12 Storey Hyatt Hotel to be Built on Bridgetown UNESCO World Heritage Site

Submitted by Anthony Davis
markmaloney_markcummins

Mark Maloney (l) Mark Cummins (r)

It has taken three years to get to this stage but work on the much anticipated US $100 million Hyatt Centric Resort is finally set to get under way within the next two months – Barbados Today

In a letter to BARBADOS UNDERGROUND under the headline BAJANS WAKE UP! YOU ARE ABOUT TO LOSE BROWN’S BEACH David Comissiong wrote, among other things: “The foreign businessmen, Patrick McCudden, also informed the people of Barbados that all senior positions at the new hotel  WILL be filled by “EXPATRIATES”! (Apparently, we Barbadians are only qualified to hold low level jobs in this Hyatt hotel!)

Pray tell me, ministers Sealy and Sinckler, didn’t the PM say recently that the BLP has a number of spineless men in its party?

If what Mr. Comissiong says is true about only expatriates will have the top jobs at the Hyatt hotel, where are your spines when you allow some foreign bigot to stipulate such?

Are there no people in this country who qualify for such positions?

I, like Mr. Comissiong, am totally against the building of such a monstrosity on any part of Brown’s beach!

Brown’s beach is one of the last pristine beaches in this country where not only the indigenous go, but many of those repeat visitors who cannot afford the type of prices the clients of this hotel chain can.

If no planning permission has been given yet, does that not make the signing of that document null and void?

I cannot see how “the exterior will be blended with historic Garrison and Bridgetown”, because, as far as I know, there were no twelve storey eyesores during the time of slavery.

What makes it worse is that there will be 12-storey twin towers desecrating the landscape along Brown’s beach. This means that one will not be able to see the beauty of the beach when one drives, rides, or walks along Bay Street, meaning that those tourists who come here for the first time, and hire cars will not know what as beautiful beach hidden by that 12-storey, camouflaged hotel!

What about vehicles entering/exiting that property?

That will cause more obstruction/congestion on Bay Street – especially at peak times where the traffic is already very bad!

I surmise that the highest buildings during the slavery period would have been Sam Lord’s castle, and the churches, so wheel and come again!

I have the feeling that not one of you cares if Barbados loses its WHO World Heritage Site designation.

Dresden, a city in Germany, lost its its designation because the authorities had the bright idea of building a new bridge over the river there. I really think that you should keep the drawings for that monstrosity exactly where they are – awaiting approval. This hotel will be right opposite Bethel Methodist church, so tell me how will it blend in with the architecture of that church?

I’ve not heard so much gobbledygook in a long while!

Brown’s beach should be left as it is.

I’m also one who think that we will not be able to walk among the rich, the famous and the bigoted once that monstrosity is there!

I would also like to know what kind of sweetheart deal the owners have received, seeing that the indigenous hotels have not received the same deal that Sandals has up to now!

Government will not see one red cent in foreign exchange from the owners of the condominiums, as that money will leave the island as fast as it comes, and the owners will be foreigners.

How about the Building Code which states that buildings should not be above a certain height?

Has that been rescinded?

You are selling our heritage, our scions’ and their scions’ heritage for thirty pieces of silver!

I hope that you know what happened with Judas!

The marvel of all history is the patience with which men and women submit to burdens unnecessarily laid upon them by their governments. – William H. Borah

87 comments

• Those who would Stifle INNOVATION, ENTREPRENEURSHIP, and EXPANSION of OPPORTUNITIES as in the Hyatt Project are not Envisioning a Boost of the Dying City of Bridgetown instead their Objective is to Continue to Rivet and Pursue the Destruction of the One responsible for A PHASE of such a Development at the Expense of their own Country.

Governments would have previously given the Green lights to the Development of this Carslile area right down to the Waterfront. Would such an Expansion of Carslile Bay Browns Beach also be Destructive to Bridgetown and Barbados?

There should also be included in this Development more Births in Carslile Bay to Facilitate the Docking of more Tourist Ship and Super Yachts that would also Recover Barbados in every which way as Barbados is an Expensive Destination and we need to Cater to those who can Afford Us.

Those who Oppose Expansions in the First Phase of the Carslile Bay Development by an ENTREPRENEUR are Trying To Doom Barbados not Boom Barbados…

STOP SUPPORTING COLLECTIVISM AS IN SOCIALISM AND SUPPORT INDIVIDUALISM AS IN ENTREPRENEURSHIP…

IN THE NUT-SHELL, “THE WHOLE PURPOSE OF THIS DEBATE ON THE CHARSLILE BAY DEVELOPMENT…

LEARN FROM THE GENTLEMAN WHO UNDERSTOOD THE IDEOLOGY OF THE ENEMY OF HIS TIME AND OUR TIME!!!

• That area was never a window to the sea nor was it a beach.All along that stretch was seawater and dirty black stone or rocks as bajans say.I think the Hyatt should enhance employment opportunities and it is normal to have top tier foreign management at least as in the case of the Hilton hotel.Recall one of our own Eddie Robinson became Manager of Hilton Toronto and Billy Griffith is a UWI trained manager of substance.We should weigh the negatives against the positives and determine a balance given current opportunities in a market that is highly competitive particularly with Cuba once again entering the lucrative US market.Brand name,location,and job opportunities provide a good mix.The Hilton and Holiday Inn didn’t stop Bajans from enjoying Brownes beach and neither should Hyatt.
    Now if only the DLP rats can get 4 Seasons,Sam Lords and Beaches at Heywoods up and running,Mia will be hard pressed to rule out a third term.

• Gabriel, your optimism is boundless. You are referring to this lot who can’t collect garbage, deliver water, maintain roads, cut a deal with a hotelier that is fair to Barbados, provide a reliable transport service….and you wishfully hope for 4 Seasons, Sam Lords and Beaches? Control yourself or I won’t let you drink any more of the cool aid.

• Only middle class professionals with substantial bank accounts and guaranteed pension plans can afford to heap scorn on a major hotel project that could potentially provide livelihoods for dozens, perhaps hundreds, of working class Bajans.
    These are some of the same professionals who complain constantly about a sluggish economy, and blame the ruling party.A completely irresponsible attitude is evident here.

• @Gabrial
    @Chad

What does the Environmental Impact Study say?

Are you happy with how the project was awarded read government financial rules?

• The problem is not the hotel per se but the concept behind the hotel.If Bridgetown is dying then the common sense approach is to have a tourism facility that enhances and promotes activity in the environs of that facility.If the tours etc through Bridgetown is to promote the UNESCO designation then its obvious you should cater to the rank and file tourist.A bed and breakfast facility to encourage tourists to get out and indulge in locale fare.The Hyatt sounds like an idea of failure to promote the idea a wealthy tourist coming to slum among natives.Good look with that.Its called FAILURE.I wont be surprised if that Hyatt will have provision for a helipad.

• David, it is certainly true that I have not seen the EIA, but I have read hundreds of impact statements, and not one of them was ever a dealbreaker.There is little hard science in an EIA. It is almost always a political document shaped by judgment and guesswork. In any case, the technology exists to prevent any hotel from severely damaging the area we are discussing.

Liked by 1 person

• Let us stop playing the World Heritage Site card. From the many ramshackled and run down buildings in the Garrison and Bridgetown areas ,and the piles of festering garbage and unkempt surroundings everywhere, it is patently obvious that our illustrious leaders do not give a rat’s arse if our fast becoming City of Hamelin on the Constitution River, retains its UNESCO World Heritage Site status or not. When you hear Minister of Culture Lashley speaking so glowingly of the Garrison and Bridgetown , I can only concur that , like his comrades in politics, not only do they think that all Bajans have short memories, but that they are also stupid and as blind as the proverbial bat.
    Perhaps the enterprising lady next door to the proposed Hyatt hotel may consider selling the old Plantation Building to the hotel as parking pace.
    The completion of the hotel will mean an increase in surrounding property values. Does that mean tenants in the adjacent London Bourne Towers will be saddled with higher rents?

Liked by 1 person

• @ GABRIEL:- I have NO idea if you are speaking about the same Browns Beach that I grew up in Barbados and enjoyed playing games, swimming, watching fishermen bring in their catch. So are you saying that Browns Beach has turned to dirty black stones, and not a beach? Browns Beach has many memories for many of us that was born and raised in Barbados. Even though I don’t live in Barbados anymore. I have been back, and even gotten friends to visit Barbados. And in doing so many of them enjoyed their visit to Browns Beach. So are you speaking about the same beach? Year ago the Eye Ward for the hospital was right there; So do you also agree that as long as Foreign Investors are investing in Barbados, they should have the right to just give Barbadians LESSER THAN MANAGERIAL POSITIONS? When I am quite sure that Barbados has QUALIFIED people who can do the jobs that the Foreign Investors are bring outsiders to do. So back to SLAVE & MASTER way of doing business. When you are in MY HOUSE. YOU FOLLOW MY RULES; THIS IS HOW THE SITUATION SHOULD BE PLAYED OUT. Barbados has many educated and qualified people who can do just about ANYTHING that’s required of them;

• SuckaBubby August 1, 2016 at 11:08 PM #
    The Hyatt sounds like an idea of failure to promote the idea a wealthy tourist coming to slum among natives.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    You will be surprised what stops our government , be it D or B, will pull out sharpish to accommodate the wealthy, even if it means shifting the natives away. Perhaps the same contractor, may strike a deal with Kellman and the Government, where the London Bourne Towers may become an annex of Hyatt, and the present tenants offer alternative accommodation at the Grotto, or Coverley.

• An interesting article

…..have any of us taken time out to look at the present tourism model and its impact on our country and citizens.

…..do we want highrises doting our skyline,our beaches becoming impassable and our sons and daughters subjugated to continued dependancy on the whims and fancies of the leadership of a few offshore entities whose dollars will rarely see the shores of Bim.

…..have we explored other models such as inhouse homestay where each householder will offer his own unique package to potential visitors to our country which will guarantee a truly bajan experience with the dollars remaining here.

……why do we slavishly follow the paths travelled by others instead of being creative and blazing our own trail?

Liked by 1 person

• Please tell me someone, anyone, what has Bridgetown world heritage designation done to improve our economy and create hundreds of jobs? So Until someone shows me that thousands of tourist have visited barbados and hundreds of jobs were created because of Bridgetown world heritage designation I will continue to support projects like this. And if we don’t becareful with out negativity instead of Bridgetown being historic, Bridgetown will be history instead.

• @ Vincent (wait skippa, you back in Bim…?)
    ……why do we slavishly follow the paths travelled by others instead of being creative and blazing our own trail?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Have you EVER seen a brass bowl blazing a trail…?
    Brass bowls, at best, reflect their surroundings.
    Even occasionally intelligent bloggers are suggesting that the proposal is ‘OK’ because it will employ lots of poor people…..

‘Brilliant’ logic…
    Slavery did too….
    …so does prostitution.

• @Vincent H

The model of tourism you are referencing has been experimented with several times, most famously in Port Antonio, Jamaica.The problem is that it has rarely been successful, and it has never generated the financial returns that are frequently achieved by more conventional approaches to tourism.
    Our principal markets are in the UK, Canada and the US, and the majority of the people from those countries who visit the Caribbean don’t what to be too close to the locals. It’s a matter of cultural difference, personal hygiene, and racial aesthetics. It’s their money that runs the show, and they get to choose the arrangements with which they are most comfortable.

• “The foreign businessmen, Patrick McCudden, also informed the people of Barbados that all senior positions at the new hotel WILL be filled by “EXPATRIATES!”

Expatriates holding senior positions in hotels is the norm in Barbados. After spending 2 years at BCC’s Pom Marine and 3 years at UWI pursuing degrees in culinary arts, tourism and hospitality management, Barbadians are qualified only for jobs such as stewards, cooks, maids, bellman, concierge, front desk clerks, pool attendants, accounts clerks or front desk clerks.

While union agreements control the wages of these employees according to whether the hotel is “5 diamond,” “5 star,” “grade A or grade B,” the expatriates are paid “enormous” salaries, allowances and the hotel pays their income taxes and national insurance, while they, their relatives and friends can eat and drink in the restaurants FREE of COST.

But according to “Pete,” this nonsense is “okay” because it “improve our economy and create hundreds of jobs.”

• @ Vincent Haynes

The home-stay model has been successful in Caribbean islands such as Montserrat, Saba, St. Eustatius and Anguilla.

Using Jamaica, where there is a serious influx of crime, is a terrible example.

• Bush Tea August 2, 2016 at 7:02 AM #

Not yet bozy….um ain cold yet……
    Looks like perishing due to lack of vision will be our lot.

Artax August 2, 2016 at 7:56 AM #

Thanks for correcting Chad of the 9 lives.

• Well Well & Consequences

Hyatt in Trinidad is very popular and successful with Caribbeab folk, I have stayed there, the service is phenomenal. …the likes of Maloney would want to discourage local stay at Hyatt in bim, the hotels in Barbados only grudgingly agreed to staycations because foreign tourists have cheaper destinations to gallivant.

At one time blacks in Barbados were not welcomed on hotel properties unless they worjed menial jobs at those hotels,

Cuba will take care of those present hoteliers thinking they have slaves working for them whike they bank all the money outside of Barbados….this is a quite different era.

It’s time these nasty, low class, wannabe slave masters are stopped in their tracks.

• Why are we dwelling on views and the usual silly arguments even when David the blogmaster keeps raising the pertinent issues? Process; inappropriateness of the proposal; the lack of a strategic approach to the development of the Pierhead and to tourism as a whole; lack of public consultation are just some of the far more important issues.
    We need to focus on the developers designing a building that responds to the site’s context as well as that of Bridgetown as a whole. For example, the architecture and materials of the buildings should reflect the historic setting. The site layout should also promote access and views to the beach by incorporating adequate public realm. The idea for a boutique hotel on the site makes sense, but the height and Hyatt centric model are not and certainly not condos if your aim is to “return life to Bridgetown”. Any tall buildings for the Bay Street/Pierhead area should be built to the rear of Cavans Lane to landmark the area.
    Cutting and pasting Hyatt centric is not innovation. Villages at Coverley redux.

Liked by 1 person

• Will we be seeking guarantees that once this building begins, that the same thing that happened to Four Seasons and other beach front projects, i.e. a drying up of financing, will preclude another eyesore in our midst? Letters of comfort (for a fool), central bank oversight and other concrete assurances so that lack of funds does not cause another project to be abandoned at the half way point.

• An inevitability about accepting investment – in this case hotel management from Hyatt – is that we lose control of the enterprise. If you have mauby pockets to support ostentatious lifestyle, what else?

• In the early 90’s the Advocate newspaper published an artist’s impression of the proposed Pierhead Project.It was a well thought out plan of a marina and ancillary accommodation that would have enhanced the Barbados image 100%.I believe Owen Arthur was gung-ho about this idea and appeared to be cosying up to the Leper up to ’06 or ’07 because Shipping and Trading which was involved in the 90’s proposal,withdrew for whatever reason….some say finance,some say the loss of DLP and Lynch support post ’94.Arthur seem to have thought the Leper had access to millions through his mentor Duprey both of whom became notorious for mishandling public money entrusted to their care.

• No structure should be built in Barbados without “full public disclosure” unless it is a matter of national security.

The island of Barbados belongs to the people of Barbados.

• David
    To respond to your view of the Impact Assessment,it is going to be the straw that breaks the camel’s back.Placing a hotel of that size on lower Bay is a traffic logistics nightmare.The continued exodus from Bridgetown also suggest it is a tad late to hotelize the city that is a ghost city.Such a project might be better placed in the Gap.I believe Paul would love to have it near Limegrove.Who knows,the DLP might give consideration to leasing the site of the Holetown Police Complex providing Maloney would fund the relocation of the Complex to an accessible land side area at Trents.Given the speed with which he built the cement warehouse at the Port,the Complex should take no more than a year to complete and readied for occupation.

• THESE ARTICLES ARE BEING INFLUENCED BY PEOPLES ADHERENCE TO SOCIALIST PRINCIPLES AND PERPETUATED BY DAVID COMMISSONG AND HIS LIKE, WHO REPRESENT, ‘THE RED THREAD’, SOCIALIST IDEOLOGY RIGHT HERE IN BIM…

We should become Informed about Communism, about Socialism, and about Freedom. We should also know why the Communist leaders consider Socialism the Highroad to Communism.

“The Goal Of Socialism Is Communism”. Vladimir Lenin.

THIS IS THE VOICE I HEAR RINGING FROM THIS ARTICLE…

Tao Te Ching

The more laws and restrictions there are,
    The poorer people become….
    The more ingenious and clever men are,
    The more strange things happen….
    The more rules and regulations,
    The more thieves and robbers.

BEWARE OF SOCIALISM (COMMUNISM LITE) RUSE IN BIM!

“No individual is to own anything. Everything belongs to the state. All Properties, Utilities, Industries, and Persons are to be Owned by the Entire Body Politic, Represented By The Government”. A good example is what is happening in Venezuela or Barbados…

What Ripple Effects are we Witnessing of such Control? The Elitist Fatten Himself or Herself While Everyone Else Literally Starve. THEY HAVE SUCKED SO MUCH OUT OF THE PEOPLE IN BARBADOS THAT THE HOST IS DYING.

Communism is fundamentally Socialism. We will never win our fight against Communism by making Concessions to Socialism. The Roots of Socialism are firmly planted in Communism.

DO NOT MAKE THE MISTAKE THAT COMMISONG ET AL HAVE YOUR INTEREST AT HEART.

NOW PERPETUATED AND SUPPORTED BY VOICES OF THOSE WHO ADHERE TO COMMUNIST LITE, AWARE OR UNAWARE OF THIS PLOY!!!

ARTICLES AS SUCH SHOULD BE A RED FLAG…

VENEZUELA IS ON THE BRINK OF TOTAL COLLAPSE…

Capitalism does not do this to countries. Socialism does. The end is near but it will not be sufficient for Venezuela to simply get rid of this one clown. It must rid itself of the ideology of envy and plunder that makes war on individuals, their rights and their enterprises.

The Marxist “paradise” once worshiped by such Hollywood naifs as Sean Penn, Oliver Stone, Danny Glover and Michael Moore is now forcing its citizens to work on neglected farms. The celebs haven’t …

DO WE ENVISION THIS FOR BARBADOS… WE AREN’T THAT FAR AWAY!!!

http://nypost.com/2016/07/31/venezuela-is-on-the-brink-of-total-collapse/

• This conversation is premature. My understanding is that finance has not been secured for this project. I am doubtful that it ever will be. I would not put my money in the unproven concept that expats will want to live in Bridgetown.

• @ Old Baje
    Do you know the joke about the security guard who, after months of investigation, stop-and-searches, and other undercover work …finally gave up and asked of the man who pushed an empty wheelbarrow past him every friday night…. “Boss. I give up … tell muh wuh going down here nuh!!?? The wheelbarrow is ALWAYS empty. …. what you stealing..???…”

The answer…
    “Wheelbarrows Skippa…”

Do you REALLY think that the DLP is interested in building any damn hotel?
    Did you REALLY think they would build a CAHILL plant…?
    Were you REALLY expecting a ‘Japanese funded Sugar super-factory?”
    …steupsss… all damn wheelbarrows..
    These morons are just after petty finder’s fees; legal fees; free trips; and plain old bribes…

BU shut down CAHILL before the REAL big bribes changed hands ..so now they are coming with a safer scheme – a hotel.
    By the time this shiite project is abandoned this time around…they will have collected their real bribes – unlike CAHILL..

Liked by 1 person

• Bush shit why dont u stfup cause all u can do is add a wheel barrow full of sh.tty crticism. Wuh happen to uh so called ten point plan which so far have attracted two followers u and Piece

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ Legion

Fret not thyself evil doer…your day cometh in January 2017

I am not sure what following the BUP has gathered but I do know that the Posters for Change that 3 Posters here on BU have posted have cumulatively achieved 200,000 views!!!

Talk whatever we want Legion, even I, ole stoopid cartoon maker that I am, am cognisant of the FACT, THE UNASSAILABLE FACT, that MIA WILL BE PRIME MINISTER WHEN THE BELL RINGS.

Neither you nor your political party know OR HAVE ACCESS TO, the mechanisms that will make her Prime Minister.

The only thing one fears is her desire to be Prime Minister for life!!

As I have said before THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH SUCH A DESIRE, Looka your deluded Fumbles, prophesying such for himself, but mine is a fear that she will not relinquish it by the means available to the electorate.

Such is unfounded and ungrounded but I see the nature of the Beast.

So here is the next round.

Your fellers put up more of these smoke screens as a way to extort money from the bajan white oligarchs. You are now blackmailing them to pay you fees.

Let me share.

Whereas Bizzy would give $1 million to BOTH SIDES, he is not giving you any money directly ASK ***, in fact the white coffers are drying up.

So your rather the DLP’s workaround is these 15 storey schemes and forcing them through the system.

A $2 million here and there and it adds up.

But let me just tell you fellows this.

Store up the “bribes money”, and please do not put it in your wives names because TO A MAN, thise of you that have done this, the one’s without boyfriends that is, when those significant others get to see the pictures of your “Indiscretions” that have been collected on your donkeys, that “golden parachute” is going to be effed up. BIG TIME.

Remember Suckyou and be warned of the inherent dangers of joint accounts and disgruntled spouses.

You are alllll so predictable, an intelligence community’s perfect HUMINT scenario.

Dishonest – with amateurish, traceable bank accounts
    Predictable Bribe Encounters – all recordable and which you talk about on Cell Phones!!
    Avaricious – and without any care for anyone but self, NOT EVEN YOUR RESPECTIVE FAMILIES
    Dufuses – and think that wunna bright and got big foot ideas and moves
    Fecundities – and you know what that means

• @ Bush Tea,

I too was surprised with Vincent’s sage comments at 4.31.

Take a look at Richard’s Branson approach to tourism within the Caribbean. It could possibly be an economic blueprint for our region. Although i am uncertain as to where it would leave the vast majority of my negro brothers and sisters throughout this region – possibly surplus to requirements?

“These morons are just after petty finder’s fees; legal fees; free trips; and plain old bribes…

BU shut down CAHILL before the REAL big bribes changed hands ..so now they are coming with a safer scheme – a hotel.
    By the time this shiite project is abandoned this time around…they will have collected their real bribes – unlike CAHILL..”

And a well informed birdie told me the ministers and politicians finder’s fees don’t be that much….so they gotta really sell out the country and people to accumulate 5 or 6 million dollars in bribes…scum that they are.

Hants…to the contrar,y as right as you are…Bizzy, Cow, Maloney, Bjerkham, Tempro, Harris, Parris….all the crooks believe they OWN the island….allowed in this belief by the scum politicians and government ministers,……the people are considered as consumers, payers of insurance policies and cheap slave labor….it does not enter any of their minds that the people OWN the island….scum the whole lot.

• BEWARE Political Opponents THIS IS NOT CAHiLL THERE WOULD BE No EASY PICKInGS FALLING OFF A TRUCK OR EMAILS FLYING ACROSS THE HALLWAYS OF BU FOR EYEBALLS TO SEE

Yall planning to be even more secretive and lying to the electorate to cover ya tracks…but time longer tgan twine…ACs.

• Look we’re so igrunt, we are allowing a Canadian to come to Barbados and set up a solar farm on land earmarked for a national botanical park–a effin solar park!! Free land and free sun to mek money off Bajans. Meanwhile the roofs of many commercial, residential and other properties empty all across Bdos while we despoil Waterford Bottom with panels. And who is Deltro trying to fool with the manufacturing for export carrot? Stupse! Can’t compete with global manufacturers!!

• @enuff

This is a 30 million deal we are prepared to deal with unsavory characters?

• Enuff is correct. First, Deltro cannot compete with Chinese panel factories. Socond, my contacts tell me that Deltro does not have an agreement to sell electricity to BL&P. There is something fishy going on. We have to be vigilant.

• Sorry we cannot forget the Solar Farm. Dr Denis Lowe and the Dean Del Mastro must speak to the Country on the TOR of the Solar Farm. We need to know the the cost of electricity to consumers from this plant via BL&P. David, a press release is coming soon.

• I wonder when the leaders of this once fair land of ours will realise that this country’s future lies in our people not external entities whose profits thanks to tax deals will be forever be beyond our reach.

More pertinent to the point is when will the majority of the people realise that working for meagre wages,lacking affordable housing,poor health institutions,poor road infrastructure,lands runnin to bush,garbage strewn all over,total lack of developmental planning,etc,etc need not be our lot,after 50 years of “independence” and the much touted free educational system.

Its realy sad to see the fawning dependence on outside forces to “develop” our country,whatever that means.

• Frustrated Businessman aka 'Nation of Laws' my ass.

Pete August 2, 2016 at 6:56 AM #
    Please tell me someone, anyone, what has Bridgetown world heritage designation done to improve our economy and create hundreds of jobs? So Until someone shows me that thousands of tourist have visited barbados and hundreds of jobs were created because of Bridgetown world heritage designation I will continue to support projects like this. And if we don’t becareful with out negativity instead of Bridgetown being historic, Bridgetown will be history instead.

It was never to be the END in the terms you describe but rather a MEANS TO THE END.

If our brainless buffoons had used the designation to:

Pedestrianise Broad Street.
    Introduce a tram system from the cruise terminal around Broad Street and back.
    Expanded the berthing in the careenage
    Grant tax-free inputs for any historic re-development of buildings in the area.
    Made a real effort to re-introduce residential use of buildings within the city above the shops level.
    Moved the fishing complex and sea-side parking lot to make use of both for tourism development and pleasure boating.
    Gave incentives and permissions for cultural events like cropover to include Bridegetown.
    Made an extra effort to keep the city clean.

Maybe we would be on the right path. If I was Hyatt I wouldn’t spend this money until these issues were addressed.

• @Frustraed Businessman

Good comment.

Our leaders have to lead.

• @Frustrated Businessman, I agree as most town have hotels to help the commerce. The area was not a window to the sea and the whole stretch from Needhams point is inclusive of local and tourist. On the environment side, all the near shore reef is already dead. Thus I support the project.

@Mark Malonely please donate a Rescue Tender to fight High rise fires but don’t hide it in any future billing.

What we need to have is proper Anti Graft legislation to uncover finders/ fees so as to ensure the consideration is country and not funds going to an offshore account. However neither BDLP will do such an amendment to laws of Barbados.

Commission and Finders Fees are paid the world over but transparency is lacking in Barbados as greed may take precedent over country’s wellbeing!

The area has never been a window to the sea (warehousing), has never had a beach (DETCO and Stokes & Bynoe actually lost building to the sea beating on the back them) and the tourism turning point in the area was a rumshop inside a working boat-repair yard in the late 70s that became the Boatyard Beach Club, a great example of Bajan business-building to suit foreign tastes without sacrificing Bajanism.

Most of Commissiong’s points are invalid.

However, all over the world historic areas have tourism appeal and new concrete does not. What is sometimes described as ‘quaint character’ often cannot be recreated after it has been destroyed like occurred with one of our tourism icons in St. Lawrence Gap the Ship Inn.

On one hand we need a Hyatt, on the other hand it needs to fit into an historical site. The same happens in European cities every day. Maybe we need a Town Planner and Minister of Planning who understand that progress doesn’t have to come at the expense of history or culture.

• Frustrated
    You obviously have a handle on this area.As I have said before this area was seawater and black grimy mossy rocks all down to the Pierhead,with scuttles and all the nastiness called nightsoil originating from the nearby jungle area.Happily,it is now a lovely beach with so much sand that it is now encroaching in the careenage that was.It is not however conducive to the Hyatt at the proposed location.The original concept of the Pierhead Project is more in line with the re-development of the city of Bridgetown,catering to the millionaire annual influx of yachts and mega-yachts on their annual pre hurricane trip south.

Gabriel, I learned to swim off the police jetty by a rather large sergeant tossing all of us 6-year-olds off the end of it on saturday mornings until we no longer sank.

The best place for the Hyatt is the parking lot by the Bajan Helicopter building incorporating the fishing facility. The best place for parking is any city edge with electric trams into the centre.

Any idiot could fix Barbados in a few months but our idiots are particularly steadfast.

• When the Hyatt is completed at 9 stories high, Bajans will be able to afford a staycation there,at a very reduced price,at least on the eastern side which overlooks the hovels and decay of the Nelson and Fairchild Streets environs,because no visitors is going to pay top dollar to have a birds eye view of the decaying and derelict Empire Cinema, the abandoned National Insurance Building,the stripped and garbage infested old Fairchild Street Market and the shanty town trading shacks surrounding it.

• Frustrated
    That sounds like Lorenzo Best,the huge and friendly ‘water policeman’ well known for teaching boys and girls to swim and who became the face of Barbados Tourism in his ‘Nelson’ uniform.I was in those days when one would see two such officers in a row boat patrolling up and down the careenage and in Carlisle Bay.There was also the 2 or 3 vessels they used equipped with lights,siren,horn,live saving equipment and the lot.I recall also the unique white row boats used as tenders fetching passengers and Bajan seamen to and from the baggage warehouse to passenger and cargo ships in Carlisle Bay.

• Frustrated
    I recall a Bajan whose last name was Browne,always in short pants,who repaired boats at that Bay St boatyard location.Can’t recall his first name but he was a jack of all trades,can repair anything.

• Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Nation of Laws’ my ass. August 3, 2016 at 7:51 AM #
    ……………….
    “If I was Hyatt I wouldn’t spend this money until these issues were addressed.”

How much ie Hyatt going to spend (invest) on this deal?

Its press release includes

“CHICAGO (July 27, 2016) – Hyatt Hotels Corporation (NYSE: H) announced today that a Hyatt affiliate has entered into a management agreement with Vision Developments Inc. for a Hyatt Centric hotel in Carlisle Bay, Barbados. Hyatt Centric Carlisle Bay, Barbados is expected to open in 2019, and will mark the first Hyatt-branded hotel on the island of Barbados.”

“About Vision Developments Inc.

Vision Developments Inc. is a Barbados company engaged in the manufacture of construction related materials as well as the financing, construction and development of residential, commercial, infrastructure, and hotel projects throughout the English-speaking Caribbean.”

So Vision (Mark Maloney et al) will be doing the spending (investing); and Hyatt will be paid to use its name and manage the property,

• Due Diligence August 3, 2016 at 5:27 PM…”So Vision (Mark Maloney et al) will be doing the spending (investing); and Hyatt will be paid to use its name and manage the property”…

THE FIRST STEPS OF A MAN WITH VISION…

THROUGHOUT THE CENTURIES THERE WERE MEN WHO TOOK THE FIRST STEPS DOWN THE ROADS ARMED WITH NOTHING BUT THEIR OWN VISION… WHO ARE DRIVEN BY THE SPIRIT OF FREEDOM IN ACTION BY ENTREPRENEURS WHO EMBRACE THAT QUALITY!

Understanding Free Market Capitalism

Submitted by Freedom Crier…

Russian born novelist’s, Ayn Rand’s, intellectual assault against the Marxists of her day who diminish the worth of Individual Freedom, she argues in character: “But you say that [wealth] is made by the strong at the expense of the weak? What strength do you mean? It is not the strength of guns or muscles. Wealth is the product of man’s capacity to think. Then is [wealth] made by the man who invents a motor at the expense of those who did not invent it? Is [wealth] made by the intelligent at the expense of the fools? By the able at the expense of the incompetent? By the ambitious at the expense of the lazy? [Wealth] is made — before it can be looted or mooched — by the effort of every honest man, each to the extent of his ability. An honest man is one who knows that he can’t consume more than he has produced” (See: Atlas Shrugged, Ayn Rand, 1957.)

“In other words, wealth comes at nobody’s expense but the inventor, the free thinker, the one actually taking the risk and making the sacrifice. It never costs anything to anybody else. There is no expense incurred to those who sit by the sidelines. Therefore, it cannot ever be considered ‘theft” from others who were never involved nor invested in the very process. It costs others nothing!”

READ MORE…

Understanding Free Market Capitalism | Barbados Underground
    https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/…/understanding-free-mark…

Jun 30, 2016 – You are here: Home » Understanding Free Market Capitalism …. “Free-market Capitalism is a network of free and voluntary exchanges in which …

• To the Naysayers; they know who they are.
    Oh ye of little faith, who have no vision, who never think positively, who think that every project will be a failure; whether it is conceptualized, financed and brought yo fruition by Black or white,Bajans. What is the matter with you?
    The people who are building the TESLa electric, self driving vehicles, are positive thinkers, and they have been able to convince INVESTORS to put up over five BILLION dollars to construct a plant to manufacture the BATTERies that they will power the vehicles of tomorrow. FIVE BILLION dollars!!! (US), Hyatt has the vision to see the value of taking interest in this hotel, utilizing some of the best beachfront st land in the world; even though there are many others right here in the Caribbean which are on par with Browne’s beach. Architects study, and designers envision, the changes that will provide the most attractive buildings that fit in with the environment. Don’t ups think that Hyatt would ensure that the hotel envisioned fits in with other Hyatts around the world that conform to their aesthetics?
    Give me a break.
    A certain man called Nathaniel once asked “Can anything good come out of Nazareth?” And who came out of Nazareth, GPAnd other Christian adherents would know.
    How come there were not these Naysayers when the Four Seasons, was first conceptualized? (Remember it was a completely private sector led initiative. When the road was shifted inland to accommodate the building of SandyLane, where were they?When hotels were constructed at Paynes Bay that blocked access and views to the see, where were they? When Accra was constructed, where were they?
    Wait and see.Demand to see the plans and the models. Bay Street will not be the same.

• Hants August 2, 2016 at 9:46 AM #

The island of Barbados belongs to the people of Barbados.

Excluding of course those enclaves in Sugar Hill, (not the one in St Joseph) Sandy Lane, Mango Bay,(free water for 10 years) , Apes Hill , Royal Westmoreland, Cattlewash et al.
    Of course someday this will come become a reality when we sell these rich property owners Barbados citizenship.
    These fields and hills, and the cow jump over the moon.

• Barbados is a densely populated island which is not blessed with plentiful supplies of oil or gas. It has no gold or diamonds, or even potash or bauxite. It does not have waterfalls or coal or uranium that can be used to generate energy.The soil is not particularly fertile.
    Yet Bajans expect to live well and they complain constantly if they don’t have a house, a car, a TV, a washing machine and a refrigerator of their own.
    They have practically given up on farming because it is too hard. They are not good at factory work, at least not compared to Asians, which is why Intel closed down its factory. They don’t mind doing a little banking in air conditioned comfort, but there is only so much fugitive money from North America to play with. Banking is not enough to keep everybody employed.
    So foreigners come here with money to build tourist hotels, and local activists say “No. All the beaches belong to us. Don’t block the view with any tall buildings. We want to see.”
    Question is: How do these fussy, lazy people expect to support themselves at the standard of living they have become accustomed to if they are not prepared to make sacrifices? Go figure.

• @ Chad999999999
    Question is: How do these fussy, lazy people expect to support themselves at the standard of living they have become accustomed to if they are not prepared to make sacrifices? Go figure.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Answer is: Prostitution….mainly by kowtowing to rich people with more dollars than sense through ‘tourism’, and by selling the family silver like ‘Parros’…

But shiite man….. does that mean that we must now allow ourselves to be screwed by these thieving jackasses? …..have you checked how jackasses are hung….?

We may be brass bowls Skippa…. but we ain’t all female rabbits…

• Things must be pretty desperate in BIM when one of your esteemed Minister goes on record to laud Chefette who will be building a fast food outlet in the Lancaster region.

The article below is from today’s Nation.

“A NEW DEVELOPMENT AT Lancaster, St James, is expected to bring some major returns to the Government of Barbados.

That projection from Minister of Housing, Denis Kellman who commended the fast-food chain Chefette for its foresight in building a branch at that location.

One of the best commercial sites in Barbados will be that development at Lancaster. As you would appreciate, it’s a four junction, you go the East, the South the North and the West. And Chefette has quite cleverly recognised what other business people should’ve recognised,” he said.

He said Chefette now has a “golden opportunity” to recapture the market they had at the Sunset Crest branch, which was sold several years ago. “That area at Lancaster is going to become one of our prime areas and that is the area that might help us to reduce our deficit in a significant way. Because we have a pretty large portion of land on that area. . . .When you have land like that, you must maximise the returns so that you can help the poor people of Barbados.” (YB)

• I have always maintained that this minister based on his thought processes appear to be retarded.Who else would talk such crap.Childish and insensible.Chefette?More diabetes?
    Btw who speaks of somebody “coming first” in an interview.Further proof of a JA.

• Yes fast food can be a contributor to diabetes in any case do not see the rationale or point of argument in the issue.
    People can make a choice the only reason that fast food chains remained in buisness is because of a popular demand by the people.
    What the minister said is not a contradiction but is analysis borne on statistical fact findings on consumers demand

• ac August 4, 2016 at 8:41 AM #

“What the minister said is not a contradiction but is analysis borne on statistical fact findings on consumers demand….”

You always allude to “truth” and “fact,” but have never been able to successfully substantiate any opinions presented in your contributions.

Perhaps, on this occasion, you could make the “analysis borne on statistical fact findings on consumer demand” REPORT available to BU for our perusal.

If not, then your comments are based on political rhetoric “designed” to make it appear as though you are privy to certain information and, more so, to defend the minster.

• Ok sir later in the day when i can acess my fact finding computer i shall reply to your request.lol

• @Artax

Have you read the article authored by Ezra Alleyne that appeared in the last Sunday Sun? He discussed the importance of the yardfowl base to political parties. In fact we see the yardfowl phenomenon playing out in the US as we type these comments. A democracy being highjacked by JAs. Why should a political party have to survive based on yardfowls? Why not promote a base of independents?

• @ David BU

Yes, I read the article and I understand the role of yard-fowls in politics. However, as it relates to your reference to the US political situation, Donald Trump has been consistently “putting his foot in his mouth,” and his yard-fowls subsequently go on national television to do damage control and defend the shiite.

And this is what irks me about yard-fowls. Why would “intelligent” people venture blindly into the realm of stupidity to defend obvious shiite? And for what reason?

• The First Truthful Thing killery said that I could remember!!

• DEMOCRATS LEAD BY EXAMPLE????

• EXPOSED: HOW THE CLINTON’S LIKELY STOLE BILLIONS FROM WORLD’S POOREST…

Investor and financial crimes researcher Charles Ortel joins me to uncover what he is calling “the “largest UN-prosecuted charity fraud ever attempted.”

Charles reports that the Clinton Foundation is part of an “international charity fraud network whose entire cumulative scale approaches and may even exceed $100 billion, measured from 1997 forward.”

And the most shocking aspect of the Clinton Foundation’s missing Billions is that much of it was stolen from those who need it most, the world’s poorest of the poor. Bush the Clinton’s formed The Clinton-Bush Haiti Fund after the devastating 2010 Haiti earthquake.

Charles says, “What the Clinton’s have done, is they are stealing the people’s physical gold in Haiti, as well as perhaps stealing or diverting massive sums that were sent towards Haiti and refusing to make an accounting for it.”

This is a story of fraud and corruption so vast in scope that it should result in putting the Clinton,s in prison, not back in the White House.

• @ Freedom Crier

You sure you’re posting your “copy and paste” contributions in the correct forum?

Shiite, man…..what the f*** does Hillary Clinton and the American elections have to do with building a Hyatt Hotel in Barbados?

Are you trying to convince Barbadians to apply for visas, go to America and vote for Donald Trump?

@ David BU

All of a sudden this fanatic has systematically worked his/her way into BU and uses every opportunity to fully dominate this forum with a lotta “copy and paste” shiite and self fulfilling propaganda that does not bear any relevance to the topics presented.

This “Freedom Crier” character killing BU and making the forum boring. Shiite, I don’t even feel like giving the ACs heat nuh more.

Liked by 1 person

• Gabriel August 4, 2016 at 5:32 AM #

Btw who speaks of somebody “coming first” in an interview.Further proof of a JA
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Not if its a Wuk fah Wuk interview,of which a few past and present Government ministers are noted for. Kelly may be a game player.

• @Artax

This is why some say the political class needs to be ‘checked’.

Freedom Crier was advised by BU to try to observe blog etiquette. Let us see what respect she has for suasion.

• . David August 4, 2016 at 11:32 AM #…DAVID STATING “In fact we see the yardfowl phenomenon playing out in the US as we type these comments”.

. Artax August 4, 2016 at 1:59 PM # Antrax Responding, “However, as it relates to your reference to the US political situation, Donald Trump has been consistently “putting his foot in his mouth,”

. Artax August 4, 2016 at 3:37 PM #

@ Freedom Crier

You sure you’re posting your “copy and paste” contributions in the correct forum?

Shiite, man…..what the f*** does Hillary Clinton and the American elections have to do with building a Hyatt Hotel in Barbados?

. David August 4, 2016 at 5:05 PM #

@Artax

This is why some say the political class needs to be ‘checked’.

FREEDOM CRIER

TRUTH…

• Comic relief! Tee-hee! I’m laughing so hard right now!

• Is the site right in front of the government offices where the PMs office is? Tell me it’s not there (where there is an esplanade). Can’t they do it further up the road, up Bay Street?

• Analyzer August 4, 2016 at 8:01 PM
    You are way off Mark. The site is what used to be Detco Motors, immediately to the north of the Boat Yard, and just yards to the west of the old Empire Cinema.

• From the archives. Bay Street not very long ago.
    (Photo borrowed from Flickr)

• VOICES WHO SUPPORT COLLECTIVISM INSTEAD OF INDIVIDUALISM ARE CLEARLY MANIFESTED HERE …

YOU SOUND LIKE THE QUOTE REPRESENTED BELOW!!

• @Colonel Oh okay. I could be very wrong but wouldn’t this bring much needed life and activity to the area. Someone is supposed to be renovating The Empire too. Sounds like progress to me. Maybe 12 to 15 stories might stand out like a sore thumb though but we don’t know if it’s been approved, correct?

• Back in 1966 the Treasury Building stood out like a sore thumb. The renovation of the Empire Cinema, is like the ever promising ferry, schedule to run between Barbados and the islands.

• @ David,

Don’t tell anybody that the posts above were mine.

A smaller version of that hotel would look good a mile west of Paradise beach.

• Colonel Buggy you are right. The Old General Hospital has been rundown since 1963, along with the Eye Hospital, which was briefly used by the Welfare Dept; a number dilapidated buildings next to Oistin’s post office, a number of buildings in the Garrison, the Grand House at the Eerie, Judge Hanscell’s old house – we can go on.
    Successive BLP and DLP administrations, and the private sector have failed us.
    But you can only sell the family jewels once – once they are gone they are gone.
    As my old grand mother used to say, you never miss the water.

• And to think that we had brought in one of the leading “renovationists” in the Caribbean,Historian Dr Lennox Honychurch, to head up the Barbados National Trust,as its General Manager, effective July 1, 2015, and less than a year,probably out of sheer frustration, Dr Honychurch appeared to have quit the job and returned to his native Dominica. This is the man who supervised the restoration of the old and abandoned British Army officer’s quarters at Fort Shirley ,at the Cabritts .He would have done wonders,especially at the Garrison site.

• Meanwhile this is the crap which we are trying to sell tourists. The home of Sir Grantley Adams, the first Premier of Barbados and the First Prime Minister of the bruggadung West Indies Federation, and the father of a subsequent Prime Minister of Barbados.

Liked by 1 person

Colonel…you do realize it would be hard to find a bribe in restoring hundred year old buildings right..,..therefore the politicians and government ministers are not interested.

New buildings bring ciot overruns in the hundreds of millions….a bribetakers wet dream.

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ Colonel Buggy

Do you remember Victor Roachford?

He used to be the Manager of the Port years ago in the 80’s may have passed by now.

He had a relationship with a specialist surface reconditioning company I think it was called Consolidated something

They pioneered the reflective paints in the US, bonding glass beads in paint.

He marketed a paint 30 years ago that was 3times as expensive as Bruggadown s paint but lasted for 5 years.

Look at that gate Colonel.

A lot of our upkeep of our buildings lies in the materials we use to outfit them initially and their respective resiliences

A penny wise and a pound foolish.

This simple mathematics is what our purchasing department should, in conjunction with the Barbados National Standards Institute, be doing.

Requesting resilient paints, telling prospective vendors the specifications and purchasing the supplies with warranties which, if not experienced, result in either the vendor rectifying the situation, return of monies paid, with interest and the publication of the name of the substandard products and the vendor

• pieceuhderockyeahright

Victor Roach not Roachford, this iPad just acting up

• Is he the tall fellow who lived in St Lawrence at a house where cars always run into his guard wall? If he is, he died a few weeks ago.
    Its not just a matter of penny wise and pound foolish, but what is in it for me. We have seen road marking paint overseas, which lasts a life time,with the occasional cleaning and de-grimeing .In Barbados we used what could be termed, household paint to do our road marking. We do it in the morning, and by evening , unlike we old soldiers, it starts to fade away, which is damn good business for the supplier and his rewardee. Some bright spark at MTW began to use this very durable paint for road marking, but this exercise collapsed and went Bruggadung.
    Speaking of upkeep of our buildings , look at the controversial Al Barrack Towers, just a baby, and ready for a refurbishment job, or scrapped if it is now owned by government. But what takes the cake is the building on country road , the Headquarters of the National Housing Corporation.

• “THE CONSTRUCTION OF high-rise buildings across Barbados, and the use of new chemicals and materials on the market, all present new challenges for fire officers, and necessitate additional training.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/84308/changing-trends-necessitate-training-officers#sthash.hjzNhkzI.dpuf

Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s