Caribbean Radio Show interviewing Timothy Aldred on his new book

Some on BU will find this blog distasteful, you are cautioned that the video is not complimentary of the Bible and religion. In fact the author Timothy Aldred of the book BAMBOOZLED! refers to the Bible as rubbish which should be tossed into the garbage.

It is no secret BU has led discussion on religious subjects in the Barbados space sometimes with emotional effect. We have some individuals who have stopped posting on BU because of opinions and perspectives shared about religion. Those of us with commonsense know that believing in whoever God is a leap of faith and using logic to justify a position is illogical.

Believe in what Deity tickles your fancy and to hell with whoever thinks otherwise!

1. “What profit has not that fable of Christ brought us!”?
    –Pope Leo X
    (As attributed by John Bale, Bishop of Ossory, in The Pageant of Popes, p. 179, 1574)

Excerpts from the book “The Christ Conspiracy: The Greatest Story Ever Sold” by D.M. Murdoch (AKA Acharya S.)

From the very beginning of our quest to unravel the Christ conspiracy, we encounter suspicious territory, as we look back in time and discover that the real foundation of Christianity appears nothing like the image provided by the clergy and mainstream authorities. Indeed, far more rosy and cheerful than the reality is the picture painted by the vested interests as to the origins of the Christian religion: To wit, a miracle-making founder and pious, inspired apostles who faithfully and infallibly recorded his words and deeds shortly after his advent, and then went about promulgating the faith with great gusto and success in “saving souls.” Contrary to this popular delusion, the reality is that, in addition to the enormous amount of bloodshed which accompanies its foundation, Christianity’s history is rife with forgery and fraud. So rampant is this treachery and chicanery that any serious researcher must immediately begin to wonder about the story itself. In truth, the Christian tale has always been as difficult to swallow as the myths and fables of other cultures; yet countless people have been able to overlook the rational mind and to willingly believe it, even though they may equally as easily dismiss the nearly identical stories of these other cultures….

We have seen that there is no evidence for the historicity of the Christian founder, that the earliest Christian proponents were as a whole either utterly credulous or astoundingly deceitful, and that said “defenders of the faith” were compelled under incessant charges of fraud to admit that Christianity was a rehash of older religions. It has also been demonstrated that the world into which Christianity was born was filled with assorted gods and goddesses, as opposed to a monotheistic vacuum. In fact, in their fabulous exploits and wondrous powers many of these gods and goddesses are virtually the same as the Christ character, as attested to by the Christian apologists themselves. In further inspecting this issue we discover that “Jesus Christ” is in fact a compilation of these various gods, who were worshipped and whose dramas were regularly played out by ancient people long before the Christian era….

snip

Furthermore, inscribed about 3,500 years ago on the walls of the Temple at Luxor were images of the Annunciation, Immaculate Conception, Birth and Adoration of the pharaoh Amenhotep (Horus), with Thoth announcing to the queen that she will conceive; with the god Amun impregnating the queen; and with the infant being attended by “kings” bearing gifts. In addition, in the catacombs at Rome are pictures of the baby Horus being held by the virgin mother Isis–the original “Madonna and Child.”

http://www.truthbeknown.com/christ.htm

2. Sorry, spelt The Christ Conspiracy author’s name wrong, its D. M. Murdock (not Murdoch), pen name Acharya S.

3. it’s like all other spectator sports like football and politics etc which are designed to subdue and control the population.

like good soldiers- fans of each political / religious / political / football team on each side like to kick shit out each other as some form of crowd participation

4. Here we go again …….lol *smh*
    🙂

5. Can’t wait for the Crusaders to jump in with their hocus pocus. ROFL!

6. i am glad that this brother has seen the light and so now because of his great input what million before him has not been able to do will be done. The bible will be relagated to the rubbish heap.IThe brother should be complimented on being able to accomplish what many of us wanted to do for years..

7. @ green monkey This is what does happen sometimes when ya to educated from young and grow up to be be an adult going to all theses schools and universities learning at de feet of men all ya life just to get ah few letters behind ya name but never had de chance to see it fa ya self ;but was always ah slave to some body who called them self ah scholar at some school or university. so @green monkey keep reading de books that de ppl write and watching ya DVD”s and looking to ya so called scholars cause the truth is within us all,but can u find it ? can u free it from within i doubt, cause u were taught how to read and write from young and how to go to ur books and study so called knowledge ,but where does so called knowledge and wisdom come from ? don’t u know that we were born out of time ?that is if u are a black man, and then u have the gall to come on this means quoting some ole bishop from 1574 ? if u was all de bright then u would have know what was going on in 1574 was not for ur benefit

8. How many will have the guts to really listen and learn something. How many will open their eyes and see that we were forced to accept the White man’s God and that has not helped us, and has only helped the White man to gain more control after slavery. How many will see that all other religions have a prophet who looks like them and the Black man has a white prophet. How many will acknowledge that RE-LIE-GION (thanks Techie) is made up of lies in order to control the minds of millions. It will be a bitter pill to swallow after believing the lies of the bible. This will not make sense to many because some will be too afraid to think for themselves. Timothy Aldred thank you for expressing how I felt from the day I got confirmed (14 yrs old) that this re-lie-gion thing is a whole lotta bullshit.

9. That’s right Timothy, Islam is preferable such as their just being unable to wait, unable to contain their delight at being able to slaughter blacks, post the demise of Gadaffi. Makes a lot of sense, but only to you!

10. u think that politics is a SPORT, do u?!!! which probably gave u one of the best educations in the world!! Nuh wonder i doan listen to sprites!! Steupse!!

11. ‘Clever’ observation, YOU may think Trenton, but WHAT WILL TAKE IT’S PLACE!! U may be praying for the return of the holy ghost!!

12. @ DAVID

Is this guy a legit* source of WHAT*?

What is his background, training or experience?

From his opening remarks in that stupid VT including the stumbling and bumbling – only persons with limited academic, intellectual and historical understanding would feed into this garbage…

There are NOT* even ripe pickings for serious academic DEBATE* far less an exegetical or eisegetical critique of his lurid positions with no basis in FACT* or historical validity…

The RAS* is not even challenging him…Another feeble, “SIMPLISTICALLY”-suckered mind!!!

If guys like these go unchallenged with no one to DEBUNK* their nonsense – they will always be enough FOOLS* to buy into their insidious LIES* and broken historical half-truths (which are really whole-baked LIES*)…

Any serious scholarship that says that CHRISTIANITY* was something forced upon BLACK FOLKS* because of the menacing EVILS* of slavery is a LIAR* and they are have no cognizance of the truth at least in any historical context…

Statements of such a nature needs qualification!!!

A few simple questions to Mr. Aldred based on intellectual honesty (if he understand what that means) would be to explain to all us who are either social historians, students of history or have taken time to READ* for ourselves – e.g. the following:

WHEN DID CHRISTIANITY ARRIVE IN “AFRICA”?

DID IT ARRIVE AT THE END OF A SWORD?

UNTIL THE EMERGENCE & ARRIVAL OF ISLAM IN THE 7TH CENTURY C.E. – WHAT WAS THE CONDITIONS OF COPTIC CHRISTIANS IN NORTH AFRICA AND AS FAR AS ETHIOPIA, SUDAN, ERITREA, THE GOLD COAST, LIBERIA AND THROUGHOUT THE WIDER REGIONS OF AFRICA?

Maybe these guys have done any real “homework” a day in their lives – but I guarantee that my [6] year old grandson could paint most of them into an impossible corner!!!

Clearly our dear DELUDED*, (set with a Freemasonry agenda) brother is seeking to further undermine the TRUE GOD* of the BIBLE* by oozing spurious, specious, snake-like sputum to further imprison and alienate Blacks from the worship of Jehovah God…

But what the DEVIL* fails to realize is that OPPOSITION* is a necessary counter-force to the promulgation and propagation of the GOSPEL* OF JESUS CHRIST!!!

How is it that our dear brother (given that he has some meager knowledge of the faith he claims he once knew) has not differentiated between the work of Roman Catholicism church and PROTESTANTISM* and the life and death struggle by the VATICAN* for almost 1500 years to destroy the tenets of Protestant Christianity?

Good GOD* – how much is written historical on this ENIGMA* and the roots of its is now bearing fruits in the 21st century!!!

Is our dear brother blaming the “BLOOD-LETTING” on Jesus Christ and HIS* true follower – when JESUS* Himself paid the ultimate price for holding a DIVINE* position???

Mr. Aldred is FREE* to sit up (unchallenged) and spout of a bunch of nonsense without the LUXURY* of scientific, theological or HISTORICAL* rebuttals – for it is easy talk like a “FOOL” when you have no one to challenge your assertions!!!

13. According to FACTUAL* historical evidence – “Christianity in Africa” © 2002 Charles Scribner’s Sons

Shortly after the founding of Christianity the Apostle Philip baptized a member of the royal court of ETHIOPIA*. The early church historian Eusebius wrote that the Apostle Matthew also spread the new faith in Ethiopia.

In this way, Christianity arrived in Africa before it reached Europe….

Christianity took root in North Africa at a very early date. Many important figures in the early church came from this region, including the church fathers Clement and Origen of ALEXANDRIA in EGYPT, and St. Augustine of Hippo, a city in present-day ALGERIA…

From the A.D. 100’s to 400’s, Christianity spread throughout much of North Africa. Perhaps the most important force in this development was the monastic* movement, which began in Egypt and only later made its way to Europe.

(REMEMBER THIS WAS THE TIME WHEN CATHOLICISM WAS TAKING ROOT WHERE THE “DARK AGES” HAD ACTUALLY STARTED TO CAST ITS SHADOW OVER EUROPE AND THE FORMER ENCLAVES OF THE ROMAN EMPIRE)…

By the 300’s, Christianity had spread to Ethiopia and ERITREA, centered on the city of AKSUM…

Most of the region is still Christian today…

Beginning in the 500’s, Christian kingdoms also flourished on the upper Nile River in NUBIA* (in what is now SUDAN**)…

In the 1300’s, the NUBIANS* (BLACK FOLKS*) were conquered by Muslims from Egypt…

Despite the early introduction of Christianity in Ethiopia and North Africa, the religion did not penetrate sub-Saharan* Africa for several hundred years…

Christianity reached those regions by way of Europe during the great age of exploration…

The Portuguese arrived in the kingdom of KONGO* in 1483…

Eight years later the king of Kongo was baptized under the name of João I, in honor of the Portuguese king João II…

(A BRIEF TOPOGRAPHICAL HISTORY OF AFRICAN CHRISTIANITY)…

14. You have to take into account that humanity is still in a state of primitive mental development. If you have religion you have all the answers to being and what’s more the keys to everlasting life.
    What more can primitive man desire for a warm feeling of an everlasting diet of milk and honey to look forward to?
    I suppose it beats running out of money and having to forego getting it from the supermarket in hard times.

15. Island, “has not helped us”?!!!! I think ull find that Wilberforce and others were probably committed CHRISTIANS. Doubt you’d have found anybody to champion our cause in Arabia! and, yes, THEY were the first to enslave us n, as far as I know, are still doing so today! Why then did u get confirmed and, doesn’t that make u a hypocrite?!!

16. Who said that this man believes in Islam? Bimbro you are so wrong. The author is pointing out how our our belief in the bible has not helped us and has enslaved us more. From what I gather, the author believes in a creator but not the creator in the bible and the man they have made into a god called Jesus.

17. I see said the blind man to the deaf mute…so 2000 odd years ago the powers that be (or was) knew that 1500 odd years in the future black peoples would be enslaved and set up this elaborate system which would be called christianity solely to oppress black peoples. Oh woe is me!
    On a scale of 1 to 10 I think this must be a 10+ for conspiracy theories.

18. Bimbro said “Why then did u get confirmed and, doesn’t that make u a hypocrite?!!”

At fourteen you did what your parents told you to do. I stopped being a hypocrite after I discovered that I can think for myself.

19. cont’d

As Europeans established outposts on the coast of Africa in the 1400’s and 1500’s, they brought along missionaries, who settled among indigenous* populations…

At first, the introduction of Christianity was limited to Africans in coastal areas. With a few exceptions, missionaries did not carry Christianity into the interior of the continent until the 1800s…

Europeans considered converting Africans to Christianity to be part of the process of colonization…

As a result, their exploitation* of Africa’s wealth was accompanied by missionary activity…

However, the primary interest of most of the conquerors and traders who journeyed to Africa was to enrich themselves…

This goal often involved enslaving and even killing local populations….

Although Christian missionaries had come to Africa to save souls, they were often associated with the greed of their fellow Europeans…

For this reason, many Africans resisted the missionaries and their message.

After a while, instead of trying to impose Christianity on the Africans, Europeans began to look for ways to use local institutions to gain converts…

Missionaries attempted to win over rulers and then use their authority to spread Christianity among the people…

The long-term success of efforts to convert Africans to Christianity often depended on local political developments…

The Christian nature of African kingdoms could prove short-lived if the ruling group was overthrown or challenged by a group opposed to Christianity…

Attempts to spread the faith by reaching out to ordinary Africans did not occur for many years.

For hundreds of years the Roman Catholic Church was the only church active in Africa…

The Protestant outcry against the “SLAVE TRADE”*** in the late 1700’s and early 1800’s marked a turning point for African Christianity…

Significantly, the first Protestant missionaries to arrive in West Africa were “FORMER SLAVES” who had supported the British in the American Revolutionary War…

These Black preachers and their successors transformed the face of African Christianity…

(SO ALL THOSE MODERN-DAY SECULAR “human” APOLOGISTS WHO WANT TO PAINT A WRONG PICTURE THROUGH NEBULOUSLY “bad-written” BOOKS, FALSE THEORIES & MALICIOUS HALF-TRUTHS ….. “beware”….

20. The problem is not the Bible. The problem is however, the interpretation there of. It is a pity that the majority of Black people don’t see themselves in the verses of the Bible. Having been fed a heavy diet of misinformation, the Black race, finds itself “butting about in the dark” in the pages of history. For we too often accept what other races have said about us, we sit back and let other races tell us about our history, instead of delving into the past with earnest. Ask a brother of sister about our history, and you will see that they can’t get beyond slavery. Let those who can been enlightened be enlightened. Let the rest perish in their folly.

21. @ @ islandgal whose fault it is that u were raised to be ah ROMAN catholic?so because de Romans trick u u fed up and done ,dont u know that u were the first and that all things came out of u oh ye of little faith don’t u know that ur black history is old as time it self ,forget what u learn in secondary school in history class u expect ur history to be only ah 1000 yrs stupesss,u doing just what they want u to do stay in limbo like an ass fed up with nothing to pass on, gird up ya self like ah true woman and know that the truth is within u beautiful black woman mother of all living.

22. cont’d

BLACK EVANGELISM (NOT THE WHITE MAN – pls note)

In 1792 more than a thousand former slaves accepted a British offer of free passage to Africa. Most of them had fought on the British side in the American War of Independence and had later been resettled in Nova Scotia, Canada….

There in what is now called “SIERRA LEONE” they founded the city of FREETOWN***.

Although not formally authorized as Protestant ministers, some of these former slaves became enthusiastic leaders of the effort to convert indigenous Africans to Christianity….

In preaching to Africans, they saw much common ground between the lessons found in the Bible and traditional African beliefs and values…. (PLEASE NOTE – this is a separate STUDY* all by itself)…..

This link between the Christian message and African culture was an important factor in the spread of Christianity across the continent in the 1800’s and 1900’s…

The Protestant Evangelists* who founded missionary movements in Africa around 1800 adopted a different course from the CATHOLICS*** (again pls note) who came before them….

They stressed the important contributions that indigenous Africans could make to missionary activity…

In 1861 a missionary named Henry Venn took the bold step of transferring nine churches in Sierra Leone to local control…

He later named Samuel Ajayi CROWTHER*, a former slave who had come to Freetown in 1822, as the first African BISHOP***…

From this point on, Black preachers played a leading role in spreading Christianity throughout the continent…

They used their familiarity with the people and their culture to relate the Christian message in a uniquely African context, one that combined elements of European Christianity with African traditions..

(AGAIN DEBUNKING THE “tripe” AND BASE “rot” BEING SPEWED BY “agendists” WHOSE SOLE AIM* IS TO PROMOTE THE PROTOCOLS OF THE “dark forces” WHICH ARE AT WORK IN OUR WORLD)…

23. Island, if at the end of reading his article and, perhaps, watching his video you’re still unaware of what his true beliefs are, then the whole exercise would seem to be rather pointless, or he’s an incompetent communicator. I doan know man but, I do think that WE, BLACK PEOPLE OURSELVES, are responsible MORE THAN ANYBODY ELSE for our relative lack of success, by our mean, selfish, self-centred way of living our lives! Mainly, WE OURSELVES, n nuh body else!! Sorry Islan, you’re not a hypocrite, I was just talking nonsense then!! 🙂

24. @Charlies….I was never a Catholic and what de shoite yuh trying to tell muh? Speak clearly so I can understand yuh!

25. @TB

Engage us please.

For some of us following who have always questioned how Whites, as the conquering slavemasters, use the same religion which is being stoutly defended by you to hold Blacks and others under subjugation, please explain.

Is it true that reading and interpreting the Bible should not be seen as an academic exercise?

26. What, however, we’re unable to deny is that there IS and has been for some time now, a steady decline in the numbers of people going to church and being interested in being ardent christians. Whatever the reasons, this is the reality which we need to address and whether that’s a good or bad thing.

27. AFRICAN SCRIPTURES

One of the tasks Crowther set himself as bishop was to translate the Bible into an African language…

His first Bible, written in the Yoruba language, was followed by versions in other African languages. These vernacular* Bibles were a major factor in spreading Christianity among indigenous populations…

Few African languages had been written down before. The impact of the grammars, dictionaries, and other works needed for the translation of vernacular Bibles was immense…

Reading the Scriptures in Native languages gave white missionaries and scholars a chance to grasp the African point of view…

At the same time, giving Africans access to written forms of their language allowed them to connect with their own history and cultural heritage…

The work of Crowther and others like him ensured that Africans, NOT* Europeans, would now lead the missionary efforts in Africa…

28. To David;
    You disappoint me; I am not even responding to this from a biblical point of view. All I am hearing from Mr. Aldred is a series of spurious statements that even in his 40 minute discussion, he brings nothing to substantiate hi “claims”. Tereence is correct; he is fumbling all over the place. Even Kiki’s Hitchen piece gives something to chew on.

29. To David:
    Why should black people be attempting to emulate white people. Why is he pushing this backwardness, and to think some people here jumping up and down as if what he is saying is so fantastic. When much of what he posits is puerility in its fullness.

30. @lemuel

Some will say yours is a predictable response. What about the queries posed by commenters?

Here is another one:

The Bible speaks to ‘ Thou shall not kill/murder’.

A somewhat dichotomous position when one reflects on how slaves/Blacks were treated were treated don’t you think?

31. According to the Bible the Jews are the chosen people and Israel is the Holy Land.A closer look at chosen people ( the JEWS :
    Many American male babies are circumcised by medical procedure shortly after birth. However, Orthodox Judaism prescribes circumcision as a religious ritual, to be performed according to strict Talmudic laws. According to those laws, the man who circumcises the infant, the mohel, must suck the infant’s bleeding penis with his mouth.

MISHNAH. WE PERFORM ALL THE REQUIREMENTS OF CIRCUMCISION ON THE SABBATH. WE CIRCUMCISE, UNCOVER [THE CORONA], SUCK [THE WOUND], AND PLACE A COMPRESS AND CUMMIN UPON IT. IF ONE DID NOT CRUSH [THE CUMMIM] ON THE EVE OF THE SABBATH, HE MUST CHEW [IT] WITH HIS TEETH AND APPLY [IT TO THE WOUND] …

— Babylonian Talmud, Tractate Shabbath 133a
    Soncino 1961 Edition, pages 668-669

32. To David;
    I am not even going into the facts about the Bible here, for it was not written by WHITE people; its authors came from the east not europe. Because the Roman catholic church used the Bible in an ungodly manner both in the caribbean and north and south america does not make the book bad. My problem with this man is that he is not even positing questions or insights that are meaningful. I think Island and Kiki in their stupidity would do a much better job. He invites one to think, but takes back his own foot when he is required to do so. A gun is not in of itself an evil thing; it is what other humans do with it that creates that atmosphere of fear and evil. I listen to the entire piece; at times he sounds like a deluded old man who got one day and realised that he was wasting a lot of time in britain trying to acquire the white man’s dream, which never belong to him.

33. “My problem with this man is that he is not even positing questions or insights that are meaningful. I think Island and Kiki in their stupidity would do a much better job.”

What a condescending pompous and asinine statement! Your self righteousness screams putridity!

34. lemuel | |
    To David;
    —————-
    i thought lemuel was david
    or is it other way around…

35. Aldred, in his somewhat garbled justification for Bamboozled, is not wishing to exegise the bible, but consign it to the dustbin, as not worthy of study because of its use as a tool of oppression wielded by ruling classes for 1700 years.

This is the point of discussion, not the Nostradamus like interpretations we are subjected to by our resident band of happy clappers welcoming in their long-predicted rapture.

Study every ongoing conflict in the world today and what do you find?
    If not as the reason, then certainly as the justification to the brainwashed populace.

RELIGION – I lie?

36. …….and like moths to the flame they come *smdh*

Bimbro…..thought he was gone…..wishful thinking….lol

37. @ DAVID

Your posted comment and question could cover more ground than I am willing to deal with at this time.. ROTFL!!!

However, ZOE*, LEMUEL & others with the exegetical know-how are more than equipped to answer you on this matter…

But here’s my 5 cents worth…

God does not frown on us reading the Bible extispicicly given that there is a roadmap in Scripture that afford us the luxury of seeing how HE* is leading us in our daily lives…

There are 100’s OF WAYS** of interpreting the Bible as any 1st year THEOLOGY* student would tell you…However, when interpretive disagreement occurs, it is usually because of “FAULTY” or inconsistent methods of interpretation – what we call (Hermeneutics) are employed by those have a set AGENDA***… (as in THE SLAVE TRADE)…

The validity, authenticity and authority of Scripture is not entirely limited merely to matters of (RELIGIOUS*) faith – but extends to all that it affirms i.e. historical events, geography, chronology, divine poetry, cosmology, paleoanthropology and the MIRACLES* of the Old/New Testament Scripture to name but a few…

To answer you question on slavery – permit to quote excepts Dr. Peter Gomes’ book aptly titled “THE GOOD BOOK”, p.90-6:

In 1856, the Reverend Thornton Stringfellow, a Virginia Baptist, published his sermon ” A Scriptural View of Slavery”, he argued that God Himself has sanctioned slavery through Noah, Abraham and Joseph, and that the Biblical record was unambiguous…

When a convention of Confederate ministers in Richmond, Virginia, in April 1863, published their “Address to Christians Throughout the World,” making the case for the morality of the Confederate cause as Christians, they said of slavery that they knew it more intimately than their critics…

“We are…alive to all their interests; and we testify in the sight of God that the relations of master and slave among us, however we may deplore abuses in this, as in others relations of mankind, is not incompatible with our holy Christianity, and that the presence of the Africans in our land is an occasion of gratitude on their behalf, before God…”

Arguing that the South had done more than any people on earth for the African race, the ministers further argued that “the practicable plan for benefiting the African race must be the Providential plan – the Scriptural plan…”

To make their position clear, the ministers cite 1 Timothy 6:1-2, where the Apostle instructs the young minister of Jesus (TIMOTHY) on the subject of slavery:

1. Let as many servants as are under the yoke count their own masters worthy of all honour, that the name of God and his doctrine be not blasphemed.

2. And they that have believing masters, let them not despise them, because they are brethren; but rather do them service, because they are faithful and beloved, partakers of the benefit. These things teach and exhort.

3. If any man teach otherwise, and consent not to wholesome words, even the words of our Lord Jesus Christ, and to the doctrine which is according to godliness;

4. He is proud, knowing nothing, but doting about questions and strifes of words, whereof cometh envy, strife, railings, evil surmisings,

5. Perverse disputings of men of corrupt minds, and destitute of the truth, supposing that gain is godliness: from such withdraw thyself.

Southern Christians were quick to point out that slavery was not an accidental or an incidental matter in Biblical times, and that the Apostle Paul took considerable pains in nearly all his letters to regulate slavery, a social fact that he accepted, within the ethics of a Christian society…

This was the sort of debate that provoked and enlivened the controversies of the Reformation and Counter-reformation periods. This was a dispute about the authority and morality of the Bible itself, and about how it ought to be read, interpreted and applied…

Those who wished to challenge the morality of slavery found that they had to challenge both the authority and the interpretation of Scripture…

English evangelists John Wesley and George Whitefield would make the same case against the slave trade in English North America. They argued that the holding of slaves, although permitted in Scripture, was inconsistent with an understanding of the New Testament’s paramount teachings on spiritual rebirth, sanctification and evangelism…

Slaveholders were guilty also, in this view, of gross materialism and greed, in that they regarded slaves as property for gain and profit…

The New Testament teachings against materialism and obsessions with worldly goods were principles to be invoked here, and slaveholders should release their slaves and make Christians of them as an exercise in evangelism…

Abolitionism, essentially a radical and secular political reform movement would take its moral mandate from this sense of injustice and judgment. Its agenda was not to reform the Bible, but to use, according to its members, the clear moral principles of the Bible and its social sanction to obliterate slavery from the nation…

The abolitionists had no patience with the exegetical niceties of their Christian slave-holding opponents, and thought of them as PHARISEES* who, while straining a gnat from their soup, would willing swallow a camel. They knew that the Devil could quote Scripture for his own purpose, and their purpose was to destroy the Devil and all his works, and to redeem Scripture itself…

DAVID, THERE’S A LOT TO BE SAID BUT FOLKS* ARE AFRAID OF SERIOUS DEBATE CHOOSING FOLLY OVER HARD TRUTHS AND ISSUES THAT MAY BE UNCOMFORTABLE…

38. @ LEMUEL

TIMOTHY ALDRED is a fool who has said in his heart there is no GOD*…

I will decide later whether I will buy his book so that I can read what he is saying as a 40 mins VT wouldn’t do justice to what is meant to be some form of scholarship…(but I will do that under advisement)…

Maybe this knucklehead will eventually find this thread somewhere in the TOP POST* in GOOGLE ranking and be able to READ* and be “EDUCATED” about the CRAP* he is purporting…

39. BU has invited the author to participate in the discussion if he so chooses.

40. @ DAVID

Let’s see if he has the intestinal fortitude to step up and step out on the limb he’s on…or whether he will whimper on the sidelines refusing to defend his nonsense…

Maybe our dear brother, would be willing to succumb to a lesson on “THE FRENCH REVOLUTION” AND THE DECHRISTIANIZATION OF FRANCE IN 1793…

I am sure he knows his history (at least I hope so) and remembers that the FRENCH* burned their BIBLES* and for [3] years accepted the “god” of REASON* – a FATE* France has NEVER* been able to live down…

So for all those who want to assign the GOOD BOOK* to the DUSTBIN* – beware…READ* the consequences of the FRENCH REVOLUTION…

Another case in point: CHINA***

THE BOOK THEY USE TO BURN NOW FIRES NEW REVOLUTION IN CHINA…

READ MORE:

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/comment/faith/article3019026.ece

41. It’s pathetic that ‘some people’ seem to think they own this blog, simply because they know one or two big words or have a natural-born gift for invective! I could swallow a dictionary too, but choose to be normal instead.

42. The author has stated what he has discovered about the bible and religion. This is his awakening and why can’t many of you accept that. What he believes in is not important to me as it seems to be of interest to many here. He has just given the reasons and very compelling ones too. why he can’t believe the Bible. All he is saying is that before you believe something get the facts first instead of following the crowd.

43. Terence, congratulations! First rate points, especially as I was just about to ask him what he’d substitute christianity with. Another case in point is, of course, the Soviet Union, not to mention Cuba – both horrendous, basket-cases!

44. In view of which, I consider we all need to be grateful to christianity for the relatively peaceful and civilised framework within which it has provided us to operate to build our lives and those of our children and countries to make life more comfortable and worth living. One has only to look at the countries which don’t have a christian, religious ethic and see how they’re doing, to appreciate the truthfulness of this statement!

45. I kno dat when de day a judgment cum n Sis Bonny gine long up ta de Pearly Gates holdin Jesus’ han, n wunna-all heedens n sheedens callin out fa me ta help wunna ta enta dem Gates too, I gun look dung at wunna-all n simply say, “Kiss Bonny ass”.
    Wunna-all need ta repent n be save-ed.
    hallelujahhhhhhhhh.

When de roll is called up yondaaaaaaaaaaa
    When de roll is called up yondaaaaaaaaaaaa
    when de roll is called up yondaaaaaaaaaa
    I’ll be theirrrrrrrrrrr.

Amen.

Islandgal
    (wink,winkkkk)

46. Bimbro
    Welcum back hunny. I missd ya darely. Wah becum a dah wutless bredda a yourz? He did bout hay pompasettin n carryin on scruffy. He lock up or wah?
    mwahhhhhhhhh.

47. ‎@ all bible believers …..good & evil have always been the balance of life ( it is nature) ..so the Greko/Roman who wrote the LIEble /bible used the natural aspect of life to control your thinking of what we call good & evil/sin…. example how will rain feel with out sunshine , joy without pain ,laughter without cry , hungry without full , life without death etc etc …this is true perfection they must co-exist with each other in a balanced way…no devil never bring down sin or evil on earth …to all Religious fanatics their is KNOWN FACTUAL KNOWLEDGE OUTSIDE of the LIEble/bible Research it and stop qouting words from a book that NO GOD never written. The slave master has programed your mind to defend the LIEble.

48. Island, the facts aren’t always readily available and one has to use other criteria by which to make a judgement. I conclude that he is mistaken in his judgement – as evidence of which, I submit my immedite previous post!

49. Bonny you tekking one route and I tekking anuuder …and we gine end up de same place……..6ft down, but you gine be kissing the next body’s ass when dem get put pon top of yuh. Wink wink sweetie pie.