Cynthia Forde, MP

BU raised concern in an earlier blog about the lack of participation in debates by former Prime Minister Owen Arthur in parliament post-2008. Arising from the robust debate which ensued BU sought to secure the attendance records of members of parliament, we failed. What we found out though is that several members of parliament enter the Chamber and after a few minutes will take to the exit. The attendance record therefore shows the member present. Arthur we have been told is the biggest offender post-2008. The reality is that the job of a member of parliament is inextricably bound up in representing constituents and law-making activity. One cannot be separated from the other.

Unfortunately the Lower House has been labelled ‘poorakey’ by leader of the opposition Owen Arthur, many Barbadians agree. Today BU was pleased to listen to Arthur contribute to the debate on a resolution to note and approve Protocol VI of the Social Partnership. His vast and intimate knowledge of the economy derived from being minister of finance for fourteen years was apparent. Minister Sinckler and his colleagues on the government members would disagree of course.  Politicos have been salivating for a long time at the opportunity to witness Arthur, the master tactician absorbing the challenge of debate from Sinckler, who was voted in a recent CADRES poll as the most popular of the DLP members of parliament among the populace.

BU continues to monitor the standard of debate and behaviour by our members of parliament. We pay them to do a job and nothing less will be accepted.

The picture of a seemingly disinterested Cynthia Forde, member of parliament for St. Thomas sitting in the Lower House today piqued our interest. When the picture was taken the leader of the opposition Owen Arthur was on his feet. Was she sleeping? BU caution those in the gallery to avoid the wrath of the Speaker’s chair.

122 responses to “Spotlight On Parliament”

1. old onion bags Avatar

A boring Parliament what else ?…led by Jack Benny Why not sleep disengage and rest…..meeting requirements and saying ayes.
    Sleep do..fair Cynthia..till the real Parliament start.

2. Politics is about popularity … F#ck you David, with respect of course …!

3. I’m glad some-one cleared the air on attendance in parliament. Many M.P’s from both sides, just enter the chambers get marked as present and leave, only when they have a cointribution to make, do they stay for any lenth of time. Even in the debate replies, each M.P is told when is his/her turn to speak and they come into the chambers at trhat time. In case Mr Arthur or any other M.P don’t have anything to say , the norm is to be marked present and leave. Remember DT walked out and vowed never to return until general elections are called, and that he did, he didn’t bother to come and be marked present, errol Barrow, took three months leave to rest; What is the big thing about Mr Arthur not being in parliament. Finally, the ones to bother about that are the electorate from St. Peter, if they are not happy with their candidate them and only them can remove him, that day will come and they will make that decission.

4. DAVID. I was watching the news tonight and during the Prime Minister speech, in the seat directly behind him was the Honourable James Paul making sleep snort. How come you ain’t see David.

5. @ David

“The reality is that the job of a member of parliament is inextricably bound up in representing constituents and law-making activity. One cannot be separated from the other.”

How much ‘law making’ has taken place in the past 4.5 years? lol

And on a related topic.
    OSA:
    In the pre-lunch session of debate, Arthur said that strengthening demand and stimulating domestic funding could pave the way for economic growth.Stating that 75 per cent of the economy was driven by domestic demand, Arthur said any growth strategy would have to rely on that demand in a recession.

PM Stuart:
    BARBADOS MUST FOSTER a mindset that people leaving educational institutions should be determined to start their own businesses instead, of looking for jobs, says Prime Minister Freundel Stuart. Stating that the need for entrepreneurship and innovation was one of the biggest challenges facing the country at his time, Stuart said Government in particular could not employ everyone seeking a job.

Isn’t demand necessary for small businesses to thrive? Yet Sinckler refers to Arthur as ““yesterday’s man trying to operate in today’s world”? The PM and his Ministry of Finance like them aint on the same page yuh.

6. @enuff

Why do we make this thing so difficult? The MPs are paid by taxpayers and part of their job description is to go to parliament to represent on the various issues/law making etc. They just need to do it and we as citizens need to insist on it!

7. the demand is there we do import from others which we the local consumer purchase .the point being that barbados needs to be innovative in order to compete for share of the market we buy from therfore our people being our natural resources must be encouraged to become entrenpreurs and given the financial tools on which they can build and compete with other markets which also strengthens our local economy.

8. PM’s observation that our young people many seem to want a job in government i.e. school meals or civil service is instructive. It tells us right away that we are producing a society of mendicants. A lot of the blame can be dished out to the the political parties who have used the carrot of government jobs to woo support. The argument that we live in different times is apt, the question can we show the vision to lead our people to adapt.

9. the revealations in the reckless way in which the BLP took in almost destrying BNOC is mindblowing,

10. Hamilton hill Avatar

The poor lady is asking herself will de co leader tek my seat?

11. @ ac
    The demand is there but businesses closing down?

Well David my view of an MP especially LOO is somewhat different to yours. You want change or the status quo to remain? Why demand MPs to go Parliament to engage in a PR contest?

12. @enuff

Is the answer to stay away or wouldn’t a more effective route be to use the pulpit of parliament to galvanize thought and action?

13. well it is up to the people whether they want visionary change our they want to stay in the same ole reckless mindset of the past of “Selfishness” .it is obvious that the PM has a vision for the future of the youth and people of the country and not a vision of fooling the people into believing that making sustainable and substantial change does not include making some sacrifice.

14. @Tell me Why

You did? Must have missed it.

15. Observing (and learningl) Avatar
    Observing (and learningl)

visionary change? really?

That mendicant society is ingrained in us andcontinually perpetuated

16. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

We are at it again. Can anyone tell me when a bill is being debated in Parliament how many MPs’ contributions connect with the subject at hand? My experience is that one or two speak to the bill and the others fill in their 30 minutes with irrelevant chatter.

Barbados is crying out for parliamentary reform but it must start with MPs that are capable of holding their own in a debate. The reason why Hansard is not available under a few years is because the editors have to put each speech into English and otherwise try to make sense of it

I maintain that Parliament as presently constituted and operated is massive joke. We parody Westminster yet we don’t have Prime Minister’s question time or a system of committees that work. They just go through the motions. We as a people should be ashamed of what Parliament has become.

17. old onion bags Avatar

Face it…..Parliament is but the playground of those enable…..why all the parlance ? We need to know we are here…others are there….just like some need to mind there own business…..you either in or you not ….

18. Of course the clash between Arthur and Sinckler makes for good political strategy for Arthur because it helps to dispel the swirling view that he is willing to participate in debates. The Nation’s headline makes perfect : – )

The games politicians play!

19. Observing (and learning) Avatar
    Observing (and learning)

@Caswell
    Agreed. It should be the Speaker’s job to guide the debate along the lines of the motion. Carrington tries, Best….well……..Best. Can’t say any more.

20. David
    It would be good if we could read the two speeches presented in parliament yesterday by Chris Sinckler and Owen Arthur.

Mr. Arthur keeps speaking broadly about the need to find creative ways to fund health care and tertiary education. It seems clear to me that he has now come to realization that the government cannot continue footing the full bill for those two areas. When the finance minister said that students should only be allowed four years of payment the opposition went for the popular view that students are being unfair.

He wants spending to be allowed in the economy so that foreign exchange can be leak and then he laughs at the government for taking the country into junk bond status.

He wants expenditure cut but it is not saying that you will have to send home persons who are working in the government. Therefore he should be held to his word that if he regains power he will cut expenditure and if he does not, there is a recall clause written in the laws of Barbados.

Should the other non-party economists in the country not speak to the policies of the government where they are controlling consumption and keeping a healthy foreign exchange cover for the imports they will require if things become even tighter?
    The government policies have been very responsible to me. They have become unpopular BUT AGAIN THE DLP WOULD HAVE PUT BARBDOS FIRST.
    If they were reckless they would have done what the DOOM AND GLOOM PERSONS WANTED JUST LET THE PEOPLE HAVE ALL OF THE MONEY THAY WANTED AND THE COUNTRY CRASH.

21. old onion bags Avatar

DLP will lose this elections hands down….we see 22-8 with Stuart ,Donville and Suckoo gone.The middle class got her ass kicked proper…YES we all remember ..then for you now to come with two sweeties bag…like they feeding kids…(gasoline and diesel gone down by 16c) is but laughable…..TIME of fooling the electorate dun you DEMS…..is trash-bone time in wanna ASSES good….WE SHALL NOT FORGET SO EASILY. (.X )going hurt ya fa real..and we go B loving it !
    The middle class and the undecided, will do you in …..PROPER
    (buy your tissues early…..time drawth nye) for time to make back an interesting Parliament once more and seen those Jack Bennys to the door

22. Onion

Not all the middle class is suffering that you are propagating here. I did a little survey in my work place and ten persons changed their car this year already. Many of them have made renovations to their homes and this is in terms of building on rooms or even building another home.

23. old onion bags Avatar

Guess that musse right..affa ALL ….Is it not BARNUM BAILEY BIG TOP…the prestints of your profession ?……I could picture it now …get the panda a new packalaka..boss..D steering urt…
    Man what lies ya briefing…..we talking middle class…not top of the class, teachers,supervisors, dental technicians,sargeants….TIME FOR LIES DONE clone….is big people ya addressing.

24. @Clone

The problem for the government as we see it is that it has not committed to a coherent and consistent communication strategy where the objective to distil how its strategy has been constructive in shielding Bajans from the global economic pressures. Yes people appreciate the world is in problems – there is concern by the IMF/World bank that the world economy may tank, AGAIN – but individuals affected by austerity measures will go with personal fairs and attendant issues. It is why we feel passionately the parliament is there to flesh out ideas etc. These are extraordinary times which calls for extraordinary action/decision making.

25. old onion bags Avatar

corr; precincts

26. old onion bags Avatar

What extra ordinary… extra action what.? Man it was plain and simple ..want mo money UP gasoline…wanna trip to China..UP bottle gas….wanna hold a footballs competition…UP diesel…want to party or enmarble, Citizen Inaugration…man up something..anything…..BUT now they coming Dowwwwwnnnn….how convenient…..Boss even a blind man cud see thru this macaroni…

27. old onion bags Avatar

As Mia so rightly stated….Taxation will not see us out of this recession…
    OSA, Justin Robinson, Mascoll..all sounded the same…..but what can you do when ….you just don’t understand…how … with a “physical deficit” leading the charge….expecting more strategies will only lead to less….And THEY DID !

28. So after the debate what are arthur innovative and visionary solutions the same ole rheortic of cutting social programs and education. and privatising govt . heard nothing from him that was of real importance in developing a progressive nation moving into the21st century i am still at lost as to what are his plans for the future of barbados as chris pointed out he is a yesterday man but i would add with plans only for his self

29. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac
    I see you still begging for a way out…too late babes…
    Seems like your (s) yesterday man…will be tomorrow’s LEADER….lol

30. No nmatter what the BLP says theDLP has done atremendous job of protecting the nation and its people from economic free fall the messages with the evidence it has produce in its fiscal policies and its net gains in doing so.thosewho have ars to hear let them hear reverting to the fiscal policies of the past administration under leader Osa would lead to imminent doom of the same catastrophic levels that we are experiencing now

31. “BU raised concern in an earlier blog about the lack of participation in debates by former Prime Minister Owen Arthur in parliament post-2008. Arising from the robust debate which ensued BU sought to secure the attendance records of members of parliament, we failed. What we found out though is that several members of parliament enter the Chamber and after a few minutes will take to the exit. The attendance record therefore shows the member present. Arthur we have been told is the biggest offender post-2008. The reality is that the job of a member of parliament is inextricably bound up in representing constituents and law-making activity. One cannot be separated from the other.”
    i suppose that you would understand that having failed to secure the attendance records of membersof parliament, you would have been on shaky ground in trying to establish any wrong doing on mr arthur’s part since there are sanctions within the speaker’s domain which can be applied to the non-attendance of parliament by members and none was applied to mr arthur. hence , he was guilty of nothing.
    your subsequent more holistic stance focussing on the ‘job of a member of parliament’ even if pursued to save face does have some merit but we all know thatpoliticians of recent times are in the business of representing the interestsof the party and not the constituents and apart from voting for a piece of legislation formulated by their party are not known to formulate and introduce pieces of legislation of their own making.by theway, your research should also indicate that members of parliament entering the chamber and after a few minutes taking their exit have always been the norm and there has never been any outcry from the DLP apologists up until now about whether this practice was deserving of remuneration.

32. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac
    You should listen to DAVE……and stop dreaming
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    “In all the General Elections held in Barbados, LEADERSHIP has always played a key role:it cannot be downplayed. This D.L.P. will lose badly for a number of reasons, given of course that the B.L.P. hopefuls work they buts off; 1. Too many broken promises
    2. Bad handling of the Economy
    3. The P.M. is a gentleman, but does not have a clue
    4. Promised that Heads will Roll; Coup or no Coup, and has taken no Action.
    5. The CLICO debacle .
    6. After promising that COST of LIVING would be priority no. 1,2,3, has failed miserably in trying to address the issue.
    The Dems will be lucky to win 4 seats.”

33. @balance

Why do you continue with your pedantic positions? Even BLPites agree Arthur hardly attends sittings though he can be found in hid office in parliament. Do you think BU records this information lightly?

If you are so confident in the workings of the office of the speaker and working committees of parliament please explain what is the status of the matter sent to the Privilege Committee about the gun incident in the precincts of parliament.

34. As the DLP goes forward into elections their message would be one of HOPE! and sustainability! and MORAL leadership. the DLP all three of which the DLP so far has demonstrated admirably and which the BLP has cannot dispute.the HOPEis in that having a healthy economy would add vibirantcy and attract investors who otherwise would stay away hope that knowing in the overall people would benefit from it an ecomy that is bulit on a strong and self suporting foundation with thehelp of its people..

35. @ Tell me Why | June 5, 2012 at 10:47 PM |

DAVID. I was watching the news tonight and during the Prime Minister speech, in the seat directly behind him was the Honourable James Paul making sleep snort. How come you ain’t see David……………………….

Tell me Why………Every week that Parliament meets and CBC shows a clip of the PM, James Paul is ALWAYS sleeping….so soundly that at times he is, as Barbadians would say…breaking off his neck. Another culprit is Kenny Worst. But it is passing strange that the person who took Cynthia Forde’s picture did not see James Paul. We can be cynical, cant we?

But to go to Parliament and sleep is alright! They are contributing to the debate and representing their constituents, right?

But David, can you also tell BU, apart from Owen, who else only goes to Parliament, signs in and leaves. The BU bloggers would like to know! Also how often does the MP from St John goes!

36. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac gimme a break.
    HOPE…hoping for what ? ..a miracle….yes one coming the bell will soon ring !
    MORAL Leadership……like the one exhibited during CLICO and AX…yeah rite.
    HEALTHY ECONOMY…….which part ? 4 yrs and it been ONe cry..Glob.Ecom..ya forget ?
    ATTRACT INVESTORS…………RhiannaJayz show maybe…IBC’s pulling out daily…how you do that….more blame game…?

TIME YOU ALL EXIT LADY!

37. @ac……………As the DLP goes forward into elections their message would be one of HOPE! and sustainability! and MORAL leadership. the DLP all three of which the DLP so far has demonstrated admirably and which the BLP has cannot dispute.the HOPEis in that having a healthy economy would add vibirantcy and attract investors……….

I am convinced more that ever that you live in la la land and that you really think Barbadians have short memories. Barbadians have been suffering for four years as a result of the DLP’s policies, each budget, they added more burdens on the people.

They have been crying out for help, just for a little relief from:
    the high water bills
    the light bills
    the gasoline and diesel costs
    high cost of food
    no wage/salary increases

In the meanwhile, the DLP continued to party from day one……big installation ceremony at Kensington, two big Rhianna fetes, big charade for Ryan Brathwaite, big Independence fetes at the Garrison, football tournament, fetes for the youth, numerous parties at Illaro Court and Government House, constituency councils, Sandi in China, excessive travelling, waste of CCJ having a session in Barbados, summer camps for their supporters to get expensive catering contracts and even an MP getting in on this and I could go on and on.

You really think that coming at this late stage with hope can change things. DESPERATE!

Girl, this hope thing aint even working for the popular President Obama!

38. @Prodigal Son

They all do it but BU’s focus is on Arthur because unlike the others his vast experience is needed now more than ever. He is the PM in waiting. We understand many prefer to lime in the lounge

39. “The picture of a seemingly disinterested Cynthia Forde, member of parliament for St. Thomas sitting in the Lower House today piqued our interest. When the picture was taken the leader of the opposition Owen Arthur was on his feet. Was she sleeping? BU caution those in the gallery to avoid the wrath of the Speaker’s chair”

“the publication of the photo of miss forde purportedly sleeping when mr arthur was speaking to create the impression that she is anti-arthur is downright wicked and unbalanced in the absence of the publication of a photo of mr paul who was also shown to be sleeping when mr stuart was speaking is downright wicked and unbalanced.

40. Just out of curiosity, apart from sleeping MPs, was there anything else of substance coming out of Parliament yesterday? I happened to miss it.

41. “If you are so confident in the workings of the office of the speaker and working committees of parliament please explain what is the status of the matter sent to the Privilege Committee about the gun incident in the precincts of parliament.”
    you tell me. you have the ability to obtain inside information as your hoyos/kellman scoop suggests and remember as the blogmaster your credibility is on the line, not mine or ac’s or clone or prodigal or ole onions or caswell.

42. What joke is this of a “debate” between Sinckler and Arthur.Impossible.It’s akin to cockroach at gamecock party…Harsun ‘n garsun?silk ‘n swine ear?King ‘n knave?
    We miss Bree, Billie,Henry,Louis,Richie,Johnny,Errol,Tom,Boychild

43. Arthur has a saying that we all want to go to heaven but nobody wants to die. Do we understand if we don’t change what we are doing nothing changes?

44. @balance

Cop out which is to be expected.

@observing

Yes something important occurred, budget date 26 June announced.

45. @David……..”They all do it but BU’s focus is on Arthur because unlike the others his vast experience is needed now more than ever. He is the PM in waiting. We understand many prefer to lime in the lounge”

David, are you sure that BU’s focus on Owen is really because his vast experience is needed? You allow bloggers to come on here and say the vilest things against Owen. The Dems say they did not want any advice from Owen or Mia, they are doing things to suit them, the BLP had 14 years to do what they want. So do you really think that Chris Sinckler or the DLP want to hear from Owen.

Case in point, Chris Sinckler’s nasty attacks on Owen yesterday and Kellman’s usual incoherent ranting. His contribution was so stupid that not one BLP MP even bothered to rise on a point of order.

46. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I am only intervening to assist “Balance”

Standing Order 72. 2 of the House of Assembly

If, without leave of the House, any Member shall be absent from sittings of the House continuously for not less than three calendar months, the seat of that Member shall be declared vacant.

47. what we are seeing now cis /evidentary of the people,s demand for change starting at the top but apparantely the old guards of the BLP and there followers doesnt “get it”

48. @Prodigal

You have been around BU long enough to know that BU and other contributors have shared kudos to Arthur on occasions. In fact the Master Tactician was created by Yardbroom and borrowed by others. You are correct it gets nasty sometimes but it goes both ways.

49. Observing (and discoursing) Avatar
    Observing (and discoursing)

Thanks David, T – 20 days and counting. woo hoo.!

50. Tell it again Avatar

If Salty Bags and Penis Son and Peter Symmonds the skunk is what the BLP have sent to put a defence on their behalf lord help us.

Post after post and none say a thing of sense or meaningful or sensible substance, much like their party all fluff hot air and empty gaseous stuff.