redman’s orders are arrested at the gates and detained by police. How much more disrespect do they plan to harbor on AX students. let’s see how impotent the Ministry will continue to prove they are, and who in their right mind made Karen Best responsible for schools?? Things are really getting worse in Bim. I see no one is paying attention to Ronald Jones, wonder why???

2. Sound argument BU. But my question is, with all of this kind of political manouevrings being now exposed to some of us who did not know that much information before, is it that the teaching profession could be split down the middle through politics?

3. TOO MUCH INBREEDING!!!!!!!!

4. As I have said on a number of occasions over the last few days, there is a need to examine the constitutional aspect of things. Maybe our friends Observing and Jeff Cumberbatch would like to weigh in there. Forget Casewell, he is well out of his legal depth.

But yes, David, you are right. It is and will continue to be a mess, as long as it is left to amateurs to deal with, based on a report from a judge out of a shameful (and continuing) era in Barbados’ justice system that is the lowest point of any Commonwealth judicial system ever.

5. David what you have written is just the way things are in Barbados.

Conflict of interest is not seen as a problem. Every 5 years “family and friends” are added to the “table” to feast on the fatted calf.

Then there is the promotions and the jobs given by the wuk fuh wuk practitioners.

Worse of all is the pervasive attitude of “leaders” who will not make the tough important decisions.

6. Correct Hants and BU deliberately stayed topside in this blog. We did not mention the post which was left open at Alexandra for 9 months to receive a teacher from St. Lucy Secondary. We did not post the fact that a class at AX some years ago went a school term without a English teacher. Surely the ministry would have been aware? See why we can’t focus on Broomes? It is a catastrophic collapse in the education governance/management system.

7. In an island of 100 people close relationships are expected BUT those appointed must be competent and exhibit competence in carrying out their duties.

As an aside, what an ugly wig that is on Karen Best’ head in that photo!! Money really can’t buy taste.

8. @Amused

Besides Jeff BU has not observed any of the prominent legal people in Barbados probing this issue in a dispassionate and non partisan way. Ezra Alleyne does not count!

To think this country is saddled with so many lawyers and they would cringe at the opportunity to pollute the public space with critiques of this matter.

Of course they will all wait until it goes to court to shout sub judice.

9. @Enuff

You canot only point to the obvious. It is about implementing and managing relevant checks and balances i.e. governance.

On 5 January 2013 15:36, Barbados Underground

10. Karen Best always wears a bunch of ugly wigs, thinks they look cute. So much self hate can’t show her natural God-give hair. And that is who is now leading the island’s schools. i weep for Bim.

11. Mr. Prime Minister, Mr Jones we need to avert a potential crisis in the education system. If there is any adverse reaction to the BSTU teachers on Tuesday, word on the ground is that the Scholarship and Exhibition producing schools are ready to lay down tool. I am sure the Minister of Youth would not like that because his daughter is at one of these institutions.. One daughter got a scholarship last year don’t you think he will be eying another one?

12. The scholarship and exhibition winning schools should have laid down tool a long time ago, particularly the disgusting way they treat the exhibition winners.

13. @ David
    That too..agreed.

14. Bdos Underground Talkshop Avatar
    Bdos Underground Talkshop

15. No, No ,Well Well,, the BSTU members of those two schools especially the ones over there in Husbands were out in their numbers last year January 2012 when they marched to Culloden Road.

16. I am confident that in Barbados people that wear two or more hats can be expected to be professional and dispassionate in the execution of their responsibilities. I say this with a conviction that is forged by the history and legacy of the Barbadian experience… Ahum …!
    (… this bottle dun already …. Stupse! …)

17. I missed that Can’t Wait!!! my daughter went to the one in Husbands so I know the crap the ministry does, favoritism and……………….

18. How can Karen Best wear two two hats when it is clear that she favours wigs…?

19. So so the question is can Karen Best wear two wigs …?

20. And to believe the taxpayers paid 600K for THIS. Waterman must have laughed all the way to the bank, what a miscarriage.

21. Well Well you ain’ hear dat de people ain get pay yet …

22. so much energy is been spent on AX when 97 Barbadians are without a job and more will be coming fro Cave Shepherd and Courts. The teachersr have jobs so far. It is just a matter of nuff maneuverings now but this too shall pass with the calling of elections.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BAFBFP | January 5, 2013 at 12:10 PM |

After drinking so much at Donville new year wuk-up you must be still inebriated. But BAF why you mashed my toes at the Minister’s ‘doflickey’ while I was dancing with Peter, sorry, Petra Wick-ham
    You know you and the miller can’t attack the king anymore in his mansion on the heights.

24. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

You should get an artistic soul such as BAFBFP to draw a chart to accompany this blog!

Amused et al, please note that I have commented on the other blog.

25. Miller I can’ un’stan’ how people is always mix me up wid somebody else … Uhum …

26. @Jeff

Hopefully when Baffy is released from his inebriated state he will oblige.

27. Jeff You mixing me up too …? Wah happening this year atall atall …

28. David

And you laffin’ at me … hic

29. BAFBFP- and they should NOT be paid at all. Not for that FARCE.

30. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

With the greatest respect, BAFBP, all respect due. I was merely asking BU to let us exploit your creative side! Peter went on about your presence at Donville on Old Year’s Night far too long for comfort earlier this week on Brass Tacks. I would not add insult to injury!

31. Why wunna don’t leff de pig in the wig alone?

32. Don’t know if anyone read NY Daily News this morning but all the idiots who voted not to send federal aid to the people in New York who are suffering from hunger, cold and homelessness, each and every politician, all 67 names, state and phone numbers were published in NY Daily News so the taxpayers could call them and let them have it. Paul Ryan was one, and imagine he wanted to be the next VP of US. Barbados should take notes. Expose the nastiness.

33. With the greatest respect, BAFBP, all respect due. I was merely asking BU to let us exploit your creative side! Peter went on about your presence at Donville on Old Year’s Night far too long for comfort earlier this week on Brass Tacks. I would not add insult to injury!

The boy in Peter does come out far too often on air.

34. Someone whispered to me if some people ain’t scared they get poisoned at one of Donville’s New Years birthday wuk ups…….. am just the messenger.

35. Hi David,
    It is obvious to all who paid any attention to the evidence given at the COI, that there was a castastrophic breakdown in interpersonal relationships at Alexandra School, which was not conducive to a good learning environment for students.

It was necessary therefore to take “drastic action” and in the interest of fairness and justice, to sanction those who had in any way intentionally contributed to the toxic atmosphere.

The belief has been promulgated by so called Union leaders that their members should be untouched in these new arrangements. . . . this is nonsense, it cannot happen.

It is most unfortunate that in the collateral damage innocent teachers have been ensnared, and sympathy to them is well placed.

The proposed plan is not perfect but now the die has been cast, no shilly-shalling, stick to it, it is prevarication that has got us into this mess, enough is enough.

Some want to blame Prime Minister Freundel Stuart but the fault is not his. As you have alluded, it is incestuous relationships in appointments and administration where the blames lies. It is possible for people who know each other or attended the same school or even who have social relationships to distance themselves in a “profesional” calling. That needs “INTEGRITY” without it the house has come tumbling down.

(1) Security guards placed at the gates of Alexandra school on first day of term, with a Register of those who have “official business” at the school eg teachers as of “NOW”. Only those allowed to enter.

(2) Some people are being led to destruction, with each turn of the screw, they are being led over a cliff.

36. Peter and Maxine got me mix up wid somebody else too … but Peter only went to Foundation, like de PM and CJ, yah can’ be all dah hard pun he… HA HA HA … Uhumm

37. Yardbroom you too cut and dried wid people’s careers hear

38. @Yardbroom

There is a lot of meat in your comment. Unfortunately the AX Saga has revealed a right mess and in a world where all and sundry are ready with alacrity to exercise their right to the law court, God help our children.

You know Yarbroom it has been our quality of education over the years which has differentiated and empowered Barbados and Barbadians to succeed.

Now the very KPI which has been our driving force labours in intensive care.

39. Hi BAFBFP
    A Happy New Year.
    When you are entrusted with the management of an organization you are expected to manage it.
    The young children of Alexandra are being emotionally crushed, they have no careers for others to think about.. Adults whose responsbility it is to teach and set an example. . . want to fight to the death.

40. @David
    I have said on another blog that based on the ineptitude and downright misuse of power by officialdom in the judiciary,unions,parliament,the executive,the private sector(with notable exceptions)the church and in certain sectors of civil society,Barbados is too small a country to be truly democratic.Therefore I suggest for a start that our country may now be attractive to a benign dictator who will arrest this nonsense about unions having all these rights and no responsibilities and pull back their tremendous stranglehold on the workplace.

41. @Gabriel Tackle

Yours is a foreboding desire but one which gives vent to a view enjoying some currency in certain quarters.

What it describes is the leadership vacuum which exist in Barbados.

42. I don’t think that you should go on about Karen Best’s wigs, and go as far as to suggest self-loathing because she does not show her natural hair. Have you ever considered that she could be as bald as a grapefruit.

If I were you, I would continue the conflict so interest angle. By the way, I think it was Gladstone Holder who said that he was not saying that a man can’t wear two hats but when he wears them at the same time, he looks foolish. That goes for women and the third sex too.

43. Now Gladstone Holder, he was prolific writer!!!! learned a lot from reading his articles.

44. Gladstone Holder was an Anti-American … HA HA HA!

Yardbroom it cannot hurt children to witness people (adults) FIGHTING for what they believe is right and just. That in itself should be a lesson. Do you really want a population that perpetuates absolute obedience …?

45. Hi BABFP
    It is not a question of “absolute obedience”.
    If those teachers believe they are right and have been unfairly treated, they have recourse to the Law Courts.

We all believe at some time we are right, it is then left to another person, Judge, Jury or even a Ministry to make a final decision. We cannot go back to square one and demand that the only “agreeable settlement” is the one we dictate. . . that is organized bullying, and has no place in a properly constituted Democracy.

46. Not as simple first an agreement has to be reached among the waring parties Acts and Laws and intrepretations must be unilaterally understood , and that is just the beginning and we have not reached that phase yet. so it is back to square one.

47. @amused

what happen to u and caswell. why u attcking he so rough.

I hope that the NUPW dont take up 10 000 to file an injunction for broomes, let the BASSP pay for that, ai hear bassp daid it aint got no money. why broomes and not other members that got issues?.

48. But Yardbroom

Adults demonstrating that they have little faith in the process of Justice seeking through the Barbados courts could also be a valuable eye opener for the students too. Wah you think man … 🙂

49. Barbados at last has its own Osama bin laden in the form of Mary Redman her ‘Second in Command,’ Ayman Al Zawahiri is the uncouth arrogant Patrick Frost. The BSTU thats Al Quaida.