Submitted by Old Onion Bags

Loose lips sink ships”

Maureen Holder replaced Peter Wickham as the CBC resident political analyst

Yesterday’s onslaught by CBC resident political analyst on TV Morning Barbados to denounce CADRES polls smacks on political opportunism. Since when was Maureen an experienced pollster anyway? From the criticisms levied and brazen arguments put forward, one would have believed she had experience in this field and conducted many many polls, locally and regionally, comparable to CADRES.The unfortunate incident could do nothing more, than to discredit a professional pollster and affiliated organization CADRES. In boomerang, enabling the opportunity of placing one’s creditability on the line, come the morning after elections, should one be proved wrong. The amount of egg that would have to be caressed, should Wickham’s polls prove correct, is enough to put Star Chick out of business for a month and possibly destroy one’s own credibility.

Since when do professionals exhibit such officious behaviour any way ?
Dear me Madam, what were you thinking? Could there be some other logical explanation for the now accepted regular BLEEP or has the Carson contagious disease gone epidemic?

1. sub note :
    Carson’s Disease is and epidemic disease plaguing Northern Europe but with no diagnosed cases in Withmore City. The disease attacks the cellular membranes of clone blanks as they are re-activated with new genetic information and has similar symptoms as Degenerative Clone Disorder.

2. Maureen You GO girl/ Show them the kind of stuff REAL WOMAN are made of.Tougher than granite. enough to make onions sh..ite.

3. Agree that Maureen needs to deliver cogent positions. Yes her *positions are admired* however regarding her position on Cadres poll, arrant nonsense.

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Give them hell, Maureen!

The TRUTH hurts.

5. I don’t want you to mash my bunions but to brush against my middle foot.
    That is when and where the Cutting and Screaming will begin. No need to have machete just some KY and you would see the face of the god that Zoe wants you to worship as you lay spreadeagled and your cat spraddled on the miller’s grinding wheel.

wait miller wuh kind a foot is that?a middle foot! did you buy that off the block and how much did you pay for it. HA! HA! HA! it always knew you were phony as a two dollar bill. just stick to the machete they do a better job.

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

old onion bag(FRIGG YOU DAVID)

Is this the article you were begging DAVID to post?

onions: “Man David…post D ting”

DAVID: “Be patient, remember it is all about timing.”

Both of you are so PATHETIC!

7. Can our resident politicos explain the following statement that the Cadres poll was designed to force the PM to call elections before they are constitutionally due?

Holder: Poll designed to force elections

Wednesday, 03 October 2012 12:25

CBC’s political analyst, Maureen Holder, has raised questions with an aspect of the latest Cadres poll which suggests a swing against the ruling Democratic Labour Party.

Ms Holder says some questions in the survey were not well thought out and did not inspire the Barbadian electorate to think.

She suggests the poll is intended to force government to call a general election before it is constitutionally due.

Ms Holder added that the poll is designed to promote an erosion of confidence in the DLP and the leadership of Prime Minister, Freundel Stuart.

For most of this year, Mr. Stuart has been a constant target of harsh criticism from the Director of Cadres, Peter Wickham, both on his radio talk show and in his newspaper column.

8. Don’t be too hard on Maureen: she is singing for her supper; unfortunately, she does not know the tune.

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Wait, Onions and Miller got something going?

Now it all makes sense!

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Bravo Maureen.

Well said.

From the time wickham got laid off from CBC he turned BLP, so he is not fooling anyone.

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

you would know good about singing for your supper.

12. maybe she called it as she saw it !like wickham she is a political analyst and have some understanding of the science of the political mind and when when fed or directed would go in the direction pointed.i have been called upon to take political polls and have declined because of the way the questions were design. i remember a question wher i was asked to give a different answer from what i really felt at which point i declined to answer letting the pollster know that was a “loaded question” however for the politician the polls should be an eye opener and give them a reason to design a winning strategy

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | October 3, 2012 at 7:17 PM |

Don’t be envious of Onions, my dear Ass-on . There is enough of the miller’s capital asset to go around. Would try ac like in the old boy days of ‘fowlering’ just for another cackling DLP yardbird scalp on the miller’s elongated gun.
    But for you, Ass-on, I don’t do mules. Too steep in shit you are; might just cause my political 12 gauge shotgun to backfire with rotten George St. crap in my face.

14. @ac

Try to apply some logic and rational thought. What is the scientific or rational basis for her to conclude that the reason for the poll is to force an early election? All she has done is to erode the man’s reputation, one which is very good in the context of polling Barbados since the days of Pat Emanuel.Her outburst is nothing more than an opinion.

15. @ ac
    What is your problem…What onions what…I got my own guppy to feed LOL

ac@onions

onions i should have known better to belive you have a guppy! i figure you were out there sharpening yuh machete,but i tink yuh attacking the wrong fish. she not easy. like you she knows the pen is mightier than the sword BTW when you and miller and the BLP planning to have the FIRE SALE before or after wunna CUT the public sector jobs,.i hear WICKham gonna have he PRIVITIZATION PLACARD ready fuh you and miller by election day. GOOD JOB BLP! WEINERS in every sense of the word!

16. Try to apply some logic and rational thought. What is the scientific or rational basis for her to conclude that the reason for the poll is to force an early election? All she has done is to erode the man’s reputation, one which is very good in the context of polling Barbados since the days of Pat Emanuel.Her outburst is nothing more than an opinion.

erode what reputation! i am sure Wickham was prepared for all the criticism this poll would generate >david that is part of his job and as a professional he would know how to shield himself from damage or fall out. as for reputation. remember wiki leaks nothing could be far worst than that .DUH!

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac & CCC:

Like disingenuous Maureen the moaner continue to attack the Messenger Peter instead of dealing with the content of the message delivered to the DLP ostriches.

The same messenger that delivered the same message in 2007 to OSA and the BLP.
    Question to you ac, CCC, and moronic Maureen: Did the poll employ and significantly different techniques as those of 2007?

Is so we will listen to your criticisms. If the techniques are the same then go and do a mooning for Peter to see.

18. @ac

Did you read the comment before posting? Here we go again. ALL the polls the man has done for Barbados have been accurate. Deal with it.

19. @david.

Wait i have never attack the mans poll why you so quick to drop me in this cesspool of insanity associated with a poll . you referred to his reputation and my opinion is that wickham would be prepared for any and all onslaught and criticism or his he off limits to to criticism i don;t think so . wikileaks being an example Wuh Damn. it is only an opinion. What is there to deal with.

20. look miller you got plenty work to do many machettes to sharpen before the bell rings and plenty heads to chop.

21. The issue here is the conclusion which Holder arrived at about a poll being done to force a general election. Stay with the discussion if you can.

22. She suggests the poll is intended to force government to call a general election before it is constitutionally due.
    How does one achieve “FORCING” a Govt to call an elections anyway?
    Maureen gave no evidence to support her jargon mere conjecture .Wickham on the other hand backed his representations with figures and most importantly his reputation. I do not think it was fair as a professional to spurn his findings publicly, without empirical evidence or even en camera discussion. This was just wrong and most unfortunate.

23. how she arrived at that conclusion that she could only say. no one can answer that but her,. in any event maybe there might be some inkling of truth. nevertheless the politicians should design a winning strategy taking nothing for granted.

24. Observing (...) Avatar

Holder is out of her depth and out of her league. Simple case in point. Calling for a 50-50, BLP-DLP sample in the poll. Now, this would only be the case if it was PROVEN that the country is known to be split 50-50. It’s liek saying get 50 men and 50 women when we know that there are more women than men.

She clearly has no knowledge of sampling, very little knowledge of polling, absolutely confused knowledge of questioning, muddled knowledge of the purpose of polls and why they are constructed to suit the specific purpose (even if it doesn’t suit hers) and has unbelievably exposed herself and her ignorance (in this area) in the past 72 hours. It’s almost unreal.

If she’s going to be the”objective” attack dog in disguise for the government the least she can do is make some sort of sense

She’s promoting this nonsense of “guiding” the electorate to say what the pollster wants them to talk about. Tell someone to have her read the May poll, one question of which was “What is the issue most on your mind” (my own words). Given the answer to that question, the September poll then followed up on it, end of story.

And to think persons of this ilk are left to gauge and guide public sentiment and opinion. I hope to God she doesn’t have the ear of the decision makers in the party. If she does then God help them and political Hades welcome them.

Just observing in disbelief.

25. Wednesday, 03 October 2012 12:25

CBC’s political analyst, Maureen Holder, has raised questions with an aspect of the latest Cadres poll which suggests a swing against the ruling Democratic Labour Party.

Ms Holder says some questions in the survey were not well thought out and did not inspire the Barbadian electorate to think.

She suggests the poll is intended to force government to call a general election before it is constitutionally due.

Ms Holder added that the poll is designed to promote an erosion of confidence in the DLP and the leadership of Prime Minister, Freundel Stuart.

For most of this year, Mr. Stuart has been a constant target of harsh criticism from the Director of Cadres, Peter Wickham, both on his radio talk show and in his newspaper column.
    ————————————————

I havent read what else was said by Maureen Holder but the above analysis is accurate indeed from a neutral viewpoint it is a reasonable assessment.

26. Dear Neutral
    Would it be fair to say the gasoline being imported here is always crap without some sorta empirical testing or evidence like a few random test drives? NOW,,, if my brother came along knowing that I did NOT do the necessary testing..but because we are KIN…decides to agree with me….would that be fair to the petrol supplier?

Question is what test or evidence did Maureen carry outhave.. in order to arrive at her conclusions? Given that state… is it reasonable to spurn someone else who is qualified in that area….with proven historical accuracy…just by her whim and fancy?

Where is your neutrality now?

27. oh shut up onions not you one got ears to the ground maureen not a dumb ass . she knows of what she speaks ..just check the timing of “ship a -hoy hoyos article and the poll two peas in a pod. . Timing and planning says a lot.

28. @ ac
    …ears to the ground is not empirical evidence…more like conjecture. if Maureen had hard evidence to make her case…why then she could poster her propositions…(subject of course to review). Just making flippant accusations is just not good enough.

29. Classic case was that 50 – 50 nonsense…that even a first year entry Stats student from the Hill would punch hole in…..just what was she thinking? And being recorded on air at that….In the USA she would be fired for that incompetent outburst.

30. mash up and buy back Avatar
    mash up and buy back

Carson

I too saw Onion begging BU to post the thing and BU saying to wait,but I never thought it would be a comment taken out of a post and elevated to a seperate article.Lol.

Maureen ,yuh did the wrong thing by exposing the hypocrisy of peter simmons this morning.You better run for cover girl or you will be eaten alive.

31. Is Peter Simmons and onion one and the same johnny?

32. Neutral: All the so-called points by Ms. Holder might be the way she feel with the present performance of the government. How on earth can a poll encourage an adamant person like the Prime Minister to call elections when we all know how stubborn he is and no Wickham can change him..

“Too often the strong, silent man is silent only because he does not know what to say, and is reputed strong only because he has remained silent”.
    Winston Churchill.

33. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

mashup

I really believe that it is peter simmons who is singing for his supper.

Outside of Government these people are really unemployable. So they are smelling hell right now that the Barbados Labour Party is in opposition.

A lot of them are lawyers and not even good lawyers at that. If they represent you in Court you are sure to get lock to hell up.

A pack of buffoons.

34. David | October 3, 2012 at 7:40 PM |

Try to apply some logic and rational thought. What is the scientific or rational basis for her to conclude that the reason for the poll is to force an early election? All she has done is to erode the man’s reputation, one which is very good in the context of polling Barbados since the days of Pat Emanuel.Her outburst is nothing more than an opinion.
    David you gone to far. i turn the radio to Slam when i hear Ms. Holder say that polls are not scientific. she is just another joker like ac, CCC and company.

these same people shout from the hills when the polls was the other way around but keep it this way, attack Wickham. that will get you all votes. bunch of jokers.

35. @ David
    It amazes me that you can describe Miss Holder’s comments on the Wickham poll as “arrant Nonsense ” when all she did was to state her views on an unscientific poll . As miss Holder and Anthony Wiggins a caller to her programme validly stated, there were several flaws in the methodology. That is a view they are entitled to hold . Indeed the analysis carried out by Miss Tamar Jordan lends support to their view that there are flaws .
    Mr Wickham will find that his own credibility as a pollster is taking a hammering because the transparency of his agenda is clearly shown up in his role as a moderator . It cannot be a mere coincidence that many of the biases he expresses find similar expression in the results of his recent poll. Wickham has been on a virtual witch hunt of Prime Minister Mr Freundel Stuart for in excess of FOUR years, ie from the time he was Attorney General . it cannot be mere coincidence that his poll reflects the same kind of sentiment. Another example of the way he has used the poll to push his own agenda is presented in the Alexandra School response . Wickham has been a vocal opponent of the Commission Of Inquiry . Caswell Franklin says that he too is opposed to it but like a responsible commentator he took the time out to visit the Commission hearings and was therefore well qualified to comment on proceedings . I have never read anywhere or heard Wickham say that he either attended the hearings or read a transcript . Yet he is qualified to comment and provide the Nation with material for pushing its open anti – Government agenda. So it would seem that Wickham cannot be criticised; in fact it was quite puerile of him to begin his programme yesterday by belly aching like a child over the fact that he received criticism on the CBC call-in programme earlier in the morning . As a final comment i would recommend that Wickham conduct a poll on a single question : WHEN IS IT LIKELY THAT PM STUART WILL REPLY TO ANY OF THE PERSONAL ATTACKS HE MAKES AGAINST HIM ?

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

old onion bags(FRIGG YOU DAVID)

“In the USA she would be fired for that incompetent outburst.”

Is that the same USA that refused to grant Noel Lynch a work permit?

He returned to Barbados like a loopy dog.

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Folkes just remember the if the BLP is reelected they are going to cut the Health budget.

They will be a hefty charge for every visit to the Queen Elizibeth Hospital. Every piece of plaster they use in that institution will come with an invoice. Every piece of guage likewise, every trip by Ambulance to the Hospital will cost $150.00

Almost every service at the Hospital and Polyclinic will come with a hefty invoice.

If you vote for the BLP that is what you are voting for. A word to the wise is enough.

38. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

watching

“It amazes me that you can describe Miss Holder’s comments on the Wickham poll as “arrant Nonsense ”

But I dont understand you. DAVID is BLP why would he say anything different?

39. Does anyone recall that Wickham/Cadres was equally as vocal leading up to the last general election against Arthur and the BLP? In fact he was the butt of many jokes on the political platform Arthur, Lynch et al. Does any one recall how DLPites on this blog in 2007 were vigorously defending him when the Chapo/Boxill poll challenged his prediction of a 20:10 DLP victory? Unlike Wickham BU will not respond to the attacks coming from the DLP side. Wickham’s polls confirm what we sense from moving around Barbados. It appears Minister Donville Inniss is of the same mind as well based on his statement to the St. Peter Branch meeting last week.

40. @watching

On what basis do you suggest the poll is unscientific?

The methodology of Cadres polls are always published therefore the question is: was the same methodology used in 2007 polls applied to the Cadres polls in 2012?

Is it not true that while hosting the CBC program – before September 2011 – Wickham has warned Stuart that he and the DLP need to do some work on communication etc? Do some googgling to satisfy yourself.

Yes Wickham has harden his rhetoric and yes he must be smarting by being dumped for Holder but being stridently opinionated has always been Wickham’s MO.

41. the Cadres poll is questioned by a joker in Ms. Holder and that give way to all these jackass comments.

@watching
    “It amazes me that you can describe Miss Holder’s comments on the Wickham poll as “arrant Nonsense ” when all she did was to state her views on an unscientific poll”

you would be right if it was me or you but Ms. Holder is passing herself off as a political analyst. so, it is “arrant Nonsense ” base on the fact that history has shown the polls by Cadres in Barbados to be spot on.

i like you do believe Mr. Wickham has been attacking the PM more so of late and while one can question the Wickham, you can’t question his polls and you can’t question his polls if you are a political nobody like Ms. Holder.

i understand she has to sing for her place at the table but if you going to allow persons to call you a political analyst, do so with facts. for God’s sake this woman said on national radio that poll are not scientific but the company carry out a poll in the last election with the same methodology and nailed the results but she come with nothing but her feelings as a political analyst and think someone should follow her shite talk. give me a break.

42. Carson C. Cadogan | October 4, 2012 at 12:23 AM |

Folkes just remember the if the BLP is reelected they are going to cut the Health budget.

They will be a hefty charge for every visit to the Queen Elizibeth Hospital. Every piece of plaster they use in that institution will come with an invoice. Every piece of guage likewise, every trip by Ambulance to the Hospital will cost $150.00

Almost every service at the Hospital and Polyclinic will come with a hefty invoice.

If you vote for the BLP that is what you are voting for. A word to the wise is enough.

its people as low as you who got this country in the mess that it is in. how would you know what the BLP is planning to do? Moreover, what is a fact that can be checked is that your party has raise fee at the QEH. go find out what was the cost of a private room 2 years ago and what it is now and come back and tell us.

it persons like you that want firing from whatever gov’t post you holding now. you people care nothing about the people of this country. you only care about your pockets.

i know you and the scub like yourself will say O$A and company did this and that but you know what? give me the thief that will rob me and let me go to see another day, than the one that will rob me and put a bullet in the back of my head.

you are truly one of the stinking DEMs you hear so much about.

43. @ ac
    …ears to the ground is not empirical evidence…more like conjecture.
    ac @ onions
    LOLwuh dats the same evidence you espoused over the last months on BU in many of your comments as proof or rationale

44. @ David
    ” Being stridently opinionated ” CANNOT be the MO of a professional pollster if he is reflecting what the PEOPLE are saying . HIS OPINION IS OF NO CONSEQUENCE . On this score you may wish to comment on Wickham’s ” strident ” utterance on Tuesday’s brass tacks that ” the Prime Minister dont like me and I dont like he either “.

45. @watching

You are muddying the issue. In one instance we have a pollster who published his methodology of polls conducted over several elections – at home and abroad – which was dismissed summarily by Holder without any coherent scientific narrative. In the other case we had Wickham who was perhaps being mischievous but cited the basis for which he drew his conclusion – based on Stuart’s utterance directed at his poll.

46. @ ac
    …ears to the ground is not empirical evidence…more like conjecture.
    ac @ onions
    LOLwuh dats the same evidence you espoused over the last months on BU in many of your comments as proof or rationale
    Onions has never put forward himself to the public to be an instinctive political analyst or any other professional, than a Cattlewash fisherman, souse maker and whiskey drinker when he could find the odd change……

…to whom much is given ,much is expected…

47. …and a budding poet of course… LOL..Oh yes oh yes..

48. Difficult to discredit Wickham’s poll
    Come hail or highwater.
    Maurine could huff n puff
    All she likes
    From now til the hereafter

To spurn a fellow’s works
    On mere conjecture
    Is folly the least….
    A professional’s blunder
    Dear dear Me Maureen’s
    Foiled attempt at stealing thunder

It is what it is…..
    CADRES are credited masters
    How now when the pen
    Points you to the bin
    We hearing all kinda new plasters

Sensible thing, don’t you think
    Would be to listen, test and even amend
    Hard as it is,be you brave
    May but save a seat for a friend

Fool yourself, if you do believe
    Some being so somber,
    But quicks to jest, more than less
    They prefer all to go under.

49. @ David..
    There is no ” muddying ” of any issues . The single issue expressed here is the professionalism or lack of professionalism of a pollster who has to resort to a ” strident MO ” to support his conclusions and in the process expresses a personal dislike for his favourite target . YOU ARE MUDDYING THE ISSUES !