Submitted by Looking Glass
Leader of the Opposition, Owen Arthur

You know election is around the corner when the opposition and its supporters have nothing good to say about the current government. Quite often the purported facts and figures produced have little to do with reality. Preaching falsehood in robes of tattered narrowness becomes standard. According to Mr. Austin (Not Hal Austin) the DLP government โ€œlacksโ€ innovative thinking, effective leadership, fiscal and innovative thinking, and ability to reduce spending and grow national revenue. He claims the BLP Rescued and Rebuilt Barbados. This of a government who could not even repair the West Wing of Parliament. As I said before we were in what amounts to recession long before the global recession

The last BLP government sold the Port, Airport, the National Bank, the northern hospital, land etc and left a national debt of $60bn (the sum-total of โ€œall-budgetโ€ loan guarantees and contingencies) that was greater than the GDP. The debt constitutes a โ€œlienโ€ against the people and the unborn. In the process a few benefited and were rescued. A few were given jobs and a handful became โ€˜shareholdersโ€™ in an oil company which even today produces nothing. A few souls do not constitute the population. Does on rescue and rebuild a country by selling its most profitable resources and committing its people and the next generation to prolong indebtedness?

1- We are told that domestic exports rose by 49.2 % between 2003 and 2006. That may indeed be true. For that we have to thank the private sector not the BLP. Government has no business in the private sector.

2- That deposits rose from $1.9bn in 1993 to $7.3bn in 2003. This may include the money they borrowed from non-banks like the NIS etc to put in the foreign reserve and deposited in the bank. (On The Road To Perdition). That apart those deposits belong to individuals and businesses not the government. The government does not own the people

3- 10,474 youths benefited from training in leadership, marketing and accounting. Really? Then we are about the only country in the western world with a programme to formally train youths in leadership and marketing.

4- 32.000 souls were unemployed in 1994 and the BLP created more than 30.500 jobs as promised. It is very unlikely those jobs were in the government/public sector. Government has no business in the private sector and as such does not create jobs. For the private sector to create that many jobs it would have had to start from scratch.

Full employment is a theoretical concept. Modern society demands that there will always be a reserve army of both the unemployed and the underemployed. Full employment restricts development and expansion growth in the high-tech age. Technology is a two edged sword. It enables the production of products at cheaper cost with less labour. Further it usually requires investment and skills which in our case was and is not readily available. That was the main why Intel and Donnelly came and left.

Government cannot legislate job creation; neither can it subsidize imports indefinitely. Only with rising productivity and earnings, much of which must be spent on domestically made products will we generate sufficient jobs to accommodate the unemployed.

Unemployment/underemployment need not be a reflection of low levels of per capita income or the unequal distribution of income. Unless and until we produce locally more of what we consume a higher and better distribution of income will result in much more leakage and marginalisation

Quantifying unemployment often lacks a descriptive base and rest on inadequate and unreliable statistical information which does not include non-market factors such as:1) people who are unable or incapable of performing useful work because of permanent mental, physical or other disability 2) Those unemployed due to the low productivity of unskilled labour 3) the unskilled and those with limited education 4) the self-employed without clients 5) those unwilling to work in the low wage/status sector. For this reason conclusions about employment and unemployment depend on the definition and is characterized by diversity and in some cases mobility. Given the above the figures on unemployment and job creation cited by Mr. Austin are at best exaggerated. That said there has always been unemployment in Barbados. Given population increase and relatively closed migration it will increase. The economy as structured cannot absorb the growing labour force.

Tourism

We are told that tourism policies led to sustained growth and generated significant foreign exchange. Tourism was a successful self-generating business with little government input long before the last BLP came to power (Tourism In Perspective). That changed under the last BLP. Apart from selling the scarce land they did little else to promote the industry. In the process we destroyed the picturesque characteristic of the island. Canadians visitors increased substantially after Errol Barrow set up the tourism office in Toronto. Under the BLP tourism marketing and promotion was to put it mildly a bad word. We were also told that the Tourism Act facilitated more than $2bn in new investment and a further $4bn pledged. Exactly what the author means only he knows

Tourism returns since about 1993-4 have been exaggerated. When one buys a package the airline, foreign agent/wholesaler and hotel costs are all included in the price. Most hotels have overseas bank account which means that none of the price paid comes toBarbados. All we get is departure tax and what the visitor spends on the island, most of which goes to pay for the imported products used to service them. A long time ago it was estimated that only about 25 cents of every dollar the tourists spend remains on the island.

Returns of cruise ship passengers are also exaggerated. It was reported that cruise passengers spend $70.00 per day per port. It assumes that all passengers go ashore and spend that much at each port. We are usually the last port of call. UnlikeBarbadosthere is so much to see and do in the other islands and on the ships passengers are likely broke by the time they reach the Rock.

According to the CEO of the BTA over 700.000 visitors arrived in the first half of 2011 of which 58.270 arrived in June (Advocate8/11/2011). Last month another source reported we had well over 5000 visitors last year. If that were indeed the case hotels would not be closing. Check how many hotels closed in the last 15 years. We are by far the most expensive destination in the region with little more than sea and sun to attract tourists. Marketing and promoting tourism has been and remains a bad word. Even today one is hard pressed to find anything about us in the North American andUKtravel or other media apart fromAlmondBeach. That apart an immediate problem which we so far has neglected or ignored is competition. West Jet and other airlines have and are increasing flights to the other islands in the region all of whom are cheaper, more picturesque and offer more to see and do that we do. Until the problem is addressed we will have to create statistics as more hotels close.

1. old onion bags Avatar

Why have a DING DONG ? I still maintain what I said….ignoring the imposter’s retort..I stand so strong by my convictions, that being civil..I leave you two unimpeded,to continue in your uncomfortable state.It ‘s time to stop the dreaming…..you can choose to accept the truth or continue the battles within…perceptions .v. reality.

2. Onions ,enuff and the other five BLP votes on this blog can at least listen to the CEO of First Citizen Bank about the Barbados economy. He said that it is being well managed as it relates to what is going on worldwide.
    That is a reasonable argument as against you doom and gloomers.
    The BLP will find it very hard to win this election if the economy is the main campaign issue.
    Election in Barbados is not now won by issues but by who has the most the money for the youth. Let us wait and see who has the most money for them.

3. old onion bags Avatar

The BLP will find it very hard to win this election if the economy is the main campaign issue.
    Did I not tell you he was a clown ?

4. @ Clone
    You are a Clone or a clown? What do you expect Howai to say when he is buying over a bank in Barbados, insult the government?
    What did Kofi Annan and many others say about Barbados under OSA? Yet the Bees got skin out in 2008!!

5. @ Enuff
    “Yet the Bees got skin out in 2008”
    ……..
    Man yuh hear dat wanna get skin out for the thievery- and for selling out the place and bringing in every Tom Dick and Harry…
    ….It was nothing to do with no economy.

Right now Bajans ain’t blind or totally foolish… We can see how hard things are all over the world….you think that any sensible person could expect Barbados to be awash with money when everybody else scrunting…?

Bushie can’t believe that wanna Bees fooling wanna self that if things get hard it means that wanna win…. Stop wishing more hardship on the place do!!
    P
    What wanna need to do is to come up with A NEW image, new strategy and new plan that gels with BARBADIAN goals… and try and dump some of the old rejects and hangers-on, who are just looking for handouts…. …All like Old Onions so… LOL

Come to think of it, this is what the DLP needs to do too…

Bushie suggest that we advertise for the positions of MPs, collect the applications and CVs from those qualified- and hold interviews to select the final 30.
    We then hand them the objectives to be achieved over the next 5 years and review their progress every 6 months. Out goes anyone who fails to achieve the targets for the period.

6. LOOKING GLASS IS A FIRST CLASS CLOWN If BLP did not rebuild Barbados, then what the DLP did in this term is a demolition job. Now hear de ground – de peoples say, I do not know a thing about economics, all I know is that when the Bees in I does got a job and money in my pocket and when the Dems come in I don’ know what happens but I does be scrunting. What spin would you like to put pon dat. They are processing the ‘ allegations of corruption corruption ‘ now as ‘even if dey(Bees) was thiefing at least we does get some; another when the Bees in power money does flow. Bajans are not idiots they know when they had a good thing.

7. john C Chapman Avatar
    john C Chapman

The death of small hotels came during the last term of the BLP now with only a small few there is little options but to stay in a high price hotel, people then wpuld not come. The BLP started to use the NIS funds to do too many capitol project, the government (BLP) was not making any omney then , they distroy, the DLP heals and when the BLP tak e it back, it is good

8. @ bajan truth

mr / misses/ mrs/ economic ignoramus it is obvious you don’t know nothing about economics. We all knew that your comment is say it all!

9. @ac

Why don’t you try attacking the statements of commenters? Why call people names? It just detracts from the message. You have no idea who you are conversing, added to which, economics is an inexact science.

10. David
    You must also tell the others like onions and enuff the same because they are always name calling while they heads are stuck in the sand with their whole gluteus maximus exposed.
    As Bush tea said the BLP was not voted out on the economy it was voted out on the perceived high level of corruption.
    For Example the $75000 cheque which went into Owen Arthurโ€™s account. Noel Lynch world cup nonsense and JAWS.

11. @ david

Did i verbally abuse the commentator. are you trying to silence me! many here on BU have used indecent language over the years and not a peek now the word “ignoramus” is being termed to be an attack. am i also to belive the word ” ignorant ‘ should not be used should not one respond as along as the comments are not foul or indecent language i can go to the archives of BU and pull up a long list of not only indecent language but abusive language heeped on others with whom there were disagreements .

12. david you seem to have a double standard . i can and appreciate that you are trying to invite the comments of politicians however most of them have shown no moral guidance . who are they to criticise or even judge ones moral compass.i give up!

13. Hahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa Dems still talking about a $75000 cheque that went to OSA. Pray tell where the cheques written to DAVID THOMPSON (not the $3.33m to David Thompson & Associates) as outlined in the Forensic Audit went?

14. @ DAVID

it is interesting to NOTE that bajan first line of comment was a disparaging remark inferring that “LOOKING GLASS IS A FIRST CLASS CLOWN” how so convenient of you to overlooked that ! but would jump on the word ignoramus which proves the point that the opening statement was an ignorant one to begin a conversation and my retaliation was justifiable

15. During the last election campaign the DLP highlighted a number of infelicities that were allegedly perpetrated by the BLP, such as the costs over-runs, the $75,000 Arthur deposited in his account, while punishing the idea that the then government was corrupt. This resulted in a resounding win for the DLP, as the electorate punished the BLP for its actions. After the elections we heard about the โ€œmessโ€, money in overseas bank accounts, and forensic audits were the talk of the day.

There were no forensic audits and no source documents came to light to substantiate these allegations. I am of the opinion that what was coming from the DLP merited some sort of investigations, thereby revealing the evidence that would have ultimately resulted in the imprisonment of the perpetrators. However, after four years and four months, all we have is rumour and innuendo. Unfortunately, for the DLP their creditability is on the line, because, surely they cannot go into an election articulating what they did in the previous election (as is being done on this blog by their supporters). Additionally, we have had a forensic audit which has associated their former leader to what is tantamount to money laundering, while it is perceived that the DLP is protecting the individual at the helm of the debacle. Surely, we must agree that this behaviour is consistent with corruption as well.

16. @ac

You are correct, the statement should include all those who hurl invective at the commenter and not the statement.

17. @ David
    The market for foreign exchange can be analyzed in terms of supply and demand. We demand foreign money (and supply dollars) when we buy things abroad, such as vacations, goods, services, factories, and financial assets. Barbados does not operate like the UK with a floating exchange rate where the market forces of demand and supply for a currency determines the daily value of one currency against another. Here is where the Barbados dollar comes into question. If we continue to have a fixed exchange rate to the US dollar, there are certain implications associated if there are fluctuations in the US currency as it relates to imports. A strong exchange rate helps to control the rate inflation because domestic suppliers now face stiffer regional competition from cheaper imports and will look to cut their costs and prices accordingly in order not to suffer from a loss of regional competitiveness. Cheaper prices of imported foodstuffs and beverages will also have a negative effect on the rate of consumer price inflation.

If tariffs are increased foreign products will become more expensive for Barbadians, as a result we will want to import less. If exports fall, this causes a reduction in aggregate demand and reduces the short-term rate economic growth as measured by the % change in real GDP. If exports fall, then so will business confidence and capital investment, because investment is partly dependent on the strength of demand.
    The government can alter fiscal policy, through counterbalancing use of fiscal and monetary policy, to manage the level of AD and the Central Bank has the flexibility to change interest rates (e.g. lower interest rates if, in their opinion, a high exchange rate was damaging the export sectors and causing much lower inflation). In the short term, however, the effects of exchange rates on export and import demand tend to be low because of low price elasticity of demand.

18. Personally i think that this idea even though is a good would only attract the die hard BLP yardfowls and the DLP stalwarts .However if the forum was set up as a Question and answer forum. it would be much easier for the politician to respond without being anonymous having said that you being the blog master would have your work cut out for you in screening out the loud and abusive and insensitive comments and making sure that the questions are well presented are limited and not repetitive and no one blogger hogs the forum.. what we have now is a free for all and like george Brathwaite said”only fools rush in”

19. @ac

Thanks for your feedback, politicians are people too and are free to exchange comments in name or anonymously.

@Artax

It is your opening sentence which is at the root of the matter.

If there is greater disposable income, to what extent will most of it be funded by forex because of known buying behaviour i.e. importation of imported consumer durables.

20. Barbados First Avatar
    Barbados First

So Prime Minister Freundel Stuart requested a balance sheet from REDjet. He is said to be considering their offer for some form of support from the Barbados Government….after Minister Hutson revoke their license LOL

If there was always this deep concern for tourism in Barbados by the Stuart Administration, why wasnt the same help or offer of assistance extended to Almond Resorts months ago when they were crying out???? There is a lot more at stake with Almond. What happened to the special ministerial commitee which was set up to look at Almond. Did somebody drop the ball…AGAIN? (like they did with the Alexandra Affair)

Did not the CLICO policyholders warrant assistance too? The Guyana and Trinidad governments stepped in and provided support for their citizens with CLICO policies. What did the Barbados government do?

DLP = Do-Little Posers

21. @ David

You are correct. A critical analysis of spending trends of Barbadians suggest that as more disposable income becomes available it is likely that it will be spent on foreign goods and services, especially if they are cheap. Let us examine the Trinidadian market. When foreign currency is cheap (e.g. TT dollars) Trinidadian products are cheap in US dollars and demand is high; to buy these goods we will need to buy the requisite amount of foreign exchange, hence, the proliferation of TT products on our market. Conversely, when the foreign exchange is expensive there will be a corresponding effect on the price of the products and much fx will not be needed. In economic terms the fx will have a negative slope on the DD graph as characterized by demand curves.

22. Barbados first—–In fairness to the PM he said he will be keeping an eagle eye on Almond to have it return to business in some manner quickly.

23. All we get from the DLP and its supporters is lies, lies and more lies.

Did Looking Glass really say that the BLP sold the Port and the Airport? If the Airport was sold by the BLP, how could the dead king bring back David Barrow and put him up there over Joseph Johnson who knows the work? How could a PM put a politician’s son in a private company as CEO?

Is not the port still in the hands of Mr Walters? Is not the St Joseph Hospital still in government hands? Did we not hear the Health Minister say recently in Parliament to loud thumps that the government is leasing out the Hospital to a US concern? Did we not hear Minister Kellman talk a role on how the BLP treated the north and how caring they are? So if the hospital was sold, how could the government now be able lease it out? Tell the truth or change your name, when you look into a glass, you can only see the truth before your eyes, not a lie!

Dems, please, Barbadians are not idiots, stop spreading lies. They are not working. You were given a chance to prove that you all were not corrupt and you blew it big time. Next time, tell BU about Michael Lashley and if and why his visa was revoked, if he asked the PM to help and if he can travel now? Ask who benefits from the sale of diesel at the Transport Board and who benefits from the contracts and sale of houses that Jada builds!

Just to be balanced!

24. @Prodigal Son BLP
    You raising the dead now?

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

“Your message again will NOT get any notice from the electorate this time around”

What is it that you are really saying?
    The people of Barbados are so dumb and stupid that they should put back in a bunch of gansters.
    A political party that only survived because of its iron grip on the news media of Barbados which allowed them to get away with the worst forms of corruption imaginable.
    Every project created by the Barbados Labour Party suffered from cost overruns. Where did the extra money go?
    So you are saying that it is time for more of that again.

Put back in Ali Baba and the forty thieves.

26. @ Carson
    Wasn’t the resurfacing of the National Stadium pitch, one of the first projects undertaken by this administration, a cost over run and a poorly executed job? Is the ‘Roundabout Project’ on Budget?

27. Enuff,

Do not bother yourself with the above blogger. His hatchet job is to push this worn out unproven talk about corruption. The DLP supporters are scared that they are going to loose the election whenever the slow man cares to call it and it has them desperate. Desperate people do and say desperate things!

The dead king used this corruption talk last election and Barbadians believed them but Barbadians are not fools and they have seen through the DLP lies. They know that the DLP lied to win the last election and they will not be fooled again. The DLP has produced no evidence for four years, they have ALL the files at their disposal, yet not a shred of evidence.

Dont you think that the way in which the Dems push this corruption talk last election that they would not have gone into every ministry checking and probing every thing? Dont you think that if they had found one shred of corruption that they would have let the whole of Barbados know……..look we have the evidence!!! The DLP stands condemned.

But no, they ignore all the talk you hear about the corruption going on in this government in the FACTS coming out of the forensic audit of CLICO which shows corruption, fraud and deceit on their former leader who boasted to the Dems that he would not lie cheat or steal. All the while decrying and slandering the BLP while he was the bigger FRAUD.

You think the Dems sweet??? Not at all!

28. The BLP will fool those who allow themseles to be fooled. The BLP HAS NEVER RESCUED Barbados. That is clear for all to see. The BLP took over the reigns of government in September 1994 when clearly the worse of the 1991- 1992 recession was over and the economy was stabilised, the public sector wage bill reduced and the global economy picking up.The Sandiford administration imploded and the BLP took all the credit for an economic recovery the seeds of which were sown long before Owen Arthur came to office.
    A look at the 1995 – 2000 period globally shows tthat the BLP was operating in a global envronment when all of OUR TRADING PARTNERS WERE GROWING – that is a difference that the BLP supporters conveniently seem to ignore- Bill Clinton won reelection in 1996 because the US economy was growing strongly.
    Yet, the BLP spindoctors want Barbados to beleive that it was some BLP magic formula that was responsible when even a blind man can see that it was still tourism spending and then inflows from International business that was the source of our foreign exchange on which everything in this economy depends.
    The BLP did not reform the public sector, the sugar industry was not reformed, all the pretty talk about privatising CBC, Transport Board,garbage collection was never done, massive off budget spending and cost overruns were the norm.
    It is one thing to try to capitalise on tough economic conditions to try to win a governmnet but to suggest that the BLP has some magic fornula that the DLP does not have is to insult the intelligence of all Barbadians.
    The BLP will fool those who allow themselves to be fooled and all we hear from the BLP now is Nuff Criticism, No sOLUTIONS.

29. @ !

“It is one thing to try to capitalise on tough economic conditions to try to win a governmnet but to suggest that the BLP has some magic fornula that the DLP does not have is to insult the intelligence of all Barbadians.”

Like your party fooled them in 2008: reduced cost of living, duty free cars, mortgages for public servants et al?

30. It is laughable to suggest that this DLP government has not been prooactive in the face of this global reccession.
    This government strengthened the social safety net through increasing the reverse tax credit, pensions, extensions to unemployment benefits,welfare provisions to assist the elderly, disabled and unemployed in the face of rising global energy costs.
    Created a tourism relief fund to assist many in the hospitality industry,sought to diversify our tourism markets and maintain the spend in our current markets,sought to increase airlift out of Scandanavia, Brazil, increased focus on heritage tourism.
    Comprehensive range of incentives to shift this economy away from heavy dependence on fossil fuels: tax credits for energy audits, household installation of alternative energy systems,development of alternative energy complex at Mangrove.
    Institutional stregthening and regulation of our financial services industry with FSC and the coming Central Revenue agency.
    Cheap politics will always be the order of the day for some but a fair assessment will show that this government has been actively working on the people’s business not simply throwing its hands in the air.

31. The scout master
    You asked, who in the Mia fraction would forgive Owen. remember a man name David Estwick? who went on the call -in programme and declared he would NEVER be ib the DLP under DT farless work with him? Do you remember a man name FS, who at cinference a few years before the last general elections, declared that DT was like poison to the DLP? Did nopt these two men and their fractions, worked with DT when he became P.M? Remember the DLP takes much longer than the B’s to solve their problems.

32. @ !
    How many of those are simply a continuation of the previous administration’s policies? Let me tell you: FSC, reverse credit, UNESCO designation of B’town (Heritage Tourism), household alternative energy incentives. You are bragging about policies initiated by the previous government. Who playing cheap politics? I can’t finish without stating another fact, there is NO mention of waste to energy in the DLP’s manifesto–NONE! However page 36 of the BLP’s states:
    We will “[e]xamine the feasibility of waste to energy projects.”.
    For our sake I hope proper SIA and EIA were conducted.

33. The same people who accuse the present government of not doing anything when the proof is shown of how actively the government has been going about the people’s business, the BLP apologists say “oh these were projects started by the previous administration” –
    They cannot have it both ways- The DLP government has been working hard while batting on the toughest wicket that any Barbados or regional governmnent has had to bat in our lifetimes. They are doing well in the circumstances-
    The St. Joseph Hospital which was allowed to deterioate under the current opposition leader will now be the centre of huge facility bringing millions to our shores thanks to the action of this DLP government.
    The Employment Rights Bill – acheived after a few short years while the BLP talked the talk, it is this government that walked the walk.
    Same with alternative energy, same with the abandoned Country Park Towers, etc.
    Let us give credit when it is due.

34. @!

Didn’t the Chief Labour Officer confirm today that the Employees Rights Bill was ready to go since 2008 but the election intervened?

35. JANUARY 2, 2005 – Mascoll on Arthur’s accountability.

“The truth is that for the last ten years, several policy errors were made, but the mistakes were masked by heavy borrowing, job creation in the public sector, and heavy taxation that permitted wastage without accountability . . . Metaphorically, it is akin to the old pear tree that has green leaves and pears in spite of its rotten trunk.”

After not, 1. 2, 3 but TEN years – Clyde Mascoll could confidently state that the BLP never rescued Barbados and failed to transform or restructure the Barbados Economy. The BLP now wants to fool intelligent Bajans that they have some silver bullet, magic wand solution. They do not and Clyde Mascoll if he is honest with himself would admit it too.Voters, Be Warned! Rescue and Rebuild is bare rubbish talk.

36. and didn’t the doctor “infer” tardiness on the previous DLP Minister of Labour along with all other previous ministers??

37. @!
    “several policy errors were made, but the mistakes were masked by heavy borrowing, job creation in the public sector, and heavy taxation

hmmmm, do you want to continue along this line???

38. @David- 2008 is after 14 BLP years in office – 2012 is after 4 years in office by the DLP – Each administration will set its priorities.
    It is implementation. I remember that talk too when Rawle Eastmond was Minister many years ago but this government is getting the job done and delivering in labour , health, tourism , finance, housing, – the Ministers are working!

39. The Mascoll statement above puts the nonsense talk by the BLP supporters about rescuing Barbados to rest.Is Mascoll a liar now or was he a liar then?

40. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

the only people who think the DLP will win the next election is the hard core DEMS. you folks need to wake up and see that the writing is on the wall. stop taking everything the yardfowls tell you and talk to the average joe in the road.

but i don’t think anyone has to tell you jokers anything because if you all so confident that a win was on the cards for the DLP in the next election, this country would heard the bell already.

so stupid are you all, that persons are getting laid off, short weeks and add to that the crop over sings that will murder you all, you set of jokers continue to talk rubbish. in an attempt to show what?

what a sad bunch of clowns we have running this country.

41. @!
    maybe he was telling the truth then, and his statements also apply now…..let’s say that the BLP didn’t rescue Barbados…what are the DLP doing now? rescuing? stabilising? improving? growing? all the above??

can’t have it both ways can we ๐Ÿ™‚

42. “Personally i think that this idea even though is a good would only attract the die hard BLP yardfowls and the DLP stalwarts ”
    why do you refer to BLP supporters as yardfowls and DLP supporters as stalwarts?

43. “You know election is around the corner when the opposition and its supporters have nothing good to say about the current government.”

Wasn’t the modus operandi by the present government and supporters the same leading up to the elections when the current opposition formed the government? i am not getting bogged down with this rescue and rebuild argument but in simple dollars and sense, my standard of living has dropped since the change in government. they have suceeded in taxing me out of my underwear and there is nothing significant infrastructurally to show for it.not even simple construction projects like roundabouts they seem able to complete. anyhow, i wish them well because i do not want the BEES to return yet.

44. Is it just me, or clear to everyone that ! and others on this blog who support the DLP are struggling to defend this government’s tenure? Another question what do you consider the Barbados Fertility Clinic to be if not health/medical tourism? Stupse Remember the health facility that was to be built next to Hastings Rocks?

45. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Unfortunately for you BLP jokers not everyone believes that a Leopard can can change his spots.
    Hence your relentless attempts to convince Bajans that a corrupt Barbados Labour Party is the way to go.

46. @!
    โ€œThis government strengthened the social safety net through increasing the reverse tax credit, pensions, extensions to unemployment benefits, welfare provisions to assist the elderly, disabled and unemployed in the face of rising global energy costs.โ€

Please, do not be ignorant in your haste to support a party and write rubbish. Let me give you a lesson in reality. RECESSION OR NO RECESSION, THE ABOVE ARE INITIATIVES THAT ANY ADMINISTRATION WOULD HAVE TO UNDERTAKE, BECAUSE BARBADOS IS A MIXED ECONOMY.

โ€œCreated a tourism relief fund to assist many in the hospitality industry, sought to diversify our tourism markets and maintain the spend in our current markets, sought to increase airlift out of Scandanavia, Brazil, increased focus on heritage tourism.โ€

Another set of rubbish, small hotels are still closing and where are the figures to support the abundance of tourist from these destinations?

47. @ balance
    โ€œYou know election is around the corner when the opposition and its supporters have nothing good to say about the current government.โ€

I agree with your comment 100%. I remember the months leading up to the last general election, there was a barrage of criticism of the last administration coming from the supporters of the DLP, they had a particular batting order everyday on the call-in-programmes, and were ably assisted by the likes of Maxine McClean, Tony Marshall, Peter Wickham, David Ellis, Ralph Jemmott, Akintoolove Corbin, Shontelle Munroe-Knight, Vere Brathwaite, Matthew Farley, and Harry Husbands.

48. Observing (from afar) Avatar
    Observing (from afar)

@!
    your modus operandi has become “stick adn move”, “dodge the question”, “drop a fact here drop a fact there” and “don’t defend when it gets too hot”

Ironically you are the most logical DLP supporter on the blog. go figure. What does that say about the rest and your prospects?

49. old onion bags Avatar

Now I wake up to hear GASOLINE GONE UP……..Aarson the Cudear….cuddear man,…. like Stuartie wants me to sell the ole 69 Land Rover and bring out D bicycle ($5 license, like the dog license, I ent pay fa years).. I was planning to go fishing off the the Wreck and hook two barracudas later …but Diesel must have gone up too…… Look I am going have to take up the two old oars and the Moses…(Malcolm) and head out to Mossy Hole to see if I can hook some brims and a ole wife….cuz the sardines we gettin real scaly..But Cardboard …when all this sh#e gine stop ?…dis is wufflessness man….
    People have to stand up to them like in the USA. PDC man we have to picket Parliament on Wednesdays …..take care they don’t start rushing supermarkets and tekkin up d corn beef…..this is wuffless-ness doa….man I bet GASOLINE went up ova 156 times now since 2008 and these….come to power..
    Only last night before this increase I calculated to use my jaloppy, the cost per KM….was $0.52..imagine that…..$0.52km or 2.2 x 0.52 = $1.15 a mile….ya better off walking….this is bare pookey….

Common sense Carson….should tell them NOT in an election year….TINGS HAVE TO BE REALLY BAD ?But they according to Mc Clean now negotiate $ 160 million…this (increase fuel prices) must be the negotiating fees….heavens help we ….mercy man mercy….

50. old onion bags Avatar

corr : 56 times since 2008