Dr. Jerry Thorne resigned as Chairman of the BTII over the Barbados Pierhead Project

In the opinion of many the Pierhead Marina Project has NOT generated enough debate in Barbados. BU posted several blogs on the subject and the Leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur had promised to call the Public Accounts Committee to order to address concerns about said project. Regrettably Arthur has not followed through for reasons yet untold.

However, based on court documents filed in December 2012, in the matter – Lagan Vs. Barbados Tourism Authority – Arthur’s apparent delay maybe a strategy with an eye on the general election which must be called no later than April 2013. It is general knowledge that Lagan Construction, the company originally selected to build the Pierhead Marina in a BOLT arrangement,  was summarily replaced by SMI, a company registered in Barbados but incorporated in St. Lucia with its principal Gline Harrison. SMI was one of three companies which were contracted by VECO to build Dodds prison.The reply to the defence document (see below) makes for interesting reading by its justification of why the government awarded SMI the contract. – also see related BU blogs below.

BU takes this opportunity to thank the person responsible for enlightening the Barbadian public.

The Statement of Claim spells out the following:

1. Damages for breach of contract ion the amount of USD28,105,807.00.
  2. Special damages in the amount USD346,444.
  3. Interest pursuant to Section 35 (1) of the Supreme Court of Judicature Act
  4. Costs;and
  5. Further or other relief as the court deem just
See p:3/28

See related Court Documents:

See BU Blog on the subject:

1. ouch the lawyers not going easy pon anyone in this.. given our justice system delays by them time they declare lagan the winner it would be up to 100 million us owed to them.

2. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

how long do politicians believe that taxpayers can continue bearing the brunt of their ill advised and Party decisions? at some point in time unrest will surely arise in this country. enough is enough is closer than we dare to think…looking thru Barbados’ political history, Party politics has been thrown over every decision made for this country…greenland, st. joseph hospital and enquiry, the eye clinic that languished for 14 years, the st. john’s polyclinic – 18 years , and the list goes on. it is time to stop this madness

3. Small correction the election can be called as late as May 2013, the 5yrs plus 90 days count begins from the first sitting of parliament, (february 12th i believe) not the election day of Jan 15 2008.

4. The documents posted place both sides of this issue in the public domain which at first impression deflates the political balloon the matter had become. A careful read suggests that there is substance to the government’s position.

5. Treasure Island Avatar
    Treasure Island

What is that substance?

6. One of the substantive arguments by the defence is that the rights conferred to VECO were retained by SMI given its association with VECO and the Dodds project.

7. A general comment: it continues to be a worry that traditional media seem reluctant to make public court documents available to the public. Where there is an information vacuum we know what it leads to. Our media needs to step up if it wants to remain relevant.

8. @DAvid
    “if it wants to remain relevant”

That’s the magic question. I think it just wants to remain profitable.

9. @observing

Perhaps there is a symbiotic relationship which explains the foothold social media is making?

10. Observing (and musing) Avatar
    Observing (and musing)

The media is a business crafted to make money or advance agendas. Objective journalism comes second or occasionally runs neck and neck with priority one. Governments need money, and successful businesses to survive. They cannot and choose not to live without each other.

Social media is unbeholden to anyone (that we know of so far 🙂 ) and allows for the creation of information from within rather from on top. The difficulty is that it’s reach and effect has a ceiling that til now has not and probably cannot be breached. It’s up to the citizenry to exercise their “power” based on what they learn from each other daily on blogs such as this. Without the exercise of that power or “calling” we shall remain at square one.

The social media revolution is only but a beginning but it can have no true revolutionary success unless the same said genuine and visionary leaders we speak about so often take to the physical fore and lead.

My sincere commendations to you David on a fantastic online job in our 66 sq mile domicile. I don’t think many appreciate the power, value and significance of the information generated here over the years.

11. @Observing

Thanks for the compliment. BU has become what it is because of you et al.

Sometimes it takes ONE future leader to be influenced and to trigger the ‘revolution’.

12. I would love to get my hand on a copy of the BTI Inc Act to see where the power to award contracts lie.

13. @ Enuff

The power to award contracts would be contained in the By-Laws of the BTI and the Comapnies Act of Barbados.

14. If a police officer damages someone, the AG is the one charged, therefore if the BTI defaults, the government of Barbados pays the penalty. This government, some inherited, some they caused, is faced with some large debts and the interest will keep rising. Where I blame this government is, they knew about the ones they inherited and delaying the payment will only cause the taxpayers un-necessary money, plus to cancel contracts because they did not start it has resulted in at lease two large payouts, $ US $ 39 million to 3S and another $ 60 million now to lagan. This shows a lack of maturity within the political system, this is where partisan politics can destroy a country.

15. Obs(and smiling) Avatar
    Obs(and smiling)

Poor journalism David what has Barbados Tourism Authority got to do with Lagan Construction and the Pierhead Marina Project? You sure its not Barbados Tourism Investment Inc of which you speak which was once chaired by Dr. Thorne. If you cannot get the agencies correct why are we to believe anything else about the story.

16. Treasure Island Avatar
    Treasure Island

Is that your way of not being sued for defamation?

17. Observing (and polling) Avatar
    Observing (and polling)

@scout
    Was the 3S finalized?

18. @Obs

Thanks

19. Observing (and polling) Avatar
    Observing (and polling)

P.S. To all
    Observing at 5:46 is most definitely NOT ME.

Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. I thank you kind impostor.

The true Observing

20. It sickens me when I see these law suits holding up national development. The sickest part is the size of the suits multi million in nature guaranteed to be bogged down in the ridiculous court system for decades. The big name lawyers like Johhnny Cheltenham should be ashamed of themselves for taking on such cases blocking national development resulting in big loss of jobs, revenue, foreign exchnge etc. The whole greedy laywer syndrome, and we know many of the lawyers are dishonest, destroys a lot of projects that would’ve taken Barbados forward. The Pierhead Marina is a prime example. So much wastage of time,of scarce government money and resources for what? Its deplorable and sickening.

21. My big issue is this: there is simply NO public accountability for projects done at taxpayers expense, in Barbados.

There should be an annual financial report, audited by the Auditor General, of all projects costing over Bds$ 5 Million.

This should detail budgeted cost, actual costs to date, have an engineers report on status and completion percentage, projected costs to completion and an appendix list of those suppliers or contractors or services providers who have each received payments of more than Bds$250,000.

This report should be available for purchase at printing cost at the GIS.

Otherwise we are just blowing hot air.