Cynthia Forde, MP

BU raised concern in an earlier blog about the lack of participation in debates by former Prime Minister Owen Arthur in parliament post-2008. Arising from the robust debate which ensued BU sought to secure the attendance records of members of parliament, we failed. What we found out though is that several members of parliament enter the Chamber and after a few minutes will take to the exit. The attendance record therefore shows the member present. Arthur we have been told is the biggest offender post-2008. The reality is that the job of a member of parliament is inextricably bound up in representing constituents and law-making activity. One cannot be separated from the other.

Unfortunately the Lower House has been labelled ‘poorakey’ by leader of the opposition Owen Arthur, many Barbadians agree. Today BU was pleased to listen to Arthur contribute to the debate on a resolution to note and approve Protocol VI of the Social Partnership. His vast and intimate knowledge of the economy derived from being minister of finance for fourteen years was apparent. Minister Sinckler and his colleagues on the government members would disagree of course.  Politicos have been salivating for a long time at the opportunity to witness Arthur, the master tactician absorbing the challenge of debate from Sinckler, who was voted in a recent CADRES poll as the most popular of the DLP members of parliament among the populace.

BU continues to monitor the standard of debate and behaviour by our members of parliament. We pay them to do a job and nothing less will be accepted.

The picture of a seemingly disinterested Cynthia Forde, member of parliament for St. Thomas sitting in the Lower House today piqued our interest. When the picture was taken the leader of the opposition Owen Arthur was on his feet. Was she sleeping? BU caution those in the gallery to avoid the wrath of the Speaker’s chair.

122 responses to “Spotlight On Parliament”

1. old onion bags Avatar

See if you can understand this ..Lellit again…..DEM ass is grass..unless something happens soon…so far…you guys are heading closer to the door as each day passes….we thought Donville was up to something…but alas the iron gone cold….brukk-it-in ..lol
    As ac states…a miracle needed….not another Photo OP.

2. @ac
    So after the debate what are arthur innovative and visionary solutions the same ole rheortic of cutting social programs and education and privatising govt.”

When you have a burgeoning DEFICIT you reduce spending (cut i.e. minimise/remove programmes or privatise) or you increase revenue (increase taxation). Pray tell what do you call reforming the Drug Service to save $40m or reduced appropriations to social agencies? Or funding UWI, BTA and Transport Board through NIS?
    What are the Dems’ visionary solutions by the way: duty free cars and reggae concerts? Free bus fares and camps? constituency councils that are more political than statutory boards? cell phone taxes? More taxes? Locating a new state of the art sugar factory way off the island’s main transport route and with one road in and out rather than at Bulkeley? Or paying Gol for plenty empty seats in the last 2years? Stupse

3. Tell it again Avatar

Barney Lynch aka snuff why don’t you tell them why you did not last two months at The Caribbean Hotel and Tourism Association?

Was it not because they later learnt that you had stolen money from Barbadian taxpayers and was on the take with money from the Carnival Cruise Line and a Mr Rooney has your files in hand and in the hands of others displaying them and you as a fraud and crook?

4. | June 6, 2012 at 4:49 PM |
    Every right thinking Bajan mourns the massive loss of David Thompson his elevation to PM was about to send Owen Arthur into oblivion when the grim reaper took him.
    Owen ran from David Thompson and was on the verge of irrelevance and retirement until he realised David was dying. He then tag teamed with a man he had fired for issuing threats to a journalist. A man he had not spoken to for years short me crutch George Payne to ambush and backstab Mia.
    Life is unpredictable a week is a long time in politics six months an eternity lets watch the proceedings.
    Arthur would have disappeared if Thompson was still around.
    Rest In Peace David you were a giant of a political leader.

5. “Rest In Peace David you were a giant of a political leader.”

I guess OSA must be FOUR giants then.

6. You confusing giants with Feet.

7. thank you br franklyn for assisting me in peddling my pedantic position.

8. @Caswell

Did you take the point made that Arthur et al visit the Chamber and is therefore marked present. Using this approach means that the Speaker couldn’t execute the rule you posted no?

9. old onion bags Avatar

BTW..passin thru
    Are you the same one that could tell me so much about Trinidad position and oil..and we don’t have no matter to worry about trini cravenness.? Which one ya is today…ya mek up ya mind yet ?Mary had a lil lamb or Jack be nimble ?

10. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

In all fairness to Arthur, the practice of going to Parliament just to get your name marked is quite widespread. However, he is a major offender in this regard. As I said to be fair when he was PM he would sit in his office listening to the debates and if he heard anything that merited a response, he would be quickly on the floor.

My understanding is that he sits in the office listening as usual, but apparently he does not hear anything of any substance that would cause him to stir. I could believe that because I find that the debates lack intellect.

11. @Caswell

Of course this position that Arthur takes is a passive approach and discounts the role HE can play in lifting the debate.

12. afta chris sinckler mek mash potaotoe soup out of Afta i see lil onions scrambling all ova de place picking up and everthing he could find to put the shortman back together

13. What should Mr Arthur try to raise the level of any debate, when you have upstarts like Chris Sinckler and Co. spurred on by some yardfowls, who would tell him how he mashup Owen, not learning from him, but willing to keep the standard “poor-raky.” i used to enjoy debates with Tom and Barrow and quite recently David and Owen,

14. @The Scout

Reread what you wrote. Arthur’s obligation is to the people not politicians sitting on the other side.

15. @ passin thru…..”Life is unpredictable a week is a long time in politics six months an eternity lets watch the proceedings.
    Arthur would have disappeared if Thompson was still around.
    Rest In Peace David you were a giant of a political leader”
    ………………………………….
    Boy God is good, you are right on one thing, life is unpredictable……..after going up and down this country telling so many lies, soon after he got what he craved after his whole life, he did not get a chance to enjoy it. Can we say, karma is a bitch! God is great!

Keep wishing ill on Owen, karma is a bitch!

16. David
    Why re-read? With a joker in the chair, no contribution by Mr Arthur would be allowed to be given freely, and the dis-respect shown in the Parliament is unprecedended. Even with Lammie Craigg and Co we used to have a robust but respected debating, today that shill is lost and the young turks are just interested in trying to insult each other than learn from the elders. Arthur’s debating among them is a waste of time, they will learn NOTHING.

17. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac
    I CAN’T WAIT FA ELECTIONS…not you ? NUFF people going hold they belly n cry…

18. I dont want to hear Arthur until he produces a processed cheque for the money he received that he said he paid to the BLP.

CHECK.

19. old onion bags Avatar

So Mona Lisa… gine have to get a Bank Money Order fa D $10 Million.. den…..rite ?????

20. Rumour has it that general elections will be held in Barbados on Monday October 29th coming.The oracles have been consulted and the king of sinjin hath whispered to the believers.He that hath ears…..the lord giveth and the lord taketh….

21. What we come to now? True there is much disrespect in the house.
    True we bajans don’t have short memory not of things now nor years ago;4yrs is not a long time to forget! What is there really to learn from theëlders”who are in the house that some here want to revere? Bad behaviour and disrespect among other bad things? The youth of this country certainly can’t look at the obstinate behaviour of those in the house who do the vilest things and show disrespect to the chair then plea äsides”not to be heard by the chair or parliamentary privelege! The ëlders” on this site need to show respect too for themselves( insulting to no avail;swearing even of the dead and promoting the worst behavior possible, yet if you had to meet them on the street in their suits they want to make you believe that they can’t mash a fly! Oh the HYPOCRISY of you lot its atrocious!

22. old onion bags Avatar

Pringles
    ll..Is Onions..ya old buddy….we counting on ya voting hear..Don’t realize FUNY worse fears…he just made an appeal on TV. But he ent know the die dun cast …..Sir Lancenot n friends…..the plank beckons…DEM like over roast corns…nabody ent want DEM.

23. @ TRUTH | June 6, 2012 at 7:37 PM |

I dont want to hear Arthur until he produces a processed cheque for the money he received that he said he paid to the BLP…………………….

Just as soon as we see FAMILIES FIRST account and the final report from the Judicial Manager!

24. Richard,
    I do not think that the Dems can last that long….things will fall apart if they wait so long. Do not believe all this spin that the economy is stable…. far from it. They have to call elections and then administer the poison to the people. Did you hear when the maguffy minister mentioned that they cant cut salaries because the BLP made it law, passing strange comment. They will have to go soon after the budget, the latest just before schools reopen after the summer holiday.

25. “Todd and Byer-Suckoo MUST be related. DUMB and DUMBERER”
    mr todd and mrs suckoo might be lacking as parliamentarians but they certainly are not DUMB.

26. Oh! boy did humpty dumpty had a great fall in parliament deh udda day! OSA had a hands on experience in “innovation: hand delivered to him by Chris.btw what was Afta message. i think i remember his last word was OUCH!

27. a picture is said to be worth a thousand words, but cynthia picture says only one word”Boring” and guess who was boring de life out of she. the yesterdayman OSA. that picture is a preview of the upcoming movie of “LIFE wid AFTA” check it out at our DLP campaign meetings in the coming months good for great laughs and rumshop banter

28. old onion bags Avatar

@ Prodigal
    I do not think that the Dems can last that long….things will fall apart if they wait so long. Do not believe all this spin that the economy is stable…. far from it. They have to call elections and then administer the poison to the people. Did you hear when the maguffy minister mentioned that they cant cut salaries because the BLP made it law, passing strange comment. They will have to go soon after the budget, the latest just before schools reopen after the summer holiday.
    Oh you are so right……We can also add the money soon running out.The upcoming RhiannaJayZ show which we all know they are behind..they hoping for a good push off …hoping to divert attention from the stench the people have been enduring….. also, looks like the T2020..is off ..Rhianna and JayZ now instead.
    The prophets post late OCTOBER….and we are ready ..all gatlins polished.powder in D chamber…everyman jack in samurai mode.
    Battalion to a moat, awaiting signal….all been rehearsed and rehearsed again for this will be no sandi fiasco…..surprises too..but of course ..the element of surprise is crucial….they shall leave the sorrowful lot they came..with lies and paper bags of monies taken with no reciprocal votes..the people in payback mode…shall have the laugh.. laugh till big men cry.

29. Observing (and waiting) Avatar
    Observing (and waiting)

How can the BTA honestly claim no involvement in a Rihanna concert?…when they were the ones who organised the last ones, they are the ones who entered into a long term contract with her and they were the ones who promised “more shows.” Plus, a show of that magnitude could not have flown over their heads…plus…they would want to, as they say, maximise such potential….

30. Prodigal,
    I listened to the MOF when he said they can’t cut salaries.Then OSA said the recall of travel and entertainment allowances etc was equivalent to a salary cut.Did you hear that?That is a man of the moment.Incisive and surgical!After he said that all hell broke loose and as a former editor of the advocate would say the MOF came out swiping and slugging as is his innate tendency….can’t help it.The DLP was hoping that civil servants and the middle class of this country would not have deduced their intent.OSA exposed that intent.Now its all in the public domain;the DLP cut civil servants salaries by removing the tax free allowances they got under the OSA administration.

31. Fractured BLP Avatar

Caswell Franklyn,

Your last comments, like others you make at most times, confirms how opportunistic a person you are.

Arthur was elected to Parliament to voice his views for the development of St. Peter residents and all Barbadians in general.

What good can he achieve in this regards while voluntarily retreating to the Leader of The Opposition Office ?

By the way Caswell, have you forgiven Mia Mottley for calling in your car loan when David Simmons abandoned you in pursuit of his CJ pick ?

Tell your wife , Rhonda hi for me !

32. @Richard King

I hope that 0SA did not say that entertainment and travellinsg allowances are salary, but I have to disappoint you they are not, they are part of a compensation package. And Owen who was a MOF should know better to mislead Barbados. They are allowances and NOT SALARY. I am amazed that CASWELL let that fly.

If they were part of saalry then the entire portion would have be taxed over the years as long as the threshold of the personal alllowance which has changed over time. In a word, if you were being paid salray of 2000 monthly, travelling 1000 and entertainment of one thousand, your salary would have to be computed at 4000 monthly, and if you perssonal allowance was 25 000,your yearly taxable amount would be 23 000 divide by 12 to obtain your monthly taxable amount.

But, because allowances such as the aforementioned beniftted politicains and the middle class, it was used as a way of increasing people take home pay. if it were salary it would be pensioable as pension in the Public Service is computed on salary. There is a difference between compensation package and salary package, Compensation includes; salary and any allowances, such as housing, entertainiment, telphone among other things. prior to the last 18 months the allowances in the Public were exempted from taxes, but a portion of the housing and travelling allowances are now temporarily taxed,

33. correction not salary, but pension is computed on ‘pensionable emolument’.

after today, blogger2012 is dead and i shall assume a new name

34. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Blogger2012

I do not react to everything. However, you have misled yourself and I hope you have not done so to others. I wrote an article when the allowances were first taxed and I pointed out that there were two different types of travelling allowance. One is a reimbursement for travelling done in connection with your duties which are not taxable in accordance with the Income Tax Act. However, travelling that was paid as a perk where the officer is not required to travel in the line of duty has always been taxable but because of some misinterpretation it was not taxed. This was confirmed by Frank Forde, former Acting Commissioner of Inland Revenue, in a story in the Nation a few weeks ago.

35. @ blogger 2012

i sure will miss him!

36. old onion bags Avatar

Would it not be nice…..if all of them .

Come budget would it not be nice..If we also get an elections date ?

37. Tell it again Avatar

I would not be in any rush if I were Arthur for any election let him first get over the body blows he is about to endure with the upcoming Budget.

But on severely brutal and honest question will be who is he sending forward this time for the blows that he is hiding from ?

As we have seen this frail looking and shadow of his former self is struggling both mentally and physically to cope with the youth and sharpness of an energetic team ably led by P M Stuart and an able and sharp Minister of Finance Mr Chris Sinckler.

38. old onion bags Avatar

OH COME ELECTION DATE
    Not a moment too soon
    The poor people cant take no more
    Everyday alike a horror toon.

Why delay ? Why put off the day ?
    Postponing the solution only further aggrieves the way
    What will it take.?More taxes…flying fakes , visiting Voltaires ?
    Cheesezon gud man, fulfill the plan
    Be a real charm and release the damm..

People will thank you for it too….
    You will be remembered..your promise
    Heads go roll, surely more than a few
    Just watch n see the people’s thrust
    Like when money found n not breathing saw dust

Morning of yore
    People galore, exhaling and fuss.
    It go be party galore as suffering no more
    When Arthur re-command the bus…
    Praise God..not a moment too soon.
    Most definitely ..he must..he must.

OOB…(WIP)

39. And he is yet alive! Your king who was “healthy and told Owen he was pass his sell by date, is dead!

Is this what politics is all about for you low life Dems?

The electorate will deal with you Dems, dont you know that people out here are sick of the nastiness that comes from this poor rakey Parliament. Your behaviour has demeaned the class of our Parliament, behaviour which it has never seen in its nearly 400 years. Shameful!

Let Sinckler continue with his nastiness, after the elections, we will have a new crop of people who will again restore the pride of Parliament.

40. @Blogger 2012
    Your explanation is clear.The term which should have been used was ‘disposable income’ and not salary.In other words OSA made the point that the decision to take away the concession from those who benefitted is tantamount to ..a reduction in one’s disposable income.These folk are as eagerly awaiting the bell as are the Eager 11.

41. @ prodigal

speaking of “nastiness” you mean after i4years of the OSA poluuting the political atmosphere you calling out sinckler as being “nasty. wuh owen Afta wrote the book on”HOW to be nasty and win friends and influence others” here is a man who stole money from his own campagin and when confronted act as if he was entitled to it and now his poltical tenticles are reaching outward towards taking control of the nations finances. man don’t make me laugh a rogue and a thief wanting to be the next PM

42. It must be said Avatar
    It must be said

Cynthia Forde not paying any attention to the warmed over cold soup coming from a tipsy Arthur.
    Cynthia thinking how can her close friend Mia be duped into fooling Barbados that all’s well with her and Arthur after the worst and debased not to mention nastiest things were said by the short creature about her.
    Cynthia is thinking Mia did not even demand a public apology from the excuse of an Opposition leader for cursing her stink to the public about her alleged alternative sexuality. She never demanded an apology from Arthur for politically beheading her with a guillotine provided by G. Payne, Dee Dee Marshall, Dugid, G.Clarke, the Prior Park assasins. The dark deed was done without her knowledge behind her back.
    If Mia with her big bass voice and bravado cannot extract a small apology from Arthur from the horrible disrepect he displayed to her as a woman, former Deputy PM and opposition leader how can she look herself in the mirror? What kind of national leader can she be?
    How can she look Cynthia in the eyes?
    How can she stand to be near Arthur much less backing him and acting like nothing happened? Does her family who most certainly were gutted by Arthur’s stinking description of their daughter forgive the brute?
    How can Mia look her mother in the eye knowing what Arthur said? Knowing he showed no remorse not even uttering a lil sorry?
    Mia before there was a time when you were held in high esteem but irregardless of what Wikileaks Wick-ham polls report I am ashamed of you.

43. old onion bags Avatar

@ iT must be said

Since we on the subject of women’s lib..
    Won’t it be good if Kamala clone
    Could ask audacious Mona Lisa
    To stop the fibs,and all tis lying bizz
    Give back the damm CLICO pensioners
    Their stolen money..needed to live

44. ac
    How can the DLP yardfowls talk about a $75000.00 cheque that is alleged not paid in to the BLP campaign, when the evidence is there that the dead king DT took $ millions from the Clico policyholders, for himself and family. Gey off it.

45. @scout you still waiting to get a reply from the “dead king”and i still waiting to get the TRUTH from OSA about the cheque after all we want our leaders to exemplify good moral character ? don ,t we.

46. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac
    Last time we check…the Greek servant..Pompodeus..1467 A.D…take up his buried dowry treasure…and leff Sin John church yard…he say he din tekkin na chances,,,.his spirit now resides up at St.John the Baptist.

talk bout notorious…

47. @Caswell

you seem to think that you are the only person knows that there are two types of travelling, the reimbursable amount which is not taxable and the fixed smount which should have been taxable from day 1. buddy, you are not the only one here that can read and understand. in fact, i will let you continue to thank you are the wisest and most read and most knowledgebale person here.

@Ac

had to respond to caswell under my old name. I am not going any where, i consider my self a bloggist. i will assume my new identify soon.

@Amused

I enjoy your articles and look for to continue reading them.

@Scout and Prodigal and Enuff in particualar I shall be like the african snail looking at what you write to eat them up.

@RR

Why you trying to discredit Amused, you are no match for him.

i forward an aticle to u annonymously and ont know if u have received the clue is ford loves motor cars.

48. old onion bags Avatar

OH COME ELECTION DATE
    Not a moment too soon
    The poor people cant take no more
    Everyday tings a horror cartoon.

Why the delay ? Why put it off another day ?
    Postponing the solution only further aggrieves the way
    What will it take.?More taxes…barking geese ?
    Cheezon gud man, fulfill the plan
    Be a charm and release the damm..

People will thank you for it too….
    You will be remembered..your promise
    Eager heads go roll, surely more than a few
    Just watch n see the people’s thrust
    Like when money found n not when bust.

Morning of yore,elections nite before
    People galore, exhaling and fuss.
    It go be party galore as suffering forego
    When Arthur take back the bus…
    Praise God..not a moment too soon.
    Most definitely ..now a man we thrust.

OOB…

49. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Blogger2012

You just like to be abusive to me for no reason but I will continue to take it with phlegmatic serenity.

Despite the fact you and your friends can read and understand, they continue to tax the travelling allowance that is paid to Court Marshals who are required to travel in the performance of their duty.

50. @Caswell

You said that claimed travel is reimbursable, then it is logical to conclude that a fixed travelling amount is taxable by deductive argrument. Further you aslo indicated that Frank Forde stated that the law was broken all along, so why not correct the situation.