Submitted by Caswell Franklyn
Funeral luke Bjerkham
Flashback to the burial of Luke Bjerkham

I have heard a lot of comments about the Director of Public Prosecutions giving Bjerkhamn a slap on the wrist for killing his son. Some have even called the DPP’s integrity into question. While I understand the sense of outrage that is being demonstrated throughout the country, I am not one of those that would jump on the bandwagon without a clear understanding of what transpired.

Persons who have been critical of the DPP’s actions in this case clearly do not know or do not understand the procedure in Barbados. It would appear that their understanding of the law is being influenced by American television programmes. The first problem for the DPP is that his office does not have an investigative arm. He has to rely on the Police to investigate cases and then they would forward their findings to him so that he can decide whether or not to file a charge. The public does not know what is in the police report, so the DPP could very well be taking some undeserved abuse for a situation over which he had no control. Before I can come down on either side, I would have to be privy to the police report.

This case clearly demonstrates that the evidence in matters like this should be made available to the public after the conclusion of the case, and after the time for the appeals process has expired.

Very few people know the truth of what transpired to cause the death of little Luke Bjerkhamn, and I daresay that I am one of those who find it extremely difficult to believe the version of events on which the DPP relied. But my belief is not evidence that could stand up in a court of law. My belief comes from my experience with weapons. When the Barbados Defence Force was first established I was a weapons instructor. That is why I am able to say that the accepted version of events is virtually impossible. The injuries to Bjerkhamn’s hand and the fatal one to his son’s chest are more consistent with a third party firing at the father, who got injured while taking evasive action to avoid being killed. I could be wrong but my scenario makes more sense than a trained gun dealer cleaning a loaded weapon and then contorting himself in such a way that he could manage to injure himself in the hand.

180 responses to “Did Someone Get Away With Killing Luke Bjerkhamn And Wounding His Father?”

1. @MME

According to Internet reports that DEA agent who shot himself in the leg sued the government for releasing the video which according to him damaged his career. One would think it reasonable for his career to have been adversely affected don’t you think?

2. Wow, what a weekend … I hope I ain’ cuss nobody

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

David | December 27, 2011 at 7:36 AM | @MME

According to Internet reports that DEA agent who shot himself in the leg sued the government for releasing the video which according to him damaged his career. One would think it reasonable for his career to have been adversely affected don’t you think?

Thanks for the above information. It accords with what I have been saying: he shot himself in the LEG, not the hand. The shot in the hand would have been the second shot: the first going into poor Luke.

4. @Caswell

In that case if you watch the vid it seems he racked the gun with the magazine still loaded.

5. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

David, he was careless and over-confident and made a mistake that endangered himself and others. I am not sure what procedures the DEA had in place for these demonstrations, but I would expect that he had a personal responsibility to ensure that the gun was unloaded before wielding it in front of the classroom. It does show how easy it is for experienced well-trained people to occasionally make bad mistakes.

I feel sorry for him and the level of embarrassment it must have caused him and his family, but think how much worse it could have been had he shot one of those children. He should count his blessings, learn from the incident and move on… in a different job.

Caswell, who said he was shot in the hand? That was not the purpose of posting the clip… it was to show how experienced and well trained gun handlers could easily put themselves and others in danger due to lapses in judgment…. the bullet barely missed his hand by the way, watch the video again. The first link I provided along with the video was a US Marshall shooting himself in the hand while cleaning his gun… it is NOT “virtually impossible”… it does NOT require any special contortions… there are SEVERAL examples online… Google is your friend, use it before sticking stubbornly to a nonsensical remark… LOL.

6. White men in Barbados are still pretty powerful (primarily because black men who have the legal authority have no balls) If a white man beats his wife the black authorities will knock, then stand at the gate and wait.

If a white boy is shot, he dun dead already so who cares. He is only a little boy, one of the non-powerful ones.

And if a child has to die,be buried and quickly forgotten so that a rich white man can remain rich and free and powerful so be it.

He was only a li’l boy after all, and therefore not important.

However his mother and grandmother need to come out of their grevious slumber and fight for justice for their child.

But will they????

3 women won the Nobel Peace Prize this year, maybe the time has come for white Bajan women to step from behind thier men ‘s money, and to stand up for justice.

But will they???

7. “If a white man beats his wife the black authorities will knock, then stand at the gate and wait”

I t’ink it did de other way around … Poor Bizzy did tekkin’ some good lashes … from a Black chick!

8. Mock Man

Before you choose to abuse me, it would have been good to check the meaning of the word, “virtually”

9. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Caswell,

Check the meaning of the word “virtually”?… LOL… but look at my crosses doh… you have spent way too much time around lawyers…. Ieave out de pedantic courtroom semantics do…

Let me break it down as simply as I can for you. You have dismissed the official account of what happened on the premise that it is “virtually impossible” to shoot oneself in the hand while cleaning a gun since some special contortion would be required. That is complete and utter rubbish… and intellectually dishonest from a weapons trainer. You only need to be careless…. like these folks…. (first few Google search results by the way)…

December 2011… “Montcalm County man shoots himself in hand while cleaning gun” – http://www.mlive.com/news/grand-rapids/index.ssf/2011/12/montcalm_county_man_shoots_him.html

December 2011… “Accidental shooting investigated in Pocono Lake… Monroe County man shot in the hand last Friday accidentally shot himself while disassembling the pistol” – http://articles.mcall.com/2011-12-07/news/mc-poconos-accidental-shooting-20111207_1_accidental-shooting-gunshot-wound-police-investigation

December 2011… “Danbury father and son injured in accidental shooting while cleaning handgun”… (son shot in hand, father in back) – http://www.newstimes.com/news/article/Danbury-father-and-son-injured-in-accidental-943804.php

November 2011… “Lexington man shoots himself in hand while cleaning gun” – http://www.kentucky.com/2011/11/04/1946107/lexington-man-shoots-himself-in.html#storylink=cpy

April 2011… “Off-duty cop shoots himself in the hand (while cleaning gun)” – http://www.silive.com/news/index.ssf/2011/04/off-duty_cop_shoots_himself_in.html

January 2011… “Man shoots himself in hand while cleaning gun” – http://www.newsherald.com/news/hand-89843-shoots-callaway.html

December 2010… “Hernando man shoots himself (in hand) while cleaning gun” – http://springhill.wtsp.com/content/hernando-man-shoots-himself-while-cleaning-gun

May 2010… “Spring Hill man accidentally shoots himself in hand, friend in foot while cleaning gun” – http://www.wtsp.com/news/local/story.aspx?storyid=132872

February 2009… “Williamsport police officer shot in hand while cleaning gun” – http://dailyitem.com/0100_news/x691312538/Williamsport-police-officer-shot-in-hand-while-cleaning-gun/print

10. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“Before you choose to abuse me”

Wait Caswell… you consider my responses to your ‘theory’ abuse? LOL… man I liked the first three paragraphs of your post… just giving you some constructive feedback on the last paragraph.

11. It seems from comments recently posted MME’s dogged logic has not been compromised because of his BU sabbatical.

12. Mock Man

Don’t believe all those stories of people cleaning guns and being injured in the hand. In most cases, they might very well be cover stories. The DEA agent that shot himself in the leg was not cleaning: he was disassembling the weapon. Don’t you think that a gun dealer would know the difference between cleaning and disassembling a weapon. Novices attempt to clean weapons without disassembling and that is where an accident might occur. However, in the subject case, both hands are engaged away from the nozzle when stripping a glock. He would have to be shot in his third hand. If no one else were present then I am left to conclude that the secong shot went through the hand.

13. I had a teacher who told me once that accidents do not “just” happen, they are caused.

No matter how many accidental discharges we post, it still does not change the fact that these people were careless in their handling of the firearms, especially those involving a Glock (the safest handgun in the world today).

Without incriminating myself….lol. had these people followed the rules for cleaning these weapons, chances are there would not be any injuries.

Caswell’s comments ring true when you look at it from the point of view of the training rules. Any person following the rules rigidly (and you should always) would never end up with an injury or injuring anyone but people get careless over time.

http://www.f-r-i.com/glock/FAQ/FAQ-cleanpics.htm

If this procedure is followed always, step by step, there would not be any ADs and certainly no hand injuries or others being shot.

The Bjerkhamn incident leaves a lot of questions unanswered, moreso as he is supposed to be a professional gun dealer/ handler.
    My question is why clean a gun in the presence of the son?

14. @Techie

We all agree that with all the rules in the world people get careless and accidents result.

The point which Caswell is defending is that in the cleaning of a glock it means disassembly. There is the step of pulling the trigger which is necessary in this process. Any one who has pulled the long and weighty trigger of a glock knows it is a very deliberate act.

More question than answer!

15. @ Caswell
    Frankie, the bushman would humbly advise you to leave MME alone. You may get hurt…..
    The process of ‘cleaning’ a glock begins with making it safe, releasing the mechanism, and dissassembly. You are suggesting that ‘cleaning’ is a more limited exercise but you are incorrect. It is not worth tackling MME on this after he had had a few drinks…

@ Tech
    If this procedure is followed step by step….
    …and if shit had wings….

16. @ Tech
    If this procedure is followed step by step….
    …and if shit had wings….

Sorry BT…..that one aint gine fly here.

17. It is the duty of the DPP to prosecute, it is the duty of Juries to determine guilt, Magistrates or a Judge to decide on sentence taking account of the “Tariff” that relates to the specific charge.

The Magistrate as I understand it, was annoyed with the DPP because the charge brought tied her hands as to what sentence she could impose; that does not mean she would have given a custodial sentence….perhaps not.

But in this case it appears the DPP by bringing that specific charge to some degree dictated the outcome. The Magistrate felt she was rubber-stamping on a serious offence, one on which many questions would be asked later.
    ————————————————
    Accidents are just that “accidents” I do have some experience of using and cleaning guns, but in the military people are killed because they have acted contrary to good training, as can happen in civilian life.

I think Caswell Franklyn has brought an interesting point for debate but something more “substantive” would have to be offered to the table, before I could personally take the view he has taken.

18. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“No matter how many accidental discharges we post, it still does not change the fact that these people were careless in their handling of the firearms”

Techy… the purpose of the links was not to “change the fact” but to confirm it… carelessness is a very plausible explanation for this incident… we are on the same page.

“My question is why clean a gun in the presence of the son?”

Asked and answered… “but people get careless over time”.

Caswell…. I admire your stubbornness… you trying to dethrone Bush Tea or wuh? LOL

19. The point which Caswell is defending is that in the cleaning of a glock it means disassembly. There is the step of pulling the trigger which is necessary in this process. Any one who has pulled the long and weighty trigger of a glock knows it is a very deliberate act.

Agree David, that is why you point it away from yourself and anyone and repeat the procedure (posted by me) twice. There are 3 safety features that engage and disengage when firing the Glock.
    So the clearing of the round in the chamber should be complete IF the rules are followed.
    Any gun dealer knows (OR SHOULD) to check this first.

More questions than answers indeed !!

20. We are assuming that because a person is a gun dealer or even an expert in the handling of one or more types of weapons that he/she should be competent handling other weapons. One of the reasons why there are fewer accidents in military and paramilitary organisations is that individuals must become quite conversant with each type of weapon assigned to them at any time.They must be qualified via Weapons Drill, ie stripping ,loading ,unloading, making safe, dealing with jams ,as well as on the live firing ranges.
    Even Armourers by trade ,have to undergo similar training on each individual weapon type issued to a unit.
    Guns are not a hazard, the persons behind them could be.

21. Yardbroom

I could see that you ain’ had a t’ing tah drink this season .. Wah happen, recession?

22. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“The Magistrate felt she was rubber-stamping on a serious offence, one on which many questions would be asked later.”

Yardbroom… this was what the Magistrate is reported to have said at sentencing:

“The loss of a child’s life in the manner herein accepted by all parties is serious enough to merit a custodial sentence, even if other relevant considerations lead the court to exercise its discretion not to order such,”

This comment and her judgement (not applying the maximum custodial sentence allowed under the law) appear to contradict your assessment of her. She bemoaned the light penalties prescribed by the law but gave an even lighter sentence… what are your views on this?

23. To BAFBFP:
    I left you to sarge. And if you continue to interfere wid him, I am sure given what he has posted that he shall do justice to your imbibing of “gorilla piss”. I makes you feel like a lion nuh?

24. We need to put the DPP under the microscope. Remember at the height of this controversy, the then PM, David Thompson said that he had asked the DPP to forward all the info on this case to him? Dont forget DT’s role in this?

The DPP is not as clean as he is supposed to be. How many times does the DPP prosecute a case in court? He hobnobs with the rich and famous and so you have to question his judgements.

Remember some years ago, some British men came down here and kidnapped another British citizen. They were arrested and jailed. Under pressure from the Brits stationed here with whom he hobnobs, the men were given bail. They immediately caught a flight and never came back to Bim to answer the charges. Case dead!

Remember too there was a British actor who was charged with rape of a young girl down at Almond Bay some years ago? Well he took it upon himself to prosecute this case and in legal circles it was alleged it was deliberate so that the actor would get off. Present a weak case. Well the young UK attorney who represented the actor made mincemeat of him so much so that fellow lawyers cried shame on him that he could let a young lawyer to make him look so bad. Needless to say, the actor got off.

He has a lot to answer for. The magistrate said that much.

25. These technical people here have me really confused. Even if the father was “cleaning” the gun in front of his son, and he pulled the trigger to make safe the gun which he forgot was loaded. How come the gun was pointed at the son? How did he get his hand around so fast to “attempt” to block the bullet? Where are the reports on the powder burns to see how far the gun was from the hand? And on the little boy? Where was the report on tests to see how many times the weapon was fired? Does forensics in the Police work any more, or was there enough time to destroy evidence which you technical people so enjoy defending. The “story” about the boy’s death has no merit, and I must say, technically.

26. gorilla piss Lemuel, LOL, cah dear man I feel bad now, seriously .. Don’ lef mah tah Sarge, these Canadians to straight laced …

27. To BAFBFP:
    Maybe someone needs to beg Sarge for you; that is until you put back on your fighting gear for next year. But the “gorilla piss” does work man; makes you feel like a lion or lion hearted.

28. Hi, Micro Mock Engineer
    I hope you are continuing to enjoy the festive celebrations.
    ———————
    To your question: Quote the Magistrate “The loss of a child’s life in the manner herein accepted by all parties is serious enough to merit a custodial sentence, even if other relevant considerations lead the court to exercise its discretion not to order such.”

If the above leads you to believe, that I have contradicted the point I made in my submission, then surely she would have done the same in her judgment in view of her ( not applying the maximum custodial sentence allowed under the Law”.

The caveat being that Magistrates are loath to give the maximum sentence unless in their judgment the offence committed is the “most serious” taking all factors into consideration for that “specific charge”….which she clearly did not think it was.
    ———————–
    Hi BAFBFP
    I had no desire to have an empty glass this year in convivial company so I took a “little one”; then I had no idea why I was found on the floor, da fa lick yuh!!! he, he, ho ho.

29. I wonder how we would treat the case if a 19 year old mother from Bank Hall, left a pot of boiling soup and her 18 month old toddler in the kitchen, while she stepped outside to put out the garbage, or to take bills form the postman, and the toddler pulled the pot of soup down on himself and suffered 3rd degree burns to 80% of his body and died 1 week later.

Would we charge the mother with anything?

Would we convict her?

Would we fine her?

Would be imprison her?

Would we be harshly critical of her?

Would we say that she ought REASONABLY to have know that a pot of boiling soup and a toddler shold NEVER be left together in the same room, even for 30 seconds.

Under our gun dealer rules is there a rule which says that guns ougt NEVER to be handled in the presence of children. Aside form all the technicalities, if there is not such a rule, will be create such a rule? Will we enforce it? Will this man be permitted to continue as a gun dealer?

And even more important since he is a young man will be be permitted to have custody and unsupervised access to young children?

What does the Child Care Board have to say about this case?

30. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Thanks Yardbroom… the Magistrate’s comments and subsequent sentence did seem contradictory to me, but your caveat was helpful. Still, I find it hard to believe that the Magistrate would not be sufficiently justified in issuing a custodial sentence (doesn’t have to be the maximum allowed) for the lesser “willfully exposed a minor” charge, particularly if she believed that the evidence presented to her supported a manslaughter charge. Wouldn’t this suggest that she did not believe his offense warranted a custodial sentence?

By way of example, what in your opinion would constitute the “most serious” offense one could commit under the “willfully exposed a minor” charge?

31. Hi Micro Mock Engineer,
    I have an opinion as to what has transpired in the Court, it is only an “opinion” but it would be unwise of me and certainly not prudent to give that view, even under the title of Yardbroom on a public forum….sorry.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ lemuel | December 27, 2011 at 1:11 PM |
    “Even if the father was “cleaning” the gun in front of his son, and he pulled the trigger to make safe the gun which he forgot was loaded. How come the gun was pointed at the son?”

Hi Ironside, do you understand what you have unravelled? Look at the family connections and business dealings and you would appreciate the “real housing projects determining events” behind the decision-making scene. My hands tied, tied, tied! Help me please jada god of money or my next election funding request might be found somewhere in coverley!

33. To Miller:
    I love walking, but Columbo would have been much appreciated. And you Miller are not locking me up with this god of money talk. Did you hear that Stuart’s back is so against the wall that he will not be touching any of the eleven who wanted to keep their meeting about him.

34. To Miller:
    Do know that the little boy was in “rigor mortis” (stiffness of death) when the father “rushed” him to Sandy Crest? Do you know that rigor mortis takes three to four hours after death to manifest itself; it reaches maximum stiffness in 12 hours, and leaves the body gradually in 48 hours? Do you know that the lawyer was called first, and then the boy was taken to Sandy Crest? Which father or mother having shot their son would leave him without medical attention, until the lawyer got the right stupid “story” that many here are defending? Who was the doctor who pronounced the boy dead before he was taken to Sandy Crest?

35. Maybe I am getting befuddled in my old age. My reading of the Magistrate’s comments were interpreted to mean that she COULD NOT render a custodial sentence for the CHARGE LAID, even though the death of a child under those circumstances warranted one. I did NOT understand her to say that she was not giving the maixmum for that charge, but that her hands were tied. I understood her to be criticising the DPP for the laying of what could be called a “non-charge”.

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I can’t believe that Caswell Franklyn attached his name to this ridiculous story. I would be ashamed to let anyone know that it was me who wrote such hogwash.

No wonder his “Union” has no more than one member, Caswell.

The Royal Barbados Police Force did a thorough investigation of this matter. In their professional opinion which I support completely, it was an accident. The DPP pressed the charges which he did based on the professional investigation of the very competent Royal Barbados Police Force.

Now we have a man who claims he is a “weapons expert” from his vantage of his Varandah sipping a Pina Colado knowing full well that they was an assassin.

Is it just me or is this the most poppycock written for the year 2011? And to make matter even more comical a bunch of idiots on this blog believing it. I don’t know which is worst, Caswell’s make belief story or the jokers on this following him?

37. Why don’t you include the magistrate who was harsh in her critique of the DPP.

38. Random Thoughts

The Child Care Board is fah Black people hear ..

lemuel

How do know that the little boy was in “rigor mortis” (stiffness of death) when the father “rushed” him to Sandy Crest? Was this reported somewhere?

“the professional investigation of the very competent Royal Barbados Police Force.” I ain’ gun tell you that you may have had too much to drink, but that comment is “the most poppycock written for the year 2011”. And to think that a comical idiot on this blog believes it …

39. There are a number of untouchables in this country that can get away with anything, whichever government is in place. The situation with the bejerkhams becomes more untouchable now because of the recession and Bjorn is one of the fairy godfathers right now. I remember a certain person wanted a favor granted during Sandies time and the government dept concerned refused, the man trheatened serious action and Sandie stepped in a granted the favor just because this guy was the fairy godfather who gave Sandie the money for the sugar workers. When it gets to the stage where our politicians can be bought, we the average citizen worth nothing.Just don’t cross any of these persons path or you too will become a statistic

40. As far as I know, Carson Cadogan is a pseudonym adopted by a well known DLP operative to promote and defend his party. I did not know that this post had anything party political to merit such a scathing attack from Carson. It now leaves me to wonder if Miller’s comment at 7:16 p.m. struck a political nerve.

41. What thorough investigation, what. The Police hands were tied up. The dead king saw to that and the DPP carried out his instructions, dont forget this was the son of theone of the DLP’s major money donors. Remember when this man was in Bayview Hospital, they complained that the Police was guarding him, next thing, the Police were removed and the man slipped out of Barbados, making the COP look like a fool.

DLP politics played a major part in this case.

By the way “Is’nt Freundel aint saying nothing?” What about the plotters’ heads that had to be chopped off?????

42. So BAFBFP who looks out for white Bajan children when they are hurt of killed by thier own parents, grandparents?

And if Barbados’s authorities refuses to llok out for these children, isn’t Barbados discriminating against a minority group?

And wouldn;t that minority group, this is white Bajan children be within their rights to compalint to authorities outside of Barbados?

Perhaps this boy’s mother or grandmother should complain.

43. do you care to reveal the favour mr scout or is it a secret on which you leave me only to speculate. your comment might be factual but to make such a bold comment and leave it hanging is an assault on mr sandiford’s character.

44. pretty blue eyes seems to have gone silent about her comment questioning the veracity of the COP statement regarding who aqnd who was present at the autopsy of curtis callender.

45. The problems in the Justice System have been mentioned by many contributors. It is also true that class and race do play “significant” roles in decisions taken across the spectrum in Barbados. (one can agree with all of the above).

However, that does not mean in a specific case of major importance, you can accuse someone of having committed perjury: Criminal Law, the deliberate giving of false evidence under oath. Unless you have “substantial” and I mean substantial grounds for so doing, which goes beyond having an opinion.

46. Let us give the BU family who were logged off over the holidays a chance to catch up today 🙂

47. balance
    A certain non-national was building a house or better, renovating a house in St Joseph and it was alleged he wanted to build a guardwall way higher than TP regulations, the plan was refused. On his last meeting with TP he left the island and instructed the contractor to inform the P.M if permission was not granted on him return some drastic action would occur. On his arrival into the country, with two big excavators waiting for action and one phone call to the P.M the O.K was given for him to build his tall wall. This is want happens when a fairy godfather is offering sweets, the old people always said ” what sweeten goat mout, bun he in de bam bam”.2012 would offer a lot of sweets and pepper as the general elections draw near, none of the fairy godfathers are going to give unless they can receive benefits in return, even at the expense of the taxpaying public/voters.

48. To BAFBFP:
    I that I have reported is out there in the informal network. The family may be able to buy ministers and police but they can not buy honest people. All that I have reported have been verified by people who know. Carson Codagan’s problem is that if that father had been imprisoned his favorite party would have no sugar daddy for the coming big event in 2012. There are some families in Barbados who believe they are above the law and this case demonstrates that fact quite clearly.

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ The Scout | December 28, 2011 at 8:36 AM |
    “2012 would offer a lot of sweets and pepper as the general elections draw near, none of the fairy godfathers are going to give unless they can receive benefits in return, even at the expense of the taxpaying public/voters.”

Especially now the clico cash cow is dead (except for the “professional legal & accounting undertakers”). You now understand the big-foot move to push aside FS who appears a bit to “clean and honest” for the wheeling and dealing associated with electioneering funding. Contributions Corrupting
    Campaigning (CCC) will be the motto of the whichever damned lying party.

PS: you could at least give us the year in which the “higher than regulated” guard wall was erected or was intended to be erected.