Reverend Charles Morris – Photo Credit: Nation Newspaper

Reverend Charles Morris considers himself to be the most misunderstood man in Barbados. In has been just over a week the Anglican priest, who has been unassigned a Church for some time, deposited a thesis which has created consternation in a society known for its Christian influence.

Reverend Morris’ thesis states that no where in the Bible does it condemn pre-marital sex. He agrees however the Christian thing to do is to have sex in wedlock. BU has been able to attract over time some of the best dividers of the word in the world, we are certain the BU family is equipped to validate Morris’ thesis or shatter it to smithereens.

306 responses to “Reverend Charles Morris Maybe A Misunderstood Man”

1. Hants
    Doan spile me, I is a christian. get dee behine me satan. I gun beg Br. Scout ta pray fa you. ya heath’n.

ROK
    I kno what is true;
    De luv i hav for u.
    Mwahhhhhhhhhhh.

Random
    Who did Mary parents now? Jacob n Esau? dis ting gettin confuse.

2. Two days left
    Thursday
    Friday

3. True dat! The one and only Bonny Peppa… smmooooooooccccchh

4. @ ANON

Given your “COMMONSENSE” approach to this ISSUE* – I felt I should response in kind to your arguments individually as outlined in the below summations….

1) Is lust still a sin according to the bible?

A: YES* according to:- Exodus 20:14, 17; Proverbs 6:25-29; Matt. 5:28; Romans 1:21-32; I Thes. 4:5;

2) Do persons commonly lust after their partners before having intercourse?

A: It depends on the individual… For example, I may see my wife naked coming out of the bath-tub and may “DESIRE” her but that emotional and “VISUAL” condition cannot be ascribed the “TERM” – lust* because in the context of sexuality there is that element of “RAPACIOUSNESS” which is not counter-balanced with REASON* or PURITY***… Hence, the BIBLE* speaks of the LUST* of the FLESH* (which is based on carnal desire); the LUST* of the “EYE” (which is an unhealthy addiction to base materialism and placing temporal things above spiritual things in a sort of morbid objectification which numbs and debases the SOUL*)…

If both answers are yes, then in having pre-marital sex one is sinning PERIOD…

A: CORRECT – however that is if we are staying “TRUE” to the contextual framework of the argument which is “PRE-MARITAL” SEX*… But what about POST-MARITAL* sexual indulgence or as is commonly termed in SCRIPTURE – “ADULTERY”? where does this factor into the DEBATE, if at all?

3) How does one undertake this pre-marital sex ting? Do you promise the ring, and squeeze a little piece pon de side, and if it isn’t quite your ting yuh take back the ring and get another partner. How many here would like your daughters, or sons to be treated in this manner?

A: Again, as was cited early in the BLOG* regarding my esteemed brother and controversial critic John Sentamu
    (of the Bishopric of York) – his comments regarding Wills & Kate and them living together as man & wife long before having tied the Gordian Knot… However, you cut the mustard, violation of BIBLICAL* principle (either through ignorance or willful disobedience) is still SIN*…

4) If having sex with as many people as you like outside of marriage is not a sin according to Morris, why would any idiot marry to be pinned down by one woman come what may, and then can’t divorce her unless she fornicates, according to the bible? The ting is this, if yuh go out pon the side pon she then yuh guilty of sin.

A: Imbeciles and knuckleheads like MORRIS* have fallen off the wagon and hit their “BLOODY” head on a rock… What is ludicrous in this whole meaningless SAGA* is that he is voicing the sentiment of many in the wider church who would dare NOT* slime or ooze such words out of their mouths and on the other hand – SATAN* uses these “FOOLS” to give ammunition to those who are looking for “EXCUSES” to do a bunch of C.R.A.P> and to have even more “pegs” to hang their doubts on…

5) In such matters one doesn’t even have to be Christian to see when commonsense is applied that the argument that sex can occur before marriage for Christians is a joke.

A: Outside of so-called CHRISTIAN* communities (notably in societies where arranged marriages exist) the divorce rate is virtually non-existent and MARRIAGE* (as well as SEXUAL* PURITY***) is held in high esteem as a sacred covenant between FAMILIES*…

6) Even if I were to give Morris the benefit of much doubt, how many partners does the reverend reckon I should have before I’m guilty of promiscuity?

A: Guys like Morris need to remove his “FROCK” – put on “PROPER” trousers and in the process, get some “BALLS” given that a whole nation of youngsters are watching and listening…His theology is grossly skewed; his thought process and conscience has beaten eaten out by a “COCKROACH” and frankly, he can take his rightful, historical place in the “INFAMOUS” hall of shame with the BORGIAS* and others who decks the halls with their theological & philosophical tyranny…

7) The bible in its wisdom has therefore encouraged marriage for those who are single and are widows, if they find difficulty in remaining single.

A: Again, for those who want to wrestle with Scripture – GO AHEAD!!! In the end it is better to MARRY* than to “BURN”…No wonder HELL*** is enlarging its borders!!!

The choice is PLAIN*…

5. @ TECHIE*
    “care to explain this comment?”

What for? The statement does not need elucidation… Countless numbers like me feel the same way!!! I don’t think I have to read, write and spell for grown-up’s – y’all are big boys and girls, figure it out!!!

In the process, read V.S. Naipaul (imminent East Indian Trinidadian author and self-imposed EXILE*) – maybe there you may be able to “GLEAN” some understanding of your question…

6. @Random Thoughts: “Don’t know if Mary’s parents were legally married. You’ll have to ask Georgie Porgie, Zoe, Terence Blackett or one of the other theologians…”

The gospels tell us nothing about Mary’s parents, and there is no contemporary material outside the Bible, about Mary, her life or her family…

We can not say who her parents or grandparents were…

Luke 3:23 says that Joseph was the son of Heli, therefore Heli was not the father of Mary…

The answer to this question comes down to Jewish family genealogies and their accuracy.

In his “Daily Bible Illustrations” Dr Kitto writes:

“The fact that the descent of Jesus from David could be established by registers , and the presence of two such minute pedigrees as those of Matthew and Luke, evince that the Jews were, up to this time, still careful in the registration of family descents….The rabbis [sic] assure us that [after the captivity] they became still more careful in registering their genealogies; with immediate reference, doubtless, to the expectation of the Messiah; but with the ulterior object …of preserving means for establishing the exact fulfillment of the predictions respecting his parentage. That such existed to even a later date is shown by Josephus, who declares that he traced his own descent in the tribe of Levi by public registers; and he expressly informs us that, however dispersed and dispossessed his nation were, they never failed to have exact genealogical tables prepared from the authentic documents which were kept at Jerusalem; and that in all their sufferings they were particularly careful to preserve these tables, which were renewed from time to time…”

Regarding these genealogies in Matthew and Luke, Dr William Smith says in ‘Smith’s Bible Dictionary’ (1884) in the article ‘Genealogy of Jesus Christ’, that:-

“1. They are both the genealogies of Joseph, that is, of Jesus Christ as the reputed and legal son of Joseph and Mary.

2. The genealogy of St. Matthew is Joseph’s genealogy as legal successor to the throne of David. St. Luke’s is Joseph’s private Genealogy, exhibiting his real birth as David’s son, and thus, showing why he was heir to Solomon’s crown. The simple principle that one evangelist exhibits that genealogy which contained the successive heir to David’s and Solomon’s throne, while the other exhibits the paternal stem of him who was the heir, explains all the anomalies of the two pedigrees, their agreements as well as their discrepancies, and the circumstance of there being two at all.

3. Mary, the mother of Jesus, was in all probability the daughter of Jacob, and first cousin to Joseph, her husband. … (Godet, Lange and many others take the ground that St. Luke gives the genealogy of Mary, rendering Luke 3:23 thus: Jesus”being (as was supposed), the son of Joseph, (but, in reality), the son of Heli.” In this case, Mary, as declared in the Targums, was the daughter of Heli, and Heli was the grandfather of Jesus. Mary’s name was omitted because “ancient sentiment did not comport with the mention of the mother as the genealogical link.” So we often find in the Old Testament, the grandson called the son. This … shows that Jesus was not merely the legal but the actual descendant of David; and it would be very strange that in the gospel accounts, where so much is made of Jesus being the son and heir of David and of his kingdom [that] his real descent from David should not be given).

In his “Daily Bible Illustrations” Dr Kitto says:-

“… But the two genealogies are materially different. They coincide until David, when Matthew takes the ruling line [i.e. of Solomon]; whereas Luke takes the …line by David’s son Nathan…Matthew makes Joseph the son of Jacob,whereas Luke represents him as Heli, or Eli. He could not naturally have been the son of both these persons [thus] Jacob and Heli are different names for the same person. They are obviously two different genealogies from the common ancestor David…..[T]he genealogy in Matthew is that of Joseph, and the one in Luke that of Mary – the former being the legal, and the latter the real genealogy of Jesus…

Furthermore, Mary is always called by the Jews ‘the daughter of Heli’ and by the early Christian writers ‘the daughter of Joakim and Anna’. Now, Joakim and Eliakim (as different names in Hebrew for God) are sometimes interchanged; so that Heli or Eli is an abridged form of Eliakim interchanged for Joakim.”

(cf. Bibleanswers)…

7. A PROPER UNDERSTANDING OF MARRIAGE IS CRUCIAL TO OUR UNDERSTANDING OF THE DEBATE…

Drawing from “Jewish Marriage Customs” gives us an idea of what was involved in the SACRED COVENANT* as far back as the “DAYS OF CHRIST”….

Those who live in the modern western world do not catch the full significance of Jesus’ promise. This is due to the fact that in His promise Jesus was drawing an analogy from Jewish marriage customs in Biblical times.

Since this is so, those marriage customs must be examined if one is to grasp the significance of the promise.

The first major step in a Jewish marriage was betrothal.

1) Betrothal involved the establishment of a marriage covenant. By Jesus’ time it was usual for such a covenant to be established as the result of the prospective bridegroom taking the initiative.

2) The prospective bridegroom would travel from his father’s house to the home of the prospective bride. There he would negotiate with the father of the young woman to determine the price (mohar) that he must pay to purchase his bride.

3) Once the bridegroom paid the purchase price, the marriage covenant was thereby established, and the young man and woman were regarded to be husband and wife.

4) From that moment on the bride was declared to be consecrated or sanctified, set apart exclusively for her bridegroom.

5) As a symbol of the covenant relationship that had been established, the groom and bride would drink from a cup of wine over which a betrothal benediction had been pronounced.

6) After the marriage covenant had been established, the groom would leave the home of the bride and return to his father’s house. There he would remain separate from his bride for a period of twelve months.

7) This period of separation afforded the bride time to gather her trousseau and to prepare for married life.

8) The groom occupied himself with the preparation of living accommodations in his father’s house to which he could bring his bride.

At the end of the period of separation the groom would come to take his bride to live with him. The taking of the bride usually took place at night. The groom, best man and other male escorts would leave the groom’s father’s house and conduct a torch light procession to the home of the bride.

9) Although the bride was expecting her groom to come for her, she did not know the exact time of his coming.

10) As a result the groom’s arrival would be preceded by a shout.

11) This shout would forewarn the bride to be prepared for the coming of the groom.

After the groom received his bride together with her female attendants, the enlarged wedding party would return from the bride’s home to the groom’s father’s house.

12) Upon arrival there the wedding party would find that the wedding guests had assembled already.

Shortly after arrival the bride and groom would be escorted by the other members of the wedding party to the bridal chamber (huppah). Prior to entering the chamber the bride remained veiled so that no one could see her face.

13) While the groomsmen and bridesmaids would wait outside, the bride and groom would enter the bridal chamber alone. There in the privacy of that place they would enter into physical union for the first time, thereby consummating the marriage that had been covenanted earlier.

14) After the marriage was consummated, the groom would announce the consummation to the other members of the wedding party waiting outside the chamber (John 3:29). These people would pass on the news of the marital union to the wedding guests.

15) Upon receiving this good news the wedding guests would feast and make merry for the next seven days.

16) During the seven days of the wedding festivities, which were sometimes called “the seven days of the huppah,” the bride remained hidden in the bridal chamber.

17) At the conclusion of these seven days the groom would bring his bride out of the bridal chamber, now with her veil removed, so that all could see who his bride was….

(cf. Biblestudymanuals)…

8. This nonsense, that in the OT era, women were considered and treated as ‘chattel’ is clearly not supported from the facts, a few of which I present as follows:

As leaders in society:

That women actively may participate in the political life of the nation is obvious, particularly during the monarchy. Bath-sheba, the mother of Solomon, maneuvered the events toward the end of David’s reign to assure Solomon the throne ( I Kings 1: 3). The political and spiritual reforms of King Asa included the removal of his mother Queen Maacah ( I Kings 15: 9ff.). In 2 Kings 11 is the record of a queen and a former king’s sister both struggling to control the throne. But it is Deborah and Jezebel who are best remembered for their military and political exploits. Although the 2nd-cent, writer of the book of Ecclesiasticus mentions only outstanding male leaders of Israel’s history, the Biblical text is careful to acknowledge the positive and negative effects women have had upon Israel’s history. The song of Deborah further acknowledgees the role of Jael, the wife of Heber, who slew Jabin, king of Canaan (Judd 4:2, 17, 23, 24). Jezebel’s wickedness euphemistically describes the idolatrous women in the church at Thyatira (Rev 2:20).

Morality and spiritual idealism.

Eve’s role in the FALL* introduces the important OT issue of female morality. Only the NT however calls attention to the FACT that “Adam was not deceived, but the women was deceived and became the transgressor” ( I Tim 2:14). Therefore, the key to her morality is her sexuality, and consequently, the effect of the Fall is most seriously demonstrated in the pain of childbearing and the misuse of her sexuality (Gen. 3:16). On the other hand, the relationship of the image of God to female sexuality implies the highest appreciation of her nature as a bearer of the divine image. The additon of “fit for him,” to “helper” in the Heb. text of Genesis 2:18, clearly implies not only a spiritual but an anatomical complement of women to man. Basically, the woman morality from the sexual standpoint involved her faithfullness* to this divinely created role. And, it is for this reason, the Biblical idea of KNOWING* whether God or the sexual analogy for its fullest* meaning. Conversely, sexual violations of any kind, either before marriage, be it ‘Pre-marital’ of otherwise, are serious SINS* because they disrupt the I-Thou possibilties of personal relationships ( Cf. Gen 4:1; Amos 3:2). This is precisely why the Levitical statutes provide the severest* penalties for violations of this high* standard* of sexuality. Women’s EQUAL* status under the law IS* underlined by the fact that the SIN of adultry or fornication* calls for the death penality for BOTH the man and the woman (Lev 20:10).

Thus, as idolatry robs man of his saving relationship with Yahweh, so IMMORALITY of any kind, fornication, pre-marital sex, or adultry, robs man/woman, of realizing their highest human potential.

As members of the covenant community:

Nothing illustrates the high* place of women in the OT teaching more than her* place in the religious life of Israel. In fact, on the one hand, her spirituality is sometimes far superior to her male counterpart, as is seen in a Deborah, a Hannah, a Jochebed, or a Ruth. Miriam and other women participated in the celebration dancing at God’s deliverance from Egypt ( Exodus 15:20).

Life and ministry of Jesus:

The Gospels are replete with references to women* who were directly involved in the ministry of Jesus. But the most important woman in the NT is Mary the mother of Jesus. Her importance does not, however, derive from her active role in the ministry of Jesus, but, from her maternal relationshio to the Son of God, where her conception of Jesus, was a miraculuous, sovereign ACT* of Almighty God, through the Holy Spirit, the third Person* of the Omnipotent, Eternal, Godhead.

9. @ TB….

That question was just as as a btw….. I could care less if you or any others felt that they could not come back to Bim.
    So please don’t think that it has any impact on me or Bim for that matter.
    You guys take yourselves too seriously…….Pride perhaps?

10. THE CHURCH IN CONCERT WITH THE OTHER SOCIAL INSTITUTIONS MUST TAKE A LONG, HARD LOOK AT THIS LATE 20TH CENTURY EMERGENT PHENOMENON ON THE SEXUALIZATION OF THE FEMALE…

A summary of a 2009 report by Object – Joining up the Dots – challenging the sexualisation of women in popular culture. Obviously of direct interest to anyone studying the ‘continued relevance of Feminist Theory’ today – this document contains over 100 sources, many of which are research based.

The main points include –

The sexualisation of women and girls in the media and popular culture is increasingly prevalent across many forms of media, from television, video games, the internet, film, advertising and clothing to products, animated cartoons, magazines and news. It is linked to the continued mainstreaming of the sex industry and the ‘pornification of culture’.

A growing body of research has firmly linked the sexual objectification of women and girls to a negative effect on individual health and well-being, with increased sexualisation leading to severe dissatisfaction over body image and self-esteem; high rates of eating disorders among women and girls; rising levels of women turning to plastic surgery; increased incidences of sexual bullying and damaging sexual relations between young people.

The sexual objectification of women is also linked to the promotion and reinforcement of sexist attitudes – via exposure to media which overwhelmingly contains gender stereotyping and affects perceptions of all women. This has significant overlap with racism via the objectification of women according to their ethnicity.

Finally, a large body of evidence demonstrates the connection between the sexualisation of women in the media and popular culture with violence against women.

Popular arguments against taking action on this issue are centred around the human right of individuals to freedom of expression.

However, such a right must be weighed against the need and importance of taking effective steps to protect the human right of women and girls to live their lives free of gender-based violence and discrimination.

Just a selection of some of the evidence they cite – all evidence is available via the link at the top!

On the sexualized representation of women in popular culture –

44%–81% of music videos contain sexual imagery. Women are far more likely than men to be presented in provocative or revealing clothing and sexually objectified – often through imagery linked to the sex industry, such as pole/ lap dancing. Women are frequently portrayed as decorative objects that dance and pose and do not play any instruments.

Contrary to popular belief this is not restricted to hip hop or pop. In one analysis of country music videos, 42% of female artists were coded as wearing “alluring clothing”. Analysis of MTV music videos has found objectification in 44.4% of the 30- second clips analysed.

Comparison of both men’s (Playboy) and women’s (Cosmopolitan) magazines concluded that both types of magazines portray female sexuality in similar ways despite appealing to different audiences. Men’s and women’s magazines both depict women as sexualised objects whose desire is best fulfilled by making themselves into commodities that are sexually available to men. The primary difference was that women’s magazines are not as crude, aggressive as men’s magazines…

The sexualisation of women and girls is linked to a range of harms – ranging from body and self esteem issues to violence, sexist attitudes and racism. The links between these issues and a culture in which women and girls are overwhelmingly sexualised is all too often neglected in preventative policy-making decisions.

The mainstreaming process has also served to normalise prostitution, lap dancing and other related activities – making the harm of commercial sexual exploitation invisible.

Yet many women in prostitution and lap dancing experience violence and abuse – whether physical or psychological.

Studies consistently find high correlation between routes into prostitution and a background of time in care and sexual or physical abuse.

Many women cite poverty and the need to pay household expenses as a primary reason for entering prostitution and report problematic drug use.

More than half of UK women in prostitution have been raped and/or seriously sexually assaulted and many survivors of prostitution meet the criteria for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in the same range as torture victims and combat veterans undergoing treatment.

Working practices in many lap dancing clubs implicitly encourage men to seek sexual services from performers and women routinely report sexual harassment and violence within the industry.

Emerging evidence suggests the sexualization of women and girls has negative effects on the ability to develop healthy sexuality.

Studies have shown that self-objectification on the part of young women often leads to weakened sexual assertiveness.

At the same time young people increasingly learn about sexual relationships through the media and from pornography, as shown in a 2003 study carried out by Institute of Education which found that 66% of young people reported the media as their primary source of information on sex and relationships.

Researchers argue this is “reinforcing the views of many young men that women are always available for sex”.

A 2005 study of 2,081 young people in Rochdale also found that pornography influences young men’s expectations of sexual relationships, “lead[ing] to pressure on young women to comply” and grooming young men and boys to expect sexual acts normalised in pornography…

The report goes on to provide a number of counter arguments to those who would defend women’s right to ‘freely express themselves in a sexualized manner’, argues that current government policies are not adequate to ensuring gender equality and preventing harm to women and suggests a number of things the media and government could do to combat the sexualisation of women and related harms….

READ MORE:-

http://image.guardian.co.uk/sys-files/Guardian/documents/2009/05/29/joiningupthedots.pdf

11. >>>> Off topic but as an adjunct…

‘Black women are less attractive than others’: Controversial LONDON SCHOOL of ECONOMICS psychologist Dr Satoshi Kanazawa sparks backlash with his ‘scientific’ findings…

Read more:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1388313/LSE-psychologist-Satoshi-Kanazawa-claims-black-women-attractive.html#ixzz1MozJiGi7

12. islandgal246
    I am not here to defend myself against you, I humble myself to my God. Having said that, you are good at twisting what I said, my comment on the guyanese situation is and will be until someone can convince me otherwise, I don’t like the influx of indo-guyanese into Barbados because they are destructive, dangerous, racists, this I know, I’ve worked with them. Yes, I’m a christian and I don’t have to prove that to you, not even my wife, I MUST prove this to my Lord, but that does not mean I have to accept the behaviour of all other people, if this was so for christians then we should open our homes for all the homeless to live in it, being a Christian does not mean you’re stupid.

13. “being a Christian does not mean you’re stupid. ” It also doesn’t mean that you are also a good person!

SCOUTIE YOU ARE ONE LYING OLD GEYSER. I am not twisting anything only going by what you have written. You are a narrow minded uncharitable individual. How and what a man writes shows exactly who he is. I rest my case.

14. It is so amazing how the so called educated, and learned Christians on BU and all over, can insult those that don’t share in the belief of Christianity.
    What is even so hilarious and sad at the same time, is that they circle the religious wagon (when it suits their agendas) but yet still with all their collective wisdom and education, cannot even agree on the one book they swear by, the Bible, on issues as simple as the Sabbath, amongst others.
    Someone or some people in that circle is/ are LIARS!!

I guess that old saying rings true……

The enemy of my enemy is my friend !!

15. islandgal246/Technician whoever you are, I’ll say a special prayer for both of you in particular and anyone else who are likeminded, that someday soon you will experience like Saul on the road to Damascus, the presence of God. My God is willing to forgive all of us for our wrong doings and wipe our slates clean, it’s never too late to repent and come humbly to the presence of the Creator. God Bless, this is my final article on this topic, just to say I’m not vex or worried about what you say about me, my feeling of compassion goes out to all of you and I pray for your forgiveness, while I also pray for mine. To all of you, if I have offended any of you PLEASE forgive me like I forgive you for your derogatory comments, I’ve asked Almighty God to forgive if I’ve caused any of you to sin because of your comments about christianity. Over and Out on this topic.

16. Anybody cah tell me which chu’ch de goodly Godly Rev. Morris is be at pun a Sundee? I serious bout visitin he one a dese Sundees. I like Errington Messiah rale bad too. He is keep um rale plus he is a fairly sexy ol fella.

17. @Scout…….keep your prayers for yourself. People like you do not have love in your heart for others like you have demonstrated so many times in this forum. You are one sanctimonious racist bigot. You walk around in sheep’s clothing like many so called Christians spewing the Bible and God’s name thinking that is enough to call your self a Christian. I am no Christian but you are the worst and dangerous type of human there is. You disguise your self as a Christian yet you exhibit the most uncharitable and selfish traits that many would abhor. And that makes it ok because you believe. What a joker you are!

18. islandgal
    many r called but few r chosen. I gun be one a de chosen. Heaven would be dull n borin widout sum lil ‘expletives’ evry now n den. LOL.

19. @Bonny……..it depends on where the call is from Hell or Heaven? LOLLL

20. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

@Hants “The fcukor and the fcukee are equal participants in the act.

As long as they are indeed truthful and equal, its not my business nor my problem.

21. @all
    I have heard a number of barbadians expressing concerns about the influx or inio-guyanese into this country. When I visisted Guyana a few years ago, I was warned about the # of indio-guyaneses coming to Barbados. I must admit the warning came from afro-guyanese.

I was tricked by two indio-guyanese, but I would not conclude that they are all bad. What I will do if I come in cotact with any of them I would exercise caution. This tricking had to do with financial transactions. I know a number of person who work in the construction area and similar stories are emerging. To counter, I also hear stories of their being exploited by Barbadians.
    You have to uderstand the culture of Guyana to understand why they do so much hussling there and here to survive.

I can empathise with the Scout’s perpective, but I dont think we should generalise.

22. @Bonny

Haivng recemty joined the blogging family, I looked back at a lot of the old blogs, incluidng yours and I know you like to use yah little expletive here and there. That makes some of your blogs colourful and interesting.

Have a nice day. Yah get married yet on this blog to your blogging boy friend?

23. @Observer ….we could say the same about the Nigerians they have a reputation.

24. @Islandgal246

All the Nigerians I have met here are professionals and i have not had any unpleasant experience with them.

One man’s meat is another man’s poison.

25. @David
    This blog with Rev. Morris seems to be one of the most popular can you tell me whu?

26. @observer

Barbados considers itself in the main a Christian minded society and therefore finds Reverend Morris’ challenge to long held beliefs offensive. Also the religious blogs have always attracted robust debate from that BU constituency.

27. @ Scout….

Save your breath to cool your pies!!

I do not need you to pray to any God for me.
    You are a fraud and a joke as a ‘christian’ as far as I can see, based on you comments over time on this blog.
    I have not made derogatory comments, just called a spade a spade.

28. @David

This blogging real sweet, sometimes we get emotive and say things we dont really mean. In the final anlaysis all the bloggers mean well and they are putting forward their perspective, even if we dont agree with them.

Any how everybody have a nice day and pray that we win this test match.

29. @ Observer….

You would have loved it more when GP was around.
    Now that used to be a Test match on BU…The Bat Cave vs The rest of BU 😉
    GP had men trying to hook yorkers…..dug out many men middle stumps.
    Dictionary would land 6 balls in the same spot, just outside off stump, stupid men would chase and nibble at them only to be caught in slips.
    Zoe, well he used to mix it up and keep you guessing as what would come next. 3 pitched up balls then 1 short of a length….or roll his hands over the seam and have you halfway through the shot before the ball come…straight up in the air your argument gone, caught at mid wicket 😉
    We had some shot players too…Graceful (BT, Yardbroom), sluggers(ROK, BAFBFP), men who stayed long at the crease but no runs (CH) etc… I used to bring out the bats (12th man) 🙂
    Can’t watch a better match than here on BU, free admission, greatest seats.
    David prepares a pitch strictly for pace!
    🙂

30. @Techie

No room in the team for TB?

31. @DAVID

I am trying to be like all the above and leave people where you standing and then change gear, hope to get there one day, if i dont get run from this blog, but then again my girl bonny will make it real spicy at times.

32. @David

On average, how many blogs do you get a month?

33. @ David…

David | May 20, 2011 at 1:29 PM |

@Techie
    No room in the team for TB?

TB is Management!! 😉

34. Technician @11:23
    I luv um bad. ya in mention de popula spectatas like ac, islandgal, pat, Jc, Kiki,Tina Roach nor me (Tanty Merl). how you expeck ta play cricket n leff out we? stupseeeeeeee. doan do um again or we would boycot de ‘game’. you were warneded.

Observer
    I does try.
    Me n Negroman did set a date fa we weddin but I faget dat I din get my divorc from ROK (he contestin um) so we had ta ‘put it off’ until……….
    I gun mek you a flowa-gurl. dah is aw-rite wid you?

BU is de place ta be fa laffs, giggles n serious commentry. We in easy.

35. @ Bonny….

OMG….I am soooooo sorry….I stand corrected.
    You are absolutely correct, the spectators are just as important as the game.

36. @ Technician, man, ya really mek me laugh, at your analysist of the Bat Cave vs the rest of BU! (LOL!)

37. @ Zoe…

Funny but true aint it… 😉
    Don’t worry…..one of these days I will learn to read that slow delivery.

That’s what BU is about!!

38. Calvin Philips Avatar
    Calvin Philips

In discussing premarital sex, we often focus on the “recreation” aspect of it. Yes, sex is pleasurable. God, our Creator, designed it that way. It may be hard to think of God creating sex, but He did! In God’s plan, sex was designed for married couples to enjoy the pleasure and excitement of sexual relations. The Bible talks about this in Hebrews 13:4, “Marriage should be honored by all, and the marriage bed kept pure, for God will judge the adulterer and all the sexually immoral.” God created sex to be fun, exciting, and pleasurable. At the same time, though, it is clear in the Bible that God restricts sexual activity to married couples.

Why is this? Yes, sex is pleasurable, but in God’s view, the primary purpose of sex is not recreation, but rather re-creation. In other words, sex is for reproduction. God does not limit sex to married couples to rob pleasure from those who are unmarried. Rather, God commands against premarital sex in order to protect unmarried people from unwanted pregnancies, from children born to parents who do not want them, and to protect children from parents who are not prepared for them. Imagine, for a moment, a world without premarital sex. There would be no sexually-transmitted diseases, there would be no un-wed mothers, there would be no unwanted pregnancies, there would be no abortions, etc. According to the Bible, abstinence is God’s only policy when it comes to premarital sex. Abstinence saves lives, protects babies, gives sexual relations the proper value, and most importantly abstinence honors God.

39. Calvin Philips
    Mawning.
    But wait, tell me sumting, married couples doan get unwanted children too? I kno a few who do.

Anudda ting, you mention dat ‘…………sex is not recreation but rather recreation’. you saying de same ting or you ment ta say ‘but rather procreation’? you confusing yaself n me too.

40. Bonnie

If I may speak for the good gentleman he was making a play on words when he used the same word twice, the stress on the second word is on the first two letters RE-creation which means the same as procreation if you get my drift……. He was merely trying to put a damper on the recreational side of sex enjoyed by some people who shall remain nameless..

Isn’t there anything better to do @3.28am ( the time you posted your response)

41. Sargeant
    Mawnin
    I was waitin fa de worl ta cum ta a end. I din wannna be cawt nappin. wah bout you? LOLLL

42. Bonnie

I was in the arms of Morpheus (the god of dreams) probably dreaming about where I can get some real fish cakes in Bim (not the phonies that taste like bakes with salt) when my son came in from gallivanting ( how you like my Bajan) and woke me up.

The world won’t be coming to an end today, the boss wants me to work on the garden this weekend and as you know God is a woman, guess whose side she will take……

43. @ Sargeant….

Check the Heineken shop behind the stables as you pass the Museum heading towards NUPW.
    Real fish cakes with chunks of salt fish….last time I bought from there. The shop is on the left at the corner…where the jockeys get breakfast.

44. Techie

Now you tell me!! And I passed through that area on my recent visit, however I will file it in memory for next time.

Some of these people who sell “fish cakes” should be jailed for false advertising 🙂

45. @Sargeant….dem is flying fish cakes dem criminals does be selling…de fish fly thru dem. So wait yuh here in Buhbaduss? I would mek you some real nice fish cakes and and serve wid a glass of wine in de garden. How bout dat?

46. @Bonny

This song is for later, you and someone before the …

47. Islandgal246

Thanks, but I will have to take a rain check (bad choice of words) on your invitation as my visit ended a couple of weeks ago. I was there during all the rain and the Bank holidays and I headed to the beach between showers.

From your blog it appears that you were busy mopping up and trying to stay dry during that time but I will keep visiting your garden via your blog.

Hopefully I will be able to smell the flowers and enjoy that glass of wine on my next visit.

48. Sarge…

Next time just drop a hint. There are many other places you can get good ole bajan fish cakes. There is also a lady in St.George, Dayrells, just past the Radio Station.
    She gives you tooth picks with your fish cakes….nuff said.
    She also makes the batter for sale….top quality!! We always go there when we have limes or picnics (and pretend we made them from scratch).
    So let the crew know when next you in town.

49. Thanks Tech

Didn’t mean to sound ungrateful for your feedback. I hope that word gets around (the power of BU) about substandard fishcakes and other vendors pick up their game now that they know that there are some of us who appreciate the real thing.

Here’s to a bread ‘n two