The name of the person who made the submission withheld on request, obviously a DLP supporter โ€“ BU

Leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur relaxing on the East Coast on May Day

As we draw nearer to a General Election in Barbados, the focus will be directed more seriously on the party leader of the ruling DLP and that of the opposition BLP.

The reason for this is based on the fact that, in Barbados elections, the influence of the party leader has always been of paramount importance. In this regard therefore the recent record of Mr Owen Arthur as a member of Parliament must be placed under the microscope: has he demonstrated that he is a fit and proper person to lead this country at this crucial time in our history?

In examining this question, one is forced to take note of the fact that the recent debate on The Employment Rights Bill took place without contribution by Arthur, the leader of the opposition. This is of significance since it was the BLP Government under Mr Arthur that introduced the said Bill inย  Parliament in 2002; since that time it had been referred to a Select Committee of Parliament .

But Mr Arthur’s continued absence must be a cause for general concern; He has Not, since 15 January 2008 to the present spent more than a total of 10 hoursย  in parliament. His presence has really been restricted to an exercise of “getting his name marked”.

Indeed Mr Arthur often leaves parliament before the chaplain whose function is merely to say the prayers at the start of the session. Against this background, Mr Arthur’s PHYSICAL FITNESS must be scrutinised. It is known that of late he has had to use a walking cane for support and he has complained of a back problem. Has this been a contributory factor since these problems often prevent one from sitting or standing for long periods?

In the current debate he delegated the job of leading the Opposition effort to Mottley and Marshall, in the Upper House, to Symmonds. Surprisingly Symmonds contribution was VERY supporting of government. The result is that both Mottley and Marshallโ€™s contributions were exposed as being out of synch with that of Symmonds.

Recently Miss Mottley was given the surprising role of major spokesman in the Estimates Debate; Mr Arthur himself has often said that the debate of the Estimates is of much greater importance than the Budget Debate. When therefore he allowed Miss Mottley to play the lead role after presiding over her ignominious removal as party leader, we must therefore question the sincerity of this decision. The upcoming Budget Debate will put his physical fitness further to the test. One thing isย  certain: Miss Mottley must know when she is being used as a stop-gap to cover for her fierce enemy Owen Arthur .

Recently too , the BLP held its May day bus excursion andย  the published photo of a very tired looking Owen Arthur, uncomfortably reclined in a lounge chair and holding out his hand to a young family member, did not make for happy viewing .

1. David if he is that good a leader
    How come during his last six years of the fourteen years he could not see that Scotland District was a place of natural beauty and could have been utilized for something else than placing garbage.
    How come that with Mascoll as his economic he did not take his advice then. I think you being mistaken about his changing position.

2. old onion bags Avatar

Man wanna should hear FUNDY cracking jokes pun TV…one he did a great cricketer at Foundation and UWI…..NOw like he can’t even see the ball. lol…. At cricket Legends if you please, with a head Bushy like a fox tail….man gine rasta or wha ?Check-it and enjoy summa D high end jokes…he on CBC now !

3. @ Clone
    Even if OSA “ignored” the Scotland District for 13 years the fact remains that his administration passed the Scotland District Authority Act in 2007. A sign that they were about to implement some ‘transformation’ cognisant of an impending recession (which the DLP laughed off)?
    In four budgets and five Estimates debates how many times have the DLP government even bothered to mention Scotland District? Is the authority functioning?

All of Licorish Village is ZONE 1. People living (legally I must add) in zone 1 areas is nothing new.

4. Froony was quite funny. He does have a good sense of humour and he is a good orator. too bad these skills he possesses cant be transposed to leadership of the country orf good PM

5. You prefer a fraud?Too many Barbadians support illegal activities anyhow so I am not surprise.

6. DLPTV never ceases to amuse all right thinking Barbadians.

Can you imagine the Minister of Finance taking time out from doing his job to take children from his constituency to Mrs Ram place to play with them? And duh, dah, DLPTV is there to catch the minister right as he was bowling. Look how they are brainwashing the young minds!!!!

Well, as he cannot get his own work done, he may as well take the day off and go playing with the children. I wonder who paid for this treat, was it out of his personal wealth or the constituency council?

7. @ Clone
    “Too many Barbadians support illegal activities anyhow so I am not surprise.”

Like putting up billboards without Town Planning permission? Or appointing a CEO to BWA when none existed in the LAW?

8. @Irene Sandiford-Garner,

Why don’t you stay off this blog ?

You will be attacked by the political thugs on BU. They will analyse everything you write and if they find anything they can use to hurt you, they will print a few thousand copies and distribute them.

The people on this blog are totally partisan including me who is a DLP supporter for life.
    You will either be preaching to the converted or the BLPenemy.

Truth on this blog is irrelevant to 98% of the bloggers. And RoyalRumblesyllyG has not even started his Oseymore campaign yet.

9. old onion bags Avatar

Hants
    You need to go to St .Andrew (site) with dat…..you see Irene Sandiford Garner in hay boss? Like you seeing ghost…..

10. old onion bags Avatar

Hants
    The people on this blog are totally partisan including me who is a DLP supporter for life.
    Many others totally disagree with you Canada geese…too easily scared..beside maybe you should send her some campaign funding or hush.

11. Cat piss and pepper Avatar
    Cat piss and pepper

David there was a time you did not allow the same person to write under the different names but I see The SCOUT Peter
    Symmonds showing in a few reincarnations not surprising with him.

I also see the work of the
    Indian non national Jevan of
    Red Advertising reappearing reincarnated from his
    David and
    Leroy days

12. The Dems are desperate!

13. old onion bags “We send back millions every year so that you can have a high standard of living.”
    Yes old onion bags Bajan Canada geese are part of the diaspora remittances you all “appreciate”.

And for the record you can scroll up to this.
    Sandiford-Garner | May 17, 2012 at 11:21 PM

14. old onion bags Avatar

Cool down Ole Boy…..today is the 18th..and I was just redirecting you…besides you don’t send me any remittances..so get that right…Since when you turn to liking Geese ?….I thought you, like me used to catch pompas…don’t let party poo …spoil a gud ting…lol

15. @Cat piss and pepper

Let BU worry about monitoring the blog.

16. look what this one woman army irene sandiford garner has done ruffled the feathers of the blp ites who have put their heads on the chopping block to RESCUE ! RESTORE! and REBUILD the character of OSA and others who would not show up for work and are being paid at the tax payers expense. OSA cannot be restored ! rebuild or even Reconstruct first it will take a humongous amount of credibilty double with a dose of integrity and a furlong of good taste none of which he has ever shown.

17. Cat piss and pepper Avatar
    Cat piss and pepper

Quite bluntly put the second leader of the BLP Mottley has said before and vows to dismiss toppin the one that the lady had to take back the Ridge back dog he named Romeo because Toppin refused to feed the dog and when she found it the dog was skin and bones like the owner.

In fact Mottley will not allow Arthur any room to win any election as she has vowed to the dismemberment of Pain, Marshall and Toppin they are already on her to do list.

Mottley and the Mottley family will do what her clan needs to do to make him eat humble pie

The war of the BLP is far from over if you listened to what was done by Arthur to Mottley and Marshall in the Senate on Wednesday it is clear to see that the instructions to Symmonds was make the two of the chief spokespeople on the bill in the lower house he made them look like total dumb asses imbeciles which he carried out his mission with distinction

18. @ Prodigal Son.
    You mean to say that you are not intelligently enough to see when some post was not directed at you , BUT AT CASWELL ? Nobody was talking to you . Why , like the Bajans say , you don’t wait til your trough put and then bubble in it ?

19. The Dems can’t even get their operatives to speak in one voice.

Cat pies and pepper | May 16, 2012 at 11:40 PM |
    Owen is a seriously nasty piece of work, how he set up Mottley and Marshall for the fall and then suckered Symmonds to carry out his hatchet job on the two of them is an amazing act of political savagery at its best.

Fractured BLP | May 17, 2012 at 5:06 PM |
    David of BU, I told you and the BLPites on this site that the Pegasus Hotel tapeโ€ฆ..will roll in due course. Freundel knows Owen Arthur is in panic modeโ€ฆ..since Owen Arthur actions and words are the subject of that tape.
    Kerrie Symmonds got wind of it just in time โ€“ take a re- read of Kerrieโ€™s contribution in the Senate as reported in the Nation newspaper pages 16 & 17.

Please tell us which one is correct.

20. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Cat Piss & Pepper

Let me say up front that I agree with Kerry Symmonds,sentiments with respect to his contribution in the Senate during the debate on the Employment Rights Bill. But I also agree with you that he would not have spoken as he did without the blessing of his leader. It is obvious that Arthur is up to his old tricks again. Mottley was never more wrong in her opposition to the bill and it is clear that Arthur saw this as an opportunity to further weaken her for the anti-worker position that she adopted. Arthur stabbed her in the back using Kerrie as the dagger.

Mia needed to be taught a lesson but not from within her own parliamentary group. Barbados does not need a new government, it needs a new style of governance. These people on both sides are obviously treating the people with the utmost disrespect.

21. Listened to Kerri Symmonds delivery and there was a sense that he was bending over backwards to support the bill. Even Santia Bradshaw was not as supportive, in fact she proposed an amendment to include workers in the cultural industries. Not sure if there is enough to ascribe dark motives but the inconsistent strategy in the lower and upper houses raises questions and or food for thought.Bear in mind Symmonds is an Arthur man brought to life by the policy of inclusion.

22. Getting back to the gist of the matter, is there any truth to the claim that Arthur has spent a total of 10 hours in the House since 2008?

23. @Sargeant

We don’t have sight of the register but based on regular monitoring of debate Arthur rarely attends the sittings. We are told he remains in the leader of the opposition’s office which the sessions can be viewed via TV. It affords Arthur the opportunity to do other things.

24. @David

Maybe he is surfing the net catching up on BU ๐Ÿ™‚ , no wonder he considers Parliament ( or the people elected to that Establishment) โ€œPoor Rakeyโ€

25. David wrote “It affords Arthur the opportunity to do other things.”

Does he have a secretary ? He might be giving busy giving her regular dicktation.

26. @Hants

Good thing you donโ€™t blog under your own name otherwise if the BLP get back in you would be declared persona non grata.

Donโ€™t worry about the Secretaries the Home Office in charge of that mandate, they will be hiring males or females over the age of 75.

27. @Caswell
    “Barbados does not need a new government, it needs a new style of governance”
    Take an A+ and move to the top of the class.
    Now tell Bushie…..

1- Can you conceive of a better style of governance than that proposed by the bushman here on BU? (The Cooperative House of Selected Representatives)

2- Can you conceive of ANYONE more tailor made for the most critical role in that style of governance (Chairman of the National Supervisory Committee) than yourself?

3- When will you quit resisting the obvious and let us get ahead with the task of saving Barbados from onions and his maurading hoards?

28. Sen Garner
    Sorry for nor replying to you earlier, however, please accept my apolgy. I’ve always held you up as a good budding representative of a constituency. In public you appear genuine, however your reply to my article was very disappointing, firstly, I don’y care if Mr Payne wins the St. Andrew’s seat or not, I just simply stated that if you didn’t win it when the swing was in your party’s favor, it would be difficult for you to win it now. For that remark you labelled me a BLP supporter, to another person who is not self-confident, I would hang my head in shame and join the BLP. The one political party I ever belonged to was the DLP,The Rt Execl. E.W. Barrow was my mentor,however, in my senior years the DLP I supported is NOT the same party I played a meaningful role i, politicians in my early days worked for the party through genuine LOVE for this country, today many of you do it for the SELF.Again I though you were a person of good deportment, again you disappointed me by referring to a seat menber of Parliament, namely M.P George PAYNE as PAIN, not only have you lower yourself but also the Noble Parliament of this country. May I suggest to you, either refrain from using your real name ( IF IT IS REALLY SEN GARNER) or don’t contribute to this blog at all. Consider me foolish if you want to, but a word to the wise (that’s you) GOOD LUCK …………………Peace.

29. @The Scout

It is not impossible. Last election BLP candidates won seats bucking a swing in the process.

30. Sen
    There are a few mistakes…………. again I offer my apology but I hope you grasp what I’m saying. This is just a blog anbd in any case, had I been writing my CXC’s it would be marked as CORRECT.

31. @DAvid
    “It is not impossible. Last election BLP candidates won seats bucking a swing in the process.”

But they were the incumbents. I’m still searching for the candidate that won against an incumbent having previously lost, when the party’s swing was going the other direction.

I look forward to tomorrow’s poll results. I suspect they’ll confirm what is already known.

32. @Observing

What you posit is logical but a glaring characteristic of the next election will be the lack of long coat tails from the leaders. There is a void.

33. @David
    Coat tails worked beautifully in 1999 and in 2008
    There are none (so far) in 2013. Further to that, on the ruling side rather than a coat tail it may be a political “drag.”

The void will have to be filled by the individual candidates. Forgive me for being a stuck record but this election will be won constituency by constituency, vote by vote. The national mood will cause a swing against the government, but those who have been doing their work on the ground consistently since 2008 will be ok. Those that haven’t… well…there are other substantive professions to return to.

Given that, Irene is the only candidate I can see possibly defying the odds as stated for various reasons, but, we know as does she that it will be a strategic, uphill in the trenches battle.

I’m not sure if the DLP is ready yet to go fully into the every man/woman for themselves until the battle is won mode.

34. @observing

If this were a basketball or football game we could easily use the analogy that anybody who the DLP runs as leader will have a match up problem against the perceived experienced Arthur, runs on the board is runs on the board.

Sinckler, too inexperienced and tainted by the Eager 11 matter, Estwick, a loose cannon, Kellman, a maverick and too grassroots, Sealy too passive and lacking in national appeal, Inniss, perhaps but can be seen even now to be manufacturing his image at the expense of the team, some might suggest too opportunistic. etc.

Arthur carries the question of whether he is hungry enough, whether he has strategies/ideas in sync with the times. The Mia issue will not be relevant once she is seen as playing team ball.

35. I want my Nation newspaper from 12:01 AM. I am hearing Owen is teh preferred leader, Mia then Freundel
    even Clyde Mascoll close to Freundel

36. @mehandstied

preferred leader and perceived better leader are different categories. Watch the questions asked in the poll carefully rather than the result.

yes, the dlp has a personality and perception matchup problem. Platform enthusiasm and ability to close tight races on the campaign trail will also be a challenge for them when the season kicks in. The longer they take to identify their “point guards and forwards”, or their “strikers and goalkeepers” the further on the backfoot everybody will be. At this stage each person has to play a role to shore up the weaknesses that are evident. Admittedly some weaknesses are absolutely no fault of theirs.

37. Given Wickham’s comments this week on Brasstacks it is obvious what the poll is saying.

38. Future Prime Minister (FPM) Avatar
    Future Prime Minister (FPM)

I like how you triangulated there Mr/Ms Observing

You manage in your analogy to reference cricket , foot ball and basketball and throw them all together to make a point.

Brilliant , Excellent, Come to top of the class

39. @David

if inniss is an opportunist, what say ye what he did to mia, dont tell me timing

40. @dAVID

WHAT OWEN DID TO MIA, IS HE AN OPPORTUNIST ALSO?

41. Future Prime Minister (FPM) Avatar
    Future Prime Minister (FPM)

I rather like Irene Sandiford Garner
    Has she any girl children ?
    I believe she could provide Future Prime Minister with a future wife if she has girl children. She could be the Future grandmother of Future prime Minister’s children

42. @eNUFF

MAKING MONEY OFF THE LAND THE OLD MAN WAS NOT GIVEN PERMISSION TO DEVELOP AND WHICH HE SUBSEQUENTLY SOLD FOR AUTHUR ET AL TO MAKE MILLIONS OFF THE SAID LAND

43. @Blogger2012

To repeat, Arthur is leader of the opposition because he has the support of the BLP parliamentary group.

44. @bALANCE

U SURE AINT KNOW THE IMPORTANCE OF THE EMPLOYMENT RIGHTS BILL THIS AFFECTS EVERY WORKING BARBADIAN AND ENSHRINED THEIR RIGHTS. PITY U

45. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

It will be interesting when a new poll is done , how it is treated by the Nation newspaper. When The BLP was winning elections, the poll was always front page news- when it showed David Thompson as the preferred leader, the Nation decided that the poll would not be placed on the front page- we all remember the scenario with Hartley Henry and the Nation’s editor at the time.
    It was suggested then and is even more apparent now that the hiearchy in the BLP has a direct connection to the bosses at the Nation and at Arthur’s request, the spindoctors at the Nation will be there with cameras.
    How else can a paper that says it represents all Barbadians choose columnists only from the BLP whose every column is extremely critical of the government. After all, the newspaper does not pick or create the news but it certainly picks the columnists.
    The BLP has clearly set up a media campaign headquarters on Fontabelle.

46. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

The Nation newspaper’s political strategy is this:
    Report what both sides do to appear balanced but employ only BLP leaning columnists to cuss and crticise the Government.
    That way , you can claim that Albert Brandford and the other BLP columnists are “independent” .
    It is kind of like Fox news claiming to be fair and balanced and then having hour long programmes by right wingers like Bill O’reily and Sean Hannity.The Nation’s bias like Fox news is blatantly shown by their contributors.Check the strategy at work on Sundays with Albert Brandford, Peter Symmonds,Ezra Alleyne and Pat Hoyos.
    On Monday, Harry Russel will follow up, Tennyson Joseph will take the same line as Ricky Singh and those who criticise the government for not opening the flood gates to all and sundry, Sanka Price – well he has not hidden his preferences,Mascoll on Thursday, Sanka editing on Friday and Saturday and back to Brandford and company on Sunday- Day after day, week after week- only BLP columnists – How can that be fair and good for democracy?
    It is clear that the Nation is now fully compromised.
    PS- It would be interesting to hear some comment on this shameful scenario without the usual “CBC does do it too” response.

47. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

“Indeed Mr Arthur often leaves parliament before the chaplain whose function is merely to say the prayers at the start of the session. Against this background, Mr Arthurโ€™s PHYSICAL FITNESS must be scrutinised. It is known that of late he has had to use a walking cane for support and he has complained of a back problem. Has this been a contributory factor since these problems often prevent one from sitting or standing for long periods?”

is the writer suggesting ( did not waste time reading the whole crap) that if Arthur is walking with a cane, he is unable to lead? i have worked in international organisations and have seen the CEOs not walking but in wheelchairs. a more recent one was a lady who had a physical disability and her body was ‘wring up’ yet she had the top post and u had to respect her, i have seen normal people bringing their disable spouses to lunch and other functions with them. it is only in barbados that people like that DLP dimwit, think that physical disability equals inability. in any case whether, it is Arthur or whoever that lead the DLP into elections, they will win. the DLP was given a chance and came fatten they bellies and bankbooks only (even the one caught red headed leaving barbados with a suitcase full of money) oh what thieves we have in this island, if that was me, all like now, it would be all over the news, tv etc. i just hope that when the 2013 rolls around and he is kicked out, that someone fortune will make him a pauper. doing it overly or coverly cannot change anything, a thief in high office is the still a thief

48. @NationBLPnewspaper.
    Ok, I won’t say that CBC does do it too….

I’ll ask instead, how would you categorise the Barbados Advocate?

when you make the same points, with the same reasoning and the same holes in the argument the same replies will be the same.

Print media 1-1.
    electronic media 1- 0.
    total tally, 2 -1 to the DLP

I think you should be happy with your advantage.

49. Once again the Dems are leaping about in the dark. How do you condemn, even if true, someone who has to walk with the aid of a stick BUT boast about appointing a visually impaired President of the Senate?

50. I was told it is Rawle who walks with a stick. Again the DLP yardfowls playing T/20 political cricket, but they don’t have a Chris Gayle in their team, in fact they are all tailend batsmen who can’t even bowl.

Observing
    It is not 2 to 1 in the DLP’s favor it’s really 3 or 4 to 1 as the CBC has two radio stations that fully supports the DLP, while their TV8 news is 90% canvassing for the DLP, I like how the rotate their candidates, one can easily see those who are weak, they get the most airtime. P.M stuart really in trouble, now he is on the air more than some “days of our lives” actors