BLP and DLP differ on privatization

It seems a philosophical difference has emerged between the two major political parties in Barbados. The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) is pushing the need to privatize and divest certain state agencies. Key BLP spokesmen have suggested we need to examine the ownership structure at the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC), Grantley Adams International Airport (GAIA), The Port Authority, Transport Board and a few others. The BLP also proposes that the state owned agency Barbados National Oil Company (BNOC) should never be allowed to accumulate profits with the result being higher energy cost passed through to Barbadians at this time.

On the weekend Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart in a quick reaction to the privatization debate has emphatically stated the DLP’s position. Education, health and other key sectors will not be privatized under a DLP government. The DLP’s energy policy to transition to alternate energy runs counter to the BLP’s policy of subsidizing energy . BNOC became technically insolvent under the last administration and it appears the current management policy has reversed the loss making trend. Is it that current profits of BNOC are being used to liquidate losses of prior years and at what social cost?

The next general election will be very soon – the Prime Minister despite his cat and mouse approach cannot avoid ringing the bell much longer – now is a good time for both political parties to ignite the debate about privatization of government assets. BU believes selling state assets must be more than making money. As a country and a people, how do we define national development? How is the character of Barbados and Bajans defined by the struggle to accumulate state assets which support and reflect who we are and want to be defined? BU continues to follow the debate with keen interest for several reasons.

It is disappointing that here is another issue destined to become embroiled in politics. The dismissive manner Prime Minister Stuart responded to the issue is unacceptable. The BLP seems to be suggesting that the urgency to privatize and divest is driven mainly by economic considerations. We all accept that we need to produce more. We need to become more efficient. However we also recognize that government has a major role to play in building out a quality society. The debate about government versus private ownership should be influenced by a philosophy. Philosophy in its most simple definition is a system of values by which one lives. This is where we must start the debate.

For many years Barbados despite its size has been held in high regard by countries blessed with greater resources. Why after pumping billions into educating our people we have to slavishly follow economic and social models designed by others to fit homegrown philosophies? It challenges the fact that we are critical thinkers. Why is it our educated class cannot design performance and communication systems which lead to increased productivity and efficiency in Barbados?

We all need to take a deep breath and understand the unprecedented challenge which Barbados faces, it calls for a new way of thinking.

1. @David
    “The dismissive manner Prime Minister Stuart responded to the issue is unacceptable”.

My problem with the PM is that he is not even willing to entertain any discussion even with the MOF saying that 70% of the transfers go to paying salaries. Do we know if any of these statutory corporations do any chargeables for any of the services they provide?

The PM said on Sunday that he would not hand over the administration of health, education or transportation to the private sector. And here is where he does not care about this country….the DLP will never leave the masses exposed……their mantra….. Barbados is more than an economy, it is a society. Well from their actions, it is now clear that they have allowed the economy to deteriorate and the society is in danger.

We are in a serious mess if this government has to borrow every month to pay 7000 civil servants. When will it stop?

Can you imagine the DLP has the nerve to print T-shirts with the word gimmicks on it? After the tricks of 2008?

2. @ David

“We all need to take a deep breath and understand the unprecedented challenge which Barbados faces, it calls for a new way of thinking.”
    Good luck.
    Such expectations on your part are likely to convert you to bushmanship…. 🙂

What Bushie finds surprising is that people (albeit not the most intelligent among us) want to take on the roles of leaders of these societies that we have inherited. You call them unprecedented challenges, Bushie calls it a mortally wounded Titanic.

Take the issue of the BNOC profit of $6M. What a nonsense issue. Bushie would have thought that BLP was a bit more intelligent than to ride this non issue.

In an environment where government is earning significantly LESS than it is spending, how can it be an issue that a government agency is “making a profit?”. All this does is reduce government’s need to raise taxes otherwise or to incur greater balance of payment deficits.

Obviously if they reduce the cost of fuel, brilliant Bajans will just INCREASE their usage – compounding the import in-balance. The price of fuel should be raised to the level where Bajans exercise PRUDENT use of a very expensive resource….whatever THAT is.

There are really only two solutions, and Mascoll claims to have hit on one “after three years of research” LOL (of course he could have just asked the bushman…like he used to do at school….)

The first (and better one) is to increase our level of national productivity to match (or preferably exceed) our standard of living. This would presently call for an approximately 30% increase in national productivity.
    ….not a likely outcome given our propensity to give jobs to our kith and kin and to political yard fowls, resulting in square pins in round holes.

The second option is to REDUCE our standard of living to match our current level of productivity. this would call for a 33% CUT in our standard of living…..ie a devaluation of our dollar from 2 =1 $US to 3 =1 $US. (Or, since our exchange rate is sacrosanct, an across the board salary cut for all Bajans of 33%. 🙂

BUT…Since this will not happen either, we need to draw close to the lifeboats….

3. @Bush Tea

The sadness with the issue playing out about the degree of privatisation we should engage is our unwillingness to recognise the urgency of now.

4. @ David

Based on how things played out at BNB, we know what privatisation meets to the BLP. The BLP already know what Trinidad entities they intend to sell Transport Board, GAIA, Barbados Port Inc and BWA to, trust me.

5. @ David

Why does the BLP not tell the bajan people the name of the conglomerate from Trinidad that has being dying to buy the BWA from the GOB?

The BWA could easily change hands to the private sector in Port of Spain and be renamed (a few years laters after bajan cool down), Neal & Massey Water. Imagine that Sir Alan whispering to OSA, “sell the BWA to Neal & Massey, we gine make a killing”

6. To those saying that BNB has added 200+ employees, don’t talk too fast.

On 6 November 2012 17:27, Barbados Underground

7. The “urgency of now” requies long term planning somewhat plans which are devoid in the proposed privitisation. right now what is being offered is an quick fix our easy solutions the question which needs to be ask how is Privitastion going to lead to long term growth and what are the impacts on society can it sustain itself in the long run without govt support.

8. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

The Alexandra REPORT does not worth the paper it is printed on. It is the biggest bunch of nonsense ever seen and the paper it is written does not even have the value of toilet paper , the one filled with shit, at least shit is manure and has some value.

9. WHY not learn the TRUTHS first….and quell the fictions…its all about minimizing WASTAGE…can we afford not to ?

Facts and Fundamental Differences Between Public and Private Sector Financial Management
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    The following is an extract by Jared Lewis.

Financial management in the public sector and private sector differ significantly. Those who have experience in one of these areas may not necessarily be ready for financial management in the other sector due to some of these differences. In the “Journal of Management Studies,”

Accounting

Accounting methods used in both private and public sector financial management differ significantly. For instance, in the private sector, financial managers and accountants are bound by the Generally Accepted Accounting Principles, or GAAP, methodology for accounting. This is a set of practices, such as the double-entry accounting method, used to ensure financial accuracy and uniformity. In the public sector, these methods may also be used, but it is not that unusual to deviate from them, as well. This is seen in areas such as budgeting where public sector financial managers are not necessarily bound by accrual accounting methods.
    Profit

Government agencies are not necessarily profit-driven in the same way that private businesses and corporations tend to be. In the private sector, financial managers are generally motivated by profit and pushed to maintain a bottom line or a minimum level of profitability. On the other end of the spectrum are the financial managers in the public sector who do not necessarily have a bottom line to maintain. Instead, they may be task-oriented or driven by some other motivating force endemic to the specific type of work the organization is focused on daily.
    Context

Another fundamental difference between public and private financial managers is the context in which they operate. This context can make all the difference when it comes to how each approaches his work. The profit-driven financial manager in the private sector will generally have the leeway to get done what needs to be done in order to maintain the bottom line. With public sector financial managers, various constraints may prevent the manager from acting with a great deal of autonomy. The manager may be subject to legislative and regulatory constraints that prevent autonomous action. The political framework of the public sector may pit bureaucratic financial managers against elected officials on occasion, causing significant limitations to getting the job done.
    Decisions

The differences in the decision-making process between public and private sector financial managers are closely related to the context of operation. In private sector financial management, decisions are generally made from the top and are filtered down through the hierarchy of the business as the financial manager hands off the orders or directions to those below him on the company food chain. In public sector management, it is not so simple. Public sector financial managers often have to work with political constituencies and navigate between competing interest groups. Important financial decisions are often rendered by creating coalitions and support. Decisions cannot typically be handed down and passed off to the next in command without some type of public sanction or approval.

10. @Time Bomb Atom | November 6, 2012 at 1:32 PM |

Why does the BLP not tell the bajan people the name of the conglomerate from Trinidad that has being dying to buy the BWA from the GOB?…………..

Maybe you could ask Hal Gollop if the same bankers/lawyers he has been liaising with on behalf of the same BWA are interested in buying. Just think about it, if he could get 1.5 million for writing a letter just think of how much he could get for a sale.

You Dems are something else. You are always making deals and when get caught, you blame the Bees!

11. @Time Bomb

Why don’t you fill in the gaps for us?

Early feedback suggest the AX Report will generate more questions than answers.

12. What does Owen Arthur mean by this statement attributed to him in the press?

“Privatization just doesn’t mean selling to the private sector,” he said. “It really means getting the private sector more involved in developing Barbados. The country urgently needs that now.”

13. @ Onions
    Why don’t you stop copying and pasting extracts that are beyond your comprehensive skills? the ONLY difference that you understand between Public and private sector ownership is that your political masters are currently pushing privatization while the other side is against it.

In simple English.

Any country worth its salt would ensure that it retains control of certain important aspects of its citizen’s business. Particularly a country that has (relatively) recently emerged from a state of SLAVERY where our fore parents WERE OWNED lock stock and barrel, you would think that there is some element of PRIDE in being MASTERS OF OUR OWN FATE.

Privatization is the process where political WHORES, in their quest for personal profit, and as an expression of their INCOMPETENCE to properly manage the national assets of this country, are seeking to sell out our BIRTHRIGHTS for a measly pot of porridge.

When a national leader could spend as much on education as we have done in Barbados, and then BRAG that HIS national bank was better managed, more profitable, and more productive since he sold it out to outsiders (who spend less per capita on educating THEIR people) he is only underlining HIS OWN incompetence and lack of vision.

Privatization of national assets is an admission of NATIONAL FAILURE of leadership.

The DLP is equally out to sea in terms of a sensible approach.

This inane idea that they will keep everyone employed is a lot of BALONY. It is impractical, illogical and IDIOTIC. When the loans end we ALL will be up $hit street.

The Government should COMMIT to keeping everyone who ARE PRODUCTIVELY, GAINFULLY and MEANINGFULLY contributing to national productivity employed and paid.
    ….ALL OTHERS SHOULD BE DIRECTED TO THE PRIVATE SECTOR or to self employment.
    Anyone accepting a leadership position and who are incapable of effectively managing the portfolio that comes with the job is just looking to FRIG up the country (as Onions would say)

14. Onions,
    Privatization….
    It is like a man who is unable, on a salary of $2000 per month to look after his family and upkeep the home. So he decides to sell the house to a Trini and rent it back. He also decides to buy food from a GT woman, get a Lucian to wash and look after the family and pay a Canadian to look after the finances…..while he limes by rum shop.

For the $2000 he now has a steady meal, the house is smaller, but not leaking, and the children got accustomed to the GT food.

Does that make him a MAN, and a good parent? Or does it merely take him back to the (good?) old days on the plantation? What does it do to his children? …. And why does he think the various bosses schedule those regular sessions with his wife and elder daughters?

What Privatization What?!?

15. Perhaps one of the most embarrassing moments for the BU household was the announcement it had no interest in selling back majority interest to the Barbados government.

16. Are we so unintelligent a people?
    Where was it said by the BLP that they were going to privatise education? As far as I gather, the Opposition is merely seeking to expand what already exists not cede education to the private sector. Private education at the pre-school, primary and secondary level has always existed in Barbados and has expanded, and will continue to, as demand is growing. While the latter is happening, government is consolidating its primary schools–George Lamming and Gollop being the latest examples. Less public schools means less maintenance costs, salaries and overall public expenditure in the long term. Whether we want to admit it or not, private primary school will become more desirous for parents and if the government incentivises that opportunity it would be a win-win situation for all involved. if the government could get more private sector involvement at this level they would then be able to deliver a far better quality of education–special needs, smaller classes, better facilities etc.
    Public transportation is a gold mine–hybrid buses, CNG buses, proper scheduling and readily available info at bus stops, weekly/monthly/yearly discounted cards.

17. Was not this government going to buy back the shares in BNB?

18. Nov 6, 2012, Offer & Takeover Bid Circular from Republic Bank Limited Avatar
    Nov 6, 2012, Offer & Takeover Bid Circular from Republic Bank Limited

Received an Offer & Takeover Bid Circular, today, from Republic Bank Limited… offer price is $5.00, closing December 4, 2012… hope the Prime Minister and the Minister of Finance reject the offer…

19. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

This privatisation debate between BLP and DLP is a diversionary tactic. Owen Arthur is on record as saying that the workers would be allowed to buy shares in state entities that they would be placing on the auction / chopping block. Is he crazy? What are the workers going to pay with? These workers who have been going into savings to pay for food and utilities. These workers who go into the supermarket and when they reach the cashier the supervisor is called to void things like meat and vegetables.

Public sector workers have not seen an increase in wages and salaries since 2008: what the hell are they going to pay with? When the workers are unable to pay, the shares allocated to them would be reallocated to those few with deep pockets. Why should a state asset that should benefit the entire society be sold off so that the returns would go to a selected few.

I know that the reaction would be that they are not making money now. My reply would be: what would make them profitable after divestment? The short answer would be competent management. All that is required now would be a situation where Government put competent management in place. Right now most statutory corporations and government-owned companies are managed by a bunch of political cronies who could not manage a lemonade stand. When they are privatised the first thing that would happen is that the new owners, who would be profit driven, is the replacement of the current square pegs.

Cast your minds back to the Transport Board workshop. You would recall that the BWU and the workers ran rings around the management and we now have an entity called UCAL that is controlled by Sir Leroy. For years, these workers would drink alcohol and play dominoes all day at a shop at the entrance to the Transport Board. At 4:30 they would start working for overtime rates and management was powerless to do anything about because they were protected by the BWU. The Transport Board is now paying more for maintenance, privatisation what! We want leaders whose main reason for seek political office is the welfare of this country and not enriching themselves and friends.

I AM NOT VOTING FOR ANYONE WHO TELLS ME UP FRONT THAT HIS SOLUTION OUR ECONOMIC PROBLEMS WOULD BE SELLING THE PATRIMONY OF BARBADIANS. I would hold my nose and canvass and vote for this incompetent lot that currently hold the reins of office.

20. Well said Caswell, Bushie is almost tempted to forgive you on the AC matter 🙂

Further to your point about where poor Bajans would find the money to buy state assets ….answer Bushie this question…

Who does these state assets BELONG to?

NOT BAJANS?

….so when Arthur now says that he intends to sell these assets to Bajans and not foreigners is he telling us that he plans to sell us OUR OWN ASSETS????
    …Is Arthur calling us jackasses? “He is proposing to sell us our own things which we vote to put him in charge of….!!!
    EVEN IF WE HAD THE MONEY Caswell, we would all be a bunch of idiots to buy what already belongs to us.
    🙂
    Now that you have come to the understanding that what we NEED is competent management and high productivity, is it becoming any clearer why we need your Barbados Unity Party? …..and why we need a National Supervisory Committee (New Senate) under your chairmanship?

21. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

When they sell our assets that currently belong to all of us: it will only be some of us that would be able to buy them, and most certainly the new owners would be politicians’ friends and the same politicians who would purchase them through family owned companies and blind trust.

22. Another thing is that most of these corporations are blatantly inefficient. A lot of taxpayers money is going in and relatively little is coming out. As they are, if they were private they would have been shut down long time. Taxpayers’ money is supporting inefficency and cannot be sustained with the present economy. I don’t think that any government would privatize health or education for example, but in these times would try to lighten the load the other corporations are causing with as little pain as possible

23. LOL
    Caswell, you may have noted that even though BUP is ‘your’ party Bushie don’t plan to give you any pick in the Lower House.
    You slated for the Senate skippa.
    Not a boy ain’t going to vote for you. Your mouth too big bozie!!! Besides you just like Sir Roy. Your talent is running rings around management and other big shots, not managing people’s business.

Bushie got the whole thing planned. The other important point is to exclude the following professions from membership of the BUP:
    -Lawyers
    -Economists (whatever that is….)
    -Pollsters (if their initials are PW)
    -Old smelly Onions 🙂

24. No surprise Caswell, it is your democratic right to vote for the jokers we have running this country that as you admitted, people have to go into their savings to live. We are going deeper down in the deep hole and the DLP has no idea how to climb back up.

The BLP has said we need to look at privatising some entities, let’s have a debate on the pro’s and con’s.

We definitely need a change in the direction in which this country is going and the DLP does not have the answers and they have run out of any ideas.

By the way, where is the report from Moody’s? Was this not due in October?

25. “When they sell our assets that currently belong to all of us: it will only be some of us that would be able to buy them”
    Actually we would be back to square ONE.

Right now, these politicians take our money (taxes) and as JahArmy says, channel it to their cronies and political allies through the various state owned agencies.
    If Arthur is able to trick us into buying what we already own, as you said Caswell, it will be these same cronies who will end up with both the control of the business AND the profits, that will suddenly be made AT THE EXPENSE OF JOBS AND PRODUCT COST TO BAJANS.

If Stuart does NOT sell our things to others, (or to US again like Arthur) then he will simply continue to take our money (taxes) and channel it to HIS political cronies (like ac and she lawyer husband).

Heads the politicians win, Tails the people lose. 🙂

26. Bushie
    You does talk so much….Sh88te….(lloa)…spida man and spida woman, the Sh88te pit cleaners for Black Rock… long gone dead and buried from D 60’s….begging to come back to get a load of U.

27. Bushie don’t know what you waiting for Caswell.
    …..remember a certain preacher used to repeat that “Christ is the Answer”
    ….well politically for Barbados ..” BUP is the answer….”

28. LOL @ Onions
    ….so what if Bushie talking bare sh88te? What give you that exclusive right? 🙂
    Bushie read your article on Citizen Rights and had to rush to the bathroom….

29. Left to Owen’s obsession with selling land at its highest economic value the short fellow could’nt be bothered if he sells his third wife his children and the island’s complete patrimony to demonstrate he can place BIM on a growth path.
    What workers buying statutory corporations what.

Imagining old arrogant rum bibber Arthur, the likes of Gail Marshall, Wuk for Wuk, Mia “Lessie” Mottley, Muscle Mary Mary Noel Lynch, Georgie ” Roy Morris” Payne, holding the reigns of power in Barbados again gives me the urge to hawk spit puke.

30. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Prodigal Son

I readily admit that the present Government has no idea where to take this country. But what would be the use of changing them for another group that is similarly placed. When they run out of state assets to sell, what will they do? These statutory corporations and state-owned companies can be profitable if they are allowed to function free from political interference, and then they would cease to be burdens on the Treasury and might even contribute something.

31. bushie i see you take a swipe at me and my” significant other” but thats all right cause WE too paytaxes and mostlikely more than you .

32. @ Onions
    Bushie was looking for your sorry behind at last Friday night reunion, but you probably was buzzing ’bout making up a number at some party do…..If Bushie had seen you, ya would have found out which God you serving….

Wunna Bees does sing the national Anthem though?
    ….bout how our forefathers sowed the seeds…..
    …and how these fields and hills beyond recall ARE NOW OUR VERY OWN….
    …bout being STRICT GUARDIANS OF OUR HERITAGE
    …FIRM CRAFTMEN OF OUR FATE….

Thanks to wunna we now need a new last verse
    Like this…..

Arthur has been the people’s guide
    past fourteen years or so
    With him back up by Baystreet side
    We’ll have nothing more to go
    ‘tween him and Stuart the fields are gone
    to Trinidadians..
    and Light and Power our energy
    Is now Emera’s own.

33. @ac
    bushie i see you take a swipe at me and my” significant other”
    Sorry ac, but you and your significant other are like walking targets. You here on BU antagonizing Onions and Miller and your husband the lawyer probably antagonizing his clients and the public at large like all Bajan lawyers.

Live with it!

What taxes what? You know any lawyers that pay their fair share of taxes? …and how much taxes do you pay? …sitting around all day cussing Onions and miller? 🙂

Bushie’s taxes is probably more than you and your lawyer husband’s combined salaries…. 🙂

34. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I was at the reunion and you did not come over and say hello.

35. bushie @ac
    Bushie’s taxes is probably more than you and your lawyer husband’s combined salaries….

you might be right as far as our salaries !

36. @ Caswell
    What Bushie actually said was “hi”. …and then moved in on the fish cakes. 🙂
    …you were always a smart fellow Casie, but you don’t keep well – like David….. So Bushie does keep a good distance, least you raise certain topics and then put two and two together….

37. JahArmy | November 6, 2012 at 7:03 PM |
    Another thing is that most of these corporations are blatantly inefficient. A lot of taxpayers money is going in and relatively little is coming out.
    ………………………………………………………………………….
    Quite true. Saw a 70 + seater bus on Fordes Road tonight, with only a few passengers aboard. This is something that happens all the time. If one takes a look at the over 20 buses leaving the Fairchild St bus stand at nights , the majority carrying 20 passengers or less, and they are all 70 seaters. The smaller 30 seaters would be better utilised here ,saving the taxpayers much in terms of fuel costs and wear and tear. Its obvious that the Transport Board administrators need some exposure in Logistics and Transport.

38. @ Caswell

“These statutory corporations and state-owned companies can be profitable if they are allowed to function free from political interference. . . ”
    ===========================

As laudable as these sentiments may be, in the end we all know that that is just another argument for the status quo, because no such thing is ever going to happen.

39. @Caswell

You are aware that as a country we have to find a way to leverage the millions sitting in the banks?

40. @ Caswell
    As a Trades Union leader I thought you would be supporting any attempt to empower workers and all now would be researching ways workers could own Transport Board.

41. If elected Owen should make Bizzy Minister of state responsible for privatization,

Williams Industries has a worker empowerment shareholder plan.

42. @enuff

Is this about empowering people or concern about government ‘quick fixing’ a problem? Bear in mind the Barbados private sector has been unable to hold on to their companies in recent years. Also to consider is the lack of appetite by ordinary citizens to invest in shares.

43. @ David
    Pray tell me ! Must the philosophy on privitisation not come from the party which puts it forward as a philosophical alternative? The garbled ranting from the opposition so far does not lend itself to philosophical debate .

44. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Enuff

I have no problem with empowering workers but recent attempts at privatisation has left me somewhat sceptical. Government wanted foreign exchange, the workers didn’t have any so the best deals went to the foreign investors and BS&T while the workers were offered crap like the Argo-processing plant.

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | November 6, 2012 at 8:33 PM
    ” We’ll have nothing more to go
    ‘tween him and Stuart the fields are gone
    to Trinidadians..
    and Light and Power our energy
    Is now Emera’s own.”

The government is about to sell within a month its remaining shareholding in the erstwhile BNB making it 100 % own by Trinidadians since the residual shareholders will be forced to sell also.
    An injection of approx US $83 million minus fees, commissions and legal fees can’t be passed up.

Will the net proceeds be going towards the upgrade of the QEH hospital or to help out the forex earning sectors instead of paying off the arrears to UWI, paying out Barrack, helping out the Transport Board, to settle with Lagan or pay of Bannister and Boyce to salt away the proceeds from the airbrushing job to the redesign of Pierhead marina?

OSA we want to hear from you on this Pierhead marina botch job. Why are you so silent on this blatant thieving of taxpayers’ money?

We wonder what the likes of ac have to say about this pending fire sale of a large piece of the country’s remaining family silver and patrimony to “Foreigners”.
    Is this not privatization to its ultimate or should we settle for the innocuous phrase “Total Divestment”? What next, ac, the Airport? Good reason to return the DLP to power to force them to eat their words by June 2013.

46. @ Caswell
    These statutory corporations and state-owned companies can be profitable if they are allowed to function free from political interference, and then they would cease to be burdens on the Treasury and might even contribute something.

Now there is a laugh !…………CBC workers? Transport Board workers, BADMC workers? …..work for them is all about a pay check

47. BWA…..will also soon implode as are workers, fed up and fully aware of what is going on. No profit oriented management and political football with plenty malfeasance soon spells chaos.A need for a NEW DIRECTION….ripe condition for PRIVATE BENJAMIN

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Caswell Franklyn | November 7, 2012 at 6:54 AM |
    “I have no problem with empowering workers but recent attempts at privatisation has left me somewhat sceptical. Government wanted foreign exchange, the workers didn’t have any so the best deals went to the foreign investors and BS&T while the workers were offered crap like the Argo-processing plant.”

Caswell, do you consider the agro-processing business crap even if the plant is given to the workers ‘foc’? Do you not see a future for agribusiness in Barbados?
    Why then are the DLP and the responsible Minister so upbeat about the future of agriculture?

Why can’t you identify those state corporations that could be ‘sold’ to the workers and run by them as part of the cooperative regime?

49. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Miller

An agro-processing plant without anything to process is crap. We do not produce enough of anything to satisfy local demand therefore there would be no surplus to process. Why would a farmer produce product that he can sell for dollars but instead sell it for cents for processing.

50. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Caswell Franklyn | November 7, 2012 at 9:05 AM |

If there is no future for agribusiness in Barbados what is the purpose of the recent gift of land to the Cave Hill Campus by the Edghill Family?

To what use or purpose will those 40 acres minus the mule be put or serve? To grow “grass” to take the students to higher heights?