used-by-pm-owen-arthur-of-barbados
Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur
Opposition Leader Mia Mottley

A couple weekends ago former Prime Minister Owen Arthur addressed a pack to capacity branch meeting in St. Peter. Based on what has been reported in the media and other sources we feel forced to offer a few observations.

Barbados joins with the world in anticipation of a gloomy economic forecast for 2009. Mr. Arthur’s legacy many will not deny maybe influenced by the perception that his economic stewardship was best in class. The meeting was well attended and interest in what the former Prime Minister had to say was at a high.

Should we conclude that the murmur which the Arthur presence still initiates in public should be of concern to Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley?

Since assuming the role of opposition leader Ms. Mottley has been toying with the role to carve a presence. Although she is a respected member of parliament and has been a consistent performer, as opposition leader she is yet to dominate the bowling. We are not sure if the current economic climate has been a negative factor in Mia’s performance, or if the government has been performing to satisfaction or a combination of the two.

What is evident is there appears to be a significant support for Arthur among Barbadians. We have to admit that his coattails were always rumoured to be very long and many still believe that the lethargy of a third term was the overriding factor which rued his day on January 15, 2008.

What does the popularity of Arthur mean to the political landscape of Barbados, and must it be at the expense of Mia Mottley?

Arthur has never hidden his admiration for the late Rt. Excellent Errol Walton Barrow even from across the political chasm. Barrow was never a lover of opposition politics and we suspect that Arthur is of that disposition. His unwillingness to state a categorical position regarding his political future leaves a lot open to interpretation. In light of all that we have said Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley must be bearing the weight of the mantle of opposition leader with a measure of discomfort.

As 2013 approaches we anticipate some exciting times ahead. A word of warning to the BLP, remember the disarray of the DLP and the discomfort it caused a whole nation that trembled at the threat to a democracy.

1. David, why are you askin obvious questions? Of course Mia is concern.

did you not take in the gossip column? or are you becoming like the snobs and dismissing the truth that is contain therein?

———————————————

Cou cou and Flying fish: Animal Farm revisited (IV)
    Published on: 1/3/09.

2009 resolutions

THE FARM WAS abuzz with activity as the animals gathered with their respective kin and looked to the New Year. They all made resolutions and determined that this time around promises would not simply be comfort for fools.

Napoleon (Owen Arthur) told the young swine in his corner that though he was no longer in charge of the farm, it was his intention to position himself to retake leadership of his own pen and make a bid to recapture the entire farm whenever the occasion presented itself.

To grunts of approval, he said though he had allowed Squealer’s (Mia Mottley’s) star to grow while he took a sabbatical, the animal’s leadership qualities had proven unsatisfactory and had given him little comfort. To even louder grunts, Napoleon (Owen Arthur) said Squealer (Mia Mottley) had first to deal with an identity crisis before seeking to lead the animals.

Squealer (Mia Mottley) was livid. After receiving word of Napoleon’s (Owen Arthur’s) 2009 resolution, the animal gathered those who were still loyal and aired the principal resolution for the New Year. Get rid of Napoleon (Owen Arthur) once and for all. Squealer (Mia Mottley) told the loyalists that gracious efforts had been made to put Napoleon (Owen Arthur) out to mud during the year but he had refused, muttering something about the fatted calf.

Squealer, (Mia Mottley) swelling to even greater girth, and puffing even stronger on a cigar, resolved that the same inside plan which was put into effect to get rid of Napoleon’s (Owen Arthur) hand-picked heir apparent, would be put into high gear to oust the old swine from his sty.

Snowball (David Thompson) was surrounded by his crew as he made his resolutions. He told those in his corner that 2009 would be a time to weather tough times on the farm and work hard together to make life better for all and sundry. He said that after taking over from Napoleon, (Owen Arthur) he had been forced to spend a long time cleaning up the monumental mess bequeathed to him.

Action year

Now, he added, 2009 would be an action year. He told his charges that he would not tolerate sloth and failure. He looked into a corner and saw Moses (Dennis Lowe). He told the philosophical raven that he would be keeping a special eye on him. “Expect a back seat on the farm the next time you fail to deliver. That’s the environment into which you will be shuffled.”

Boxer (Hamilton Lashley) peeped into Napoleon’s (Owen Arthur’s) pen, but did not enter. Then he peeped into Squealer’s (Mia Mottley’s)but again did not enter. Though he tried to appear to be of independent thought, he was caught sneaking into Snowball’s (David Thompson’s) pen with butter running down the side of his mouth. There, to the amusement of many, the old horse resolved that he would join Snowball (David Thompson) in fighting to help the poorest animals on the farm.

Old Major,(Fruendel Stuart) who many saw as Snowball’s deputy, reminded Boxer (Hamilton Lashley) he had been singing that song for 14 years but seemed to think that the only animals pining for help lived in his part of the farm. Major, (Fruendel Stuart) as erudite a boar as one could find on the farm, resolved that he would expose Boxer (Hamiliton Lashley) as a naked opportunist in 2009.

Mollie, (Cynthia Forde) the old mare, held up her head momentarily from scribbling unintelligent, unintelligible notes on a piece of paper, found it difficult initially to come up with a resolution, and finally settled on resolving to provide a sea on four acres of centrally located land for some animals who had given her support over the years.

Not to be outdone, Minimus, (William Duguid) with his dentures shining white as usual, resolved in banal verse that he would have another tummy-tuck, and with a bit of luck, would be able to put more into his ‘wuk’. Mollie (Cynthia Forde) applauded.

Benjamin, (Ronald Jones) showing that though he was a donkey he was not an arse, resolved that his role was to educate the young farm animals and in 2009 he would have the heads of anyone who dared to frustrate his efforts. He said he would demolish one particular garrison (Matthew Farley) of opposition that existed.

Happy New Year!

2. Whenever I see Mia and OSA I am reminded of the line from the song by the O’Jays:

“They smile in your face, all the time they wanna take your place, the backstabbers”

3. Adrian Hinds – I got all the others right back then but I always thought that “Benjamin” was Patrick Todd

Well one wrong is not too bad.

4. Adrian we get it but unlike the Nation we want to deal with the issue in the clear.> Like what are the implications? Is this just the normal ebb and flo of politics?

5. Let’s not forget what happened with the DLP Re: now P.M David Thompson and Clyde Mascoll. Mia Mottley would NEVER be P.M of Baebados, if the BLP are keen in recapturing the government, Owen Arthur will be the person to do that. I made it clear before that David Thompson would have to take control of the DLP in order for it to be competitive, had Mascoll remain in the party, he would be Min of Finance now but he is NOT P.M material. Similarly, Mia would have to give way to Arthur if the BLP is serious about the next general elections. By then Arthur would have learnt his lesson of becoming arrogant and return to the Arthur that first became the P.M. The problem is how is he going to get Mia to step down from her lofty heights? It is easier said than done. David Thompson was crafty in removing Mascoll, it wouldn’t be that easy for Owen to remove Mia. However, whatever is to be done, it must be done in the next year or so. This would give the party some time to heal. I still don’t think they would win but they could be more competitive and stop the landslide victory for the DLP.

6. I am not CRAPPING this yet
    BUT commenters can say if they believe it should be CRAPPED or not
    The CRAP is in your court

7. Scout

Thomson was crafty in removing Mascoll? I don’t believe that. Mascoll removed himself and Thompson re-emerged. Mascoll just could not hande it and the DLP could not afford to try anybody else so close to the elections. Nobody else was in the waiting.

8. Scout

Sorry man, that was a knee-jerk reaction without reading the rest. You went on to say, “it wouldn’t be that easy for Owen to remove Mia.”

Wrong again. This is worse than the Thompson effect. Any time between now and the next election, that is cake for Owen. She has not cemented her position and so long as Owen is in Parliament, she is in a shaky position.

This is not about whether she can make a capable PM, but who is the better of the two. Owen has a track record of not only managing the country, but managing her.

9. The Leader? Waits.
    He will strike when the iron is not at its hottest, but when it is most malleable. He will speak seldom but wisely, certain of a large auidence. He will imply rather than be explicit. He will be the tacticiian, as others try to work out his nuances.

Is all lost for the “pretender”? no! definitely not. Properly advised she “can” be the main player but she must fight a tactical battle, no “small” group of friends will get her elected to the highest office in the land, but “the people will.”

The present Prime Minister is in the “box seat” he is no longer the leader of the vanquished opposition party and the so-called inexperienced opposition. He is the Prime Minister with a record – he hopes successful – that carries some weight and a degree of confidence for the populace.

Our good friend (BU) has said the centipede is under the bed; dare I be so bold as to say the centipede is “in” the bed. It is true a couple of its legs have been abruptly chopped off; but these “arthropodes” are capable of reformation and no less deadly for that temporary segment incapacity.

10. Scout said:

The problem is how is he going to get Mia to step down from her lofty heights? It is easier said than done.
    ===========================

Given her obesity, smoking habit and health issues, her heart cannot be that strong. I gine suggest a second edition of that RUMOURED famous phone call to Stephen Alleyne.

Indeed getting rid of Mia will be nothing like getting rid of Mascoll. Mascoll was lighter than battam-weight compare to Mia the Colossal. A lot of heavy lifting will be required and the short man though well position to perform a snatch lift, will still need to dispose of her.

11. While I think Owen needs to harness the BLP party and put it back in line. Under Owen Arthur we were seeing a more people’s government in the early stages. We now however see a new BLP that seem to be heading towards the old big boys party that it used to be. These same big boys are going to give stiff opposition to Owen regaining the leadership of the party. In fact there are one or two other BLP M.P’s who might jump ship because of the direction the party is taking.

12. @The Scout

Do you care to share your thoughts on the two who maybe jumping ship?

13. David
    There might be one who would not be a yardfowl and one who don’t like marketing executives. Maybe also one who likes to see beautiful teeth.

14. Saw Owen a couple of hours ago (running personal errands) he looks sharp, fit and healthy to me (even if I am not a “B”

15. The heady aroma of ultimate power is hard to resist and many people will sacrifice anything to possess it.
    After the egos have been massaged,
    Owen will return to lead the party into battle with the promise of stepping down early if there is victory.

When the time comes the BLP will put on the united facade for the people.

16. CRAP ! CRAP and more CRAP !
    CRAP ! longside CRAP !
    CRAP ! beside CRAP !

CRAP! deep inside CRAP !
    CRAP! up above CRAP !
    CRAP ! all around CRAP !
    CRAP ! wrap up in CRAP !

Tek off your eyes and when yuh look back—Still more C-R-A-P !

17. I don’t think OSA is interested in being leader (up front). But he might be happy with setting up a puppet and leading in the shadows.

18. lol
    it dont seem that anyone care if there is a centipede in, or under Mia’s bed

19. […] the beginning of the year BU warned Opposition Leader Mia Mottley that there is a centipede in her bed. Today the centipede ran across […]