Submitted by Porridgeboy
Rawle Eastmond MP

I had no intention of voicing my opinion on the ongoing saga between the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) incumbent in St. James North  and the branch of that constituency. First let me say I do not see why this internal matter has been placed in the public domain at this time. Secondly,  I can’t understand why Mr Rawle Eastmond would seek a meeting with Mr. Owen Arthur, Opposition Leader and Political Leader of the BLP on a matter that is clearly set out in the constitution of the party. Thirdly, it boggles  my mind  why Miss Mia Mottley would  seek a private meeting  with Mr Arthur as stated  in the Nation newspaper, page 30, January 2012 to discuss the Rawle Eastmond issue  via text to Mr Arthur.  This is after being informed one week earlier that nether he [Arthur] or she [Mottley] can do any thing at this time or at no time on this issue because the party  process must be allow to work . What is so hard in that to understand?

Miss Mottley spoke of her attempt to heal the party but she seeks a meeting with the Political Leader via text message and the newspaper to discuss matters in private. What rubbish! I find this to be intolerable and an insult to the post of the Opposition Leader’s Office, when she knows very well that this matter or any other matters could be raised in the right forum if requested. Who is she trying to convince? Is it herself? What is the real agenda? Is it to make it seem that there are problems in the party when there’s none especially at this time and in a pre election period?  Taking this non issue and using it to her advantage!

Mr Eastmond, Miss Mottley and Miss Cynthia Forde – who has made it clear that she is backing Mr. Eastmond – have all served at one time or the other on the Executive of the Party and has held high positions in that respect, they obviously know the Constitution.  I thought that this lesson was that no man or woman is bigger than the party. And so it seems that it will have to be taught all over again.  Let me state that this gentleman and these two ladies have always impressed me. I have always had the utmost respect for their views and therefore I trusted them at all times because I have been around the politics of Barbados. This is just to show how I have rated them and I am sure that I can speak for many other Barbadians that share the same view. They have demonstrated their authority not only in Cabinet but also in Opposition, that is why I have found  it so hard to accept the position  that Mr. Eastmond has placed himself in after such a distinguished twenty years of service, not only to this country but to his constituency. Why add a blemish by brawling with his branch over a non issue? Then I ask myself where is the pride?

The Opposition Leader Owen Arthur has made it clear what the constitution states what is required to be a candidate. There should be a nomination every time there is a new election. This is the constitution of the party and he has ruled on it, case closed. The leader has gone on record as saying that Mr. Eastmond on several occasions had indicated he was on longer interested in being a candidate for the area. (Nation News Paper 31 January 2012 page 4). Also an executive member of the branch, Ms. Barbara Butler in the Nation News paper 30th January 2012 page 3 stated that they were not informed (Executive) that Mr. Eastmond was well enough to run in the upcoming elections therefore persons express interest in seeking  nomination and the branch machinery was put in motion. It now seems that  Mr Eastmond has a new surge of  energy  and  is interested once again in being the nominee for the party  forgetting that others have entered the fray. I want to urge him to forget the padded list that he is so much engulf with and is using as an excuse not to face his opponents in the nomination run off. Rawle you break it now fix it.

After serving a constituency for twenty years I find it hard for you not to have a base where that is base now it’s needed? You have stated that the branch is made up of about seven hundred members therefore my friend if you at this stage can’t ferry your supporters to the nomination on the evening in order to defeat your opponents like so many others have done, then it is probably time for you to hold your head up high knowing that you have served with continuants and your country with great distinction and be proud of yourself and leave as your predecessor did when he left.

IT IS ABOUT TIME YOU STOP THIS PIOUS BOLONEY.

135 responses to “Shame On You Rawle!”

1. OK David. enough of this BLPRAWLE.

Let us get into tabloid mode before we get remanded for shootin from de hip wid nuff rouns uh ammanition.

2. @Porridgeboy
    Your post is precise and well written.It could not have been precise’ better.
    Mia must be exposed for what she is a trouble maker.Rawle is not well and so excused.There will have to be some reprimand, for this is serious business and should not be tolerated in the party.

3. @OOB: “There will have to be some reprimand, for this is serious business and should not be tolerated in the party.

@All… Please do note that an election in Barbados is required within less than 12 months.

Sad that the noise is louder than the signal….

4. @Hants

It is incredible that Arthur would be caught with 102 rounds.

It has been a bad week for Arthur.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/richard-arthur-on-remand

5. Hear ye, Hear ye, The BLP circus is in town. Starring Mia, Owen, Rawle and just arrived and former BLP candidate Richard Arthur, who was REMANDED on the indictable charge of having 102 rounds of ammunition, in a Holetown court today.
    Watch out for opening dates.

6. @ Old onion bags

are you & Christopher Halsall posting bail???

7. @Cornwell…

Was not the late (and great) David Thompson CLICO’s lawyer?

8. @ Christopher Halsall

What the h*ll has that got to do with 102 rounds of ammunition??

9. @Cornwell

What Chris is suggesting albeit in his inimitable way is that there is enough bullshit to go around.

10. @ David

We will see who has the most to shovel

11. @ Cornwell
    When yard bird can’t find nothing (no issues) to pick up they does poop on themselves.You are the exception …..your does regurgitate to the mouth.

12. @ old onion bags

I understand how you and people of your ilk feel tonight…. LMAO… so your insults don’t bother me

13. David maybe he has a Gun Dealers Licence. lol.

14. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

On the last thread, someone accused me of talking nonsense. It may sound like nonsense but can anyone point out where I was wrong in my analysis.

St. James North Branch of the BLP had about 40 members. When Rawle indicated that he would have been retiring certain operatives set about signing up members in order to have an advantage in the nomination. They went overboard and signed up people without their consent. Some of whom happened to be members of the DLP. At first, DLP members who were joined up started to complain and insisted that their names were removed from the BLP ‘s membership.

As related to me by a senior DLP member, the DLP members decided not to continue removing their names from the BLP rolls but to remain and ensure the Nomination of the weaker BLP candidate thus ensuring that Harry Husbands would prevail. I am told that the DLP members who are now new Bees intend to vote for Douglas Skeete which would give Harry a fighting chance that he would not have against Rawle.

15. @ Cornwell
    Why don’t you retire to the you unadulterated epithet.One should not venture where one is inept.Not our fault you can’t play these bouncer.Shoo shoo…lol

16. A lot has changed in 30 years.

There was a time when the brother of a former PM would not be arrested for this kind of offense.

17. What will they do next ? Avatar
    What will they do next ?

First it was The $ 2 Mil Missing from Sagicor and the charge against the BLP Candidate Roger Smith and now this one Richard Arthur the brother of Owen Arthur on ammunition charges, what a team spending time at Dodds together, added to that Rawle and his relationship with his client that was a most unhealthy relationship between client / lawyer.

Richard Arthur on remand
    printshare1 comment Thu, February 02, 2012 – 5:05 PM
    Richard Seymour Arthur, of Maynards, St Peter, was remanded to prison after appearing on an ammunitions charge at the Holetown Magistrates’ Court today.

The former Barbados Labour Party candidate was read the indictable charge of having 102 rounds of ammunition in his possession on January 31, without permission, contrary to the Firearms Act.

Arthur, 50, was not required to plead to the indictable charge, and was remanded to Her Majesty’s Prison at Dodds, by Magistrate Barbara Cooke-Alleyne.

He is scheduled to return to the same court on February 27.

18. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting Hants at 7:48 “A lot has changed in 30 years. There was a time when the brother of a former PM would not be arrested for this kind of offense.”

Indeed.

I asked the meaning of impunity on the “Registrar and Registry thread.

Maybe in 21 century Barbados impunity will be killed and buried. The BIG DAWGS to quote ole onion are in thier final decade(s)

Impunity should have been killed hundreds of years ago

19. @ Random
    Why don’t you stop calling …Onion name..please

20. Random Thoughts Avatar

I used to say that what the West Indes team needed most of all was a really good psychologist to be a part of the team and to remain with them everyday.

They did not get the psychological support so desperately needed and we know the result.

It has just this minute occured to me that what both the BLP and the DLP need most of all is a really, really, really good psychiatrist.

If the DLP and the BLP don’t get the help they both need we will all be in trouble.

21. Random Thoughts Avatar

Man I like I like you ole onion.

Can’t help myself ole onion.

22. Our politics which was the envy of many in the region and beyond has been transformed to us being the laughing stock of all and sundry.

23. @Caswell
    You may have it right .Then there is no padding of the list because a Dem of one election can become a Bee in the next. People can so easily join from either side. Just to say a Bee in one election can become a Dee in this election and favour Fruendel over Owen now, Caswell, so there is no padding because all the people live in St. James North. Therefore Rawle point is null and void. You note that the people did not join to unseat Rawle they join to give the weaker candidate Douglas an advantage against Edmund so this list has nothing to do with Rawle. He has been caught in the cross bow because he wants to get back in. But Rawle should have no problem against Edmund or Douglas because he has seen these same people for the past twenty one years and they have voted for him.in five consecutive elections. He should have no
    problems , he is no new omer, Think on these things

24. @random thoughts
    Word of advice take yuh eyes off my oinion.!

25. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting David the blogger “What Chris is suggesting albeit in his inimitable way is that there is enough bullshit to go around.”

ROFLMFAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ya sweet David, ya sweet.

Don’t feel na way ole onions.

26. @David

It has something to do with the calibre of politicisns all 30 interested in wealth accumulation for as little sweat as possible, in addition to the power it give them to have disciples as if they voted for the masses, instead of the masses voting for them.

I have never been so pissed off with politics, and a number of people are just fed. I have a hunch if it continues like this, we would have the lowest turnout in our voting histoy.

27. the above from blogger2012

28. @RT et al…

Exactly when is the latest date the next election can be held?

As a function of that, when is the latest date it can be called?

Hmmmm….

29. @ ac
    Where you been gf? Looking for you the whole day..

30. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

True to form

Sometimes the things that I write might seem incredible but I can assure you that they are well thought out and true to the best of my knowledge and belief. Article 14 of the BLP Constitution forbids persons who are members of other political parties from becoming members of the BLP. I know of at least one member of the DLP St. James North Branch Executive who was signed up as a member of the BLP without their consent.

Before I completely removed myself from party politics, I served the BLP in almost every capacity except MP. I know the party well. What we are seeing now is not the party of Grantley Adams as people like call the BLP. That party is dead. Now we have a collection of a few genuine people and lots of self-serving individuals who think that the party was organized for their personal benefit. The best thing that can happen for the BLP is the removal of both Arthur and Mottley. I do not believe that either of them has the interest of this country at heart. Mottley thinks that somehow she is royalty and destined to rule this country at all cost even if it means destroying the BLP to achieve her goal. Arthur on the other hand is a mere shadow of his former self but is in politics to do two things: save the country from Mottley since he knows her better than anyone else; and he is also trying to position Mascoll to become Prime Minister. He feels that he lost Mascoll the chance to become PM and he is desperately trying to make a silk purse out of the wrong material.

Arthur must accept that Mascoll has completely discredited himself in the eyes of the electorate: the country does not trust or even like him, not withstanding that he is a bright economist. He is a washed up politician.

31. @Onion

Been locking horns somewhere around here on another thread. but i.ve been watching you do yuh ting!

32. DO you believe that things in a political party will remain static over many years???
    HOW many people had ,for instance , university degrees or secondary school education when Sir Grantley ‘made’ the BLP ???
    DONT you see that it is a different day ???
    HOW many women challenged for leadership or even thought about it??
    DONT you know that My Grandmother is reading your submission and asking me to ask you if you know how Gertrude Eastmond suffered under Barrow ???
    SHE want to know if Miar Mortley (her pronunciation) think that she is some gully boar or gorrilliphant ???
    DONT you know that Granny does not find this nonsense funny at all ?

JUST ASKING
    on behalf of
    JUST OBSERVING (GRANNY)

33. ISNT it up to 90 days after the due date that an elections can be called???

WOULD that make it 3 months after January’s due date ??
    WUNNAH think Froon gwine wait till after Crop Over ??
    DONT you know according to what Granny -(JUST OBSERVING) that an elections was called at the begining of Crop Over sometime ago ????–
    DONT you know that elections in Barbados will Friday May 11, 2012–(6-5 -11-2012) ???
    DONT you know the significance of these numbers ???
    SHOULD I say “al ashafram” to those who understand these things ????

34. Fractured BLP Party Avatar
    Fractured BLP Party

Hello David of BU, why was Owen Arthur remanded to HMP Dodds ?

Besides Sunday’s upcoming St. James North branch meeting (Voter Padding )…did Owen steal anything else ?

Good gosh !

35. Caswell;

At last this Rawle Eastmond / St James North situation makes sense, thanks to you. Your take on the Owen / Mia situation also makes perfect sense.
    However, I don’t agree with your overall assessment of Freundal Stuart in another blog but he might actually be the best choice of the extremely poor rakey mix of people offering themselves for election in 2012 or 2013. Taking all these elements together, it seems to me that Barbados is likely to be in an unholy mess for the next several years.

Perhaps we may see the beginnings of a viable third party over the next few years that can move the country forward in 2017 or so but it looks like chaos with a totally fractured BLP or an almost totally incompetent DLP running things until then. If only Chris Sinckler had stood his ground.

36. @ Caswell
    ‘Arthur must accept that Mascoll has completely discredited himself in the eyes of the electorate: the country does not trust or even like him, not withstanding that he is a bright economist. He is a washed up politician..”

How you cud treat yuh ole schoolmate ‘Bowman” like dat? Furthermore, what happened that George Payne, who always boasts about Cawmere connections, does not want Cawmere English teacher Pamela Hinkson’s son, Edmund, to get the nomination? Isn’t it strange that the primary school student who was down as a delegate in the Deighton Griffith fiasco now a student at Cawmere? Hold it ! Harry Husbands is an old Cawmerian too !

37. i think on one hand you have Mia trying to destroy the BLP for her personal gain and on the other you have Sinckler doing the same to the DLP.

YES! you have two people in two parties who see their path to power in their parties losing the next election.

so my only unanswered question would be, who will win?

38. The next general elections is a contest between Sinckler and Mia, as to which one can succeed in causing their party to lose. In Sinckler’s case the loser has a chance to become Prime Minister, however, in Mia’s case she is
    a total loser; win or lose the contest with Sinckler.

39. @Hants

There was a time when the brother of a former PM would not be arrested for this kind of offense.
    The operative word is former, but to be fair to the older brother he shouldn’t be held responsible for his brother’s actions.

40. @Scout,And Check-it
    There is none so blind a he who will not see….”THE BLIND-ONES” according to ac.

Two one eyed men……so all they can do is imagine ,,hallucinate..won’t even try to use the other…>>>” The next general elections is a contest between Sinckler and Mia”>>>Freundal Stuart in another blog but he might actually be the best choice>>> bare trite.

FACTS:
    What is known is that the word on the street is “ONE TERM…ONE TERM.” so you all can.do like crappo and put in your pipe and smoke it…

41. One year is a long time in politics Onion Bags.

The soap opera politics which both political parties have been responsible makes it an unwise man to predict any outcome of an election at this stage.

42. @onion

Wait onion ! i hear they changing de locks at the BLP headquarters members saying that when they got there to have a meeting that the locks were change. man it seems like this infighting has gotten even nastier

43. @ Eager 11
    If Stuart don’t cull the `11……they will make use at the next opportunity”

Think of these things.

44. @ ac
    Yeah man Mia and her goons……just a security measure…..a drowning manwoman will clutch at all straws…can she be PM material? We don’t behave like this in our party..behavior unbecoming….proof of a spoilt child.

@David …note I said FACTS:…that we cannot change

45. So many missteps by both parties. The biggest one by Stuart not calling elections after Thompson’s death and getting a mandate to rollout HIS policies. Now the BLP in an election year frittering away the chance presented by the Eager 11 fiasco.

Stay tuned indeed!

46. yeah man but that don’t look good . maybe they might have to call in the PM to barbeque some curly pig tails to keep them straight. Man onion dis thing is getting out of control won’t be long before they carry this booh-ha to the stan pipe . fist to cuff flying and all Wuhloss!

47. @ David
    Did someone not say …Mia has interest is Four Seasons and would like to get it back….this pressure can cause erratic behavior…it looks like a crossing to Paradise
    Mean while I wrote in Stop Blaming article….Why would Prof. Persaud propose to Govt. the use of Off Sheet Balance Financing as “the way for Barbados to go” in financing this project….Read SOX Sabarnes Oxley Act..Enron (2001)..World Corp…Arthur Anderson et al…see for yourselves.
    chk.Pwc … or investigate……ADVISER ?

48. @ ac
    Yeah sometimes kin can embarrass Ya! til ya disown.

49. Onions; You are either the ultimate propagandist or you have a comprehension deficit problem. Why don’t you tag Millertheannunaki and let him take over here for a while until you get your breath back?

50. Hysteria at large Avatar
    Hysteria at large

The Eastmond saga has taken us into the realm of mass hysteria. Two of Mia Mottley’s biggest public critics are George Griffith and Lynette Eastmond . Those two have lost FIVE ELECTIONS between them ; they are questioning Mottley’s lack of discipline . Well ! well ! well ! Present day Barbados politics is taking on new dimensions..Mottley and Eastmond have close to FORTY YEARS of representative politics between them ; against that record, in step Griffith and Lynette Eastmond…….
    You draw the conclusion !!!!