Submitted by The People’s Democratic Congress (PDC)

Dean Faculty of Social Sciences The University of the West Indies Cave Hill Campus

“Owen Arthur IS a three term prime minister. I think that unless the Barbados electorate were very silly, there must be some very strong reason why a man was elected three times. His term of office also had coincided with prosperity and we are going through hard times. What the present regime can say is that it was not responsible for them, and to that extent that is where Mr. Stuart can be cautious and say, ‘let me take my time and make my statement, it is two years to elections…”

Dr. George Belle on Getting Down to Brasstacks last Sunday on VOB 92.9 FM

While it is NOT very often that the PDC  uses its BU column space to, for whatever reasons, undertake personal criticisms of any persons living here in Barbados or elsewhere, we must state that this is one time when we have got to use this forum to do so, and for two very important fundamental reasons – that the above cited extract is so scandalous that it warrants the full weight of a calculated response to it – and because the author of it needs to be hauled over the coals for his continued attempts at misleading and misinforming many Barbadians with many of his recent utterly odious propagandistic comments.

For, not only are we getting quite sick and tired with many of Dr. Belle’s very unbalanced, very biased, pro-Arthur, pro-BLP utterances, but we are also becoming increasingly uncomfortable and very dissatisfied with certain local media houses which,  though  their right, still continue to pursue him for his very sub-par intellectually bankrupt political analyses on many political goings on in this country. Need we say more!!!

Moreover, that a man whose masterful PHD thesis had a political historical focus on  the 1937 Riots/disturbances in Barbados and beyond, and who himself had the vision to have once had his own party – the Workers Party Of Barbados, and who used to extol the virtues of social justice and equality in the 70s and 80s, could at this juncture be seen by many people in Barbados to be slipping so terribly in properly understanding and articulating views on many far less challenging political issues in Barbados, is completely staggering – very prodigiously staggering – even beyond our little  comprehension.

Really and truly, we thought that some of his earlier comments on the reasons why Arthur was recently installed  as Opposition Leader  (a faction within the BLP looking for the best leader given the possibility of a so-called snap election being called in the air then, and that Arthur would be a unifying leader), were astoundingly shallow, but the above cited excerpt of comments – which serve as a basis for this particular PDC article – are far  far more heinous.

Now pray tell us, what could have entered the fathead of the Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences of the University of the West Indies at Cave Hill, last Sunday on Getting Down To Brass Tacks, at the time when he went on to state, inter alia, that “Arthur IS a three term prime minister … I think that unless the Barbados electorate were very silly, there must be some strong reason why a man was elected three times”? What like hell??

As well, aside from his very conditional pejorative insult towards the Barbadian electorate – which we found very distasteful and depressing to have heard on the 7.30 am VOB news on such a bright Monday morn – his method of fallacious reasoning and the false impressions he sought to give in saying why Arthur was a three term prime minister, were at one and the same time muchly atrocious and backwardist.

First of all, for the PDC to have heard Dr. Belle say that Arthur IS a three term prime minister was jolting to say the least, since we thought that for him to say that – grammatically correctness aside – and for VOB to broadcast it, was a situation whereby they ( Belle and VOB) more than likely sought to convey the impression to listeners that Arthur is still a political heavyweight.  What trash propaganda!!!! The fact though is that Arthur WAS (sic), and –  IS NOT – a three term prime minister.

Furthermore, we must also categorically state for Belle’s information that the Parliamentary Representative for St. Peter is NO longer the political force that he was in the 1990s and in the early 2000s.  No. Now, he is a mere shadow of his one strong political self. So, what caution any political party, any political body has to exercise in dealing with Arthur, since he has returned to the helm of the BLP!!! NONSENSE!!!

Well, still, Dr. Belle must be made aware – if he does not know already – that there are at least five major factors which were present during the said 1990s and the early late 2000s – and which obviously therefore are no longer present now – that helped to make Arthur, the assumed larger than life political force that he was then.

1. In the aftermath of the DLP /IMF/ World Bank led structural and stabilization period in the early 1990s, many political forces in the country had sought to get behind Mr. Arthur and the BLP in helping to, et al, bring greater political confidence in the recovery in a so-called Barbados economy in which thousands of people had lost their jobs, hundreds of businesses were closed down and many homes, cars were possessed by commercial banks.
    In the minds of many people and groups, Arthur, as a charismatic economist, was therefore eminently positioned to take on the mantle of leadership of the country at the time. Actually, Arthur and the BLP went on to win the 1994 elections, but not before the then DLP Government had imploded in the said 1994. So, what Dr. Belle perhaps failed to appreciate was that more than anything else these particular historical times helped substantially to define Arthur – as had slogans like Jobs No 1 was Jobs, the Brightest and the Best, etc. had helped to define him too. So, given that, now, these times would seem to have been like eons gone by, that the so-called recovery (temporary) of the Barbados economy would have also been achieved like long time ago, and that these slogans are totally irrelevant now,  it certainly has meant now that Arthur’s essential political purposes have also ended, given that those times helped to define and elevate him so substantially.
  2. He had in his political camp, or at his side, such prominent BLP figures like David Simmons (now Sir David), Henry Forde (now Sir Henry), the late Sir Harold Bernard St. John, Billie Miller (now Dame Billie), Louis Tull (now Sir Louis) Dr. Johnny Cheltenham, and others. Such political professional talents yearned for governmental power and the exercise of it, and by doing what they had to do esp. in the lead up to the recapture of the government in 1994, thus made Owen Arthur look stronger.
  3. The so-called politics of inclusion. This title came over a motley state of affairs in which Arthur was the prime beneficiary of the political capital that was derived from the political relationships that were fostered mediated between himself and the likes of people like Mr. David Comissiong, Mr. Trevor Prescod, Mr. David Denny, Mr. Hamilton Lashley, the said Dr. Belle himself, and many other so-called leftists. Such  relationships ( which saw things like Emancipation Day being declared a National Holiday, July 26 being declared a Day of National Significance, the establishment of a Commission for Pan-African Affairs – of which the said Dr. George Belle was a one time Chair person of, the creation of a pantheon of National Heroes, political monies being allocated by the then government to the Pinelands Creative Workshop, Israel Lovell Foundation) made Arthur more free of trenchant political criticisms and opposition on so many occasions, and left the DLP more open to their
    brand of political attacks.
  4. At the time of Arthur’s being a political force, the NDP was also around then, and from 1989 up to about 1999 – the latter, the time when its former leader pledged  political electoral support to  the re-election of a BLP Government, it was a source of political governmental strength for Arthur, as he fed off the many of the positive results/benefits of criticisms that the NDP members were making of the then DLP Government in the early 1990s.
  5. Arthur derived much political governmental benefit from the open and hidden support that was given to him by many of those who had served within the business and academic classes and trade union community in this country. Persons like the late Sir John Stanley Goddard, Philip Goddard, Sir Allen Fields, Professor Sir Hilary Beckles, Sir Roy Trotman had supported Arthur very much and, yes, he – as prime minister – had politically governmentally supported them and their interests very much too.

As said above these factors are no longer present at this juncture. Moreso, we are at stage when there is an absolute need for a totally different path model of national development and for having the requisite strategies and policies to underpin such at this time when China is increasingly flexing its political financial muscle, and is at “war” with the US, to a greater extent, and Europe, to a lesser extent, and when Barbados will be made to feel some of the fall out of this “war”; when many of those above mentioned BLP political personalities have retired from active politics; when the so-called politics of inclusion was proved to be nothing more than a money for status game between political brokers, and wherefore  many of those leftists – except for Mr. David Comissiong – have become politically discredited useless; when the BLP is rightly riven by strife and is in shambles; when the NDP has long become defunct; and at a time when the leading the main business, academic and trade union associations have become more insular and parochial, are organizing under different political emphases, and are more taken up with their own divergent focuses not national focuses.

Also, Dr. Belle, in saying what he had to say (above excerpt), had made the very embarrassing, some would say obtuse, error of that of blurting out that Arthur was elected three times. The facts remain that he was NEVER EVER elected three times. For, from the time of being first elected to the House of Assembly of the Parliament of Barbados in 1984, he has been re-elected more than even three times; he has been reelected 6 times – in the general elections of 1986, 1991, 1994, 1999, 2003, and in 2008. Thus, for him to have said that he was elected 3 times is nonsense in every sense of the word.

However, having regard to the context in which Dr. Belle would have said what he had to say ( above excerpt), he seemed to have been trying to mislead reinforce into some might be gullible listeners into thinking, that Barbados does run a kind of presidential election system. But how could that be???  when in truth and in fact the elections that are conducted in Barbados – outside of by-elections- are national constituency elections under the first past the post election method?? How???

It is amazing how he would want again to be so loose in giving so many false impressions about Arthur seeming so presidential, even in how he has helped to get the rid of Mia Mottley as Leaders of the Opposition, and how he unceremoniously fired those two BLP Senators. Perhaps another series of CHAPO polls could do the trick in getting some people to again look up to that old beaten up political fox!!! Think NOT!!!!

Finally, we want to make it clear to as many people as possible that it was absolutely wrong and untenable for the senior UWI lecturer to falsely impress on the minds of many people that Arthur’s terms of office coincided with prosperity, whereas at this time what we are going through right now are hard times. Whilst the latter situation is true for almost every person business in Barbados, the fact is that there was little real prosperity then under Arthur, if one looks at the fact that the cost of living and doing business in the country had been at their highest under Arthur,  that the amount of  THEIVING TAXATION had been at its highest under Arthur 40-45 % of National Income, that the Gross Government Debt had skyrocketed under the said person, that political exploitation by financial means was at its most devastating under this former Minister of Finance – as many local and foreign elites got far more – money wise – out of the average masses and middle classes than ever before in the modern history of this country.

So, what prosperity what, what, as if by Belle’s saying prosperity in the midst of hard times, Arthur could simply re-emerge as a Prime Minister of this  country!!

Down with Dr. George Belle and his propaganda – no longer deserving of the title of master dialectician!!!!

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Owen Arthur’s shelf life has expired. jennyM

2. @ David
    “Most governments managing in a recession are hard pressed to be re-elected.”
    This is a fact David, but the reason that is so, is that most governments are comprised of idiots whose one tracked minds are focused on greed and self promotion.

Also, unfortunately, most governments direct the affairs of peoples who are also idiots – just like them.
    When you have the blind leading the blind, they tend to change leaders at a whim……

Do you REALLY think, that a government that takes the following steps in a recession would be challenged in an upcoming election?

1 – Come with an open, transparent position to the people and explain the TRUE situation that we face.

2 – Entertain open and free debate on the way forward, and select a high level, bipartisan panel to chart a preferred path out of the various options developed.

3- Introduce the inevitable harsh medicine in a transparent, even handed manner, following rules which are clear and fixed

4 -Keep everyone informed as to progress and to any adjustments that may be needed from time to time

5 – Put systems in place to assist the genuinely dis-advantaged – BUT NOT the lazy or ‘wutless’.

6 – Place emphasis on things like family, community spirit, cultural development and healthy living – and less on ostentatious greed.

7 – Promote productivity, justice and volunteerism

….Guaranteed to be successful in a forward thinking society. The result will actually be a more rounded, balanced, and uplifting society EVEN IN A BAD RECESSION!!

…..Once upon a time our pal MME would have taken us up on this plan and run with it….. alas those days are sadly past….

3. @Under-Disguise
    “So What”
    What it implies is that whatever Dr. Belle says is “suspect” and may need to be taken with a pinch of salt.

4. @David”
    “What the BLP is doing is politics, simple”

Very true; but it is politics at its unashamedly, unbridled lowest level.

5. Fed Up With Carson's Nonsense! Avatar
    Fed Up With Carson’s Nonsense!

@Carson C. Cadogan | November 21, 2010 at 2:12 PM |

“Owen Arthur’s shelf life has expired. jennyM”

Carson, don’t you think you should ceast and desist from this foolishness?
    What would you think or say if I told you that David Thompson’s shelf life HAS expired, which IS in fact the truth?

Get off of Arthur’s back man!

6. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

@Hants | November 21, 2010 at 1:54 PM |
    “Yet I keep reading that there is a special formula to rebuild the Barbados economy and all Bajans have to do is re elect the BLP with its new leader Owen S A.”

Hants, would you point to the place where you READ THE ABOVE STATEMENT at least ONCE? YOU BOLD-FACED LIAR!!

7. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

@Hants | November 21, 2010 at 1:54 PM
    “The BLP government built a Mega prison,built highways”

DLP bloggers on BU and BFP, are the most unfair and demented commentators I have ever come across!

Hants, please tell me what position would we be in today, or explain how we in Barbados would cope WITHOUT a SECURE prison, and could you imagine the absolute chaos on our roads today WITHOUT the ABC Highway, even though we already have a measure of that?

When Tom Adams produced the vision for the Highway many years ago, he met with the harshest criticism any one man could encounter, and from no less a person than the great man His Excellency Errol Walton Barrow. You ever get to understand therefore how Barrow’s name(its harshest critic) came to be on the Highway? He absolutely HATED the idea!
    Has not the BLP done anything good at all in this country?

8. @Anonymous Numero Uno Sylly Royal Rum,
    really peyessed you off didn’t I.

Still two years before you and Owin get yuh chance to create a new gravy train.

9. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

There you go again Hants! Always twisting and shifting. Never even making an attempt to give a straight answer. I did not ask you anything about your silly gravy train ……… and that’s the big problem with you DLP bloggers.

You came on here with your ever insulting remarks like….. Arthur’s shelf life expired …… BLP built mega prison and ABC Highway……and now you find it convenient to run away when you are challenged about your foolishness!

You really are not worthy of my time, you silly man!

10. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

Sorry Hants. The one with the “shelf life” was yout twin Carson. But need I apologise? You are both the same!

11. Anonymous Numero Uno,

Dont fret up yourself with the DLP supporters on this blog, they defy logic.
    Their god David Thompson told Owen Arthur he was like a stale cartoon of milk, his shelf life had passed. Today, look whose shelf life has expired. God dont sleep!
    These DLP hacks continue to talk down Arthur’s age, their leader is the same age…61 years old, so if Stuart can still be in politics, why cant Arthur?
    They continue to blog about Arthur having a drinking problem, so did Thompson! Isnt that the reason he fell off the back of the truck in St Philip and broke his leg? Dont they know that one of the main causes of pancreatic cancer is excessive drinking? He was habitual consumer of Absolut Vodka.. ask his rasta driver and Kenny Best.

12. @ The Counterfeit “Real Bajan Truth’ once you start wrong you will end wrong. There is little truth in your statement, but you may not be accustomed following actual public affairs but sucking on sound bytes provided by the DLP. They need to get the story straight, because I have what would seem to some Bu bloggers as strange. I think, get facts and actually reason.

Fact number one, the gov’t fiscal deficit stopped bleeding after Sandiford introduced 8% and layoffs. Unemployent climbed and business closures continued. The economy did not start to turn until 2003, but it was not because of any stimulation policies, but because Sandiford ceased to do the harm that caused the decline. In other words if you stop choking a person they will breathe again. I don’t know if that qualifies for praise in a court of law, you would at least get charged for attempted murder, not murder. The loss of homes, cars and the recovery of citizens well-being; the loss of businesses all these things required positive policies and strategies. Arthur did that.

Also fact no. 2 Sandiford lost the election, not because of the 8% and job cuts, not even because the DEMS had given themselves a salary increase before the cut. That had started to settled when the implosion and wrangling in the DLP started over the BTA debacle. This led to the no-confidence motion which was supported by DEMS. It is alledged he called the election after he found out the fellows were planning to remove him. Dems stayed home and did not vote, it was not about the economic mess he and Thompson created.

Fact 3. gov’t does not sell land, Bajans do. The strategy was to attract the type of investment – tourism, sports tourism, offshore, culture, agriculture, energy that would produce jobs, foreign exchange, so the citizens can make a living. usually these activities have to take place on some kind of land, we have not perfected building with air as a foundation, mostly it takes place on land. This means the more economic activity the more land it requires, it is a matter of getting the activities that provide the highest returns.

Only do that if you want to give your people a future. its like driving, you cannot drive all day and then quarrel about the gas it takes. It is not intelligent.
    You cannot feed people on air cakes and windpies and then wrap it in a flag, as this gov’t has found out. It has a bad tendency to create unemployment, cause people to default on mortgages and loans, usually this is bad for the economy. You actually need to spend money to move your economy along, create jobs for young people and provide social services. You refresh your infrastructure so it takes you into the future, you stimulate your lagging sectors and introduce new ones. Last time I checked it costs money. Like business, some will flourish and others will fail.
    Just thought you would want the facts, so you could do a better job with the truth.

13. @Serenity,
    Have a little respect for the dead. Reason: He can’t defend himself against accusations.

14. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

@POLITICS | November 21, 2010 at 9:54 PM | @Serenity,
    “Have a little respect for the dead. Reason: He can’t defend himself against accusations.”

You know what? POLITICS, HANTS, CARSON ……. It doesn’t matter. These DEMS bloggers all think on the same insipid, brain-dead level.

Mr. Serenity just laid out a truthfully solid case detailing the DLP’s utter disaster of a tenure in Gov’t under Sandi and Thompson, and what do you get?

No serious response, but a plea of respect for the dead! This has nothing to do with the dead, Mr. Politics.

Thompson doesn’t need to be alive to defend anything that was said above. Serenity spoke the truth. Nearly one hundred per cent of what he said is a matter of record.

Instead of hiding behind Thompo’s death, you and your fellow die-hard DEM supporters, have an obligation to do the defending. Are you not the ones who have gone on the OFFENSIVE WITH LIES AND ENNUENDO, on behalf of the same dead man?

15. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

“Mr. Serenity just laid out a truthfully solid case detailing the DLP’s utter disaster of a tenure in Gov’t under Sandi and Thompson, and what do you get?”

I meant ….. “Mr. Serenity and Bajan Truth”

16. Bush Tea:

Why don’t you run in politics. I would vote for you in a heart beat B or D!

You don’t sugar coat anything; I remember DT stating that Bajans were not foolish you tell them things straight and they would understand. It seems as if BT has known this all along.

The days of cornbeef and biscuits politics are over!!!!!

17. The Dems are really delusional, though.

I am here listening to a hard core Dem telling David Ellis that they inherited a mess. In response David to her said that they are those who say that the government exacerbated the situation knowing full well that a recession was looming. Can you point to anything that the government has done to worsen the situation?

The woman say no, I can point to nothing that we have done wrong. We had to help people with bus fares and help people with bad housing. Wait, did we not just hear the PM and the AG say that they did not know that there were so many bad houses in Barbados? So where the money gone? Whose house got fixed? Where are they? I know for sure Minister Todd’s father’s house got fixed!!!! He and Lowe made sure thay got that one done. And the Dems like to talk about corruption by the BLP.

All we know is that this goverment has spent over $1.9 billion since they came to power and there is nothing to show for it!!

It would seem as if the fatted calf was shared out too fast as remember the late PM said that only those who stayed the course with him would share the fatted calf. The money gone and there is nothing to show for it.

But just to point of the logic of the DLP, if they say that they inherited a mess, how could they just start “giving away” bus fares, summer camps and setting up constituency councils? Do you understand their logic?