Written by Stephen Williams
Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur

Imagine a man trying to curry favour with the business community, whom he seems to have in the palm of his hands anyhow, telling them something completely opposite of what he has been telling other Barbadians recently.

The man – OSA; the place – the Hilton Hotel; the occasion โ€“ the Barbados Chamber of Commerce Luncheon last week; the pandering comment โ€“ it is time this government cuts back expenditure on health and education, and offer incentives to the private sector so it can invest in these areas.

Now, rewind to the 28th of June this year, the place โ€“ the House of Assembly; the occasion โ€“ the Budget Debate; the comment for the masses on live radio television โ€“ government has to put more resources into education and health. We must invest in our young people and in their future, give the UWI more money, pay them what you owe them.

Again, a couple months ago at a function at the Cave Hill campus, OSA was admonishing the government about any plans to cut back on education. However, standing before a clearly partisan business sector, with several of his lackeys in tow, he was brownnosing them. This โ€˜brilliantโ€™ modern-day chameleon really forgot that the news media were present, and his remarks would be reported.

Reminds me of his address to a group in the Bahamas a couple years ago. He told them at the time that he understood their pain as they were not the only ones experiencing the throes of the recession. He said it was a worldwide phenomenon and they had to aim to ride it out. However, the same man was telling Barbadians, before and after that candid address, that the recession was only in Barbados, and it was because of the bad policies pursued by the current government.

Any proposed cuts in health and education would surely affect the small man and the average Barbadian. But, then again, members of the Chamber of Commerce are not average Barbadians. Tell OSA that the private sector does not invest in education, since they do not see any real benefits accruing to them. They do not even give their staff time off to attend classes at Cave Hill. Staffers usually have to retire. And, in health, they would be looking for quick returns from upscale facilities and pricey fees that are outside the reach of the small man..

So, we must ask again: Who is Fooling Whom? If government cuts back on health and education services there will be massive job losses. Sounds as if the BLP are suddenly embracing the astringencies of the IMF. Look how times have changed!

By the way, now that we are on to myths, OSA told his Chamber of Commerce audience that one of the best things his administration did was to sell the government shares in the then BNB (now Republic Bank) because it created employment. Well that is another canard. The only employment it created was jobs for people in Trinidad, where all the profits are remitted and where all the decisions are made. On the contrary, several Barbadians have lost jobs at BNB since the total take over. Indeed, some customers were so upset with the recent name change they have closed their accounts and gone to other financial institutions.

However, this claptrap from the polymathic journalist, Patrick Hoyos,ย  a sometimes business/financial expert and reporter/publisher, whose only claim to fame is a string of failed businesses, takes the cake.ย  An extract from his last Sunday Sun column, which praised the same Owen Arthurโ€™s address to the Chamber of Commerce, noted: โ€œ… the policy of the Worrell-Sinckler-Dolittle (in that order) Administration, which has been to keep Government workers employed while caring nothing for how their counterparts in the private sector fared,ย  …. has failed miserably.โ€ UNBELIEVABLE! And imagine, it came from no less a person than a mouthpiece/apologist, diehard supporter and puppet of the Barbados Labour Party. He speaks for them.

What Hoyos is saying is that Government should abandon the public servants and send them packing. Lay them off in droves, he urges, like what the private sector is doing. Let us have what is currently happening in Greece, Spain, England, Portugal, Holland, Belgium, Italy, the rest of the EU and Jamaica replicated here. UTTER NONSENSE Mr. Hoyos. Then, you and the BLP would walk the length and breadth of Barbados and bellow that the DLP has put thousands of public servants on the breadline. Won’t happen!

Relatedly, no less outrageous was the suggestion last Tuesday, on the floor of the House of Assembly by MP Ronald Toppin, that instead of Barbados passing legislation to allow casino gambling by passengers aboard cruise ships here (not Barbadians), it should join with other regional governments and seek to purchase a cruise ship. Well, well! What madness! Can you believe it? All cash-strapped countries, barely surviving in a relentless, global recession, and struggling to keep their heads above water, should now try to raise over US$600 million to purchase a ship. We could not handle the little Federal Palm and Federal Maple; a proposed $1million inter-island ferry never got passed being someone’s idea; little Red Jet floundered; and LIAT is having problems; yet, we must, I presume, borrow money and invest in a billion dollar cruise liner. Maybe, we will call it the SS Rockin’ Toppin.

Please God, spare us from the hands of the BLP! Mr. Toppin, wheel and come again Sir!

1. You could spare us the drivel above! Scared are you, the fatted calf is gone soon!

2. Gimme a break DLP, you are now four years and nine months into your incorrigible term and what have you to show in the way of capital assets? Did you embark on some indelible road construction or revamping road building plan like your incumbent or even implant one of those future-sighted flyover we were sure would be here by 2013? No. All we know of is an accident prone oblong-a-bout, that has had more accidents than Evel Knievel, in a comparable two year spate or dig ups after dig ups. Still kudos for the efforts at least, for unlike this administration, they finally “got it right. ”
    Why, is that all there is to show for the mammoth $5 billion spend?
    DEAL WID THE HOUSE CLEANING FIRST BEFORE RANTING WHITTLE

3. Before a forget..Laugh of the century..WALK OVERS instead of FLYOVERS…symbolic don’t you think……LOL

4. I am flabbergasted at the nonsense articulated by this analysis. First of all is that during the 1990s, the then Erskine Sandiford administration laid off public sector workers while cutting the salaries of those remaining by 8%. At the time he was admonished by various interest groups, unions and political organizations his actions, which resulted in industrial action in the form of a march, a no-confidence motion that was supported by members of his party, culminating in his demise at the polls when then elections were called at that time. This is the only reason why this administration has not (and as yet) pursued a similar policy.

What is interesting to note, is that persons, such as the contributor of this submitted article, were adamant that Sandifordโ€™s policies were the precursor to the growth of the economy and Arthurโ€™s success in its management in its during the boom years of his reign. If Sandifordโ€™s policies were so successful during a period of recession that was not as adverse as the one being currently experienced, how come these policies cannot be prescribed for this environment? The only variable separating the two is that, although the DLP may want to pursue such strategy, it is not political expedient at this time, especially when losing the up-coming election is paramount.

How can the DLP have the audacity to try to scare the electorate into believing that the BLP, if elected, will lay-off civil servants, when they are the only political party in the history of Barbados to have done so, and argued explicitly that they were right in doing so because not only did they save the Barbados dollar from evaluation, but their policies stabilized the economy in the long run.

5. com’on onions defend yuh party ! a pack of runaway chameleons and phony too boot. and don’t forget the secret not so secret plan to sell of LAND SEA AND TRANSPORT.

6. @ ac

Come on ac, donโ€™t go there about SECRETS. The DLP and Thompson is famous for secrets; i.e. the SECRST deal with the IMF; the SECRET overseas bank accounts. Now wunnah talking โ€˜bout the SECRET meetings held to dismiss 10,000 civil servants; the SECRET plan to sell the port. Come-on now, if the secret talk nonsense did not work before, you feel it gine work now?

7. DLP CAMPAIGN STRATEGY IS TO SPREAD BARE LIESโ€ฆ.they have no capital assets, no answers, no money to show, no idea how to come out, no nothingโ€ฆso they MUST TELL LIES !

8. The Dems believe that politics is a blood sport to be played nasty as only they can do. This is the only thing that they have learnt to do well. They have learnt the art from the master of nasty politics, the dead king!

They are desperate and will stop at nothing and nobody will stop them from what they perceive is their turn to feast on the fatted calf.

onions, remember when they won in 2008, they said that the Bees would be in opposition for 30 years. So they will lie, cheat and steal to fool the people that the BLP will lay off public workers. they need to wise up, the people of Barbados will not fall for DLP lies again!

9. Wunnah BLPs are mentally sick. Wunnah believe wunnah win de government already so wunnah can start raping the country again. Wunnah goin be in for a big surprise and many of wunnah gine piss wunnahselves.

10. Doctor make the pain stop. Avatar
    Doctor make the pain stop.

Oh my, when the BLP lies they call it bending perception, Owen gets exposed and they say the D’s spreading lies…… Owen doesn’t have any concise plan for Barbados, he is hoping to lie his way back in and then make up the rest over a rum in John Moore Shop.. He has not outlined any plans, and anytime he has come to the public he has offended sections of our society by saying something dumb. Don’t let the begging Owen ease by we need to remember who he is, the same man the curses government workers, the same man that sell out Barbados, the same man that created the building boom and profited the most, when the B’s come ask them what does Owen have to offer? And I promise you a vote for him is a vote for regression and the poor made poorer. We going wid Owen as far as we can throw him.

11. Political Intelligence Avatar
    Political Intelligence

I know why so many people got they mouth shut in Wickham poll. THEY DOAN WANT BACK Owen Sellout More Arthur. The forked tongue sell out schemer can’t remember nothing. So one day it is one thing and another day something else. Invest in education. Pay for education.Invest in healthcare. Pay for healthcare. The economy bad worldwide. The economy is not bad, DLP responsible. Sellout and privatise. Sellout and privatise.. So when the new owners come, they will fire the people not he. But only some of the sale money will get in the Treasury hear?. Some gotta get in somebody in the BLP account. They cannot help. I know Bajans understand wha goin on. Owing Sellout Arthur; Owing Sellout Arthur. Owing Sellout Arthur. Bajans know if they evah mek de mistake and bring he back, dey pooch sellout too.

12. Onions, Enuff, Miller, prodigal son,Artaxerxes |
    Why donโ€™t you reply to the solid argument presented by the writer? He put forward facts and you come with all kinds of red herrings. I am getting the feeling that you are being duped by Peter Wickham.

Owen Arthur feel that people sleeping and he is going to just going to walk back in Illaro Court just so. He is going to have to explain away everything he said.
    His co-leader Mascoll said they will sell the BNOC. If Barbadians stand for that ignorance they really deserve what will follow.

There is no sense of creativity coming from the BLP. Back to the same ole SELL, SELL SELL
    PRIVITIZE,PRIVITIZE,PRIVITIZE

The arguments are so compelling on onions hat he is supporting Wickham in selling the Bridgetown Port to Trinidad. Man what madness onions.

13. Brilliant Contribution ! Bajans will not be fooled by Arthur and the BLP lies. He is going to every interest group, pandering and telling them what they want to hear and stinking Pat Hoyos repeating everything he says like a sick puppy looking for scraps.

14. To Stephen Williams –whoever you are
    Go back into the hole that you just crawl out from and leave Owen Arthur for muh please
    You cannot walk in Owen’s shoes. Some like you who sit at a computer and criticize Owen Arthur cannot even get up at a Sunday School and read a lesson far less address a body such as the Chamber Of Commerce—you could not start.

We should be happy for and grateful to all our leaders—all
    I respect all members of Parliament –on both sides. They all have courage , they all have abilities. Governments change , ministers change and Barbados continues.Lets be grateful -so you try and leave Owen for me——yuh hear !

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The man is a boss liar.

16. Here is the story – 1994 – 2007 was driven by inflows from Tourism spending primarily out of the UK and IB investment from Canada.
    Attention BLP Supporters – This is not 1994 !
    The recession in the UK means that this avenue will not be available for a short term fix and if you cut all the taxes in the world and people spend like crazy, it can only be short term if the foreign money is not flowing.

Arthur says cut spending but he does not say where! AH HA!
    You see the spending cuts if they are to be massive must come from wages and salaries – do not be fooled that constituency councils and summer camps are bankrupting Barbados- that is nonsense.
    So instead of having to sell layoffs in the public sector as the obvious way to cut spending, Arthur comes with a strategy to sell full privatisation.
    The private sector job is to maximise profit so like LIME when these agencies start to send home the workers , Arthur would say it is them not him.
    Arthur is trying to fool the people of Barbados.

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Quick Onions talk some garbage, someone is exposing
    seethru for the Liar that he is. you cant let that happen.

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

To be quite honest I am in shock that the blog owner posted this article.

Your Barbados Labour Party buddies will surely drop you now!

19. People forget that Arthur and the “mock B” Mascoll are politicians first and economists second.
    They might know that they are no easy, magic wand solutions but they will never be honest enough to call a spade a spade.
    Do not forget that Mascoll was the one who consistently said that Owen Arthur was overrated and failed to restructure the Barbados economy?
    Now he get he 30 pieces of silver and he is singing a different tune for his supper. These men will say anything to get power and cannot be trusted.

20. Owen Arthur will tell any amount of lies to get power. Remember before the last election how he told Bajans that the DLP would sever ties with China – A damn lie ! Relations with China could not be better but do not be surprised that he is now going around making everyone beleive that he has a bag of goodies- He longs to get power to start 5 more years of arrogance, vindictiveness and cussing people from the floor of Parliament.
    Government workers need to think twice about trusting Arthur because the BLP spokesman has said that borrowing to maintain the public sector even in the short term is economic madness- TRANSLATION – They will stop it – government workers will go home under the BLP either directly or through a strategy of “privatisation” aka ” let the private sector send them home”.
    Government workers – “Bee” Warned!

21. De See Thru Got Muh Avatar
    De See Thru Got Muh

Actually I ain’t a worry in the world bout the Rum Dummy, he going drink himself to Westbury before the election call next year, if Mottley ain’t want he, Gail Marshall ain’t want he, Pain ain’t want he, The Phillsbury Dough boy Duguid ain’t want he, Eastmond would kill he and he ain’t want he, and Frizzle Fowl Forde ain’t want he all she wants is Mottley for her mouth why in heavens name you feel that Bajans want he?

Not me boosey not me and that PELE CASE boosey, someone named DeLisle Bradshaw may come in the darkness of the night and gone, up, up and away just so and I gone nobody would ever know who done it and See Thru The Rum Dummy waiting at the gates with the fire raging waiting to take me to hell not me and that PELE CASE buddy I going leave that one for Santapee Bradshaw to work out with she sometimes a man she sometimes a woman boyfriend or girlfriend TONY HOYOS or when she becomes a woman STACEY HOYOS.

But I like my hospital it wuking good now thanks to the DLP and de Minister Donville Inniss ,I like me free education and I like my little wuk at de School Meals thanks to Minister Ronald Jones.

And they locking up de crooks like Leo Brewster and company and I ain’t hearing no more fraud so I happy as a pig in mud and best yet we ain’t got that uncouth mouth arrthur cussing people no more he stores get rip out by Mottley.

22. The only thing Owen Arthur looking to restore is his bank account. The man just lusts for power to unleash his vindictiveness again.

23. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@Stephen Williams

It seems to me that you have another agenda that is anything but being truthful or accurate, but I may be misunderstanding your claims. It is clear that there is nothing contradictory in Arthur’s comments unless of course you prefer to remove the context in order to distort the meaning of what He would have said regarding Education and Health. It was made pellucid that OSA appealed to the government to honour its obligations regarding outstanding debts. More certain, is that OSA is indicating that there are alternative means for guaranteeing the future of education and security which does not call for more ‘government’ but in fact more private sector falititated by the policies and incentives which the government put in place. As far as I can see, the only dichotomy that exists is your thwarted attempt to confuse rather than as a private sector stakeholder try to state what are the advantages or disadvantages of what Arthur is proposing against much of the rhetoric that passes for informed debate. What are the realities regarding the state being able to sustain increasing costs in education and health, if it is not prepared to seek alternatives and especially through private enterprise as opposed to borrowing or worse cutting back on those who can access education and indeed health?

24. Owen Arthur is the real deal. Only cowards and the over zealous would argue otherwise. Arthur is respected across the region; makes sense whenever he speaks; does not suffer fools gladly; and, unlike some I know, is learned and wise. I wish this gift to the nation, this voice of reason would speak more often and say more. May his critics go eat roti and flying fish — at least they know where their mouth is!

25. the lack of fair and balanced news by the Fourth Estate in Barbados coupled by propaganda !misinformation! hyperbole ! and a complacent public is going to one day throw barbados into the arms of a Dictator and it seems barbados is right on the cusp because of the keepers of the gate to do diligence .

26. onions and miller your leader is caught with egg on his face unfortunately the NATION the bible of the electorate would not inform its readers but would daily continue to distribute a daily dose of poisionous candy to the public who devourers it as gospel hopefully one day the eyes of the public would awaken before it is too late the the submission glaring points out the failures of the media a media whose job is to report and be fair in its analysis and not cow-tongue to one political party or another .

27. onions and miller and all blp yardflows tell the electorate if the chameleon OSA not going to SELL the Natinal interest of barbados ! Decapitate the heads of the working stiff in the PUBLIC SECTOR! What other methods would he employed as to bring barbados back to the good ole days of nuff and PLENTY a time when he ruled and OSA believes that the prosperity happening in the global economy was brought about because of him .

28. The BLP hAS NO SHAME. After they raped BNOCL and left the company drowning in debt and nearly brought the operation to a halt which would have been catastrophic for our country, the DLP then had to take measures to correct this situation while the same BLP stood on the sidelines and criticised.
    But now, the same BLP has the audacity to say that they will try to raise money by selling the company.
    If the BNOCL had not been rescued by this visionary DLP administration and was still drowning in debt left by the BLP, Would the BLP now be talking about a sale.
    Basic commonsense would tell you that an operation deep in debt would not be an attractive purchase or the price would have to be very low?
    Arthur is trying to insult the intelligence of Bajans.

29. The concern for BU is whether this talk about privatization is being driven by a need to survive OR in a developmental context perhaps both.

30. PM Stuart’s team is focusing on the long overdue resturcturing of the Barbados economy.
    Barbados must continue to diversify its tourism markets, develop our tourism attractions and offerings, facillitating a cruise port expansion cruise facility,examine financial products and instruments to attract foreign investment, reform the tax adminstration systems for greater efficiency as Minister Sinckler has been undertaking, focus on food security as Dr. David Estwick has been doing, focus on preventative care and NCD’s as Donville Inniss has been doing , renewable energy and recycling as Dr. Denis Lowe has been doing and improving housing solutions as Michael Lashley has been doing.
    We have a good government focused on the restructuring of the Barbados economy for long term growth.
    What is the alternative- Washed up, vindictive Owen Arthur with nothing new but sell everything so he could lick out some more money with Hallam Nicholls.
    Keep Arthur and his ego out of Bay Street.

31. it is the need to survive given the mouthings of the BLP die hards and the misinformation of peter Wickham who for all intened purposes as see himself as the economic guru and has repeatedly stated that PRIVITAZTION of Barbados NATIONAL SECURITY is the quick fix for economic stabilty .UTTER NONSENSE!

32. i like what i’m reading from the DEMs. keep up the good work.

33. WILL NOT FALL PREY TO stepping into BABY CRAP …….CLONE AC ! DOC….. Stage is all YOURS…DON’T STOP….mommy will soon call you when the bubbie readY…HA HA HA HA……HA HA……Could so much crap come from upstart ROGUE DLP Babies?……WHHHAAAA !! MOMMY COME I JUST CRAP…WHAAAA!!

34. I ENT FORGET THE DONKEY……..HE TIE OUTSIDE

35. Observing (...) Avatar

Interesting contribution that raises the same questions for debate

can we afford to spend the same on education as we always have?
    stemming from that is the question of whether we are getting the returns from this expenditure?

the same questions apply to health.

Next question, can we maintain the size and expense of the currently filled public sector? Or at the very least do so , without stimulating other places to bring in revenue simultaneously? And, if our wages bill have us borrowing or economically stagnating to maintain them, hence producing “hardship” elsewhere, what will we do?

Last question, given the hole we are in…what is the current government doing or proposing for getting out of it? Then, let’s compare that with what the BLP has proposed for getting out of it.

now the magic questions, do we want to get out of the hole, how soon and what are we prepared to do to do so?

At the end of the day the country needs and wants one simple thing. The persons in power to MAKE DECISIONS and move towards PROGRESS. while COMMUNICATING both the decisions and the progress (or reasons for the lack of it). Everything else is just good for debate and discussion.

Just observing through the fluff and partisan rhetoric.

36. as usual when the BLP propagandust like onion can refute the truth about OSA he breaks for commercial just as fast as he breaks for wind onions OSA exposed not going to been read in the nations media SUN and the NATION a bunch of hot air ballons and longwinded gas bags hell bent on selling barbados to the highest or lower bidders in an attempt to save the BLP if relected from the recklessness of out of contro borrowing and wasteful spending all that is left now is to CUT,PRIVITIZE OR SECURITY and SELL

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David (not BU) | October 5, 2012 at 6:59 AM |
    “i like what iโ€™m reading from the DEMs. keep up the good work.”

I too! Having taken Prodigal Son’s advice I am having a good laugh while at the same time extremely concerned that what is being written from these propagandists is being done in the name of a party and the great EWB whom the venerate as the man who brought free education to Barbados. Are these really the views and knowledge fashioned from a free educational system?

Not the slightest understanding of the fact and reality that a government gets its revenues from the private sector to pay its workers. For these ignoramuses to believe the government can continue with an inefficient bloated public sector on a payroll that is facing unparalleled challenges to meet when the private sector (source of governmentโ€™s revenues) is under tremendous stress and contracting day by day then we have a humongous intellectual problem on our hands that beggars belief.
    OSA or no OSA this country just canโ€™t afford its present army of public workers. Even the DLP politicians are saying the same thing but the propagandists on this blog would continue with their lies and deceit. The same deceit circulating that the PM has up to May 2013 to delay elections. When will the Revenue and Expenditure Estimates that must be passed before the same public workers could draw money from the Treasury from April 01, 2013 be debated? In January 2013? In the first week of February 2013? Must be; because Parliament cannot sit after the second week of February 2013. We are certain that with FS 20/20 vision he would not allow 13 to be his lucky number.

38. Until Arthur explains that $75,000 and renounce his CSME idiocy Bushie don’t even want to hear anything else.

Given the refusal of the BLP to reinvent itself after being rejected by the electorate last time, Bushie finds it insulting for them to be coming with the identical policies in 2012. It is disrespectful to Bajans.

How anyone can seriously entertain Peter Wickham as an opinion maker is beyond the bushman. Any man who sees nothing wrong with another man owning his home ” as long as he is living comfortably” should be a woman.
    Every day he is on VOB advocating that we should sell everything to Trinidad and then bend over and take the consequences. But then again, like the Nation, that is a “One Caribbean Network” entity – anti Barbados.

39. The paritisan rherotic is due to the fault of the media who does nothing to inform “a wanting” to know public who only relies on what it is feed be it true or LIE by a media whose only interest is self SHAME ON THE MEDIA DOWN WITH THE MEDIA a bunch of political pimps and as..hole for a submission such as this only to appear on a blog speaks of the hypocrispy of the media and the lenght and depth it would go to withhold and present critical and balanced analaysis from which the public can make conclusion

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ De See Thru Got Muh | October 4, 2012 at 11:26 PM |
    โ€œBut I like my hospital it wuking good now thanks to the DLP and de Minister Donville Innissโ€

The hospital โ€œwukingโ€ indeed! Reminds us of a householder who mops the bedroom pretending the house is clean while the toilet and kitchen stink to high heavens and the yard and outside surroundings full of filth, garbage and stagnant water. Just like the state of the environment of Barbados today.

Why do you think there is a serious outbreak of dengue and leptospirosis in Barbados?
    The miller and other have been preaching about the sorry state of our environment with the unsightly garbage, vermin infested spaces and the thousand of abandoned derelict vehicles now blighting our roads and depressed neigbourhoods. It is obvious that these public health hazards would form breeding grounds and act as vectors for our very small but greatest enemy the mosquito; and with the rat and vermin population explosion we are really a facing a public health time bomb.
    What next for Bim? Cholera, if we continue down this path!

We await the Ministerโ€™s usual annual public speak and harangue about fining and locking up those who litter and keep overgrown lots strewn with garbage and fast food throwaway containers.

41. I posed the question on brass tacks yesterday and will do so again here.Minister Sinckler spoke of secret meetings being held to which Owen Arthur threatened legal action.Is it not now incumbent upon him to follow through,so as to convince all Barbados that there is no truth in this matter?Will Cornwell (de old wind bag) and Millertheformerneutral speak to this matter should he fail to follow through?

42. @ Bush bare bush
    How anyone can seriously entertain Peter Wickham as an opinion maker is beyond the bushman. Any man who sees nothing wrong with another man owning his home โ€ as long as he is living comfortablyโ€ should be a woman.

NOW THERE IS A LAUGH…….

HILL…..you too…you guys serious? …..Guess Custer was too at Little Big Horn…..you guys going down ya here come elections ..and that is no maybe….picture onions morning affa….having you guys for breakfast…saving ac for dessert….LOL

What a barrel of laughs…fa trute..

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | October 5, 2012 at 8:17 AM |

So Bushie what about the $3.3 million to Thompson Associates? You donโ€™t think we deserve an answer/explanation too?

Bushie you are a blasted liar. Never has PW said we should sell everything to Trinidad. A lie Bushie and you blasted well know it. He argues for privatization or divestment. If Bajans want to buy the assets by all means do that. And they should be given priority to purchase like the Credit Unions, COW Simpson, Haloute and the other local big money people black (including the bushman) white and Asian.

BTW Trinidadians already own and control a significant portion of the commercial economy of Bim. They control the entire food importation & distribution sector. You are going to blame Wickham for that too? Are you going to blame Wickham and OSA for the sale of the BL&P shares to Emera?
    Listen Bushman, this country is a โ€˜forexโ€™ junkie in order to maintain a serious conspicuous consumption habit and to keep up appearances of doing โ€œFineโ€ and prospering. Donโ€™t you hear the bragging how well we are doing in relation to others despite the recession?
    To keep this con-game going and continue with the lies and deceit we must sell our remaining assets like a paro needing a โ€œhitโ€.

The challenge Bushie, is if this DL administration has the guts and the political will to bite the bullet and put a stop to the pending fire sale by forcing Bajans to live within their means and stop the conspicuous big living and unnecessary dependence on every imported thing.

The alternative, according to you, ac and the likes is โ€œOSA dรฉjร  vuโ€. Something you just canโ€™t imagine. So tell us Bushie, what should this DLP administration tell us they are going to do to stem the coming tsunami of asset sale on the auction block of FOREX?

44. @ Miller
    The same deceit circulating that the PM has up to May 2013 to delay elections. When will the Revenue and Expenditure Estimates that must be passed before the same public workers could draw money from the Treasury from April 01, 2013 be debated? In January 2013? In the first week of February 2013? Must be; because Parliament cannot sit after the second week of February 2013. We are certain that with FS 20/20 vision he would not allow 13 to be his lucky number.
    MILLER WE GOT THEM BY THE BALLS on this one…LIES telling the people DEM free to rome til April 2103……FREE WHAT…Better try and call the elections by end JANUARY or near there …or face the consequences…

DLP IS BARE FARCE …ya hear..they lost and out to sea….NEVER I SAY NEVER have we ever had such …FOLLY LOLLIE DOLLIES….FLIP FLOP FLAMS….BLUNDERS BLEEPS BARNACLES….jettisom DEM

45. The Rover is peeing on you DLP. Imagine you dismiss what Owen said about the inpending world recession during his speeches in the last full election campaign. Got your supporters to laugh at his practice of argiculture. Ran a campaign on a poorly definded COST of Living platform and now trying to say it is out of your hands – (World Recession). You came in to bat on a wicket that was better than what you gave to OWEN and everyday complaining. If I wanted something despite all and got it why should I be constantly complaining. From day one you got in it has all been self promotion on all the media you could control. You have been and arrogant bunch that have only been thinking party and how to make the party look good. Suggestion learn that true cost of living is giving of self for others and not trying to grab all for yourself.

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Hamilton hill | October 5, 2012 at 8:45 AM |
    “Minister Sinckler spoke of secret meetings being held to which Owen Arthur threatened legal action. Is it not now incumbent upon him to follow through, so as to convince all Barbados that there is no truth in this matter?”

I agree with you.

We will see if he will follow through with his threat. It is a politically explosive and damaging charge that the DLP can exploit to the hilt unless it is placed before the Court and deemed โ€˜sub-judiceโ€™ to stop infection spreading especially in the upcoming DLP campaign.

I am getting wary of these posturings just like the Pierhead marina and PAC meetings. Unless something is done about the Pierhead marina thieving, the CLICO ponzi scheme, the BWA fraud and the charge about the secret meeting it can only lead one to conclude they are all- from both sides from top to bottom- a bunch of liars, crooks and all riddled with the cancer of corruption both DLP & BLP.

47. ODE TO DLPโ€ฆ

Water bills high, light bills skyrocketing,
    Cell and telephone rip rip rip.
    Nothing to smile about,
    Rest assured a price gouging
    Leaving one to nest wid nuttinโ€ฆ
    Financially chomped to bits

What once seemed an obviously easy fix,
    Somehow turned into a maze.
    Headmaster versus teachers,
    Commissions to solve,
    Stupidity at its highest
    Ossie Moore call.

Somehow and knowingly everyday,
    Good hard earned tax payer’s moneyโ€ฆ
    Being whittled loosely away.
    While those who ‘don’t really seem to matter’,
    Beaten up to a batter.

We hear of pecuniary transfers
    And swaps of the pejorative kind,
    Poor quality drug replacements,
    Escalated fees and taxes, fines,
    We are all but left to wonder,
    What next piece of stupidity
    Coming our way to bind.

With this all reality, its hard to fake a smile
    Not with gasolineโ€™s escalated prices,
    And we fighting like hell to keep our rides.
    The standard of living in Barbados,
    Has sadly taken a dive,
    No one dare says otherwise.

People are suffering like hell in silence,
    Donโ€™t know daily, where to turn,
    Juggling bill fixes, no money to shop,
    Holding on frailly, and tethering every turn,
    Frig all these austerity measures
    They are nothing but DLP flam.

OOB

48. @ Bush Tea

โ€œHow anyone can seriously entertain Peter Wickham as an opinion maker is beyond the bushman.โ€

Did you take him seriously in October 2007, when he predicted that the DLP would win the general elections 20-10?

During the lead-up the last general elections, you DLP supporters were on the call-in-programmes, ably assisted by the moderators, and the blogs everyday, begging the electorate to change the government. You highlighted the rising cost of living as one of your main reasons for a change. You thought you had the right express your opinions, and were given the opportunity to do so. Now, four years after, you have taken the blogs and call-in-programmes once more, but this time to beg the electorate to keep the DLP in office. It is also ironic that Harold Hoyte and Peter Wickham, who were the best thing since sliced bread, since they spoke to a DLP victory in the last election, have now become attracted your venom.

Then you go on to insult my intelligence. A vote for the DLP mans that Barbadians are intelligent since the society is 98% literate thanks to Errol Barrow and free secondary education. However, those who have another opinion are illiterate; and to think that many of us went to the same schools. Then, only those who support the DLP are the educated ones.

49. Yeah onions , prodigal.and miller IN YOUR OWN WORDS defend the lying two faced hypocrite OWEN

50. Owen is a sell out, we want back our country, Not Owen!