BLP and DLP differ on privatization

It seems a philosophical difference has emerged between the two major political parties in Barbados. The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) is pushing the need to privatize and divest certain state agencies. Key BLP spokesmen have suggested we need to examine the ownership structure at the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC), Grantley Adams International Airport (GAIA), The Port Authority, Transport Board and a few others. The BLP also proposes that the state owned agency Barbados National Oil Company (BNOC) should never be allowed to accumulate profits with the result being higher energy cost passed through to Barbadians at this time.

On the weekend Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart in a quick reaction to the privatization debate has emphatically stated the DLP’s position. Education, health and other key sectors will not be privatized under a DLP government. The DLP’s energy policy to transition to alternate energy runs counter to the BLP’s policy of subsidizing energy . BNOC became technically insolvent under the last administration and it appears the current management policy has reversed the loss making trend. Is it that current profits of BNOC are being used to liquidate losses of prior years and at what social cost?

The next general election will be very soon – the Prime Minister despite his cat and mouse approach cannot avoid ringing the bell much longer – now is a good time for both political parties to ignite the debate about privatization of government assets. BU believes selling state assets must be more than making money. As a country and a people, how do we define national development? How is the character of Barbados and Bajans defined by the struggle to accumulate state assets which support and reflect who we are and want to be defined? BU continues to follow the debate with keen interest for several reasons.

It is disappointing that here is another issue destined to become embroiled in politics. The dismissive manner Prime Minister Stuart responded to the issue is unacceptable. The BLP seems to be suggesting that the urgency to privatize and divest is driven mainly by economic considerations. We all accept that we need to produce more. We need to become more efficient. However we also recognize that government has a major role to play in building out a quality society. The debate about government versus private ownership should be influenced by a philosophy. Philosophy in its most simple definition is a system of values by which one lives. This is where we must start the debate.

For many years Barbados despite its size has been held in high regard by countries blessed with greater resources. Why after pumping billions into educating our people we have to slavishly follow economic and social models designed by others to fit homegrown philosophies? It challenges the fact that we are critical thinkers. Why is it our educated class cannot design performance and communication systems which lead to increased productivity and efficiency in Barbados?

We all need to take a deep breath and understand the unprecedented challenge which Barbados faces, it calls for a new way of thinking.

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

millertheanunnaki(neitherBnorD)

How do you like AD on page 15 of the Barbados Advocate today dealing with OWEN SEYMORE ARTHUR?

It hits the nail right on the dont you think?

NCF GONE

EDUCATION GONE

HEALTH CARE GONE

BWA GONE

AIRPORT GONE

SEAPORT GONE

TRANSPORT GONE

CBC GONE

and with them JOBS GONE!

How many workers is it that the Barbados Labour Party will be firing again?

6000, 8000, 10000, 12000?

which number is correct, Kerry?

wunna is real PAROS in truth!

SELL, SELL, SELL.

I HAVE TO MAKE SURE THAT i KEEP MY WINDOWS AND DOORS LOCK FROM YOU ALL BARBADOS LABOUR PARTY PEOPLE.

You all might want to come into my house and sell my TV and DVD for $5.00.

BLP, DESPERATE, DESPERATE, DESPERATE!!!!

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“It will be a tight race”, “too close to call”, “romney in with a good chance”,

In spite of all the pollsters had to say, Romney got his clock cleaned.

The result was not even close!
    The same thing with Chavez, not even close, the pollsters got it wrong again.

Now Seethru and the REPUBLICAN PARTY OF BARBADOS(BLP) come with PARO POLITICS thinking that will fool Bajans.

Come again Seethru we are not so stupid.

3. Vote 4 Me Crowd of People Vote 4 Me

4. arseson.
    Why dont you say that the BLP will send home every public worker? Your problem is that your job will be gone! I could understand that it is in your self interest to terrorise the BLP.

5. DIDNT Freundel Stuart say that the DLP will win
    Isnt he in for a shock ?
    Romney said he would win too
    Anyhow Barbados is not America
    We cannot guage anything from America
    Lets look at Jamaica and St. Lucia

6. @Caswell
    Understandable, but the trades union movement MUST come out of the dark ages and employee ownership is part of the modern agenda. Skepticism should not trump the possible gains for workers.

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | November 7, 2012 at 1:52 PM |

You have given all the reasons why the Bajan electorate should return the DLP to power.
    The BLP can wait another 2 years and let the DLP do what has to be done.
    Let the lies come back to haunt them.

In less than 2 years the people will rise up against the DLP administration forcing it either to call elections or use force against the same society which the DLP claim is more than a economy.

A people gets the government it deserves. Good luck to you, DLP go for a second term and spare the BLP the horrible dirty task at hand.

BTW, where is ya brudda Denis? Is he MIA or is he being given some AID to help him recover?

8. Can anyone advise why a private would find the CBC attractive to buy?

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | November 7, 2012 at 5:16 PM |
    It can be given to the workers in lieu of redundancy packages.
    CBC is not vital to the workings of a modern Barbadian economy or society.
    If the workers don’t want to take it over then Bryan can buy it for a song to be another private sector prostituting mouthpiece of whichever party is in power.

10. @Miller

Your are very aware that a BLP. Government will NOT privatize the CBC.

11. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Enuff

I am not opposed to worker ownership or worker participation in any economic enterprise. Trade unions were pushing that concept when it was unpopular. Unfortunately, both parties seem to think that workers are fools and the only things on offer were the entities that nobody wanted.

On the other hand, many workers are timid getting involved in enterprises managed by trade union leaders for good reasons. Do you remember that the Transport Board was ill-advised to rid itself of the mechanical workshop, Sir Leroy imposed himself as leader and the result is failure and rebellion among the new employee owners.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | November 7, 2012 at 5:31 PM |

I keep telling you, David that this privatization matter officially has been taken out of the political football arena. The privatization vehicle will be driven by financial determinants and this country’s economic harsh realities.

Not by the hot air and harangue coming from the likes PM Freundel Stuart and Senator Jepter Ince or even Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley with both sides playing a phantom game before the critics and idiots in the audience.

One thing you must say on behalf of the BLP is that they have been the more sober of the lot and are indeed looking down the economic road that lies ahead for Barbados to travel.
    If you read Minister Sinckler’s speech to the BCCI you will see that he is reading from the same privatization page as the BLP. But of course that was to an enlightened business audience where bullshit does not walk too far. The stupid masses will be fooled until reality kicks in next year.

CBC is not any sacred cow in the coming dispensation. As a matter of fact, it has no economic or social importance in the grand scheme of things and this plaything of the politicians will be taken away like a toy from a spoilt brat.
    Check what is happening in Greece and you will get a foretaste of the coming medicine for Bim for living too long on the hog and way above its means. We are currently suffering the early effects arising from the complications of economic and social diabetes, hypertension, high cholesterol and blockage of both the circulatory and alimentary systems. We have a bad case of economic constipation that can only be cured by a heavy dose of privatization administered by a doctor from overseas.

13. HOW MUCH LONGER CAN A GOVT KEEP SINKING BLINDLY GOOD MONEY TO HEMORRHAGING TRANSPORT BOARD? The workers there don’t give a damm as long as it is Govt ran….a sure PAY PACK is their only care..not if the organization makes money.
    NOW if THE TRANSPORT BOARD was Privately owned and manage….THEY WOULD TAKE PARTICULAR CARE.

…not encourage wastage
    ….to give a fair days work for a fair days pay
    ….report theft of assets
    ….WISH THE ORGANIZATION TO BE PROFITABLE
    ……minimize wastage
    ……have general care whether it SINKS or SWIMS

DO YOU KNOW WHY??

THEIR JOBS WOULD BE DEPENDING ON PROFITABLE OPERATION>>

PRIVATIZE…..AND SEE THE TURN-A-ROUND…

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“PRIVATIZE…..AND SEE THE TURN-A-ROUND…”

And the last bus to many areas of Barbados will be 7.00pm.
    Dozens of hard working Bajans will loose their jobs as the REPUBLICAN PARTY OF BARBADOS(BLP) cause them to be fired.
    Pay $5.00 per trip.
    Watch more REPUBLICAN PARTY OF BARBADOS(BLP) Ministers get Mercedes Benzs as kick backs for the sale of the Transport Board as happen with a former REPUBLICAN PARTY minister.

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Also voters of Barbados, free bus fares for your children will be brought to an end.

Bus fares for children will cost upwards of $3.00 per trip. Just imagine, a single mother with three children sending them to school will have to look for a ton of money just to pay bus fare.
    This has nothing to do with the school fees she will now have to pay for each one of them to go to school. Remember the Education system in Barbados is to be SOLD, sorry I mean PRIVATISED,

Remember voters all of these services are now free under the Democratic Labour Party Government! So if you want them to remain free then you have to vote Democratic Labour Party.

Dont play with your future, reject the REPUBLICAN PARTY OF BARBADOS(BLP).

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

If you want to see how dangerous and misguied this SELL, SELL, SELL policy is.

take a look at our Land prices today in Barbados after the BLP “sell de Land” policy.

Land prices in many areas of Barbados have gone from $2.00 per square foot to $50.00 per square foot, many Bajans would love to purchase a piece of land in Barbados but thanks to the Barbados Labour Party that will always be a pipe dream because of the high prices. That is why the Democratic Labour Party now has an uphill task in meeting the needs of would be home owners. But thank God they are making measureable progress in this regards.

When the Barbados Labour Party sells everthing else, crappo smoke we pipe!

17. I like the way BU don’t even have a thread about Obama, that’s hardcore BLP/DLP/PDC, lazy or whatever

18. @Miller

Was this the mindset when Arthur took on the OECD and the Shiprider causes? Do we surrender our right to exercise our will?

19. hey and also look at america election how the masses rose up in numbers and said NO to big business owned by private enterprises who have fleece the the poor and destroyed the world’s economic with their trickled down economics . nothing wrong with free enterprises but with the “bulls” that own them and the greed that consume them giving no thought or concern for the labour and labourers which give their all and receives nothing having govt own assets being controlled by private entities would give the same results in barbados leaving bajans to fend for themselves and govt having to hold the hands of thousands of citizens unprecedant and never seen in this country before ,

20. BAJANS! americans poor and minorities have sent a message around the world to developing countries “BEWARE OF WOLVES IN SHEEP CLOTHING” pay attention closely. the modern day capitalist are going to be the undoing of the free enterprise market what a sad day that after the big corporations have feasted off the fatted lamb that being the govt through subsidies and the poor who have given them free labour that big business keep asking for more and giving back crumbs that falls of their tables to the tireless labourers what a shame please note that even Asian came out and support Obama as they should know the hardships and and tireless hours working under poor conditions that their families endures administered by their govt in support for Private enterprise take note barbados ! take note a message has been sent yesterday millions of people in america predominately hard workers spoke out against what wrong with the rich and wealthy taking advantage of the poor through a system of democracy that is supposed to benefit all with that kind of attitude democracy would fail and god forbid what it would be replaced with listen up all all is not lost just keep fighting for that which is right against the evils of greed that infects civilised societies across the world may democracy prevail against all that is wrong.

21. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

AC

The first time I heard the term, “trickled down Economics” was during the Richie Haynes’ back raise in 1986. Big businesses got the concessions and we are still waiting for the trickle, so the DLP should really claim ownership and stop trying to pass off their misdeeds.

Also not caring a thing about workers is also a DLP thing. In 1991 they cut wages and salaries by 8%: remove 3,000 people from the Public Service, and if that was not bad enough they cut severance pay and unemployment benefits for those who were sent home. I know of one person who was looking forward for his severance cheque because it would have been in excess of $100,000. When they cut he got $47,000. They even cut overtime rates for customs officers which were paid by the importers: it was not a cost to Government.

During the debate to amend the Constitution to ban the reduction of salaries in the Public Service, I was present in the House to hear Freundel Stuart say when they return to power and saw the need to cut salaries again they would just re-amend the Constitution.

When the DLP returned to office in 2008, their first order of business was dismissing 13 workers from the UDC, sorry that was the second order, the first was firing George Edghill which eventually cost the Government over $800,000.

AC stop this stupid propaganda: all of us do not have short memories.

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac:

Now what do you have to say about what is written @ Caswell Franklyn | November 8, 2012 at 6:58 AM |?
    Do you now understand why you are called a blatant liar?
    While you are concocting another brew of lies can you tell us which party is associated with jada and preconco as part of this trickle down economics in the DLP housing programme and commercial construction projects?
    Are these public sector entities or from the same private sector which you vehemently despise when its suits you or when you want to lampoon the BLP and its support of the inevitable privatization of some of the State’s commercial assets and functions?

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | November 7, 2012 at 10:52 PM |
    “… Do we surrender our right to exercise our will?”

We have already done that.
    You definitely know that the need for forex drives every economic and commercial decision at the national or macro level in Barbados.

The continuous selling off of commercial assets to foreign interests especially to Trinidadians has already sealed the sovereign deal. We have been sold down the river with the BL&P plant and now the vestiges of the shareholding in RBTT (note emphasis on RBTT and not BNB to plunge the dagger further in our sovereign bone).

Our dependence on forex for our day-to-day survival is like insulin to a pernicious diabetic.
    Barbados is like a person who has lived way above their means through loans and freebies (punching above its weight in Bim’s case) that now finds their job on the line because of poor performance and very low productivity in a competitive market and with no more easy access to loans to finance its highfalutin life style.

What sovereignty what? There is no political sovereignty without economic control or influence over your national resources including agriculture.
    Yes, Bim is a society, but it must first have a vibrant economy and forex is the life blood.
    These economic fields and hills once under our recall are no longer our very own.

Whether it is D or B sitting in the “pseudo-political manager’s chair” let us all welcome the arrival of the bailiffs or, to use a fancy label, ‘administrators’ to greet the morning sun or in Bim’s case witness the setting economic sun!

24. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

AC

You do not have to be ashamed: call it what it is, it is fatted calf, not fatted lamb. Why can’t you say fatted calf? Come on let’s hear it.

25. @Miller. Keep going. You are absolutely right and I support you fully.

26. It seems like ac struck a raw nerve in somebody or some people as..s. yuh all listen to the message of the sleeping giants the america electorate dumbies they not crazy they know of what they speak. It is not about welfare and handouts the message is clear and distinct that private corporations hoard the wealth and the laboures reap little don,t kick a gift horse in the mouth for in all if this many might benefit

27. The first thing that happens when a Government entity is privatized is that the fat is trimmed unless Government provides subsidies to keep the workers employed.

I keep reading that government workers are not very “productive”.

How will privatization change that mindset.

Remember you have to have profit making before profit sharing.

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I do not trust any political party that puts profit ahead of people.

Hence my dislike of the Republican Party of America and my dislike of the Republican Party of Barbados(BLP).

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | November 8, 2012 at 10:03 AM |
    “I do not trust any political party that puts profit ahead of people.”

So why does the DLP award all the big contracts to jada and jada alone?
    Why not spread the work and profit among more “small black businesses that the DLP falsely claim to favour and have their backs.
    Why let one politician rake off $17 million? What about the others since it is the DLP’s style to carve up the fatted calf among the family, even the black sheep members like you.

We still waiting to hear from ya brudda Denis. When next you see him ask him about putting profit before people. Even Allard would not do such.

30. Owen Arthur’s THREE (3) BEST examples of his actions and views on Privatisation are as follows :

1. GEMS project – A BLP administration helping out their BLP party supporters e.g Bree St. John family.

(SADDLE THE BAJAN TAXPAYERS WITH……DEBT )

2. GREENLAND project – A BLP administration helping out their BLP contractor friends e.g Liz Thompson’s husband company and Jose & Jose (a.k.a # 1 in the # 2 business !)

(LEFT THE BAJAN TAXPAYERS HOLDING A HEAVY SHITTY BAG…….OF DEBT)

3. Owen Arthur depositing that whopper $750,000.00 cheque into his PRIVATE bank account – by that time Owen was only interested in PRIVATISING himself !

(LEFT THE BLP PARTY……..IN BEBT)

Why would Barbadians return such a SCAMP and LIAR to the corridors of Baystreet ?

BY YOUR ACTIONS AND WORDS YOUR ARE KNOWN !

He will be treated just like MITT ROMNEY .

As PM Stuart said…….Onions & Miller can keep Owen Arthur !

I am Barack Obama …………….and I approve this message !

31. @ David,

On US blogs, the administrator often remove comments that are blatantly false and scandalous. If there is one time that you should start exercising that right, is as a result of the above comment. It certainly fits that to a T. The posting is downright nasty.

When this operative out of George Street can post such blatant filth, it is really scary to think how nasty this campaign is going to be.

The Dems cannot run on their record, they know that things are hard, hard in this country and people are suffering badly. The only persons doing well are those who hang around George Street and have access to the fatted calf and like CCC and what he like to say, access to the Treasury.

I despair for my country!

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Prodigal Son | November 8, 2012 at 11:33 AM |

I cant understand why Barbados Labour Party supporters are so allergic to the truth.

If you want to upset Barbados Labour Party people just speak the truth.

Nothing “Barack O bomber” said above is untrue, but prodigal son is getting heartburn from it.

33. CCC,

Speaking the truth is not synonymous with the DLP. You would not know the truth even if it was coming at you like a bolt of lightening.

By the way, tell us how much of CLICO’s money was spent by the DLP last time. Tell us of the buy your vote madness that went on in St Michael North West that David Ellis spoke about on Wednesday!

34. @Prodigal Son

Do you think we don’t know when blindly partisan commenters are posting crap? It destroys their credibility.

35. I guess so, David. Thanks, though.

36. I have been reading and listening to Clyde Mascoll on the issue of forex and the economy. He is reported to have said that we have an extra $300,000 or so in reserves above what is an acceptable minimum of 12 weeks. The message I seem to be getting from him is that there is adequate room for more domestic led growth without affecting reserves.

He might be right, but I am not sure that in such an uncertain environment that you want to even play close to the minimum. Is there anything so wrong about erring on the side of caution to stay out of the hands of the IMF?

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Prodigal Son | November 8, 2012 at 3:06 PM

tell us about the $5million which was transfered from the Ministry of Finanace to the Vat department to pay Vat returns just before the last elections which has disappeared int thin air?

The amount is still on the Vat dept. books up to today.

38. The Anti-American get invite ta the Sunday Brass Tack show to talk ’bout Privatisation Policy and he refuse the offer. I hear that the Starcom crew wanted to find out if he did White fah truf … HA HA HA …

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Prodigal Son | November 8, 2012 at 3:06 PM

How much money will end up in the overseas bank accounts of REPUBLICAN PARTY OF BARBADOS(BLP) ministers if they get the chance to engage in the rampant selling of state assets as proposed by the REPUBLICAN PARTY OF BARBADOS(BLP)?

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ BAFBFP | November 8, 2012 at 6:13 PM |

Your man Peter W revealed your anti-privatization identity on today’s Brasstack show. The polls man Wickham out-talked you and had you on the back foot.

BTW, BAF, what is your position on outsourcing the School Meals Service?
    The service can be put up for tender on a 7 year basis with the hardware facilities leased on a similar time basis to the successful business.

What about giving the workers the existing plant to manage and an annual transfer from the Treasury to cover the average or standard cost of supplying school meals to needy students plus a decent profit margin?

41. Miller

You got to meet some of these ruthless bitches that people refer to as businessmen hear .. That is point one.

Point two is the Barak phenomenon. Once outsourced, the gov’ment ain’ obliged to pay a red cent for services rendered.

As it is the chil’ren getting feed and as a tax payer that is one Government service that I have absolutely NO problem with. Sorry to disappoint you …!

42. Miller;

The Anti-American is one ah de onliest people pun de planet that mek Wichkam change he mind ’bout anyt’ing hear … He din pun nah back foot, lemma tellya HA HA HA

43. @CCC

“I do not trust any political party that puts profit ahead of people.”

You mean like BNOC? Or only if they appoint to a Constituency Council with a $125 per month stipend?

44. Who going to the Privatizion forum Saturday?

Mia and Clydos starring with Hoyos supporting and Wickham directing.

45. @Miller

Mascoll is on record to say the school mails is peanuts.

46. After being raked over the hot coals in george street for conceding defeat by saying let the BLP deal with Barrack and Clico after the elections Carson Cadogan seems to be having a panic attack.
    He needs help. Call the doctor he seems delirious.Maybe its dengue or lepto.
    Maybe its parvo. Call the vet. Give him an enema as hes so full of SH###################################TTTTTTTTTTTTTTT.

47. Peter Wickham manipulates callers on Getting down to Brass tacks to get them to bash the government every time he is on. You could hear the glee in this voice.
    He confessed today that the DLP is getting him sick with their support of the right wing church in Barbados.
    The right wing church stands against all things which Peter stands for.
    We are not the US and will therefore not introduce same sex marriage. If the BLP is promising you that then go ahead and manipulate the population into believing that this government is the worse ever.

Your next poll will show the BLP winning with a greater margin but Mitt Romney internal polling projected him to get 330 Electoral College votes.

Romney’s Florida campaign has acknowledged their candidate lost in Florida as well. Romney already conceded the national race after he lost the other battleground states.
    “The numbers in Florida show this was winnable,” Brett Doster, Florida advisor for Romney, said in a statement. “We thought based on our polling and range of organization that we had done what we needed to win. Obviously, we didn’t, and for that I and every other operative in Florida has a sick feeling that we left something on the table. I can assure you this won’t happen again.”
    You may have to make a statement like the above shortly.

48. Sorry Carson i really wish u well.

49. @David re : Prodigal son and CCC
    You should do well to remind Prodigal Son as well that it is easy to rate some of the nastiness that he / she continues to spew on this blog EVEN about private citizens. Since when did he / she become a symbol of rectitude ?

50. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Can any of the REPUBLICAN PARTY OF BARBADOS(BLP) jokers on this blog tell me how much percentage of the sale of Barbados will go into their offshore bank accounts?

Will it be 5%, 10%, 20% of every sale?

Lets see now, the sale of the Transport Board about $200million, that should yield for the lucky minister anyway from $10million to $40million, not a bad payday.

Add to that thesale of the BWA, Education system, Health care system, NCC, Parliament buildings, the Boardwalk,etc., etc.

Wow, the world’s next richest man will no doubt be a Bajan BLP minister.

Which one of them will it be?