Submitted by Caswell Franklyn
Funeral luke Bjerkham
Flashback to the burial of Luke Bjerkham

I have heard a lot of comments about the Director of Public Prosecutions giving Bjerkhamn a slap on the wrist for killing his son. Some have even called the DPP’s integrity into question. While I understand the sense of outrage that is being demonstrated throughout the country, I am not one of those that would jump on the bandwagon without a clear understanding of what transpired.

Persons who have been critical of the DPP’s actions in this case clearly do not know or do not understand the procedure in Barbados. It would appear that their understanding of the law is being influenced by American television programmes. The first problem for the DPP is that his office does not have an investigative arm. He has to rely on the Police to investigate cases and then they would forward their findings to him so that he can decide whether or not to file a charge. The public does not know what is in the police report, so the DPP could very well be taking some undeserved abuse for a situation over which he had no control. Before I can come down on either side, I would have to be privy to the police report.

This case clearly demonstrates that the evidence in matters like this should be made available to the public after the conclusion of the case, and after the time for the appeals process has expired.

Very few people know the truth of what transpired to cause the death of little Luke Bjerkhamn, and I daresay that I am one of those who find it extremely difficult to believe the version of events on which the DPP relied. But my belief is not evidence that could stand up in a court of law. My belief comes from my experience with weapons. When the Barbados Defence Force was first established I was a weapons instructor. That is why I am able to say that the accepted version of events is virtually impossible. The injuries to Bjerkhamn’s hand and the fatal one to his son’s chest are more consistent with a third party firing at the father, who got injured while taking evasive action to avoid being killed. I could be wrong but my scenario makes more sense than a trained gun dealer cleaning a loaded weapon and then contorting himself in such a way that he could manage to injure himself in the hand.

180 responses to “Did Someone Get Away With Killing Luke Bjerkhamn And Wounding His Father?”

1. @islandgal246 wrote “If it were my child I would mek sure dem hang!”

even if it was yuh husban? Man you real cruel doh.

2. Is it the norm to clean a loaded gun? Avatar
    Is it the norm to clean a loaded gun?

3. Although the magazine may have been removed there is always the one which remains in the breech and which any novice gun handler is aware.

4. Is it the norm to clean a loaded gun? Avatar

If not, was there gross negligence and the basis for a lawsuit?

5. Is it possible/easy to remove that one before cleaning? Avatar
    Is it possible/easy to remove that one before cleaning?

David | December 26, 2011 at 4:33 PM | Although the magazine may have been removed there is always the one which remains in the breech and which any novice gun handler is aware.

Is it possible/easy to remove that one before cleaning?

6. @Is it possible/easy to remove that one before cleaning?

It is as easy as 123 but the trick is to remember which should not be a problem for an experienced gun handler.

The question is why would he cover the wrong end of the gun with his hand.

7. My question is similar. WHY WAS HIS HAND THERE?

8. Could be that the third party is close to the family or a member also…..

9. now my three sense worth to give any plausibilty to this contrive theory . would be the child would have to be the intended victim ,Now what would be the motive ?insurance, then the question would be answered as to why the father kept his mouth shut . but then again how did the father got shot in the hand ? maybe at a last minute attempt trying to save the child or cold feet . but how did the third party get the gun.? that answer is simple, These are the stories hollywood movies are made of.

@Caswell when presenting a theory it is always a more believable story should have Motive ! reason! and Cause! Your theory lacks all ! and it only presents controversy

10. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Here is another experienced gun handler who shot himself in the hand (with a glock) this June…

http://www.lehighvalleylive.com/easton/index.ssf/2011/06/johns_gun_tackle_shop_owner_sh.html

… and earlier this month another gun dealer accidentally shooting someone else while unloading a gun (you guessed it… a glock)…

http://www.mysanantonio.com/news/local_news/article/Accidental-shot-wounds-man-next-door-2352651.php

Two examples in one year, both gun dealers, both glocks… come on David, this ‘experienced gun handler’ argument not holding water.

11. Many accidents are quirks of fate which are difficult to recreate in real time, the argument of the DPP is that the accused has been punished enough because he caused the death of his son. I have been struggling to understand that line of thought, what if he had caused the death of someone else? Would the charge be the same or would the charges be elevated if he didn’t “suffer” the same emotional torment?

I don’t buy the suggestion of a third party being involved, who is the target? If we assume that the target is the father why would they not finish the job? Why leave a witness who would spill the beans?

Lastly, would we be having this discussion if Bjerkhamm Sr. drank a bottle of rum and took his son on a joy ride which ended on the wrong side of a wall or Telephone pole?

I don’t think so, it would be an “accident”

12. Okay

We have sufficient evidence to request a recall these of these glocks. (Mind you, fifteen years ago it seen like the in thing for young people to kill themseoves with Gromoxone and I wanted a recall then too)

13. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Micro Mock Engineer

Neither of the two stories that you posted has even suggested that these persons were cleaning the weapons when they discharged. So what point are you making?

AC

I am not seeking to convict anyone. I am merely suggesting that it is virtually impossible for the accident to have happened the way that it was reported.

14. @MME

In the case of the 81 year old we have a gun dealer who has a history of mishandling guns and a sordid past. The other one you are correct accidents do happen.

In the case of Bjerkhamn and we know accidents happen but it does not preclude the need to ask questions if there is a stench.

The day we stop being curious is the day we are condemned to be sheeple.

Caswell does not have the lay out the case chapter and verse, he simple has to provoke discussion and let us see where it leads.

15. look caswell i never suggest that you were trying to convict any body . however you duid prsent a story suggesting a third party who might have been the murderer?

16. David

Time to change the name of your site to Hypothesis Underground … hic

17. @BAFBFP

People express opinions all the time including you.

BU will continue to encourage others to ask questions even if the answers are not always apparent.

18. @ David
    Maybe it is not just BAFBFP…
    Seems like many of the BU posse are currently BUI
    …Blogging Under the Influence.

I thought that MME was finished with the rum and coconut water …maybevitbis the black cake…and AC like she spiking the sorrel…

19. PRETTY BLUE EYES Avatar

I know nothing of guns far less how to clean one safely, however I am a loving parent one thing I do know is that when ever I have to do anything that would endanger my child’s life I go the extra 3 miles in making sure that they are safe. From what I read in the papers the story given to the police seems concocted in other words it is a lie and our intelligent DPP believe it or was paid to believe it. But nothing surprises me in Barbados if Mr. Dottin could come and tell a lie to Barbados or was mis-informed by his boys in saying that the family of Curtis Callender was present at the autopsy then justice is not evident here i Barbados. For all you out there the family of Curtis Callender were prevented from viewing the autopsy however the policemen that were there at the station the day he died were present for viewing. I Mr.Dottin was informed that the family members were present, then he would be kind enough to name them. Why is he lying or why was he l lied to.

20. The good thing about discussing issues like this is that it will make those of us who own guns a little more careful when we handle them…..I hope!.

21. @Hants

Another good reason is that the powers that be including the impregnable DPP can understand the views/feedback of ordinary Bajans.

22. This is the first time I’ve heard about a person being murdered and the heading underwhich the person is charged only have a maximum of 3mths and/ or $24. There were many cases in this country where the person murdered in self-defence and this had to be proven in court. Bejerkham is above the law in this country, and what this man got cannot be described as a slap no the wrist, that would have been too hard. I guess the police apologised to Mr Bejerkham for causing him the embarrassment.

23. Maybe if the DPP was not so busy hobnobbing in high social circles not limited to Sandy Lane golf course he would be more sensitive some of these matters.

Another good thing which could shake out of this matter is the need for the Commissioner of Police to establish clear protocols for issuing gun licenses and permits to gun dealers.

24. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Caswell,

The first link I provided was a US Marshall cleaning his gun. The second two were in response to the “experienced gun handler” argument… in one of these a cop was attempting to unload the glock… which is where AD is most likely to happen and happens to be a necessary step in cleaning the gun.

If you believe that you have to use both hands to pull the trigger of a glock (a prerequisite for removing the slide during cleaning), then you are not as knowledgeable about guns as you proclaim to be. To say that it is virtually impossible for the accident to happen as reported is intellectually dishonest. Still waiting to hear what contortions are required to shoot yourself in the hand while disassembling a gun.

Who says to stop being curious? If you present an alternative theory you should be prepared to defend it.

25. @MME

To ‘defend’ the theory is limited by the info available i.e. no witnesses that we are aware.

One is left to make conclusions from less than a circumstantial position.

Yes accidents occur but when they do they should have the suffer the rigour of legal and public scrutiny.

26. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Agreed David. Keep up the good work. Just sharing my view on the “impossible for the accident to occur as reported / third-party assasin” theory… black cake and spiked-sorrel time 🙂

27. @David

Caswell theory does present an eyewitness that being the father.

28. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Micro Mock Engineer or rather Mock Man

There in nothing intellectually dishonest about anything that I wrote. When stripping a weapon in order to clean it, there is a possibility that a shot can be discharged if you are careless. My contention is that you could injure someone or yourself. However, what makes me doubt the story is where Bjerkhamn got injured. It is more likely that he would have been injured anywhere else but not in the hand. When stripping a glock his hands would not be positioned in front of the nozzle.

29. Bajans have always believed that money and connections buy privilage in Barbados.

This is why we are “curious” when the big ups are involved or charged with a crime.

30. Engineer

“Caswell, … then you are not as knowledgeable about guns as you proclaim to be.” Now maybe there is someone else on this site who is seeing things a little more clearly…

Granted, a man ain’ gun’ just up an shoot heself in he hand, even if by accident while cleaning a weapon, and more so ta kill he son in de process, but I would accept that point a view from anyone else but a Com’erian who feel he is a intellect of repute … all of a sudden … hic.

Ac you spiking sorrel now … Man wah you spiking wid ..? hic…

31. @bush tea

Speaking of “spiked sorrell” it can’t match Caswell Concoction Theory!

32. Pretty Blue Eyes

Wah else pretty ’bout you ..hic

33. David

I could tolerate Sarge, I guess I could extend a similar approach to Franklyn, after all its the Yuletide thing to do … hic

34. So Hants, exactly what do you mean by “those of us who own guns….”
    …why do you need a gun in the most peaceful country on Earth…? When you visiting home leave it there for the Bushman please!!

35. @BAFBFP

Why you don’t leave Sarge?

Can you deal with the backlash?

Stop limiting your argument and just ask questions i.e be curious

36. David I did present an argument that is more plausible than Caswell. However You did say that Caswell did not gave an eyewitness and i beg to differ as in his Submission. he presented the father as being the only eyewitness to the crime which Caswell said might have involved a “Third party” What does thou have to say to that? defend your above comment posted on dec 26 @ 7.52pm

37. Instead of looking at the scenario being painted by the cawmere boy Franklyn to pick holes in the possibility of the story behind the death of the little boy, to those of us who are very familiar with the glock and who own some, the story is impossible.

To BAFBFP:
    You need to get the Xmas spirits out of you and come back sober next year. I still value your contributions but these here leave a lot to be desired.

38. Nobody cares because it a little white boy who died.

If a rich white man shoots and kils a little white boy in Barbados nobody cares.

39. @BAFBFP

I could tolerate Sarge

Hi BAFBFP or SFB -for shortness (a bit colloquial I must admit). Merry Xmas to you too, I hope that you had a good Xmas and will not be using the Season as an excuse to over imbibe. How about the ladies in your life? I hope you treated the Crop Over chick with the same generosity that you extended to the “Arm Candy” lady that you keep for those special occasions.

I know you came to TO but missed the snow last year and it’s a year later and still no snow this Xmas, as a matter of fact a few hours ago I saw a rabbit munching on grass in my backyard ( when I grew up in Bim he would be Rabbit Stew toute suite.

Despite the lack of snow you should return, the ecdysiasts miss you.

As always your friend

Sarge

40. Bush Tea

Canada is a peaceful country but we do hunt moose,deer and rabbits with guns ( and bow and arrow).

41. @David

Thanks for the defense, but BAFBFP? Pleaseee!!! He is like the student who is learning to box and the trainer shouts “block your head” and he puts up his dukes to cover his face and the sparring partner administers a combination to the solar plexus.

BAFBFP down for the count, always the runner up in a battle of wits.

42. @BAFBFP

“I could tolerate Sarge ********

Hi BAFBFP or SFB -for shortness (a bit colloquial I must admit). Merry Xmas to you too, I hope that you had a good Xmas and will not be using the Season as an excuse to over imbibe. ”

Thnx, but hell yea I am imbibing … hic .. because next year you, Amused and Moneybrain gun still be hey and I need the inspiration (big time), if only for a short time to believe that it is important for me to take on the likes of you … hic

43. Sargeant wrote “Crop Over chick with the same generosity that you extended to the “Arm Candy” lady”

The crop over chick is arm candy too. right BAFBFP?

44. check out the YouTube video called “um is catpiss & peppa”

45. Hell yeah, yet better

lemuel

F*ck off

46. or riding through town with an icepick miller

47. why couldn’t the goodly magistrate vwhen she had the opportunity just not given mr bjerkam 3 months in prison rather than moaning to the press about the dpp’s ill advised judgment.

48. pretty strong comments on the integrity of the top cop pretty blue eyes. if your comments are indeed accurate then this matter needs to be fully ventilated on this forum till the family is vindicated. no wonder all and sundry is losing faith in the nation and advocate as reputable news organs. pretty blue eyes i hope your information is accurate and not a figment of your imagination.