Source: UNESCOPRESS

The World Heritage Committee has inscribed three new sites on UNESCOโ€™s World Heritage List so far today: the Ancient Beech Forests of Germany as an extension to the World Heritage site of Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians (Slovakia, Ukraine), Historic Bridgetown and its Garrison, the first heritage site of Barbados to enter the World Heritage List; and Hiraizumi โ€“ Temples, Gardens and Archaeological Sites Representing the Buddhist Pure Land (Japan).

The Ancient Beech Forests of Germany, represent examples of on-going post-glacial biological and ecological evolution of terrestrial ecosystems and are indispensable to understanding the spread of the Fagus beech in the Northern Hemisphere across a variety of environments. The new inscription represents the addition of five forests totaling 4,391 hectares that are added to the 29,278 hectares of Slovakian and Ukranian beech forests inscribed on the World Heritage List in 2007. The tri-national property is now to be known as the Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians and the Ancient Beech Forests of Germany (Slovakia, Ukraine, Germany).

Historic Bridgetown and its Garrison (Barbados), an outstanding example of British colonial architecture consisting of a well-preserved old town built in the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries, which testifies to the spread of Great Britainโ€™s Atlantic colonial empire. The property also includes a nearby military garrison which consists of numerous historic buildings. With its serpentine urban lay-out the property testifies to a different approach to colonial town-planning compared to the Spanish and Dutch colonial cities of the region which were built along a grid plan.

Hiraizumi โ€“ Temples, Gardens and Archaeological Sites Representing the Buddhist Pure Land (Japan) comprises five sites, including the sacred Mount Kinkeisan. It features vestiges of government offices dating from the 11th and 12th centuries when Hiraizumi was the administrative centre of the northern realm of Japan and rivalled Kyoto. The realm was based on the cosmology of Pure Land Buddhism, which spread to Japan in the 8th century. It represented the pure land of Buddha that people aspire to after death, as well as peace of mind in this life. In combination with indigenous Japanese nature worship and Shintoism, Pure Land Buddhism developed a concept of planning and garden design that was unique to Japan.

A total of 35 nominations, including natural, cultural and mixed properties are being reviewed by the Committee, which is holding its 35th session at UNESCO Headquarters in Paris. The session will end on 29 June.

1. St George's Dragon Avatar

I can’t believe anyone would have a bad thing to say about winning this inscription. The answer is yes, people do go on holiday to places which have these sorts of awards.
    The immediate question is whether Town & Country Planning will now refuse the application for the race-track floodlights because of this new status for the Garrison, or whether they grant it on the basis that it doesn’t matter any more.

2. Dr Watson / David. I had not seen Dr Watson’s intervention when I posted mine and I think Dr. Watson has done much to clarify the matter from the perspective of someone who was intimately involved. My contribution is merely from someone who thinks that the designation is totally positive and cannot understand how some normally sensible people seem to have written it off.

3. Bajan in Tourism Avatar
    Bajan in Tourism

All involved are to be congratulated. We however ahev a habit of making statements without the require research. There are countries who did not proceed with the process to World Heritage status, because when the cost/benefit analysis was done the TOURISM benefits were not major.

Could some objective findings of the economic and social benefits be shared with Barbadians.

4. @Checkit-out

You know all contributions are welcomed. The reality is our colonial past is part of our history which can be used for positiveness. This designation is positive, it is up to us to it as a people and run with it.

5. Sometimes living in a forest,can cause you not to see the trees.

6. @ Dr Watson
    “Inscriptions are not lightly given and this application required years of hard work and dedication and apart from the civil servants formally involved, this work was done as a civic duty/ pro bono by dedicated individuals working for the people of Barbados who stand to benefit in many ways”

No No, you not put word “hard work and dedication ” and word “civil servant” in same sentence … No No, particularly if “civil servant” is from Culture Ministry ..no? So serious flaw at start of opinion ..no? Many many “civil servant” from Culture Ministry get travel arrangement many time, this not “hard work and dedication”, this travel arrangement. No where cash to pay for travel arrangement? Where benefit that not belief that tourist come now with new designation?

Now Bajan have “civil servant” take salary and brand land as ex-Colony, not new Barbados! Velly velly pleasing, as with “civil servant” who take salary and place “Her Majesty’s Prison” in name of prison at Dods …. no?

7. Maybe “civil servant” ask for opinion first .. no? Maybe “civil servant” use cal in program program first …no? Maybe political party include in manifesto before election and gauge importance to people no? No no, run off and spend money with many many travel arrangement for useless Culture Ministry and now this velly important achievement …

8. No no not impressed at all. Big African population and British Heritage

9. Re. Bajan in Tourism post of June 26, 2011 at 8:28 PM;

Dr. Watson has indicated that the costs related to campaigning for the world heritage inscription were minimal. Hence I suppose that the costs, of which the countries which did not campaign were frightened, were down-the-road maintenance costs.

Barbados is a tourist destination. The costs of maintaining Bridgetown and the Garrison in a reasonable condition should be standard everyday costs. Of course there may be other opportunity costs that might be involved and that would have to be weighed.

Re. the economic benefits. You should be well placed, as you are in tourism, to identify at least the outlines of such. Re. social benefits, I am not too sure. Would significantly more tourists coming here because of the listing negatively impact our society? Would the types of tourist who would be interested in a Garrison Heritage site be the type of persons we want to attract? If there are no significant increases in tourist arrivals would there be any measurable social effect? Is it likely that measures put in place to maintain the site would create serious problems with some sectors of the society? Would one effect of the listing and improved maintenance of the site be a positive spinoff re. jobs?

I’d be also interested in seeing any cost-benefit analysis that would have been done for the Barbados campaign.

10. Bajan In Tourism Avatar
    Bajan In Tourism

check-it-out. I like this kind of analytical feedback, and I am happy to have got the ball rolling.

11. Government should invest in the preservation and upkeep of the Designated Heritage site and market it as a site for tourist attraction.

Example

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g155019-d184809-Reviews-Fort_York-Toronto_Ontario.html

12. Laughable really. The BTI sits quietly by while the the Old Eye Hospital on Bay Street is allowed to be vandalized into total destruction. Bajans don’t be fooled when you see these historic building destroyed………….they are not destroyed by simple dereliction. More often than not, especially where the property sits on premium land, a campaign by those with a vested interest arrange for the complete destruction of the building albeit over a period of time so that the attention of the public is not drawn to the fact.

I can’t wait to the speed framed video of the validalisation of the Old Eye Hospital on Bay Street is put up on YouTube for all the world to see. Its coming we are just waiting on the final act to pass, the demolition of the building by the BARBADOS TOURISM INVESTMENT INC.

13. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

Not only government, but the hoteliers as well who stand to derive benefit as well, Government cant do everything, the private sector must play its part.

14. @ just only asking,

Example.

Admission Fees and Hours of Operation

Regular: $8.61, Seniors: $4.31, Youth: $4.31, Children: $3.23, Children 5 and under: FREE
    (all prices include HST and are in Canadian dollars)

May 19 โ€“ September 2, 10:00am โ€“ 5:00pm daily

15. The above is the cost to visit Fort York Toronto.

Historical sites generate income to help defray the maintenance

16. Heartattack; re your post of June 26, 2011 at 10:00 PM

Congrats on a most patriotic post, not.

I’m not condoning the BTI’s apparent inaction, nor the venality of the presumed investors. Far from it. But to be so gleeful about a youtube campaign seems somewhat wrong to me. Is’nt there some other way to achieve your quite reasonable and praiseworthy objectives?

17. Notwithsatnding Dr Watson’s comments, I feel that there is a very large dose of hypocrisy involved when our government seeks out such an award. Surely the country will be worse-off when vistors to Barbados, attracted by the World Heritage status, actually get here and see the neglect and destruction of our heritage that is still on-going. What about the projected development of the wharf area? As far as we have been advised, it will involve the complete destruction of the historic warehouses along the wharf. How does that fit in with the notion of “historic Bridgetown”? The old dry dock, one of only 2 or 3 similar docks in the world, actually in use less than 30 years ago, now allowed to deteriorate beyond repair. Dr Watson “hopes” that this designation will encourage developers to think twice before destroying old buildings. Surely such action should be illegal, not voluntary. We cannot have a World Heritage Site without the necessary legislation in place to ensure its existence. Check how “tastefully” the Boatyard has treated the “three sisters” on Bay Street. Is that what we call “preservation? How many more buildings in Bridgetown will suffer a similar fate before government actually acknowledges the World Heritage Award. It’s an honour to receive it. It will be a disgrace to ignore it, but we will.

18. “A man who is tired of London is tired of life”…so said Dr. Samuel Johson in the 1750’s. Having just returned from London last evening this saying still rings true. London is a magnificent city which obviously treasures it’s past. It was not quite the height of the summer tourist season yet the city was teeming with visitors.
    London was not always as clean and beautiful as it presents itself today – all it takes is vision and determination. Bridgetown and the Garrison still has enough character which could be transformed into the jewel of the Americas rivalling places like Quebec City, Havana or San Juan.

@ Christopher Halsall – Your comments are becoming rather tiresome. Take a pill and chill.

19. Peltdownman and Heart attack …… what you have stated is true to the bone. Remember the Harbour Police? Now that was a sight to behold in the sixties around Bridgetown. They are all long gone along with their headquarters. Now that would have been a heritage memory any Tourist would love take back home. When I travel as a tourist the first things I notice is the cleanliness of the place. Tell me how would a Tourist describe Bridgetown? I live here and I find it utterly filthy. I enjoy seeing Bridgetown from the very top of the car park near Lower Broad St. The building which houses Butterfield Bank I think it is called the Mutual building, is a sight to behold. But looking at the dilapidated rooftops of the surroundings says a lot about us as a people. We have no pride in our heritage and surroundings. Getting listed means very little to the population at large. If we cannot maintain and keep our surroundings clean now how the hell can we in the future? We live in a pull down and build up society and we have very little regard for the past. I lived in the Garrison for over 20 years and tell me why the Museum’s car park is still in the state as it was 20 years ago? Bay St is a disgrace, Jemmotts lane a disaster, historically beautiful buildings that were once elegant and attractive are now on the verge of collapse. What is the point of being promoted to the top of the class when you don’t care to put in the hard work to get there and stay there. Yes I am angry, angry about how we treat our Heritage. I say when you drive or walk around this island try to see it in the eyes of a tourist.

20. Duppy Lizard

You taste velly good with fry rice and onion … I have better reason than London … I come look for you ..no?

21. @Duppy Lizard: “Your comments are becoming rather tiresome. Take a pill and chill.

I sincerely appreciate that my comments on this topic may not be entirely welcome.

I stand by them.

Deal with it.

22. @Christopher Halsall

My reference to your comments was not restricted to this post. You simply come across as someone who is full of themself. And that type of individual is usually full of sh–. Frankly I could give two hoots for your quasi pseudo intellectual mumblings.

23. The Britishness of the Barbados and Bridgetown is mainly responsible for the UNESCO Award. I do hope that some of those now shouting and celebrating are not the same ones who we often hear asking for the removal of Lord Nelson’s statue. The changing of the name of the QEH and other regal names in the City and Bank Hall,and the sacking of HM QE2.
    There is monument on the waterfront in Roseau Dominica which states, Thank God the British were here. We should 10 -Four that.

24. Colonel Buggy | June 27, 2011 at 4:15 PM | ……..”The Britishness of the Barbados and Bridgetown is mainly responsible for the UNESCO Award.” Exactly…..those responsible for renaming Trafalgar square to Heroes square and wanting the removal of Lord Nelson like you stated above I hope are not the same ones celebrating this occasion.

25. @Duppy Lizard: “You simply come across as someone who is full of themself. And that type of individual is usually full of shโ€“. Frankly I could give two hoots for your quasi pseudo intellectual mumblings.

Easy to say for an anonymous coward who doesn’t even have the balls to put their own name behind their own words.

Stand up and be counted. Or get out of the way for those who will be and can be….

26. Are you being counted? And by whom? You have proven my point!

27. The only ones who are celebrating this World Heritage are only seeing what’s in it for them and not what’s for the country if before fasttracking to the garrison they would have been more concerned about preserving the bulidings that at one time was of great service to the peoplethat would have said more and meant more But then again we always take the easy way out and pretend as if we have done sometime so great.

28. @Duppy Lizard: “You have proven my point!

And you have proven mine….

29. @All…

Some might find it funny how two men with Irish assents can stop a blog cold…

“You said…

“I didn’t say that…

“Yes you did.

“No I didn’t

“Yes you did.

“No I didn’t…

This can go on for hours.

Some find it funny.

Some don’t….

30. Page 3 of todays Nation drives the nail home. Under the caption “Not a pleasant sight”, it went on to say ……….” Impressive two-story houses stand tall masking the ugliness that lies closely behind…….”

Another Heritage sight.

31. jack spratt | June 26, 2011 at 3:48 PM |
    Can anyone name the other heritage sites in the world? Have you had the urge to leave home and visit them?

I have had the honour of visiting many a Heritage site abroad, and without a doubt they attract a huge amount of visitors,and are heavily patronised by cruise ship passengers if they happed to be near the port of call. The Garrison has great potential ,I first got to know the Garrison as member of the Regiment,and subsequently worked in the area for 3 decades,and still find it an attractive place that many would like to see. When I first joined the Regiment, the then Adjutant Major (later Colonel) Leonard Banfield made sure that every recruit received a sound knowledge of the History of the Garrison, and this is something that appeared not to have been passed on to the average Bajan.Except for Bush Hill and the Grand Stand, many are unaware of the role played by the Garrison,which was home to the West India Regiment.
    The book Empty Sleeve by Brian Dyde tells the story of the Garrison and other Garrisons in the Caribbean.
    Fort Shirley in Dominica was also home to one of the West India Regiment Battalions, many of whom were black. These black soldiers as freemen were relatively well looked after,and during the days of slavery were the envy of slaves. The slaves in Dominica started a malicious and unfounded rumour that the British Army was disbanding the West Indian Regiment and returning the redundant to slavery. This led to a revolt where many of the solders were killed by the Brit Marines,and those who survived were jailed.
    http://www.abebooks.com/servlet/BookDetailsPL?bi=2685325516&searchurl=an%3DBrian%2BDyde%26ph%3D2%26sortby%3D1%26tn%3DThe%2BEmpty%2BSleeve

32. The World Heritage Site designation is a huge positive for any destination, especially one with it’s main industry being tourism. Now the focus has to be the maintenance and preservation of Bridgetown and it’s historic buildings. The Garrison has been well preserved and is an important feature of our heritage, whether we like it or not. Why not make the most of it?

33. Certainly Dame Billie Miller and Noel Lynch (Min of Tourism) deserve a pat on the back for the transformation of Bridgetown during the last decade or so,since in the last few years nothing has been done to enhance or continue the re-development of the City.
    But this will not stop the Hi-Jackers from operating.

I am not a party faithful, Yardfowl or Paling cock, Sir!

34. We should try not to confuse World Heritage inscription with other issues we may have. Heritage and history cannot be chosen and it is not always pretty, as in our case. However, our heritage, whether we like it or not, has formed our character and to truly understand this we can not, or should not, be selective about it. This successful bid for World Heritage status is more about recognizing how important Barbados has been in World history and in no way should be seen as a glorification of any past regime. It speaks volumes, though, for what we strive to achieve today and that is something to be admired.

As for those who doubt the motives or or contributions of those involved with the application to UNESCO, well we should all know that we do not live in a fantasy world. However, don’t tar everyone with the same brush! While there are always those with personal agendas, there are also many who made honest and valid contributions and did it because they believe it is best for all, not just the few. And that is something that needs to be reinforced with all Barbadians. If we utilise this opportunity wisely, then it will make a difference to our society in a substantially positive way.

World Heritage inscription can bring huge fanancial rewards or security, depending on how you look at it, and this does not need to mean large extra numbers of visitors. Heritage tourism is more lucrative than beach tourism and we have to learn how to to tap into its different layers. Then there are also the social benefits. Many comments on this thread have been about the condition of our sites and this is a real problem. Issues of preservation and conservation are a form of caring. It rejects waste and respects the workmanship of earlier generations and the landscape in which our ancestors existed. This provides a connection to the people of our past and, like a family, ingenders a form of social security.

On a more practical level, we, as a nation, have never really embraced conservation and this has led to the ineffectiveness of the laws, we already have in place, to protect our built heritage. Rather than see this inscription as a distraction to these problems, it will likely bring a greater understanding of the issues and result in better practices.

Also, contrary to some suggestions, there has been little effective study done on the measureable effects of World Heritage status, but what has been done, suggests that we have to be careful that we don’t over-heat things!

It is also not true that this is simply a celebration of some sort that is somehow temporary. The process of World Heriatge will never stop, if we want to derive the benefits it can bring. As stated by another, previously, there is a hidden cost to inscription, but that cost should be viewed in the context of the return, and we are not expected to do it all at once.

Further, I would also like to state that Barbados has not gained this status through a rejection of the validiity of any other sites. The remarks about the street layout of Bridgetown were a reference to one small facet of the application which was almost ground-breaking in the case it presented. In actual fact, sites such as our lag behind all the inscriptions already awarded to the Spanish, Portugese, German etc. We have only redressed the balance, to a degree.

35. BajaninTourism Avatar

Mr Stevesn – what is beach tourism? Where is the statistical evidence to support your point that Heritage Tourism is more lucrative than what you call beach tourism. Last time I checked our beached, warm weather and other simialr attribute motivate Visitors to our region.

Please bring supporting evidence when you speak. The lsiting is an achievement, but do not get carried away. Please inform readers. You may want to speak to CTO’s Research and Information Technology Specilaist before you write.

36. @BajaninTourism
    I don’t think that Peter Stevens is getting carried away. He contributed greatly to the creation of the dossier which argued successfully for our inscription and was a very valuable and valued member of the team which won the inscription for Barbados. He is also a member of the Garrison Consortium which has exciting and practical proposals for the marketing of the Garrison area. You may have noticed small but essential steps such as the identification of Garrison structures with plaques, the provision of new garbage receptacles, the provision of new benches, the planting of new trees to replace old ones lost during the passage of Tomas. There is more, much more to come. I read his impressive contribution carefully and I see nothing in there to create a dichotomy between beach and heritage tourism…the two are complementary not oppositional. Of course our weather, beaches and sea will continue to be our major drawing card, but this inscription has now opened a door which only we can take advantage of…this is the gist of Mr Steven’s submission. In a previous career, I managed the West European Tourist Office for the Government of Barbados. On my desk, I had a file of letters from European visitors..not just Germans..who complained that after soaking up the sun, there was little else to do…not quite factual, but this was their perspective. Europeans consider the learning experience/exposure to new cultures as an integral part of their vacation. The cachet of a World Heritage inscription can draw visitors of a type that we need. What I believe Mr Stevens was alluding to, is the fact that demographic analysis of visitors shows that those with an interest in heritage, tend to have greater disposable income, and so per capita, generate greater tourism revenues. As I said, the door is now open, but only we can take advantage of the opportunities it presents.
    Regarding beaches…did you see the recent (last two days) report, disseminated around the world,on the Ten World Beaches to See Before They Disappear. Number nine was Mullins Beach, Barbados. Not nice publicity but a fact related to global warming and bad beach usage. What has happened there can happen elsewhere on the island….where do we go then, if we only rely on beach tourism?

37. The ball has already started to roll.

Tune in to cbc.bb tomorrow night (Wednesday 29 June)8:3O and watch a documentary which features the Garrison.O and watch a documentary which features the Garrison.

38. Peter Stevens Avatar

I think Dr. Watson has addressed the comments by ‘Bajanin Tourism’ better than I would have. While I do not feel an obligation to supply chapter and verse in what is a voluntary contribution to WordPress, I will always be prepared to clarify any statement I make, when asked.

39. Straight talk Avatar

Blamelessly cursing the past for our problems of today, necessitating the reckless borrowing to uphold the lifestyle we thought we deserved, knowingly shackling the children of tomorrow into the very same servitude we borrowed to escape from, just a different master.

Forty-five years of Pride and Industry is all it took.

40. BTW enough of all the small talk . Now tell us DR> Watson and Peter Stevens when you all going to do somethingabout the preservation of the few remaing historical sites before they burn to the ground like Farley Hill and Sams Lord Castle did.You could start with that eyesore “The EMPIRE THEATRE’.

41. Is It Dr Watson or Peter Stevens that we should be appealing to about the preservation of historical sites in Bridgetown and the island in general ? We have elected members of parliament who we should be presenting our demands to. Everyone of them live in Barbados and are fully aware of the decay that has set in .They are not there to jump on the band wagon after the job has been done. But as I’ve mentioned before, sometimes living in a forest prevent you from seeing the trees.
    On Christmas morning Bajans parade in Queen’s Park in their finest,and could not care a damn about the rapidly decaying main building which once was the quarters of the General Officer Commanding the West India Regiment, but behind this building and next door to Harrison College are some dilapidated buildings that are deplorable to say the least.
    I have a number of photos of decaying buildings on Flickr, which I intend to remove soonest.
    But who really are the
    Strict guardians of our heritage ,and firm craftsmen of our fate?
    I salute those who are making their contribution

42. It a wonder honour to have the Garrison named a world Heritage site and will enchance the attractions of Barbados . Even tourists can get tired of sitting on the beach especially if the weather is not so good.

It is a pity the rest of the place is so full of litter and crap.
    Last week saw a cop car hurtle pass while throwing a couple of food boxes out of the window we can always count on the boys in blue to keep up standards.

43. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

We are all guardian of our heritage and we must play our part. Successive governments have promised to restore the Empire Theartre and evvery time i look at that building i cringe.

Nice contributions from mr. steven and dr. watson. I support the view that most of those persons who would be interested in heritage tourims would have more disposable income. has anyone spared the thought to reflect how our tourism peoduct has changed overtime. Very early, we used to have the very wealthy who used to generate the bulk of our tourism dollars, before the shif was made to mass tourisms, more tourists, but considrably less revenure per tourist.

44. Is it Dr. Watson or Peter Stevens we should be appealing to about the preservation of historical sites.”

If those people know how to take te football down field and score ! Then why continue to waste time with hopeless politicians who for over the years have only been able to deliver empty promises. We should appeal to those in our society who can score home runs for the team. The others we discard by the wayside when it comes time to vote.

@colonel Buggy.

Is your website “Barbados in Focus i visit it often lovely pictures..

45. I know it is a part of our history, however unpleasant, and I don’t mind it being featured in an honest manner. My question therefore is why does the contributions of our enslaved and non-enslaved African ancestors consistenly get written out? The two sites are being celebrated as “supreme examples of British architecture”. True enough and I don’t have a problem with that, but those military garrisons didn’t build themselves, and those colonial buildings in Bridgetown didn’t build themselves either.

Also I looked at all of the sites that are on the UNESCO list and to answer an earlier question – yes, there are definitely some featured there that I was not aware of at all, or that I was only vaguely aware of, before I saw them mentioned on the UNESCO list. And now it has only peaked my curiosity to visit them even more, after seeing them featured.

46. @ac.
    I post under FlickR.com. Yes Barbados in focus , do have some lovely pics.

47. Peter Stevens Avatar

What we are all hearing in the media are just snippets from the application dossier, submitted last year. This dossier took more than a year to prepare and contains more than 330 pages of information about the site. It is much more than just about British architectural influence and does include much about our African ancestors. However, this Dossier has not been read by many and should be published for all to see as it puts Barbados in an international perspective not previously revealed in such a comprehensive manner.

So, just keep in mind that we are not hearing anything like the whole story about what our World Heritage inscription has been all about.

On the issues raised about the state of the Empire Theatre and all those other dilapidated historic buildings. Again, the full story on many of these structures is not in the public domain. The Empire has gone through a process of assessment and redevelopment which stopped because the redevelopment of the exiting building was inappropriate. Town Planning recognized that fact and refused the development. The Barbados National Trust has been involved in all this process and are at one with Town Planning. We are going to have to wait this one out for both the funding and redesign, but we must insure that what is done is done properly and within the good practices of preservation and conservation.

It is unfortunate that much of the work done by the National Trust has to be behind the scenes. This means that there will always be the perception that nothing is being done by either the Trust or the politicians. In many cases the politicians are doing the best they can under very exasperting circumstances. The Trust works hard, has to keep its mouth shut, more often than not, and then take on the chin the myriad of complaints from the public. For every instance that there is the appearance of failure, there are probably ten other successes than cannot be publicised for one reason or another. I think this will change as the country begins to understand what is at stake and the Trust tackles it PR is a much better fashion.

Remember, the politicians are there because we put them there – We are responsible. If we don’t like it, then we can change it. We each try to have an effect in the best way we can. Sometimes this goes unnoticed but that doesn’t alter the reality that something is going on. It may be that the best thing we can do on any particular day is tell someone “good morning”, then the next we have to test our conscience and see what we are made of. What I am saying in a very round-a-bout way is that it is not up to Dr Watson and myself and any of the other hard-working conservationists, or the politicians, it is up to the whole country. We can only suggest possibilities, but that means nothing without back-up, and plenty of it!

48. @Peter Stevens (PS)… A moving statement.

But…

Many don’t put much value behind the words “trust me”.

@PS: “… However, this Dossier has not been read by many and should be published for all to see as it puts Barbados in an international perspective not previously revealed in such a comprehensive manner.

This was paid for by Bajan taxpayers, was it not?

So why is it not publicly available?

It would support your argument, would it not?

I would argue that the Public would be far more understanding if they knew what was actually going on.

49. Does the designation of “World Heritage site” create any enforceable burdens on Barbados other than a moral responsibility to preserve artifacts and spaces associated with the so designated area? To date, Barbados doesn’t appear to me to be doing a very good job at preserving our cultural and natural heritage. Does this designation provide access to resources (financial and/or technical) that will assist in the preservation and enhancement of Bridgetown and the Garrison area that was not available to the country before the award of the designation?

50. The world heritage designation is welcomed for what it offers. It is interesting to observe the public’s reaction since the announcement. It hammers home the point made by Dr. Watson in his first post of the potential of the designation to promote awareness among Barbadians. It is a sad commentary that an innate desire to protect/preserve our history does not already exist.