Submitted by George C. Brathwaite

The Late Hon Prime Minister David Thompson

โ€œKeep the faith.โ€ This phrase is one of the final messages that I received from the Right Honourable Prime Minister David Thompson as he battled the invasive and debilitating effects of an illness, for which very rarely does it allow an extension of life beyond the very short term.

My fellow Barbadians and Caribbean people, as of 2.10 on the morning of 23 October, 2010, we came to a reality that was pre-empted by prayers and many supplications. It was about 9.30 in Newcastle upon Tyne when I received the dreaded news, but news that I had to verify nonetheless because of rumours previously advanced. The truth stared at me; I returned a forlorn and almost frozen gaze at my computerโ€™s screen.

I knew there and then that, my generation of Barbadians had lost perhaps the most noticeable, affectionate, and dedicated person whose political sacrifices and passion for people would unfortunately not realise the ultimate dream: that is, to see a full revival of Barbadian society and to achieve sustained economic development.

Having to cope with the everyday viscidities of life, we knew that it is only through our Mediator that anything does make sense. Why would David Thompson spend the greater part of his life given to public service, displaying compassion for the poor and marginalised, and being a stern defender of those without voice or power?

Many of us grew up with and around David Thompson in terms of time period. David (referring to the Prime Minister as David, is in this sense a confirmation of the endearment between the man and his people; it is by no means a mark of disrespect), came to be perceived as a theatrical but resolute debater destined to ascend the pinnacle of political leadership in Barbados.

We all had that affinity with Davidโ€™s clear โ€“ yet incisive verbal and gesticulatory fortitude in which the subtlety of his inflections served to be the mortal blows for his opponents. He was quite adept at using wit and creativity in making his contributions to House of Assembly Debates.

Fortunately for us, if we sometimes misunderstood or misrepresented his ambitions, we know that since assuming the Office of Prime Minister of Barbados, the Right Honourable David Thompson was never consumed by his actual or residual power. Rather, Mr. Thompson used much of that power and his natural acumen to implement programmes anticipating the enhanced lives for Barbadians should success follow on from bold but reformatory promises and initiatives.

Since May and for many months, I hoped that I would get to see my friend once again, perhaps engage him in discussion and debate, especially since we both have an interest and passion for finding appropriate solutions relating to Barbadosโ€™ position in juxtaposition to CARICOMโ€™s family of peoples and states.

Distance does not diminish the impact of love and caring for fellow human beings. Through technology, I was able to send and receive messages that convey the sense of hope and inspiration which would ultimately challenge all of us to keep the faith.

In one particular response to my enquiry about his healing and recovery, Prime Minister Thompson addressed both my long-time friend Errol Crawford and me. Prime Minister Thompson replied:

โ€œGeorge and Errol: my friends, remember always, Philippians 4:6-7 โ€˜do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.โ€™ I am battling. And I thank God for friends who care and I count you both among them. Thank you.โ€

The days ahead will be especially tough and sorrowful for Mara; Davidโ€™s three daughters; and his parents and siblings. I know that his relatives; the families and friends of my parish of birth and Prime Minister Thompsonโ€™s constituency, St. John; the Democratic Labour Party family and, by extension, the Barbados Labour Party family will all sorrow at this untimely loss.

In essence, Prime Minister Thompsonโ€™s reach was sufficiently far and emboldened by genuine love that his priorities of families and friends become geographically insignificant as we mourn his passing. There is absolutely no doubt that he had so much more to give in terms of leadership for a society struggling against the vagaries of cultural penetration, global imperialism, and a recessionary period that is unpredictable in its gravity to the foundations of our societal existence.

Today we grieve, but he has left us lessons to keep the faith โ€“ persevere with humility and strength knowing that God is our guide. We must celebrate all that David Thompson contributed socially and politically for the empowerment of peoples and the development of St. John. The DLP must be keen to herald him as one of their own, an accomplishment born out of the founding fathers of that institution and none more so than the Right Excellent Errol Walton Barrow Barbados and the region has something very special to call their own; it is the rise of David Howard John Thompson.

From Know-de-Most to David Howard John Thompson, I truly say: ars longa, vita brevis. Rest in the eternal peace of God Almighty my friend. I shall keep the faith, and I shall do and encourage others to do what you set your compass upon. Barbados and the Caribbean shall be second to none in quality of life and in the values we transcend through prioritising families.

N.B. George C. Brathwaite is currently overseas studying and very much apologises to the Barbadian family that I will not be in Barbados at this time, but I share in these times of both sorrow and thanksgiving.

141 responses to “Prime Minister David Thompson: Keep The Faith Friends And Families”

1. @George

This is a wonderful tribute from one Barbadian to another.

2. GCB:

Many thanks for your insightful homily, whose message seems to be that not only is there a life beyond politics, but that there is life even beyond life, as we know it. As St. Paul tells us in the 8th Chapter of his letter to the Romans; “There is therefore NOW no condemnation for those who are (united) in Christ Jesus”. (v.1)

Let us all be comforted, though DJHT’s earthly pilgrimage is over, with the certain knowledge that neither “height, nor depth, nor anything else in all creation will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (v.39)

S.M.I.B

3. @ Ravin’ Craven Raven

“..not only is there a life beyond politics, but that there is life even beyond life, as we know it”
    That is the understatement of the twenty first century so far… even beyond any of George Bush’s famous lines on Iraq.

“life as we know it” is but the equivalent of a period of pregnancy, where those embryos with the potential to go on to REAL life develop the necessary characteristics and attributes required to exist in the new environment.

Your statement then, is the equivalent of a fetus in a mother’s womb speculating that “even after our nine months existence”, there is life…. LOL

This also puts the idea of ‘death’ into a much clearer perspective…… a glorious birth into a new phase and new level of existence.
    The ‘exit’ of a fetus from a mother’s womb is a painful but glorious event called BIRTH.

The spiritual equivalent is EXACTLY the same. Painful on the physical side (inside the womb), but glorious and special on the spiritual (outside the womb) side of the event.

4. Prime Minister David Thompson’s death, and the grief, pain and emptiness, of his dear wife, children, Mother, family members, close friends, and so on, plus the wider Barbadian community, were all deeply felt and expressed, as we felt the lost of our PM.

I believe the LORD has allowed this, to get our attention as a Nation, and, also, to get David’s attention as well, which no doubt allowed him in his acute suffering, to place his attention on Jesus, as Saviour and Lord, and to put things right with his soul, as the Lord is more interested in our Eternal destiny, than in our economic plight.

From what has come forth, from a few people who had close contact with David, during his closing months of life on earth, the Word of God, the Bible, with JESUS as its central focus, without whom, salvation is not possible, became for him, the most important thing before leaving this earthly bondage, that so many of us cling to, which is so transient, fleeting, temporal, whereas, Eternity, be it, either Heaven or Hell, is forever.

I distinctly feel in my spirit, that David was given an opportunity, that many of us might never get, the chance through a terrible illness, to get to know Jesus as his personal Saviour and Lord, and therefore would have being taken straight to Heaven, the moment his heart stopped, into Eternal glory, peace, and joy, that we know NOTHING about on this side.

Yes, our little nation, needs to plod on, BUT, the acute ‘spiritual’ sensitivity that David’s illness brought out in so many, needs to continue, in great earnest, as Barbados is sitting on the ‘fence’ with Almighty God, and Jesus Christ, we are IN deep trouble, more so ‘spiritually, than economically, IF, we as a people, that IS, men, women, family units, villiages, parishes, do not, Repent sincerely, and seek God’s face, In Christ Jesus, we are not going to make it, as:

“Righteousness exalts a NATION, but SIN is a reproach to any PEOPLE.” (Prov. 14:34) emphasis added.

“Unless the LORD builds the house (nation) They labour who build it. Unless the LORD guards the city. The watchman stays awake in vain.” (Psa. 127: 1)

Light and darkness cannot dwell in the same place, (heart, soul) it is either ONE or the other!

5. The story which appeal to me the most is that of his gardener!If we all can learn a lesson from that story . YES we are our brothers and sisters keepers. David THompson your light continues to shine even in death . Your were and still is a true inspiration. Oh Death where is thy sting! Oh grave where is thy victory! How is it that even in death you are still alive in the hearts and minds of all even those who did not know you personnally including myself. Go in PEACE my friend. Well Done !

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFF TOPIC

Let me take this opportunity to congratulate my daughter, Carlene, who graduated from the University Of the West Indies with a BSc. in Sociology. She was one of fourteen hundred students who received their scrolls yeaterday at a ceremony at the Garfield Sobers Gymnasium. Also receiving her scroll yesterday was the daughter of our new Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart, Julienne, a school mate of my daughter.

7. So?

8. @ Carson C. Cadogan | October 24, 2010 at 4:01 PM |
    I thought that I had a low opinion of you before but since the above post it is even less!
    Man, you could not even wait to blow your own horn? You had to do it here and now?! You are definitely a “yardFOUL”!

9. @ Zoe
    You said, referring to David Thompson, quote:-“….and therefore would have being taken straight to Heaven, the moment his heart stopped, into Eternal glory, peace, and joy…….
    I say:- You really think so, nuh? Well I would like to suggest that you wheel and come again, Sir, if you really believe that. Why don’t you cease and desist from misleading folk with such unproven theory?

10. The great national treasure given to us, for forty eight years, was a gift given to us all from god. In my lifetime of fifty one years, I’ve been privy to but a few events, that have shaped humanity, transformed my reality of life, and ultimately made a difference on a global, regional and national level in the lives of many. Right Honorable David Thompson, was that transformative spirit. His humble, yet larger than life persona, evoked the underlying ability, that he could make a difference no matter what. My generation, remained steadfastly glewed to the mass media, endeared by the next majestic exudation, on the manifest destiny of Barbadian and regional caribbean politics. Hope does spring eternal, one person can make a difference. I never had the good fortune of meeting David Thompson, but I followed his every public move via Barbados’ mass media. I was able to be educated, informed, and made a better Barbadian expatriate, living in an ever expanding global diaspora. I have been blessed to have been given if but for a brief moment, my Prime Minister David Thompson, I would like to thank his family for sharing this national treasure with us, and may god bless his wife, children and the rest of his family.

11. @ de hood, man, in your polytheistic, Mormonisn, you would’nt know, and probably would never know or understand , the finer and deeper things of God’s Word, FOREVER SETTLED IN HEAVEN!

FYI, I DON’T deal in theories, when it comes to the absolute TRUTH of His WORD, the Bible, as His divinely Inspired Word, speak to the spurious, damnable false doctrine that flow from Mormonisn, the utterly confused cult of the LDS.

While the Apostle Paul in 2 Corinthians 5, verses 1-8, essentially dealt with the Resurrection of our bodies, (vv. 1-5) he concludes by stating:

“So we are always confident, knowing that while we are at home in the body, we are ABSENT from the LORD. For we walk by faith, not by sight. We are CONFIDENT, yes, well pleased rather to be ABSENT from the body, (through physical death) AND to be PRESENT WITH THE LORD.” (v. 8) emphasis added.

Verse 6. “Absent from the Lord.” Christ is with us spiritually, but His physical absence means we do not perceive Him as clearly or as fully as we will in the future (See Phil. 1:23; Col. 3:3, 4; I John 3:2).

Verse 8. “To be PRESENT with the Lord.” Is better than our present condition, even if it means to be “Absent from the body” between death and the day of our resurrection. This text conclusively disproves any notion that the believer experiences any lapse (no soul sleep!) between death and his presence WITH THE LORD!

12. J
    I hate you. you sicken me.

Carson C
    You’re a proud dad. Congrats.
    One of my many nieces graduated yesterday too. Am in no mood to celebrate with her. She understands.

13. simply anonymous Avatar

@de hood | October 24, 2010 at 6:41 PM |
    @ Carson C. Cadogan | October 24, 2010 at 4:01 PM |
    I thought that I had a low opinion of you before but since the above post it is even less!
    Man, you could not even wait to blow your own horn? You had to do it here and now?! You are definitely a โ€œyardFOULโ€!”

What his daughter achieves has nothing to do with him. i thought it picky and silly, but many people are like that. he had to mentioned the fact that the new PMs daughter graduated too. so immature

14. From what I have been reading about him, the late PM would have been happy that CCC’s daughter got her degree.

15. Could we not be “kind” to a proud father, who in his euphoria did what some of us might not have done; but has he harmed anyone here? why should we instigate a reflection that could cause embarrassment to his daughter in a now very happy household.

Is not Barbados “a place with a caring heart”.

16. I see nothing wrong in CCC’s post. It provided domestic information about the new PM’s daughter and about one of our regular posters. By the way, who is gearge C brathwaite?

17. We are really becoming a very harsh, uncaring society. Can someone tell me what is so wrong with a proud father informing the world of the sterling performance of his daughter?
    I guess you have no children to be proud de hood. Have you check the back page of the Nation today?

18. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@check-it out
    “By the way, who is gearge C brathwaite?”

On the presumption that you have simply mis-spelled the name, I may take it is a bit of tongue-and-cheek; the type of sarcasm that may invite a smile when mourning can hide that side of humanity.

19. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

@ CCC and Bonny

Ignore dah idiot J. She’s de same body that was pon here de udda day talking bout she nieces and nephews got master’s degrees and all kinda ting. Nuh body else achievements aint nutten tuh she. She barely want noticing. Blasted poppet!

Tell yuh young progressive relatives Pearlie send she congrats tuh dem! And my congrats tuh you too. Keep de faith even in dis difficult time.

20. LIFE AFTER DEATH
    What is abundantly clear from studying the patriarchal period, along with Hebrews 11 and 13 is that the patriarchs realized that there was life after death. They all believed in a bodily resurrection, in the โ€œlandโ€ that God had promised.

They were not sure of all the details and did not have as full a revelation that we do, but they knew that the land of Palestine was involved for them. We also know from the prophetic scriptures that this will occur in the Millennium. We know too, that there is also โ€œa land that is fairer than dayโ€ that the blessed will also occupy, of which the patriarchs also had a glimpse.

Abraham certainly believed that God had the capacity to raise Isaac from the dead if he offered him as a sacrifice as ordered (Genesis 22 and Hebrews 11:17-19). Abraham was willing to obey God and slay his precious son of promise in the expectation by faith that God would have to raise him from the dead to fulfill the purpose and promise for which Isaac was specifically born. Jacob insisted that he be buried in Canaan (Genesis 49:29-30), and Joseph gave particular instructions concerning his bones (Genesis 50:25; Hebrews 11:22).

Since the account of Enochโ€™s translation (Genesis 5:24) was probably passed on by tradition and thus well known to those of the godly line, the concept of leaving this world to go to be with God in a heavenly city was not as remote or ridiculous as scoffers promote.

Kaiser points out that โ€œthe patriarchal text always carefully distinguished the fact that each patriarch was โ€œgathered to his peopleโ€ from the act of burial in the โ€œgraveโ€ (Genesis 25:8-9; 35:29; 37:35; 49:29,31,33).

Neither was their relationship to God or His continuing association with them canceled after death, for He repeatedly identified Himself, the living personal God, as the โ€œGod of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacobโ€ (Exodus 3:6, cf. Mark 12:26; Luke 20:37).

No wonder the psalmist confidently expressed the fact that men continued to enjoy fellowship with God beyond the grave (Psalms 16:10; 49:15; 73:24). Likewise Job argued in 14:14 that men enjoyed the same prospect of โ€œsprouting forthโ€ again as did the felled tree (Job 14:7).

This concept of the promise of a bodily resurrection finds its ultimate fulfillment in the New Testament first in Johnโ€™s eschatology of John 3: 3:16-18, 36; 5:21 ff,14:3, and later in the Pauline epistles.

In John 5, Jesus stated that in the same way that the Father had raised the dead in the past (e.g. Elijahโ€™s miracle in 1Kings 17:17-24), the Son has the same ability to raise the dead both physically and spiritually. Jesus means that he will not only raise individual deceased persons but all the dead- whether in the resurrection of life or the resurrection of damnation- as he discusses further in this argument.

He went on to say in verse 24-25 that eternal life is the possession of those who, after hearing His word, believe on God the Father who sent Him. Jesus then predicts in verse 27, that when these believers hear His voice at His coming at the rapture, they will live. We must appreciate that Jesus is here clearly alluding to the resurrection which occurs at the rapture as later described by Paul in 1Thesalonians 4:13-18; 1Corinthians 15:52 ff; Philippians 3:21. John also alludes to the bodily resurrection of the saints in 1 John 3:2 where he declares that we will look just as Jesus does when He comes.

He warned in verses 28-29 that an hour is coming when all who are in the tombs will hear his voice and come forth, those who have done good (by believing on God the Father who sent Jesus, after hearing Jesusโ€™ word (vs 24) to a resurrection of life, and those who have done evil (i.e they who have rejected Christ) to a resurrection of damnation to appear at the Great White Throne judgment to be sentenced to the lake of fire. We know from further study of the Bible that these resurrections are 1007 years apart. They will not occur simultaneously as is at first apparent in this passage. The resurrection of the saved is both a present day spiritual resurrection (5:24-25) and a future physical resurrection.

The hope and promise of the bodily resurrection for Godโ€™s people alluded to by the patriarchs and some Old Testament saints like Job, and taught in type in the translations of both Enoch and Elijah and the teaching of Jesus in this passage and in John 14:3 dominates the epistles; in 1 Thessalonians 4: 13-18 and 1 Corinthians it is finally revealed. Paul indicates in Philippians 3, that this hope motivated him to give up all in his quest, in order to know Christ-The Prize for Christian Living (Philippians 3) , intimately and perfectly, and to ensure that he became a part of the โ€œout resurrectionโ€ from the dead. This thought is also expressed by Peter in 2 Peter 1:10. The idea is not that this wholesale effort will gain our salvation, but that this dedication will ensure that we do not fall or fail.

In Philippians 3:20-21 Paul suggests that the hope and promise of the bodily resurrection for Godโ€™s people alluded to by the patriarchs, should motivate us to maintain our gaze towards Heaven where we have our true citizenship.

21. My thoughts and prayers are with Prime Minister Thompson’s wife and daughters at this time. May God bless them and keep them in His tender care, and I pray that the surviving members of his Cabinet put their egos aside and do what is best for the country. May he rest in peace.

22. @GP…

With all due respect, please show some respect for a dead man.

Just because he’s alleged to have said “Keep the faith” does not necessarily mean he was talking about your (and Zoe’s) particular faith.

But since you feel comfortable telling lies using 898 words of English, may I please use a simple link to a peer reviewed document (posted earlier), which speaks about the afterlife in somewhat more complete terms than you have.

The scientific method (which I am sure the Honourable David Thompson did, and would now, agree with) does its very best to get to the truth.

The link is http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Afterlife

Please read deeply….

23. Congratulations to your beloved, intelligent daughter Carson. This is my first time posting. Only one person died – the PM who was ailing over a period of time – we celebrate his life. We enjoy his works whilst he lived and we KNOW that he was indeed a family man.
    Carson, thank you for sharing and reminding our community that we celebrate life.
    God bless you and your entire family.

24. @ Zoe

If you can find the time could you exegete 2 Tim. 4:6โ€“8
    For I am now ready to be offered, and the time of my departure is at hand. I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith:
    Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing.

What did Paul mean by saying that ” he had kept the faith? (Greek pistis)?

25. @Georgie Porgie: “For I am now ready to be offered, and the time of my departure is at hand.

If I may, Dr. GP, please let me take the liberty of quoting the poem which is your namesake:

Georgie Porgie, Puddin’ and Pie,
    Kissed the girls and made them cry,
    When the boys came out to play
    Georgie Porgie ran away.

Hmmmmm….

26. @All.

None of us *know* what awaits us after our death… It is always a leap of faith…

Anyone who claims to know the truth about what happens to us after we die is simply lying…

But, we can always hope… Hope is one of things which makes us human, after all…

If I may please share a bit of music (without lyrics) which has always been very meaningful to me…

RIP DT. May your energy continue having positive influence….

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n_rLVXD55BA&fs=1&hl=en_US]

27. Also Zoe can you also point out the relationship between “keeping the faith” in 2 Timothy and “earnestly contending the faith ” in Jude. I both passages the Greek word translated faith is “pistis”.

28. And could you comment on the relationship betweem “pistis”= faith and “elpis” = hope.

29. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar
    Knight of the Long Knives

I did not have a computer easily at hand this weekend so let me take this opportunity now to give condolences to his entire immediate and extended family and to all Barbados. My heart is heavy and my eyes filled with tears for his wife, daughters and mother. A great man has left us, one of the few honest politicians, we are all in deep mourning.

30. Christopher Halsall
    Please, please, please, I made a pact with myself that I will not laugh or smile until my PM’s final farewell. Now please don’t make me laff.
    Ya got ma cryinnnnnnnn re Porgie:
    ‘because he said “Keep the faith” does not necessarily mean that he was talking about your faith..
    Murdahhhhhhhh, I luv um.
    And de next one dat had me rollin up was:
    ‘ and since you feel comfortable telling lies using 898 words of English…………..”

Chris, dis in one of de few occasions dat I have to give it to ya. I luv um.

Perlixin Pearlie
    ya does got me cryinnnn. I tawt i was bad till I meet you. ya bad. but yeah, J is indeed a self-taught idiot. I rememba when she did bout hay braggin bout she nevews n neeces. she is a good liah too. wah nevews n neeces wah. she is talk bare shoite ta strenghten she pint. stupseeeeeeeeee. de man Carson C feel proud a he dawta n he lehhin de world kno. nutton wrong wid dah. wah i does feel proud wen i sees youn peeple mekkin sumting a demselfes. cause a lotta dem jus wasting dem yute.
    Perplexin Pearlie, ya baddddddddddddddd.

31. Why must some come on the board and run amok everytime, spoiling the discussion and changing the theme to their own use? We know people are more selfish today, but when people are mourning the loss of a friend, colleague or parliamentary representative, who has passed on, please restrain yourself and show a modicum of decorum. If you are unsure of how to do so, ask God.

32. Oh Well
    but i asked God to heal my PM and he took him instead. Why?

33. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

JC, Bonny, Pearlie, Mary, Checkit-out, Hants

Thank you.

34. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

Mistress Peppa, thanks fuh yuh kind words, but you done know I aint as bad as you. Gyirl, you is de original! Yous my inspiration yuh know. Duh need mo people like you who gun tell it like it is and deal wid some uh de poppets that does be pon hey gettin on like dem opinion mo important dan everybody else one. Warn dem fuh me tuh mess wid Pearlie, hear, cos I malicious wid a purpose! Anyhow, I gine here and siddong in my gallery now de sun gone dong. Dey got some lil trilden out deyso in de road playing, I gine and watch dem and get a lil smile causen my heart been suh heavy dese last two days, yuh know. You tek care soul. I too glad yuh like yuh feelin lil betta now tho.

35. Prime Minister to be buried on Wednesday 3rd November at St. John’s Parish Church with the service held at at Kensington Oval at 9.30AM.

Private viewing of the body on 28th in Parliament.

Private viewing of the body on 29th in Parliament for General public.

Also several other viewing sites have been determined over 5 days.

No doubt full details will be released shortly.

36. Perlixin Pealie
    Ah cryinnnnnnnnnnnnn. murdahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. ‘siddong in gallery’.
    I made a pact not to laff or smile till afta de final farewell. But wunna-all ( my Supa favrit word) mekkin me brek my vow.

I will/shall be there for the viewing and the final farewell. It is indeed sad n painful.

37. BP I am not sure if or why God took him. Could be something about managing/prime ministering Barbados that is taking our leaders.

38. @C H
    None of us “know” what .awaits us at death. It ‘s always a leap of faith.
    Question: How do you define “faith ” in the comment! How big or small is the leap!

39. @ a c…

If you’re not yet able to ask the question coherently…

Then you are not yet ready for the answer….

40. @CH
    I will assume your answer as “Ido not have an answer as typical of you!. What don”t you not understand defining the word “faith” as used in your comment!

41. Dear Carson C. Cadogan

I was wrong and I apologize.

Of course you are proud of your daughter.

I congratulate the graduate, her parents and her teachers.

May she succeed at every good thing which she tries to do.

And the same to all the other graduates.

42. GP, I see that the ‘Father of ALL LIES’ and LIARS, (Satan), has one of his faithful followers, right here on BU, accusing you of lying, I wonder IF, he can empirically, relying on, based on factual evidence, observation, through scientific varification PROVE this? Or, is he just a LIAR, like his father!!!???

43. BTW, that Wiki link that that ‘Stranger to the TRUTH, gave re ‘Death and the Afterlife’ 99 percent of the citations, are SIX of ONE, and HALF DOZEN of the OTHER, all from the PIT of HELL, no substance in TRUTH at all, the only sound references are from the Biblical NT citations, and worthy of “…Please read deeply…” as all other citations, are DEEPLY from the PIT of LIES!!!

44. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

No hard feelings, J.

45. There is a man here in Barbados, either from NZ or Australia, who HAD a real ‘out-of-body’ spiritual experience, actually DIED, and went to HELL, then the Lord allowed him to also see HEAVEN, before putting his ‘spirit/soul’ back into his body, Peoples Cathedral, brought him in to give his REAL, earth shattering experience of HELL and HEAVEN in the spirit world, which then led him to REPENTANCE and FAITH in JESUS CHRIST.

This man, is one of many others, in recent decades, from various parts of the world, NOT Christians at the time of their clinical DEATH, who HAD real, living experiences of HELL and HEAVEN, and all of their testimomies are strickingly similiar.

Almighty God, IS giving so many these our-of-body, near DEATH experiences, CONFIRMING, not through some scientific varification, as THIS is way beyond man’s puny, little, scientific observation, that what His WORD, the Bible describes is in fact, ‘SPIRITUALLY’ TRUE!!!

46. Zoe
    Careful observation should reveal to you that I dont waste time with the dyslexic halall. Nor did I read the article he cited. Under the “free speech” afforded on BU, every one else have had their say, but when I use the same “free speech” and post a few paragraphs from my D.Min thesis, I am met with folly from simpletons.

I am looking foward to your submission on “keeping the faith.”

47. Fellow bloggers, we should learn to peacefully share this blog with GP and Zoe.

Let them talk to each other and other like minded bloggers.

There is no point arguing with persons who are fanatical about their “faith” and there is nothing wrong with that.
    If you believe something to be true then it is true.

GP and Zoe have STUDIED the Bible.If you have not done the same you are in no position to argue with them.

48. @ Hants
    What studied what bible what?
    Have you noticed how the late Prime Minister hardly ever said a single word about studying any bible or any exegesis or any such big words; and yet even his political enemies remember him for his love, kindness, caring and consideration for others?

Have you noticed how he never sued anyone for the many nasty things said about him? How he seem able to repay hatred with kindness?

What do you think is important? know the Greek origin of a word and being able to exegesis its context? ….. or displaying a character that exemplifies love, and care, and consideration for others? ….especially others who are not in a position to repay your consideration?

….It is by a man’s fruit that you can judge his character. What study what bible what?

49. @Bush Tea

David operated on the right to reply. It was the only weapon he needed.

50. @Bush Tea,
    you got up yuh likkers?