Prime Minister Freundel Stuart

JORDAN: So the 11 MPs were eager to meet with the Prime Minister simply to have a discussion?

SINCKLER: Well, you say eager; I think some of us wanted to meet.

A question posed to Minister Chris Sinckler in the Big Interview  by former Editor in Chief Kaymar Jordan (18.12.2012)

BU is reluctant to ‘sully’ its blog offering during the Yuletide season with content of a political flavour. However, we have been enticed to compromise our position as a result of Prime Minister Stuart’s weekend pronouncement. He stated that he saw no evidence of a coup and therefore his promise to ‘chop’ off’ the head or heads of those in the vanguard of the Eager 11 (E11) assault is not required. In the minds of many Barbadians Stuart’s inaction to deal with the E11 affair agrees with a widely held view that he is not a leader.

Some who read the tea leaves maybe intrigued that Prime Minister Stuart waited almost one year to the day to make a decisive statement about the E11 affair. Perhaps the Prime Minister is readying the party for election battle by seeking to deflate this issue which is sure to raise its head on the election platform. Was he advised by Hartley Henry to be so bold as to address the issue? Perhaps Stuart appreciates the sandy political turf he will have to trod shortly and the appearance of a cohesive and united team more favourable weighs the scale then giving political fodder to the Opposition which ‘chopping of a head or heads” may cause. It is accepted that Prime Minister Stuart CANNOT ‘touch’ Minister Sinckler who CADRES has fingered as the most popular political personage in Barbados after Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley.

If Stuart has delayed disciplinary action because he believes it will disadvantage the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) with a general election on the horizon – political pundits have revised the election date to 12 February 2013 –  can one say Stuart has compromised on the leadership position necessary to grow his stature as a fearless leader? Our history shows that Barbadians have an affinity for Prime Ministers who are not afraid to figuratively crush some political heads.

Stuart’s defenders may hasten to suggest that to project an image of DLP togetherness on the eve of a general election is a commonsense strategy. To speak to the issue now, Stuart has allowed the longest possible period to elapse to benefit from the 9-day memory of Barbadians to fully set.

There will also be the reference to the Mia Owen conflict to balance the argument. Arthur kicked Mia to the political curb but she has obviously retreated and decided to line up behind the party cause to ensure her political relevance. In the post Mia Arthur conflict he gets a few points for effectively stomping on the head of a strong challenger. Although the BLP platform cannot speak directly to this Arthur win, on every occasion Mia and Owen shares political space it will subliminally register in the minds of a politically savvy public that Arthur is the undisputed leader of the BLP.

Yes Mr. Prime Minister, it is the Yuletide Season but we are watching you!

1. Stuart’s pronouncement over the weekend that he saw no evidence of an attempted coup only goes to strengthen the view that he was asleep at the wheel. Sinckler confessed to the Nation. Apparently, the PM missed that edition. He should not want power so badly that he is prepared to go to bed with the enemy within and overlook their disloyalty. He has now made himself a laughingstock: nobody, not even his friends, believes him. He has confirmed to me that he is not in charge and that he is afraid of his Cabinet.

If all the above is not true then the only explanation for Stuart’s behaviour is that he has gone senile.

2. What utter nonsense David. Who in their right mind will find themselves concerned with whether Stuart is a leader or not. Leadership is an issue ONLY because key decisions have to be made and one of those decisions is keeping your best people on board. I actually do not like Stuart but he would have been an ass to have acted against those who were accused of opposing him.

3. What best people? Stuart does not have any elected best people.

4. Cas

Plse think relative ..

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I am thinking relative: they are relatively incompetent.

6. A different view Avatar

PM Stuart demonstrated he is a strong shrewd leader by easily ignoring demands by self appointed muguffies in the BLP, media and Wickham pole conspirators that elections had to be called pre November or else.

Without fanfare the unemployement rate nosedived during the period not unexpectedly BU missed this newsworthy development.

Owen Arthur fell into Stuart’s trap by announcing his 15 point recovery plan believing his own propoganda that elections were imminent. Barbadians of every political stripe rejected Arthur’s 15 point plan. Now there is no hiding place for the BLP. The elections will be called on Stuart’s terms .

The PM knows what he is about his quiet but surefooted inside moves taking the Dems to victory.

7. Cas

Compared to whom ..? Seriously man the other side is mainly a combination of arrogant nincompoops… Arrogance normally suggests that there is a basis from which success has been determined … Cas with respect, of course, please state why it is that you prefer one side over the other …?

8. Sent from my PC

9. David

“It is folly to punish your neighbor by fire when you live next door”

These are the timeless words of Syrus. The BLP and Kaymar Jordan failed with this ploy. The PM too smart and two well read for these amateurs butting about Barbados.

10. @BU “BU is reluctant to ‘sully’ its blog offering during the Yuletide season with content of a political flavour. ”

Sully LOL!!!

There is nothing BU like more than politics.

11. Passive…maybe aggressive???

12. Stuart ain,t no fool,his startegy of not answering his criticis have baffled and confused them. bush tea in this sense Karma is a bitch for the only head to roll was that of Kaymar.LOL.

13. The Prime Minister and the DLP will have a battle to win the votes of the so-called middleclass. It is a group who has always been more aligned with the BLP.

14. Good mawning onions.yuh quiet as a church mouse.

15. Watching Carefully and Listening. Avatar
    Watching Carefully and Listening.

@ Caswell
    Your analysis is extremely superficial . Can you name one instance during the history of man when the leader of the tribe has not been called upon to deal with internal attempts to overthrow HIS regime ? Internal attempts at overthrowing the leader is also a characteristic of the animal kingdom . Did you really expect Mr Stuart to start chopping heads left right and centre and end up with no government rather than , by his own ingenuity , work at healing any rifts that are natural in ALL organised structures and build a more solid and united institution around him ? Did you really expect him to cut off his nose to spite his face ? Come on Caswell the business of leading an organisation can never be as simplistic as you are trying to suggest . I cannot for the life of me understand how you , a person that always lays claim to having respect for the Prime Minister’s intelligence could resort to such naivety . It should be clear to all , both admirers and detractors that the man Stuart is a THINKER ; he never stops thinking . That is why the press finds it so difficult to apply methods of entrapment against him . He will probably never be the press’ darling .
    What should be clear to all objective commentators is that Prime Minister has been growing daily in that job . This blog has posted a video clip of former Prime Minister Arthur getting himself in all kinds of tangles by trying to deny his involvement in a Cabinet decision to build the prison at Dodds ;
    can you imagine Stuart the victim of such an horrendous faux pas ? It will be extremely difficult for Mr Arthur to explain to Barbados how he could possibly disassociate himself from a decision taken by his Cabinet .
    What cannot be gainsaid is that Stuart has not been the very successful leader of a Government that has kept Barbados very stable during what has been the most difficult period the country had to face since emancipation . It is therefore really outrageous and silly that you could raise any notion of senility in any discussion on Freundel Stuart , a man whom you know well and I will enjoin you , on that score to avoid these extreme excursions in analysis ; no one will take you seriously .

16. @david 6:43
    Bingo. Most of them are not seeing “the best of times”

@different view
    Unemployment rate nosedive? Did u mention propaganda? It is the Christmas season so please don’t take us for fools. And btw, the 1 point of the 15 that was “rejected” was privitisation.

Freundel played his political cards as well as he could. Defer and delay to give the opponent room to injure themselves. Dismiss the Eager 11 outright on the absolute eve of elections, and pass the AX buck to the relevant authorities. All the while steering important legislation through the House, making more public appearances and wearing better looking shirts to top it off. Not bad at all for a man who was hanging on for dear life a few months ago. Lol. Let’s see if it will be enough!

For balance, I should mention that his coattails (or lack) have not grown at all. There’s the problem for the weaker candidates. Elections are won by seat count.

Just observing

17. Watching Carefully and Listening. Avatar
    Watching Carefully and Listening.

That last paragraph should read..” what cannot be gainsaid is that Stuart has been the very successful leader of a Government………”

18. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

BAFBFP

What gives you the impression that I favour any particular side. I just call it like I see it. I live in St. Thomas and there is no way in hell that I would vote for the BLP’s candidate. But vote I will, and if there are only two choices on the ballot, the DEMS will get my vote again. That does not make me a DEM and certainly, I have lost any claim to be a BEE.

Politicians have to contend with me being willing to speak out without fear or favour of any side.

19. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Watching Carefully and Listening

You are aware that I was one of Stuart’s biggest supporters and defenders when he was acting during the illness of David Thompson and when he first assumed the job substantively. Initially, I held on to his every word and there were not many but I asked people to give him a chance to settle into the job. More than enough time has passed for him to stamp his mark on the leadership but it appears that he does not even have a stamp. All the signs are there he will be a three-year PM whatever happens at the polls whether or not the DEMS take the Government. He was too weak to deal with traitors and is now claiming that he had no proof. What more proof does he need than Sinckler being interviewed and quoted in the Nation. He is afraid of those whom he leads and that does not speak well for an effective PM.

I can agree with you on one point: Stuart is a THINKER, unfortunately, he is not a DOER.

I love his eloquence and his turn of phrase but those qualities do not inspire confidence in his ability to effectively run this country.

When Stuart realised that he was being undermined from within, he should have, punish the ringleader. I did not expect him to fire all the plotters but he should have,at least shot the General Sinckler to inspire the remainder of the troops.

You are aware that it is not without precedent in the DLP for somebody to emerge as political leader after the victory on election night. If the DEMS retains the Government at the next poll, I predict that he would not emerge as PM. I believe that he well knows that and that is his reason for the delay in calling the elections. He had a golden opportunity to do so recently when Owen Arthur blundered on the privatisation issue and he failed to capitalise on Arthur’s folly out of fear.

My analysis is not simplistic: it is spot on or you would not have bothered to take time to respond to my foolishness. By the way, what is your take on the quandary that the PM has created in his handling of the Alexandra affair? And do you think that Jeff Broomes would sit idly by and allow them to put him on special leave and install Joy Gittens without a fight?

20. Ask Mrs Ram when is elections. She made a slip when being interviewed that it is in March.

21. Cas

Well help me with my choice … Richard Sealy on the one hand and David Gill on the other. The third hand suggests stop to shite home … My God …!

22. @acswell
    “he failed to capitalise on Arthur’s folly out of fear”

I think it was more out of a set date at the furthest point in mind. To “capitalise” on a blunder mean changing course and adjusting on the fly. This is not the modus operandi of Stuart.

@islandgal
    Riddle me dis riddle me dat.

“Inniss close ‘um. Todd open ‘um, who will benefit from ‘um?”

Observing

23. @bAFBFP
    Ya running out of hands!!! lol.

24. not to forget the “socalled middle class are also govt employees whi would not like to have their jobs cut and Stuart has already sent them an olive branch unlike OSA 15 point plan

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Watching Carefully and Listening. | December 19, 2012 at 7:59 AM
    “What cannot be gainsaid is that Stuart has not been the very successful leader of a Government that has kept Barbados very stable during what has been the most difficult period the country had to face since emancipation.”

This is just a lot of propaganda baloney. Where is the evidence to support your claim? By increasing the national debt by over $2 billion in less than 5 years?

Since Emancipation this country has been through and survived two World wars and a riot with one or two hurricanes in between. If a global conflict were to break out today do you think Bim can survive by feeding itself?
    What hard times what? Barbados still boasts of having good foreign reserves and a very high standard of living. The majority of problems this country is facing are homegrown; some might have started under the previous administration but have bloomed and mushroomed under this present one.
    If Stuart is that great leader (if not the greatest in your dopy estimation) as you are claiming the shite that took place recently with our legal system would never have gotten that far to make this country the laughingstock of the English speaking world.
    Imagine it took three British women to bring justice to a citizen (despite his past convictions) and haul the whole law enforcement and legal system over the coals to expose it for what it is. One dysfunctional system in need of serious overhaul and cleansing.

26. @ millertheanunnaki

Welcome back buddy. Owen Seymore Arthur knows that his window of opportunity is gone or is closing quickly, hence his constant ‘call the damn election Freundel’ cry. All is not lost for the BLP because they will make a silk glove out of a pigs ear with the campaign contributions.The emphasis has already changed within the BLP from cncrentrating on winning the election to everyone in the party calling any and everyone they ever knew or met to beg for a campaign contribution. Why does all of the collections go into a single account controlled solely by a clown lawyer with a string of gambling establishments accross Barbados.

THIS OWEN’S LAST BIG FEED SO YOU KNOW HE GONNA PUT APPEARANCES UNTIL EVERY LAST CENT IS EXTRACTED FROM THE PARTY MACHINERY AND LODGED NICELY AND SECURELY IN THE BACK ACCOUNT CONTROLLED BY THE WHITE(ISH) LAWYER.

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Plastic Rain | December 19, 2012 at 11:32 AM |

Listen PR, the miller is not interested in the crap you are spewing.
    Why don’t you take a leaf out of Freundel’s book of integrity? He (Freundel) has already dismissed all of the corruption nonsense that you are still peddling. That’s old hat and surely passé

If you want to know about ‘misappropriation’ of campaign funds then go visit the St. John’s Parish Church yard and open the mausoleum with the markings: “First Families Account- Bequeathed by deed of gift from CLICO”.

28. @ millertheanunnaki

After the Anti-Corruption legislation is proclaimed in early January and each Minister has 90 days to file a declaration (punishable by law) what is Mia and Owen going to do? The DLP will have both the 2008 declarations by Mia and Owen and the 2013. Hmmmmmmmmm, very very interesting.

Owen is being painted into a very very tight corner, the two walls are already rubbing against his ass. He can’t go any further backwards, the next move is to jump on the spot or stoop down. Either one he ends up being crushed by the events.

I like watching a horror in slow motion, you know whats happening but the people in the movie can’t see whats about to befall them.

29. @ millertheanunnaki

Is that the BLP plan for the elections, to claim that Owen Arthur is not as corrupt and a dead and former DLP prime minister David Thompson?

What about the Kerrie Symmonds, he is a political waste of space and is the best the BLP can summons from within its ranks to take issues?

You do realise that Simmons plent real hand (and some foot) is the wife? At the end Arthur will have no legacy and Symmonds no career, professional or political.

30. @Observing (…)

The mystery in the election date is gone, the PM is serving out the 5-year mandate come what may. The privatisation debate would have levelled the platform for the DLP for sure.

31. An interesting bit of trivia by PR. now i await miller reply.

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

“political pundits have revised the election date to 12 February 2013 ”

There you go again!

First you said Nov. 2012 now you are saying 12 Feb. 2013.

I think that you should speculate on every day from now until Dec. 2013 and you will have to be right on one occasion.

You know what they say, ” a broken clock is right twice per day”.

33. If William Duguid has evidence that the QEH procurement system is suspect he should produce the it and stop hiding behind the privilege which parliament gives him.

34. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

BAFBFP

I don’t advocate staying at home. I believe that everyone that is eligible to vote should vote. However, I am not in the business of endorsing any particular candidate. If I have any influence, I do not intend to waste it on endorsing any particular candidate, sorry!

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | December 19, 2012 at 1:50 PM |
    “An interesting bit of trivia by PR. now i await miller reply.”

Ac, What do you want the miller to say?
    The people of Bim have an appointment with the court of privatization and the IMF is the sitting judge. Who is better placed to plead than the damned lying party (dlp)? Let them explain to the people in a few months’ time why the shameful but not expected volte face.
    If you, ac, think that we can continue borrowing and begging while driving around in our Mercedes and living high off the hog on OPM (other people’s money) well continue to live in kiddy kingdom.
    The first female PM of this country should not be tainted with the shit that is about to hit the fan. Let that be the ‘dark destroyer’ to her main rival.
    Pick sense from that, ac! Your plastic rain man can give you an umbrella to sit under while you cogitate and ruminate like the erstwhile sleeping giant now turn Don Quixote.

36. Voting means perpetuating/validating a campaign or process that you know does NOT work in your interest. Why the hell should I NOT stay at home …?

37. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Sanka Price has stepped up his campaigning recently and Pat Hoyos as usual trying to be the BLP press secretary.It is really shameful that instead of fair and balanced columns we get BLP sympathisers at The Nation newspaper who try to sway public opinion every week. Arthur hardly attends and contributes nothing to Parliament but you have never seen Brandford, Sanka or Hoyos write about that or lambaste him for drawing a big fat salary and absenting himself.The Nation columnists will never touch that topic. It is not part of their biased agenda.Every week, Sanka Price got questions for Sinckler , but for Arthur, he got amnesia.

The Nation newspaper is trying their all to help the BLP and Barbados is seeing right through their deceit.They put party and personality first and country second.
    Poor Kaymar- she missed and put one critical story about the BLP on the front page and got fired.You see what happens if you give Arthur power – Victimisation and more victimisation.

38. @Baffy

How can you be part of a system which you need to feed from to sustain your existence but see merit in disengaging from the very system.

Where is the logic?

39. @NationalBLP

T
    The reason you cited for Kaymar’s dismissal is not accurate and you know it.

40. David

I am forced to shop for some items. I am forced to pay taxes. Public servants get paid from this. I have not disengaged …

41. @Baffy

You don’t expect the intelligent on the blog to believe you are unable to separate the transactional from the cognitive?

i.e. There is the activity we all must perform and then to support the purpose of our existence we have to up the ante.

42. David’s wife (…t’ink I can’ tell the difference nah),

Wait, you like you up dey wid Miller, Pacha and Kiki. All I am saying is that the Political Administration of Barbados lead the way a couple weeks ago when they had the chance to vote for or against and they chose NOT to vote on the Palestinian nation at the UN. I am following the example that has been set.

43. St George's Dragon Avatar

I think Fumble Through-it’s view of life is summed up nicely in his comments about the Alexandra affair (Nation Sunday 16th December).
    “… (the report) has been passed on to the relevant agencies to do whatever is thought necessary to be done. I am confident that what needs to be done is being done. There is nothing that the Prime Minister …. has to do in relation to the report.”
    I have no problem with the Prime Minister stepping back and dealing with more Prime Ministerial matters as I don’t believe he should have involved himself in Alexandra in the first place. If his Education Minister could not handle it, he should have replaced him, not tried to do the job himself.
    My problem is with the fact that nothing is apparently being done.
    Probably the key recommendation of the report was that Broomes should be sent on special leave immediately. The Cabinet approved the report on 27th October. Seven weeks later this most fundamental recommendation has still not been acted on.
    Perhaps it is something to do with the fact that the “relevant agencies” were part of the original problem. From the report “…the evidence points strongly to the unwillingness .. or inability of the Ministry of Education … to proactively and decisively respond … to the numerous problems…” and “….consideration should be given to the …reorganisation ..of the Ministry… with the aim of ensuring that the Ministry operates proactively…”
    So do we have to wait until the Ministry has been reorganised until anything happens?
    Fumble chose to involve himself when the Alexandra problems were not being acted on or resolved. I have seen nothing to indicate that the recommendations of the report are being acted on or implemented now.
    Someone in Government needs to grab this issue and sort it out or it will be seen as another issue fumbled by the DLP. If Fumble is not going to see this through, he at least needs to show that he has given clear direction to one of his Ministers to make sure this is resolved.

44. @BAffy

Isn’t the government for the people? By following the government as you say you have displayed your hignorance of how the system is to serve YOU.

45. No David’s wife

The Public Service serves me.It will continue to serve me whether or not there is an Upper or Lower House in place. The public servants all know what is expected of them. Voting or not voting will not change that. Where there is ignorance is in the appreciation that political parties serve their monied supporters with the delivering of contracts. It is a business that facilitates other businesses and I, a simple consumer am not part of the activity. Sure they would send something my way from time to time, like a Primary School but not much else

46. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

One cannot deny the extent to which The Nation newspaper’s columnists refuse to write anything critical about Owen Arthur.

47. The solution is an active THIRD SECTOR not a third political party they are already represented.

48. @ Nation
    That is their RIGHT as long as they are not distorting facts. If we had less closet political yard fowls and columnists, public discourse would be more robust and enlightening.

49. @Baffy

Please state you have you divorced the functioning of the public service from our system of government of which the public service is a part?