Suleman Esuf

In the wake of the Campus Trendz tragedy Barbadians grabbed a little consolation in response to the news the Royal Barbados Police Force was able to apprehend two males for the crime. To be expected Commissioner Darwin Dottin held a press conference in the full glare of local/global media to communicate the news. There was much back slapping and congratulations extended to all those who participated in the capture. BU joins with all Barbadians in extending congratulations to the Commissioner and his team as well.

Despite the success of the police force in quickly apprehending the Campus Trendz suspects, BU has some concerns.  Commissioner Dottin congratulated Barbadians at their show of civic mindedness measured by the number of leads which were communicated to the police hotlines. We are of the view the reason why Barbadians communicated in the way they did had more to do with the heinous nature of the crime which sparked a public outrage. Believe it or not there is an anti-police sentiment which is growing in Barbados, especially among the younger demographic, our ‘leaders’ of tomorrow. It should be of grave concern to the police force and by extension all Barbadians the gravemen of the situation.

At the press conference Commissioner Darwin Dottin sought to reassure Barbadians that there was no reason to panic. Supported by charts he explained that Barbados relative to our regional neighbours has a murder rate ratio of 6:100,000 when compared to a regional average of 30:100,000. By any comparison this is a good statistic for Commissioner Dottin to beat his chest. However what the Campus Trendz investigation revealed, if there is enough of a public outcry the Barbados police force has the capacity to solve murders and other serious crimes committed in Barbados. In the case of murders the stats according to Commissioner Dottin is about 15 murders per year. In 2007 Commissioner Darwin Dottin announced the ‘setting-up’ of a Cold Case Squad. Unless we are mistaken the Commissioner has not been pressured to report by the traditional media which he is enamoured to give details on its performance. Have we now moved to a position where a case has to be heinous to the point of sparking public outrage or the victim a prominent person to galvanize the police*  and the public* into action?

On the 17 September 2010 the Nation Newspaper reported that Suleman Esuf, 22, of Redman’s Village, St. Thomas [was charged] in connection with the discovery of more than $11 million in drugs in a container at the Bridgetown Port [and] was ordered kept in jail after he appeared in the District “A” Traffic Court. Regrettably we have not had the same public outrage by Barbadians in response to this news. Commonsense supports the argument that a 22 year old from Redman Village would not have the wherewithal (resources) to perform a transaction of the magnitude reported. No doubt Suleman Esuf is a foot soldier and will probably be paid handsomely to take the fall. Do Barbadians understand the damage 11 million dollars worth in illegal drugs can do to the young in our society? Why not the same public outcry?

BU is throwing out a challenge to the Barbados Police Force today. The same diligence you exercised, albeit with the public’s help, in apprehending the two animals who perpetrated that most cowardly and dastardly act on Tudor Street, we ask you to demonstrate the same zeal to apprehend the real criminals behind the importation of 11 million dollars worth in illegal drugs into Barbados. A good place to look maybe on the golf courses of Westmorland and Sandy Lane and the Heights and Terraces.

124 responses to “Not So Fast Commissioner Dottin!”

1. Cheeze on bread David. Now ya got me can’t play the lotto, can’t play the one arm bandit, can’t eat fast food, can’t buy cheap panties (or drink expensive chanpagne), can’t smoke herb.

David the only bad habit you lef me wid is phooping the mister.

On a warm Suday afternoon I’ll go practice the only bad habit left.

2. @ David,
    Quote:” We should remember where there is illegal drugs you will have drugs. Who protect our borders?”

We must “protect ourselves,” there are people who are involved in the supply of drugs; in the main they keep their young sons and daughters to be educated and be goo family membersd . They are to gain scholarships and be doctors and lawyers and ultimately inherit the family fortune. Let others be the foot soldiers to peddle their “filth” and argue the merits of drugs, because they are safer than this or that…we often shackle ourselves.

3. “Good Family members”

4. Did the reporter get it right? Could it really be $11M or is it $1.1M, or was the $11M overstated to sensationalize the public?

5. $11M is correct, not overstated

6. well the article has “The drugs have a street value of $11 073 560.” so cannabis is close to 4000 a kilo

7. Cannabis??? I’m not sure that’s what we’re lookig at here.

8. well that what nations say
    “Suleman Esuf, 22, of Redman’s Village, St. Thomas, was not required to plead to having a traffickable quantity – 2 778.38 pounds – of cannabis and doing acts preparatory for the purpose of trafficking in cannabis, between April 1 and July 26, this year.”

9. OK. I thought it was cocaine.

10. Is it that the BU household is so simple in thought to believe that a 22 year old is wholly responsible for this container?

Let us assume it would have been consigned to Suleman Esuf.

On what basis? Was he or did he pay/expected to pay duties cash?

What about his bank accounts? To many question!

11. No, David you’re very right ofcourse. Your previous posting about different people being involved at different stages of the drug importation/ distribution/ trans shipment/ is quite right. However, the general public is not outraged. So as you or someone else said, the police might not be very pressured as compared to the Tudor street terrible crime.
    But if we, BU/ general public apply the pressure we might get some answers.

12. @independent

Despite his protest we know the Commish reads or is informed about what is posted in the social media space. Let us do our part to agitate on these matter.

As always the traditional media is hamstrung by the antiquated excuse of matters being sub judice. They will concentrate on milking the juicy stuff to push circulation no doubt.

13. true the people most upset will be the ones who want weed and find out the price has gone up since the container got grabbed. I would assume that they must be some vincy shipments in bound or already here to meet the demand from the container that go seized.

14. LOL, Anthony, I’m not sure that I was talking about that kind of pressure. That group does other stuff that I don’t want to champion!

15. That amount of drugs could not have been hidden in the container. It is obvious that the wrong person discovered the container before it was cleared.

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Anyone caught with this large amount of drugs should be given the DEATH PENALTY if convicted in a Court of Law.

17. The Scout
    Oh my Gawddddddddddddddddddddd. ya come back. welcome darlingggggggggggggggg. A sight fa sore eyes. Don’t leave me so again, hear wah I tell you? All broken, busted n disgusted, is how I was since you leff.

18. Bonny Peppa everybody knows that your blinds are green and red. What other color blinds wouuld a Bonny Peppa have?

19. Eye Spy
    You in lie a’tall. Mo madmen out than in. Ya gotta be real careful ya hear? Paedophiles, rapist, cleptomaniacs, nymphomaniacs,duppy-phoopers etc. is a whole bunch a sick people. Some say it takes all types to make up dis world. Na wonda de world sa confuse but I won’t choose na way else ta live.LOLLLLLLL

I in town long
    wah pamper you talkin bout? I din read de whole saga.

Crusoe
    You rememba when Juman wife was murdered at their home, a quantity of ‘illegal-stuff’ was found on de premises? You hear anyting moe ’bout dah or was anyone ever questioned? You cud rememba? Since den Juman dead too.

BAFBFP
    yes, yes, comment, comment, I wanha hear, i wanha hear bout wunna family man n how wunna coping or in coping. LOLL

J
    wid a hint a orange.

20. @BAFBFP

Yuh famili membrs are part owners in de drug industry . Wuh yuh hav to say bout dat. Yuh hav plenty to hid.

21. It would be wrong to jail this man for a long time and make the taqxpayers pay for meals.. The punishment must fit the crime.

Let him smoke all of the cannabis over a period of say, a year.

That way, if he smokes ‘x’ amount per day, all will be gone, the cannabis that would otherwise had been put out there to hurt society.

As soon as all is gone, he can then be released , thus the faster he smokes it, the faster he gets out.

Same for importers of cocaine etc.

Let them consume all of it. Thus, when one is caught with it, one knows that that person will be affected, not society.

May be the best deterrent.

22. Due to the seriousness of this crime, and the authorities who might be involved at our ports of entry.

1. Should the ports implement the use of security cameras where custom officers work?

2. Should custom officers have to declare their assets considering the importance of their jobs in preventing contraband entering the island?

23. Curious
    It might not be that easy:
    1. There’s a trick in evry trade. Cameras present or abscent.

2. Assets could be put in family members name.

Get my pointa? I cud be wrong.

Crusoe
    And suppose he doan use cannabis or cocaine? Ya back at square one. LOLL

24. @David, i am unpleasantly surprised at you, you are acting as though, he is innocent simply because he is 22, get real they are billionares here in Barbados who have retired at 37 years old, who do not use our medical services etc, but fly in their own doctors, who purchase those vehicles from Warren Motors costing over $400,000 in cash, and it does not make a dent in their bank account, if you doubt me as any salesman at Warrens Motors they would tell you, no bank loan for these people jus write a cheque or wire transfer the money.So stop the stupid talk about this 22 year old.Those containers are delivered to the warehouse sealed, a Customs officer would come to the warehouse break the seal and inspect the goods, now have you seen the weakest link, the customs officer could see anything in their an not say a word, not since the container was still in the port, my belief is that someone spilled the beans and some officer is working for another family. I dont know the arrangements with the payment but since we are so ignorant of these things obviously we would be ignorant of their payment details, he might be a real good customer and those goods were shipped on consigment or letter of credit

25. @Bonney, If you was following the story in the courts properly, you would have heard that he undo the pamper that she was wearing in order to do “the act” . yuck. All this took place inside a big freezer.

26. Pretty blue eyes

Perhaps what David is trying to explain is that; after the various players had three months to look at all the options available to deal with this matter, we should not be surprised if it turns out not to be a ‘simple matter of a 20 year-old brat importing a container of drugs’.

For one thing, persons who get involved in such large scale illicit activities DO NOT go around on motorcycles doing wheelies and being immature. They are FAR more likely to be described as ‘a very nice gentleman’ who is loved in the community, and even goes to church.

For another, There is NO WAY my 20 year-old son could be involved in such illicit activities and me not be aware, or STRONGLY suspicious. I would see it as my personal responsibility to sort him out…. unless of course he was working for me…

Thirdly, as you said, such activities CANNOT occur without the complicity of the customs DEPARTMENT. You want to tell me that a particular officer can ARRANGE to open a particular container? …. ONLY if his bosses are complicit!! They should be working in random groups of 2 or 3 with no prior notice of which clients they will be serving.
    …the whole customs operation needs to be investigated…. or publicly exposed. No wonder they have issues with the cameras.

….the long delay and ‘business as usual’ approach by the Force on this matter is suspicious and worrying…

27. I in town long
    I doan really ga thru dem shite stories wid a fine-teet comb. i does barely peruse. De caption ketch my eye n I rememba de incident . she was wearin a pampa? cuddearrrrr. he want one a he eyes lickin out. he is a sick, sick, very sick fella. he udda excuse now would be dat he did drinkin. Yeah, blame de drinks, ya nasty vagabond. he want a good cut ass.

Bush Tea
    ya wise ol owl.

Pretty blue eyes
    Ya lie. dese tings gine on bout hay fa tru? billionaires at 37yrs n retired? retired from wah bosey. dese is serius accusations girl. you sure?

28. @Bush Tea

“They should be working in random groups of 2 or 3 with no prior notice of which clients they will be serving.”

This is a good point, and I would like to believe this is the way things are currently being done at our ports of entry. Sometimes, however, common sense is not commonplace.

29. Verily BAFP, greetings to thee

Search ResultsThe deep study of the Zohar and Kabbalah
    The Daily Zohar is the deep study of the Tikkunei zohar. We bring this knowledge to everyone and it is free to subscribe.
    dailyzohar.com/

30. I must engage in this interesting topic. I would like to know what is happening with the young man who was gunned down from the Pine.

It seems as if gangsters run Barbados and noone can touch them. I went to football in Brittons Hill last week Sunday and the person who is accused of this specific crime was heavily bodyguarded around the ‘Akademics Crew.’

Now nobody on this blog don’t tell me no shite bout that the Police ain’t know what is going on. THEY F+++++G know. Why hasn’t he been arrested and questioned? I kinda SCARED to call his boss name, cause I get the impression that the people in the Pine scared too. But I love to COOK FOOD ON SUNDAY. However, I have a question to alllllll of the Pine Crew when it is your son or daughter who is killed innocently for telling off a gangster as in the case of the individual, who will stand up to this piece of F===ing scum?

We will be too late. If any of my relatives are killed innocently, this is no talk! I know that I ain’t nobody and have no name so no one will fear me ……………

Fill in the Blanks Mr. Commissioner because sooner or later, persons will take matters into their own hands what do we call it ANARCHY!!!!!

31. Look there was a method to the madness why the container was put under this youth’s name, whether he was made aware of it or not.

Ya see if he get thrown in the slammer, he still young by the time he is released and still would have family members to take care of him (they are all in it together). While if one of the older ones get put away that person maybe too old by the time release to lend any kind of helping hand which may or may not affect the business if it is still up and running.

Don’t forget a lil grease hand does keep things running smoothly.

32. Anonymous
    I wid you. Evry body like dem kno who dis vagabond is. All de talk bout Akademics Crew if de task-force bound pun dem all dem gun shite demself. Dese vagabonds only got a lotta mout/snout in groups. But ketch one a dem off-side n he like a lil lamb.
    I agree wid you too dat if any body belonging ta me get off set by any a dese so call shite-hounds bout de place, hell gun fcuking-well roll ova. I gone ballistic as khunt.

Foolbert
    you in na fool a ‘tall , ya liah. you got dis ting down-pact man. you is a rode-islan scollar? you real name is Sherlock Holmes? Case solv dennnnnnnnn.

33. @ Bonny Peppa – They are many living here in Barbados I will not divulge here but we are so blinded, this one person I am referring to actuallly retired at 36 but moved to Barbados when he was 37, he is married has 3 children and he moved his housekeeper here also,I asked him if he is a millionare, he adis yes but after looking after his affairs in my estimation he is a billionaire, if you cam go through 1o million dollars (here in Barbados) in less than 6 months and have a millions tranferred to your account every month you would have to be a millionaire, if you can go to a car company and spend over Bds$400,000.00 cash on a vehicle and don.t even care if it gets delivered the same day or a week later, you have got to be a millionaire. The point I am making is that Barbados is accomodating these young people from all over the world, they are doing the right thing, that is getting permission from the relevant authorities but are the authorities doing a thorough background check on these individuals. I was forced to interact with these people every day but confidentiality is key here.As I said you can go to that car company and ask any saleman there if that particular transaction wasn’t handled in cash, the salesman received a large commission, so it is no secret.The regular bajan cannot identify these people on the raod, this man I am referring to walks about in a shirt with holes in it, one day we had to d business and I was so shock to see his attire that i mentioned it to him, the next time I saw him he was wearing a different shirt brand new, but for the next 3 months the man wore the same shirt until it was faded, he never wears a business suit, he never meets in an office. I guess he opens up to me, since I only ask questions concerning the business I am doing for him and the first time I was introduced to him I was the only one on the job who seemed to understand what he wanted and what he was going through, from then on we formed a bond. But I just said all that to say he is not the only billionaire at that age here in Barbados. I will not give you the business he retired from but it can be Googled and it is a real opener to the many people across the world Barbados is hosting.

34. Pretty Blue Eyes
    Me nah doubt you ya kno. Do you know if he’s lookin for anotha house-keeper? I available.

35. @ Bonny Peppa, he not looking for another housekeeper, whenever he does, he is bringing her from his country of origin,, he is very private, however he is looking for someone to fill the position I vacated, it willl have to be someone who he can trust to keep his business private and it will have to be someone who can see the legitmate goings and comings of these other billionares (his friends) and not be sick of it, meaning his lawyers,bankers,contractors etc did everything by the book, but what he has put in place for his kids (property wise) would mean that in a couple a big chunk of the est coast would be owned by them.It dishartens me knowing that a 15 yr old could control a credit card with a limit of Bds$200,000, spend sometimes Bds$63,000 and that money is repaid in 2 weeks, he is so determined that no Bank get any interest from his cards so he repays them in lest that 2 weeks, but he follows the rules yet I wonder if his background was throughly checked by Central bank and the other relelvant authorities

36. @pretty blue eyes

lawdy loh how cum yuh leff a gud position like dat? If dat was me I wud stay till ah oler and grayer.

@bonny peppa

yuh tink yuh cud handle dat position….. an ah en talking bout sex now.

37. island gal
    you en talkin bout sex now but me doe. LOLLL. I reddy like freddy.

Pretty blue eyes
    I doan tink dat I could work fa he bosey cause my mout big n i does talk evva ting ma eyes seh so I mite get short-circuit. But if ya got any udda friends dat in sa ‘private’ lemme know.

38. Speaking of Customs and theiving and corruption there was a Customs officer whose name was Agard same as the duppy fooper who was charged along with another Customs officer with drug running. Anyone remember that case? Were the 2 Customs officers ever tried ?Somebody help

39. Track Suit
    Maybe he is de same customs officer turn parro/ duppy fooper. LOLLLL

40. OFF TOPIC
    Would someone/s please inform the media houses that there is NO such word as INCIDENCES. The correct word is INCIDENTS. Only today I heard Chris Sinckler calling that word. It gives me the creeps pun my radio n TV.
    It is ONE INCIDENT, TWO OR MORE INCIDENTS.

It is ONE INSTANT, TWO OR MORE INSTANCES

Hope I don’t hear it again.

41. if selling the shocks can make you a millioner why can’t all we do the same thing . may be we can build the three story buildings and many more apatman in the heights or west moreland , seems to be a very good business untill you get cought . we can’t wait till police hold all the people involved in this . to bring them to justice

42. @islandgal246
    I left because I was so sick and fraustrated with what I was seeing,plus I was not being paid a proper salary (according to me)my family and friends of course totally disagreed with me, I regretted it afterwards but what is done is done, please take into account, I was not working for him, I was working for a company and he was not the only one using our services, most of them gravitated towards me and even thoughI have left,I still communicate with a couple of them but on a different capacity.The other thing is that when Barbadians know you know someone influential they always want something.The same week I resigned do you know how many people wanted me to put in a word for them to a particular gentleman that has very close connections with the Sheik of Dubai. I trace him through his agent in Italy on the internet, but when he comes here his instructions are that he wants no one whatsoever to know he is in Barbados it is like a little respite care when he comes here so I respect his privacy.He invites me to his home here but I have never been I plan on taking up the next invitation.He comes and shows me photos of his other homes on other continents, they all look alike since he says he want to feel at home whereever he is.The thing is this particular gentleman is really good for tourism if only he would give up some of his privacy.He is featured in the richest of the rich magazines all across Europe, he walks the streets of Barbados and no one recognises him and according to him he loves it like that.As I said I really did not take advantage of the opportunity I had.

43. david . did you hear anything about container full wid de rum and cigaret . who it belong to .

44. @ria

No, tell us more.

45. @Pretty Blue Eyes | September 21, 2010 at 11:06 AM |
    “As I said I really did not take advantage of the opportunity I had.”

No you didn’t and you should have, nothing’s wrong with that – I would have and I do in my job capacity but that is on a small scale in comparison to yours. My capacity is making sure the unfortunate have access to the Welfare Department, etc since I know that the WD has money to spend. I only want to know of others who are embarrass to apply and I would convince them to utilise it

46. Bonny Peppa
    Please have some respect for our next Prime Minister. You MUST not correct him in public or you might be sentenced to two months community service cleaning his new residence Illaro Court.

47. @Bonny.

Are you saying that in this instance, there was more than one incident in which the ‘hospital person of interest’ may have for one instant, had a mental flop and acted in a manner that was reflected much later by multiple incidents?

48. Crusoe
    And there will be more instances where such incidents will occur. Not an accident, an incident. My five year old gran asked me one morning on her way to school what is the difference between an accident n incident. Well, I wasn’t prepared for that one a’tall. But I think I explained it clearly enough for a five year old to understand. You know the differene Crusoe? tell ma den.

Scout
    ya back n kicking. dat’s de spirit. only if de PM is Donville would I go to Illaro with or without permission. dem would gotta publicly ban me from up day man.
    Sinckler is a good fella. Related to one a my best friends. He’s aaighttttttttttttt.

49. @Bonny Peppa
    check your dictionary.
    you are taking what was said out of context……incidence(noun) and the plural has an s. Definition: the rate at which something happens,especially something undesirable,happens or exist.
    eg…There’s a high incidence of disease/burglary there.
    nuff said

50. @Bonny Peppa | September 20, 2010 at 10:33 PM |
    OFF TOPIC
    Would someone/s please inform the media houses that there is NO such word as INCIDENCES. The correct word is INCIDENTS. Only today I heard Chris Sinckler calling that word.”

You Bonny Peppa need to go back to school. You are INCORRECT. Yes there is ‘Incident’ verd but the minister is correct. see Cambridge’s definition below:
    “incidence” noun /ˈɪnt .sɪ.dənt s/ n [C usually singular] formal, an event, or the rate at which something happens e.g.
    There have been quite a few incidences of bullying in the school this year.

(Definition of incidence noun from the Cambridge Advanced Learner’s Dictionary)

BP, you need to use a dictionary before you criticize him. don’t you think that while that speech was being prepared, a dictionary on the computer would not have been suggesting the correct grammar? you would have to be someone over 60 years of age, who have little understanding of today’s technology. reading your blogs, you are comfortable with using a lot backward unintelligent talk. nothing wrong with that but next time get a dictionary before you come and write crap. whoever is reading this blog now has some incite into your educational background. what made it so embarrassing is that none who wrote after you, could even correct you, except me. yes, i know you would respond in your usually primary school response but go ahead and check dictionaries all over the place, i’m sure none is in your home. dunce