Whenever there is a murder committed in Barbados expect to hear the cry from the public, hang them! The recent robbery at the Campus Trendz store in Tudor Street which resulted in the death of six persons has sparked the usual debate, hang them! Barbadians in favour of capital punishment should soon come to the realization that hanging will not* occur ever again in Barbados. Almost 90% of lawyers in Barbados actively lobby against it and 90% of the Lower House (lawmakers) is comprised of lawyers. The traditional media in a macabre way exploits the capital punishment debate because it makes for good sales.

There is the other side of the debate which in the emotion of the moment we always forget. What about the actors who have to participate in the executions? There is the Judge, Executioner,  Prison Warders, Priest, family members and others. Many stories can be told of judges, priests and warders whose mental state have been noticeably affected because of their close association with executions. In fact many of the actors involved in the execution over the years have committed suicide. So many people who have had to endure  great psychological pain all in the name of  justice. It is interesting to note the priest who was always invited to the cell to forgive the sins of the condemned person did so at great personal sacrifice. Often the priest had to visit the prison in the dead of the night to retrieve the soul of the condemned person before the scheduled early morning execution.

What BU finds fascinating is the role of the Executioner. Many believe the job of Executioner is without preparation. How often have we heard people, perhaps in ignorance volunteering to do the job for free?

The Executioner arrives at the prison around midday before the execution. He is given a room, because he will be there until after the execution. His first job is to weigh the prisoner and measure his height and to estimate the musculature of his neck. The prisoner is taken out of the condemned cell for about an hour, during which time the executioner goes into the execution chamber, which is right next door to the condemned cell. He collects the tools of his trade from the warder – arm and leg straps, hood and two ropes which feed through eyes to form the noose. The Executioner selects the appropriate rope, nooses it, calculates the drop, so as to sever the vertebrae between the first and second and then attaches to the rope a sandbag of the same weight as the condemned. He then works the mechanism of the drop and leaves the rope to stretch with its sandbag over night.

Next morning armed with the knowledge the condemned person is next door, he quietly retrieves the rope, makes final adjustments to the drop, retracts the trap door, marks a T on the spot the condemned will stand and moves the cotter pin on the mechanism, so that it is just flush. He also places two parallel planks over the drop for warders, in case the condemned cannot stand on his own. He then waits outside the condemned cell, until the warder gives him the signal. Then, he goes into the condemned cell and binds arms of the condemned person. While he is doing this, the door that leads directly from the cell to the execution chamber is opened. The executioner conducts the condemned to the gallows and, while he is hooding and noosing the condemned, his assistant straps his feet. The executioner then removes the cotter pin and pushes the lever and the condemned drops. Then, he goes to the walkway with the doctor and priest and opens the condemned’s shirt so that the doctor can pronounced death. They then leave the man hanging for half an hour in the locked chamber. After half an hour, the executioner returns to the pit, attaches a winch to the man, releases the noose and then strips the man of his clothing and hoses down both man and chamber. He then places the man on a gurney and that is his job done.

BU understands there is a thing called the “death watch”, which is a rotation of guards who are with the prisoner in the condemned cell up until he is taken into the chamber. BU further understands almost all of those guards have required psychiatric attention at some point in the past.

Some years ago the Caribbean was awakened to the news that Trinidad had executed drug lord Dole Chadee along with eight members of his gang. A decade later the murder rate per one hundred thousand in Trinidad and Tobago is one of the highest in the Caribbean and the world. To those who suggest hanging is a deterrent the T&T experience makes for an interesting and sobering case study.

Then we have the likes of Bush Tea and Bonny Peppa who hold the view the death penalty is a punishment, simple. Many of those who find themselves on deathrow is as a result of crimes of passion, usually from the lower rung of the social ladder. The growing number of unsolved murders suggest to BU we maybe hanging the wrong people.

As a small society we need to be more proactive to address situations before they lead to murder. Nowadays we are so quick to fight fire with fire. BU’s position echoes that of current Attorney General Fruendel Stuart, in cases where there is no doubt and the murder is deemed heinous enough by a Court of Law the death penalty should be an option. However the BU household remains ambivalent on the issue of capital punishment.

141 responses to “The Other Side Of The Gallows, The Suffering Of Many In The Name Of Justice”

1. Hi Bonny Peppa [ Please forgive the off topic ]

The man’s name was Swain or Swane I believe he had a short time of imprisonment. Reports at the time suggested his time in prison was not as strenuous as other inmates. He was a tall thin man, with a relatively small head and had slicked back hair. . . most people look tall when you are a young boy.

After his imprisonment he moved and lived off a road which is almost opposite the Gospel Hall Church in Dayrells Road, as you travel along that road before it sweeps left there is a road on the right. He lived in either the 1st or 2nd second bungalow there. I have not been there for over fifty years. . . that was the topography of the area then.

I often saw him in his garden, as boys do. . . I wondered where he kept his gun. It was a very big case in Barbados and was talked about quite a lot.

2. In other words he lived on the other side of Wanderers Cricket ground along a Rd that would take you into Pleasant Hall Land, St Mathias.

3. Georgie Porgie
    Is there anywhere in Barbados you do not know?

4. LOL
    Grew up in Worthing. Got off by the Gospel Hall and used that route to go see my girlfriend LOL
    Those were the days in the late 60’s and early 70’s when the area by the Gospel Hall was jam packed with cars on Sunday evenings with people going to buy Humphrey’s bread. LOL

I learned the island by going on the Stop and Stare walks on Sundays for four years.

5. @ JC
    You now hurt the bushman on two counts….
    First by not being on the right side of this capital punishment debate (LOL – not to worry, no one else is perfect besides GP…)

….and secondly by not letting GP know outright that the Bushman is numero uno.
    ..anyhow that is our little secret.

6. Bush Tea
    I already warn JC dat i share any n everyting but when it cum ta my menzz, i does draw de line. now you tek back all dah swoite talk dat you now gih she or de dentis gun be tekking new impressions fa you. I tekkin back de teet dat my money buy. Lemma see how ya gun ‘eat’ now.

JC, my darlinks, how tings? How is your son coping at Foundation?

Yardbroom
    So true. and you realise that what was considered as a real steep hill when we were young is a mere mole hill now. And I know persons that are still alive today and they looked like 100yrs. old when I was a mere tot.
    My father always told us of that fracas in Swan St. But was the man one of his employees or you doan know?Or he thought dat de man did coming ta tief from he store?
    How you know dat Swain had a gun? You did guessin? LOLLL

Bosun
    Trust you ta come wid a classic. How de police could haul off de kickee to de mainguard n leff de kicker? or de police leff he fa de mob ta deal wid he? dem police did smart man.

7. @Yardbroom. Bonney Swain was the owner of Bloomsbury Plantation in St Thomas,the one on the hill between the Flower Forest and Sturges. The boy was a Smith, his brother,lived among us and died a year or so ago. It was said that the boy was not mistaken for any rabbit.It was a deliberate act. He was in the habit of picking the plantation potato slip for his rabbits. The watchman knew of this and alerted swain. Swain waited for the boy to come. Meanwhile the same watchman held the shotgun until Swain was ready to shoot.
    (This was straight from the horse’s mouth)
    His defence lawyer later became the first and only Prime Minister of the long defunct West Indies.

8. Yardbroom wrote on September 22, 2010 at 7:35 AM ” A white man did shoot a black boy in a field in recent years in Barbados, he said he thought the boy was a monkey. The man was represented in court by” Grantley Adams.

9. All like now I bet allO wunnah dun forget any one name either First name or Surname of de Victims… Buttt I betcha a whole dolla bill yuh know exactally de names of de #@%***&%# two sons of %%##@@***&$%* who carry out de crime EHHH????
    While all de pontificating(big word) going on about to hang or not to hang and all de No Hangers gather to victimize de Hangers and we all get so confused and impassionated that we all of a sudden say “Cuh Dear dem two who Deliberately killed dem six poor unfortunate souls ,din meant no real harm,Oooh dear dem yused to go to Sunday School regular so gih dem a break Nuh!! And all of a sudden we all feel forgiven for our own sins and deliver an outcry of Unfair Justice to them(you know what) even before de Damm trial dun begin….And so called JUSTICE is served to appease foreign interest!!!WUH LOSS YUH TINK IT SO EHHH SKINNY GUY<<<EEEHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

10. P.S.
    All those who reminisice about hangings in bygone years before the implementation of DNA test ,polygraphic test etc,all hang on(no inuendo intended) to the Replayed song of What if the person is really not guilty………..Yehh Right!!!! Distraction to that for effect is a commonly played tune…Try something else to distract the public of Barbados at this moment and those in the legal fraternity who will have to confront themselves with a choice…………..

11. What would be of historical (and possibly sociological) interest would be the composition of the jury that acquitted Swain. Grantley Adams did his job as defense counsel but it was a jury that rendered the verdict.

12. Bosun
    Doan laff. I thought dat Swain was de Indian dat kick de man in Swan St. I was totally confused. Now i get um.

But you see who alert de owner bout de lil boy? de watchman. same colour as de lil boy I guess. he did probably worship de ground Swain walk pun. Yes massa, yes sirrrrrrrrrr. he cause dah lil boy death indirectly. hope it haunt he til he ded.

13. @Foolbert

Thanks for the suggestion, poll updated.

14. Hi Bosun @ 9:50pm
    Thanks very much for the detailed account of the incident and the background details, I wondered if bloggers might have thought it was just a story I made up.

Hi J
    You are correct the boy was represented by the then Grantley Adams later of course Sir Grantley. It was a difficult situation for some people to understand, I remember the discussions in our home as to if he should have represented Swain. I now know of the lawyers Cab Rank system, and their duty to clients, but as a boy I just listened and made mental notes. It would have been a mistake to lecture or interrupt adults and even if I wanted to. . . I did not have the knowledge.

Barbados is a small place and people have “long memories” that acted as a kind of glue in society that kept order. People born and raised in Barbados were concious that what they did could reflect on the family. My mother often said to me “never bring disgrace on this family.” Each family though a responsible separate unit was part of the whole; it was that which made Barbados a relatively peaceful place. . . it was not perfect by any means, but it was what it was.

15. “never bring disgrace on this family.”

Ahhh music to my ears. I tell my son that particular statement alllllll the time. But YB peer pressure is gruesome! I really do wish him blessings. When your friends are doing one thing and you are doing another you will b teased and rediculed.

Someone met me on the road recently and told me that my son was the only youngster not smoking weed or gambling. I don’t like it! I remember that at one point in time no one under the age of 16 could lime with the ‘men.’ However, the children are now the herb sellers biggest customers. That is how society has plummeted.

@BP
    Girl the first couple of days for him were scary since he was telling me about these 4th form girls buying him lunch and snacks and saying how cute he is. I was so pist off. Didn’t know what to think, however, things have settled down and he loves his new school!

GP awwwwwww I never mean’t to hurt your feelings, NEVER. BT is a more fatherly figure to me (I think) LOL! I would never disrespect you on a public blog LOL!

16. @ JC
    Re peer pressure is gruesome!. When your friends are doing one thing and you are doing another you will b teased and rediculed.
    Someone met me on the road recently and told me that my son was the only youngster not smoking weed or gambling.
    =========================
    You must tell your son that “Peer pressure can and must be overcome.” Tell him ” Even if you have to stand alone, or walk off and go home. Better to be alone than in jail——-where you will still to a large extent still alone. ” I saw this a lot dealing with the Police and the Prison

A few years ago my first son told me Daddy, I remember you telling us “ If you see the boys doing wrong or causing trouble, just leave the scene, don’t even stay to watch , lest you be arrested with the real culprits.”

Tell your boy to strive for excellence and eventually he will have better friends of like mind and of lofty ideals. My peers at Sunday School at Ch Ch Parish Ch scoffed at my vocabulary, but I kept reading! Worked for me. Took me as far as Rarotonga, and didnt cost me a dime.

Teach your boy that it hurts to excel and be sharp because the herd around will scoff at him and some of his peers will envy and plot his destruction behind his back ….but being mediocre hurts much more.

Re Girl the first couple of days for him were scary since he was telling me about these 4th form girls buying him lunch and snacks and saying how cute he is. I was so pist off. Didn’t know what to think,
    ===============
    Whats wrong with that? He has to learn to interact with other women besides mummy! You ought to teach him about how girls think. Why they do and say the things they do? You need to teach him that he is indeed cute but not to let it go to his head when the girls say so. You need to teach him that he must think what it is the girls really want from him. Or he will end up like men like Tiger Woods.

Its Ok You can run off with BT. I have had my heart broken many times as a young lad . That’s another thing you have to teach your boy, when he starts to like girls and they ditch him. You need to teach him there are so many other girls out there.

Let me give you an example. I met a girl in Church in St Kitts when I was teaching there I told her how I felt. I don’t know if she was playing hard to get or what , but she told me some not so nice things in an email. I responded by inviting a white cyber pen pal from the USA to come to St Kitts for the next weekend when I was teaching at the Easter Bible Conference. Never said a word to her again, no matter what she did. She is still an old maid as far as I know.
    You have to teach your boy how to deal with stuck up women.
    Seems you got a lot of teaching to do. Have fun!

17. Hi JC
    Quote” Someone met me on the road recently and told me that my son was the only youngster not smoking weed or gambling. I don’t like it! I remember that at one point in time no one under the age of 16 could lime with the “men.” However, the children are now the herb sellers biggest customers. That is how society has plumeted.”

Your son will always love you, he will respect you and he will not forget what you have taught him. It does not matter where he goes in this world, or what he achieves; he will eternally thank you for making him the man he will become.

That knowledge will be in his “heart”. . . nothing greater can a mother give to her son.

18. GP you not even putting up a fight for me.

I never stopped caring for you! LOL
    Just soooo. You ain’t easy still my no. 1 guy!

Thanks for the advice and you want to run and leave me!

Thanks YB!

19. JC I will not fight with BT
    He dont understand the Word but he is one of the better posters on BU. He is logical. He is a good second choice for you.

I not running and leaving you. People like YB BT and myself are here to give you any appropriate advice you need with regard to your son. It takes a village to raise a lad.And God knows we have enough dropouts among our boys already. We would do anything to save one lad.

Just listen to your boy, as you seem to be doing .Its important that he knows that you listen to his view point before you you pass judgement on him or dole out punishment.

Today, unfortunately, most women must work out of the house, but I credit my success in life to the fact that MY MOTHER WAS ALWAYS THERE TO LISTEN TO ME. She is still listening.

20. @Bonny, very few Plantation watchmen died comfortably in bed,if they had one,and if they died in one , it would have been one of the Almshouse’s. When they were no longer of any use to the plantation,after working 24/7,they were dumped like the dung from the kentucky mule pens.
    But there was a strategy in employing many “red men” as watchmen,some of whom were the NY children of the manager or bookeeper,and therefore if a 1937 situation had reared its head again, the great house could depend on their loyalty ,moreso than t the tennantry.
    We still have a lot of these watchmen,in collar and ties, in the airconditioned plantations of Bridgetown and Warrens.

21. JC
    It is good to know that your son has settled in . Maybe he’s cute or the girls would be throwing their lunch ON him as opposed to buying it for him. Then I would have to call my niece who teaches there and ask her to have an eye on him for me. Or de otha option would be fa me n you ta go up day a evenin n buss ass. LOL
    Anyway you continue to instill good morals n discipline and even if he grows up n strays, which you have no control over, you would be satisfied to know that you did your best.
    As for peer pressure, I always reassured my sons that my peer pressure would be worse than all their friends’. So they had a choice. They had to be at school on time, their abscent days had to coincide with the ones I marked on my calendar, their behaviour had to read good, not fair or fairly good and i always paid an impromptu visit to their school, Primary n Secondary. Parents have to check the school report at the end of term to make sure that these ‘lil’ things are in order. My boys were head-boy at their schools. Bonny in cool out wid dem.
    Another thing JC, do not encourage your son to disrespect his teacher/s at home by referring to them in derogatory terms. And never believe everything he says. Always question it and let him know that you have no problem with coming to his school to air any greivance he may have.
    Person used to tell me that I raising my boys like sissies but gawd bliahhhhhhhhhh, sa far dem in na bullas, dat I kno bout, nor none a dem in had ta wear de police silver ‘bangles’.
    The best role model that any child can have is a good parent/s. Believe you me.
    Keep on keeping on with your little tyke and all will be well.

22. Bosun
    Ya tricksta.
    My late gran-mudda always use ta tell ya, ‘de ams-souse in mek fa dogs. LOLLLLLLLLL

23. Thanks Bonny. You really are a good mummy. Only recently, my mother was fretting about him going down the road as soon as he gets home. I din’t say a word to him. I just found some extra French , football, athletics lessons and he is booked from Monday to Saturday LOL!

You should hear him fretting about he has no time for himself. I just smiled! More than one way to skin a cat LOL!

24. JC
    But remember, he MUST have leisure time but monitored inconspicuously. And you must also screen his friends closely. Another thing, never let him hear you contradict your mummy for chastizing him. Trust me, they know how to manipulate. Does he go to the library? I joined my sons in the library before they could talk, farless read. LOLL. And I’ve done the same for my grans. I teach them how to read effectively and not just bark a few words. They know when to drop the voice, when to pause, when to raise the voice and when to stop. I make them read man. They can read better than I can now but I don’t mind. Bonny is NOTHING but they have to be SOMETHING. Understand? So keep up the good work and anytime you want a lil advice on anything pertaining to guidance for your lil tyke, we at BU will gladly stir you in de rite direction. (some may tell ya doan listen ta me caus I does ‘buse too bad) LOLLLLLLLL

25. “steer you JC, not stir you, sorry. you mussy a drink. LOLLL

26. Hmmmmmmmmmmmm, sumting tellin me dat David ‘rig’ dese votes. Um too close fa comfort. Ya tricksta.

27. @ JC
    ‘….BT is a more fatherly figure to me (I think) LOL’
    But looka my crosses nuh!!
    Fatherly Figure!!?? …now THAT hurt! JC.
    … not to mention how you got GP mekking mock sport at the Bushman by saying “…He is a good second choice for you.”
    What SECOND CHOICE what??!!

What GP must remember is that he is all the way in Florida -while the bushman is just next door….. LOL

…on second thought, that ‘daddy’ talk is beginning to sound enticing….

28. Virginia in the US of A is scheduled to execute a 41 year old woman tonight at 9AM.

29. Well I hope I read someting so bout hay bout de nex year or two from now only de names n ages would be different. ya do de crime, do de punishment.

30. The woman masterminded her huband and stepsons death to collect insurance money and had them assainated by armed gunmen in 2002. Her lawyers defense was she was mentally retarded however the jury did not believe it.

31. Virginia carried out its execution. I have no need to reprise the facts, as they are all over the international press. As an opponent of the death penalty, I am extremely distressed, particularly as there were potent grounds for clemency in this case.

32. I am totally distressed too that a person would go to such length to have the demise of her huband and child and that her lawyer defense would be that of telling the court she had a low IQ. The lawyer may have been the one with the low IQ to use such a defense for her.

33. Did you guys read the news paper this morning? There is an article by the fire chief talking about the tragedy at campus trenz. Well readers, don’t let his sad look fool you. The fire department is in dying need of personnel and equipment and these so-called leaders never made a forceful request to government with any of these needs. All these leaders can see is money, power and promotion,they do not have the public at heart. I feel so sad when I see members of the public being confident that we have an efficient fire and rescue service. The truth is we do not have an efficiently operational department, we are operating with standards from the 1970s. I heard an officer making a statement that firemen are too educated, I held my head in sorrow because this gentleman has been marked as a future leader. The fire department need a cleanse starting with the fire chief, he is a stool pigeon and a departmental puppet for the permanent secretary. The public do not know that the fire department have 30 temporary firefighters whose jobs are threatened everyday by high ranking officials if they do not perform duties well outside of their job description. The public do not know that they are another private fire department trained by us who have ‘state of the art’ equipment called the ‘roving response’ for proof look at campus trenz photos and see white firemen wearing black gear. The public do not know that the best thing chief marshall can do is manipulate promotions and training courses for his friends and lackys. The big head thinkers and political yardfowls on this blog are going to question me about unions or associations, all these guys are firemen and we usually deal with matters internally we all have a ‘hush hush ‘ mentality. You are the public and your taxes pay our salaries and buy our equipment , you have a right to know about the lies you are told and the piss poor service you are getting for your money

34. Annonymous I know for a fact that what you are saying is true.From lengthy discussions with the fire fighters and personal interaction with those who have been leading the BFS for the last 26 years or so, and knowing those who are inline for promotion, I know that your projections are correct.

I also know that except for the purchase of new shiny fire trucks and the station at Arch Hall, that the Fire Dept has lagely been neglected by sucessive Governments.

It is sad but those who seek and are elected to POWA have minute brains with little or no Betz cells. Yet folk expect people like me to worshipsuch and put them on a pedestal!

35. @Georgie Porgie. What you just said is one of the most true and accurate comments i ever read on Barbados Underground. We must spread the word.

36. Amused
    Cuddearrrrrrrrrrrrrr. But justice was served. when people get greedy n covetous, dis is be de outcome. wah bout de bajan dat was charged with a similar murder of her Canadian OLD husband? she now free to ‘run de route’ but is she really free. Conscience, conscience, got me good.

Porgie
    Po’ you. Ya whinnin all ova de blogs man. wah i tell you bout dah chip?stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

37. Never in the annals of history has a successfully executed murderer ever commited murder again. Here in Toronto a murderer was given 5yrs by an overly liberal judge because he had a tough childhood upbringing. He was out in 2yrs and returned to his criminal ways shooting someone else and SHOT at the AMBULANCE that responded to save lives.
    While I believe that society needs to help youth in trouble and should provide education etc the unvarnished reality is that given the option of selling drugs or working at Mc Donalds, a high percentage choose drugs. Some people have no values/ ethics and are damaged goods like these 2 heinious criminals, who having successfully robbed the hard working store owner decides to firebomb the premises knowing without any doubt that people are on the premises. Death by hanging would be far too lenient in this case, they need to be a very visible example to other criminals, I would propose 12 lashes with the CAT and then carry them throughout BIM for viewing. An alternative would be to tie them by Nelson and anyone passing can beat the crap out of them, leave them there for at least a week.
    In disciplined societies like Singapore the crime rate is very low because bad actors are dealt with summarily.
    Some writers here worry about race/ slavery when indeed the victims and perpetrators are not white. The fact in North America and the Cbean is that black people are far more likely to kill black people. Additionally, black people kill white people in the vast majority of inter racial crimes.
    The judiciary/ political climate in the Western World has become far too kind to criminals which is and will continue to bare rotten fruit. Dont tell me that punishment is not a deterrent because the evidence is starkly obvious. Commonsense dictates that if you put to death the real bad asses it will help to cleanse society, the Earth is overpopulated anyway.

38. Moneybrain
    I couldn’t have said it any better. You are so correct. Some persons are born bad and no sort of reforming will change their evil ways. And why should the society be made to suffer at the hands of these criminals? I say without remorse, hang these demons. Black, white, purple, whatever the colour. Hang them. We can always pray for forgiveness for their souls after they have been hanged. These criminals have to learn that for every action, there’s a reaction. YOU kill, YOU shalt be hanged.

Welcome to the blog if this is your first visit with us. You are cordially invited to return at any time.

39. I see that the State of Virginia in the USA executed a WOMAN today for the murder of her husband and his son. Does the American Human Rights Association also exist in the U.S.A?

40. Bro Scout
    You tink dese igrunt groups could tell America how ta conduct dem bizzniss? LOLLLLLLL, not in a million years, Scoutie.

41. Diversionary tactic
    DLP to bring this debate
    to take focus off of bad economy
    and DLP falling apart