The political temperature is rising in Barbados as both political parties gear up for a general election due by early 2013. The contest is expected to be one of the most interesting for many reasons. On the BLP side there is Owen Arthur who led the country during a period of economic prosperity. On the DLP side there is Fruendel Stuart who finds himself in the role because of the death of David Thompson.

This is an unscientific poll by BU to test how the wind is blowing.

202 responses to “Which Direction Is The Political Wind Blowing In Barbados”

1. @David
    Are we overseas hyphenated Bajans allowed to vote on your poll?

2. @Hants

The poll is unscientific.

Perhaps you can vote on-behalf of a relative in Barbados.

BU encourage all who vote here to go over to this link and do the same.

Thanks!

3. So far the poll is not looking too good.

From inception the BU politicos have always gotten it right. The result is consistent with how the wind is currently blowing.

4. Hants we all know who you voting for so you shouldn’t even ask if you could vote.

David you forgot to include the NONE box. The way I feel now I don’t want to vote any of these people!

5. @David
    suggest this poll in my last post. I wonder if my ‘influence’ is strong (LOL) I notice that OSA is not doing so well thus far!. I wonder if FS would feel embolden by his opening spurt? Think on these things

6. @ islandgal246,

just in case anyone thinks otherwise, I vote DLP and Fruendel Stuart.

7. @ at el
    Cheez on breds…..people looka LICKS…looka LICKS…..A PoLL DaviD you baddie?
    I know nuff men go comin hay TOXIC…..but look I tell them eva sense
    >>>>>>>ONE TERM…Clone call Clown Cadogan..he gota see this..

8. David @hants

Perhaps you can vote on behalf of a relative

@DAVID

Spoken like a true politician.

9. i suspect that is poll is padded! people voting twice!

10. multiple voting !

11. I aint voting at all. lol

12. @ ac
    tek ya licks and HUSH girl…. .Is 2:1 so far, but later it go speed up and I bet 4:1 in favor of Owen..and ac you can’t vote twice..

13. this poll is tainted toomany blp operatives rigging . brown bags please

14. @ac

Would you accept the result if it were a Wickham poll?

Bottomline is that people on the ground have a feel that were a general election to be held today the DLP would be found struggling.

15. All dem that vote fa Funny_Del waste they vote …nuff men go hush after dis watch ! (and women too) 3:1 already nearly…..hurt

16. I onions doing D dog..puppy and Beagle…tomorrow ! DLP gettin wash off up Husbands @ QC

17. @Onions

Bear in mind it is unscientific and we are splitting 100% between the 4.

18. Unscientific or not David…..them washoff when the bell ring and this is why>
    The DLP made it their number one,( No.1) priority in their manifesto to REDUCE COST OF LIVING remember ?…they failed miserably and instead gave us MORE TAXES… Freundel, could you seriously tell the man in the street to have faith in the joker pack and give you all one more term ? >>>> NO, you would have to be crazy !
    ONE TERM ONE TERM….you have been weighed and found wanting.

19. I was going to vote for Arthur then I remembered that someone wrote this just prior to the last Election:

Arthur seems to rule by fiat, and has done too many policy reverses without explaining his reasoning to the country for me to be comfortable with calling him a great leader. His arrogance in office now seems to permeate almost everything he does, and his decisions seem to make overall sense only when judged by one criteria, which is, what’s good for big business is good for the country

Who was the author?

20. Whitney Houston dies at age48years CNN!

21. @ sargeant
    Who was the author?>>>>>YOU nah..lol
    Cuz you duz write bare S***E

22. All the Greats like they leaving us….Farewell Whitney…you were special

23. Old Onions

The author is a well known Bajan columnist, if you do a bit of research you will get the answer.

Of course I write bare “s..te”, but is the author correct?

24. Whitney Houston dies.

Rihanna should take note. Bad boys will assist you in self destruction.

25. Look Sargeant I don’t need nobody famous or otherwise to tell me the DLP going thru the window. You all looking at another 14 years in the political wilderness man !……destitute and no solace fore coming as you no longer Family First ….2 yrs ago Chris as the minister of finance could have listened to Mascoll..but no he wanted to be pig headed…3yrs ago Fruendel could have get shown some testicular fortitude and run the country like the man he is now trying to be….but too late Sarge…its all but over now for these inept jokers…All the while, people have died from poor quality drugs or none at all….people have starved or begged neighbors or done without…people have lost their cars and even homes…all because some chose to waste what monies were there from the beginning. When they realized no Input Vat was coming to replace the wastage…they cry foul…Global Economies are totally responsible ….Oh no Mr.Pm …soon it will be the peoples’ time to tell you and the fat lazy boys who wanted to topple you, just what they think of you all’s incompetence and arrogance. The (X) shall reign supreme again and heads shall roll ..yours included on the Bayland pasture. By then Hal Gollop will be GG and looking out for you ole friend.

26. look how a lil foo foo poll cud turn some people head! onions i did know yuh wuh so foolish! wait yu tek dis pool fuh de real deal LOL!

27. I want you come down Husbands tomorrow night so that you could see the BEES ..gearing up fa D BIG Foo Foo polls that these jokers so frightened to call but prefer to put people to call in on Brass tacks begging for “Just give we one more term please.” I hope none of them aint you ?..

28. If you really want to see how the winds are blowing, you have to stop reading the biased views of political operatives and go into the market on Saturdays. I go every week and even participate in the discussions, and what I am hearing has given me cause for concern. My unscientific poll suggest that most people are not concern with who caused the recession. They want relief and are looking for someone to ease the pressure. Lots of them are saying that the present administration seems not to know how to get out of this economic mess. Many persons, some of whom identify themselves as DLP supporters who do not like Arthur but, they feel that he has the ability to lead the country out of these hard times. Whether you like it or not that is the perception out there, and that is what the DEMS have to fight. Their biggest enemy is not the BLP: it is the lack of confidence that is pervading the entire country. The Eager 11 did not do anything to help the situation.

On the other side, people in the market are saying that Mia has over played her hand and wants her to behave. I get the impression that the Dems would be routed big time if the BLP settles down. However, there are some who share my view that it would not be in Mia’s interest if the BLP wins the next election. People are afraid that Mia’s interest might work against the interest of the BLP, in which case, the DLP might just squeeze through. At least that is what I am hearing.

29. @Caswell
    It does not matter which market you go to the people are saying that this government does not know what it is doing and it does not know what to do. You cannot put your hand up in the air and declare that the world economic situiation is the cause of our problem. Try something, appear in charge, do give up and blame everything except yourself. This government has gone on with out takmg responsibility for any which it has done. They began by blaming Arthur and the BLP and people are tired of this plea. They are incompetent and useless. They have no answers to the problems. They hope that Mia and her nonsense would be enough to make a point. When people are suffering they do not care about friivilous foolishness. They think that Cyntie is following Mia foolishly and without any real reason. If Mia is hoping that she can cause a stir and then the BLP would vote her as leader then she is stupid beyond measure . Her behaviour has ruled her out completely and I think she knows that She is unelectable as a BLP leader whether hthe BLP wins aor loses the next or future elections.It cannot be my way or else . She has shown herself to be a Mottley. When a lelader get dropped that leader if he or she is interested goes back into the pack and fights. Take the example from PJ Patterson and Golding. Leadership is a gift of the led. Whether you are the best or not people must tell you so. Arthur has too many successes not to beat FS. Stuart has a bad hand and poor ministers/candidates and they tdo not want him. Stuart is not a natural political winner and he has only won when things are good . He is under a lot of pressure in ST, Michael South because he has failed to do the simple things and there is a cry . You do not win because you are PM ask Bree. The people in the Dems do not want him. Do you expect the voters in St. Michael to want him ? I doubt it Think on these things

30. @ true to form
    Well said…..this DLP party is going to get a sandpapering of its life come election..NEVER BEFORE in this country were there SO MANY ISSUES to lower down another political party to its grave, as will be this coming elections. NEVER…an ole onion has seen a few..
    THESE MERRY MICE…and FUNNY_DEL knows this and are scared STIFF to call an elections…..come Funny_DEL..time is ripe…don’t waste no $12 Million more on a T20 cricket Tournament on a dead man’s dream in October…even that cannot help NOW… Spend it on the “LIVING” THE DEAD GONE AND BURIED …Take that money and pay CLICO and BAICO pensioners and investors…they really need it more….no more parties, games and gimmicks.

31. @ true to form
    It does not matter which market you go to the people are saying that this government does not know what it is doing and it does not know what to do. You cannot put your hand up in the air and declare that the world economic situiation is the cause of our problem. Try something, appear in charge, do give up and blame everything except yourself. This government
    has gone on with out takmg responsibility for any which it has done.

Full Kudos again….remember the Post ” Stop Blaming All on Global Economies “.

32. Ole onions bags …stop hogging this forum nuh? Can’t you say something in one or two posts? It looks like yuh talking to yuhself and answering back too. Better get yuhself checked out down Black Rock! 🙂

33. island gal onion belives this is the winning poll and the BLP will Start Restore ! Rebuild ! Restructure! tommorw. He kinda celebrating the foo foo results LOL!

34. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

I wonder if you included the option of a third party which guaranteed to define and implement many policies that seem to be missing, how this would effect the results.

35. @ ac Islangal
    Not my fault you all can’t see eye 2 eye wid D onion.
    good thing is there is still time to see sense and change the foo foo ac

36. @Adrian

A reasonable request but the current reality is that we are stuck with the BLP and the DLP. Based on the word on the street most people are apprehensive to vote for the DLP this time around. Bear in mind that the popular appeal of David Thompson is gone and now Arthur strides the political landscape like a colossus. One group that appears to be very unforgiving is the middleclass who as always is thinking they have to bear the brunt of the austerity policy. It does not matter to them if not them who?

To your question we will have several opportunities to test the water with these polls. as you know being an early supporter of the blogs they have always given a fair indication of how the win is blowing.

37. @ islandgal246 I totally agree with you.I could not vote because mt intention was to vote NONE and no provision is included for such persons if this was included we would have seen the number of votes from such persons

38. @ ac kis kis kiss….just so
    @ islangal….. BU polls don’t lie….Fumbles dun wid

39. @A Customer

You are correct we have not captured the disillusionment which exist.

Whether B or D wins government the political cynicism which exist should be of concern i.e. the lack of enthusiasm by many when it comes to participating in our democracy.

@Onions, all on the blog get your point.

40. @ David
    Are you insinuating that I should stop rubbing salt in my gf ac’s wounds or kicking dust in Islandgals eyes ( whoever else for that matter) ?

41. @Onions

You are free to do what you wish, simply a reminder about the law of diminishing returns.

42. Law of diminishing returns ? why that’s to do with production…we aint see none of that in a long time David. Like you giving me more ammunition.

43. onions you not rubbing salt anywhere .however i take the poll and results with a grain of salt.

44. @ac

BU has stated upfront that this is an unscientific test of how the wind is blowing. To those of us on the ground, and like Caswell opined, the wind is blowing away from the DLP at the moment. It is up to them to do whatever it takes to turn the thing around and not push their heads in the sand like you are doing. Bear in mind it was a scientific poll by CADRES in a few constituencies which forced the Eager 11 situation to rise to the fore. Think on these things.

45. @ David
    Does any one know how the eager 11 voted in this poll? At least they said they cannot win with FS so they must be counted among the BLP votes. Did FS vote for himself?. Those in the DEMS who want to shock FS may put in a protest vote to make FS look bad. The teachers who have not had phase 2 may vote againast him. The NUPW bosses, interlopers and comers-in may be in this poll. Do think this would be fair ? Wouldn’t the poll be skewed?The PTA who brought the children kicking and screaming in to the circus may also vote against him. I will not count those who will not forgive him for saying that EWB had no charisma. How about the Dems who believe that he should havebeen here for the unfurling of the momument to David. How do you think they will vote ? The Middle class? Probably half and half. You see how things are stacked up. Think of these things.

46. @ true to-from
    lol lol…ya really true to form…ya bouncing PROPER…a ilke it….dawg..ya like a true demon tis morning.. a pun-master. I want you pun D podium this evening.
    from to form..wanna get it

47. @David

r u allowing one vote per ip address, or a vote for each blogging name. Yesterday i wanted to test the system l and i was able to vote twice with the same blooging name and ip address. Was that an aberration?

48. serious David people are disilluision and based on the hardships they are having they will opined on what is effecting them.However the opposition has not revealed what they plans are in making a difference and that will be the defining moment in when the people would decide who they want to govern . Right Now we are only seeing half of a picture the otherhalf have is still to be shown. So rightfully so the people speak of what they see! !

49. ac: like you want to let the cat out the bag now….like they sent you with a Trojan horse….how many times you vote on BU polls ?