Submitted by George C. Brathwaite

The Late Hon Prime Minister David Thompson

โ€œKeep the faith.โ€ This phrase is one of the final messages that I received from the Right Honourable Prime Minister David Thompson as he battled the invasive and debilitating effects of an illness, for which very rarely does it allow an extension of life beyond the very short term.

My fellow Barbadians and Caribbean people, as of 2.10 on the morning of 23 October, 2010, we came to a reality that was pre-empted by prayers and many supplications. It was about 9.30 in Newcastle upon Tyne when I received the dreaded news, but news that I had to verify nonetheless because of rumours previously advanced. The truth stared at me; I returned a forlorn and almost frozen gaze at my computerโ€™s screen.

I knew there and then that, my generation of Barbadians had lost perhaps the most noticeable, affectionate, and dedicated person whose political sacrifices and passion for people would unfortunately not realise the ultimate dream: that is, to see a full revival of Barbadian society and to achieve sustained economic development.

Having to cope with the everyday viscidities of life, we knew that it is only through our Mediator that anything does make sense. Why would David Thompson spend the greater part of his life given to public service, displaying compassion for the poor and marginalised, and being a stern defender of those without voice or power?

Many of us grew up with and around David Thompson in terms of time period. David (referring to the Prime Minister as David, is in this sense a confirmation of the endearment between the man and his people; it is by no means a mark of disrespect), came to be perceived as a theatrical but resolute debater destined to ascend the pinnacle of political leadership in Barbados.

We all had that affinity with Davidโ€™s clear โ€“ yet incisive verbal and gesticulatory fortitude in which the subtlety of his inflections served to be the mortal blows for his opponents. He was quite adept at using wit and creativity in making his contributions to House of Assembly Debates.

Fortunately for us, if we sometimes misunderstood or misrepresented his ambitions, we know that since assuming the Office of Prime Minister of Barbados, the Right Honourable David Thompson was never consumed by his actual or residual power. Rather, Mr. Thompson used much of that power and his natural acumen to implement programmes anticipating the enhanced lives for Barbadians should success follow on from bold but reformatory promises and initiatives.

Since May and for many months, I hoped that I would get to see my friend once again, perhaps engage him in discussion and debate, especially since we both have an interest and passion for finding appropriate solutions relating to Barbadosโ€™ position in juxtaposition to CARICOMโ€™s family of peoples and states.

Distance does not diminish the impact of love and caring for fellow human beings. Through technology, I was able to send and receive messages that convey the sense of hope and inspiration which would ultimately challenge all of us to keep the faith.

In one particular response to my enquiry about his healing and recovery, Prime Minister Thompson addressed both my long-time friend Errol Crawford and me. Prime Minister Thompson replied:

โ€œGeorge and Errol: my friends, remember always, Philippians 4:6-7 โ€˜do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.โ€™ I am battling. And I thank God for friends who care and I count you both among them. Thank you.โ€

The days ahead will be especially tough and sorrowful for Mara; Davidโ€™s three daughters; and his parents and siblings. I know that his relatives; the families and friends of my parish of birth and Prime Minister Thompsonโ€™s constituency, St. John; the Democratic Labour Party family and, by extension, the Barbados Labour Party family will all sorrow at this untimely loss.

In essence, Prime Minister Thompsonโ€™s reach was sufficiently far and emboldened by genuine love that his priorities of families and friends become geographically insignificant as we mourn his passing. There is absolutely no doubt that he had so much more to give in terms of leadership for a society struggling against the vagaries of cultural penetration, global imperialism, and a recessionary period that is unpredictable in its gravity to the foundations of our societal existence.

Today we grieve, but he has left us lessons to keep the faith โ€“ persevere with humility and strength knowing that God is our guide. We must celebrate all that David Thompson contributed socially and politically for the empowerment of peoples and the development of St. John. The DLP must be keen to herald him as one of their own, an accomplishment born out of the founding fathers of that institution and none more so than the Right Excellent Errol Walton Barrow Barbados and the region has something very special to call their own; it is the rise of David Howard John Thompson.

From Know-de-Most to David Howard John Thompson, I truly say: ars longa, vita brevis. Rest in the eternal peace of God Almighty my friend. I shall keep the faith, and I shall do and encourage others to do what you set your compass upon. Barbados and the Caribbean shall be second to none in quality of life and in the values we transcend through prioritising families.

N.B. George C. Brathwaite is currently overseas studying and very much apologises to the Barbadian family that I will not be in Barbados at this time, but I share in these times of both sorrow and thanksgiving.

141 responses to “Prime Minister David Thompson: Keep The Faith Friends And Families”

1. @ J
    The fulsome retraction and subsequent magnanimity of your comment – October 25, 2010 @ 8:14 pm indicates your “internal” warmth; there are times when one gets “pleasure” from what they read, this is such a time.

2. A gentleman has left this mortal coil. His family and friends are in mourning. This blog started off as a tribute to this man. A human like any of those above who have put their two cents in. One day it has to be one of you leaving this earth, leaving family and friends behind who love and mourn your death. Oh! Barbados…you really are to be cried for when some sons and daughters of this soil have to be so disrespectful in their words…not even at this time can you deign to be at least thoughtful about those who truly cared about David Thompson. One does not even have to have one ounce of love for someone but in death that someone (and as I said one day it will be one of us) has family and friends who do. Please! You only show the world a ‘muggadung of ignorance’ that is to say the least sad and truly worrying.

3. @Rosemary

Life’s events/activities come in configurations. Life is not* perfect. We have to accept this position and apply the filter.

4. @ One Bush Tea, Even John the Baptist, had scathing words for those that needed to be so spoken to:

“Brood of VIPERS! Who warned you to fless from the WATH to come?

And, the LORD of LORDS, and KING of KINGS, sent these words to Herod.

“Go tell that FOX, Behold I cast out demons and perform cures today and tomorrow, and the third day, I shall be perfected.” (Luke 13: 32)

The most anointed Apostle of them all, Paul, also had stinging rebuke for such like, as we see here on BU.

“But if anyone is IGNORANT, let him be IGNORANT.” ( I Cor. 14:38).

With all due respect to our departed Prime Minister, David Thompson, few, if any in politics, could be more, ‘slimy’ and devious with words than he, when he was ready, this is a fact, and he did it with a smirk on his face!

And, at the end of his life, he was quoting the Word of God, the Bible, reading it daily, as only THERE, through Jesus, and FAITH in HIM, could, he a sinner, like the rest of us, find forgiveness, and Eternal Life, not available in any other ‘spurious’ FALSE faith!

5. @ Mr Zoe
    โ€œBut if anyone is IGNORANT, let him be IGNORANT.โ€ ( I Cor. 14:38).
    Sir, that is not a ‘stinging rebuke’……
    That is exactly what the bushman is forced to say in resignation everyday – about the two of you left who are from the BU Trinity.

6. Yuh see ting call religion it got sum of dese peoples here crazy as ass. Dem cahn tink for demselves. Dem sooo fanatical dat yuh can see dat glazed look in dem eyes.

Annuder ting, wunna hypocrites dat prentending to feel sad bout the late PM and den showing wunna tribal teets gine get what cumming fuh wunna. Wunna ain got nuh bones of integrity in wunna. And dose dat playing dem like dem gine dead because the PM gone need to get tings in balance.

Why can’t we mourn graciously without all this high drama? Stuuuuuupppse. I am disgusted.

7. “There is a man here in Barbados, either from NZ or Australia, who HAD a real โ€˜out-of-bodyโ€™ spiritual experience, actually DIED, and went to HELL, then the Lord allowed him to also see HEAVEN, before putting his โ€˜spirit/soulโ€™ back into his body, Peoples Cathedral, brought him in to give his REAL, earth shattering experience of HELL and HEAVEN in the spirit world, which then led him to REPENTANCE and FAITH in JESUS CHRIST.”

Another pack of lies that the poor ignorant people of Barbados will believe. This man was brought here to instill fear into the hearts of ignorant people. AND I BET THAT HE WAS WHITE! THE WHITE MAN ALWAYS HAS TO COME AND SAVE OUR SORRY BLACK SOULS. AND THEY SWALLOW HOOK LINE AND SINKER EVERY TIME!

8. @Techie

Are you following these exchanges?

No wonder the youts are running from the Church.

No wonder more and more people are being agnostic.

Let us forget David in this argument, he will now be judged by a higher power.

There is always the conflict whether God is a God of kindness and compassion, most ‘ordinary folk’ using a modicum of commonsense believe this to be so.

To hell with all those who portray differently. It is their opinion and this is ours.

9. So wuh happen to the hundreds of thousands of fervent prayers that get sen up fuh the PM.

A lil breeze blow all o dem away?

Duh get lost on the highway to heaven?

The Almighty din see he fit for saving?

Or the Almighty fed up hearing prayers from Bajans?

Or nuhbody wasn’t there to hear them?

Or wuh?

Just asking foolish questions, but they need a serious answer, which I dare say they won’t get.

Zoe?….GP?…..Bush Tea?

10. @Inkwell

what yuh trying to do stir up dem zealots to a frenzy? Ah tired hearing dem, each ah dem especiallay GP and Zoe trying to show how dem know de bible better dan wunna. Let peace reign nuh?

11. @ Rosemary Parkinson | October 26, 2010 at 5:51 AM |

You have said a mouthful, well put. Some of the comments are simply God-awful and downright disrespectful here and now.

12. @islandgal246

You said, quote:- “Another pack of lies that the poor ignorant people of Barbados will believe. This man was brought here to instill fear into the hearts of ignorant people.”
    Hun, you like you reading my thoughts with the above statement. Anything coming out of that particular organisation makes me very wary. And, if “Mr.” Zoe is anything to do with said organisation then that makes things a whole lot clearer for me concerning his theories as espoused here!
    Just check what the scriptures say about this topic;
    Luke 16:22-31:-
    22 And it came to pass, that the beggar died, and was carried by the angels into Abraham’s bosom: the rich man also died, and was buried;
    23 And in hell he lift up his eyes, being in torments, and seeth Abraham afar off, and Lazarus in his bosom.
    24 And he cried and said, Father Abraham, have mercy on me, and send Lazarus, that he may dip the tip of his finger in water, and cool my tongue; for I am tormented in this flame.
    25 But Abraham said, Son, remember that thou in thy lifetime receivedst thy good things, and likewise Lazarus evil things: but now he is comforted, and thou art tormented.
    26 And beside all this, between us and you there is a great gulf fixed: so that they which would pass from hence to you cannot; neither can they pass to us, that would come from thence.
    27 Then he said, I pray thee therefore, father, that thou wouldest send him to my father’s house:
    28 For I have five brethren; that he may testify unto them, lest they also come into this place of torment.
    29 Abraham saith unto him, They have Moses and the prophets; let them hear them.
    30 And he said, Nay, father Abraham: but if one went unto them from the dead, they will repent.
    31 And he said unto him, If they hear not Moses and the prophets, neither will they be persuaded, though one rose from the dead.

What man from Australia what?? God does not operate that way! HE always works through HIS servants, the PROPHETS. HE is not sending any dead person to bring any message from HIM!

13. I once attended a funeral interment at westbury cemetery with a friend, I didn’t know the deceased but when I saw the lady’s 5 children hug each other and cried bitterly, I too felt the anguish they were going through and the tears just flowed freely from me. Therefore I can empathise with the mother, wife and especially the children, plus the rest of the close family and relatives of the late P.M. One must remember that he wasn’t just a P.M but he was the father of a very closeknit family. My prayers are with the Thompson family, may God give them the strength to cope with this situation. May he Rest In Peace

14. @de Hood

I do not read the bible and I am not a christian. God is what I want God to be for me. I cannot believe and feel the same way you feel about the scriptures. However ones does not have to believe in the christian concept of God to see mass brainwashing taking place. Because someone believes in the bible and the God of the Bible that does not tell me that he or she is a good person. Also for someone who does not believe in the God , that does not make them a bad person. Too many spew the scriptures to give them credibility and acceptance. Many have mastered the art and have robbed and raped the educated, the ignorant and the blind. We have adopted a religion that was brought by Europeans to further enslave us, and they have succeeded.

15. During the late P.M’s period of sickness, we were in constant contact. I have seen a change in David’s attitude to life, it seems as though he had accepted his fate in life and had made himself RIGHT with his MAKER. I grieve at his passing but I thank God for his life and the contribution he has made to this country and to this society. I’m sure he is peaceful in his life eternal

16. islandgal246 | October 26, 2010 at 7:42 AM

Who believe dem, de man and de people that bring he hay, just like dem, When some of these church going people hear these make believe stories they gobble them up, they shout and jump for joy.

Look there are nuff stories bout these kind of things but this is not the time or the topic for this. I give a lot of respect for this blog.

17. 14:59
    Publishing in progress…
    โ–ก Gregory Isaacs โ–ก Sweeter The Victory โ–ก No Footstool โ–ก
    http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xfefju_y-gregory-isaacs-y-sweeter-the-victory-y-no-footstool-y_music

18. Hoodie
    re Hun, you like you reading my thoughts with the above statement. Anything coming out of that particular organisation makes me very wary. And, if โ€œMr.โ€ Zoe is anything to do with said organisation then that makes things a whole lot clearer for me concerning his theories as espoused here!
    Just check what the scriptures say about this topic;
    Luke 16:22-31:-
    =====================================
    You are not being logical here. You are saying because Zoe said it, it is wrong.

I recently watched some documentaries on television where a doctor had a patient who described this phenomenon. He then devoted a lengthy period of time to investigate this phenomenon scientifically in several parts of the globe. T was quite interesting

This may all be subjective——but it cant just be ruled out.
    Next, you seem to hold on to one Scripture to make a doctrine, rather than comparing scripture with scripture to come to a clearer conclusion. You seem also to be incognizant of the concept of dispensions.

In seeking to contradict Zoe, you have failed to ask Who was Jesus speaking to in Luke, and who was Paul speaking to in Philipians and 2 Corinthians 5.

19. David | October 26, 2010 at 7:49 AM |
    There is always the conflict whether God is a God of kindness and compassion, most โ€˜ordinary folkโ€™ using a modicum of commonsense believe this to be so.

A proper perusal of the Holy Scriptures reveals that God is indeed kind and compassionate. However in many passages, he is revealed as a God of judgement also. In fact, in many passages such as in Genesis 13 he is revealed in both modes.

And that is the opinion of many scholars who actually use a modicum of commonsense. LOL in addition to a knowledge of the original language.

It is hilarious that you point out that David will now be judged by a higher power; yet you consign to hell those who have a different opinion to yours.

I quote you Sir “Let us forget David in this argument, he will now be judged by a higher power. To hell with all those who portray differently. It is their opinion and this is ours.”

20. @ GP
    You said:- ” You are saying because Zoe said it, it is wrong.”
    Doc,
    Suffice it to say that I take just about everything that Zoe says with more than just “a grain of salt”. I have discovered that he has his own personal agenda and theories touting here. If I am wrong then perhaps only Abraham (:-) (or Jesus Himself) will be able to convince me otherwise.

21. @ Inkwell
    So wuh happen to the hundreds of thousands of fervent prayers that get sen up fuh the PM.
    If the bushman thought that you were serious about this question, on another more appropriate blog we could explore the (obvious) answer.

The kind of selfless sacrifice that PM Thompson would have made all his adult life in his obsession to improve the lot of Barbadians is a legacy that really needs to be exploited.
    If a number of our talented youth can be exposed to, and inspired by his life of community service to the extent that they emulate his commitment and achievements, then our society could reap huge benefits.

Mr Thompson may have passed on, but his potential to change Barbados continues to be limitless…..

22. Hoodie

By your very words you express your bias.

I repeat ……. you seem to hold on to one Scripture to make a doctrine, rather than comparing scripture with scripture to come to a clearer conclusion. You seem also to be incognizant of the concept of dispensions.

Next, you seem to hold on to one Scripture to make a doctrine, rather than comparing scripture with scripture to come to a clearer conclusion. You seem also to be incognizant of the concept of dispensions.

You have failed to ask Who was Jesus speaking to in Luke, and who was Paul speaking to in Philipians and 2 Corinthians 5. Two different groups of people are being addressed

If you read my post of | October 25, 2010 at 1:13 PM | you will see that the OT folk and certainly the Patriarchs had a different view to Paul”s. Does this make Paul and Zoe wrong.

23. Hants
    Fellow bloggers, we should learn to peacefully share this blog with GP and Zoe.
    Let them talk to each other and other like minded bloggers.
    There is no point arguing with persons who are fanatical about their โ€œfaithโ€ and there is nothing wrong with that.
    If you believe something to be true then it is true.
    GP and Zoe have STUDIED the Bible. If you have not done the same you are in no position to argue with them.

Hants, you have expressed some words of wisdom Sir, but I often wonder why is it that persons who love the Word of God and seek to live thereby are fanatical about their โ€œfaithโ€?

What about the many here who are fanatical about their politics and their idols or their music, pr what ever turns them on? I submit to you that the Lord God is more likely to be pleased with those who are fanatical about โ€œTHE FAITHโ€ than those who are fanatical about their idols, since he declared โ€œThou shalt have no other Godโ€™s but me.โ€ To those of us who study the Word, and for whom its discussion is a pleasure knowing the Greek origin of words being able to exegete its context is as important to us as music, or pop stars or politicians are to others.

Folk who are loving, kind, caring and considerate of others, realize that we too have a right under the โ€œfree speechโ€ on BU to express our opinions and ask questions, like everybody else. What do you think?

Rosemary Parkinson | October 26, 2010 at 5:51 AM |

This blog started off with a quotation which has originated from 2 Timothy, and which I am hearing bandied about by politicians here in the US on national tv daily. I asked simply a few questions of the learned Bible scholar Zoe about the use of โ€œpistisโ€ the word translated “the faith”.

Death is as common as the sands on the sea. You say that โ€œA gentleman has left this mortal coil. His family and friends are in mourning.โ€ That is true. What is also true from my daily visit to the obits in the NATION is that several men and women die EVERYDAY. But I donโ€™t see you folk ranting and raving about these folk. Obviously non celebrities are of no consequence, because they have not attained high office.

Remember that BU is said to operate on โ€˜free speechโ€™ for all.
    That means that GP ought to be able to speak freely. You will note that I have said nothing about your idol. I have merely asked the learned Zoe to comment via โ€˜free speechโ€™ on an issue raised on this same thread about which I am interested.

You will notice also that I have said nothing on the other idolatry threads.

24. @Hants (2010.10.25.23.31): “If you believe something to be true then it is true.

Incorrect. Just because you believe something to be true does not mean it is provably true.

You can believe as deeply as you want. It still doesn’t make it true until you can prove what you claim beyond a shadow of a doubt to any and all others using independently verifiable evidence…

@Georgie Porgie (2010.10.26.13.30): “I have merely asked the learned Zoe to comment via โ€˜free speechโ€™ on an issue raised on this same thread about which I am interested.

You, GP, and all others, are of course welcome to speak and ask questions freely.

But, by the same test, so may those who might disagree with you….

25. (Gregory Isaacs) Don’t Believe In Him.

26. Bro. Scout
    You want to make me feel really sad and start crying again or wah? I trying to brace myself for the final farewell next week. Your tribute to our PM was very touching.

Porgie
    Now pray tell me, how can you compare the average John/Jane Doe who we see in the obits on a daily basis, be compared to the PM. Cud christ Porgie, show some intellect nah. Prime Minister David Thompson (I refuse to associate the word ‘late’ to his name) is known the world over. If you Porgie die tomorrow, only your family, friends, associates even enemies will know you. The average Joe will not know you. So to compare the two is nothing but unadulterated HOG_PUPP.
    My PM will be accorded a State-funeral and YOU PORGIE, will be sent off with little or no fuss. Dat is wah killin you nah? Cuh dearrrrrrr.
    And doan even tink dat ya gine Heaven neitha cause ya gun be in fa a big surprise. Quoting every chapter n verse in de good book does not qualify one’s entry. OK?
    And de word fanatic is usually associated wid ‘christians’ like you.

Kiki
    A good reggae artist has left us too. A man like Gregory Isaacs. He was battling with lung cancer. My favourite piece by Gregory is ‘Love Overdue’. Fling it down fa me Selecta right hay pun BU now fa de sista.
    RIP Gregory.

27. what de hell did CH say in the above comment
    Really ! I am trying to make sense out of nonsense!

28. @kiki
    Down load Night Nurse . My favourite! , He too would be missed.

29. B P
    David was/is my friend and neighbour, we have had many conversations together, many not politically flavored. He was a very down-to-earth man. David was a Christmas baby and he had a party every Christmas night and the neighbours were all invited. His gate was never closed to us and his family mingled freely with the residence.this has nothing to do with politics this is just the type of person he was, before and after he became P.M. In fact his family didn’t want to move into Ilaro Court but because of traffic congestion on morning David spent the weekfdays there but came home to rest on weekends once there were no official functions. I am going to miss a genuine friend but I know he has make things right with his maker and he was prepared to go and so he did peacefully. May he rest in peace.

30. @ac: “what de hell did CH say in the above comment
    Really ! I am trying to make sense out of nonsense!

AC… With all due respect… You are a bit like an invited guest who doesn’t bring anything to the party…

AC… Please at least try to keep up with the conversation….

31. @CH
    stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeDUMMY!

32. @Bonny “Love is Overdue” is the last track..

33. @ac (2010.10.26.18.24): “stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeDUMMY!

Wow… Impressive…

I am sure you will be happy to write home to your assessors writing about your major accomplishment….

34. Zoe do you really believe that bovine excretment that you wrote on Oct 35 /2010 9.03p.m.. What does the bible say about such an experience .

35. Correction on above comment Oct25/2010/9.03p.m.

36. Bro Scout
    Oh my God, CBC now show a glimpse of the grave. Lord have mercy. Dis cannn be happenin. Nooooooooooooooooo. Why Lord, whyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy.
    Bro. Scout, you feel dat de Lord would be vex wid me fa being vex wid he? Cause right now, Bro Scout I feel real vex wid God. Dah is de trute. I feel real vex. Dis is de only way to express it. I din lookin fa David ta go sa fast. I did hoping fa a miracle mannnnnnnn.

37. I does get a funny feelin in my chest when I see David pun de TV or hear he voice. My chest does feel like a block. I cannn deal wid it a’tall mannnnnnnnn, stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

38. Hants wrote,”There is no point arguing with persons who are fanatical about their โ€œfaithโ€ and there is nothing wrong with that.

@GP I repeat but in a softer tone. There is no point arguing with “persons who are very enthusiastic about following their religion uncompromisingly,” especially if your knowledge and understanding of that religion is minimal.

@Christopher Halsall, you are a genius (miss spelled but 2 words).

39. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

Bonny, yuh aint lie. I know exactly how you feel. Seeing dat grave just mek my heart feel suh heavy again. I had to get up and mek a cup uh tea to see if it help muh.

Dis is a strange one, I just can’t tell how I feel or how I might react from one minute to de next. I think I gine have to miss de lying in state and de funeral causin I might embarrass myself in public. Is not like I aint accustom to burying family and friends, or if I into being dramatic and ting, but dis really brekking Pearlie heart.

40. Hants
    I underestood you the first time as I pointed out.
    I also understand how idolators and political pimps and pundits feel too, and I dont deny them thier view, and opinion. What I dont understand is why people dont think that I should be allowed to have my view and opinion too.

By the way I am learning now on tv that PAUL the octopus in Germany who precdicted the results for the football world cup has died at age too.

I will mourn his death tomorrow as I mourned on Saturday…..when instead of three big turkey legs from Wallmart, I fasted [relatively so] by working 3/4 chicken from the rotiserie instead.
    Tomorrow I will put no apple juice in my tea. You think
    I will let these jokers here on BU who cant employ me or judge me, send me crazy.

I just waiting patiently. Going and try to finish reaching my target for today. Be good Sir

41. As the title of this thread, is:

Prime Minister David Thompson: Keep The Faith Friends And Families.

And, because the Prime Minister, obviously, from reports of those who kept close to him during the last months of his illness, especially a Pastor, who was in fact called by the PM’s wife the very night he died, and had in fact spent much time even before that dreadful night, with David, clearly and lovingly, sharing, teaching him, and in fact ‘leading’ David, to Jesus, which IS entirely Biblical for Salvation, and the fact that the PM, quoted the Word of God, the Bible via email to dear friends of his, confirms the fact, that his FAITH, was not in some abstract deity, BUT, in the God of historic Divine Revelation IN Jesus Christ, who obviously granted him, the peace of Christ, as the very Pastor confirmed that very morning while interviewed by CBC, that David died peacefully, because of Jesus Christ his Saviour and Lord; not because he was a good PM, or a good husband, Father, friend, etc, all of which are very good in themselves, BUT, none of those attributes, virtues, can save anyone, ONLY, Jesus Christ can forgive, cleanse, Justify and Save anyone, NOT good works, for it is by Grace through Faith, that any of us can be Saved, and thus Enter Heaven on our departure from this earthly sojourn, ( Eph. 2:8-9).

Now, to those scoffers, Agnostics, et al, whose faith in essentially in nothing, abstract nonsense, can’t save anyone, let us hear from God’s Word the truth about FAITH.

Paul’s Valedictory!

“For I am already being poured out as a drink offering, and the TIME of my DEPARTURE is at hand.”

“I have fought the good fight, I have FINISHED the race, I have KEPT the FAITH.”

“Finally, there IS LAID up for me the crown of RIGHTEOUSNESS, which the LORD, the righteous judge will give to me on that Day, and not to me only but also to ALL who have LOVED His appearing.” ( 2 Timothy 4: 6-8).

Word Wealth. Righteousness, ‘dikaiosune’ (dik-ah-yos-oo-nay). Meaning Just, the quality of being right. Broadly the word suggest conformity to the REVEALED will of God in all respects. It is both judicial and gracious; in that Almighty God, declares through Jesus, the believer to be righteous, NOT by good works, NO, but in the sense of being acquited through sincere repentance and FAITH in Jesus as Saviour and Lord, and, hence has the Righteousness of Christ imparted to him/her (2 Cor. 5:21).

Whether Paul regarded his life as a battle, a race, or a test of the TRUTH of the Gospel, the point is, he had achieved victory. The past, with its many duties, has been completed, the present is secure in FAITH, the future with Christ in Heaven promises rewards.

Paul said, “I have KEPT the FAITH” (ten pistin tetereka). Perfect active indicative, again of ‘tereo’. In other words, Paul had NOT deserted. He has KEPT faith with Christ. For this phrase see Rev. 14:2).

In Revelation 14: 2, we read:

” Hear is the patience of the saints” (Hode he hupomone ton hagion estin). John’s own comment as in 13: 10; 17:9; In this struggle against emperor worship lay their opportunity ( Rom. 5:3), (like GP, me and others fight against the neo-pagan nonsense here on BU) It was/is a test of loyalty to Christ. “They that KEEP” (hoi terountes) ‘The Faith of Jesus” (ten pistin Iesou). “The faith in Jesus” (objective genitive) as in 2:13; Mark 11: 22; James 2:1) ‘Write” (Grapson). First aorist imperative of ‘grapho’ as in 1:11. John’s meditation is broken by the command. This new beatitude (makariori), Blessed) for the Christian dead, goes even further than Paul’s words ( I Thess 4: 14-16: I Cor. 15: 18). “From henceforth” (ap’ arti) GOES WITH “those who DIE in the Lord,” giving comfort to those facing persecution and DEATH. “That they may REST” (hina anapaesontai). Purpose clause with ‘hina’ and the second future passive of ‘anapauo’. “From their labours” ( ek ton kopon auton). From the toils, the weariness, that they experienced on earth, while resolutely stranding UP for, and living for Christ. BUT, what is significant to NOTE, is, their ACTIVITIES (erga) for these “follow them” as they are TAKEN right in Heaven at physical DEATH, this is their comfort, for all of us, who toil in weariness, here on earth, for our Lord and Saviour, especially taking the abuse, the scoffering, and scoffers, mockers, of HIS Gospel, even, if cut short, it can be utilised in Heaven, which is NOT a place of idleness, but of the highest form of spiritual service. (Word Pictures in The New Testament, Vol. VI, pp. 413, 414) emphasis added.

Regarding the Gk word ‘pistis’ FAITH, subjectively meaning FIRM persuasion, conviction, belief in the TRUTH, veracity, reality of faithfulness. Objectively meaning that which is believed, doctrine, the received articles of faith. (Jude 1)

In Hebrews 11:1, “Faith IS the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen…” means that persuasion IS NOT based on imagination, BUT is based on FACT, such historic, logical, legal, factual evidence, confirmed by not only by internal evidence, ( the synoptic Gospel accounts) but by external ‘sources’ by those who did not believe in HIM, yet, acknowleged the historicity of the Person, such as the reality of the Resurrection of Christ ( I Cor. 15) and as such becomes the basis of a reasonable, realistic HOPE, that is cemented in Historic fact.

In 2 Cor. 5:7, “for we walk by faith, not by sight” means that which appears before us, may not be what it seems to be, while FAITH is something which stands on proof arrived at inductively. See also I Peter 1:5, which means that FAITH obtains the future entrance into salvation, safe existence which WILL BE provided by God at the end of the present season (cf. I Peter 1:7). (The Complete Word Study Dictionary New Testament, p. 1162) emphasis added.

This is just scratching a bit, on the vast aspect of our Christian FAITH, it is so deep, wide, above and beyond the puny minds of the ‘scoffers’ but those who have TASTED, experienced, felt, KNOW beyond any shadow of doubt whatsoever, that HE, the Lord Jesus Christ, and our Heavenly Father, Almighty God, has DONE a work in our hearts and lives, no matter how much we fail from time to time, that He *IS* and that our FAITH, is in HIM, the Only One, through the course of history, that has an utterly amazing TESTIMONY of *witnesses not only in Heaven, cheering us on, to finish our respective races, but right here on earth, across the Nations of the world, every colour, class and ethnic group, give the SAME testimony of what HE has done, and continues to do, for those THAT LOVE HIM, and are NOT shamed to declare it fearlessly. Amen & Amen!!!

42. Thanks for your note Zoe.
    It is always good to hear that any person comes to recieve the Lord Jesus as thier personal Savior. It is therefore good to hear that the late PM MADE THIS CHOICE AND EXPERIENCED BOTH PEACE WITH GOD (ROMANS 5) AND THE PEACE THAT PASSETH UNDERSTANDING (PHILIPPIANS 4).

43. Yes, if the PM made peace with his God (from all indications, it seems so) it is heartwarming.

For sure, he was not into politics for the money.

Commendable man. May he rest in peace (until the First Resurrection)

44. As an aside, I’ve noticed that quite a few Reggae stars have been “cut down”

You can do a Google search putting in “dead reggae stars” or “dead reggae musicians”. You’ll be surprised

45. Do the search on You tube

46. โ–ข Turn Your Lights Down Low โ–ข Keep On Movin’ โ–ข

47. The love which has been expressed for the late David Thompson continues to overwhelm most people. Am axing that in such a short life sojourn on this earth he has impacted positively especially on the youts.

48. Are Bonnie Peppa and Perlixin Pearlie not overreacting? Mr Thompson has died and it IS a tragedy, but did either of you react this way on the death of any of those closer to you? Get over it!

49. @Anonous

Can’t you see dem is Drama Queens LOL sorry Bonny but you and Pearlie are some high Drama Queens. Just don’t ded when the David gets buried. I can’t tek more drama, LOLLLLLLL

50. Mr Arthur is echoing my sentiments that there is something about the office of prime minister in Barbados that is perhaps causing our leaders to pass away. Tom, Errol Barrow and now Mr Thompson. Sir Harold a former PM also developed cancer and passed away.
    Maybe a health plan could be worked out for prime ministers as they come to office.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/killer-job/