Submitted by Looking Glass
Leader of the Opposition, Owen Arthur

You know election is around the corner when the opposition and its supporters have nothing good to say about the current government. Quite often the purported facts and figures produced have little to do with reality. Preaching falsehood in robes of tattered narrowness becomes standard. According to Mr. Austin (Not Hal Austin) the DLP government โ€œlacksโ€ innovative thinking, effective leadership, fiscal and innovative thinking, and ability to reduce spending and grow national revenue. He claims the BLP Rescued and Rebuilt Barbados. This of a government who could not even repair the West Wing of Parliament. As I said before we were in what amounts to recession long before the global recession

The last BLP government sold the Port, Airport, the National Bank, the northern hospital, land etc and left a national debt of $60bn (the sum-total of โ€œall-budgetโ€ loan guarantees and contingencies) that was greater than the GDP. The debt constitutes a โ€œlienโ€ against the people and the unborn. In the process a few benefited and were rescued. A few were given jobs and a handful became โ€˜shareholdersโ€™ in an oil company which even today produces nothing. A few souls do not constitute the population. Does on rescue and rebuild a country by selling its most profitable resources and committing its people and the next generation to prolong indebtedness?

1- We are told that domestic exports rose by 49.2 % between 2003 and 2006. That may indeed be true. For that we have to thank the private sector not the BLP. Government has no business in the private sector.

2- That deposits rose from $1.9bn in 1993 to $7.3bn in 2003. This may include the money they borrowed from non-banks like the NIS etc to put in the foreign reserve and deposited in the bank. (On The Road To Perdition). That apart those deposits belong to individuals and businesses not the government. The government does not own the people

3- 10,474 youths benefited from training in leadership, marketing and accounting. Really? Then we are about the only country in the western world with a programme to formally train youths in leadership and marketing.

4- 32.000 souls were unemployed in 1994 and the BLP created more than 30.500 jobs as promised. It is very unlikely those jobs were in the government/public sector. Government has no business in the private sector and as such does not create jobs. For the private sector to create that many jobs it would have had to start from scratch.

Full employment is a theoretical concept. Modern society demands that there will always be a reserve army of both the unemployed and the underemployed. Full employment restricts development and expansion growth in the high-tech age. Technology is a two edged sword. It enables the production of products at cheaper cost with less labour. Further it usually requires investment and skills which in our case was and is not readily available. That was the main why Intel and Donnelly came and left.

Government cannot legislate job creation; neither can it subsidize imports indefinitely. Only with rising productivity and earnings, much of which must be spent on domestically made products will we generate sufficient jobs to accommodate the unemployed.

Unemployment/underemployment need not be a reflection of low levels of per capita income or the unequal distribution of income. Unless and until we produce locally more of what we consume a higher and better distribution of income will result in much more leakage and marginalisation

Quantifying unemployment often lacks a descriptive base and rest on inadequate and unreliable statistical information which does not include non-market factors such as:1) people who are unable or incapable of performing useful work because of permanent mental, physical or other disability 2) Those unemployed due to the low productivity of unskilled labour 3) the unskilled and those with limited education 4) the self-employed without clients 5) those unwilling to work in the low wage/status sector. For this reason conclusions about employment and unemployment depend on the definition and is characterized by diversity and in some cases mobility. Given the above the figures on unemployment and job creation cited by Mr. Austin are at best exaggerated. That said there has always been unemployment in Barbados. Given population increase and relatively closed migration it will increase. The economy as structured cannot absorb the growing labour force.

Tourism

We are told that tourism policies led to sustained growth and generated significant foreign exchange. Tourism was a successful self-generating business with little government input long before the last BLP came to power (Tourism In Perspective). That changed under the last BLP. Apart from selling the scarce land they did little else to promote the industry. In the process we destroyed the picturesque characteristic of the island. Canadians visitors increased substantially after Errol Barrow set up the tourism office in Toronto. Under the BLP tourism marketing and promotion was to put it mildly a bad word. We were also told that the Tourism Act facilitated more than $2bn in new investment and a further $4bn pledged. Exactly what the author means only he knows

Tourism returns since about 1993-4 have been exaggerated. When one buys a package the airline, foreign agent/wholesaler and hotel costs are all included in the price. Most hotels have overseas bank account which means that none of the price paid comes toBarbados. All we get is departure tax and what the visitor spends on the island, most of which goes to pay for the imported products used to service them. A long time ago it was estimated that only about 25 cents of every dollar the tourists spend remains on the island.

Returns of cruise ship passengers are also exaggerated. It was reported that cruise passengers spend $70.00 per day per port. It assumes that all passengers go ashore and spend that much at each port. We are usually the last port of call. UnlikeBarbadosthere is so much to see and do in the other islands and on the ships passengers are likely broke by the time they reach the Rock.

According to the CEO of the BTA over 700.000 visitors arrived in the first half of 2011 of which 58.270 arrived in June (Advocate8/11/2011). Last month another source reported we had well over 5000 visitors last year. If that were indeed the case hotels would not be closing. Check how many hotels closed in the last 15 years. We are by far the most expensive destination in the region with little more than sea and sun to attract tourists. Marketing and promoting tourism has been and remains a bad word. Even today one is hard pressed to find anything about us in the North American andUKtravel or other media apart fromAlmondBeach. That apart an immediate problem which we so far has neglected or ignored is competition. West Jet and other airlines have and are increasing flights to the other islands in the region all of whom are cheaper, more picturesque and offer more to see and do that we do. Until the problem is addressed we will have to create statistics as more hotels close.

1. Mash up & buy back Avatar
    Mash up & buy back

This is indeed food for thought.

When persons such as noel lynch,george payne, dale marshall,even owen and mia can shamelessly get up in the house and elsewhere and lie about this supposed good track record of the BLP,it is good to see someone here countering there spin point by point.

The BLP reminds me of the Republican Mitt R omney who condemned the financial aid Pres.Obama give to the American Auto Industry,but now that it has bounced back and is florishing,Romney is saying he saved the Industry.

The Blp squandered taxpayers’ money on wasteful unnecessary projects that mainly benefitted some BLP cronies as well as family and friends.They sold everything they got get their hands on and left this country mired in debts that will affect our unborn children,and yet they have the audacity,the huttzpah to say they rescued and rebuit Barbados.

Shame Barbados if you count yourselves among those who will be taken in by this unvarnished,bold-faced lie.

2. Observing (and polling) Avatar
    Observing (and polling)

Rescued, no
    Rebuilt, yes
    Rebuilt to withstand shocks, no

Just observing

3. DID THE BLP REALLY RESCUE AND REBUILT BARBADOS?

YES THE BLP RESCUED AND REBUILT BARBADOS AFTER DEVASTATION LEFT DLP IN 1994.(and other times)

The DLP brought Barbados to its economic and political knees starting in 1986 with the RICHIE HAYNES BACKRAISE BUDGET and giveaways that the Bree St. John led BLP had indicated the country could nor afford.
    By 1988 , Barrow was. Sandiford stuttered and Richie Haynes Bolted. The Budget of 1988 was described by Richie Haynes as A BACKSTREET ABORTION. In the 1991 election campaign at Eastmond Corner, Sandiford declared that the economy was batting like Sir Garfield Sobers, two weeks later gave away 33 million dollars to retired civil servants who disposed of the money on consumer durables and the country were pushed into a hole further with the 8 5% salary
    cut. Many persons lost ‘things’ in the most sordid and darkest period of our recent history. Man I could go on but I dont have to justify anything . To France wid you and your crap.We made a mistake in 2008 due to lies and deceit from the DLP and voted against a wonderful party and Government. We will correct this whenever ‘Mr. SLOTHFUL’ call elections. Simple !

We voting BEES AND WE DONT CARE WHAT NO DLP LACKEYS AND YARDFOWLS SAY—THE STARS HAVE ALIGNED
    BEES=29
    DEES=0
    INDEPENDENT=1

4. old onion bags Avatar

Oh Looking Glass
    Yet still up to your old tricks..of mis-quoting figures and falsifying information.Oh but it is A Looking Glass……true reflection (epithet) for one’s self.Hard part…due to anonymity..we don’t know which ONE you are ? Suffice to know you are from that side….a renown clutchman of straws.. true son of lethargy….these but do you kind…..a writer’s view mistakenly of his own…. parallax-ed in error to some he really adores.
    These but do you kind…look on

5. So much to respond to here, so much Deceit Lies and Prevarication! Faced with the failure of this latest DLP administration to bring a better life to Barbados, you now seek to escape being held accountable by the people by trying to tell them that “the BLP really didn’t rescue Barbados.” It only felt that way.

This pathetic contribution tries to tell us that Government cant do anything about the levels of deposits in the bank, the number of people the private sector employs. In fact Government has very little to do with anything! I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised that this reasoning comes from a party who’s main line for the last four years has been “Don’t you know there’s an international recession on? We can’t do anything”

The real shocker here is the following quote “Full employment restricts development and expansion growth in the high-tech age” There you have it folks if you can’t reduce unemployment you argue that it’s actually a GOOD THING! So double digit unemployment isn’t actually evidence of a failed economic policy because it’s part of a great strategy! Full employment restricts development! Looking Glass did you actually re read this crap before you hit send?

6. This submission is symptomatic of a government that fails to accept that public policy and behaviour inspires the private sector to invest hence employ people, increase exports and create money for persons to deposit in banks. You are in essence saying that the private sector is to blame for the current situation in Barbados since it was the reason for economic growth during the period 1994 – 2008.

“The last BLP government sold the Port, Airport”
    To whom?

According to the Central Bank Gross Central Government Debt:
    2005 – 4940.7
    2006 – 5401.0
    2007 – 6177.7
    2008 – 6640.8
    2009 – 7519.5
    2010 – 8399.1
    2011 – 8918.6
    All the major capital works projects were also on the books before 2008 including Halls of Justice, ABC, Coast Guard and Dodds; and the outstanding amounts owed on the latter three have been reducing since 2008.

7. BU is not aware that port and airport belong to foreign interest.

also LG referes to total government indebtedness including “(the sum-total of โ€œall-budgetโ€ loan guarantees and contingencies)” is 60bn. We need to confirm this number.

8. @ Mash-up and Buy Back
    Let us be fair. Yes, the last BLP administration squandered taxpayersโ€™ money on projects that benefited BLP cronies. Now let us critically examine performance. I shall start with the Transport Board. For example, while in opposition, Denis โ€œknow-it-allโ€, have the answer for everythingโ€ Kellman lambasted the Transport Board.
    โ€œIn its second year of office, on Thursday April 1st, 2010, the Democratic Labour Party created history by appointing the first female, Ms. Sandra Forde, to the position of General Manager of the Transport Board, whose role it will be to lead the organisation in the 21st centuryโ€. (March 30, 2010: TB web-site)
    Under this administration the service from the Transport Board has deteriorated rapidly during the past three years and more so under this new general manager. Instead of leading the organization into the 21st century, she can be seen leading at DLP scenic ride/picnics wearing a DLP T-shirt and a big smile, embracing the minister of education, Ronald Jones. The service to the north is very, very, poor. Some of the buses that service the north are undergoing repairs at Weymouth, some are used to service routes from the Fairchild Street terminal, and some are used to service the Oistins/Speightstown route. What remains are used to โ€œdouble-upโ€ i.e. Connell Town/Josey Hill/Pie Corner. Many times you have to wait three hours for a Deacons Road bus. The only initiative that the TB can boast of is free rides for school children.
    Surely you must agree that the Transport Board wants rescuing.

9. The simple view is that Bajans seem to like the glitz and sparkle.
    No wonder we jump to defend an Egyptian Jew over a longstanding stalwart like Sir Roy
    No wonder we willingly sell all our birthrights to Trinidadians, Canadians, English and Egyptian con men, while not supporting locals like Proper Pork, who have displayed a lifetime of service to our community.

So Bushie is not surprised that the BLP is optimistic about being successful next election…

They naturally expect us to vote for a continued selling out to CSME.
    The BLP knows that Bajans like projects like Greenland landfill, VECO, Dodds and 3S.

Bajans would NEVER be expected to vote for the kind of HONESTY as shown so far by Freundel…we call him indecisive…
    Why vote for a PM who seems to be above being bribed…? A man who seeks to get the FACTS before making decisions, (rather than meeting secretly with rich white people like Bizzy claimed to have done in the 3S matter..)

OF COURSE the BLP Rescued and Rebuilt!!…. They rescued and rebuilt the personal lives of their yard fowls like Old Onions and Just Asking and others….. Who are apparently again in need of rescue..

…they rescued and rebuilt the bank accounts of O$A – to the point where he was able to move from begging on the floor of parliament, to giving away large donations to Cricket Legends…

BUT
    In the meantime, the BLP sold Barbados out to outsiders.
    They disenfranchised our news
    They disenfranchised our banks
    They hogtied our Credit Unions
    They imported outsiders – even to build cupboards
    They provided incentives and tax breaks to Egyptians, Jews, Trinidadians English Canadians and “who so ever will” to come here and bypass locals…

WHAT REBUILD AND RESCUE WHAT?!
    …in fact the BLP has depressed and demoralized this country with its misguided policy of “inclusion of outsiders” and marginalization of local Barbadians…

Now if there is to be a NEW and DIFFERENT approach next time around- beginning with BARBADOS FIRST and including full transparency and full freedom of information and full accountability….Bushie would be interested….
    Otherwise… Get thee behind me!!

10. @Just Asking

The Budget of 1988 was described by Richie Haynes as A BACKSTREET ABORTION. In the 1991 election campaign at Eastmond Corner, Sandiford declared that the economy was batting like Sir Garfield Sobers, two weeks later gave away 33 million dollars to retired civil servants who disposed of the money on consumer durables and the country were pushed into a hole further with the 8 5% salary

What makes you think if government allows more cash in the hands of Barbadians the behaviour highlighted will change?

11. @ Bush Tea
    Freundel honest wey? I ask again why as AG did now PM Stuart kept silent about the ‘rule of law’ with regards to the wrongful dismissal of public servants?
    Didn’t the BLP encouraged savings and investment in the Credit Unions, a policy reversed by the current government after much grandstanding by the late PM? As for selling out, I wonder who sold Almond, all them plantation lands to CLICO, BL&P shares. BET?

12. old onion bags Avatar

@ Bush tea
    You wrap dat crap in a banana leaf ..like a true country man…an leave it just where it is. Oh proper poke man…..from what was said…you sure it was those you were so quick to call who needed the rescue plan ?. Methinks not . As to like Bizzy…more promises nah…Uncle Promises like you…. at it again ! Time you like he try to rebuild doa…but nabody holding breaths.

13. @ Mash-up and Buy Back
    Now let us look at the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation. Under the previous administration the opposition was given an opportunity to present their case, even if only for a few minutes. However, under this DLP administration, the opposition cannot get a minute. Ruedon Eversley, Rosemary Alleyne, John Lovell and now Maureen Holder (DLP cronies?) are making sure that the CBC evening news is dominated by DLP news. I heard John Lovell the other day talking about the how politicians of the past were good, but the ones now-a-days have secret overseas bank accounts. Journalists complain that they are told what to and what not to ask at press conferences by the late Sidney Cox and now Eversley. At the death of Cox, Eversley (DLP press secretary and crony) was appointed Director of News and Current Affairs. Programming has deteriorated rapidly, repeats, repeats, repeats!!!!
    Again, you must agree CBC wants rescuing.

14. If the electorate could vote for the DLP after the shite that they did to Barbados, what Bush Tea is talking even if it were true, we could vote for the BLP. The electorate deals with NOW not what happen in the distant past dont care how much we refer to it so change your tune BUSH TEA , it has no melody and the lyrics are tired-

The reality is that we have made up our minds–WE VOTING BEES
    BEES=29
    DEES-0
    INDEPENDENT =1

15. Botomline the government is managing an economy in a challenging tme but there are so many other non financial matters which the government could have delivered on. The FOIA, an effective Transport Authority and the mess we know as the ZR and minibus culture, grow the creative industry sector, Integrity Legislation etc. Now we have a BLP which despite all the factors the electorate voted against last election stands a very good chance of being returned to power.

16. @ Artaxerxes
    Are you sure Reudon is physically at CBC or on study leave after being there for less than 2 years?

17. @ David
    I agree that this administration is operating in an ongoing protracted global economic recession that continues to adversely affect Caribbean economies. However, instead of being proactive, they are being reactive. I argue that any proactive party in opposition would have had โ€œshadow ministersโ€ shadowing ministries such as health, tourism and more importantly finance. They should have been aware of the economic crisis.

Like it or not, the reality of the situation is that both external and internal factors (economic policies) have made a significant impact on the Barbados economy. In this context, we must first analyse the governmentโ€™s assessment of the impact of a potential recession in the United States on the Barbados economy. Secondly, we must determine if the macroeconomic policy initiatives that were implemented at the onset of the crisis were appropriate or inadequate and may have made the impact of the recession worse. Based on some of the policy initiatives that were pursued, it is obvious that the economic advisors were of the opinion that the slowdown in the US would be short-lived and not very deep.

18. LOL @ JUST ASKING
    Skippa, BushTea seems to have offset ya a bit…. You did not ask a question @10:27 ๐Ÿ™‚

Seriously though Just Asking, we all know that (unlike old onions,) you are an intelligent and respected member of the BLP. Can you PLEASE answer for us the following:
    1 – do you consider it to be critical that this country’s governing party have a BARBADOS FIRST philosophy?
    2- Is your party now committed to such a policy and how will it be different from last time?
    3. Do you accept that the large scale appearance of DISHONESTY was rejected by Bajans in the last elections?
    4. How do you propose to address this perception and what specific policies will be implemented to address it?
    5. What can we expect with respect to immigration and CSME? (Wanna may just be planning on rebuilding and Restoring the number of immigrants ’bout here…..) ๐Ÿ™‚

19. @Artax

Your comment brings the Medium Term Fiscal Strategy to the fore. How effective is this strategy given the current reality. While it is a fiscal tool to drive cuts in expenditure what about spurring revenue?

Is it an effective strategy in the circumstances? Are we cutting expenditure anyway by moving debt to the NIS?

20. Bushie is as critical of the DLP government as anyone, but the lotta simplistic analysis being used to criticised the people boggles the mind.
    GRANTED, they are largely incompetent! …..BUT in EXACTLY the same manner and degree as the alternative idiots on the BLP side….

The only real difference Bushie can see is that, now that DT has died, they miss and put a man in charge who seem not to be in for the traditional ‘pomp and show’ and most significantly, not open to secret dealings with the moneyed classes.

…..that means that, like Sandi, he is probably doomed.

….but to accuse the Current government of not being “PROACTIVE” is ludicrous. Proactive would have involved MAKING HAY WHILE THE SUN SHONE (back in the easy money days) when the BLP was squandering it like it grew on trees.
    How the hell can someone be “proactive ” when the storm already start?

It is like taking controll of the Titanic after the iceberg had struck. The only proactive thing to do at that point was to look for a lifeboat….

Actual Proactive actions would have involved things like
    1 – better hull design by the builders (years before)
    2 – selecting a more competent captain (months before)
    3 – planning a different route ( weeks before)

All we are doing now is selecting who gets to wear the captain’s hat as the mast sinks below the waterline….

21. @ david
    My answer is a resounding no.

22. old onion bags Avatar

I know when I see crabs in a barrel…going round n round……so this is why I could not understand your troublesome-ness this morning..on this nothing, Looking Glass thread. We all dun know Stuartie going LOSE this elections BIG TIME coming and going….. Hence I had always appreciated your lack of emotions and sound nonchalant-ness during Stuartie’s sphere of hopelessness..BUT wha happen to you today country man ? Like the sheep bite the wolf in he goat ……lol Bushie get a grip man !!.Even you must get accustomed to tasting Pringles n a coke first time for breakfast…..instead of the good faithful sweet potatoes eddoes and dashin..from the home front….lol

23. @ David
    The medium term fiscal strategy was aimed at reducing the overall fiscal deficit and generate a balanced budget by 2014/15 and a surplus by 2015/16, while keeping economic growth to acceptable levels by focusing on the foreign exchange earning sectors. The government has boasted that they have been able to systematically reduce the deficit. However, transfers to entities such as the UWI and the Transport Board were not included in the estimates, but were undertaken by the NIS as loans. This resulted in an โ€œartificialโ€ reduction in the deficit.

We know that money must come from somewhere to pay for the social services that we so much enjoy, and taxation is the answer. However, the excessive taxation route taken by the government will ultimately contribute to the economy becoming โ€œdepressedโ€. Taxation reduces household spending power, which will reduce demand. Also, a decline in economic production will lead to low real tax revenues. High taxes also cost businesses more, they cannot provide as many products as they used to be able to, and it will expensive to stock products with lower quantities demanded.

24. @Artax

You have not completed your comment by assessing the impact of a more laxed taxation policy on the forex.

25. โ€œThe only real difference Bushie can see is that, now that DT has died, they miss and put a man in charge who seem not to be in for the traditional โ€˜pomp and showโ€™ and most significantly, not open to secret dealings with the moneyed classes.โ€

Secret dealings with the moneyed class??? The CLICO forensic report tells me otherwise.

26. old onion bags Avatar

Oh Laud
    GRANTED, they are largely incompetent! โ€ฆ..BUT in EXACTLY the same manner and degree as the alternative idiots on the BLP sideโ€ฆ
    More Bush CRAP to avoid…….Bushie please ..meet the chemical way out and stop defecating the blog side…..there are youngsters in hay man ..lol !

Lewe count who got the most idiots…come !..lol ….Corpses too ?

27. @ David
    A higher level of public debt implies that a larger share of societyโ€™s resources is permanently being spent servicing the debt. This means that a government intent on maintaining a given level of public services and transfers must raise taxes as debt increases. Taxes distort resource allocation, and can lead to lower levels of growth. The impact of taxes is normally further compounded by the crowding-out of productive private capital. Government tax revenue does not necessarily increase as the tax rate increases. The government will earn more tax income at 1% rate than at 0%, but they will not earn more at 100% than they will at 10%, due to the disincentives high taxation causes.

A reduction in taxation will result in a decrease in the real income of government and an increase in the real income of households. The real test in the economy will be how households spend their income and how the government will adjust to loss in tax revenue. In my opinion a reduction in taxes stimulates the economy as a result of a boost in spending.

28. Mash up & buy back Avatar
    Mash up & buy back

Artax

Yes I agree that the female manager in charge of the Transport Board has not turned around that situation in the 3 years she has been there,but cudder man,why not also talk about the mess she met.For example,the use of taxpayers dollars by Jerome walcott former Board Chairman and Rommel Marshall and Anthony wood who bought faulty buses from Brazil against the advice of persons in the know. These buses were constantly in the workshop,yet year after year – they going back to Brazil and wasting taxpayers scarce resources – pray tell me to whose benefit in the long rum.
    This seems to have been done through some deal with Simpson Motors and voom just so – anthony woods and rommel Marshall driving mercedes Benz immediately after becoming chairman of the Transport Board.

Remind me again who are the agents for mercedes Benz – oh yes the man down dey in Warrens.

Don’t even talk about CBC.When Mia Mottley was minister of Information,all the wickers and bullers get jobs up dey.All kinda people got big contracts and consultancies to do zero at CBC.

Can we also move on to the 15 -20 consultantants paid in excess of 12 -15 thousand dollars a month with no real understanding of what they were hired to do and whether this went through the right channels..

I shudder every time I think of what another BLP term will mean.

Freundel Stuart is not the most flamboyant,he is very methodical – some may even say slow about coming to decisions – but let’s not fool ourselves – good governance is more than GDP numbers,and FOI,Integrity Legislation,press conferences or good PR,although taken all together they are helpful.

Tell me though,did owen address any of those?

Plain and simple voters must choose substance over style and in that case Stuart wins hands down.

Arthur – a purveyor of low morals,greed and decadence – simply not what we need to stabilise this limping vessel we call Barbados.

Stuart – a simple but honest fella – who cannot be bought nor bribed.

29. While the BLP did provide superior economic support, the truth is that they had tremendous help from the US and Europe creating Trillions of money “out of thin air” of which some found its way to Bim via tourism, off shore and investment in Real Estate.

Those years of “Western” ARTIFICIAL EXCESS are OVER the gargantuan BUST, which was totally predictable (not in exact timing) is here and will be with us for at least 7-10yrs. We will eventually see serial crises from Portugal–Spain–Italy–France and then Japan followed by the USA. We will all suffer like the proverbial “red headed step child!”

The question is whether the BLP “BRAIN TRUST” has the capability to manage properly in an extremely tough environment? It is a fact that some managers are good in certain environments and NOT in others.

The reality is that the DLP has NOT been particularly INSPIRING so far and therefore the BLP has the opportunity to develop a platform/ manifesto to convince the populace that they are NOT hiding under their desks in a fetal position.

30. old onion bags Avatar

@ Mash up
    Seems like you accidentally step in BSHT#2 too….Oh what a HEAP !
    Tell me about honesty …..a Judicial Report..waana start there busta ?
    Substance…..” You Ax teachers….Phase 2 ? I neva promise…”
    Like you stuck with a bone too…?or you early for Crop Ova…?

31. @Artax

Unterstand your point about the need to optimally allocate resources to maximize output. However you have not made to link to how a stimulated domestic economy would impact forex.

32. old onion bags Avatar

@ Sarge
    Puddin n Souse TIME….[lickorish Sarge.]…salivate..n weep …a hope it really cold today…lol

33. @David
    we talk about the MTFS alot, but have we ever really reviewed the MTDS, especially in light of the 2005-2025 strategic plan??

Meeting (or appearing to meet) statistical targets is one thing, meeting your development (social and other) targets is another.

I’ll touch this some more later on.

I also noticed I haven’t heard from ! regarding policies that benefited all Barbadians or which specifically stabilised the economy. I won’t hold me breath.

Just observing.

34. Moneybrain

Innuendo. stupse

35. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Sarkozy faces a slew of probes after immunity ends

Outgoing French leader Nicolas Sarkozy will face a slew of legal probes into corruption and campaign financing violations after he leaves office next week and loses his presidential immunity.

Sarkozy could face questioning as soon as mid-June as he will lose his immunity a month after his successor, Socialist Francois Hollande, is sworn in on May 15.

The outgoing leader has denied any wrongdoing in a raft of cases, but the conviction last year of his predecessor Jacques Chirac on graft charges has shown that French courts are now willing to go after former leaders.

http://news.yahoo.com/sarkozy-faces-slew-probes-immunity-ends-092003356.html

If only Barbados was France after the last General elections.
    A lot of Barbados Labour Party politicians would be in Dodds Hilton.

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The Barbados Labour Party rescue themselves and their bank accounts.

Barbados Labour Party politicians who who entered Parliament with the bailiffs after them emerged fourteen years later as multi millionaires on Minister”s salaries.

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Now we are hearing $5mil disappeared at the Vat office five years ago. Was this money used to fund the campaign of the Barbados Labour Party in the lead up to the last General elections?

38. @CCC

Your message again will NOT get any notice from the electorate this time around because for 4 long years you (the government) have not shown any inclination to enact transparency legislation, hold inquires at those government entities where it is alleged financial malfeasance occurred. In fact it is a message if used will backfire.

39. old onion bags Avatar

@ Aarson De cudear

Reading n Laughing……..Sarkozy ???..lol

40. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Dear Carson C. Cadogan:

Some people may say:

If only Barbados was France after the DLP loses any General election
    a lot of DLP politicians would be in Dodds Hilton

41. What happened is obvious, the DLP used the global recession as an excuse for them to do absolutely nothing. No right thinking bajan expected DT to honour his many promises, some immediately, some within a hundred days and some within five hundred days, just remember the global recession had already started when these promises were made. However, had the DLP government concentrate on the matters that would cost this country little to execute, they squandered so much money feeding the “fatty calf” that now the calf gone and they are starving again in less than five years. The Integrity Legislation bill will never be passed in its true form, since politicians from both sides of the fence would be found guilty. Constituency Councils were formed to operate like a local government but insread of the members being elected, the DLP government SELECT their members to operate these councils, all that is happening is a smaller piece of the calf was given to the little fellow yardfowls. In essence this DLP government has dug its own grave and now trying hard no to fall into it. GOOD LUCK

42. Poor desperate Dems. They are so afraid that they have to resort to…the BLP did this, the BLP did not do this………….. poor souls, they are so afraid that their fatted calf is about to be gone, cuddear.

Incumbent governments are losing and they are afraid. Every time the people of Barbados give the government to the DLP, the country goes belly up. In the late stages of the Errol Barrow rein, he got so fed up, he took a sabbatical and left Sleepy Smith in charge, when Barrow was returned to power in 1986, he soon died and Sandi took over, oh my lord, and by 1991, all hell broke out. In 2008, the dead king told the people of Barbados a lot of lies, they have not to this day proved any corruption or brought any charges on any BLP member but yet their surrogates have been so brainwashed with the dead king’s lies that they continue to believe lies. Yet they refuse to see DT for the corrupt, deceitful man he was. In light of all the revelations coming out of the Forensic audit of CLICO, they still refuse to call him corrupt and there is the evidence to prove it.

The fact is the DLP are good in opposition but they cannot govern. They have proved themselves to be incompetent over and over again. If LG and Bush Tea were to hear of the amount of corruption that is going on with these Dems who feel it is their right to have the whole hog, they would refrain from repeating DLP propaganda. Consultants are hired at exorbitant fees, square pegs are put in round holes and you all here talking for talking sake.

It is the economy stupid and we are not stupid.

43. old onion bags Avatar

BUT Wait….
    Looking Glass …wasn’t this supposed to be a DLP thread….intended to put some licks in OSA policies..WHAT GOING ON ?…..Seems to me the opposite happening…..ac ! clone, Pringles….wha gine on ?

44. old onion bags Avatar

Prodigal and Scout
    I must compliment you both for two most outstanding and remarkably excellent essays. So much so, that others seems to be transfixed and in complete agreement with their (essays) comprehensiveness.Roughly three hours have transpired since Prodigals essay and as yet, no response from the other side.

David is the blog working ? I must check.

45. @ onions

The article says it all . We Dlp stalwarts have nothing to argue about with the writer he has laid out a solid case for the umpteenth time why sorry botsey Blp does not deserve another day for running the country after 14 years of squander .Now we are sitting back and waiting and watching you yardfowls trying to put up some kind of lame defense ! the stalwarts are watching we havent gone any where >anyhow enjoy wunna selves kicking the can up and down the street just be careful wunna might break a leg or two and like the BLP party wunna too old to heal.

46. The scout master Avatar
    The scout master

@old onion bags | May 12, 2012 at 11:26 AM |
    We all dun know Stuartie going LOSE this elections BIG TIME coming and going.

Who the fcuk is we? You mussee talking about CIA informer Wickham.
    I dont see BLP winning it will be a tough fight but I dont want Owen Arthur and the crooked, arrogant Bees holding the reigns of power in 2013.
    I see the deep rift between Mia and Owen papered over not healed. The short man told the world Mia’s lifestyle is abhorrent and not suited for leadership. Who in the Mia faction can really forgive him. The Bees remain divided BIG TIME.
    I’m noticing green shoots in Bdos economic landscape as long as Fruendel and the fellows keep working hard and keep the people at the centre of their decision making they will be returned to power.
    What lose elections what.

47. oh ! Lord ! another Stellar performance by Bush TEA. Onions yuh need to go hide inside that moley onion bag ! after Bush tea performance yu should be ashamed to show face on this blog another good reason fuh you to depart, Drum Roll Please!

48. @ ac
    A solid case of untruths you mean. The very first paragraph of his argument is based on false information.

49. Did The BLP Really Rescue and Rebuilt Barbados?
    Did The BLP Really Rescue and REBUILD Barbados?
    To do is the auxiliary verb which is already in the past tense.

50. @Enuff ! yes indeed after 14 years of lies and deceit when the truth comes out it would indeed seem foreign to the BLP fuh wunna Everybody is aLiar expect the BLP led by the THIEF and CHIEF OSA