Reverend Charles Morris – Photo Credit: Nation Newspaper

Reverend Charles Morris considers himself to be the most misunderstood man in Barbados. In has been just over a week the Anglican priest, who has been unassigned a Church for some time, deposited a thesis which has created consternation in a society known for its Christian influence.

Reverend Morris’ thesis states that no where in the Bible does it condemn pre-marital sex. He agrees however the Christian thing to do is to have sex in wedlock. BU has been able to attract over time some of the best dividers of the word in the world, we are certain the BU family is equipped to validate Morris’ thesis or shatter it to smithereens.

306 responses to “Reverend Charles Morris Maybe A Misunderstood Man”

1. David one also has to have facts. The fact is that there is no reality in faith. Faith is a fairy tale. If another non Christian religion claimed that a woman bore a child without having sex with a man it would be called witchcraft or obeah or that she lie. But if it comes from a book written by men who claimed that they were interpreting God’s words then it is credible. JOne must just accept it as the truth with no facts to back it up. That I cannot do.

2. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Chuckles from, reading the Canadian papers I relaized that one of the accused preists in Cananda also “served” in St. Lucia.

Do we really believe that no “priest” in Barbados or the Caribbean have ever interferred with little boys?

3. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

And do we ever ask if any hotel maids in Barbados are ever sexually assulted on the job.

And if so what becomes of their complaints?

OR ARE WE AFRAID TO ASK?

We could ask Lucille Baird this squestion ince she worked in the hotel industry at Sunset Crest before she bacame a pastor.

It would be interesting to ask her why she left the hotel sector?

It would be interesting t ask her if any of her colleagues ever complained of sexual assault on the job?

4. Random……..I know bout a woman named Queenie who told this story. She used to cook for nuff people including nuff Tourist. One hamsome tourist came to collect some food from her one evening. Well he got his food and stayed for desert rolling pon Queenie’s floor wid she. She told dat story wid a BIG smile pon she face. And No she dint call de police at all……

5. @ Colonel Buggy…..

Well put!!

6. Jesus warned us “Beware of false prophets”. My advice to the Anglican community is if you’re serious about your walk with God, keep your eyes on Jesus and let His Spirit guide you – the leaders in that church seem to be completely clueless on matters relating to human sexuality as spelled out in the Word of God.

7. If Morris’ is so outlandish why is he getting so much support? How will the Anglican Church respond, PR blitz?

@Zoe you offering so far does not effectively rebut the blog title.

8. I was born in a era where decent people got married and had their children, I’m not saying that there were not children born out of wedlock. However, there was always that respect for men/women who were married, over the years marriage and sex before marriage has become such an “in thing” that morality seems to have gone through the window. Barbados has become such a sex capital that our christian values have been lost, we are becoming like the biblical Sodom. Mr Morris’ mouthings, which I can’t say are technically right or wrong, has caused a dent in these christian values and as such would increase the downward slide in the moral behavior in this society. This has been a sad day in this country, when a priest can make such statements, the sins of many young people will rest on his shoulders from hence forth. I’m so deeply hurt by his remarks that I cannot express myself properly. I know this man and I know he can be VERY controversial but this time I think he has stepped over the line and I will be appalled if any other Anglican or any other demonination allow him to conduct service in their church . Charles, I’m ashame of you and I would pray for your repentance from this awful sin you have committed in leading people astray.

9. Is it a sin to be honest? To have a different opinion?

10. @ Scout….

…’Mr Morris’ mouthings, which I can’t say are technically right or wrong, has caused a dent in these christian values and as such would increase the downward slide in the moral behavior in this society.’

Make up your mind guy, you can’t have it both ways and straddling the fence is not an option.
    By you above comment, your slip is showing.

…..’This has been a sad day in this country, when a priest can make such statements, the sins of many young people will rest on his shoulders from hence forth.’

Are you serious?!?!…..what ‘era’ are you living in???

11. …..I’m so deeply hurt by his remarks that I cannot express myself properly.’…..Scout.

What has hurt you so deeply?
    Is it the statement itself or the fact that a man had the testicular fortitude to call it as he sees it?
    You said you don’t know if it is true or not but yet still you are hurt and ashamed of the man.
    Why not prove him right or wrong first, then deal with the emotional aspect which will follow?

12. Add my support to Rev Morris.
    I am married and would be considered a sinner by the church.
    Most of the Anglican, Pentecostal, Methodists and prosperity gospel preachers in Barbados had premarital sex and some are still having sex with their members. They are therefore HYPOCRITES.
    The young members of the church do not have any time to waste with ignorance.

13. It is so difficult to discuss religious issues in Barbados given our pretense but we shall try on BU. Barbadians should thank Reverend Morris for daring to challenge of the issues presented in the bible which many of us want dearly to understand his controversial nature not withstanding.

14. It is when mouthings like the ones from Charles Morris becomes the gospel for people, that I go on my knees and ask God to strengthen me because there are sibns of the end of time. Recently there have been announcements or predictions that the world, as we know it, will end on May 21 2011, maybe but only God knows when the end is, therefore it could be now. However, the scriptures are being fulfilled, read 2 peter ch 2 vers 1 to 10, to me this describes Mr Morris perfectly. To all christians fortify yourselves, this is only the beginning of your trials, this is where your faith in Christ will be tested, BE STRONG

15. @scout

What moral frabic of society are you are talking about. Our value system has been broken long ago and anything goes. Sex has become a commodity to be traded to the highest bidder. Most realtionships are entered into for benefits, one person might enter it for sex and the other for the materail things that can be provided. Why are marriages not lasting?

If you listen to a lot of the young men and young women speak, most of them say they want somebody to support them. And it is becoming increasingly evident among the young male and female population who are engagaing in sex for brand name clothes,shoes etc. With prominent married men in this society. The young people are prasticing what they see. Note, I am not saying that it is right, I am stating what is happening.

The churh is supposed to be leading and its influence continues to wane as it needs to refocus and restrategise to bring it into the 21st century,especially my church, the Anglican.

What is the average age people are getting married and how many of them can tell you that they married before engagaing in sex, a lot of them that are christian will lie through their teeth. Futhermore, when last have you heard the Anglican church preach about asbtaing from sex before marriage?

16. Observer
    I agree with you, that is why such mouthings from a “so-called” man of the cloth makes it so dangerous. Christian leaders should be setting a good path by example for the coming generation but alas the very persons who should be doing that are the ones advocating a free for all, as his comments are being interpreted.
    This country is well on it’s way to damnation and Morris’ mouthings will escalate that process.

17. Technician
    I’ve made up my mind many years ago and I’m happy that I did chose to be a Christian. I’ve instilled these values in my offspring and through the Grace of God you or no-one else can sway me. Maybe I didn’t express myself properly but even though the word/s pre-marital sex is not printed in the Bible, MY GUIDE, yet from the teachings of the BOOK, it is wrong. Morris himself admitted this, therefore if he proclaims to be what he is ( a christian) then he should not be leading people astray. This is tantamount to a Christian leader saying there is no GOD.

18. @ Scout…..

You really need to make up your mind or take a breath and calm yourself!!

Can you prove that what he said (mouthings) is true or false??
    Until you and any others can clearly prove yes or no, how then, can you berate the man?……unless of course, you believe he is wrong.
    If that is the case, then show first that he is wrong, prove him wrong, debunk him before you go blaming societies’ ills to come, on him.

This is the same hypocrisy that have you all in this mess to start with !!

19. @ Scout…

I am not talking about your choice to be a Christian.
    I am talking about the statement that has created all the fuss, which is the reason of the thread.
    Can you show or prove, using the same Bible, where he is wrong (other than just saying so)?

20. Technician
    If you would read my submission just before yours, you would find that the words premarital sex, does not appear in the bible but as a christian and following the teachings of Christ, it is wrong. Therefore Mr Morris is technically right, since the words do not appear but he is VERY WRONG in advocating that there is nothing wrong with pre-marital sex, if he is really a child of God and most of all a leader within the church.
    If this “hypocrisy” have me in a mess, I thank God for helping me to be in this mess in the eyes of man, but a beloved child of His in His eyes.

21. Isn’t Morris simply putting context to the issue? Does anyone deny that the rights of women in biblical times were managed by men? Does anyone deny how women engaged in sex then agrees with Morris’ thesis?

22. Technician
    You said the average young person believes in sex before marrige, or something like that; how do you equate “the average young person? For your information, there are many moral young people in this country, who do not practise sex before marriage and it is these that I fear for when a “so-called” priest can be advocating there is noyhing wrong with it. These young people are looking for rolemodals and certainly Mr Morris does not qualify. What makes it so dangerous is that he is a well liked, popular teacher at the Caw’mere School and I would be very worried about him advising my child on anything, if I had a child attending that school.

23. Scout you are correct many young people out there are good and seeking role models but a healthy number many of who go to Church are engaged in sex with no sense of remorse. The very Church which is under the microscope is sending mixed signals an partly responsible for the mixed messages confusing people.

24. @the scout: “…you would find that the words premarital sex, does not appear in the bible but as a christian and following the teachings of Christ, it is wrong.

Based on what?

Exactly?

25. @ Scout…..
    the scout | May 17, 2011 at 5:20 PM |

Technician
    You said the average young person believes in sex before marrige, or something like that; how do you equate “the average young person?

That was not me who said that sir!

26. Further to David’s comment that “Does anyone deny how women engaged in sex then agrees with Morris’ thesis?”….

Does anyone deny that Holy matrimony originally had nothing to do with love? So now, this thing about love is a new paradigm and nothing ordained by God.

My problem with Christianity is that it is worded so you would believe it (fear-mongering) rather than allowing people to decide based on truth and facts. One set of people wanting to ram something down the throats of others.

This is only the beginning. It will only take one post graduate to research whether or not a Jesus Christ truly lived on earth for another bubble to burst. For sure he/she will find no evidence whatsoever. Nor Moses, nor Joseph and certainly no Abraham. Then when it comes to the probability that they existed, that will be a comfortable naught. What can I say, knock yourself out. We now have to come to grips with this world.

27. @scout: “…you would find that the words premarital sex, does not appear in the bible but as a christian and following the teachings of Christ, it is wrong….”

Really Scout! Like your little comfort zone is shattered. You need to learn to live with the truth. Nothing wrong with the stance, but are you telling me that if it is not portrayed as ordained by God, it makes no sense keeping the moral? You need to understand that the moral fabric of society and religion are two different things… and that one need not be based on the other.

Again a problem with one set of people using the name of the Lord to ram something down the throats of others. You dare call the name of the Lord in vain? Exactly what disappoints you because that too is against your Christian principles? Or would you break one principle to reinforce the next through the back door?

Nothing wrong with the position Scout, only it is not something your Lord wants to get into. You are free to decide your morals. You were given guiding principles.

28. “Alongside those Greek morality plays and Biblical injunctions, we are also reminded by history itself that the use of unethical means to achieve a worthy end can be self-destructive.”

Daniel Brandt – NameBase NewsLine, April-June 1997

29. Georgie Porgie Avatar

The word RAPTURE does not occur in the BIBLE either. Does this mean that this event will not occur?

Just asking?

30. @GP: “The word RAPTURE does not occur in the BIBLE either. Does this mean that this event will not occur?

A very interesting observation and question…

What do you think Dr. GP?

31. Georgie Porgie | May 17, 2011 at 6:54 PM |

The word RAPTURE does not occur in the BIBLE either. Does this mean that this event will not occur?

Just asking?

Man, where you hiding?
    Come Sunday morning we will know…. 😉

32. @Techy: “Come Sunday morning we will know….

In what time zone?

(ROFLMAO….)

33. Scout
    You said
    What makes it so dangerous is that he is a well liked, popular teacher at the Caw’mere School
    The question you should answer is
    Why is he a popular teacher at cawmere?
    The possible answer is that he keeps it real for his students.In his classes students are allowed to express themselves by putting forward their point of view. By the way he loves an argument.

34. Christopher Halsall | May 17, 2011 at 7:50 PM |

@Techy: “Come Sunday morning we will know….

In what time zone?

(ROFLMAO….)

Ask Tina……LMAO !!

35. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

@observer “the young male and female population who are engagaing in sex for brand name clothes,shoes etc. With prominent married men in this society”

The young people betta be careful here. Because a prominent married man might give them a pair of brand name shoes, but when they need a co-signer for the mortgage, the student loan, the rent lease they will find that the married man’s wife (or maybe it is the the married man himself hee!!, hee!!) WON’T LET him put his signature on a mortgage for the outside woman. The married man won’t leave them anything in the will either. The wife WON’T LET him

When the married man is ready to die everything will go to sweet long suffering wifey.

36. @Tina Roach…

Earth calling Tina Roach…

When exactly is the Earth going to die?

Earth calling Tina Roach…

Please answer…

(I’m reminded of that famous character “Major Tom”….)

37. Tina aint hear wunna , she aint crawl out from under de rock yet.

38. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

@the scout | May 17, 2011 at 4:58 PM | Technician
    I’ve made up my mind many years ago and I’m happy that I did chose to be a Christian

Dear Scout you are not a Christian. You are fooling your self (but not others)

What I find most remarkable about the Bible is how often we are instructed to be kind and compassionate to the widow the orphan and the STRANGER.

“When you glean your fields do not glean right to the very edge but leave something for the widow, the orphan and the STRANGER”

And the Pharisee did not help the injured man going from Jerusalem (the holy city) to Jericho (Lord’s knows what he was going there for) it was the Samaritan who helped. The Samaritans were the reviled strangers, the Guyanese Indians of their day

Dear Scout: We know that you HATE strangers, especially if those STRANGERS are Guyanese Indians.

You cannot hate strangers and be a Christian.

It don’t work so.

39. @Christopher Halsall

offtopic

What are your taught with lime announcement that from as early as next month we would start having 4G service. My understanding of the situation is until lime does a massive increase to island bandwidth that the 4G will still be performing at edge speeds.

40. @Random……ROFLMAO Scoutie is going to be blue vex wid you for pointing out his flaws. In his mind he is the best ting dat happen since sliced bread. LMAO

41. @anthony: “What are your taught[sic] with lime announcement that from as early as next month we would start having 4G service.

Sigh…

@anthony: “My understanding of the situation is until lime does a massive increase to island bandwidth that the 4G will still be performing at edge speeds.

It’s a little more complicated than that. But basically you are correct.

42. My Dearest Nev-u Chris
    LOLL

Shellya
    De goodly Godly Rev. Morris in embarrass nabody a’tall. He simply state he views. Wah bout de Catholic priests dat bull all dem lil boys? Wah bout de local Revs n Preachers bout hay dat living wid de sistas in de chu’ch, not ta mention breeding sum a dem? Wah bout Jippy Doyle? You doan tink dat he should be dead all like now fa wah he do ta dah lil girl? He did readin a diff’rent Bible? He din kno bout premartial- sex? stupseeeeeeeeeeee. I would like wunna-alll dat tryin ta string up Bro Morris by he ballz, fa statin he opinion, to do sum serious mind-searching. He jus bring ta de fore wah he kno dat does happen. He probably or most likely had premarital-sex too n nabody in dead. He in got ta apologize ta one soul. Apologise my behind.

All that glints
    ya got ma lost. We discussin premarital-SEX so how ya mean de emphasis should be on LOVE? ya got ma lost. A lotta de times sex in got nutton ta do wid love n vice-versa.

Wishing in vain
    Rev Morris in kill nor rape nabody. he simply voice he opinion. Wah tent n PA system ya tawkin bout?

Random
    ‘divorce is bad for children to’.
    Not alll de time Random. Divorce is betta dhan witnessin ya fadda abusin ya mudda or viceversa. dat too is anudda form a child abuse.
    Anudda ting, you is a brite woman so why you askin such a dum question bout de goodly Godly lady Lucille? She leff de hotel industry becausen mo money in de chu’ch. you kno dah too, ya tricksta.
    Anudda nex ting, de ‘outside’ woman, if she smart, n she should be, just gotta mek sure dat de woman husband dat she messin wid, sort she out proppa befo he pass. get all she could while he in good healf n she gone clear. de wifey would get wah fa she tu. dat way ev’ry body happy when he ded. simple

Observer
    I in only wearing chu’ch de lil short black dress Sundee; I sittin dong rite in de front pew, in full view a de goodly Rev. Look fa me.

Islandgal
    I was impregnated 3 times by a angel too n I put dem pun my husban. He in find out yet. idiot. I is still a virgin tu. believe me.

43. Random @ 8:46
    U r bery, bery vicked. (speakin in my Indian accent)
    LOLLL

44. Got to love BU…..

These people don’t ever let you forget your transgressions !!
    😉

45. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Dear island gal

In Barbados we have a saying “he don’t rice me” so I don’t care if Scoutie vex or not.

If he wants me to open my Bible which is right here beside my computer and give him chapter and verse about the Bible’s commands on how strangers should be treated I am happy to do so.

But I don’t wish to disrespect David by going off topic.

46. Sex is Sex PERIOD !
    Capable of producing the same results

Marriage is an invention of recent vintage

Bin Laden had four wives
    What say ye ?

47. @de Virgin Bonny,

3 times? Fool muh once shame on you, fool muh twice shame on me, fool muh thrice shame on all a wunna. Ah wunder eff de angel did yuh sweet man de negro. LMAO

48. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

@Bonnie
    “I is still a virgin tu”
    Ya lie!!!!!!!

49. Chris Halsis

We are in the last days boy !

The Final 4 days

THE WORLD ENDS ON SARTURDAY MAY 21 . 2011

The ADVOCATE NEWS PAPER said so not me

HAVE YOU NOTICED HOW HOT IS THESE LAST DAYS

50. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

This one is for you Tina Roach

“Toronto Star A New York City man’s decision to spend his life savings on a transit-ad campaign warning riders that the world will end on Saturday has prompted a backlash from atheist groups, who say doomsday cults are nothing more than money-making scams…Robert Fitzpatrick, a 60-year-old retired Metro Transportation Authority engineer, spent $140,000 — nearly his entire life savings — on 1,000 ads at bus shelters and on subway cars announcing the end of the world on May 21. ..“Global Earthquake: The Greatest Ever! Judgment Day May 21, 2011,” the ads proclaim over a picture of Jerusalem at night and a clock on the verge of striking midnight.”

And since Chris Halsall was asking about the time zone, now we can tell him its midnight between Friday and Saturday Jerusalem time; or 5:00 p.m. Friday 20 Barbados time.