Whenever there is a murder committed in Barbados expect to hear the cry from the public, hang them! The recent robbery at the Campus Trendz store in Tudor Street which resulted in the death of six persons has sparked the usual debate, hang them! Barbadians in favour of capital punishment should soon come to the realization that hanging will not* occur ever again in Barbados. Almost 90% of lawyers in Barbados actively lobby against it and 90% of the Lower House (lawmakers) is comprised of lawyers. The traditional media in a macabre way exploits the capital punishment debate because it makes for good sales.

There is the other side of the debate which in the emotion of the moment we always forget. What about the actors who have to participate in the executions? There is the Judge, Executioner,ย  Prison Warders, Priest, family members and others. Many stories can be told of judges, priests and warders whose mental state have been noticeably affected because of their close association with executions. In fact many of the actors involved in the execution over the years have committed suicide. So many people who have had to endureย  great psychological pain all in the name ofย  justice. It is interesting to note the priest who was always invited to the cell to forgive the sins of the condemned person did so at great personal sacrifice. Often the priest had to visit the prison in the dead of the night to retrieve the soul of the condemned person before the scheduled early morning execution.

What BU finds fascinating is the role of the Executioner. Many believe the job of Executioner is without preparation. How often have we heard people, perhaps in ignorance volunteering to do the job for free?

The Executioner arrives at the prison around midday before the execution. He is given a room, because he will be there until after the execution. His first job is to weigh the prisoner and measure his height and to estimate the musculature of his neck. The prisoner is taken out of the condemned cell for about an hour, during which time the executioner goes into the execution chamber, which is right next door to the condemned cell. He collects the tools of his trade from the warder โ€“ arm and leg straps, hood and two ropes which feed through eyes to form the noose. The Executioner selects the appropriate rope, nooses it, calculates the drop, so as to sever the vertebrae between the first and second and then attaches to the rope a sandbag of the same weight as the condemned. He then works the mechanism of the drop and leaves the rope to stretch with its sandbag over night.

Next morning armed with the knowledge the condemned person is next door, he quietly retrieves the rope, makes final adjustments to the drop, retracts the trap door, marks a T on the spot the condemned will stand and moves the cotter pin on the mechanism, so that it is just flush. He also places two parallel planks over the drop for warders, in case the condemned cannot stand on his own. He then waits outside the condemned cell, until the warder gives him the signal. Then, he goes into the condemned cell and binds arms of the condemned person. While he is doing this, the door that leads directly from the cell to the execution chamber is opened. The executioner conducts the condemned to the gallows and, while he is hooding and noosing the condemned, his assistant straps his feet. The executioner then removes the cotter pin and pushes the lever and the condemned drops. Then, he goes to the walkway with the doctor and priest and opens the condemnedโ€™s shirt so that the doctor can pronounced death. They then leave the man hanging for half an hour in the locked chamber. After half an hour, the executioner returns to the pit, attaches a winch to the man, releases the noose and then strips the man of his clothing and hoses down both man and chamber. He then places the man on a gurney and that is his job done.

BU understands there is a thing called the โ€œdeath watchโ€, which is a rotation of guards who are with the prisoner in the condemned cell up until he is taken into the chamber. BU further understands almost all of those guards have required psychiatric attention at some point in the past.

Some years ago the Caribbean was awakened to the news that Trinidad had executed drug lord Dole Chadee along with eight members of his gang. A decade later the murder rate per one hundred thousand in Trinidad and Tobago is one of the highest in the Caribbean and the world. To those who suggest hanging is a deterrent the T&T experience makes for an interesting and sobering case study.

Then we have the likes of Bush Tea and Bonny Peppa who hold the view the death penalty is a punishment, simple. Many of those who find themselves on deathrow is as a result of crimes of passion, usually from the lower rung of the social ladder. The growing number of unsolved murders suggest to BU we maybe hanging the wrong people.

As a small society we need to be more proactive to address situations before they lead to murder. Nowadays we are so quick to fight fire with fire. BUโ€™s position echoes that of current Attorney General Fruendel Stuart, in cases where there is no doubt and the murder is deemed heinous enough by a Court of Law the death penalty should be an option. However the BU household remains ambivalent on the issue of capital punishment.

141 responses to “The Other Side Of The Gallows, The Suffering Of Many In The Name Of Justice”

1. Hi Bonny Peppa
    If my family were murdered it would not be “right” for me to have jurisdiction over the accused.

I do not ask for leniency, what I ask for is a tariff that allows imprisonment for between 20-30 years.

We allow perceived small problems to be ignored, then society is fractured. . . then we complain.

We turn a blind eye to illegal drugs, no problem.
    Illegal drugs lead to corruption of officials.
    Drug habits need to be fed, robberies are committed.
    Shops become vulnerable and are robbed.
    Private homes must have wrought iron bars on windows.
    Lawlessnes is rife.
    Common criminals can acquire guns and feel emboldened by them.
    They band together to form gangs.
    We ignore the small problems and then expect by magic to solve the large ones. . . when the seeds are sown the weeds will grow.
    My Dear Bonny Peppa, we can go cyclic on this one, so you can have the last word; but with as much honesty as I can muster I respect your position.

2. There is a murderer in prison in Canada. His name is Paul Bernado.
    He spends 23 hours a day in an 8′ x 4′ jail cell and will be there for life. That has to be worse than death.

I suppose some of you would consider it barbadic treatment even though he raped and murdered several girls and women.

I think that is what should happen to the two in Barbados. Except I would add 6 lashes with the cat every year in remembrance of the six young ladies they killed.

3. Lokk let me tell yunna some time. now listening carefull. I wuk harddddd fuh me money and I don like having to spend it supporting murderers. Yuh now wuh happen to all yuh intelligente yuh too smart fuh wunna own good . Wunna talking about rehab. des people sumbody who gunn thro molatav cocktail in a store need to be rehab. let alone have taxpayers including the victims family and possibly children to warehouse dem. The parents shoulda thought about dat because sum adem know dat de child has a serious problem wid bad behavoiur and did nutting about it. How can one possibly asked the victims family to pay an additional price taking care of dem muderers .Is that fair? The Death Penalty is necessary for dem kinda heinous crime and it should be meted out swiftly upon dem if found guilty. Wunna stop pretending as if they ain’t people who deserve de death Penalty. It is Punishment and to warehouse dem is an injustice to those who have lost there loved ones at the hands at onee dem. Life is not Fair. But JUSTICE must not be a COWARD.I don’t think wunna understand the pain and suffering the family members going have to deal with till they die dat alone is a Death Sentence to dem .In reality dem murderers have not kill six people but have killed of six families. Dey do desrve the death Penalty.

4. As Yardbroom alluded to, what responsibility does the society have for creating these ‘monsters’?

5. @ROK

me giving yuh a shout out! Recently i inquired about yuh. Glad to seem yuh wid full steam ahead. But me and you gonna have to dis agree on dis one.

@Scout

Dam i kept thinking you might have been using a different handle .Not like you to stay away fuh so long.

6. @David,
    Prehaps you should make up for the failure of society by taking your own family to visit the 2 murderers and try and reform them.

I want them to live too. I sorry if I helped create an environmet that was bad for them when I was part of Bajan society.

Well I want the best of the two worlds I live in for them.
    The Canadian treatment (8′ x 4′ cell) and the Bajan treatment (6 lashes a year with the cat)

7. @Yardbroom
    Socity does have a role to play in the upbringing of children. However it is the family members those who are closer to the child who in the long ran have total responsibilty. Society role should not be an excused against the death Penalty. Neither should poverty . Society is full with more oustanding and reputable people who have been raised by single parents and who are not muderers than those who would commit heinous act. The parent role is tantamount is which way the child would go. Their are many social programs availabe to all to counsel parents with kids who have antisociol behaviour .

8. @ Bonny Peppa

You, ac and Islandgal personify why it is that our women are forced to take the lead in modern society. The men are useless…

“There is a way that seem right in the sight of human logic, but the end thereof is the way of death and destruction.”

As the bushman has said many times now, no one should take it upon themselves to take another person’s life, and thus no one should EVER need to be killed by the state…

Human Life is precious!
    THIS IS A FUNDAMENTAL PILLAR OF ORGANIZED CIVILIZATION.

Now how is the importance and fundamental absoluteness of this principle demonstrated?

Anyone found guilty pays the ultimate price.
    THAT is how important a principle this is.

What are the bleeding hearts like Amused and David telling us?

….NO! life is not THAT valuable. 20 years in prison is sufficient compensation.

…..NO! no need to exact the ultimate price for taking another life -let bygones be bygones (it will not bring the victim back)

….NO! out justice system is weak. Rather than fix that, why not just remove the penalty so that we can lower the bar….

How pathetic!

This is the same logic that our ‘well off’ parents use to spoil their children ….. no standards! no penalties for wrong behaviors! Only good things for my little Johnny!
    …..when Johnny grows up to be Suleman Esuf or the numerous other ma-adjusted citizens that we are seeing, we hold our heads and complain about how things could have gone so wrong.

Hear this!
    If we have no high standard for the value of life, then shortly we will reach the stage where rather than the hangman having to execute justice AFTER a trial in the courts, we will see (as in Jamaica, Trinidad, Mexico etc,) where the POLICEMAN will be FORCED to dispense it from their guns – just so that law abiding citizens can go to work in the day time….

Wisdom is a rare commodity
    Justice is a powerful and fundamental building stone
    …and true leadership takes a real man, with real guts, and with the wisdom to understand the roots of true justice.

Bleeding hearts and wimps are meant to be artists and dancers – not leaders……check history.

9. @Hants

A society can be defined loosely as a collection of individuals living together to promote the social and economic well being of one and all.

10. @Bush Tea

Wondered when you would enter the fray.

11. Crusoe
    Read your very first sentence at 5:46 a.m. Dat is what i am referring to.

Yardbroom
    Ya like Shakespeare. Too sweet n smoothhhhhhhhhhh. I in arguin wid you na mo bout dah bosey. Que c’era, c’era.

Hants
    As soon as I see your name submitting sumting, i does jus start ta laff cause I kno dat you is real comedy. i serious. 6 lashes wid de cat-wid-nine-tails? I still prefer the death penalty. Done wid dem one time.

These ‘monsters’ are created right from in their homes from a very young, impressionable age. No one instills discipline and they’re left to run de route from very young. No one dare trying to chastise them either or world war 3 would be declared. Then this behaviour spills over into the neighbourhood with them stealing Ms. Browne ackees instead of asking and then mummy/daddy coming out ta ‘buse Ms.Browne fa she own ackees. Then it continues throughout their school life with mummy/daddy going to the school n ‘doing-bad’ when lil Johnny comes home complaining ’bout dah stinking teacher always picking at me’. They grow into ‘fine’ young thugs n gangstas getting bad vibes from their
    peers’ and the rest is History. How can the Society penetrate such ill-bred criminals? Let me know do that I can do my part.

12. look all wunna who against de hanging . me too against de hanging. how about starving dem to death dat a lot cleaner and besides i dont have to pay fud de food. anudda thing they should be in solitary confinement no lights and maybe an ounce of wata a day dat would hasten dey demise , and society would also save lots of money by not having to feed them . Also we won’t need an executioner . How about dat !

13. @ David
    Your definition of that loose society explains it all.
    Any such concoction is doomed to chaos, as those without morals will quickly over run the good ‘vines’.

A society is an ORGANIZED collection of different individuals, built around a common set of rules and regulations WHICH (meaning the rules and regulations) are designed to promote the social and economic (and other) well being of the majority (not necessarily ALL)

No need to enter the fray really, Bonny Peppa et al have been doing a great job of bringing common sense to the discussion.

Only when one can understand the overarching purpose and plan of the life experience does these matters become crystal clear… and they are much to complex to be resolved with emotional arguments and illogical positions.
    The real world is a jungle -like environment, where the principle of survival of the fittest is kept at bay only by a number of historical social systems that many of us do not understand or appreciate…

…but which we will- when it is too late.

14. So Bushie is that a man made (your) definition and if so would the God above subscribe to it?

To this statement you made to be exact:

A society is an ORGANIZED collection of different individuals, built around a common set of rules and regulations WHICH (meaning the rules and regulations) are designed to promote the social and economic (and other) well being of the majority (not necessarily ALL)

We don’t need to call in MME yet.

15. Bush Tea
    Mwahhhhh. You faget ta mention one more category of bleeding hearts n wimps. They’re meant to be artists, dancers and models too. LoL. I agree wid all your comments. So true. Look, my motha died when I was about 9yrs. old and my dad raise me n bout 12 mo. He hardly lash the girls but he would ‘moss-prig’ de boys. They’ve all grown into fine young men. And the girls also, except me, dat is. LOL.
    I raised my sons almost alone where discipline was concerned because their dad thought that it was not right to lash them. stupseeeeeeee. Look, dat din stop me from cutting dem ass gine n coming. Some say dat licks don’t change dem. It depends on wah some call licks. cause if you want to hit a child wid a cloth belt wah he would got to know dat you is a idiot. ya gotta hit children fa dem ta feel it. I lick,kick, bite,scratch,cuff mine and dem doan hate me na mo or less today. my grans now feel my wrath if they disobey me. they have to learn from young that there are consequences for disobeying. and my hands don’t get tired licking. i doan mek sport wid children man. If i tell you someting once or twice, trust me, de third time it would be a cuff or kick. to this day my sons cann come round me wid na igrance. i does get real edgy n jumpy when i see lil tots controlling evrybody round dem. stupseeeeeeeeee. dis is a whole generation or two a vipers. I would like to work at a place like Summerville or de one fa wayward boys. ‘wunna feel dat wunna bad, we gun see who really bad”. I would mek dem or brek dem man. and i in got na problem wid brekkin a few a dem lil upstarts.

16. ac
    I cryinnnnnnnnnnnnnnn. dis is a serious discussion, pleeze stop mekkin me cryyyyyyyyy. ya would starve dem ta death? not a bad idea a’tall, come to tink bout it.
    (david soon ban me n you) wuhlosssss, ah deadinnnnnnnnnnn.

17. @Bonny,

So what is wrong with prison reform?By above, I meant after what I have written above it. Then I explained why and in what areas we need reform.

Incarceration does little but keep antagonists at bay for the few years they reside there.

Thus, there is absolutely no sense putting non-violent criminals in jail, which is what I said.

Violent criminals, you can do what you will.

18. ‘violent criminals you can do what you will, with them.

19. @Bonny
    me serious yuh know because when people come up wid all deese excuses as to why the victims of these crimes should not be given the ultimate in justice it makes me wonder if they are living in an Utopia Society. Crime is here with us and it ain’t going any where . Therfore The Courts is the only place victims of crime have to turn to to seek justice and if the law determines one must die inreturn for the taking of another life then that was the choice the accused made when he set out to commit the heinous act of murder.

20. As for society. Remember a few months ago, when a policwoman was in the paper news, pulling up a boy for his falling pants and clothes….and some ignorant woman was quarreling, up in the policewoman face, at least that is how it looked in the picture.

Some bajans want justice and decency…when it suits them.

21. @Crusoe
    Bajans wants justice and deceny when it suits them.
    Decency starts in the home setting
    Justice is up to the Court and both have their rightful place in any society.When parents do their job the courts would have less juveniles to contend with.

22. I believe that everyone knows that I do not support capital punishment.It is barbaric,inhumane & wrong.
    Taking of a human life will not bring back the lives of those gone. It will only extends the pain & grief of other families by the wanton taking of another life.Capital punishment solves nothing.
    Brother Scout,I agree with you that our crime situation will explode because of the high number of non-nationals making Barbados they home. I am in agreement with you that Barbados is on the road to becoming a next Jamaica,Trinidad or Guyana.

David & B slightly off-topic I believe that our immigration situation should be discussed again.I have listened to some excerpts from our Minister of Immigration Harry Husbands when he delivered the weekly Friday Luncheon Lecture by the Democratic Labour Party recently.Many of his comments had me very disturbed and I think a re-visit to immigration issues are relevant at this stage.Remember we had immigration Town Hall Meetings earlier this year and it was promised that mid year this year we will have new immigration laws in place.This is almost the beginning of the final quarter of this year and nothing has been done.Please I do not want to hear any excuses about the Prime Minister being ill.The island must still be governed.

23. I have noted that we have here in Barbados a few persons who have killed someone, spent time in prison, returned to society and killed AGAIN.

The death penalty would have stopped them from murdering again.

24. Crusoe
    I wid you now honey, sorryyy hear? Yes, I remember the article where the officer was scolding the school boy for his untidy appearance and up step dis big, musty maguffy trying to condone his behaviour. You could imagine how she children, if she got any, does get on n carry on? I pity de fool.

Negro
    My dew-drop, but I know dat if any a dem vagabonds feel dat dem cud come n kill you Bonny, dem lie pass dem grave doe.It would be a all-out war n you killin leff, rite n centre. Move out de wayyyyyyyyy, Rambo in town. LOLLLLLLL

25. ac
    I doan kno if ya serious or not but i kno dat ya had me hay frothing at de cornas a my mout n hollerin fa murdahhhhhhhh. one a my sons holla n ask me if i alrite. he mussy tink dat i gine mad or senile. ya baddddddddddd ac.

26. @ ac
    Therefore The Courts is the only place victims of crime have to turn to to seek justice
    The problem is that this statement is not exactly true.

Where there is CLEARLY no justice in the courts (because cry baby lawyers, judges and idiotic activists listen to amnesty international) victims turn to their own forms of ‘justice’.
    Suddenly you see other unexplained murders, fire-bombings, stabbings etc which sometimes lead back to dissatisfied relatives and friends ‘seeking revenge’.

When the criminals feel emboldened enough to take over the whole community (Trivoli Gardens), you will find that the police and army tend to adopt a Judge/Jury/Executioner role in their HONEST efforts to protect the decent folks in society…. not pleasant!!!

When you devalue human life (by reducing its worth) you are unknowingly devaluing human society to that of the JUNGLE.

Left to the Bushman, murderers would be punished by having him AS WELL AS his parents executed. Life is THAT valuable in BT’s view.

@ Bonny P
    The wisdom of your piece on cutting your children and grands backsides belies the fact that you were raised by a REAL man.
    No wonder ALL your siblings are upright citizens.

…..ask the ones with the soft touch and the feel good approach how THEIR children turned out……
    Better yet, pass through Dodds and tell us how many up there had parents like you BP….

That is not a fair test though LOL, cause if any of your children even looked like they would end up in Dodds, BT suspects that you would tek dem out before John Nurse even got them….LOL

There is a way that SEEMS right in human logic… but the end thereof is the way of death and destruction.

27. Do you know how many people have been wrongfully hung in this country.

Hanging !!!!!
    Black people should never be talking about hanging,

I agree with Negro Man-(Black Man)

28. who yuh tink go out and buy dem big oversized dropping off the as….pants fud de children talking about dat is de style.

29. @Kissmya
    What de hell is the colour of my skin to do wid a person who have killed my only son or daughter. In this case I am colour blind! All i can say May god have mercy on that persons Soul!

30. AC
    It is not the colour of the skin but the perception that every time a crime was committed it was a black person.
    AC many unfortunate black men & boys met they demise because they were in the wrong place at the wrong time.
    AC there is the famous case in the USA where a little thirteen or fourteen year old little Black Boy was put to death in the electric chair because he was in the wrong place at the wrong time.A white little girl was raped & murdered by some white men on a pasture.The Black little boy was on the pasture either to feed his animals or to bring them home around the time the act on the little white girl occurred.Some white people saw the little Black boy on the pasture and the crime was pinned on him and he paid the ultimate price with his life.
    Kissmya is totally correct no right thinking Black person should ever be thinking about hanging another black person no matter what that individual did.
    AC Black people were hanged by our white slave masters just for the fun of it.Remember the word PICNIC came from the phrase “Pick A Nigger” and the PICNIC was a time when the white slave masters would dressed in their finest gear,drink and have a party while watching Black people getting hanged and in many of those hanging the persons were not only Black men,but also Black Women both old & young & children.
    All Black people should denounced hanging if we want to respect & honour the pain,hurt,sacrifice & unfair treatment that were meted out to our fore-parents at the hands of the world killers,the mass murderers Europeans

31. @ Bush Tea

You said, quote,…….”Left to the Bushman, murderers would be punished by having him AS WELL AS his parents executed. Life is THAT valuable in BTโ€™s view.”
    Man BT, you very acid with that statement. The Good Book (Bible) teaches that we should be punished for our own transgressions and not for those of another person.

32. @Negroman
    I do not not need a lecture on Black History when it comes to a heinous crime which has been commited black on black in 2010. To make matters worst if you want to talk race . It is our own people who are killing each other senselessly. Now so much for playing the race card. I might be dumb but i am not a blind dummy.The Death Penalty must be used against heinous acts like murder and that have nothing to do with any thing done yesteryear but to those who commit such crimes in todays society.

33. @Al-Zyhmers 8:40
    Brilliant comment! I thought I was the only one who ever noticed it: Murderers who commit murder..again!
    If possible, I think a study should be done on this.
    Another note
    ————–
    To state that the justice system is so flawed that there is a high probability of hanging the wrong person, implies that our who judicial process is suspect and wanting.

Is this really true?

Yes, there are loopholes and weaknesses in our system, but you want to tell me that 99% of those convicted of murder did not have a fair trial?

34. @ac
    You are on target; race has nothing to do with it. The death penalty should be colour -blind

35. @ de hood
    Man BT, you very acid with that statement. The Good Book (Bible) teaches that we should be punished for our own transgressions and not for those of another person.
    Man Hood, ….just using extremes to illustrate the point -and illuminating the important point made by Bonny Peppa about the role of parents in bringing up children in ‘the way that they should go’….

LOL…but it may not be a bad idea…. would certainly inspire parents to take a stronger interest in the children they inflict on our society…

36. @ Negroman
    …. you know that BT is one of your boys (sometimes when you behave yourself), but you out on a real slippery limb here with your anti hanging stance…..

Mind you, BT is against hanging too… not when a twenty cent bullet (BAFBFP style) is so easy and quick.
    …Lethal injection is another option – no need for the pain or inhumanity of hanging.

But when you refer to the numbers of ‘innocent’ people hanged as an argument – how about the INNOCENT victims of murder?… forget them?

Hundreds of innocents are killed in vehicle accidents too – – Ban cars? or should we improve the traffic system?

You know how many persons doctors kill annually by simple mistakes (eg because GP was blogging instead of correcting the people’s papers LOL)?
    – Ban doctors?

You know how many are killed or injured in accidents on the job every year?

Ban work? … or improve work systems and safety?

Our legal system is junk. It can be VERY much improved – and THAT is what we need to do – not water down the foundational VALUES of the very society because idiots are running the Justice system.

37. AC history is replete with many cases of innocent people going to the great beyond for acts they did not commit.Many of those were unfortunate Black men,women & children.Are you not worry that other innocent people might faced similar fates?
    The prosecutor who presented the case,the jury who convicted the accused,the judge who passed judgement & the hangman who pulled the lever are all guilty of murder because they have caused the life of another human being to be taken.
    I cannot believe that all of you all who are calling for the blood of other human beings considered yourselves christians.I thought that the good book the bible that you all the christians believe in state “That the Lord giveth & the lord taketh” and the Lord is the only one that is responsible for the expiration of life. Christians never cease to amaze me with they double standards,they convenient way of interpreting the bible & the deceit that follow.The so-called christians in Barbados are thirsty for blood.That is not surprising though because the book they believe in the bible is the only book in this world that has in killing from Genesis to Revelation.Our good lord created his children and then seek to kill them because his children refuse to follow a path that he charted for them.What fatherly love.
    The bible is a book of killing and it is no surprise that the so-called christians in our society are so thirsty for blood.They are just following the teachings of the bible.

38. Bush Tea Negroamn is trying to behave himself.I do not know for how long but I am trying.
    Bush Tea your analogies of people dying because of mistakes by doctors,by accidents on the road or accidents at work cannot be equated with the deliberate act of taking another person’s life because that person might have committed a heinous act.
    Capital punishment is murder plain & simple.If the state sanctions the death of an individual that is murder because a life of a human being is being deliberately taken and nothing can justify the taking of a human life.
    I do not understand the rational for the spilling of more blood and the unnecessary pain that other families will endured when the life their love ones is taken deliberately.
    I wonder if many of the pro-capital loyalists think about the condemned persons families and the anguish those families go through when their love ones are taken from them.
    Crime is wrong and murdering innocent persons is wrong.I do not support crime and I am of the strong believe that all criminals should be punished appropriately for the crimes that they committed.
    Person who committed murder once convicted should spend the rest of their lives in prison and away from society until they go to great beyond.

39. @Negroman

Now don’t use no psychological religious gooblie junk on my physche. Facts of today in the year 2010 is want i am concerned with when it comes to heinous crimes. Any how I have a suggestion for you . Take one of dem crazy as….muderers and let them live with you on condition that you can rehab them and give me an update as to how they are responding to their new found life.

40. @Negroman
    It is beginning to sound to the bushman like you are afraid that one of these days you will loose your temper and tek out a ‘rat catcher’ or ‘mango seller’ – and you trying to keep your head on…

Watch IT!!
    If you do that and BT have his way, you will become a negro-torso (minus the head…LOL)

41. @J. My apologies. I got the impression that you were pro-death penalty, which I confess I found surprising and am very happy to discover is wrong. But, we got to stop greeing so much.

42. KISSMYA
    No, we don’t know how many people have been wrongfully hanged in dis country. Do you care to tell? (sighhhhhhhhhhh)

Negro
    My slice a cheese cake, I tink dat we need ta start some Picnics at Dodds man. High time. No excursions, strictly Picnics.
    You must try conveying your message of love amongst blacks. We’re the ones who’re hurting each other, ya kno? I can’t recall a White killing any blacks in B/dos. It’s always Blacks attacking, raping, robbing, maiming, murdering Blacks.
    Try exerting some a dis energy ta de Black yute dat doan give a rat’s ass bout a boy.
    I know dat you’re full of love n compassion for de Black race but we gotta face reality as painful as it may seem at times.
    Still luv ya doe. And de weddin still on.

Al-Zhymers
    Ya in lie a’tall. you in got na alzheimers a’tall. ya liah.

KISSMYA
    Doan faget, we waiting fa de statistics.

43. This morning in the news we listened to a news report which resonated. It highlighted the growing anger in the world* especially among our young people. Again a case of ignoring the structures which underpin our social universe by gravitating to what we believe is a silver bullet..

44. Hi Bonny Peppa
    This is not a response that has anything to do with race; but simply for “accuracy”. A white man did shoot a black boy in a field in recent years in Barbados, he said he thought the boy was a monkey.

The man was represented in court by one of our most famous sons whose image adorns one of our bank notes; neither is this a condemnation of him.

I know you like accuracy.

45. David can you set up a poll for this blog so that all who following this discussion could see how many are in favor of the death penalty and how many are against it, you may want to put in another line to see how many don’t care.

46. @ Bonny. Some 10 or 12 years ago in an exclusive area of Christ Church, one Sunday, a white woman shouted, “Murder! Murder!” and out rushed her neighbour,a white man ,armed with a shot gun and shot a black man who was nearby DEAD. Nothing came out of this,except to hear that the victim had a criminal record.
    But Bonny you know that in Barbados, sometimes when you hear a woman shouting ‘Murder! Murder!” either she just got a good joke or a good poke!!!.
    Murdahhhhhhhhhhh!!!

47. Bosun
    why you so doe? you is de worsist. anytime i holler out it does be dat i get a good poke. why you sa bad nah? i luv you badness.

Yardbroom
    I don’t remember that incident a’tall. I remember when I was a lil tot, a white man kicked a black man in Swan Street or something so and all hell brek loose in B/town dat day.
    Bosun you rememba dat incident? It was sometime in the late 60’s or early 70’s. I was young n innocent but i rememba vaguely. My father worked in Swan Street as a store clerk but he was home that day. He couldn’t kick my fatha doe cause all my brothas woulda gone down town fa he rass.

48. Bush Tea I love you LOL You aint easy yet, I don’t agree with you on this rounds. If there was one person who would have made me think my position over it would have been you! However, I sticking with NM and ROK on this one!!!! Society has failed miserably.

Welcome back Scout .

Long live BU!

49. JC
    I knew you was horning me every since BUT NOT WITH BUSH TEA! OMG!

50. @Bonny I well remembered the Swan Street kicking incident,in the early 60’s .I had just come to town to learn trade. It was a Saturday and it was an Indian man who did the kicking. Strangely enough the receiver of the kick was hauled off to Central .I am sure that he was charged for creating a disturbance.