Source: UNESCOPRESS

The World Heritage Committee has inscribed three new sites on UNESCO’s World Heritage List so far today: the Ancient Beech Forests of Germany as an extension to the World Heritage site of Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians (Slovakia, Ukraine), Historic Bridgetown and its Garrison, the first heritage site of Barbados to enter the World Heritage List; and Hiraizumi – Temples, Gardens and Archaeological Sites Representing the Buddhist Pure Land (Japan).

The Ancient Beech Forests of Germany, represent examples of on-going post-glacial biological and ecological evolution of terrestrial ecosystems and are indispensable to understanding the spread of the Fagus beech in the Northern Hemisphere across a variety of environments. The new inscription represents the addition of five forests totaling 4,391 hectares that are added to the 29,278 hectares of Slovakian and Ukranian beech forests inscribed on the World Heritage List in 2007. The tri-national property is now to be known as the Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians and the Ancient Beech Forests of Germany (Slovakia, Ukraine, Germany).

Historic Bridgetown and its Garrison (Barbados), an outstanding example of British colonial architecture consisting of a well-preserved old town built in the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries, which testifies to the spread of Great Britain’s Atlantic colonial empire. The property also includes a nearby military garrison which consists of numerous historic buildings. With its serpentine urban lay-out the property testifies to a different approach to colonial town-planning compared to the Spanish and Dutch colonial cities of the region which were built along a grid plan.

Hiraizumi – Temples, Gardens and Archaeological Sites Representing the Buddhist Pure Land (Japan) comprises five sites, including the sacred Mount Kinkeisan. It features vestiges of government offices dating from the 11th and 12th centuries when Hiraizumi was the administrative centre of the northern realm of Japan and rivalled Kyoto. The realm was based on the cosmology of Pure Land Buddhism, which spread to Japan in the 8th century. It represented the pure land of Buddha that people aspire to after death, as well as peace of mind in this life. In combination with indigenous Japanese nature worship and Shintoism, Pure Land Buddhism developed a concept of planning and garden design that was unique to Japan.

A total of 35 nominations, including natural, cultural and mixed properties are being reviewed by the Committee, which is holding its 35th session at UNESCO Headquarters in Paris. The session will end on 29 June.

1. Straight talk Avatar

@Ping Pong

There is a fund specifically for the following purposes:-
    “The resources of the Fund may be used only for such purposes as the World Heritage Committee shall define and may take the following form:
    studies concerning the artistic, scientific and technical problems raised by the protection, conservation, presentation and rehabilitation of the cultural and natural heritage, as defined under the terms of the Convention ;
    provision of experts, technicians and skilled labour to ensure that the approved work is correctly carried out ;
    training of staff and specialists at all levels in the field of identification, protection, conservation, presentation and rehabilitation of the cultural and natural heritage ;
    supply of equipment which the State concerned does not
    possess or is not in a position to acquire ;
    low-interest or interest-free loans which might be repayable on a long-term basis ;
    the granting, in exceptional cases and for special reasons, of non-repayable subsidies.”

All avenues which may be explored by our well-known Barbados World
    Heritage Task Force.

2. @Bonny Peppa….Wha happening wid yuh? Like yuh ent getting into dis fray ? De Garrison is yuh stomping ground and yuh ent nuhwhere tah be herd? Ah hope all is well wid yuh , jes drop us a likkle line to put we mind at ease.

Yuh frien Islandgal

3. Peter Stevens Avatar

@ Christopher Halsall
    Not sure what you mean by “trust me”. I did not say that and would not expect it either. You can take what you want from what I say as it is only my point of view. To put my statement another way is that we often (not just Barbadians) look to the big-ups and celebrities for the answers and we are left with the feeling that we can not control things. I don’t believe that and hope I never do and I suspect most people who contribute to this site are of the same mind, otherwise you’d all be watching TV instead.

As for the Dossier. I agree that it should be public. It may already be so as it was supposed to be available at the library; maybe someone can check? However, it should be made available for sale, which is something I know a number of government officials want to do. There is also a government website on it but it has never been completed; another sad comment, I guess.

To answer another question, UNESCO provides substantial technical assistance but the money is not so easy to come by. Only our local laws apply but they will have to be strengthen to insure that we meet international standards and protocols for conservation and preservation. I would have to agree that on balance we have not done as well as we should have with regard to preserving our heritage while at the same time down-grading the value of our architecture.

While it would have been nice to have already acquired an “innate desire to protect”, this designation will be part of that process. I don’t expect this condition to change any time soon but we can have a positive effect by properly enforcing our laws.

4. @Peter Stevens (@PS)…

Thank you for your honest answers to my honest questions.

@PS: “Not sure what you mean by “trust me”. I did not say that and would not expect it either.

Correct. You didn’t say that. I inferred it based on what you said. I might have been wrong.

@PS: “To put my statement another way is that we often (not just Barbadians) look to the big-ups and celebrities for the answers and we are left with the feeling that we can not control things. I don’t believe that and hope I never do and I suspect most people who contribute to this site are of the same mind, otherwise you’d all be watching TV instead.

Agreed.

@PS: “As for the Dossier. I agree that it should be public. It may already be so as it was supposed to be available at the library; maybe someone can check? However, it should be made available for sale, which is something I know a number of government officials want to do. There is also a government website on it but it has never been completed; another sad comment, I guess.

Now here we diverge…

Why must someone transport their atoms to a particular location to purchase bits, when it is far less expensive to simply transmit the bits?

http://www.bajanworldheritage.com/ exists.

Why can they not simply update their web-site with the submission in question?

5. @ Straight Talk & Peter Stevens:

Thanks for the responses.While not holding my breath, I now wait to see what follow-up activities will occur. In the mean time, I hope to join Dr Watson on Sunday morning to learn more about this newly designated world heritage site.

6. To all you bunch of negative,shortsighted,boulder on the shoulder cum bubbles out there I say go break a bottle o beer and sit on it and rotate…………………….Amen.

7. Peter Stevens Avatar

@Christopher Halsall
    I agree that it would be best to provide the Dossier as a download or as a website. Whether the Government intends to do this or not does not really matter as UNESCO will publish the Dossier as a PDF on their site. They have not done it yet, but as with every other inscription, they will.

8. […] the euphoria of making UNESCO’s World Heritage List the job – we are told – begins to sensitize Barbadians to protect the few buildings and […]