Submitted by George C. Brathwaite

One week in politics is certainly a long time and it can bring about a number of casualties whilst, at the same time, that timeline may elevate the statuses of others. Last week’s bye-election in Barbados has come and gone. At this time, it appears that the main losers and winners were the two candidates and parties. However, if we care to dig deeper, there are several losers and winners that much attention appears not to have passed their ways. In this short article, I consider a few factors that cause me to explore in a reflective manner the political course that is being charted in Barbados.

From the onset, I wish to congratulate Mara Thompson and the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) for their successes despite that they both resonated failures in certain aspects. While Miss Thompson brought a caring yet sedate spirit in order to win overwhelmingly from the beleaguered Barbados Labour Party’s (BLP) candidate Hudson Griffith, I do not believe that her placing herself as a victim of ‘Arthuritis’ will have any prolonged potency to help her dodge the figurative bullets that are inherent to Westminster-styled politics as practised in Barbados. Indeed, the Leader of the Opposition in his heyday is known to have crafted a style of his own that does not soften to the tunes of gender, colour, race, creed, or even social status. In that vein, and after his welcoming speech, Mr. Arthur is unlikely to continue with niceties if such ‘soft politics’ will not render him electoral satisfaction or attract his familiar smirk of victory.

Similarly, the DLP adeptly avoided the real issues confronting Barbados (i.e. the state of Barbados’ economy given limited growth outlooks and challenges for hauling in the deficit; and the social cancer that is seeping in with rising unemployment and escalating violent crimes being repeatedly reported in the news). Of course, there are many other issues requiring urgent attention especially regarding the tourism and investment sectors. On the relatively few occasions that the economy and the social ineptitudes confronting the island gained the ascendancy, the DLP spoke in generalisations; excused themselves from governing responsibilities based on the current recession; and at times, the platform speakers denigrated from what ought to have been opportunities for expressing a national vision, to the vapid characterisations and innuendoes that are so familiar to gutter-bound politics.

On the other side of the political fence is the unimaginative way in which the BLP campaign regressed rather than progress. If there was ever a time to show Barbadians that the BLP is serious about rescuing the people of Barbados, it was during this bye-election despite the likely result held an austere sense of inevitability. The Owen Arthur led political party, with the campaign led by his deputy in Dale Marshall, and under the chairmanship of George Payne, missed a big chance for re-directing Barbadians to view those things that the BLP has on offer in order to take the country on a growth path.

Since the end of the first quarter of 2008, Barbados has not experienced the comforts of upward trends in economic growth, nor has the country enjoyed sanctity in the social indicators that point to a good quality of life and reasonably good standards of life for all of its citizens in terms of measuring real development. The course of economic governance practiced under the BLP now appears underused, ambushed, and overgrown with administrative paralysis due to a lack of initiative on the part of the current administration.

In the St. John bye-election, the BLP lost focus by staring at incidentals which were more constrained to the politics of St. John than had national impact. Unfortunately, the deficient strategising by the BLP threw away the gem of a chance to reinvigorate the internal dispensations of the party; by doing so, the BLP campaigners failed to alleviate many of the bandied fears about leadership conflicts within the party and among its non-member supporters. The losers in this scenario are Owen Arthur; Dale Marshall; George Payne; Hudson Griffith; the BLP; BLP supporters; and all of those potential voters who remain convinced that fortunes of the DLP based upon recent histories do not congeal or are not concomitant with the fortunes of a majority of the Barbadian populace.

Put differently, the BLP under a ‘fight for bare life’ under the leadership trio of Arthur, Marshall, and Payne sent the wrong messages to the populace of Barbados at the wrong time and hence, they were more on scrutiny than the adventures of Hudson Griffith. While I do accept the mammoth task that the BLP had to overcome in St. John, I believe the camp was pitched at the wrong level (i.e. Mara the candidate) and on the wrong gradient (i.e. parochial rather than national) if the BLP was to make any kind of impact that would serve its interests whenever the general elections are called.

I admire the courage of Hudson Griffith and his tenacity to fight to the end. On that score he is a winner. However, it is essential that Mr. Griffith realises that in politics the first thing you do is your homework (e.g. knowing your people and resources; having a definitive strategy that is backed with a contingency plan; and to seek help wherein it becomes necessary. I, by chance, was the campaign manager for a candidate in that particular constituency of St. John as recent as 2003. While he did not come close to winning, nor was he faced with the exact challenges assumed by Mr. Griffith, he managed to secure over 21 % of the vote in that general election. This statistic remains the best by a BLP candidate outside of Pat Thorington’s 1999 riding when she etched her way up to over 33 % of the vote when there was a sufficiently significant swing towards the BLP in which the party decimated the DLP nationally.

Adding insult to injury, is the fact that I continue to work closely with the BLP, I am from St. John (i.e. with a large majority of family and friends still residing there), and I am a detailed student of politics. It is popularly perceived that Mr. Tyrone Power did not connect or endear himself to the people of St. John (despite his work with the RDC) in any substantial way that would merit the constant repetition of Mr. Griffith’s association with him. Moreover, it was foolhardy to use the types of language occasioned by Mr. Griffith in getting points across regarding representation/non-representation. The faux pas is manifest more so because the candidate failed to recognise that St. John people were still grieving. Regardless of what one may say about the former representatives, St. John constituents take immense pride in what they have accomplished alongside their parliamentary representatives over the years. It may be true that St. John has had to put up with forms of neglect from both political parties from time to time, but they cannot be called ‘hypocrites’ or be referred to as being ‘backward’ – those labels are offensive to the ordinary masses.

Finally, at least for the time being, there are winners and losers that are seated nationally and regionally. On the home front, because issues of citizenship, nationality, and even elitism crept into the political discourses, meant that Barbadians may likely come to terms that the world and the region is changing and transnational elements in respect of our laws and practices have to be amended to become compatible with today’s realities. The discussions on the matter relating to Mara’s national origins (St. Lucia) signals the requisite for addressing issues on CARICOM nationals. Furthermore, the pending appointment of a Chief Justice in Barbados who does not quite square with the criteria for selection due to his work performances beyond the Commonwealth is not so far removed from this crucible of cross-national engagements that holds onto traditions at the expense of expediency.

In this regard, Barbados and CARICOM are winners albeit that again Mr. Arthur may have the burden of carrying self-inflicted wounds into another general election. The biggest lesson has to be for the BLP to take a closer look at itself; there is something reprehensible when, rather than protecting the legacy of Arthur or raising tributes to his outstanding record, factions within the party would prefer to stretch the sensibilities of a public that has become more discerning, more critical, and simultaneously more unforgiving. By dint of her representation, positive approach to politics, dignity in defeat, organising skills at party and national levels, and the expressions of intellectual capacity, it is definitely not too late to revisit Mia Amor Mottley as the BLP’s next political leader. Two enthralling episodes on the campaign trail in St. John suggest that Mottley’s leadership potential should not be wasted, but harnessed into a sublime force that will help the BLP to rescue Barbados from the ineptitude of the DLP whenever the next elections are called.

1. Are you drunk, blind or mad?

There was one loser in the St. John by-election – the BLP.
    St. John sent a clear message to Owen Arthur – your time and come and gone and you will be slaughtered in the next election.

The message was loud and clear for all to hear.

2. […] the rest here: What Next? Identifying The Political Losers And Winners! | Share and […]

3. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@Crazy
    You wrote: “Are you drunk, blind or mad? There was one loser in the St. John by-election – the BLP.”

Should you take time to read, digest, and analyse what is written, there is every possibility that an honest conscience would lead you more in my direction than remain stunted in partisan myopia. I respect the fact that at first sight one can concur with you, but dig a little deeper; that is all I ask you to do given the fact that sober thoughts often lead to more measured conclusions.

4. The BLP was whipped as expected NO EXCUSES, therefore you and Bovell should stop stoking the fire and let the healing process begin. Maybe the problem for both of you is that you have a political lifesore and ther is no healing for the two of you.

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Take your licks like a man and stop talking hogwash. The BLP, and I am happy to report Owen”seethru”Arthur, got beaten like an old dirty carpet.

More is coming, just wait for the next General election.

BTW you sound to me like you are begging someone for a campaign manager job. Let me tell you, you will not make any difference to the outcome of the next elections.

“Wunna gine get beat real bad”.

6. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@CCC
    “you sound to me like you are begging someone for a campaign manager job.”

Why should I when I stand a better chance of presenting myself to the people. I may just be able to hire you to run my campaign. That would make a “difference to the outcome of the next elections.”

7. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ The Scout
    I suspect that you are a member of the BLP. Indeed, I believe that you are a former MP and strong supporter of the current Opposition Leader. I have absolutely no problem with those things because I too respect Mr. Arthur. However, the day that I am a member of a political party and I cannot express my views in a candid but respectful manner, then the writing is on the wall. Would it be okay for me to heap coals upon the DEMS alone while suggesting that the BLP is perfect in everything it does? Perhaps if you answer this question, it would tell you exactly why people in Barbados felt it was necessary for a change in 2008 despite the accomplishments of the BLP up to that time. One of the things that the BLP members, including myself, has to do is to stop feeling self-righteous as if the BLP has been bequeathed with political power to the extent that it can do no wrong. There is nothing more vexatious to Barbadians than the assumption that political power has ownership reserved for a particular few. The BLP has to start listening rather than attempt to silence those who analyse a situation and speak as candid as possible without bring the institution into disrepute.
    Indeed, if you want to take a message, please take this one since it is sincere. I retain the right to speak on issues as honestly as I possibly can, and if what I say offends those members of the BLP who choose to say what they may without putting their brains in gear, then so be it. Tell them to rid me from the party rather than attempt to silence me. I remain a member of the BLP, but I am not afraid to call a spade a spade even if it is to be rejected. Barbados is a democracy. Do not anger me, I am not the one that has been splitting the party nor do I stoke fires that have been set ablaze by your kind. Cheers comrade and take the message to whom you think it is intended!

8. Mr. Brathwaite
    I am very happy that you said these words “One of the things that the BLP members, including myself, has to do is to stop feeling self-righteous as if the BLP has been bequeathed with political power”.
    You see it always offend me when BLP supporters make statements about the stupidity of Barbadians for changing the government in 2008. It was like they got this God given right to be in power.
    As an independent voter, bloggers like KISSMYA, scout and check it out drove me more and more to the DLP side.
    In all conscience all right thinking Barbadians should be able to give any government credit for the things they are doing.
    From day 1 the BLP supporters were on the government case that they do not know what they are doing. Three years after and the country continues to provide the services that were being provided before the election.
    I think the government that was portrayed a group of wild boys have done well so far. I will have to vote for them.

9. because of OSA . Mia also came out a winner. OSA needs to take his torn and battered hat out of the political ring.Check yuh self Boo! yuh time is up! LOSER!

10. @ George C. Brathwaite: I must say, your later comment should have been your contribution, in my humble opinion it was far more powerful. If you’ve got a message for Owen and the pip squeaks George Payne, Dale Marshall, Glyne Clarke and crew who had some notion; history was going to repeat itself by the DLP calling a snap election, (as they did after the NDP debacle in 1994) and they went and overthrow Mia (My Queen) Mottley in a coup d’état to re-install him; (gah it to he man, yah on solid ground). The BLP never had a chance in this election, and should NOT even have contested; the “Party” would have come away with greater respect. At the end of the day in the words of Kenny Rogers, “You got to know when to hold ’em, know when to fold ’em, Know when to walk away and know when to run. You never count your money when you’re sittin’ at the …”
    http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&cd=3&ved=0CCQQFjAC&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.lyricsfreak.com%2Fk%2Fkenny%2Brogers%2Fthe%2Bgambler_20077886.html&ei=C-ZATdKDN4GClAefgJmdAw&usg=AFQjCNHdQGqMEPzGMG7BG0n353Fn4kxsLA

Maybe, just maybe you wanted it that way!

11. In 1999 Owen Arthur suggested that given the stance the dems had taken , they were saying that a dead Errol Barrow was worth more than a living David Thompson . His fixation with” All Things Thompson” says the same . A dead Thompson was worth more to his former party than the living genius to his . Why did he choose to employ such a strategy that HE SHOULD HAVE KNOWN would have no political gain ? He set the tone and the underlings followed his lead , speaking to the issues at the very end of the campaign . As frank and forthright as Mr. Brathwaite was , I wished that his candour would have extended to where he would have speculated as to what percentage if any ,Owen Arthur’s flawed strategy cost his party . My guess is that it matched if not out pointed that of sympathy . Here we are at the post-mortem of the election and still we see where his supporters continue this nonsense about a St. lucian queen in Barbados . Have they not learned anything from the results ? Like the proverbial Ostrich they have buried their heads in the sand . They missed or perhaps did not care to see the flight of the Phoenix as she landed in our parliament . What they could not missed was the path chosen by the Eagle .Though non confrontational , ostensibly reminding all and sundry that she holds the keys to the honeycomb , and is still the greatest drawing card in the hive . If nothing else St. John proved that . So yes folks the Phoenix has landed , the Eagle soars high above the cloud of confusion , and the Albatross dangles from the neck of THE ANCIENT MARINER . ——— Since you would not say this George , let me say it for you . Bajans made a change in 2008 because of their complacency————–and CORRUPTION.

12. G C B
    Thanks for not only making me a membr of the BLP but also a former M.P but NO THANKS; I would not defile myself by joining such a party. I once voted for a member of the BLP because at the time the DLP was in shambles and as I have vowed to perform my constitutional rights to vote, I voted against the DLP rather than vote for the BLP. Therefore, since you are a member of the party, the best person to carry your messages is you; or perhaps you’re a paling cock and can only crow hard when you’re up high but can’t come face to face and do the same. I have been called many things but I will always remain a free spirit, with the privilege to speak my mind clearly and not like some people who crow on other person’s behalf. Yes, I am your comrade but not your BLP comrade, it is each of us right to express our feelings whether we do it on our own steam or that of another. For me I’m my own man and I shout from my own heart with my own gun

13. @George

BU appreciates you sharing your views. We know you are a student of politics and is passionate about the subject. You have never hidden your affiliation to your beloved party yet not afraid to criticise the party.

We have clashed in the past on the immigration issue. Incidentally did you catch Prime Minister Stuart’s comment on the matter yesterday when he reiterated Barbados’ position that we will enforce our laws protecting our borders which is a separate issue as far as freedom of movement goes. Even Mia has alluded to the tribalistic nature of how our politics has become. We need to move how we see politics and politicians in continuing to build Barbados to a different level. It must start with dialogue.

14. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

David, I wholeheartedly agree with your comments. Yes, I did read the PM’s statement. Maybe I shall right on it, but I will bet you that only superficial changes would be made. Why? Treaty law; International Law; Human Rights law; and our very own constitution will be significant. We ought not to confuse the meaning or understandings of de facto sovereignty. That is not threatened in the least bit. The next few days I am very busy, but if a spare moment arises, I will briefly explain in an article the concept of sovereignty and what is occurring with the freedom of movement. Cheers.

15. The DLP lost a perfect opportunity to put a candidate in place that can take the party in the future. Mara is no David. She cant even speak without reference to a prepared script. Even to accept congratulations in parliament she had to read a script. Let her know that it is against the rules of the house to read from a prepared script.
    What has she brought to the government? Sympathy? All the sympathy in the world will not absolve the incompetent government from responsibility for its dismal failure on : cost of living, employment, management of the economy, crime and violence, social decay, suppressed wages and salaries and the consequential problems that flow from these. The DLP need to stop looking for scapegoats and get on with managing the affairs of the country. Three years and what do they have to show-stagflation? please! First, the PM has to show leadership;what is his vision for Barbados? He is like an African snail-slow to move but destructive. Destructive of the dreams and asperations of many young, educated and upwardly mobile Barbadians.

16. Speaking about cost of living, not only have the prices in the food stores skyrocketed, building materials too. I inquired the price of a piece of timber, namely a pitch pine board 1x12x16, the price ranged from $ 89.00 to $ 111.00 untreated or treated. God help the young person who has to build in this climate.

17. @The Scout: “Pitch pine board 1″x 12″ x 16ft, the price ranged from ($89.00 to $111.00) untreated or treated.”

I don’t really mean to compare prices, therefore this is just a tease. Check this link at the bottom to our local Lowe’s Hardware store, where two pieces gets you what you want; multiple by 5 (simple math) tells you what it should sell for in Barbados with a 40% mark-up. That’s how we quickly worked stuff out when I worked in the retail business years ago.

Hope you get my point!

http://www.lowes.com/ProductDisplay?partNumber=1368-99999-1029099&langId=-1&storeId=10151&productId=3194943&catalogId=10051&cmRelshp=sim&rel=nofollow&cId=PDIO1

18. […] The splitting of an atom releases energy in the forms of both heat and light. Atomic power plants control the fission reactions so that they don’t result in the devastating explosions that are brought forth in atomic and hydrogen bombs. There is no chance of an atomic power plant exploding like a nuclear bomb, as the specialized conditions and the pure Plutonium used to unleash an atomic bomb’s vicious force simply don’t exist inside a nuclear power plant. The risk of a “meltdown” is very low. Related to this you can read: http://bajan.wordpress.com/2011/01/26/what-next-identifying-the-political-losers-and-winners/ […]

19. I would like the BU to investigate the relationship between CLICO, the late David Thompson and Amb. John Beale. What was the basis for the latter’s appointment as Ambassador?

20. de Marlehole
    I may be dumb but I don’t get your point.Please explain

21. @marlo ray

Please tell us. One can only assume Beale was known to Thompson. Are you insinuating that because Beale was CEO of RBTT there is some relationship as far as funding goes?

22. One winner will be Dennis Kellman, according to this Barbados Today report;

http://news.barbadostoday.bb/barticle.php?ptitle=Full post for Kellman&article=2067

If this turns out to be true, the PM should be congratulated for bringing Dennis Kellman out of his very long period in the cold and from the fringes of DLP power and for his humane treatment of Dennis Lowe who will have an indefinite time to recuperate without having onerous duties.

But there will still be many questions about the decision.

eg. Given that the new cabinet will possibly be the biggest that Barbados has ever had, Does the coming appointment of Dennis Kellman suggest that the PM is at last putting his own stamp on his tenure as PM?
    Does this appointment mean that any serious reshuffling will be postponed?
    Does it mean that Mara may have to wait a bit longer for the expected cabinet posting?
    Will the PM be able to tone down the accustomed exuberance of Mr. Kellman and keep him on the straight and narrow path?
    Will the PM take on more ministerial portfolios himself or will he drop some and become the first fully executive Prime Minister of Barbados, following the lead of David Thompson?

Lots more questions are in order, but the above will suffice for now.

23. The link above was broken. Hope this one works:

http://news.barbadostoday.bb/barticle.php?ptitle=Full post for Kellman&article=2067

24. Still did’nt work. last trial

here

25. The learning tummy flatness, although from mastery of the software.
    The MAC match ups means that the actual Dub Turbo software can be are operated with an iPad.