Submitted by HAMILTON HILL
Leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur (l) Former Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley (r)

Listening to today’s (6/07/2012) edition of Fireworks on VOB, my thoughts ran wild once Mia Mottley again spoke of her dream to see the building of nationhood in Barbados. Though tangentially, she touched an area that finds resonance with those who refuse to permit patriotism to be stunted or seconded by party loyalty.

Not for one minute have I missed the very crafty attempt by the unofficial co-leader to rebuild, to revamp an image that fell victim to a group of misogynists led by “King Conniver” to whom she still reports. Be that as it may there are any number of questions that readily come to mind.

Lets for just a moment put the questions about her dream aside. Perhaps this one is not for her but it has to be asked. What has changed over the passage of time? She has the same credentials that qualified her to be “King Conniver’s”deputy, the same ones that were not fit for ascension to the leadership once the Bajan version of Mitt Romney came aboard.

What has changed?

The surety of the female vote…that’s what, so back in good graces she falls, even if conveniently so. Had ta get dat outta ma craw. Lets get back to her dream of building this nation where party  affiliation takes a back seat to the task of selling the idea that everyone works towards the betterment of the country.Secession of leadership is where that begins for the antecedence of “King Conniver” make bold the claim that such is not in his DNA. Perhaps she dreams of down the road and not next year.

If the most recent poll as conducted by the Peter Wickham group is used as an indicator then Bajans want this man. Mia and her dream will have to wait. Bajans are thirsty for more of the same. More expropriated land wending its way back into the market but with clear and distinct ties to a minister of government.

More of the unbridled arrogance of the likes of one Noel Lynch, inflicting telephone torture on a daily basis all across Barbados. Not to mention the journalists—and they know who they are. Remember when the story about the check came out “King Conniver” went on a four month break, then showed up in Fontabelle one morning ranting and raving and not one of these so called journalists at that place had the balls to asked the question to which all Barbados wanted an answer.

NOT ONE ASKED!

This same bunch today makes the complaint that Prime Minister Stuart does not speak to them.That his communicative style leaves much to be desired cannot be questioned but the bunch at Nation News has no moral authority to do so. We know quite well why no one ever sought to question the self imposed gag order of a certain MP that lasted longer than five years. What he brings now pales in comparison to his contributions of yester year. As if we didn’t know, he showed us that silence is golden.

From outside the walls of parliament a woman served the people of St.Andrew better than he who sat inside parliament. Lest we forget that same woman as a private citizen had her personal business exposed to the public – an event that to this day still gives me the chills. When from so high an office one can stoop so low all in the name of party politics, all that is left for one to conclude is that while Bajans substitute character for charisma, the notion of building this nationhood remains just that, so from the great Stalin I borrow this line.

Wait Mia, wait Mia wait.

1. old onion bags Avatar

@ Aarson
    But those with common sense realised that the promise land was the best place to be and they pressed on.
    Why you don’t get off the blog telling lies doa ? The DLP got anything to give anybody but HARD TIMES….You talkin bare Ras…..People neva suck so much salt til under this Govt..and you in hay talkin shoite…My man show me a fella other than SOME OF THE FAMILY…(not all )..ask the ones who ent get nuttin but promises from the illusion-ary “next term”…Look put up and shut to F ..up cuz is bare balls ya talking Carson….ALL THE PEOPLE GET IS HARD F#KINK TIMES……tricksters.Egypt what.. wanna could eva be a Moses…EWB long gone.

2. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

Carson C. Cadogan this is not Egypt, there is no promise land. soon you will be awaken from your dream to what will surely be your nightmare.

you need to leave you DLP bubble and wake up to what bajan are really saying and thinking. keep telling yourself the public is on your side.

goodnight.

3. ISNT that how the DLP people operate ?
    They construct their owm worlds and then react to the dictates of same world (fantasies and flights of fantasy)living in a DLP bubble -(living in a yellow submarine)
    Freundel Stuart has demonstrated that he is a fantasizer and that while doing so he thinks about bubbies and sore nipples so we get his drift.
    David Thompson was very good at the fantasizing thing too. He talked about somethings which people wonder if such things were in Barbados.
    WHAT therefore do you expect from DLP yardfowls ?
    This is what I expect after the next elections whenever it is called :
    BLP=29 SEATS
    DLP =0 SEATS
    INDEPENDENT =1

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“This is what I expect after the next elections”

When your expectations collide with reality I do hope that you can handle it.

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

David (not BU) | July 8, 2012 at 10:30 PM |

I feel so sorry for you BLP misleaders.

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

onions

Watch your language. There are children present!

One thing that you can rely on when dealing with BLP people, they quickly descend into the gutter when they cant counter whatever great point is put at them.

Gutter snipes!!

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

onions

The opposition benches are a perfect fit for you lot.

8. “The PM cannot disagree because it is a cabinet decision in which he is the chairman/leader. That is a collective decision”

therein lies the dilemna and confusion which is the hallmark of this present DLP administration; they anounce policies which should have had the blessings of general council and cabinet only to have them criticised by one or the other at the highest levels. cases in point. Mr Stuart openly took issue with aspects of Mr Inniss’s health initiative; Mr Sealy was particularly scathing in his comments over his administration’s refusal to assist REDJET financially; the former Ambassador with special responsibilty for solving the fishing dispute with Trinidad Mr Kellman reiterated in a wideranging public interview as he had previously done on Down to Brasstacks what i would have presumed to be govt policy that resolution of the fishing dispute was not his priority because we were still getting flying fish and to fish in Trinidad waters you had to give Trindad something possibly rights to drilling for oil in Barbados waters. Lo and Behold last week, there was this big announcement in the newsmedia that a fishing protocol would be signed in a few weeks.Clearly a shift one way or the other in Govt’s handling of the purported dispute. To top it all off and which surprisingly evoked no comment or criticism from loyal DLP apologists like Ac and CCC was Sir Brandford Taitt’s broadside also in an interview on the incompetence of some members of the cabinet.

9. CCC July 8 @ 11.56p.m
    Second paragraph, Thaks for quoting me; you made one mistake, you have mistaken a D for a B . You DLP people are pure copyists. A truely matured government, would take a good project from another government ( different party) and perfect it, if it is in the interest of the country, BOTH PARTIES ARE GUILTY OF NOT DOING THIS. It is pure immaturity on the supporters/yardfowls to be talking about any particular project that was one party’s idea, which the next, when gaining government continued. The problem is we need to look after the interest of BARBADOS and not just the selfish attitude of trying to make any particular party look good; the reverse is usually true. So stop talking about projects which any one party started and the other continued with when gaining government. this is BARBADOS COUNTRY not DLP or BLP country. The voters only put you there for a period of time but Barbadois remains forever.

10. Observers have seen how a partisan Congress and Senate has stymied growth in the USA. The times call for a different kind of politics. A different kind of economic management. Unfortunately we are not seeing it and what is promised is more of the same.

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“Arthur and the BLP Group no doubt are in the race for power. They today vow to Bajans WE WILL FIX IT. They will fix the CLICO mess. They will fix it. They will fix the economy. They will fix the national debt, they will fix it. They will fix it. Interesting, Al Barrack originated during the days of Owen Arthur and the BLP. Arthur we know REFUSED fixing the Al Barrack problem. David Thompson and the DLP in 2008 accepted the Al Barrack problem WITHOUT CHOICE because Arthur and the BLP REFUSED fixing it.”

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

scout

I wonder if you think before you speak.

Why didnt the stupid Barbados Labour Party finish the St. John poly clinic among other many unfinish projects which they inherited?

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Also the comment about political partisanship styming growth in the USA, apply that to Barbados as well.

14. old onion bags Avatar

@ Carson Cardboard
    NO not another day of this puff doddy.

You are not being read….you are just being pitied…..confer with ac…
    Two days is enough…..write research a thread or something then man.

15. They only thing that the BLP going to RECONSTRUCT IS weighing down the taxpayers with more debt which MIA was not ashamed to openly state in her overblown and out of control budget i personnaly have lost all respect for her after throwing out realistic promises to the public to the tune of over a billion dollars and promising to cut energy cost in ways that the economy cannot afford and pray tell me who is going to pay for all of this she should have known better than to be persuded bypolitical opportunism

16. It is hard to be partisian when one side has an agenda formated on”Wishful Thinking”and living in and era which is past and gone and the other party is trying to move the country away from the past and intoa reality that change is necessary for the country survival. Therefor when idealogies are miles it is hard to find mid ground and rationality especially when one side or the other have a mindset built on stubborness and wishful thinking and not borne out of reality and the now

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

onions
    “You are not being read….you are just being pitied…..confer with ac…
    Two days is enough…..write research a thread or something then man.”

You telling me how to use this blog?

YOU:
    Johnny-come-lately?

18. CCC wrote:-
    ‘Later, when the reality of the brilliance of the Democratic Labour Party positions sink into the thick skulls of Barbados Labour Party supporters you included, they then start to support them.The same thing is happening today, In the distance future they will belatedly realise that what the Democratic Labour Party is doing for this country at this time was simply marvelous and the strategies employed kept the country afloat.’

Prodigal, Onions etal YOU MUST SUPPORT CARSON ON THIS ONE if nothing else you should because we ALL heard and let us recall that Owen said that Former PM Sandiford did the best thing when he introduced the 8% cut as it stabilized the economy and kept the Barbados dollar afloat. Remember that???

Now, can we trust your ‘analysis’ that the DLP is underperforming now only to hear the said Owen (Economist) singing the praises of the Barbados PM Stuart (2010 …) for supporting the measures implemented during this recession.

Can we trust anything that you guys that support the BLP say???

I am hoping that the CBC (’cause no other media would do it) – play Owen’s comments after BLP got the majority seats back then ’98. Let us trust you guys – tell us what Owen said that master stroke by former PM Sandiford did for our economy. YOU BLP Supporters lead by Arthur spoke vehemently against it backed by Leroy Trotman and the people made a choice then and cried until they voted you out in 2008.

We learnt the hard way not to trust you. Now, now you have an opportunity to redeem yourselves in the eyes of Barbados. Respond to CCC and prove his comment a lie beyond a reasonable doubt.

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Brief

I know what I am talking about. The BLP do it every time. they criticized everything that the DLP does only to praise it years later. They are so many examples.

And the sad thing about it is the fact that they are doing right now again. A few clowns on this blog are falling for it again.

I have spoken with people who mistakenly left Barbados just before Independence because the BLP went up and this country misleading the public that after Independence Barbados would become a Communist state, people would loose their freedom and Errol Barrow would become a Dictator, and people actually fell for that hog wash. We all know none of that to be true. And these people regret leaving Barbados.

The BLP is a bunch of liars. They have always used fear tactics to try to win elections in this country, and they are at it again as I speak.

I am not fooled. Sensible people are not fooled.

20. Yet to hear what the DLP has done. Stabilised the economy? Well they destabilised it didn’t they………….lmao

21. Brief,
    I cannot be bothered with any back and fro with you DLP hacks, you all want confrontation on the blog from onions and I but I am not about that. You and “arseson” can continue to gloat. About what I do not know.

Had not for our NIS funds, this country would be squarely in the hands of the IMF long time as Chris Sinckler isclearly out of his depths, so I do not know what nonsense you are spewing. Do you know that your “good” government has used up 77% of NIS funds? Does this not concern you rather than the partisan filth you two spew on this blog?

Judgement day has to come and I will have my say then. The people of Barbados will decide. The only thing I am hearing from people is the question, when is the election?

22. The NIS fund is sound and well managed- sad that Arthur allowed the financial statements to be running years behind schedule. If that was PM Stuart, you can bet it would have been all over the news.
    The BLP also left the NHC financials years behind and do not even talk about Hotel and Resorts Ltd aka Gems.

Now why is this important, you might ask ? Answer – the “same exact” people who allowed this tardiness in financial reporting are the ” same exact” people who are asking you to bring them back.
    People with short memories seem to forget the inept management practices of the former administration. It is the same BLP actors looking to come back after a short vacation with a heavier dose of arrogance.

23. @!

Actually, if you heard MAD’s calypso, you would understand exactly where much sentiment lies, sadly driven to that state, by the incoherent policies of successive administrations.

None a wunnuh aint getting dem vote.

But, as an aside, did you notice MIA’s comment the other day/

Not verbatim, but some such as ‘I am going to call myself a politician, but I am a woman in politics’.

Interesting positioning, but it shows that she appreciates the state of the political perception.

24. ” I am NOT going to call myself a politican ” sorry

25. why would any body call themselve MAD ! speaking of MIA whats with that Mad budget she presented have the BLP mp”S all gone MAD!

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@! | July 9, 2012 at 8:29 PM |
    “….. sad that Arthur allowed the financial statements to be running years behind schedule. If that was PM Stuart, you can bet it would have been all over the news.
    The BLP also left the NHC financials years behind and do not even talk about Hotel and Resorts Ltd aka Gems.”

That’s why we fired Arthur and hired you! You said that you knew what the problems were and that could fix them rather quickly.
    Now get on with the job and stop blaming the international recession for your incompetence!

27. Perception, perception, perception- That is why some BLP supporters are fooling themselves and trying to fool the public that if only the BLP came back, then manna would fall from heaven.

People who can reason will clearly see that there are no BLP or DLP tourists. Tourists do not care about BLP OR DLP – if they like the product they will buy it or try to get it. If they are under financial stress in the UK or US, we will see tourism spend drop and foreign exchange receipts drop.
    On the oil issue, the BLP is tring to capitalise on the discomfort people feel with higher gas and electricity bills. However, the three card trick that Mottley tried to pull in her budget response was disingenuous- the math did not add up. We will not see any drastic drop in electric bills because the days of cheap international oil prices are over.Barbados does not even produce a quarter of its oil needs.

The BLP can throw wild promises at the population but in this global environment, this is not 1994 when the world was coming out of recession, the BLP has not put any specific , sustainable solutions on the table.
    If the hotels are waiting for the 500 million tourism fund which the BLP promised, you will stand a better chance of getting snow in Barbados.
    The BLP will fool those who allow themselves to be fooled.

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The Barbados Labour Party will try to fool who they can fool.

As I said in an earlier post: “The BLP do it every time. they criticized everything that the DLP does only to praise it years later. They are so many examples.”

Here is another example.

National Insurance Scheme

This was introduced to Barbados by the Democratic Labour Party. At the time it was being introduced there was a fire storm of criticism from the short sighted Barbados Labour Party. They could not see it having any useful purpose. It was a waste of time they said and it was shortening workers pay unnecessarily. There would be no benefits to the workers or the country of such a scheme. It received absolutely no support from the Barbados Labour Party.

However the Democratic Labour Party pressed on with it. Where would Barbados be today without the NIS? It has served the people of Barbados well over the years and will continue to do so long into the future.

One of the first members of the board of the NIS was SIR FRANK WALCOTT one of the driving forces behind the NIS.

Now years later the stupid Barbados Labour Party wants the world to believe that they are the guardians of the NIS. What a monumental laugh that is to sensible people.

Left to the Barbados Labour Party there would not have been any NIS. They hated the idea of an NIS and did their best to make sure it did not become a reality.

They are doing the same thing today. Everything the Democratic Labour Party is doing they are criticising. This is due to the fact the Democratic Labour Party is always way ahead of the Barbados Labour Party. Barbados has much to thank the Democratic Labour Party for.

There is absolutely no reason for any member or supporter of the Democratic Labour Party not hold their heads high and support to the hilt their party. Barbados is on the right track and it is in excellent clean hands.

Years from now the short sighted Barbados Labour Party will shower all the praises in one form or another on all which is being done now by the DLP

Just wait and see.

29. brief the imf introduced the 85 cut, Mr sandiford implemented it.

30. This was introduced to Barbados by the Democratic Labour Party
    NOT TRUE ACCORDING TO HISTORIAN AMBASSADOR ROBERT BOBBY MORRIS

31. The BLP can stop the doom and gloom now. We are using educated men and women in our Parliament today to lead this country through a difficult time (it is called recession).

I too want VAT reduced but are we going to reduce it without looking at how it will affect our financial stability.

The NIS funds are continuing to be replenished as I work and you work – what are you saying – that immediately the loan is disbursed that workers will stop paying NIS. Wasn’t a projection made of retirement, sick leave and other benefits (to be paid out) plus return on investment before a decision was made to issue the loan from the fund.

If it is one thing the DLP learnt from the BLP is how to borrow and repay. Unlike the BLP though, the DLP will repay all monies DURING ITS CONSECUTIVE TERMS IN OFFICE.

NIS funds – based on our workforce and anticipated work days – there is surety that funds will be replenished monthly from both private and public sectors. We are not worried about if monies will be collected.

The entrepreneurs will also make contributions therefore as we encourage micro, medium and macro businesses to sustain and increase growth through policies, money will be coming from another sector (micro businesses).

In other words, as it is loan it is collected and replenished and invested in lucrative long standing businesses. Note, these discussions and decisions are initiated and made by men and women who were elected by the nationals of Barbados and appointed by the PM of the DLP.

The DLP tried and you can now prove (without hysteria and trying to make the population believe that we are clinically dead) that we are worse off today than 2007.

We are a stabilized economy because of the fiscal policies created, designed and implemented by a young (political) team. These are fellow Barbadians. Our country is not terrorized. CBC continue to support the Government views – nothing has changed there, the tourist industry has increased arrivals from the Caribbean (common sense and worldwide – vacationers are staying close to home).

STOP TRYING TO IMPOSE PANICK, PAIN AND SUFFERING IN THE MINDS OF BARBADIANS. We are not drunk we are SOBER and SOUND.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

KARMA IS A BITCH!!
    The same lies and impossible promises your DLP made in the 2008 Elections have comeback to haunt you like the Ghost of Banquo.

Keep wringing your hands in fear of DT’s ghostly evil spirit. It’s called RETRIBUTION, Brief!

33. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

STOP TRYING TO IMPOSE PANICK, PAIN AND SUFFERING IN THE MINDS OF BARBADIANS.

the DLP doing a great job of this

34. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

millertheanunnaki(preMay2013)

When are you going to start making some sort of sense?

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | July 10, 2012 at 9:30 PM |

Here is a statement full of your type of ‘sense’:
    “The DLP will win the next general elections by a margin of 28 to 2”.
    Sounds good to you, CCC?

BTW, what’s wrong with your intellectual capacity? Is it suffering from a case of ‘Dwarfism’? How come you DO NOT make contributions on other ‘interesting’ threads like Onions or ac. Can’t you step out of your confining “political prison cell” or do you fear exposing your intellectual nakedness and showing us your small minded doggy?