Submitted by George C. Brathwaite

The Late Hon Prime Minister David Thompson

“Keep the faith.” This phrase is one of the final messages that I received from the Right Honourable Prime Minister David Thompson as he battled the invasive and debilitating effects of an illness, for which very rarely does it allow an extension of life beyond the very short term.

My fellow Barbadians and Caribbean people, as of 2.10 on the morning of 23 October, 2010, we came to a reality that was pre-empted by prayers and many supplications. It was about 9.30 in Newcastle upon Tyne when I received the dreaded news, but news that I had to verify nonetheless because of rumours previously advanced. The truth stared at me; I returned a forlorn and almost frozen gaze at my computer’s screen.

I knew there and then that, my generation of Barbadians had lost perhaps the most noticeable, affectionate, and dedicated person whose political sacrifices and passion for people would unfortunately not realise the ultimate dream: that is, to see a full revival of Barbadian society and to achieve sustained economic development.

Having to cope with the everyday viscidities of life, we knew that it is only through our Mediator that anything does make sense. Why would David Thompson spend the greater part of his life given to public service, displaying compassion for the poor and marginalised, and being a stern defender of those without voice or power?

Many of us grew up with and around David Thompson in terms of time period. David (referring to the Prime Minister as David, is in this sense a confirmation of the endearment between the man and his people; it is by no means a mark of disrespect), came to be perceived as a theatrical but resolute debater destined to ascend the pinnacle of political leadership in Barbados.

We all had that affinity with David’s clear – yet incisive verbal and gesticulatory fortitude in which the subtlety of his inflections served to be the mortal blows for his opponents. He was quite adept at using wit and creativity in making his contributions to House of Assembly Debates.

Fortunately for us, if we sometimes misunderstood or misrepresented his ambitions, we know that since assuming the Office of Prime Minister of Barbados, the Right Honourable David Thompson was never consumed by his actual or residual power. Rather, Mr. Thompson used much of that power and his natural acumen to implement programmes anticipating the enhanced lives for Barbadians should success follow on from bold but reformatory promises and initiatives.

Since May and for many months, I hoped that I would get to see my friend once again, perhaps engage him in discussion and debate, especially since we both have an interest and passion for finding appropriate solutions relating to Barbados’ position in juxtaposition to CARICOM’s family of peoples and states.

Distance does not diminish the impact of love and caring for fellow human beings. Through technology, I was able to send and receive messages that convey the sense of hope and inspiration which would ultimately challenge all of us to keep the faith.

In one particular response to my enquiry about his healing and recovery, Prime Minister Thompson addressed both my long-time friend Errol Crawford and me. Prime Minister Thompson replied:

“George and Errol: my friends, remember always, Philippians 4:6-7 ‘do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.’ I am battling. And I thank God for friends who care and I count you both among them. Thank you.”

The days ahead will be especially tough and sorrowful for Mara; David’s three daughters; and his parents and siblings. I know that his relatives; the families and friends of my parish of birth and Prime Minister Thompson’s constituency, St. John; the Democratic Labour Party family and, by extension, the Barbados Labour Party family will all sorrow at this untimely loss.

In essence, Prime Minister Thompson’s reach was sufficiently far and emboldened by genuine love that his priorities of families and friends become geographically insignificant as we mourn his passing. There is absolutely no doubt that he had so much more to give in terms of leadership for a society struggling against the vagaries of cultural penetration, global imperialism, and a recessionary period that is unpredictable in its gravity to the foundations of our societal existence.

Today we grieve, but he has left us lessons to keep the faith – persevere with humility and strength knowing that God is our guide. We must celebrate all that David Thompson contributed socially and politically for the empowerment of peoples and the development of St. John. The DLP must be keen to herald him as one of their own, an accomplishment born out of the founding fathers of that institution and none more so than the Right Excellent Errol Walton Barrow Barbados and the region has something very special to call their own; it is the rise of David Howard John Thompson.

From Know-de-Most to David Howard John Thompson, I truly say: ars longa, vita brevis. Rest in the eternal peace of God Almighty my friend. I shall keep the faith, and I shall do and encourage others to do what you set your compass upon. Barbados and the Caribbean shall be second to none in quality of life and in the values we transcend through prioritising families.

N.B. George C. Brathwaite is currently overseas studying and very much apologises to the Barbadian family that I will not be in Barbados at this time, but I share in these times of both sorrow and thanksgiving.

141 responses to “Prime Minister David Thompson: Keep The Faith Friends And Families”

1. Five days of viewing of the late Prime Minister would start from Thursday and continue Friday, Saturday, next Monday and Tuesday. On those days, the body of Prime Minister Thompson will lie in state, and viewing will be:

Tomorrow, Thursday, Oct 28 East Wing of Parliament where, from 9 a.m. to 11 a.m., there will be private viewing by dignitaries in the order of the Table of Precedence, from the Governor General to current and former Members of Parliament.

Thursday, Oct 28, from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. members of the public may view the body upstairs the East Wing of Parliament.

Friday, Oct 29, from 2 p.m. to 5 p.m. at his alma mater, Combermere; the public will also have an opportunity to see Prime Minister Thompson

Saturday, Oct 30, from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the George Street Auditorium

Monday, Nov 1, at the St. John Parish Church on Monday from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Next Tuesday, Nov 2 from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., members of the public may view the body upstairs the East Wing of Parliament.

Condolence books will also be opened in Parliament’s East Wing from:

October 28 from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.; and

October 29 and 30 and November 1 and 2 from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

At Government Headquarters for public officers October 29 and 30 and November 1 and 2 from 8:15 a.m.to 4:30 p.m.

At DLP headquarters October 29, 30 and November 1 and 2 from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

At Combermere October 30 from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

In St John October 29 and 30 and November 1 and 2 from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Locations in St John are to be identified

The state funeral will be broadcast live on CBC radio and television

Television coverage will be carried live to the Eastern Caribbean by the Caribbean Media Corporation.
    Source: Nationnews

2. @ Anonus

I think your quite inconsiderate all things considered. How dare you tell people get over it when an official period of mouning has been set by the state? Howsoever people choose to mourn during this period is their right so you better show some respect.

3. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar

@Anonus

Yuh couldn’t had chose a better name fuh yuhself cos yuh is a real Pooch-Hole fuh trute!!! A total anus, spweing shit!!

@islandgal246

Wuh de fcuk you know bout Pearlie? Go an wash yuh frowsy fronts! Underneath you mussee hot and sweaty enuff.

Now, fuh both of your information, Pearlie bury she son 2 years ago October. Pearlie know wuh it is to watch a cousin waste away from cancer too. And both din under 35. Pearlie also know de pain de Thompson family feeling, and Pearlie heart hurting cos such a wonderful human being din get tuh live up to he full potential. One thing I learn is not tuh bottle up my grief, and if wunnah dont want to hear it, when wunnah see a post wid Pearlie name, move tuh shite long!!

4. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar

De blasted blog get put up tuh express grief and wunnah come trying to mek people feel worse. Anus and hot crutch islandgal wunnah mer is who is de drama queen!

5. George Brathwaite,
    Good article. You completely put aside political considerations and spoke from the heart. I deeply respect that and from now on I will look at you differently.

6. @Perlixing Pearlie

I am very sorry to hear about the personal tragedies in your life, it is very traumatic especially when it is very close to you. There is no need to be downright common! Please conduct yourself with some decorum.

7. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar

islandgal
    1. Keep yuh apology, yuh insincere wretch.
    2. Kiss my black A**

8. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar

I aint got nuh apologies for people like you who think only dem got feelings. Trying tuh kick Pearlie when she down? BeChrist you aint know who is me!!!

9. @Perlixin Pearlie

I really don’t care to know who is you. You are one common and vulgar individual!

10. @ Perlixin Pearlie | October 27, 2010 at 10:53 AM |

What you say is perfectly true, but you aint making it any better with your ranting and raving using those choice words.

Compose yuhself. Life is too short.

11. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar

My gyal, somebody tell you come and trouble me. You get and mind a piece a idiot. Lemme tell me wuh is common and vulgar, dear heart: kicking somebody when dem down and grieving is common and vulgar! So you stand dey pretendin you is miss manners. You touch my nerve and it ovvious I touch yours too! Yuh in shock and awe now, neh? Doan try and leff Pearlie. Feel I is piece a sweetbread?

12. Ok YAWN…….Drama Queen………. Yawn……. you are becoming tiresome. Continue minding yuh own business and looking tru yuh window. LOLLLLLLLLL

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I don’t recall CLYDE MASCOL offering any condolences to the Thompson family, maybe I missed them.

14. M | October 27, 2010 at 9:13 AM | Mr Arthur is echoing my sentiments that there is something about the office of prime minister in Barbados that is perhaps causing our leaders to pass away. Tom, Errol Barrow and now Mr Thompson. Sir Harold a former PM also developed cancer and passed away.
    Maybe a health plan could be worked out for prime ministers as they come to office.
    =============================
    Clearly both you and Owen are spouting bovine excrement. Those close to Dipper knows that he died ” in action “even though in office– but not in action at his prime ministerial duties . Though no post mortem was ever done on Tom – though this was against the laws of Barbados, very experienced cardiac nurses who viewed his body noted that the apparent amount of blood in his face was not compatable with what they had often witnessed in thier numerous patients who had died with cardiac problems.

Mr St John died with cancer long after he was in office and David was diagnosed with an adenocarcinoma of the pancreas.

Now could you tell me which of these scenarios have anything to do with the stress of the office of the PM?
    And will you also kindly expand by explaning the pathophysiology involved ?

15. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

Carson, I think deh had something from de Mascoll fambly in one de papers. I didn’t read it properly tho. But anyway, I don’t think u should worry yuh head over small things like dat effin u get where I coming from. Dat is neither here nor there fun Pearlie.

16. OFF TOPIC
    The Prime Minister of Barbados the Hon David Thompson MP, QC, leader of the Democratic Labour Party of Barbados has died, his funeral has been arranged, the country is in mourning; and on the DLP blog is an article from January, 13, 2008. . . very strange indeed.

17. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

@Yardbroom

… and de DLP OFFICIAL WEBSITE got a memorial tuh David of blessed memory, so wuh is you point, ah?

http://www.dlpbarbados.org/cms

Anyhow, Pearlie gine down by de school and pick up de 2 lil trildrun causin de traffic does be turble pon de road when 3 o clock come and I aint able fuh one a dem get lick dong, bo. I can’t even find my parasol and de sun suh hot, Lord.

18. @ GP

Hey Doc,
    I understand that you are mourning something terrible. Yuh cudda sen sum a de chicken & turkey leg fuh de ole hood hey, yuh know. 🙂

19. LOL Hoodie
    It might spoil in transit.

20. Perlixin Pearlie
    I made a pact with my self not to laff nor smile until afta de final farewell. Your posts made me brek my treaty. Ya badddd. Ya worsa dhan me. If ya dowt me ask de BU fambly. Ya like acid rein. murdahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Islandgal n Anonus
    Sorry ta disappoint wunna-all but Bonny in pretending a’tall. Pretending is not me a’tall. So drama-queen is not me. Maybe sexy-queen or nubian-queen, wutless-queen even but not drama-queen. Lemma explain maself bout dis whole death ting dat got me sa good. I was hoping for a miracle. I was looking forward to seeing my PM walk up de Parliament steps again. Afta he las trip ova n away when I hare dat he back, I was saying ta maself, praise de Lord. He gettin betta. Wunna-all got any idea how hard it hit me when I get dah news brite n early Satda mawnin? I in ketch myself yet.Dis is a hard whun.Maybe if he did get worsa n did lie up in bed fa a while but cud-croiss, I did get de impreshun dat he did comin ‘roun man.
    Wah Drama-queen wah? Islandgal, why you gettin wid a gallas-bait like Anonus n tawkin my name doe?stupseeeeeeeee. One luv still doe.

21. Porgie
    It hurts ta agree wid ya ’bout de Dippa but I see he a few hours befo he passing. I was comin outta Carlton Supamarket n he was drivin in wid a rale young ting by he side. I turn nex to de hubby (caws he like dem young ta) and tell he, “Lord, de Dippa got a real lil young whun day boy’. Nex ting I hear de Dippa gone. Dat always remains in my memry.
    Bout Tom, his was a lotta speculation.

But de office of PM in got a ting ta do wid dem demise. Cancer doan pick n choose. It real ig’rant.

22. Carson C
    Mascoll did pay condolences. De Sunday Sun I tink. Ya kno, death n sickness bares no malice.
    But Carson C when I die, I doan want nah eulogy read fa me. Tummuch lies man. Ef ya gun tell lies ta mek me look good, doan worry wid um. Anudda ting, gimme my roses/accolades while I kin appreciate dem not when I pass. Deceit ta de highes order. Wah you tink?

YIper
    Good point. Some persons just don’t know the time n place. Just fa a lil mileage dem does got ta tawk pupp.

I will be at St.JOhn’s Parish Church to pay my last respects. If I get out alive is anotha story fa anotha day. But I will be trying desperately to control my emotions at the viewing.
    He left me widout saying ‘good-bye’.

23. @Bonny Sweet Peppa

I did only pulling yuh leg, lordy muh husband and muh daughter does always call muh a Drama Queen a “DQ” all de time. I did getting a chuckle how de man did real serious talking bout how yuh tekking dis ting. I know it hit yuh hard but I did only trying to lighten tings up yuh Drama sexy Queen ting. Ah still luv yuh doe Wait we cahn mek sport bout each udder now?

24. Georgie Porgie, could I ask you what is stress and how it manifests itself? If Mr Barrow died ‘in action’, does it really follow that he died from the ‘action’? Hundreds of men around here get into a lot of ‘action’ and they’re still around. Have you noticed Mr Stuart’s head of hair turn almost white since acting as PM? I find, even from experience, the greater the responsibility, the greater the feeling of pressure and anxiety. Sometimes you feel you can’t spare the time for many things of leisure but I find exercise rewarding and satisfying.

25. Mr. Thompson has gone now, and no longer suffers. May his widow and children find comfort in their love for each other.

Mr. Negroman recalls Mr. Thompson in his own, special, BU-Family way on Barbados Underground:

“The same Prime Minister is in the back pocket of rat catcher/mango seller Indian who brags that he has the cell number of our leader and every weekend he carries pork,beef,mutton and other foodstuff for our Prime Minister.”

Mr. Bonny Peppa congratulates Mr. Negroman on Barbados Underground:

“Negro My hero, ya got ma cryinnnnnn. Almost fall offa ma chair man. Ya names got ma bawlinnn. Rat muncher. I missed you so much …”

26. islandgal
    you done kno dat we is weebles too. wah you getting on sa scruffy fa now? i kno you like you sport. i in feel na how man. we is still weebles. sistas fa life. ya mekkin sportttttt?

M
    Yes, stress is a definite factor in managing anything. But how you deal with it is the deciding factor. Talking bout hair, you check my sweetheart Obama hair color recently? More snow than before. Anyway, I love snow-heads so Freundel betta watch out fa Bonny. He’s a decent gentleman. Had chance to meet with him some time ago. His demeanour was so soft n gentle n caring, he almost mek me cry. His every word was punctuated with tenderness. He too swoiteeeeeeeeee man. ( I did want ta hold he hand to see how sof dem is. LOLLL)

27. Frosty de Snowman
    and your exact point is????????? I dis-lex-it.

28. IT SEEM LIKE SOMEBODY USING DE NAME OF ROBERT FROST AND EMILY DICKINSON PLAGIARIZING EACH OTHER. AM I SEEING DOUBLES OR SHALL I CALL IN CSI TO INVESTIGATE? I WONDER IF IT COULD BE SOMETHING IN THE RUM?

29. @BP

Frosty? Yuh meaning it seems day Mr. Bowman like he back in town! 🙂

30. @ David

Yuh bes check and see if de IP for Frost and Bowman is not de same.

31. de hood
    not to worry. I like when Bowman in town. Mo sport fa BU famblee.

32. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

Bonnaaaaaaaaaaaaay. How yuh chile? Acid rein yuh seh? Murdah. Look, Pearlie is de kindest, gentlest ting yuh could ever meet, hear. Ax anybody at my church. I quiet like a micey. Doan mind I does gotta represent muhself sometimes. If is one ting Pearlie dont like is unfairness and advantage tekking. I nearly had to skin my botsie at you girlfriend today, but I seh no bo, she always pon here talking up fuh Mia Mottley so she might like dah! And I tell myself I aint gun leh dah poppet mek me sin my soul.

Anyhow, I gine hey and get lil someting tuh eat. I stew dong some chicken necks tuh put pon black-eye rice, but I din really had nuh appetite before, so I did just put it oneside. So I gine hear you tomorr, gyirl, Gods willing.

33. Georgie Porgie wrote “…..when instead of three big turkey legs from Wallmart, I fasted [relatively so] by working 3/4 chicken from the rotiserie instead.”

But Georgie strictly from a nutritional point of view isn’t this too much meat?

And here I was thinking that you were a vegetarian.

LOL!!!

34. Georgie Porgie wrote “Those close to Dipper knows that he died ” in action ” and Bonny Peppa confirmed? “It hurts ta agree wid ya ’bout de Dippa but I see he a few hours befo he passing. I was comin outta Carlton Supamarket n he was drivin in wid a rale young ting by he side.”

Dear Georgie:

Strictly to increase the medical knowledge of the BU family of course. What is there about “action” that would cause it to kill a healthy person? And can the rest of us avoid the same fate? Is there a good time in life to stop “acting” etc.

35. Georgie Porgie wrote “very experienced cardiac nurses who viewed his body noted that the apparent amount of blood in his face was not compatible with what they had often witnessed in thier numerous patients who had died with cardiac problems.”

Dear Georgie: Again strictly to increase our medical knowledge what would cause a dead person to have a large amount of blood in the face?

36. Like there is an autopsy taking place here.
    @J
    isn’t that how most men wish that they would go? In de saddle?

37. Perlixin Pearlie
    wait, you is ga church too? wah a Sundee doan miss me. but sumtimes I is got ta be careful dat I doan use a few a my ‘words’ in de lord house. even de christians does mek ya sin ya soul nah? stupseeeeeee. anywayz, doan skin ya botsie (LOL) at my girl islandgal. she is aaighttttttttt ya kno. man yea, so gih she a chance fa my sake. but I insis dat you Pearlie, you worsa dhan me by miles. I does be brekkin dung at you post girl. ya mo seriousa dhan a triple-by-pass. anyway, I gine n put out my dress fa Sundee ta ‘air’ causen de moff-balls in de trunk does got de frocks smell funny. n ya kno how dem church peeple is likes ta fin’ fawlt bout evryting? stupseeeeeeee, i gun change my church soon doe. i cannn tek dem much longa. wah you is go? I belongsts ta ‘Powa outside de blood”.

islandgal
    I know a relatively young man died that way. He was about 25yrs old but from all reports he had a heart problem. Yes chile, when his girlfriend was cummin he was goingggg. (doan laff)

38. @perlixin skin botsie Pearlie

Becareful, de next time yuh skin yuh botsie at me yuh gine get a hard foot up yuh hole!

39. J
    I am not strictly a vegetarian, but I dont eat meat everyday nor have I been eating as much meat as I used to do at home since I came over here.
    However, I will murder some Walmart turkey legs from time to time. They are ready cooked – broiled cheap and taste goooddddddddddddd! Quite convenient

And you are correct, that’s too much meat one time. There were no legs at our Walmart this weekend so I had to work the chicken. And I was joking; when you see me fast you know I am on my last lap!

I am neither mourning or or fasting lol

Re What is there about “action” that would cause it to kill a healthy person? NOTHING . But elderly men with likely atherosclerosis will succumb to such vigorous exercise, or certainly the effects of the attendent surge in catecholamines LOL
    Like how Sir Conrad died in 1999 playing tennis in Australia. Same thing could happen in a severe stressful episode in that age group.

Is there a good time in life to stop “acting” etc.
    I dont think so necessarily. Age is just a number, really. Question is what is the state of your heart and coronary arteries and your cariovascular system generally. If you are fit you can climb the highest mountains. If you are unfit you cant even walk on the flat!

The nurses who had in over 25 years experience and had seen much abroad in emergency cardiac units were of the view that he had taken a high dose of some substance. I have never seriously thought of it much since. I would have to research the litteratures on this matter.

40. ” Pearlie is de kindest, gentlest ting yuh could ever meet, hear. Ax anybody at my church. I quiet like a micey. Doan mind I does gotta represent muhself sometimes. ” “I nearly had to skin my botsie at you girlfriend today,”

Perlixin SB Pearlie a Classy sundee school broad, was skinnin kuffins ( botsies) when she got a foot up she derriere.

41. GP:

Wha you tink bout you boy Leroy runnin fuh dah seat in Sin John? You tink he cud mek um or wha?