Karen Best, former BUT President and current Deputy Chief Education Officer

Minister Jones, visibly shaken and angry, termed the no-show a โ€œgross insultโ€ and the low point of industrial relations practice in the trade union history of Barbados. Mrs Karen Best, president of the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT), reportedly said she had never seen anything like it in industrial relations. Her [Best] comments clearly indicate her union will not support the BSTU. For the first time that I can remember, there is a split among five unions โ€“ the BSTU and Barbados Workers Union (BWU) on one side, the BUT, BAPPSS and NUPW on the other

Nation Newspaper

It seems to be finally hitting home to Barbadians โ€“ especially the political partisans – that the Alexandra School dispute (AX) is not so easy to resolve after all. The Frederick Waterman headed commission of inquiry was suppose to wash away the problem which all have to admit predates this government coming to office.

One view of the AX matter which BU has not put under full scrutiny is the incestuous nature of the relationships of key decision makers and participants in the AX plot. Barbados we know is a small countryย  and there is an inevitability about how personal relationships can shape public perception about how decisions are taken.

Key players in the AX Mess are Principal Jeff Broomes, Minister Ronald Jones, and Deputy Chief Education Officer Karen Best who are ALL products of the Barbados Union of Teachers (BUT). To complete the BUT connection we should declare that current President of the Barbados Union of Teachers is Pedro Shepherd who recently challenged for the Democratic Labour Partyโ€™s (DLP) nomination in St. Michael South East.

Of special interest to BU is the recent appointment of Karen Best who has responsibility for schools.

โ€˜Ingredientsโ€™ for a cabal you think? It gets better.

Chairman of the Alexandra School governing body is Keith Simmons who is Deputy Chairman of the Public Service Commission. Keith Simmons admits to being closed friends with Jeff Broomes although โ€“ according to his testimony at the COI โ€“ the relationship soured during his tenure as Chairman of the AX Board. Keith Simmons is also a former minister in a DLP government.

Jeff Broomes is represented in the current industrial relations impasse by the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW), one of two unions. The president and general secretary Walter Maloney and Dennis Clarke respectively are known to be โ€˜liming buddiesโ€™ and some say โ€˜fraternity brothersโ€™ with Minister Jones.

Finally another key player is Hal Gollop the legal counsel for the Barbados Secondary Teachers Union (BSTU). Interesting because he admits to being a close friend of the Prime Minister. How has Gollop been able to balance his role as BSTU counsel and obvious confidant of Prime Minister Stuart some have begun to question.

It is general knowledge in Barbados that Broomes, Best, Jones, Griffith-Watson et al all exchange visits at a personal level and have eaten from the same pot some may go further to say. A big reason for the current state of play is the inbred relationships which have featured to appoint several players to positions in education which many argue challenge their level of competence.

It is T2 to Monday and the pupils continue to play a minor roles in the AX Saga. What is playing out at Alexandra exposes a crisis of leadership in Barbados. Examples can be seen in the judiciary, parliament, private sector and general society.

1. BI is still waiting for an explanation how Karen Best could have escaped the vestiges of the office of president of the BUT and her anti-BSTU position.

How can she engender trust around the negotiating table given the history?

On another note, the time has come for thereto be two deputy education officers, one primary and the other secondary.

Currently the ethos of the MOE is one which has a Primary School biase.

2. Hi BAFBFP,
    You are being “mischievous”, but the justice system in Barbados is the only one we have. There is a misconception that because you go to Court or have a reasonable case you will win, the chances are you will lose. . . that must always be factored in.

The teachers had an opportunity for a meeting with the Minister, they had an audience with the Prime Minister of Barbados, then there was the COI. After all that they are in a worse position now than when they first went on strike. They have always demanded:
    Do you recall:” I am not backing down” ..”He must be separated from Alexandra School”

They over-played their hand. In industrial disputes unless you can bring the country to a halt – which they cannot – you must appear to be “reasonable” they have failed in that department.

I am sure many of them regret what has now happened…there is nothing worse than a defeated army in retreat.

3. Most people forget that there is only a 5 year turn around period for children to get valuable secondary education, between 9-10 years has already passed, if another 1 or 2 five year periods are allowed to pass while these students are witness to this nonsense, it would be a maximum of 20 years of mischief by these so called adults. I hope they are arrested for turning up at AX to disrupt these students next week. It’s NOT FAIR to the students, for all those who do not have a concept of time and how fast it passes, at least have some sympathy for the students.

4. David
    The Ministry of Education needs restructuring to effectively manage the educational system.
    There are 71 public primary schools, 4 nursery schools, 1 infant school, 2 special schools and 5 units which cater for students with special needs.
    There are 22 secondary schools with twenty coeducational and two single sex.

I would therefore agree with you that they should be two deputy Chief education officers. There are too many things going on daily in schools that require urgent attention.

I am reliably informed that there is only one Science Educational Officer for both primary and secondary schools.

5. But Yardbroom

Was the “No back down” philosophy not shared by both sides of the dispute. Do you believe that professional people would accept advise from professional people that would bring them in conflict with the laws of Barbados? Please, and let me inquire of you whether you think it appropriate that after all of the errors in judgement and the apparent acceptance that transfers are to be expected and are necessary, that the Minister of Education, the Cheif Education Officer and other heads of the Civil Service should be allowed to continue unscathed?

6. the mou which mary redman speaks about states in the first paragraph” this memorandum which is presented in two parts is to be read in its historical context. it represents what all parties concerned understand to be conditions of service as favourable as or no less favourable than those enjoyed by teachers in the older secondary schools prior to the implementation of the 1981 education act. it will be used in these circumstances as a point of reference by the parties involved. This MOU will apply to all teachers who were in service or holding indefinite acting appointments in cvacant posts on the date of the eneactment. of the education Act 1981-25 as determined by lists to be agree and approved., but will not apply to thses teachers who wer appointed or promoted after the enactment of the said act”

If any of the two teachers miss redman speaks about has been promoted since the act came into place. neither one has a leg to stand on.

7. page 106 first paragraph states that although the letter of appointment may stipulate the subject area(s) which an individual will be required to teach it may become necessary because of curriculum changes for teachers to teach other subjects within their capabilities.

8. @Clone

there are two deputy chief education officers. I guess u mean two for school supervision and management.

9. @To the Point

Thanks for the info. Please contextualize. Does this clause refer to a teacher appointed to a substantive position with the expectation that they maybe called on to teach other subjects based on exigencies? How does it relate to the same teacher being transferred?

10. Hi BAFBFP,
    The “philosophy” of not backing down might have been shared by both sides – on that I do not disagree – but the difference is it was said in public by one side.

The Courts on a daily basis are full of people, some professional who are legally represented by fellow professionals on both sides, some give bad advise some not so, like all professionals some are better than others. . . that is life.

With regard to the Minister of Education, the Chief Education Officer and heads of the Civil Services that is for another day when “evidence” – if there is any – can be brought against them.

There is merit in what you say but those issues though important can be addressed later. We must not lose sight of the ball now.
    ps: I must fly.

11. The Prime Minister on national TV tonight indicated that many if not all of the players in the AX matter are university graduates. He concluded that if they cannot sit down and discuss the issues to come to agreement then they should all go back to the cane fields. He admitted he intervened and raised the COI to bring the matter along.

To the prime minister we say what has changed? Have the players suffered an epiphany post-COI?

12. I am the view that the HT can ask teachers to teach other subjects generally as long it it considered that it is within the teachers capabilities.

I dont know who is advising ms. redman, and i think she does not even understand the terms of mou. I am told that the two teachers would have had promotions since the mou and they can be transferred. ms. redman is advising those persons wrong and would cause them to lose their jobss. There can be no industrial dispute concerning the transfers, the next thing for her to do what minister jones suggested go to the courts.

13. What the PM seems yp be not taking in consideration is that sensible people can be irrationale in circumstances like these and no one hears or listen to what each other is saying a lack of communication in most cases is the dividing line .it has nothing to do with ones education and in upheaveal like this ,a calm and determined voice can form coehesiveness and direction among the players something that is lacking at this point and time as the players try to decide which way to go.via laws and acts in suppotive of their various positions PM stuart no sense in ducking at this point the ball has been sent right back to illlaro court.

14. Ac

the ball is not back in the pm’s court. I disagree with you. The Pm has no authority in the matter, the agent of the GG, the PSC has advised the GG on the matter and the GG has agreed to the transfers. If the union want to challenge them go to court as simple as that.

15. David
    You may say this is not about Mary Redman but Bajans were antagonize by her earlier in the strike now they are getting to hate her. As long as she is the face of the BSTU they will not public sympathy.
    They are seeing a person who must have theor way at all costs.

She wanted Jeff Boomes separated before where he had a stronger case of being appointed to Alexandra.
    Now he has been separated she is saying he should not have gone to another school.

The Minister spoke tough at Alleyne School this evening. I will bet you that she would use that speech as one to draw the battle lines.
    Young unemployed graduates get your books out. Jobs will be offered shortly. Mary Redman is going to call out her members on Tuesday. That would be a sad day in our country for the children where she sat down and said that this is the term for SBAs and the transfers would hurt them.

TPP
    I meant one for Primary and one for Secondary schools

16. @david
    Neutral and anti are not the same thing! Lol

And you back with this other subject thing again? I thought we done hash that out yesterday. Look, if bush lawyer Caswell can’t find a law, rule or regulation to refute the FACT that a head can assign you to a subject other than what you first taught when appointed (within department and ability) then it must be TRUE! And if he gotta find excuses to not engage in further debate on it then it must be PATENTLY TRUE!! Uh lie?

@TTP
    Top shelf shot!!!! I recognised that today myself after some fine tooth combing through a garbage can. The elephant in the room must now question if these 3 really “cannot” be transferred!!!

I agree with all that a Ministry restructuring is needed. The COI recommended as much.

The level of advice the BSTU is getting is worrying. Actually it’s almost frightening. I said so last January and I have to say it again.

Freundel ain’t doing a ping pang ping pang with this anymore. All the phases done.

In the words of the honourable Minister…..Go and do de people wuk! File your protest or challenge in the meantime!.

Just Observing

17. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

I am deeply in love with Mary Redman, I must admit
    I love the passion , the fire
    I am really in love
    I see it as challenge to tame the beast
    Let the games begin !

18. @Clone

but remember that there is also a senior education officer, as well as education officers for the schoo lsupervision and managment section, similary there is a deupty for I think curriculum and i cant remeber the other erea, an this aread is aslo served by a senior education officer as well as education officers. I dont think the issue is lack of resources. We do not need timid decision makers.

19. @Observing

Broomes seems to be only one that might have an air-tight case as he has been erroneously apointed to the school and he should have been appointed to the service and assigned to the school. This one is going to be test case, unless jeff can post cases where there has been a ruling with similar circumstances.

I am now feeling for Ms. Redman, she has boxed her self into a corner with frost and caswell earlier in the game, and i dont think she can get out this one. The public is not with her. No umbrella organisation can help her.

Why dont u leave Caswell, he has been defeated on this one. When he loses a battle he stays quiet.

Jeff & Amused

Now I have posted the ist paragraph in the mou and in light of the fact that the tachers migh have had subsequen appointments, what say ye to her claims that the teacehrs cant be transferred.

20. The PM might not want to do a PINg or Pang! but he did stick his nose now parents are wondering what he is gonna do before an avalanche comes a rolling down the mountain cover in the color red. for say whatever one thinks she does not wear red for nothing and so far she has succeeded in having two or treat transfers given preference , maybe people might not like her hard nose approach but the word of the day is “precedent” and mary guns are pointed in that direction.

21. @TTP

If the teachers are being moved from an older school to another older school, does the promotion matter? It says something about no more or less favourable than those at the older secondary schools. I read this to mean they can be transferred to an older secondary school. If this is the case, the both Mrs. Greaves and Gail Streat-Jules cant complain as the conditions would have been met. But, you have the MOU, I only read the para above.

22. Observing;
    After watching the CBC news on the current situation. Things are becoming clearer. The PM is adamant that his early handling of the situation was flawless. He has washed his hands clean of any further action re. AX and has apportioned any putative blame on the current situation to the Educational system and the degreed persons it has produced in his ministries and elsewhere. He insists that he has had nothing at all to do with the flawed implementation of the transfers, and indeed, if there are any faults, UWI is to blame. This is even better than IslandGal had predicted on his likely response.

The Minister of Education has fingered the PSC as the agency responsible for the transfers. His Ministry was not involved, it seems. In addition Mr Jones made a very direct attack on Mary Redman’s “oneupwomanship” which might not be taken lightly.

No one could expects the PSC or the CPO to respond further. They are all creatures of the PM.

Bush tea; There is no hope that the PM will take your advice and detailed prescription for solving this issue. He has washed his hands clean of any further involvement in it and it would seem he had done so prior to any activity related to the implementation of the transfers.

So everything is now hunky-dory. There is no problem. If there is a minor hitch the heavily educated folks at MOE, PSC and CPO will handle it. Any dissenting teachers can take their cases to the Law Courts where they will get their hearing but those hearings are not likely to be to their benefit.

But what about the other side. BSTU appears to be also adamant. They do not appear to be concentrating on basing the success of their case on the Courts in Barbados but instead on the claim that Government, through the agencies of the MOE and PSC, is engaging in the dread activity of UNION BUSTING. To that end they are actively and energetically seeking solidarity from local and regional Trade Unions and will doubtless get that support.

Union Busting is considered by Unions worldwide as the ultimate sin so the BSTU is likely to get significant support from the external Unions from which their president has sought solidarity and we know that Mary Redman is unlikely to back down from escalating the action. But will the AX teachers she depends on stay firm in the face of not so veiled threats to their livelihoods from the Government and the advice to accept the transfers given to BUT members by their Union.

All in all, A good Scene 2. It looks like Act 2 on Monday and Tuesday might be action packed if Mary can get the solidarity she has asked for. Or it might fizzle out. I have to get some more peanuts soon for Monday as the action then promises to be entrancing.

Which side will blink first? Will we see AX closing down for 1 week to get things straightened out there and dampening the effect of any BSTU action in the process? The Government Ministers involved in the debacle seems to have closed ranks. The several unanswered questions about the implementation of the flawed transfers will remain so.

The Government troops seem to be firmly behind Freundel. No hint of an eager 11 action in the offing as seems eminently sensible given the proximity of the election.

I think I read somewhere that Ms Redman will be outlining further plans and actions tomorrow. I’ll have to get an uncomfortable seat in the Pits for the rest of the show as I can’t afford to doze off during any of the action.

AC, The PM will not address us soon on this matter. He thinks there is no need to. He might be right. But then he might also be totally wrong.

23. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

To the Point

I am sorry to disappoint you: I have not conceded defeat, I do work for a living and today was one of those days. I just got home from a meeting.

What does within their capabilities mean? I have already stated that teachers have refused to teach other subjects, without any adverse consequences to themselves, because the term “within their capabilities” is too imprecise to be enforced. Teachers have claimed that even though I might have passed the subject at O’ Level, I am not capable to teach the particular subject. In any event, the teacher cannot be forced to teach the other subject. Jeff Cumberbatch has that provision in his contract, so he can’t refuse.

24. Is it possible for someone to email BU a copy of a contract? It can be redacted of course.

25. Checkit-Out

You stated:
    “No one could expects the PSC or the CPO to respond further. They are all creatures of the PM”.

Neither the PSC nor the CPO is supposed to be a creature of the PM. The PSC should be an independent body that advises the GG on appointments and discipline in the Public Service. The PM recommends the appointment of members of the PSC but he has no authority to recommend their removal from office.

On the other hand, the CPO is a public officer who cannot make any public statements unless she is authorised by her Minister. If she makes a public without being so authorised, she would have committed an offence.

26. Checkit-Out

HA HA HA HA …. MURDA … U see the makings of a block buster here too …. Look I got friends in Hollywood. U want me call them ..? HA HA HA … Uhum

27. @ Checkit-Out
    I stocked up long time for this hurricane.

28. well his words to such effect was his words stating in conclusion that the proper authorities would have to figure this quadmire out,in the meantime this debacle would continue outside with the help of divine intervention. PM fingers are being pointed at you.

29. Oh, please find a loop hole, a clause, anything to fire these numb skulls, how could grown people keep a conflict going for so many years that affects education, this makes us look even worse on the international stage. These matters are supposed to be resolved quickly, not roll into 9-10 years with room to roll over into another 9-10 years, that’s a whole generation of children affected and again lives ruined. Is no one counting the years, do the math.

30. Enuff;
    Hurricane?
    Oh shoots! and the batteries in my small photovoltaic system seem to be on their last gasp and I can’t afford to replace them. Wuhloss!!

I honestly think the lawyers on this blog are overestimating the likely impact of the legal aspect of this epic struggle as I suspect the majority of Union fights are won without any discernible legal underpinning re. the rights or wrongs of an employer’s action. Wunnah don see dat Broomes’ lawyers said last week that they will let the Union do their thing first and then do their own thing, if necessary?

What Mary Redman needs a 100% legally fireproof case to win her case fought essentially as a Union dispute, what?

She has an election campaign coming up that might throw out the incumbents propelled by merely the instability of the country in a poor IR climate; She has 40 or more hopping mad teachers and some very disgruntled children and some enraged parents at HC, Combermere, etc., most of whom might support her. She has significant Union support here; She will have significant support from some Unions overseas who will bring the situation to the notice of the International community (the case being; the Barbadoes government has transferred 8/9ths of the senior staff and 3/5ths of the teachers of the alexandra school in an attempt to bust the teachers Union there. We can’t allow them to do that)

If the concerted union action promised goes on for 1 week or more we may see a different reaction from the Politicos. The Governing party can’t afford a poor IR climate at this time.

What legal correctness what? Union busting and the other pincer type actions Mary Redman appears to be putting in place should do just well.

31. @check it out
    we should pay you as the resident ball by ball commentator! well done!

@pat
    you have revealed the point that interpretation can be subjective

@caswell
    you argue that “within capabilities” is imprecise yet you hold firm that
    “prejudice” “adversely affected” and “punitive”
    are completely clear to you and should be to us. Wow.

regarding being asked to teach something which you have O’Levels for…we already stated clearly that you cannot be asked to teach something for which you have the minimum qualification for (i.e. O;Levels). However, if you are qualified above that (certificate, diploma, minor, associate etc.) and the subject falls within your department, and there is a curriculum or school need then you can be assigned to teach a subject other than the one you taught when first appointed .

Let’s forget the “within capabilities” in the MOU clause altogether and either
    a) dispute or impute the other pieces of legislation other than the General Orders that I pointed out to prove my contention or
    b) cite the law which conflicts with the MOU or
    c) cite the law which states that a head CANNOT assign duties to a teacher other than which he/she was hired or
    d) simply scan and forward ANY redacted teacher appointment letter that specifies that the teacher is appointed to teach a specific subject or
    e) All of the above.

Just because a principal didn’t have the balls to stick to his guns when a teacher refused to follow his instructions doesn’t mean that he/she didn’t have the rights to BY LAW.

I wait with bated breath but will most definitely not hold it.

Just Observing

32. Caswell; Re. your 9.35 pm post; Thanks for the clarification.
    OK so the PSC is not officially a creature of the PM. But look at its composition. Should anyone have any fears re. decision making that might pit the individual against critical partisan Government policy especially since in a former life one of its members chose a DLP government’s policy against that of his employer?

33. http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/jones-report-for-school/

There are times when silence is golden Mr. Jones.

Some people don’t respond well to public threats.

34. Overheard a man saying come the new term in a few days time its going to be CP&P in the education system. I asked him how is Coleridge and Parry involved in this. Not C&P,he said but Cat Piss & Pepper.

35. @Well well at 10:37 am ” I see no one is paying attention to Ronald Jones, wonder why???”

Perhaps it is because he deserves to be ignored.

@Hants at 10:50 am “Conflict of interest is not seen as a problem. Every 5 years โ€œfamily and friendsโ€ are added to the โ€œtableโ€ to feast on the fatted calf.”

I agree with you Hants

@Well well at 11:44 “Karen Best … canโ€™t show her natural God-give hair.”

Maybe the natural God given hair is dead and gone. Maybe too much straightener was used in youth. which of course raises another question. Whey do black women straighten their hair? And why do black men prefer women with straightened hair?

@Cant wait at 1:45 am ” Minister of Youth would not like that because his daughter is at one of these institutions.. One daughter got a scholarship last year donโ€™t you think he will be eying another one?”

Who the hell cares what the Minister of Youth wants? Or any other Minister for that matter.

Gabiiel Tackle at 1:21 pm ” I suggest for a start that our country may now be attractive to a benign dictator who will arrest this nonsense about unions having all these rights”

You mad? or drunk? or both? There is no such thing as a benign dictator.

@Caswell at 1:36 “That goes for women and the third sex too”

There are four sexes, not three. transgender, bisexual, homosexual, and heterosexual.

@Yardbroom at 3:29 “If those teachers believe they are right and have been unfairly treated, they have recourse to the Law Courts. We all believe at some time we are right, it is then left to another person, Judge, Jury or even a Ministry to make a final decision.”

And what are trade unions for then?
    Sometime father does not know best.

@OMG at 5:31 pm. “Barbados at last has its own Osama bin laden in the form of Mary Redman her โ€˜Second in Command,โ€™ Ayman Al Zawahiri is the uncouth arrogant Patrick Frost. The BSTU thats Al Quaida.”

Lies, lies, damn lies.

@Yardbroom at 5:56 p.m “Do you recall:โ€ I am not backing downโ€ ..โ€He must be separated from Alexandra Schoolโ€

Do you recall “bring it on”

36. Here is Jeff’s column:

Musings: Between rocks and hard places

1/6/2013

By Jeff Cumberbatch

โ€œIs there no wayโ€, said I, โ€œof escaping Charybdis and at the same time keeping Scylla off when she is trying to harm my men?โ€ The Odyssey โ€“ Homer

When, last week, I suggested idiomatically and partly in jest, that there would be โ€œfilm at elevenโ€, I did so in the expectation of some fallout from the then rumoured mass transfers in the Barbados secondary school system arising out of the so-called Alexandra School affair and the pertinent Waterman Commission of Inquiry. I was referring at that time especially to the involuntary transfer to Parkinson Secondary School of the former principal of Alexandraโ€™s, Mr. Jeff Broomes, and to the likely reaction of his legal counsel to this development.

As matters unrolled during the past week, the โ€œfilmโ€ has still not yet begun, at least up to the time of writing this, but the continuing previews have managed to hold the popular interest captive, a signal achievement in a context where the announcement of a general elections date is imminent. Of course, there are those who will attempt to politicise the issue in partisan terms, in spite of the reality that the governing administrationโ€™s hands are legally tied, but that is par for the course in Barbados. Only โ€˜bout hey!

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=columnists&NewsID=28569

37. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Observing

I am still not convinced that you are not using this blog as a substitute for doing the relevant research. I am not going to argue with you in order to enlighten you and you get all the fees.

I have stated my position based on precedents and you come up with a lot of hairy-fairy nonsense because you want to win an argument. I am not on this blog to help you win your case. If you want my services, they come at a cost. I am finished with you and your nonsense until you start paying.

38. @ Jeff Cumberbatch (extract above)
    snip
    …. “of a general elections date is imminent. Of course, there are those who will attempt to politicise the issue in partisan terms, in spite of the reality that the governing administrationโ€™s hands are legally tied, but that is par for the course in Barbados. Only โ€˜bout hey!”

Pray… tell us how we can separate the two ? Who did all the “phasing”…”.Man you all need to play catchup”…..remember? If you chop the fire wood and further introduced the spontaneous combustion with glorified matches….you must also take on the role of Fire Chief. FDNY….
    Watermans or not !…looka muh crosses

39. Hi Simple Simon,
    January 5, 2013 @11:36pm
    You quoted: “@Yardbroom at 5:56 pm. Do you recall
    “I am not backing down”
    “He must be separated from Alexandra School”
    ———————————–
    Your response to me:
    “Do you recall “Bring it On”
    ———————————–
    “I am not backing down:” Indicates to me an “immovable position” of standing firm regardless of circumstances.
    “He must be separated from Alexandra School”: Indicates an obligation a requirement that has to be carried out.
    ————————————-

“Bring it on”: Indicates to me a taking up of a challenge.

I am not being a pedant, there is a world of difference in “context” and I am sure you know that.

40. Simon
    “And why do black men prefer women with straightened hair?”

My preference is shaved … thank you very much … Uhum

41. My recent investigations reveal that the principal of the lodge school has written the ministy of education on mary redman not teaching the people children and as a consequence the school has hired two part-time teachers to cover for her, i am told these teachers are at school every day to cover for this lady’s intransicence. This has been going on for five years and I am wonddering how much it is costing the taxpayer’s to allow her to use the excuse every day that she is going on union business. The BSTU has a secretariat, like the nupw or but to deal with those matters.

It was reported that after the coi report that the lady said her next target was the lodge school, i guess she has to now put that on hold,lol.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

The PMโ€™s reaction to the Ax teachersโ€™ transfer fallout is most interesting in so far that it provides a rare insight into the philosophical makeup of the man.

In his recent interview by the Press while on the campaign trail he said that if the players who are all University graduates canโ€™t resolve the issue at Ax they could as well return to the cane fields from whence they came or something along that line.

It is because there are so many devious lawyers and swollen-headed people with paper qualifications involved in the matter but woefully lacking in commonsense that the current state of affairs exits and intractably and intransigently entrenched in the wider public service.

It is the lingering plantation mentality programmed out of slavery and the recent master/servant social realtionships that would militate against such an โ€˜intellectualโ€™ resolution. Maybe those โ€œdown thereโ€ are looking to โ€œthose up thereโ€ for old fashioned leadership and dictatorial guidance which are lacking and subserviently expected. Maybe you are expecting too much from these graduates who are still in mental slavery if not the sugar cane fields picking pond grass.

Is the man recommending the most suitable punishment for these recalcitrant pig heads?
    Is he aware that the canfields are overgrown with cow itch, garbage and vermin especially rats raising a population running into the millions that would soon require a pied piper from the Bay Land with Dr. Estwickโ€™s voice to march them down to the Wharf?

He could have more appropriately said that they should be transferred to the hotel and restaurant sector and to the beaches where they would be more at home serving the Caucasian visitors as is their natural inclination inbred and ingrained from the plantation days.

For Christ sake, Fumble, sugar died while you were asleep. You better stock up on the four square brands before a similar inevitable fate visits the dying rum industry. Both activities that are fast disappearing as the raison dโ€™รชtre and bedrock of Barbadosโ€™ original and sustained economic existence.

What now does Barbados have to sell to the UK and the wider world? A call for the return to Ghana for the majority of the population might make for future political discussion. A modern-day Liberia in the making.

43. @Simple Simon on four sex genders, there is now a 5th option, the Androgynos male. google for further clarification. Most black males preferring to see black females with straightened hair (that is so destructive to female health) comes from the same self-loathing displayed by both sexes and desire to look like someone else, hence the wigs, bleaching creams, fake this, fake that…………………………………………………and on and on.

44. This is scenario is the results of our education system. The PM in his statement last night on CBC about all parties involved having a university education and if they cannot sit down and solve this issue then they need to go back to the cane fields. That has been the most profound thing I have ever heard him utter. What he doesn’t realize is that education is NOT commonsense and that commonsense is no longer common.

It seems that people with so called higher education feel that they are entitled and that rules are for the lesser educated. It appears that from the Minister of Education down along with MOE has failed the people of Barbados. They are still trying to get molasses up a hill on a hot day. They keep putting things in place and each time it rolls back down and they are always where they had started.

The mindset in Barbados is that no one can be fired nor can they be transferred by their organization sends wary messages to potential investors. The workforce must have contracts now and if the employer decides not to renew a person’s contract it is time for that person to move on. No one owes anyone a job. I think then people will have a changed attitude to work, value it and perform well. Half a loaf is better than none.

45. correction The minister of Education and the MOE have failed the people of Barbados.

46. @Miller & islandgal

Your comments should bring into focus the offer of MAM to mediate…lol.

47. @ David
    There can be no necessity for me to make any ” admission ” of the fact of my friendship / relationship with Freundel J . Stuart . That well known relationship has been built on the many common interests we share and the affection and respect which we have had for each other over a very extended period . That notwithstanding , I am unable / unwilling to take any credit for accompanying Prime Minister Stuart on any trip to Canada as stated ; THAT TRIP NEVER TOOK PLACE . The only trip on which I accompanied Freundel J Stuart out of Barbados was a trip to the Judicial Committee of Her Majesty’s Privy Council to represent a client some years ago. I hope you would not find it too difficult to retract the misinformation posted above .

48. Miller

I find the PM’s comments OFFENSIVE at so many levels too … Jesus H Christ man … Democracy has failed the Caribbean

49. Look I just want to say this about that exhibition of insensitivity. There was a time when Barbados produced something that the rest of the world was prepared to buy. That is not so today. The legacy of those who shed blood and sweat to survive in those most difficult of times deserves a hell of a lot better than an asinine side bar from one who merely serves the interests of hidden elite, with no possibility of a tangible, measurable result.