Dick Hoad being forced out of business by a government project – Photo credit: Nation

Dick Hoad has become an institution in Barbados and is greatly admired by many including the BU household. His literary interventions which many look forward to reading on Fridays supported by his entrepreneurial capability manifested on the The Hoad Farm must be encouraged. One would have imagined a progressive government should promote The Hoad Form as a model to be replicated across Barbados. To the consternation of many this Sunday morning the plight of the Hoads caused by government action has created ‘another’ controversy. BU thank family member Crusoe for highlighting this issue in on another blog.

Talking about financial issues and production issues, the story of the Hoad Dairy Farm in today’s Nation should be given full exposure. This is a serious issue, we ask people to be entrepreneurs, to develop PRODUCTIVE industry and not just import, wholesale, retail. This approach is critical to our survival. Here we have a couple who have done just that, now a government body is destroying their business by competing directly. Is that right?

Remember my words from the other blog thread on heritage…Lotta Long Talk, about entrepreneurship etc. Yet, a couple who have done it successfully and should be an example to others on how to do it, are put to the task, but the same government that is advocating entrepreneurship!?!

What I would want from the Minister of Finance is a cost analysis and revenue statements for the Greenland milk producing farm, audited by the Auditor General. That would show if Government is actually making money (said from the moral view), or losing money to compete with a private manufacturer.

What is the betting that after the Hoads are out of business, the Government business would be ‘sold’ to a ‘private entity’. Maybe even a Trini one!!! And some argue this country is just and fair?

This is the same issue that the CBC, whichever Government is in, has the current administrations best buddy as the head i.e. Government s interference in public information and in competing with private entities.

…here is one further irony, a doozer. With all the talk of Common Entrance and Scholarships etc., how important ‘academics ‘is, I believe that one or both of the Hoads are former Barbados Exhibition winners. They have used brains and hard work to develop an industry. Now this!

Then further, they also (pretty sure about Mr., think Mrs. studied at UWI!
They are the proverbial EXAMPLE of home grown success. Now this! Irony in yuh face!

And PROOF of my claim, that we have become a country of form over substance. In three or four years, we will see a picture of a skinteet Minister, handing over the keys of the Government Greenland Goat Milk farm, to some private entity, maybe Trini, claiming how well Barbados and Government has done in developing a goat milk industry and had managed to sell it for a tidy sum. At which point the price of the no competition XYZ milk from XYZ milk farm, former Government farm, will double. Peuk!

This is just how things are here now. Whereto Barbados?

181 responses to “The Hoad Dairy Farm Issue”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Barbados was once seen as the preferred model of a well-managed small developing state. It was admired as having the potential of showing to the World that a country with a black majority population and a fast growing educated middle class could put a lie to the notion of the black man being the burden of the white man. It was proudly expected that Bim would break the mould that put those countries politically managed by blacks into the same failing basket case.
    Today we see a country that has lost its way and is heading in the same direction as those failed states. Barbados is currently politically managed by a ‘mis-educated’ black elite primarily the progeny of the UWI –glaringly corrupt and in whom much has been invested through free tertiary education and from whom very little, if any is forthcoming. The ownership and management of the commercial sector of the economy have been exported mainly to T&T. Its main income earners are in the A&E, with agriculture on its deathbed awaiting the undertaker.
    “Oh, woe is Bim! “O judgement, thou art fled to brutish beasts, And men have lost their reason. Bear with me; My heart is in the coffin there with “Barbados”, And I must pause till it come back to me”.

2. If a situation which commands a statement from Minister Estwick here is one.

3. Observing (and musing) Avatar
    Observing (and musing)

Did you catch Paul an Laurie on Brass Tacks bemoaning the lack of government support and legislation?

4. @observing

No, can you summarize in 20 words?

5. Bush Tea is totally PISSED by this issue!!!
    T O T A L L Y !!!!

This is clearly not a political matter, since it has been going on under a previous administration and under different ministers. But the Matter clearly relates to some persons in the Ministry of Agriculture.

Those highly qualified invalids who infest that sector of the public service are known for their lack of originality, their ability to do absolutely nothing constructive…all the while spending millions of dollars.
    Why the hell don’t they ‘experiment’ with something original – like farming sea eggs, or breeding flying fish or developing the fruit trees that they planted down in St Andrew and then left to the bush(man)…?

If this DLP government fails to immediately take steps to redress this nasty action against a true bajan family, they will truly deserve all that will befall them …..and the bushman does not make idle threats.

The proper remedy as Bushie sees it now is for Government to hand over control of this dastardly “goat farming experiment” being conducted by the Ministry to the Hoads, – for the cost of $ 1.00, …effective July 1, 2012.

How can anyone be so nasty as to use public funds to deliberately undermine the work of one of the FEW hardworking Bajans in the farming business with a TRULY original product…?

S H A M E !

6. Thinking about this a bit further, it becomes even more clear as to the fiasco this represents.

Firstly, we deal with the points raised in the header article:

– that a successful entrepreneur is being directly competed against by a Government entity is in itself disturbing. To my knowledge, Hoad was pioneering goat milk farming, hence why should a government project even be considered as necessary?
    – we have the point of verbally encouaging entrepreneurship, but actions are quite against this, this can be convered further in another point later
    – we have the price. Is Hoads price so much ‘profit inclusive’ that his will be four dollars above the givernment project? Or is igovernment n effect subsidising competition with a private entity? This is why it is necessary to have the Auditor General do an assessment of the project. If the government project is not making a profit (there is no reason it should be only breaking even if the market is already provided), then serious questions have to be asked. If the government is subisiding the project, then a serious investigation needs to take place. Why is government not competing for chicken production for example, demand usually exceeds supply in chicken necks for example, or is it because we are talking different players?
    – We have the point, that we are praising our academic achievements, but see here two bright and successful hardworking people being taken to task by strange policy decisions or actions.

Tthen, there are now further points to consider, that are just as damning.

– if indeed government really intends to assist entrepreneurs, but it is actions that are contrary to decided policy causing this issue, then we note that the tentacles of government are flailing contrary to policy and thus, government is ineffective. This flies fully with the issue of administration of justice and governments failurte thius far to solve that ongoing issue.
    – that Minister Estwick can complain about funds nto coming to his Ministry, yet it appears we have funds here being used for a quesitonable project, what does that say about the efficiency of the Ministry? Again, points to government policy not bonding with actions and therefore government is failing to administer policy as intended.

Both of these points are just as damning as a policy which may support the government’s goat milk prjoect, contrary to helping entrepreneurs.

This, along with the justice administration issue and the Alexandra issue, indicate that issues are widespread, not isolated.

Something eneds to be done. And it is in government’s court.

7. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

another way of looking at this situation is that poor people can now afford to buy goat’s milk and have at least $3.00 to utilize in something else. I always get the impression that this thing is more about ensuring the entrepreneur is successful and not caring about the poor around us.

8. @Bush Tea

What is most dastardly as you say is that Hoad shared his pricing model with the government entity only to be backraised. This is not only a business ethics issue perhaps illegal.

9. @Smooth Chocolate,,

So, Government should subsidise goats milk for everyone?

Yes, good advice for Hoad would be to get develoment rights for land like a lot have done (though for some STRANGE reason he may not get it so easily) , sell the poroperty and set up a retail shop in swan street selling knock off jeans, t-shirts and shoes from China!

Lot easier and in line will all current Barbados business trends.

Too besides, jeans and tshirts dont go bad and cheap cheap from Chinas sell for nuff bajan dollars!

WAIT, why i giving Hoad this advice, I can do the same?!!!!

But I can’t farm goat milk though!

10. The matter smacks an emotional chord with the BU household for a personal reason as well.

BU looks forward to a QUICK resolution to this matter.

11. If ity is not considered inappropriate that I add a lighter note, can you imagine Hoad inviting the Minister to work at the farm for a day, to see how tough it is?

5 am start and Hoad sends the Minister out to milk the goats.

5:30 and out Hoad goes to check how he is getting on….

Hoad sees the man and exclaims ‘ ‘wait Minister….wha…wha…what yuh doing ‘?

Minister; ; ah milking de goat , ah goat half a pint hey awreddy;, with a proud look,

Hoad…buh sir, ah…dat ones a RAM!!!!

Lol….. ;-)_

12. The BU household takes this opportunity to extend condolences on the passing of the brother of Dick Hoad. May he rest in peace.

13. There are SOOOOO many instances over the years when a gang of us have been harping about the process favoring service providers over producers in Barbados. This whole thing comes as NO surprise. Sure make Wes Hall a Sir (really care nothing for the title), make Henry Fraser a Senator, give a shipping agent an honour of some kind, even Frances Chandler an honour (she is still a service provider afterall), but f#ck up Hoad and all of the other producers and manufacturers with him. I sorry that I can’ speak fah myself, that would be un-cool!

14. What is the history of this operation? Someone wrote it was an experimental project but these things take on a life of their own and before you know it you are producing milk in commercial quantities so you must find a market.

What to do? Since there is all that milk Gov’t should supply the goat milk to the School Meal programs in lieu of milk from PHD which would then upset PHD. How about converting that milk to Goat Cheese? Goat Cheese is a highly valuable commodity in many markets and this could be a niche markets for Gov’t in the local and regional market..

15. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

This is a golden opportunity for the Minister Estwick to show some leadership and move to protect the Hoads from unfair competition by Government. He should take out his gun and go to the farm and shoot all those goats. LOL!

16. @Sargeat

Your rebuke is accepted. We had hoped one of the females on the blog would have felt justly motivated to submit a piece on the role the unsung heroes (fathers) play in the well being of the family unit. Alas there is still time.

In the intervening period (we hope) I HAPPY FATHER’S DAY!

17. @ David, Bushie et al. Agree totally.

@Bushie. Read your excellent blog for the first time two days ago. Of course, don’t agree with all you say, but well worth reading. Congrats and will be a regular from now on.

18. old onion bags Avatar

Now Caswell
    If tomorrow Pitt Bull loses it…. and go and shoot all DEM government men like Clone…..I hope you know ..You lock up !

19. Trust Smooth Chocolate to choose to see it from that angle… Obviously Government can afford to sell the milk cheap… The Minister of finance can always take it back in the VAT….we would actually end up paying much more….but that may not be obvious to everyone….

Bushie is willing to bet that if David were to do a “Tales from the Ministry of Agriculture” we will find by chapter 3, that this is the result of some moronic civil servant whose job involves “research”, and whose idea of originality is to use the government’s money to copy and outdo Lowdown….. Steupsssss

@ Amused
    Bushie have not been on that blog now for months… That was just an experiment to see what David goes through…. Bushie bows to BU’s genius and commitment…. 🙂

@ Caswell
    What shoot what goats what?!?,
    ….the goats seem to be the best part of this affair. Instead of shooting the innocent goats, how about firing the idiot that came up with the money wasting scheme….? …..oh wait!!! You is a union man nuh!? You cannot contemplate firing anyone except a Principal or manager,,,,

…LOL you almost as bad as RR who is upset with calls to fire the incompetents in the Court system….presumably on the grounds that he may incriminate himself 🙂 Ha ha

20. @David
    Only now seeing the comment. In a nutshell bemoaning the lack of government support and initiative for agriculture. Was instructive coming form James Paul on the heels of Estwick’s statements. Agriculture like ICT will always be a “nice talking point” that receives only 5% of the attention it deserves.

Where the Hoads are concerned as always nowadays the response spits in the face of those affected by the act. Imagine a senior official saying that nothing is wrong with undercutting, because there’s enough of a market for everyone. This from people who used the Hoad’s good faith and our taxpayers money to get where they are. God don’t like ugly.

Just observing.

21. Okay so Paul was on air today and that coward Mathew Farley, one of many at Starcom introduced the notion of Paul being a member of Parliament on the Government’s side for four years and stopped short on the obvious follow on comment …! Part of this problem of ineffectiveness again comes from the individuals in media houses who make a living off of controversy …

22. @BAF
    Don’t forget that Farley wears colours as well 🙂

23. an wunna talkin bout food security.

Hoad should turn the farm into a “hobby farm” and work as a consultant to the Ministry of Agriculture.

Problem is that men like Hoad (and my late father who was a farmer) are driven to work exceptionally hard for a living.
    They work from 5am to till the sun goes down.

I hope BU will keep this issue in our face and hopefully the politicos that come trolling will let the Minister of Agriculture know he needs to find a solution that will protect Farmers like Hoad.

24. One important consideration is that the Ministry has no risks because the treasury is a bottomless pit of taxpayer’s money.

They can undercut on price because they don’t have to make a profit.

25. Observing

The only colour that I would pin on Farley is pink …! Ha ha ha

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

This act- geared at destroying a small business- is indicative of the hypocrisy of government’s position on “entrepreneurship”. But as they say talk is cheap and Bajans like cheap things especially those made in China.
    This ‘lotta’ talk about Barbados becoming the entrepreneurial hub of the World by 2020 is reminiscent of the “Poster” calypso. Now how can such a target be achieved in less than 10 years when our present educational system is currently designed to produced servile, obsequious who are indoctrinated not to take risks but to obey authority and instruction unswervingly as in Victorian times? This form of indoctrination results in a docile consumer-type servant class. The current system is geared to those who show signs of academic brilliance and are therefore rewarded with scholarship and funding. It is not supportive of those with enquiring and creative minds and eager to think “outside the box”, to use a modern cliché. Those who do not fit in are seen as rebels and troublemakers.
    No wonder we have so many consumer sheep and very few producer foxes.

27. Miller

If you knew who I am you would know why I so much agree with you. Walk a mile in my shoes before you judge me … but of course you have never done that, thanks!

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Sargeant | June 17, 2012 at 4:07 PM |
    “How about converting that milk to Goat Cheese? Goat Cheese is a highly valuable commodity in many markets and this could be a niche markets for Gov’t in the local and regional market.. ”

Excellent idea! Now, that’s what you call thinking outside the box. Goat cheese is much better for human consumption both nutritionally and health-wise. It can also attract a much higher added value than ordinary cow cheese. Why can’t the local PHD be a bit more innovative and diversify in this area? But with the very high number of technocrats and bureaucrats holding PhD’s in the Ministry of Agriculture simple ideas such as yours will never see the light of day. Stay tune, we will soon be importing ‘goat cheese’ from theYunnan province in China. We like it so!
    How does the name “Morgan Lewis Organic Goat Cheese” 100% Bajan Sound?

29. Observing (and musing) Avatar
    Observing (and musing)

@Miller and sarge
    If the Hoads thought outside the box how long do you think it would take before we get GOGC (government original goat cheese) ?

30. @Miller

I was just about to expand on the idea of local goat cheese which could also supplant the imported Anchor cheese from NZ that Bajans love to consume. It would be a win win saving some foreign exchange and boosting local products while improving the overall health of Bajans.

If the Gov’t won’t do it perhaps Hoad should treat this as an opportunity that when life gives you lemons you can always make lemonade.

31. In Barbados hundreds of years later we are still battling with transitioning from sugar to the more marketable by-products. The same mindset will dog goat milk production.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Observing (and musing) | June 17, 2012 at 8:29 PM |

Until the Twelfth of Never! This is not the role of Government. Government’s role is not to produce commercial products but to act as a technical facilitator, marketing enabler and in some cases financial supporter at the developmental stages.
    The production of goat cheese can be done as a Cooperative venture. The credit unions could also get involved in the financing of the venture There is also the possibility of ice cream being made from goat’s milk. One wonders if Chefette will be just as interested as indeed they have been with Coca Cola selling sweet water.

33. @miller

Is this any different to the government starting the GEMS project to directly compete with small and medium size hotels on the South Coast?

34. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Miller

Leave the credit unions out of this mess. Every time people hear how much money the credit unions control, some sage feel that they must dip their hands in it. That is not the credit unions’ role. The Central Bank has lots of money, why don’t you suggest that they fund such a venture.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Caswell Franklyn | June 17, 2012 at 8:54 PM |

Easy, Tiger!! Just a suggestion!
    I am not saying that the credit unions should lend money to the Hoad’s family business. But if goat dairying has potential why can’t a cooperative type venture be of investment interest to the movement to broaden its investment portfolio? Or would you have the credit unions stay away from risky agribusiness projects and stick to financing cars and other imported consumer goods? Don’t you see agribusinesses as opportunities for economic enfranchisement of the entrepreneurial Bajans?

36. Caswell you could really hush do!!!
    You mean that you REALLY can’t see a problem with Bajans having BILLIONS of dollars in savings but not willing to invest in local production and agriculture?
    What is the point of saving three billion dollars and have no control over Barbados? No shares in business, no ownership? No control of the press…? ….only looking for 2.5 % from Canadian banks…

…the purpose of money is not to be hoarded, it is to be used for self and community development….

But then again …..

So David, by now you must know exactly who is responsible for this dastardly attack on Bushie’s friend Lowdown…. When do you plan to spill the beans? 🙂
    ….this can’t done so….

37. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Miller

I have no problem with a credit union lending to the Hoads or anyone else if they are members. If any venture is viable and a member produced a business plan, his credit union is duty bound to assist. As long as the member demonstrates the ability to pay back the money that was borrowed so that the money could go to assist another deserving member. Risky agribusiness lending is not part of the remit of credit unions.

38. Don’t let us stray from the salient point.

Why should Government subsidise milk production to compete with a farmer when we all know that Barbados must encourage farming.

Last week David Estwick was ranting and raving. Well let him show how serious he is about agriculture.

He can get in his air conditioned luxury car and drive down by Hoad and talk about agriculture and goat farming.

Hoad got a University Education so he should not have a problem communicating.

39. In terms of funding, potentially valuable new ventures should be able to raise funds on our thus far stagnant stock market.

Proper fiinancial projections, asset statements and proper company structuring ar necessary to ensure IPO success.

Unfortunatlely, the biggest stumbling block will be trust.

Bajans will not want the ‘sheep’ as directors, those who take directorships as another income stream and little else.

Such IPO’s need active and independent directors, for trust to exist.

That is the biggest hurdle we have to encouraging investments in thrid party comapnies.

40. Ram goat liver good fe mek mannish water
    Billy goat teet’ mek earring fey yu daughter
    Curry goat lunch put the bite to you bark
    It mek you daughter walk an’ talk

BABFP 2011

41. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

My advice to you is that you should address things that you understand. Credit unions are designed to assist its members. All the money in credit unions belong to the members not some entity called credit union. That money is pooled and lent to individual members so that they can even get into risky agribusiness. But it is not the credit union’s role to invest in the particular business. Put another way, the credit union lends to members so that they can get into business. The credit union is merely a glorified sou sou (meeting turn) with rules. You don’t automatically qualify for your turn: you must apply for it. You would not like the fellow that is holding your meeting money to invest it for you.

42. Totally agree with the remedy offered up by BUSH TEA.The Hoads practically pioneered the goat milk business and brought it to such respectability that it got a government department involved to compete with it.The solution is as suggested by BT.Hand over everything to the Hoads.The market will determine his price for sure.
    But another thing.What is the St Andrew MP Mr Payne’s position in all this.And what is the wannabe lady who appears to be au courant with all that makes St Andrew tick,what is she saying on this matter.Not a peek out of either party!Shocking.And St Andrew just had a nasty ,wuckup carnival while the Hoads,decent hardworking bajans having to compete with a government department underselling their product and its left to the Nation newspaper to bring their plight into the public domain.

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@David | June 17, 2012 at 8:48 PM |
    “Is this any different to the government starting the GEMS project to directly compete with small and medium size hotels on the South Coast? ”

This was a major costly mistake resulting in a perpetual financial millstone around the taxpayer’s neck.
    This acquisition was made when the tourism industry was well established in Barbados and able to withstand the shocks of the market place.
    This should not have been the role of government; other incentives should have been offered to any potential buyers. But corruption and kickbacks could have been the levers that ‘sealed the deal’ of state ownership.

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Caswell Franklyn | June 17, 2012 at 9:33 PM |
    ” ….But it is not the credit union’s role to invest in the particular business….. ”

So explain COB’s investment in Sunbeach, real estate development and possibly other credit unions investments in the CLICO EPFA’s?

45. Agree there is a role for the MP of St.Andrew George Payne to play here.

46. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I am glad you asked: it is not their business, unfortunately the credit unions, not only COB, are led by people who want to play that they are big businessmen investors who like to take risk but with someone else’s money. As the law stands right now the people who made that investment in Sunbeach should make good the loss to the credit union, but when the regulators and those regulated are chums, things like that would happen.

But that is not as bad as Public Workers acquiring a business to compete against the credit union which got the blessing of the PM and the compliant regulator who exercised its authority without regard to the rules.

More will come the new Financial Services Commission is intimidated from performing because of political influence. I know of what I speak, but unfortunately for you, as a member of the Supervisory Committee I am duty bound to report the facts to the members at a general meeting and not here on BU. But Peter will pay for Paul, and Paul will pay for all, Mark my words!

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Caswell Franklyn | June 17, 2012 at 10:19 PM |

Didn’t mean to stir up a hornet’s nest but the CU movement needs a bit of shaking up before a major disaster confronts members since there is questionable oversight by the body set up to regulate.

But as you hinted: Peter (PE )will pay for Paul (JP) both of whom have strong party political ties and seem untouchable.

48. Caswell
    What speak “what Bushie knows about” what?!?
    Did you not hear Hants explain that Bushie knows everything….? 🙂

Most of what YOU know about Credit Unions was learnt at the feet of the Bushman…. Unfortunately you were always hard ears and failed to pick up everything… Too busy fighting over basics…

You are correct that credit Unions are CREATED and DESIGNED to serve their members first and foremost. In the initial stages, they are like meeting turns as you say, but only a complete joker would expect that this will be the case after 60 years of success….

Right now what Credit Union members NEED is economic enfranchisement and political clout.
    The Miller is right that there is a clear role to be played…..

The ultimate fool is the one who, in the abundance of water, is thirsty based on rules developed for when the time when there was a drought….

…see what Paul says about continuing to drink milk when you should be eating meat…

49. Hoad has a very simple straight forward solution that has worked for many others before him. Contribute to both political parties … both! You can’ chose one ahead of the other, and I am not talkin’ small money either. $100,000.00 per party to start, particularly now that an election is due.

50. Can we expect a swift response to this matter from government or the same lethargic response which has come to be perceived by the public?