Submitted by Looking Glass
Leader of the Opposition, Owen Arthur

You know election is around the corner when the opposition and its supporters have nothing good to say about the current government. Quite often the purported facts and figures produced have little to do with reality. Preaching falsehood in robes of tattered narrowness becomes standard. According to Mr. Austin (Not Hal Austin) the DLP government “lacks” innovative thinking, effective leadership, fiscal and innovative thinking, and ability to reduce spending and grow national revenue. He claims the BLP Rescued and Rebuilt Barbados. This of a government who could not even repair the West Wing of Parliament. As I said before we were in what amounts to recession long before the global recession

The last BLP government sold the Port, Airport, the National Bank, the northern hospital, land etc and left a national debt of $60bn (the sum-total of “all-budget” loan guarantees and contingencies) that was greater than the GDP. The debt constitutes a “lien” against the people and the unborn. In the process a few benefited and were rescued. A few were given jobs and a handful became ‘shareholders’ in an oil company which even today produces nothing. A few souls do not constitute the population. Does on rescue and rebuild a country by selling its most profitable resources and committing its people and the next generation to prolong indebtedness?

1- We are told that domestic exports rose by 49.2 % between 2003 and 2006. That may indeed be true. For that we have to thank the private sector not the BLP. Government has no business in the private sector.

2- That deposits rose from $1.9bn in 1993 to $7.3bn in 2003. This may include the money they borrowed from non-banks like the NIS etc to put in the foreign reserve and deposited in the bank. (On The Road To Perdition). That apart those deposits belong to individuals and businesses not the government. The government does not own the people

3- 10,474 youths benefited from training in leadership, marketing and accounting. Really? Then we are about the only country in the western world with a programme to formally train youths in leadership and marketing.

4- 32.000 souls were unemployed in 1994 and the BLP created more than 30.500 jobs as promised. It is very unlikely those jobs were in the government/public sector. Government has no business in the private sector and as such does not create jobs. For the private sector to create that many jobs it would have had to start from scratch.

Full employment is a theoretical concept. Modern society demands that there will always be a reserve army of both the unemployed and the underemployed. Full employment restricts development and expansion growth in the high-tech age. Technology is a two edged sword. It enables the production of products at cheaper cost with less labour. Further it usually requires investment and skills which in our case was and is not readily available. That was the main why Intel and Donnelly came and left.

Government cannot legislate job creation; neither can it subsidize imports indefinitely. Only with rising productivity and earnings, much of which must be spent on domestically made products will we generate sufficient jobs to accommodate the unemployed.

Unemployment/underemployment need not be a reflection of low levels of per capita income or the unequal distribution of income. Unless and until we produce locally more of what we consume a higher and better distribution of income will result in much more leakage and marginalisation

Quantifying unemployment often lacks a descriptive base and rest on inadequate and unreliable statistical information which does not include non-market factors such as:1) people who are unable or incapable of performing useful work because of permanent mental, physical or other disability 2) Those unemployed due to the low productivity of unskilled labour 3) the unskilled and those with limited education 4) the self-employed without clients 5) those unwilling to work in the low wage/status sector. For this reason conclusions about employment and unemployment depend on the definition and is characterized by diversity and in some cases mobility. Given the above the figures on unemployment and job creation cited by Mr. Austin are at best exaggerated. That said there has always been unemployment in Barbados. Given population increase and relatively closed migration it will increase. The economy as structured cannot absorb the growing labour force.

Tourism

We are told that tourism policies led to sustained growth and generated significant foreign exchange. Tourism was a successful self-generating business with little government input long before the last BLP came to power (Tourism In Perspective). That changed under the last BLP. Apart from selling the scarce land they did little else to promote the industry. In the process we destroyed the picturesque characteristic of the island. Canadians visitors increased substantially after Errol Barrow set up the tourism office in Toronto. Under the BLP tourism marketing and promotion was to put it mildly a bad word. We were also told that the Tourism Act facilitated more than $2bn in new investment and a further $4bn pledged. Exactly what the author means only he knows

Tourism returns since about 1993-4 have been exaggerated. When one buys a package the airline, foreign agent/wholesaler and hotel costs are all included in the price. Most hotels have overseas bank account which means that none of the price paid comes toBarbados. All we get is departure tax and what the visitor spends on the island, most of which goes to pay for the imported products used to service them. A long time ago it was estimated that only about 25 cents of every dollar the tourists spend remains on the island.

Returns of cruise ship passengers are also exaggerated. It was reported that cruise passengers spend $70.00 per day per port. It assumes that all passengers go ashore and spend that much at each port. We are usually the last port of call. UnlikeBarbadosthere is so much to see and do in the other islands and on the ships passengers are likely broke by the time they reach the Rock.

According to the CEO of the BTA over 700.000 visitors arrived in the first half of 2011 of which 58.270 arrived in June (Advocate8/11/2011). Last month another source reported we had well over 5000 visitors last year. If that were indeed the case hotels would not be closing. Check how many hotels closed in the last 15 years. We are by far the most expensive destination in the region with little more than sea and sun to attract tourists. Marketing and promoting tourism has been and remains a bad word. Even today one is hard pressed to find anything about us in the North American andUKtravel or other media apart fromAlmondBeach. That apart an immediate problem which we so far has neglected or ignored is competition. West Jet and other airlines have and are increasing flights to the other islands in the region all of whom are cheaper, more picturesque and offer more to see and do that we do. Until the problem is addressed we will have to create statistics as more hotels close.

1. @! The Mascoll statement above puts the nonsense talk by the BLP supporters about rescuing Barbados to rest.Is Mascoll a liar now or was he a liar then?
    +++++++++++++++++++
    Mascoll was uninformed then, better informed now.

@ac The reason that David did not initially include ‘clown’ as name calling was because it is possible he thought it was apt. How could Looking Glass with any shred of credibility make the statement that the BLP did not rescue Barbados. Only an ass believes that an economy will correct and grow itself; only a foolbert would think that low unemployment happens by happenstance; that gov’t revenues triple in 14 years by chance; only an ignoramus could feel that reducing gov’t costs in 1991 would produce economic growth into a 9b economy from 6b and generate 30,000 jobs. Only a yardfowl could endorse Looking Glass. Somebody must have had a magic wand if the BLP did not do it with competent economic management, if it was not the BLP under Owen Arthur, then it must have been Sandiford who waved the wand and lost the election. Did Sandiford forget to tell Stuart where to find the wand? Which idiot is prepared to ‘sell that bll of goods’ to intelligent people.

2. It is generally understood that the Barbados economy is public sector led.

3. old onion bags Avatar

Diesel went down 1 cent…….what shall I say…no oars den ? Stupessssss
    That Land Rover ent moving but to church come Sunday….is time when want MORE going actualize LESS… [as with the VAT 2%]..

We not using our heads….ONE CENT ?

4. old onion bags Avatar

Carson..now get back (…sea cloudy cloudy)…..got one brown conga fa you…. also catch 2 ole wifes. to eat.

5. The Minister of Health appeared (surprise, surprise, I wonder what Fruendel had to offer to entice him there) at a St Michael South meeting yesterday to boast that he has done so much for the QEH.

But wait should the Minister not be showing us blue prints by now on the new hospital??? But we know that he only opened his mouth and say so as the BLP’s Annual Conference was dominating the news. The CEO of the QEH is on record saying out right that no meetings, no plans, no architects, no quantity surveyors, no engineers were EVER consulted before the Minister made this announcement. Not even a spot was identified for the buildings.

Now topping the news this afternoon is the President of BAMP saying that some doctors have not been paid for months.

And I though that according to the Dems on this blog that the DLP is doing such a good job!!! Wow! I remember the Dems creating a ruckus when temporary officers in the public sector were not paid under the Bees, they are silent now when doctors, prison officers and other temporary officers are not paid on time!

What an incompetent bunch of people!

6. @Prodigal Son

Heard the report and the first thought which came to mind is why has BAMP taken so long to flag the matter, in public.

7. @prodigal
    Are these interns / temporary staff / other??

8. @Looking Glass

LEADERSHIP – You cannot “honestly” consider what the bajan public is getting from the current DLP PM as leadership, “and you know that beyond partisanship” he is SIMPLY the wrong PM at a critical time in our national history.

9. old onion bags Avatar

I spoke to a minibus owner that diesel went down by A CENT….1 c …he asked me to convey his sympathy to the morons who wasted the time in calculating it … that to drop it by ONE CENT …..only shows the indignity that this administration holds for them. He said it would have been better to leave it as it was..than to breed the wrath and discontent ..that was evident in the mini bus stand this morning…. He went on to say the consensus in the stand, was that ONE CENT will now cost the DLP $million in VOTES as mini bus workers are hard working people with families just like the rest of those in Govt offices…that they should not to be held to this kinda ridicule…..posting ONE CENT like outlaw reward money.

10. Cheese on Bread !
    Really Mr. Onions .
    Really !

Boy look
    The Minibus people does influence a lot of people and if they against the DLP -well it says a lot

This DLP is something else
    And the Prime Minister feels that he is doing a good job and that they going win again -huh !!!!!

11. The Minister of Health openly addressed this non issue with BAMP specifying the times that BAMP’S president has been asked and invited to the Ministry of Health to air any concerns – the BAMP president on each occasion said that he was getting information together and would contact the Minister in due course.
    Instead of responding to the invitation, the BAMP president rushes to the media- This might not be obvious to some but surprise, surprise some doctors play politics too.

12. “This DLP government strengthened the social safety net through increasing the reverse tax credit, pensions, extensions to unemployment benefits, welfare provisions to assist the elderly, disabled and unemployed in the face of rising global energy costs.”

When you state the good things that the DLP government is doing , the BLP apologists are quick to say “oh that’s nothing, any government would have to do that”
    Tell that to the thousands of students in the UK who are facing higher tuition costs and the half million public servants in the UK(many of them tourists) who will be laid off by the UK government.Stupse!

13. old onion bags Avatar

@ !
    Everyday SOMETHING ELSE……’we go hold on till the last tether.”…lol

Hold on nah ! these are sign that people Fed up…..n ready to FEDEX these cuddears…lol

14. @!

VoB reporter Babb disclosed that he initiated the call to Dr. Carlos Chase to discuss other matters.

15. The truth is that for the last ten years, several policy errors were made, but the mistakes were masked by heavy borrowing, job creation in the public sector, and heavy taxation that permitted wastage without accountability . . . Metaphorically, it is akin to the old pear tree that has green leaves and pears in spite of its rotten trunk.”

perhaps mascoll was thinking as a partisan politician and not as a parliamentarian and has now seen the light but that aside. ‘years of plenty ‘was another DLP propaganda metaphor designed to cast doubts on mr arthur’s skilful management of the economy.

16. Observing (and questioning) Avatar
    Observing (and questioning)

@!
    “This DLP government strengthened the social safety net through increasing the reverse tax credit, pensions, extensions to unemployment benefits, welfare provisions to assist the elderly, disabled and unemployed in the face of rising global energy costs”

What has been done to improve the lot of the nation ? or at the very least honestly and bluntly communicate the purposeful strategy of leaving the middle to upper class to completely fend for themselves in a raging thunderstorm?

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I understand thatSeethru and George Pain not on speaking terms again.

18. Carson that means normal service has resumed.

19. @carson
    As if they ever really were. old news. If you were to say Mia, that would strike a better chord (y).

20. Prodigal Son
    Donville Inniss was invited to be humbled by the P.M on the Sir Roy issue. Inniss sounded real poor trying to explain himself to the P.M constituents.

21. I could not careless about the BLp flaws. No one nor government is perfect . This country needs politicians of whom we can depend upon to make calculative and decisive decisions, those who are confident and brave enough to speak with eye level con tact with the populous. Moreover, we need a prime minister who is unafraid and proactive. At this time my vote will have to go to the BLP, regardless.

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

shellya

Your comments dont surprise me.

I remember when Pontius Pilate ask the crowd of Jews who they want, Jesus or Barabbas.

How did they reply, “Give us Barabbas!”. Barabbas as we all know was an evil criminal.

All that is happening is that you BLP jokers are calling for Barabbas again.

You are eager to re-elect a Bunch of Crooks in the Barbados Labour Party.

23. old onion bags Avatar

wait how much money a constituency councilor does get..1000 1501, 2250
    anybody could help me ?
    wait who dat Greek fella up in Sin John church yard name again Pompdoumas? I hear he sleepin nowadays wid one eye open

24. old onion bags Avatar

WhY cant understand every time I run to pose a question to this man…he avoiding Me…Aarson..man wha gine on ..Am I a Leper ?

25. onions,

The DLP town crier is desperate, he is soon going to loose the money he gets from the constituency council and this is bad news for his budget. He is a stuck record. But hey, they have not brought forward any evidence that there was corruption in the BLP government, and you know onions, if they had found one shred of evidence, the whole world would have known.

Barbadians know that they were fooled and deceived by the one who was corrupt…Mr I will not lie steal or cheat, when he was the biggest fraud ever foisted on the good people of Barbados. They will not be fooled again with 100 days promises….none of which were fulfilled.

Hey onions, is it true that the former head honcho of CLICO, the man the PM said is not a leper, is he really a consultant to the Valery project???? Is this really true??

26. onions,

You know the Dems are in trouble when “Wesley” a hardcore Dem who used Brasstacks during 2006-2008 to throw lashes in the BLPand Cynthia Forde daily, declare on a Brasstacks program to David Ellis that he will not be voting and that he will be sitting out this election. We need more Wesleys to sit this one out, the BLP will sure to win. There are many DLP people like Wesley who are so disappointed in the Dems that they are saying the same thing as Wesley.

Can you imagine a hardcore Dem saying he aint voting???? Unimaginable!

27. old onion bags Avatar

But that ent de best….the Sin John polyclinic man real vex and cussin…The one who used to keep so much noise on the radio….one dey call ” taxi man”…he gone too..DLP like a crocodile eatin it own…..Stuart and Donville can’t do….Chairman and ex CEO can’t do….WHO NEXT NAH ……Carson ?…De money ?How much it is doa?

28. The Dems making sure their appointees on statutory boards can’t get fire come 2013……lol

29. Chris Halsall Avatar

@Enuff: “The Dems making sure their appointees on statutory boards can’t get fire come 2013…

Why do you say that?

Do you have evidence?

30. Chris;
    is a joak, man. Yuh doan evidence for a joak. He hav uh jokin lisense.

31. That first class idiot Muscle Mary Lynch was in St. Michael Noth West shouting that his tourists were spending and now these DLP tourists aint spending. This is the best that the BLP can do as a candidate – last time I checked tourists did not check to see who was Minister of Tourism before they booked a trip and maybe Mr. Lynch a recession in England and an APD might affect the disposable income or lack thereof of the tourist.
    Lynch’s ignorance is like a recurring decimal and as a former athlete, he must stop letting his mouth get out of the starting blocks before his brain. BLP = Nuff Criticism, No Solutions!

32. ! You expect different from Muscle Mary the big mouth joker decribe an occasion most Barbadians would like to forget as our finest hour. You remember the cricket in the dark World Cup finals when fans booed the ICC man, Owen and the BLP. The most charitable things you can say about Muscle Mary is he is a stranger to the truth, a piece of crook and he own a plantation.

33. The Barbados ship is sinking not sailing mostly because of Owen Arthur and the BLP gang, what they did and didn’t do.

The Barbados Water Author (BWA), a government owned corporation and sole provider of water services in 2009 was near bankruptcy. David Thompson and the DLP inherited the BWA problem from Arthur and the BLP gang because Arthur and the gang never thought to look inside the Barbados Water Authority house just to see WHAT’S GOING ON. Arthur and BLP gang were morally responsible for BWA problems totalling thirteen years. Blame and shame for the 60% water increase rate belongs to Arthur and the BLP gang. Oh, and let us not forget the $75,000 cheque that somehow walked into his personal banking account, First Carribean International Bank in Speighton. That 75,000 belonged to the BLP warchest for electroneering NOT Arthur.

LET’S HEAR IT FOR ARTHUR AND THE BLP GANG. LET’S GIVE THEM A HAND.

That damn Al Barrack mess was born in 2006 during Arthur’s government term but inherited by Thompson and the DLP. Al Barrack in 2008 received 2.5 million from the Thompson administration, nothing from Arthur. Arthur instead of surrendering payment of some kind to Al Barrack invested 2.4 millon dolloras into a Nigerian Solar Heater project. No solar heaters were produced and the 2.4 million was lost and or unaccounted for. The 2.5 million surrendered by Thompson demonistrated effort not even considered by Arthur and his BLP cronies. Bajans today owe Al Barrack a whopping 75,0000. Blame and shame AGAIN belongs to Arthur and the BLP gang.

LET’S HEAR IT FOR ARTHUR AND THE BLP GANG. LET’S GIVE THEM A HAND.

Bajans possibly will give the BLP back their power with Owen at the helm and will surely put themselves into a DANGER ZONE. Owen we know is alive and kicking, but with notable signs of demencia. He is forgetting things, repeats himself, walks slow and sometimes with a cane. Arthur seriously thinks Barbados cannot breath without him. It can. It will.

34. old onion bags Avatar

When boar cat getting licks…he urinates all about…..true dat !

35. Most Barbadians should be aware that Arthur like Stuart suffers from diabetes. We also know that Arthur is affected by arthritis.

Does it mean he can’t lead? No. What we can say is that the office of PM is very demanding and has taken its toll on incumbents. Arthur occupied the position of PM for 14 yrs and should know.

36. ms!!!
    Please don’t talk about the squandering of the BWA money, let me jolt your memory, the BWA had over 20 million dollars in savings on the bank, Errol Barrow said, BWA is not a retail store so he removed that money and place it in the consolidated fund, BWA has never recovered from that. It is time the DLP government stop blaming the BLP for the woes this country is in today, when the DLP inherited the Al Barrack problem, the money owed was around bds$ 34 million, to date the money owed is almost bds $ 75 million; is it the BLP’s fault the DLP ignored the man? If the DLP is returned to government and continues to ignore the gentleman, by the time they leave office in 2018, the amount due could be in the vicinity of bds $ 150 million. Let’s remember, this is not going to hurt the BLP but the taxpayers of this country. This problem will not go away, even if the man dies because the money is not only owed to him but to many companies and banks to whom he got credit. One must ask, why these businesses are not hounding him down for their money. It is simple, they know the money has to be paid and right now, they see it similar to a bond, only the interest here is much greater than normal. Therefore the longer it stays the better it is for them, but the worse for the people of Barbados. Is this DLP government really a caring government? To me they are a bunch of novices trying to be vindictive. TIME THE DLP GROW UP.

37. The Scout,

Certainly, you have a right to voice your opinion. I’m really attentative to both parties, the BLP and the DlP. The BLP in my opinion are not trying to be vindictive, they are. The BLP you know held power for fourteen years. The DLP with the mighty David Thompson stopped that. They, the BLP are highly insulted and petty. Moody, you may or may not know last year around this time downgraded the Barbados domestic currency rating with a negative out look. That old Arthur, you know had to have something put out. Someone had to be responsible. Chris Sincker, Minster of Finance and DeLise Worrell, Central Bank Governor he says are the parties responsible. Barbados during leadership of Arthur you may or may not know got several S&P downgrades. Someone was responsible weren’t they? Just recently, that old Arthur said “REDjet might still be flying if government had honored its financial commitment to the collapsed airline. The DLP failed to honor its financial commitment to REDjet. Likewise, he, Arthur failed to honor his financial commitment to Al Barrack. He Arthur says the economy is a mess right now. Al Barrack is a mess right now. Arthur is embarrassing. He really is.

38. Now let try to straighten this story out again

the Initial court cased court judgement was Jan 2002 from here to pass to arbitration
    http://www.lawcourts.gov.bb/Lawlibrary/events.asp?id=395

the arbitration was concluded on September 6 2006
    It was then appealed until July 18 2008
    http://www.lawcourts.gov.bb/Lawlibrary/events.asp?id=805

This notion that the blp failed to honour finical commitment is therefore moot as judgement was arbitrated until after they left office. What can be argued was they red tapped the man until they could no longer get away. As such the government duties to pay barrack only began on July 18 2008 when no further appeals could be made. The dlp was hoping that he was going to lose the case as well blp as that would solve all there problems without having to pay out more money.

39. Okay Anthony, let’s, let’s continue to straignten this story out. Al Barrack was awarded a contract via Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley though he had NEVER built a project that size. Stupidity falls ONLY on Arthur and Mottley NOT Barrack.

40. All that matters here is that the government of Barbados is in violation of a Court Order.

41. The government, ex-prime minister Owen Arthur entered into a crime MONEY LAUNDERING by inviting that 75,000 cheque into his personal banking account.