Two years adrift from 2013 the political temperature has risen to almost melting point. The sudden and grave illness of Prime Minister David Thompson has exposed a leadership issue in the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) in the event he decides to remove himself from the equation. The recent CADRES poll has thrown out Christopher Sinckler as the peopleโ€™s choice. Unfortunately for the DLP, a party which has recently emerged from the political wilderness of 14 years, it does not* have the political capital to become embroiled in a leadership squabble.

On the other side of the divide the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) in the aftermath of an election defeat saw Mia Mottley being elevated to leader of the party. As far as the public was* concerned former Prime Minister Owen Arthur resigned to make room for the young energetic Mottley to takeover.ย  To the surprise of many, soon after stepping down Arthur held a press conference at the UWI during which he expressed some concerns about Mottley being leader of the party.ย  It therefore has come as no surprise to BU and political pundits in Barbados to hear of rumblings in the BLP regarding whether Arthur or Mottley should lead the party.

The BLP leadership issue has been given wings in recent days by BLP Chairman George Payne, he indicated that he was unaware of Mottleyโ€™s interest in taking over the chairmanship of the BLP.ย  On BU in recent days we got the conflicting position from BLP surrogates that Mottley has indicated interest in taking over the chairmanship of the BLP. It is convention that when the leader of the party expresses such an interest the incumbent steps aside. The taking over the Chair by the leader of the party is usually done as the party gears-up for a general election. In the case of the BLP it could be argued it is more a power play from Mottley.

Minister of Finance, Economic Affairs

Added to Mottleyโ€™s worries is the revelation that some skulduggery appears to have occurred in the St. James/St. Lucy ridings in recent days to create delegates to favourย  incumbent George Payne at the upcoming BLP convention. Word making the rounds on BU suggests a recent polling places Mottley on shaky ground – to be confirmed at a secret* meeting tomorrow.

The public has been looking on with interest the Owen Arthur/George Walton alliance which has emerged. These are two men who would have been at loggerheads during Arthurโ€™s period as Prime Minister of Barbados. Payne was fired by Arthur and the relationship went down hill to the point where Payne said nothing in the Lower House for many years sitting on the backbench of Parliament. To say that politics makes strange bedfellows would be an understatement.

In the case of the two parties the leadership issue is unsettled. A DLP with Thompson absent will struggle. Although Sinckler has been anointed by Thompson if we are to judge from the recent reshuffle, the fact that he is a popular choice among Barbadians informed by the CADRES poll means nothing. Utterances from key DLP party members suggest Sincklerโ€™s ascendency to lead the party maybe strewn with obstacles.ย  If Mottley is able to assert herself as the undisputed leader of the BLP in the coming days; she is currently fighting for all she is worth then the matter will become a dead issue for the BLP. If she loses it would open the proverbial political Pandora’s box. Would she resign, cross the floor, start her own party or meekly step in line?

In the meantime the country continues to drift along in the prevailing economic storm while the political โ€˜ham boneโ€™ is being fought for. Once a politician always a politician!

145 responses to “The Political Temperature Close To Melting Point In Barbados – DLP BLP Leadership Issue Trumps Economic Issues”

1. The thesis that the Mottleyโ€™s are an elite family is 50 years out of date.

Nobody has cared or been influenced by the Mottley name since long BEFORE MIA WAS BORN.

Ms. Mottleyโ€™s grandfather managed to become mayor of Bridgetown when Bridgetown was 99% poor and 85% semi-literate. It could not happen today. And he could never have become a powerful man in rural Barbados where people have traditionally had access to land and therefore to food and are therefore not so easily manipulated.

I lived in rural Barbados in Mayor Mottleyโ€™s time and I can tell you that rural Bajans had no love for, respect for, nor FEAR of Ernest Dieghton Mottley. He was a big man in Bridgetown, but nowhere else.

It is significant that her father did not become Prime Minister and I have always said that she will NEVER become Prime Minister either.

She is not a bad woman but she was born 50 years too late.

By the time she was born, the educational revolution birthed by Dipper Barrow had already emancipated Barbadians from mental slavery.

There are hundreds, of families in Barbados today where on average the intellectual, educational and professional achievements (and yes financial) achievements far surpasses that of the Mottleyโ€™s.

The Mottleys have long, long, long been eclipsed, but nobody appears to have noticed. Maybe too many people spend too little time studying history.

The Mottleyโ€™s time has come and gone. Long. long gone.

The tax funded universal secondary and university education (started by Dipper Barrow) ousted the Mottleyโ€™s, and ousted other families who have had elitist aspirations.

I myself have EIGHT nieces and nephews who have POST-GRADUATE degrees (out of 14) and another 2 have bachelorโ€™s degrees, and a couple are still at secondary school.

The professional achievements of these 8 (and more to come) will far surpass anything any Mottley has ever done.

Take note that NONE of the grandparents of these 8 completed elementary school. My family is just an average ZR catching Bajan family. There are many more just like us.

Ms. Mottley is not a bad woman.

She was just born 40+ years too late.

Thatโ€™s all.

In conclusion it is not at all surprising that the sons of labourers are preparing to oust the daughter of the mayor.

Barbados is struggling to become a meritocrary, a place where nobody cares who your father (or grandfather) is or was. But a place where people ask what can you do for others? And what have you done for your country?

Barbados is not a meritocracy yet, but long may the struggle continue.

There is still plenty of work that Ms. Mottley can do in her constituency and in her legal practice. Many of us get up every morning and put our pants on one leg at time and go out to do honourable work in service of others. Ms. Mottley can do the same.

2. @Mia Mottley

As you read this comment on your BB here is some free advice; if your parliamentary colleagues say by majority they want Arthur, step aside. Then read the public’s reaction (feel the pulse) which may tilt in your favour. This will give you a boost in your political stock for later.

3. Bajan Truth The talk from the Opposition Barbados Labour Party was all about Barbados economy is on the rocks & total mayhem would erupt in Barbados.It was all doom & gloom from the Barbados Labour Party.
    Two & half years into a Democratic Labour Party administration,the predicted collapse of the Barbados economy has not materialised.
    There is no massive unemployment problem in Barbados- the official figure from the Central Bank is 10% unemployment.Tourism has held its own for the last two years with no major disruption in that sector.The public sector has not witnessed any massive retrenchment of workers .There was no no cut in the salaries of public workers.Crime is not escalating out of hand.The standard of living for Barbadians has not been affected significantly.Barbadians are still travelling overseas for their annual vacations.Barbadians are not on the streets demonstrating about the anything in Barbados.Non-nationals from the Caribbeans & indeed all over this are still clamouring to live in Barbados -We are still one of the most desirable places on this earth to live in.
    Bajan Truth & all the other critics please tell Barbados what this government has done wrong since it came into power 2 years ago.
    The Barbados Labour Party is a desperate group of people who do not understand & cannot believe that their party is not the government of Barbados.The Barbados Labour Party believes that party has some god given right to be the government of Barbados.Barbados Labour Party wake up & recognise that your party is not the government of Barbados and hopefully it will remain that way for the next 20 years or so.
    After what Owen Arthur & the other miscreants in the Barbados Labour Party did during the reign of terror especially in that party last term in office,there is no way that party should ever be returned as a government of Barbados

4. @J
    Your thesis is one to keep. I particularly like your view on Merit in the Barbadian context. It is the one thing that differentiate my sojourn in America from my experience on the rock. David J’s post needs to be archived for easy retrieval.

@Negroman
    Indeed. I have family member who are currently visiting with me and I have had no shortage of Complan, TCP, RUM, Banks beer and other products from Barbados due to no shortage of Bajans visiting my neck of the woods. lol!

5. Word reaching BU is that the big foot move by the Arthur/Payne alliance has knocked considerable wind from Mia’s sails (emotionally). The meeting today appears to be a rubber stamping of the decision to reinstate Arthur.

6. I thought Owen Arthur said that he was not interested in becoming Prime Minister on CBC TV channel 8. I heard him with my own 2 ears and eyes stating this …………. I must add that he was vey emphatic about that statement.

7. Adrian Hinds | wrote October 12, 2010 at 10:24 AM |
    @”J…Your thesis is one to keep.”

Wow!!! This is the first time that Adrian has ever agreed with anything I said.

Good morning Adrian.

8. Dear JC:

You remember that at elementary school our teachers taught us “circumstances alter cases”

And to you JC “a word to the wise is sufficient”

9. @David
    What does this mean? Is she once again “deeply wounded” you remember Owen’s intervention on her behalf during the homo debate? If this is the case, it would be at odds with her comment on an election platform in DeaconS farm, where she said that she did not need anyone support that she can handle matters herself.

@J
    I am agreeing with the truth, I hope. You just happen to have typed it. lol!

10. Owin’ See-More-Rum: Barbados’ Bionic MP – the $75,000 Man

11. LOL I agree J!!!!!!! But he seemed so defenite and truthful LOL!

12. Adrian I did not only type it. I THOUGHT of it.

13. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar
    Knight of the Long Knives

I think Barbados does not need either of the two crooks. I believe Owen and Mia are equally guilty of corruption. The only other B with a high enough profile is Dale Marshall. In addition to the corruption Mia clearly has some “strange tendencies” above and beyond lesbianism. That are not suitable for a PM. Imagine she goes to the U.N and beats one of her women at the airport or hotel room.

14. Here is a comment from the Director of News at CBC made on FB. Is this for real?

Reudon A Eversley In desperation, the BLP men may see Owen Arthur as the party’s greatest strength. Ironically, he is really their greatest weakness from a political standpoint.

15. Don’t you think Mia doesn’t know, better than anyone, that her lifestyle given the false pride of Barbadians play a role in her not becoming Prime Minister?

Let’s be true to ourselves. The majority of bajans would not be the type to openly celebrate that we are the first in the Caribbean to have a female like Mia for Prime Minister, whether she is qualified or not.

This s/election may come to pass but it maybe when Mia is too old to stand tall and lead our country.

16. Opposition Leader to hold a press conference at 3.30PM today, VOB has promised to carry live.

Crowds of Mottley supporters reported to be collecting at Queens Park to march, where God knows.

The big question, does the parliamentary group have the numbers to go direct to the GG office and eliminate the meeting scheduled for 2PM.

Henderson/Royalrumble why didn’t you guys apprise BU, what is happening?

17. No surprises from the BLP coming announcement. The party never accepted the verdict of the electorate and hence could not settle. Now 2.5 years later, the party turns on itself for the second time, targeting the new leader. Does Owen have the energy for two years in Opposition? What about his lack of developmental vision exhibited in law of economic value arguments, and the Abu Dubai road that he envisioned(s) for Bim. I have not said anything about the EPA advantages he uncritically imagines for local service providers. Shrewd politician yes, but he has been speaking and missing post-Lehman, the urban industrial paradigm shifts, EPA fatigue and creeping protectionism among EU capitals. Seriously, the former PM has not engaged any critical or intellectual community on any level of post-2008 thought – and this when economics as a discipline is under intense scrutiny. His support rests with a generation that considers itself privileged to lead Barbados. We ought to be aware of the conceit, the hegemonic, authorial masculinity that decries `wild boys’ and `cantankerous’ women in need of rescue.

18. Where are all of the BLP Barbados under ground bloggers. Why is it that we are not being kept up to date about what is going. I still waiting to get the ticket. Stupse and the police got the place block off. BLP is so elitist that I can’t even get close enough to the action. You got to be a bigup to get in there.

19. I hope Mia gives Owen a good run for his money.

20. This should come to no one as a surprise, and I was surprise to hear on VOB that Political Analyst Peter Wickham is surprised by what is taking place within the BLP. I am of the opinion that removing Mia from the leadership is the BLP’s best chance of winning the next election. Yes, even with Owen “De Unbreakable” Arthur back in the saddle.

21. Latest word making the rounds is that Arthur has been a no-show. What a mess!

lol

22. Sir Hilary Beckles was given a Knighthood for doing what I do not know.
    He then creates an office at UWI for Owen ($75000)Arthur. No one can see any results. He uses that office to hold a political news conference to insult the opposition leader.
    Sir Hilary did not reprimand him for doing that.
    Owen Arthur is a shameless politician. He lived an adulterous life and bajan women laughing. I do not support Mia but if Owen can get away with such behavior then she can get away with hers although I do not support that type of behavior.
    If Bajans feel that Owen was cruel in his last five years, then follow that foolish argument that he is the only one who can lead us out of this economic mess that he played a big role in getting us into, then go vote for him again and see the kind of victimization he will get involved with.

23. @ David

‘Here is a comment from the Director of News at CBC. Is this for real?’

Why you acting surprised? lol

24. Whatever happens now for Mottley, win, lose or draw she finds herself in a very uncomfortable position even if the ‘stabbing’ is aborted.

@No Brief

You have made a telling intervention. The old modalities which propelled policy formulation will not take the country any where in 2010 and beyond.

25. Charlie wrote “He then creates an office at UWI for Owen …[who] uses that office to hold a political news conference to insult the opposition leader. Sir Hilary did not reprimand him ”

You ever heard of academic fredom?

26. Charlie wrote “He lived an adulterous life ”

So Charlie, since when has adultery been a big deal in Barbados public (or private) life?

Stupseeee!!!!!!!!!!!

27. So the BLP parliamentary vote did not take place? nor did Mia make her 3:00pm press conference?

28. @Adrian

So far nothing has been made public.

What we know is Owen did not turn up at BLP Headquarters where the MP’s said to be in his camp are waiting.

This could all be a smoke screen to mask the letter which might have already been sent or a cooling off period has been agreed to.

29. Look de cold hay killin me but I kunn resist dis whun. Charlie, I wid you. If Mia’s lifestyle is questionable then so is Owen’s. Wah he had children outside of his marriage while in office. And to make matters worse he had children from his secretary turned mistress turned wife. Wah wunna telling wunna self a’tall. If Mia’s questionable he is too. She in na PM.

I personally in got na problem wid Mia becoming PM. She is capable. Hummuch brains it tek ta be a PM doe? Not much, cause Owen did one. (oops)
    Man I feel fa Mia man. It is uncalled for. I don’t see na just reason fa dis treatment.
    Owen, ga home.

30. The problem wid alot f ppl is that wunna like looking in ppl business. wunna shud mind wunna own. Owen is the most capable man for this job. Be truthful to yourself, the majority of DLP supporters woudl wish Owen was their leader. Owen’s talent should not be clouded by teh fact that his personal life was not perfect. Clinton’s life wasnt either and he got another term.

31. @David,
    Perhaps Owen and co. realised that this kind of action must be planned and executed effectively.
    Leaking the story to the press last night has created negative public reaction.
    We will soon see who is going to man up and put down this revolt.

32. @David,
    Wha happen ? Nuh brekkin news? It is 7.30pm. Owen like he friten an gone into hiding.

33. Oh how has the mighty fallen. Imagine these goings on in Roebuck street and one Ezra ( i know it all ) Alleyne exercising thunderous silence . He who once knew it all ,then wanted it all ,now can’t say a word at all . Oh how has the mighty fallen.

34. @Hants

The meeting has to be rescheduled because Arthur report sick!

Tue, October 12, 2010 – 8:08 PM

Mia Mottley is still leader of the Barbados Labour Party.

After a day of twists and turns, meetings and no-shows, Mottley is still the woman in charge.

During part of the day uncertainty loomed as some members of the parliamentary group met to decide on the leadership of the BLP.

At one point during the afternoon, party chairman George Payne, deputy Opposition Leader Dale Marshall, along with Ronald Toppin, Gline Clarke and William Duguid turned up at the party headquarters on Roebuck Street, St Michael.

Later in the evening, Clarke, secretary of the parliamentary group, told the Press that Mottley was still Opposition Leader โ€œat this present timeโ€.

โ€œShe is still the Leader of the Opposition and we will give her that support until further notice,โ€ he said, adding there were still a number of issues to be discussed related to leadership.

Todayโ€™s meeting follows a six-man meeting Monday night at the Prior Park, St James residence of the BLP chairman, reportedly seeking to get majority support to return former Prime Minister Owen Arthur to the helm of the party.

Mottley, Cynthia Forde and Rawle Eastmond did not attend that meeting. They were also absent from todayโ€™s meeting.

From as early as 12.30 p.m. dozens of party faithfuls gathered outside headquarters shouting support for Mottley as the police kept close watch.

35. ‘Charlie wrote โ€œHe lived an adulterous life โ€

So Charlie, since when has adultery been a big deal in Barbados public (or private) life?

Stupseeee!!!!!!!!!!!’

@J

So…ummm…

Adultery does a lot of damage, & IT SPREADS STDs! But then, maybe you like cheating and getting herpes!

God smarter than us, hear?

36. Dear Shez:
    I hate to be picky but adultery can only spred STD’s if one of the parties has an STD.

And I’ve never committed adultery.

37. Have never had herpes either.

38. I was making the point that if he could live that life and got away that it is ok then Mia should not be condemn for living her life how she wants to. I am not supporting either lifestyle because I do not care who the BLP leader is now or when the election time comes because I will be voting for the DLP.
    This early decision came about because of the vindictiveness of some of the BLP supporters and their attitude towards the health of PM Thompson.

39. @ David
    Sorry to be off topic.
    Breaking news, David. They are preparing to send the rescue capsule down for the 1st miner in Chile any minute now

40. Any predictions as to who will win this leadership contest and who will be losers from the aftermath ?
    The geriatric brigade or the young turks?

41. Just a thought.
    If Clyde Mascoll had patience and played his cards right, he would now be in line for the PM job.
    Life is a bitch isn’t it.

42. Thank god he has been sent to dump heap. Never to been seen again as any Co Leader he is a Po Leader.

43. Peter Morgan
    Marston Gibbs
    Lawerence Duprey
    Leroy Parris
    David Thompson
    Cranston Brown
    Marilyn Rice-Bowen
    Michael Lashley
    Mia Mottley
    Who next?
    Richard Sealy?
    Chris Sinckler?

44. Poor liโ€™l Owen, he steps down when BLP loses big time to his $75,000 mistake and lo & behold โ€“ the entire Party accepts his resignation as Opp Leader, wuh-loss! Looks me crosses! Canโ€™t back down nowโ€ฆ

Yet this is exactly what the adulterous piece of jetsam does almost 3 years laterโ€ฆ Not satisfied screwing Julie the former outside woman, he screws the BLP too with deeds Machiavelli would urinate on as he tries to sneak in through the back door.

Owen can draw crowds to a rally or two but who else in BLP? Payne? Clarke? Marshall (Payneโ€™s flunky)?

Pleaseโ€ฆ Listen to Elders, Mia is the way forth โ€“ you claim to worry about gay lifestyles yet you have Jerome โ€œJoanโ€ Walcott and Marquita โ€œMarkโ€ Rayside also clasped to the bosom like an asp as they kiss Owenโ€™s asp and you complain for Mia? Be real nuh?

45. Barbados needs the BLP more than ever
    Barbados needs Owen Seymour Arthur and Mia Mottley; Glyne Clarke and Dale Marshall; William Duguid and Cynthia Forde; George Payne and Ronald Toppin along with Rawle Eastmond and all the others.

DLP , never mind what Peter Wickham says, is a DOOMED party and to continue with the DLP at the ‘hellum’ can only mean 1991 to 1994 all over again. Just now the focus will be on the shambles in the DLP with Kellman making moves that will be earth shattering-Watch Out !!!

46. Been in town too long Avatar
    Been in town too long

@Charlie & Ping Pong

You do need to get real. Or you need to understand the snobbery that still obtains in the DLP.

And I hasten to add that they are not my own feelings. I don’t care where Chris went to school or what his social background is. My interest is his ability and capacity to run the country. Unfortunately this is still not the way in Barbados or the DLP in 2010. If you don’t believe me ask Clyde Mascoll or Denis Kellman.

47. Does the below article in today’s nation put an end to the Coma rumours?
    http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/pm-reaches-out-to-constituents/
    Or does closer reading, in the absence of an official denial of the coma rumour, suggest that it is alive and well?

48. @checkit-out

The PM is sick and has been unable to do field work in the constituency like a representative is expected to. Maybe it explains why HH has been seen in the constituency ‘canvassing’ as some say.

But tell us, what is your take on the BLP squabble currently raging. You have been silent.

49. PM Thompson is back in Barbados reported to be resting at his St. Philip’s residence.

50. Good news. He returned last night. I hope he overcomes this illness.