Senator Reverend Dr. David Durant (l) Minister Stephen LAshley (r)

It is with immense discomfort that BU comments on the reported abuse last week of a seven year old boy at the hands of two eight year old girls. Yes believe it or not, these are children in our primary school system. As you would expect there is the predictable response from those BU has been describing of late as …. These people continue to ignore the weeds overrunning the lawns by comforting themselves that this kind of thing was happening in days of yore with the same frequency. How can anyone deny where there is a gathering of human beings good and bad things are likely to occur? Of course despicable deeds occurred in the 50s and 60s but are we saying that they occurred with the same monotonous regularity and acceptance?

Sorry, BU is not convinced that such an ambivalent position will help to build the kind of society which will enrich the lives of all Barbadians. The barefaced display of crass behaviour by Barbadians, young and old, which veers sharply from the value system of old has been under threat for some time now. BU accepts that value systems will shift as people become more enlightened but some basics which we* Barbadians still hold dear, must not be tampered with at this stage.

Let us critique two examples which appeared in the media last week. Senator Reverend Dr. David Durant (not sure if we got the protocol right with the titles) and Minister Stephen Lashley chided Barbadians for being too harsh in their criticism of the path Rihanna has chosen to trod to support her career. Here is a young lady who is idolized by many of our young children entranced by the  prevailing pop culture, she goes naked when she desires, she engages in childish retorts with all and sundry; the latest being Louis Farrakhan, she skips from boyfriend to boyfriend as anyone would change underwear and we could go on, yet she remains a Barbados Youth Ambassador, what are we saying to our young people? How are guiding our young people?

We are told this is what artistes in the pop business have to do to be successful therefore Rihanna’s behaviour is acceptable and should not conflict with the decision to confer the title of Youth Ambassador. BU has a problem with this conclusion which is based on what others have dictated to us. The requirements of a relativist culture should not guide or define the value system of Barbados. We have developed a model which has served us well and upon which we have built a relatively successful society. Why should we at the altar of what is secularly expedient buckle to an ‘anything goes culture’ which has clearly overwhelmed us?

There is the other example where Durant asked Bajans to forgive Jippy Doyle, who was found guilty of raping a 13 year old girl at the time, all  of Barbados knows the behind the scene machination which surrounds this matter. The Court in its infinite wisdom reversed the decision on appeal. Now give us a ‘frekking’ break Senator Reverend Dr. David Durant!

There was a time when the schools were managed using a ‘Joe Clarkian’ style.  Principals, teachers and prefects patrolled the school premises with pride to ensure the school rules were adhered to. BU remembers fondly teachers and prefects alike who gave up their breaks to assist with ‘monitoring’. Can we say the leadership of our schools and by extension society, operate with the same level of dedication?

To those who will label BU’s position one of  doom and gloom, we accept the title because it is now left to a few who have to speak out.

1. Ambassadorial accolades should be given on a 2-year basis and can be renewed.

Sorry. I mean “……..should be reviewed”

2. @islandgal246,

I have converted winers to wukupers but that was a very long time ago.

3. David have you ever visited Bajantube.com?

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Mobert

I wish that I was wrong, but as a youngster I had to dodge that man.

5. @Hants

Yes, from time to time we view the filth.

6. @ David
    You are just on a different scene altogether from most of us. Surely you know that there are some circumstances where ‘it is folly to be wise…’

The ‘problem’ is not Rihanna, it is the global culture which dictates that she needs to behave in a certain manner in order to be successful.
    The ‘problem’ is that we have all come to accept the declining standards and can see no way back….

You clearly see the ‘problem’ that we face, while some of us have our heads too far into the sand to notice the dire precipice ahead….

Buried heads will not prevent tails from being burnt….

7. @Bush Tea

Not sure if others don’t see it but have become more concerned/comfortable with not rocking the boat.

8. AGAIN! AGAIN, I ask, “WHAT IS EACH OF US ON THIS SITE DOING TO HELP SOLVE THIS PROBLEM?

We blame this person, blame that institution, but none of us wants to point the finger at the self.

9. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting David ” if Rihanna was a member of the BU household would we be happy with her behaviour, millionaire status not withstanding? The answer continues to be a resounding NO!”

David you ae being a hypocrite now.

Does any Bajan woman ever walk away for her big shop husband even though he is an adulterer and a wife beater?

The woman up in Milenium Heights has left her husband yet?

The answer is NO. Most people would take any shti as long as the money is good.

10. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Sear island gal:

Incest is not a black people thing nor is it a white people thing.
    I expect that there is as much incest in the white Barbadian community as there is in the black. maybe more as the smaller the community the greater the chance of delibeate or acidental incest.
    Incest is quite simply a nasty human failing, and a crime.

11. Many of us adults who should be leading and setting a good example for the younger generation to follow,are taking our cue from that younger generation. The shitty tail is now wagging the dog.
    Listening to a christian programme which airs on Saturday mornings, I was amazed to hear a little kid, a girl, posing a riddle to the presenter, concerning Lice and Crabs. Obviously some misguided adult in the background who spurred on this innocent child , thought that this was funny.
    All the Kings Horses and all the Kings men and all the Kings Wreckers will have a tough job recovering this nation from the downward slide it has taken.

12. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

David I say again that this has nothing to do with Rihanna. Most likely all of these children are neglected or abused at home, by an older family member of “friend” to attempt to shift the blame to Rihanna is just plain wrong, and immoral because so doing shifts the blame from the TRUE OFFENDERS.
    Just recently David I had to tell off a policeman who between the bus stop and home tried to entice a young female ralative (well below the age of consent) to get into his car while she walked home from the bus stop.

At first I let him have a earful until a bystander told me that he was a policeman, and then I gave him much more because policemen of all people should know better, and should behave better. When I found out that he was a policeman I let him know in no uncertain terms that he should see her and not see her because if he dared to approach her again neither he or I would ever go home agian. As they say it would be the grave for the Johnny and the gallows for me.

If you can’t trust the police to leave young girls alone when they are walking home from a legitimate after school activity then whom can you trust?

Normally I don’t agree with Carson C. Cadogan or is it Mobert but I believe the person who said that as a child had to shift the homosexual pedeophile Chief (in)Justice

13. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

David many rich and powerful treat their wives and women the worse way and the wives do not leave because they are hooked on the status and the money.

We all know that every one of our Prime Ministers had other women on the side and have any of the wives ever left?

Stupse!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

14. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

David a brother in law of mine a Combermere boy in his 60’s has told me that when he was at elementary school he was sexually assaulted by a mother of one of his school mates who compelled the elementary school boy to perform sex on her, right here in this Barbados more that 60 years ago. This place has always had a set of nasty people who want locking up.

And their names should be put on a sex offenders register and should remain there for life.

So stop blaming Rihanna.

Each of us has to look very, very carefully first at ourselves, then at the members of our housholds, then at our friends, relatives and neighbours.

The problem, and the solution lies no further that 2 or 3 houses away.

15. Go and enjoy http://www.carnivaltv.net

16. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

The Youth Ambassadorship will not be taken away from Rihanna because she’s the greatest publicity-vehicle which Bim has, and just as well for the thousands of you who rely on tourism for a living. Rihanna’s helping to put food in your mouths, and your childreen’s mouths!

17. @Random Thoughts

You continue to miss the point deliberately or not who knows. Don’t make this about Rihanna, the point is how can a government claim to be building a society and by its actions condone the ‘displays’ of Rihanna given the title bestowed?

The good thing about BU, we don’t have to be afraid to offend and by hypocritocal like our public figures and talk show moderators.

18. I remembered as a teenager walking back home from pebbles beach , I was by what was Holiday Inn (Grand Barbados) shops when a car pulled up, in this car were two men. One was a youngish man and the other an older man. The youngish one stopped the car next told me that the Minister would like to meet me. I looked into the car and recognized the Minister as a prominent Minister at the time in government. I told the man that I am interested in meeting the Minister. At that time I was barely 15 or16 and looked much younger than my age (even today Hants). This happened nearly forty years ago so nothing has changed.

19. B U Family,
    As David said, this is not about Rihanna and how she chooses to live, but what government has done. they have tagged Rihanna as a symbol of how our youth should be by

1) giving her the title ‘youth ambassador’
    2) heaping praise on her despite her actions in her video.

Is she doing well materially? yes but should she be held up as a beacon for our children No! ……but when we have ministers’ children taking to school bullets and the said minister going to the police station and retrieving them and then the police report goes missing, are we surprised at the relaxed attitude towards Rihanna.

When we have officers who are suppose to help us plan our family and instead of reducing the family interfere with the young girls that go to get help, are we surprised that they too want to give our children condoms without the parents consent.

I heard Mr Blackett say that her popularity brings many tourists to the island, where are the statistics that shows such, and if it is so, as a ‘priest’ should we prostitute ourselves for the mighty dollar.

@Raymond,
    you have said a lot with out saying it, you have got to forgive the individual/s so that you can move on with your life. The memories don’t leave, but at least you can find peace with it and move on.
    Blessings

20. @ Fran

What is she doing in her videos?

21. When I said a long time ago that this government is too quick in bestowing the title of Youth Ambassador on Rihanna can backfire on them, I was rediculed. Since then I stated that she should be spoken to privately and the parties come to an amicable agreement for her to relinquish that position.Again, I was deemed old fashion, now I feel vindicated as many others have waited until the matter has become serious to agree with me but it is not too late. Rihanna is doing what she has to do or wants to do to become a superstar in her own right and I see nothing wrong with that, she’s a grown woman. However, what she is doing is not setting a good example to or is she a good roll model for our youth. Yes she will “big-up” Barbados whenever she gets a chance and we thank her for it and Barbados needs to wish her well but not as Youth Ambassador. Two years ago, when she was asked what she plans to do for Christmas, it is alleged her response was to have a lot of sex, now if a number of our young people had said this they would have been rediculed but it was Rihanna and that was cooool. We’re sending the wrong message to our youth, no woner they are asking to put condoms in Primary School; Where next Kindergarden?

22. What is most disturbing is the reaction of so called ‘men of God’ in this whole episode. Who are they representing? If not God and His standards then who – their political masters?
    Men of God should not be involved in situational ethics. Surely there are absolutes – the Moral Law hasn’t changed. And if an activity is morally wrong today the fact that it may have happened 40 or 80 years ago does not make it acceptable now! Enough of this nonsensical ‘it is nothing new’!
    How on earth can a Pastor/Priest/Apostle/Dr(honorary) be a ‘Government Senator’ or representative of a Political Party? Does God have a Party line??

23. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting David “You continue to miss the point deliberately or not who knows.”

No David I am NOT missing the point.

Incidences of sexual misbehaviour/assault by and of young children are alledged to have occured recently in 2 different schools, and BU tries somehow to pin this misbehaviour on Rihanna and the goverrment’s making her a youth ambassador.

Whether or not the government was right, whether Rihanna’s behaviour is socially acceptable or not, the problems being experienced by these children has NOTHING to do with Rihanna or with the government.

Most likely these children are being abused by a parent, step parent, older sibling, mother’s or father’s girlfriend or boyfriend, teacher or religious minister, neighbour or “friend”

To attempt to shift blame to Rihanna or the government (and AWAY FROM THE TRUE OFFENDERS) is wicked (and no at the last elections I did not vote for the party currently in office) but still to attempt to blame them for this is wrong and wicked.

A lotta, lotta people try to fool and mislead me David but very, very few actually succeed.

You won’t succeed either.

24. We practice double standards in Barbados. Everyone is more concerned about “looking right” and “keeping up appearances” more than anything else and one of the consequences is the way increasing numbers of our children are acting out. Societal ills can only improve when we practice the positive that we like to preach. At least, we can’t accuse Rihanna of these double standards!

25. To Stand Up – these so called men of God are like the Pharisees of Jesus’ day. Their hands and hearts are dirtier than the rest of us and no one can look to most of them for good moral guidance as they continue to erase the dividing line between what is good and what is not. I think it must be the ‘having an appearance of decency’ malady affecting too many of us.

26. @Stand Up

Are you referring to men of the cloth who contradict their own teachings at who they allow to minister? Yes parents are to be held responsible but a society represent a mosaic of all things within it.

27. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Scout, Bimbro told me that you’ve been preaching that message on here for a long time now – that Rihanna should relinquish the title of Youth Ambassador. As that hasn’t happened, do u think u should give up?!!

28. That ambasssadorship will not be taken away. Barbados is currently being ruled by the wishes of a dead man! CJ…Rihanna…St John…Cabinet…. should I go on?

29. It seems that this government is bending/breaking its back just to prove themselves right and their slips are showing. Tomorrow they are going to debate the C,J matter and they will win but remember ” what sweeten the mouth has the potential to bun the backside. I hope I’m wrong but I don’t loke the move. This is the government that advocated change from the wayward method of the BLP but they now border on being dictatorial.

30. Well we see in the morning scout. Normally supplement take preference in debates. So I don’t think they going to do it till after the estimates debate at least. So in two week time I see it actually happen if so soon

31. anthony
    The new C.J will be appointed before the end of the month as the acting C.J’s appointment expires at the end of this month and it was already extended, so I suspect that they would rush this bill through parliament ASAP. I’m worried that a man with so much ability would subjest himself to the treatment he’s getting, it appears he is hungry for this job.

32. * subject

33. @scout

they extended it more than 2 or 3 times now. What is another time. I really don’t see it happening till after april 1. I guess we see who right tomorrow.

34. Maybe Davids point is that youth under the age of criminal responsibility are sexually abusing other youth.

I think they should raid the homes of parents or guardians of the children doing the molesting or abuse and confiscate any or all pornographic materials. They should question the offending youths as to how or where they saw some of the acts that they then commit and charge the adults responsible for allowing or exposing the youth to this stuff.

My ten year old went to a neighbour to play with her 11 year old son. While searching for a game on the internet they came across photo’s of a woman sucking a dick. My son told me what he saw. I asked him where was his buddies mum. She was in the adjoining kitchen area and could see what they were looking at, but made no comment or attempt to restrict them from looking at the pictures.

Needless to say my boy’s not going there again.

Children are a product of their society a society that is designed and ordered by adults.

The best thing about Rihanna’s style is that it can only get better. When she has done all that she can to get attention and the semi nudity and all the rest, what next?

Peace

35. Men of God ? If a Sunday morning one of the elders approaches one of these Bishop/Doctor/Apostle of one of these New Age Jerkwater churches and told him that a man outside, who looks alike a carpenter and riding a jackass, accompanied by other men who look like fishermen,wants to come into the church and preach, he would not be given the light of the day.
    Many of these Titled Clerics serve themselves and not the Lord JC.

36. How come some of these very modern day “men of God” who were demanding God to cure the late P.M, don’t make a similar demand to save this country from the direction in which it is going right now?

37. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Scout, u don’t need to prove that Bajans have got no manners!

38. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

n then wunna criticise Ri!! r u surprise!

39. These many ‘titled’ men of God have a form of godliness, but deny the power there of to stand up and declare what is righteous.

For them it is about being recognized hence the titles, but Jesus’s recognition came from the many miracles he did and he didn’t need a programme on radio to get it (not that he wanted it). He performed miracles and many people told others of them.

These modern day preachers have not and cannot access the power of God to do the miracles, so the next best thing is to add the titles to their names, but titles that were given to Jesus’s disciples never came without power to demonstrate miracles.

40. The man wiv on name
    I don’t criticise Rihanna, what I’m against is her carrying the title of Youth Ambassador. I put Rihanna and these self-appointed “men/women of God” in the same bracket, they are causing more damage to who they claim they represent than we can imagine

41. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Scout, I suspect ur right, but the readiness n willingness of the young people to be ‘damaged’ as u suggest, indicate to me a lack of something more basic – a proper, parental upbringing. If the minds of the parents themselves r in the gutter then how swift the children to join them there!

42. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

suffer the little children!

43. @Whosoever will
    We have sucessfully turned this article into one on Rhianna’s lifestyle!

44. Surely you guys know that with our without the title of Youth Ambassador Rhianna will have influence over those that can be influenced. So will any other big name, bajan or otherwise. Long before Rhianna made it we were flooded in Barbados with video tapes out of Jamaica that contained the filth of “De Dancehall Culture”. Where was the outcry? We embraced it. Give a listen to Lady Saw and some of the others and then give a thought , a conscious thought to exacly what we permitted to fecundate the minds of our young ones . What title does Lil Rick have ? Can you find another more licentious ? Yet he is revered and rewarded . The almighty dollar steers our moral compass . Why blame Rhianna for making hers? We have men in their twenties with children from six women ,who on their own have about ten baby fathers between them, and we feel the need to focus on Rhianna ? At the end of the day the title of Youth Ambassador holds weight similar to that of any parish Ambassador. More symbol than significance. So as de Mad Boys say , “Leh She Lone”.

45. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

HAMILTON, doan dare criticise d Jamacians pun hay cos certain Jamaican-*ss-loving people pun dis blog will criticise u for it. Even though u and i know what ur saying to be self-evident!

46. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Hants, nice girl in the video, but no different from many others. To be a star u need to be outstanding – which she most certainly isn’t. Nice looking girl though!

47. @The man wiv no name!! | March 9, 2011 at 3:36 AM |

Are you in the music Industry? What do you know about star quality. This lady performs at Jazz festivals in Canada and that USA. She has a better voice than Rhianna. Look at Jennifer Hudson. She was thrown off American Idol because people thought she wasn’t good enough. Look at her today! If there is a segment of the market that Marrissa’s music appeals to then she is a star in her own right. Did the Spice Girls have star quality? You have to be in the right place at the right time. There are many out there with fantastic voices some may be discovered while others remain unknown. It is the luck of the draw many times.

48. @Hamilton Hill

Like Raymond stated earlier we seem to be pinning the thrust of the blog on Rihanna.

Barbados has public morals laws on the books which were readily used to stop Vybes Kartel from coming to Barbados to speak to our school children.

While Lil Ric and others exist, the government as far as we know has not conferred a title of Youth Ambassador although they are things they can do to curb the Lil Rics etc, like cleaning up the minibus/Zr situation or shutting down the Buccaneer Cruise!

The government as one of the actors in society should be seen as not contributing to the moral decay.

So you see Rihanna is an example of the hypocrisy thats all. Bu is not dealing with Rihanna at the individual level although we could, it is the bigger point – what are our standards?

@Jack Spratt

Missed your earlier question about what is our moral fabric?

It is certainly not regurgitating everything that is North American. Do you agree?

49. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Islan, iv been observing n experiencing the music industry fuh long enough. ent no luck to it. if uv the talent ull be discovered. if u haven’t u won’t n chick above, much as id like to get to know her, simply doesn’t have it in sufficient abundance, dah is all!!

50. Man wiv no name

I forgot you need some eye glasses and when you go to get the get a hearing aid as well…….you must be getting down. The cold mekking yuh sh!#e

Leave a Reply to FRANCancel reply