The Late Colonel Muammar Gaddafi

The imperialist powers under the NATO slogan today continued five hundred years of genocide, murder and thief against the peoples of color of the world. It is particularly horrifying to see the world powers which just a few months ago were begging Muammar Gadhafi to buy their military materiel to better control his population are now having their useful idiots drag his bloodied, naked body through the streets of Sirte. Having been the victim of a NATO strike as he fled battle and having been captured, a mob proceeded to shoot a virtually defenceless man to the head and then concocted a fairy tale about battlefield crossfire. The pallbearers, like vultures were quick to commandeer the corpse. These included the milquetoast war president with the Nobel Peace Prize – Obama, the Zionist Sarkozy, Cameron and Hilary Clinton. They were quick to justify a cruel United Nations Resolution sponsoring a fourth generation humanitarian war supposedly for the protection of the Libyan civilians from a ‘tyrant’ but whose real interest was regime change. Regime change could allow the powers to better exploit the natural resources of Libya in order to sure up the collapsing French and British economies.

We are well aware that the conservative majority within this readership can’t wait to mouth the well known critique of Muammar Gaddafi (and his sons), largely because we expect them to be viewed as the other. Please permit us however to register our own frustrations before we tender some of his admirable qualities. Maummar Gadhafi and his sons ruled too long and too brutally over loving peoples; they squandered much of the wealth of the peoples; lived lifestyles that seemed inconsistent with some tenets of Islam; was said to be the plotter of the Lockerbie bombing; was said to have bombed a discotheque in Frankfurt; was said to have imprisoned, tortured and killed many of his fellow citizens; was a site used by the Americans and the NATO Alliance to torture suspected ‘terrorists’; invited to Libya then disappeared Imam Musa Sadr, the Shite Lebanese holy man and his companions; gave irrational responses to legitimate calls for popular political ‘democracy’ and used the military against unarmed civilians which in itself meets the definition of war crimes and crimes against humanity as defined under the Geneva Conventions of 1948. None of this and more has been properly denied.

As a ‘civilized’ society though, we must consider the utility of having people executed without judicial review and where this barbaric conduct could lead us. And now that Obama, the custodian of human rights, has executed American citizens extra-judicially we must ponder the extent to which his actions set a precedent for other leaders of the so-called ‘free world’? And how is this behavior any different to that of the so-called tin pot Dictators westerners constantly complain about? Should the leaders of the world powers not themselves be cited for war crimes, or could they continue to insist on victors’ justice? Is the International Court of Justice (ICC), with the exception of the Serbian war criminals, meant solely for African Leaders and the other ‘enemies’ of the West?

The imperial hubris of Barack Obama is in this regards much worse than that of Bush, the younger. Bush warehoused his presumptive enemies at Guantanamo Bay in Cuba, Bhagram Air Force Base, Afghanistan and many other secret prisons around the globe under the near absence of standard judicial processes. These actions represent war crimes and crimes against humanity that the ACLU and others have argued for. But Obama is seeking to avoid Bush’s pretense about justice with detention centers and tribunals by breaking all international laws through the extrajudicial killings of Anwar Al-Awlaki, Bin Laden, Abdulraham al-Awlaki, the sixteen year old son, and many others. In addition, for every one suspected terrorist Obama says he kills in the Afghanistan tribal areas and the border regions of Pakistan there are about 141 documented innocent men, women and children who died and which Western media never mention. They are of little importance.

In addition Obama is killing people every day in the famine stricken country of Somalia using drone aircrafts. Yesterday he murdered 26 Somalis using predator drones. In Yemen, the American president feels it is fit and proper to murder civilians even in circumstances where the Yemeni peoples, in their millions, are fighting the oppressive Western-backed, Saudi sponsored, brutal dictator Ali Abdullah Saleh. One can only conclude that Obama’s war doctrine is predicated on the notion that the blood of people of color is less valuable than the blood of white people. Those of us in the peace and justice movement suspected that Gadhafi would soon be eliminated once we saw this ‘prince of peace’ deploying 100 American soldiers to Uganda supposedly to fight rebel there. It was the said Gadhafi who had worked tirelessly to frustrate the American attempts to set up the Africom military apparatus on African soil as consistent with American policy of full spectrum dominance. The African Union, under Gadhafi leadership had decided that Africom should not be provided with military bases on the continent. Further the removal of Gadhafi not only opens up Africa to American militarism but also has implications for the wider geo-political, geo-strategic machinations of the West as they try to counter China’s global rise.

It was Gadhafi who helped to open up Africa to the Chinese. It was Gadhafi who supported global liberation struggles in the sub-continent and elsewhere. Gadhafi funded many projects in Africa. It was Gadhafi who apologized for the Arab role in the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade; Gadhafi thought Libya to be a black African country and deemphasized Arabism; he was the one who set up an African development model to rid countries from the vultures of the IMF and World Bank. He was the significant mover behind the African Union. His country has no national debt. He had long converted much of Libya’s wealth into gold and Libya was a leading country as measured by its relative holdings of reserves. He found water in the desert and piped it for miles to his peoples. It was Maummar Gadhafi who greened large areas of the Libyan Desert. Every Libyan is entitled to education, health care and a house after marriage if one could not be afforded. If medical care was unavailable in Libya citizens were sent abroad. Libyan resources are owned by Libya to the envy of French and British corporations.  It was Obama’s military industrial complex, as the controller of NATO, which provided the assets for the French, British and a coalition of the willing to destroy Gadhafi. We consider however that Libya will not sit quietly and allow Cameron and Sarkozy to feast on its corpse.

Few of us are saddened by the end of the Peoples’ Socialist Libyan Jamahiriya founded through the Al-Fateh Revolution of 42 years ago. It comes at a time when dominos are falling all over North Africa and the Middle East and may soon extend elsewhere. Our reading of the geo-strategic circumstance suggests that several other Western backed fiefdoms and/or dictatorships in the region are likely to follow. These could include Bahrain, Saudi Arabia and Yemen. We are not however, unconvinced that the so-called Western democracies or even China will be sheltered for this global revival of the revolutionary spirit of 1968 that is erupting everywhere around the globe. While the US will like to see instability in China and is continuing a strategy to encircle China it is unlikely the USA will want to see the fall of the most autocratic dictatorship of all – Saudi Arabia. However, demonstrations are continuing apace in the eastern provinces. When the House of Saud starts to burn no one in the West will be able to put it out.

1. @ac

The question is would you? If the answer is yes why wouldn’t others? What separates us from animals? Does it not have something to do with being civilized?

2. @ac

Oil prices are not going to fall because growth in China, Brazil, India etc has to be somehow stifled.

OPEC tommorow can increase production and bring down prics to US$25 a barrel if that was allowed.

3. Random Thoughts Avatar

BAFBFP | October 22, 2011 at 3:16 AM | As fah Random, wait, you say that you is advise people where to put their money? Man you must be handsome or charismatic or otherwise capable of winning a sympathy vote …

BAFBFP I beg ya please never to take any financial advice for me, I.m probably the world’s worse financial adviser.

4. Random Thoughts Avatar

Never take any financial advice FROM me.

5. PRETTY BLUE EYES Avatar
    PRETTY BLUE EYES

@ Carson A Cadogan -It is plain sickening to read comments like yours, why have Gaddaffi gotten what he deserved, he was a human being like anyone else fighting to make like better for many black Afrcians.Wasn’t Libya the richest African nation. We sit here i the West and listen to a lot of propaganda, we do not investigate or read for ourselves. Almost every citizen in Libya owned a home and their car. He protected Israel. He was supposed to be responsible for Lockerbie but we do not know, Muslims are supposed to be responsible for 911, but we do not know. England and the US wanted him dead, plain and simple. But who do we want dead for the Cubana Bombing.It is recorded the many attempts made on the life of Fidel Castro and the lies told against the Cuban people. A murderer escaped from a Venezuelan jail, went to Miami and somehow according to Amercia he had nothing to do with the bombing of the Cubana, when all evidence pointed to him and his partner, so he is now walking around America free.Yet we the idiots are told that Gaddafi, is the worst dictator, murderer in the world. Why did the liberators, capture him, paraded him in the streets wounded and then shot him in the head all who agree that it was the right thing to do is just as wicked as they are. More atrocities are yet to follow of course Osama Bin Laden was assassinated the same way too but as long as America did it we like fools are in agreement with it. Check Libya now, do you realise that many black Africans are being held in jail without a reason many a killed just like that. Read and think for yourself sir.

6. Many are not aware that Gaddafi fought against Al Qaeda forces.

Guess what, the US and allies collaborated with rebel forces many of whom have Al Qaeda connection to kick Gaddafi out.

Go figure.

7. Even the serial killers have their day in court , mankind has not changed at all only the toys have. Barbarism is still widespread.

8. First I wish to say that I don’t take any joy or extract any pleasure from the death of anyone.
    But I beleive that violence begets violence , and only the Libyan people know for sure what they received at the hands of this madman.

It is nothing short of dumbfounding to read here the Kaddafi apologists try to defend his ‘admirable qualities’. One can only reasonably conclude that you are either a defence lawyer by training, or an aspiring ‘mini’ dictator or both. To offer a long list of the so called good things he did as justification for his otherwise, bizarre and inhuman cruelties, is in itself sick to the core.

Let me ask this, if a pedofile murderer befriends an innocent young child , first by being ‘NICE’ and winning her confidence through giving little gifts, and then rapes and kills the innocent child, could you with a clear conscience then say , ‘ oh, but he was so nice to her ‘. Does that ‘niceness justify the outcome or sheer terror the child felt? Or maybe the other way around would be more acceptable to you. He rapes her first, and then buys her candy?

Shooting ‘ a defenseless man to the head’. Do you know what he said to that young man when the gun was pointed at him, ” Don’t shoot, I am a father ”. How many thousands of times did his executioners hear that cry from their victims, also to no avail.

And then of course we have to somehow squeeze in the racial part of the equation. Another red herring detraction. No one race or nationality or culture has a monopoly on suffering injustices or violence at the hands of others. Likewise no one race or nationality or culture has the patent on virtue and good moral purity either. We all have bit of both.

Look across Europe and see what they have done to each other, the same in Africa to this day. Stalin killed 30 million of his own citizens. History is full of this hatred and inhumanity to one another.

The human mentality many times is sort of like the moray eel on the very beautiful coral reef. He stays in his dark little hole and only comes out when he wants to ravage the unfortunate fish which just swam by . He does’nt see or even care that there is so much beauty and variety surrounding his dingy little hole. He looks after his own selfish needs, nothing else. And all he has is instinct. Sometimes one wonders if intellect is lost with some of us.

Yes I will agree that the west many times instigates , and then feeds the flames of discontent , always in the name of their interest. Look at Iraq just before the administration changed, Dick Cheney ensured that only American oil companies got the big contracts.

There is a solution to all these injustices , his name is Jesus Christ.

9. Random I staying clear ah you … well clear ..LOL!

Listen Gaddafi is not the bad guy hear, not even close. What ever Gaddafi’s (real and imagined) the same is true of every God damned leader in the world today with large deeply fragmented populations to manage. Gaddafi is African, and a visionary. His death should be avenged.

10. Phd

Shight man, use another handle. You bring shame to the title

11. BAFBFP.
    There is an old saying, ‘ a picture paints a thousand words’. But sometimes it takes just a few simple words to paint a complete picture. It would be impossible to portray abject stupidity on a canvas, but you sure succeed portraying it with your incoherent babble. Then a picture to confirm it.
    Ignorance personified.

12. My My the sympathy for the poor dearly departed Colonel is so touching, not a word for the many he dispatched during his 42 years of absolute rule e.g. the 1200 political prisoners he summarily executed at Abuslim in 1996.

The thousands of Libyans rejoicing at his demise must all be CIA stooges or brainwashed by the West to believe he was evil. I didn’t see a single comment wondering why he was so hated by Libyans but then the many that comment here have never walked in the shoes of a Libyan whose son,brother,father,sister,husband, wife “disappeared”, they have never had their doors broken down and relatives whisked off into the night never to be seen again or if they are lucky being presented with a bag of bones months or years later and told to bury their relative.

I heard a Libyan being interviewed on radio say “If there was a trial we were still going to kill him anyway”, the Libyans just saved the world a sideshow.

“The evil that men do lives after them the good is oft interred with their bones” (WS).

Gaddafi had no good in him.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sargeant et al:

“The evil that men do lives after them the good is oft interred with their bones” (WS).
    “Gaddafi had no good in him.”

That might be true and Gaddafi received his comeuppance according to the “Christian” utterances from the likes of Zoe & PhD. “Those who live by the sword die by the sword”. Gaddafi should have known that his recent attempts at “rapprochement” with the West with its unquenchable thirst for sweet oil would have resulted in exposing himself to an overthrow and subsequent demise.
    If the West claims that the only reason that Gaddafi was earmarked to be toppled was to free the suffering Liyban masses, then, in accordance with this same humane principle they should extend the hand of righteousness a bit farther and apply I known cases of dictatorial abuses and excesses. What I would like to see the West do is to take out Mugabe. But there is no real oil; only raw diamonds that can be easily obtained through corruption and bribery of the said political elite.

What about Syria and Iran? Can we expect the West to go in and end the dictatorial suppression and killing of the suffering masses?

14. @millertheanunnaki

Didn’t Obama response to your request for global justice citing resources and ‘ US interest’?

Don’t be naive!

15. It is funny, almost sad….

No one is hailing the man as a dictator, everyone knows that he was not a saint!

The issue here is that we pretend to be holier than thou but when given the chance, we are no better than the very same we despise.

You talk of rights for the people and preach democracy, yet the man was executed with the blessing of the ‘defenders of democracy’.
    If this dont cause concern for you as a human being then Gadaffi was in great company and has a bigger fan club than imagined.

I dont see Sarge and Ph.D speaking on Saudi Arabia, where one family runs a country with an iron fist as well. Poverty there is worse than it was in Lybia with Gadaffi.
    Women have very little rights there……..oh but I forgot……they are allies *smh*…..who are the real hypocrites now ?!?

We fight Al Queda in Iraq and Taliban in Afghanistan as terrorists but support them in Libya as heroes. We call Hamas a terrorist organisation and refuse to recognise them, even though they were democratically elected under UN supervision.
    Seriously, unless you have an agenda, are brainwashed or mentally challenged, these issues should be of some concern for any decent human being.

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David:
    I know when to be a realist! The West will only carry the standard of justice and fair play when it suits their selfish interest in pursuit of control of resources and protection of their industrial and economic investments.
    But one thing I can say, USA or Western Europe will never attempt an Iraqi style invasion of the territory belonging to the great Persian bear or by extension its cousin Syria to the West.

17. Here you see brutal, but perhaps unsurprising politics and culture. Here you see speculation regarding the state of world peace and western politics. We wonder why it is depicted on TV. For what purpose, Lord, that we show a man being torn apart?

Indeed, it is interesting to note banter between members of the politcal parties, and one might be led to extrapolate on how these events speak to the corruption, activities and events we ourselves undergo in this, our own Bajan society. We get what we want, but we don’t do the last dirty act? And we don’t publicise it.

If looked upon blandly one may also notice violent, angry depictions ’embedded’ within the paragraphs of the author above, unlinked to the issue of the core.

Everywhere condescending, unaccepting attitudes towards the opinions, lifestyles, politics and beliefs of others. But no calls for honesty and tolerance, at best a sick revulsion without understanding.

We know not what we do. We must take a look within, it is there we will see our own blemishes.

In a constructive, healthy progressive society a people who align and work together go far far. In our present state of non-alignment we seek to destroy others, denigrate those undeserving of abuse, we refuse to acknowledge the lessons we are being taught, we refuse to work together.

Rather, we seek in a partisan way to follow in the footsteps of just what is done, without understanding that we too are doing it, only we are not committing the final act of murder.

QED, thank you for taking that look today, for the love of our children and country

18. Techie

The discussion is about Gaddafi why introduce the red herring of Saudi Arabia? When the discussion shifts to the Saudis I will put my two cents in but do you know what my position is on the country? BTW women are treated even worse under the Taliban.

I sense that you are struggling coming up with a defense of Gaddafi aka The Man with the Golden Gun so you introduce Hamas and Al Queda into the argument but how do you know Al Queda is part of the war against Gadaffi?

19. Sargeant

Where you and ac and Balanace is get your information from? Seriously I want to know.

PhD

Yah idiot … yah could string some words together sweet enough though, but you is still a idiot … ja ja. Find another handle and stop shaming good people …!

20. Speaking of movies matching reality. If one were to watch the movie V for Vendetta (released 2005), hence my Guy Fawkes handle, it is clear that life is strangely imitating art.

21. @ Sarge……

If you think that to mention Saudi Arabia is a red herring, then all I can say to you is sorry….seriously.

Where am I struggling to defending Gadaffi… can you read?
    Defending the rule of law is not defending the criminal.

FYI….to bring up Al Queda it pertinent as the ‘freedom fighters’ that NATO backed are one and the same, as has been documented throughout this conflict.

I think you are the one who is struggling Sarge…..with your conscience and morality.

22. Anyone who wants to understand why there is objection tot heNato forces assist rebels , including proven Al-Quaeda soldiers, overthrow and kill Gaddaif, read Mr.Technicians post above.

That says it all.

Remember the Iran-Contra affair? How the US fought to force out a good man in Ortega from the leadership in Nicaragua, to put autocratic rule in place of a fairly elected man?

Now the French, English and US gov’t s have rushed to ‘recognise’ an unelected bynch of rebels as the ‘official’ Libyan Gov’t?

Nah worries, what yuh sow, yuh reap!

Remember dat!

23. “But one thing I can say, USA or Western Europe will never attempt an Iraqi style invasion of the territory belonging to the great Persian bear or by extension its cousin Syria to the West.”

@nnuki, Man, wait and see, maybe very soon, what will happen “…to the great Persian bear or by extension its cousin Syria…” when Israel has no choice but to ‘Nuk’ both of these entities et al, its all panning out, just a matter of time.

Why do you think Natenyahu swapped 900 hundred Hamas terrorist,for one Jewish soldier?

Remember 1967, when Israel was surrounded by an Iron fence of Arab nations, outnumbered 20 to 1, who swore its DESTRUCTIONS in a few days, what happened?

Don’t MESS with Israel? You’ll seal your ultimate fate of defeat!

24. @ Zoe…

The released prisoners were NOT all Hamas.

You should know better, oh bearer of the Truth.
    Neither were they all ‘terrorists’ but I suspect you knew this.

25. Techie

I think you are the one who is struggling Sarge…..with your conscience and morality
    I am somewhat surprised at that comment as it seems to be a personal attack and observing how harshly you criticize Zoe about the language used to describe his critics. My conscience is clear and my morality is still sound…. I think. However the people of Libya decided to remove the Colonel, they did get some help from NATO but they couldn’t very well remove him via the ballot box.

Speaking of defending the rule of law? Which countries sanctioned the killing of Gaddafi? He was killed by his own citizens the people who “loved” him, the people who “loved” him so much that spontaneous celebrations broke out at news of his death among Libyans everywhere.

The notion that the he was “executed with the blessings of the defenders of democracy” is farcical; Gadaffi took many secrets to the grave with him, Western Intelligence agencies would be straining at the bit to interrogate him.

In all your talk about “law” and the women of Saudi Arabia what about Gaddaffi’s victims, did he follow any rule of law or was he a law unto himself?

26. @ Sarge….

You seem to be a bit thin skinned and fickle. Where have I gotten personal with you?
    Take it how you want to guy,I could care less about your sensibilities.
    You made your statements and I made mine…grow up, it’s not about you ok.
    Lol…of course Gadaffi took secrets with him….like the Rendition locations…lol. Of course they wanted him dead, would you want your partner in crime singing like a canary at a trial?
    for the umpteenth time Sarge…stay with me here….I have never said Gadaffi was a saint, never tried to defend him, never tried to hold him in high esteem.
    All I wrote about was the Rule of law that should be followed as we try hard to prove that we are better than the tyrants. When you ignore that, what are we then??
    If this is the treatment meted out to Gadaffi by the ‘new’ rulers of libya….what lies in store for that country?

27. @David
    Most of us in the heat of the moment would say Yes ! including me! first it is the correct political thing to do. But as human we are self centered AND what interest us the most is what we gained from it. How long has Sadem been dead where is the same outrage gone to from the time of his death to present.

@BAF

It seems to me that you are a “Tin horn dictator” only your opinion counts and every other else pales in comparison. BTW have you ever heard of “Tunnel Vision” you were blessed by god with such.

28. Now that the world is rid of Saddam, Osama and now Gaddafi, we can breath easier.

@Zoe

This link is for you:

For the first time in memory, if not ever, a highly respected mainstream columnist is calling on the United States to cut aid to Israel.

Writing in the Washington Post, Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter and columnist Walter Pincus, says, “it is time to examine the funding the United States provides to Israel”.

29. @Techie
    I am keenly interested to elucidate the identity of your sources for your contention that the Col was “executed with the blessing of the defenders of democracy”.

Why do you not appreciate the rage of adversarial, disadvantaged, downtrodden tribesmen????????

Many on BU like the Col because he gave big $$$ to African countries and organisations. It is very obvious that the majority of Libyans did not like The Col at all. His men butchered Libyans, even in retreat they murdered prisoners and burned their bodies. Since Libyans are Africans we have proof that he did NOT favour Africans it was probably his strategy to dominate the African Unioun where possible. Arabs have proven conclusively that they love to dominate black Africans check out SUDAN.

@Annunaki

What possesses you to believe that when the West is ready that Iran and/or Syria will escape their wrath? Iran has the advantage of very rugged and mountainous terrain so ground war with Western soldiers is unlikely BUT properly armed locals who attack after the major military facilities have been pulverised is probable. Their nukes will not frighten anyone because the Americans will have to take those weapons out first, to protect Isreal.

Were you thinking that”The Aliens” will freeze the US Military machine???

The West has it’s own criminals to be sure BUT these dictators, like the Col ,should have been removed longtime ago. How some defend these vagabonds is beyond rationalisation. Burn in HELL, COL Q, SoDamnInsane, Assad and IAMaNutKob(aka Achmenadinjad) I regret not being able to hear you screaming in pain for the first few years.

30. ac

You are right.. I do have tunnel vision. But unfortunately for the rest of you, including Techie and David who would have you believe that the Colonel was some kind of criminal, I am right and the rest ah wunna wrong wrong wrong. You have absolutely no proof and are guilty of following the status quo in believing every bad thing you hear about these bogie men. Obama has killed more people in the last three years than any other leader in the world for the same period of time. Where is your opinion on that? I am not even of average smarts, but I am sure as hell more gifted than a lotta wunna ’bout hay …

31. Including the Pine hill Donkey fella

32. @ Miller
    you think that achmenadinjad is not on america top 10 hit list. just this week america found a little wiggle room to start a fire burning under his a.ss with the attempted assination plot against a diplomat.You think america scared of he. Gadaffi thought so. This is the realinging of the middle east. and any one who gets in the way . Well Lord have Mercy

33. @ BAF
    Me too I Young gifted and black. So much for that. BTW you are so caught up in the moment that whatever any one says you take personnel. Most of us would agree that the way the Nato alliance dispose of him was inhumane. But a picture has many views and apparently you can only see one side while others can see many. However let me ask you another view of the same picture.
    Question: Didn’t Obama tell him to step down ? To show the arrogance of this man he rather stay and watch his country bombared than to give it and it was all for naught.

34. @Moneybrain

Isn’t it the biggest irony that we have had Wall Street conspiring by their actions to precipitate the world’s worst recession and no effort to put people in jail?

All done within the greatest democracies on earth?

Even as we read this many of the regulatory loop holes remain holes.

35. @David: “Isn’t it the biggest irony that we have had Wall Street conspiring by their actions to precipitate the world’s worst recession and no effort to put people in jail? … Even as we read this many of the regulatory loop holes remain holes.

Indeed.

Everything which happened which caused this world financial crisis was technically legal.

Good for the average person? No.

Legal? Mostly.

Hmmmmm….

36. cuhdearrrrr, I feel fa Gadaffi man. When I see he cover in blood n bruised n battered, my hart hurt ma man.
    cuhdearrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

who is Obama ta tell sumbody ‘step down’ doe? He is a world-maguffy or wah?

37. @ Moneybrain….

Christ man/woman…..you slow too??

Wtf is wrong with you all today…??

38. Bommie

“who is Obama ta tell sumbody ‘step down’ doe …”

Thanks hear. Maybe ac would listen to you.

Technician

You can’ be holding two sides at the same time. I say the Colonel was a present day African hero, a real man amongst men. You either wid me or not. No middle people tonight

39. David sounding like a real Dennis Johnson, never quite in the fight but appearing to be ….

40. @BAFBFP

You would want to promulgate that this is a black and white matter, it isn’t.

Speak to the double standards and hypocrisy but do not lose your grip on what is pragmatic, you are too intelligent for such behaviour.

41. David

I like the Colonel, I genuinely admire the man. The same is true for Sadam Husein. I have no problem with these men. If other idiots did stupid things in their name, that is a burden that all leaders have to bear. They were both great Arabs, the best.

42. @ Bonny
    I’ll bet what ever Obama tell you to do you would do! but you got more sense than Gadaffi !

43. Total disrespect being show by the regime in charge:

Gaddafi’s killing may be war crime: group
    Hannah AllamOctober 23, 2011 – 9:39AM
    AP
    Days after the death of Muammar Gaddafi, his corpse has become the subject of a macabre dispute as Libyan interim authorities squabble over where and how to bury him.
    The deposed dictator’s body remained on display Saturday in a walk-in freezer in the western city of Misrata, drawing hundreds of Libyans who donned surgical masks against the growing stench of his decomposing remains.
    http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-news-world/gaddafis-killing-may-be-war-crime-group-20111023-1me4j.html

44. Incidentally second only to Fidel Castro, Hugo Chavez is the most forthright leader in the region. They have done more for the poor and suffering than all of the other regional leaders combined. Of Chavez’s accomplishments you will hear nothing. But should there be a successful “regime change” in Venezuela the talk about his “brutal” dictatorship will emerge. It is now an international tradition

45. Techie

Now I see why you are always getting into it with Zoe, you are both the same, when faced with arguments you can’t refute you resort to name calling. Call me what you like thin skinned, fickle, what have you, it is water on a ducks back.

Who says that the information gleaned from a Gaddaffi during interrogation would come out during a trial? I thought that you operated under the belief don’t trust anything coming from the US or its allies? Don’t you know that a trial like Gaddafi’s if conducted under the ICJ in the Hague would be under sterile conditions?

Stop moaning about treatment doled out to Gaddaffi by the “new rulers”, you are really clutching at straws, do you expect the Geneva Convention from ill trained people armed with machine guns who in their previous lives were butchers, clerks, carpenters and farmers? It was not a disciplined Army, the “new rulers” had as much control of these elements as I have, when they captured Gaddaffi they reverted to mob mentality.

Now answer the question, How do you know he was executed with the blessings of the defenders of democracy?

46. @BAF
    Thanks Baf. I couldn’t disagree with you more.The man was a tyrannical tyrant. what was there to love about him.only ONLY YOU CAN!

47. David

So NATO is not a candidate for war crime action having acted outside of UN resolutions and targeting for assassination the leader of sovereign state. Further the dead line for the military intervention (what hypocrisy) was the 25 if last month. You people are stupid beyond words. Oh shoot I gun get ban again …

48. ac

You were misinformed